Reading Reviews for Life As We Know It
  
326 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsJaydeMalfoy chapter nine

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

First off, it was HILARIOUS when you mentioned that Hermione started humming the Pink Panther theme song! That really gave an even more comical aspect to the fact that she was peaking around corners, etc!

And OH NO! Malfoy caught her! But hey, at least they didn't fight or something! And he gave her the apple? Awww! I know that's not a kiss or anything, but in my mind it's a token of his affection! Yep, that's what I'm going to call it! :P

I wonder if Hermione will be able to piece together any information based on the missing chunk of apple!

This was another fabulous, addicting chapter! I can't wait to read what's next!

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoy chapter eight

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

My heart literally DROPPED when Ron said 'Lavender'! I was SO expecting him to say Hermione's name, and then they would be okay again, but no! My heart was really broken for Hermione.

But then, she seemed to get over it so quickly, that it made it hard for me to feel bad about it for long. I mean, if the two of them never really loved each other, then it's not something to be upset about.. I just hope they can repair their friendship soon!

I think that adding the mention of Draco's face looking haunted was a nice touch! Dramatic irony, anyone?! And I'm a little anxious over if Hermione's going to be caught following him again!

Another great chapter, can't wait to read the next!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoy chapter seven

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

Poor Hermione! I can imagine that Valentine's Day must have been really hard for her. I mean, Harry and Ginny finally getting together, everyone else going crazy over Valentines and constantly talking about it. And then, to top it off, she's got to watch Ron and Lavender together, as well.. Poor thing. :(

That's such a typical Hermione response, though, to bury herself in her work and force herself not to think about it. And I think it probably makes her a little more irritable than normal, which contributes to her reaction to Draco.

She has a good point though, Draco really did need some help - he was going completely insane during this book, it really makes me feel sorry for him, too.

Anxious to see what happens on Ron's birthday! Another great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoy chapter six

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

Another amazing chapter! I felt so sad when Hermione mentioned being distant from her parents since starting at Hogwarts. Really, I think that's quite true in the series - she spends all of her time with Harry and the Weasleys! I think it's wonderful that she'll be spending some time with her family now!

And ugh. I really, REALLY don't like Pansy Parkinson. It takes a really great writer to portray someone as nasty as her accurately, and you did - you definitely made me hate her even more! (And yes, that's a good thing!) :P

Oh my Gosh - the rumor! How could ANYONE believe that? I mean, okay, I can see Pansy believing it and freaking out about it because she's so obsessed with Draco, but still!

I think Hermione had a great idea about staying by Ron's side - even though there's a selfish part of me that wants her to end up with Draco, she still needs to be a good friend to Ron! I hope they make up soon! I was really sad when he and Harry didn't join her on the train. :(

Great chapter, can't wait to read the next!

 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsJaydeMalfoy chapter five

20th June 2015:
Here for Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

Hi there Erica! So, I still owe you some reviews from the hot seat (yes, I know that was like FOREVER ago), plus I really need to catch up on this story, so now that I can earn Hufflepuff some points for doing so, I figured there's no time like the present!! :P

I really loved your portrayal of the Slug's party from Hermione's point of view, and especially the way you included a Canon sentence in the story! That really makes this story tie in with Canon even more; it's incredible!

I feel so sorry for Hermione here; she's so desperate about trying to make Ron jealous that she basically sacrificed her night of fun to do so.. poor thing!

And, even though there wasn't much Draco in this chapter, I still loved it - those two need to get together already! :P

Overall, this was another great chapter, and I can't wait to read the next! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #6, by TidalDragon chapter eleven

20th June 2015:
Gryffindor - House Cup 2015

I suppose this was the development you mentioned! I do think it ended up being a little sudden for the first name and even the concept of friendship to enter the equation, but overall the important thing is that you still avoided the 0-60 trap. And there's still sufficient awkwardness to between them at this point.

I do feel for Hermione being marginalized here - it's too true how that can happen when you're "the single one" - for girls and guys and I imagine it's even worse in the Wizarding World where people seem to really mate for life more frequently with their Howarth classmates.

I'm interested to see what happens after this cliffhanger. A Draco breakdown...intriguing indeed.

 Report Review

Review #7, by TidalDragon chapter ten

20th June 2015:
Gryffindor - House Cup

The plot thickens...now we actually get to SEE the emotional toll that events are taking on Draco. I think it's noteworthy that he wasn't able to be as cutting in his state of vulnerability too, so perhaps this can ultimately give way to the meaningful connection that is inevitably sought by all Dramiones. I have to say, yours has come across as one of the most believable I've read before, so kudos there.

I thought Harry and Ron were quite irritatingly dismissive to Hermione after she tried to helo, but perhaps that aligns with the Ginny portrayal last chapter.

Oh! I almost forgot. I liked the characterization of Hermione's stubbornness. The idea that she avoids things that don't come easily was an interested connected piece of that you'll have to sell me on, but otherwise I thought it was nicely done in a show-rsther-than-tell fashion!

Apologies for the typo, but I'm on my phone now and the cursor isn't cooperating. :/

 Report Review

Review #8, by bittersweetflames chapter five

20th June 2015:
Hahahaha. OK. Hi again! Chapter 5 this time. :) GOD, I love this story. Ok, just had to get that out there. :D Anyway, I love the direction of Hermione's thoughts here. YES. OF COURSE she has to make Ron jealous as he's a prat and, really, the way she came to her conclusion was just pure genius. Who does Ron hate above all other people, is marginally good-looking and obnoxious? Why, Cormac McLaggen, of course. You've got to admire the girl's lack of self-preservation in this one. So what if she's obviously have a horrible time with a guy like McLaggen? At least she'd show Ron that she didn't care for him. Way to go, girl! He doesn't deserve you. (He really doesn't but, hey, I am biased. lol). Of course, we arrive at the party and Cormac, as evidenced by the events detailed in the books was NOT the ideal date. Then, of course, we insert a little bit of Draco and while I know that Hermione doesn't go with Harry I just WISH she had. It would have been more interesting if she had. But, she's quite right.. too much excitement for one day. After all, the rest of her life is bound to be exciting.

Till the next! :)

Carla
House Cup 2015 Amazing Race Part 2, Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #9, by bittersweetflames chapter four

20th June 2015:
Time for Chapter 4. And you started it off so bleak. Sometimes, when reading the books, I just wanted to hit Harry for seemingly abandoning Hermione. But, let's face it, he's a guy and he's just not that into books so he'd ultimately feel more comfortable tagging along with Ron even with an annoying Lavender in tow rather than being stuck with Hermione. And so, here, I felt for Hermione. To feel a lack of support from someone you see as your bestfriend? That is one of the most painful, harshest feelings one could ever go through. You made me feel for her so strongly then. I love the character of Mr. Bleakly btw. It's just SO like Hermione to be good friends with the proprietor of a book shop; of course, such a man would appreciate a girl of Hermione's age with such a love and passion for books, after all. I think, that moment, when Mr. Bleakly gave her the books really lifted her from hole she'd sunk into and I was really happy for her then. I mean, really, not even an unpleasant Draco and Pansy encounter could sully that moment.

Ohh. And Pansy and Blaise, huh? I'm not surprised. Off to read more.

Carla
House Cup 2015 Amazing Race Part 2, Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #10, by TidalDragon chapter nine

20th June 2015:
Gryffindor - House Cup 2015

SO glad to see that Hermione is once again prioritizing things that matter over being lovesick. In this changed universe, she's taken the right message from the Hospital Wing incident.

I'll confess that I'm as disappointed ad Hermione to see Ginny going over-the-top gigglingly girlish when it comes to Harry, as again I don't think that's "her." However, I can understand the larger point and appreciate it in this respect - if it's a device to further disconnect Hermione from Harry and Ginny as well as Ron thus making the Draco/Hermione endgame more practical. Since we don't know FOR SURE if she had that kind of swoony spell, it's better for me than OOC Hermione, Ron, or Draco.

Speaking of Draco, he is WICKED harsh in the Room of Requirement. OUCH. I was intrigued by the beginnings of banter, but it's a good thing Hermione doesn't take that sort of ruthless bullying bluster from him to heart or SHIP SUNK.

See you in the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #11, by bittersweetflames chapter three

20th June 2015:
Hiya, Erica! I like having a reason to read and review this story because I really love it. (bares teeth at real life and the sadness that is adulting). Anyway, in this chapter you really feel for Hermione. I mean, here she is, she's a brilliant witch and people like her for that but she must feel so alone. I think the moment that Ron went off and got himself a girlfriend in Lavender (Lav-Lav of all people!) must have been a really hard blow. Then, of course, being that you are a fabulous person you add in Draco Malfoy! Oh, your Draco is malicious and evil and I just cannot wait to see how he would change and the two would have a friendship. Pansy is, and as ever was, unpleasant and I am questioning Draco's taste and sanity for ever taking up with her. (But he goes for Hermione eventually, anyway, so we know he has taste, right?). Anyway, yeah, well done on just plucking at heartstrings. I felt so strongly for Hermione. She seemed to just be just one small step outside a circle and from firsthand experience I know how awful it is to be on the outside looking in. Wonderful as always! :)

Carla
House Cup 2015 Amazing Race Part 2, Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #12, by Veritaserum27 chapter seven

20th June 2015:
Hiya Erica!

Ravenclaw House Cup 2015

Here for the next chapter. I'd have to say I quite agree with Hermione about Valentine's day. She's very astute and while I think the day itself is hardest on those who don't have someone special to spend it with, you make a good point about how high expectations can thwart a budding relationship. Down with Valentine's Day - haha! I had to smile to myself because of Hermione's naivete here. If she only knew what she was offering to help Malfoy with, she might have a different perspective on it. I don't think she'd want to know that she was aiding in letting in all those Death Eater's to Hogwarts. Or perhaps Malfoy is working on how best to kill Dumbledore at this point. Either way, she wouldn't want to be a part of it - :) I also really enjoy the relationship with Ginny - and seeing Ginny and Harry's budding relationship through her eyes. I gobble up any Ginny/Harry moments that I can! Great job!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #13, by TidalDragon chapter eight

20th June 2015:
Gryffindor - House Cup 2015

This is my favorite chapter by far! First, I love how you managed the departure from the events of canon. The Hospital Wing twist was particularly awesome as it was such an easy, simple change to make, but obviously will have incredible cascading consequences on the Ron-Hermione dynamic.

I also thoroughly enjoyed the spat between Lavender and Romilda (who comes of as WAY colder than I originally envisioned here) and the way McGonagall cooled it down, along with how classic both students' reactions to her query was. JUST LIKE REAL SCHOOL.

Kudos too for the added detail on the library system and the tidbits on Goblin history - I really enjoyed the latter in particular!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Veritaserum27 chapter six

20th June 2015:
Hi there Erica!

Ravenclaw House Cup 2015

I'm so excited I can use the Amazing Race challenge to come back to this story - and at the same time, I'm so sad that it's taken me this long to get back to it :( I'm really, really loving being inside Hermione's head while reading this. It's entirely believable, the way you've set it up, that Hermione appears cool and collected on the outside, but is just as confused as everyone else on the inside. It holds with my own head canon that she never hit it off with her dorm mates - mainly because they were far too into the gossip and boys that you mentioned. I also like that she isn't as certain about things as she seems, but still is very observant about people. haha - I laughed when Draco was the one who pointed out to her that they were both being followed. She was so intent on catching up to him - that could've gone really bad for her. And Pansy was just as despicable and clueless as ever - great characterization!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #15, by TidalDragon chapter seven

20th June 2015:
So I don't forget - Gryffindor - House Cup 2015

This is an interesting dance with the time warps, but I'm actually okay with it around holiday time. Sometimes it seems that fics purposefully draw out those portions - though I will say that I would like to see some in-class action in the story (since you're going through and editing) as I feel it can always add another dimension to character dynamics while they're still students.

Hermione was in-character once again as counselor and defuser of tensions and I see some of the ice thawing on her end as she tried to help Draco in the library. At the moment he's still seeming quite stubborn even without his lackeys appearing to be around, but given his prejudice it's only right that it would take much longer for him to grow up.

I will say that Ginny seemed a bit OOC for me in terms of wanting to go to Madame Puddifoot's (I personally picture her thinking UGH about that idea anyway) and her fixation on the relationship. Obviously, I think she would definitely be excited (and not being a girl, perhaps this would, even for her be typical of how she would interact with another female at that age about the situation), but she seems a bit more level-headed about relationships at this point, since Harry is not her first, even if he is her greatest and last :) Just my two cents there.

Anyway, keep up the good work with the writing and editing!

I'll try to see you in a later chapter!

 Report Review

Review #16, by TidalDragon chapter six

20th June 2015:
UGH. Forgot the HC tags AGAIN. I'm the worst with that.

ANYWAY, the first thing that jumped out at me from this chapter was Draco's dialogue. In short bursts his formalism seems appropriate, but here, with longer chunks of speech it felt a little stilted. Nevertheless, I like how you're building the suspicion around Draco as the tie in to keep Hermione interacting with him. Bolstering it by Lavender spreading rumors and Pansy's accusations that there's something between them was an interesting choice too that was certainly bound to deepen that.

Hermione proves to be even more spirited here, and dare I say cunning in her response to Malfoy, threatening to confirm the lies and it seems like it's contributing to a nice little cat-and-mouse game between the pair centered around Draco's need to maintain appearances.

Hermione also seems to be playing prophet in her conversation with Ginny. We know from canon that she's pretty astute in the relationship department (even if it's not working out for her own life), but again you nicely peppered in some ideas I'm sure will come to light re: her desire for Ron giving way (i.e. "Sometimes two really great people don't make a great couple, no matter how hard they try...") - well put BTW.

See you in Chapter 7!

Gryffindor - House Cup 2015 (I REMEMBERED!)

 Report Review

Review #17, by TidalDragon chapter five

20th June 2015:
It was interesting to actually see the Cormac debacle from Hermione's perspective as well as Ron's initial reaction. He never has been terribly adept at hiding his feelings about a situation has he?

At any rate, even though there wasn't LOADS of dialogue on his part, I thought you did a strong job with the characterization of Cormac McLaggen. I think the fact that you achieved that more through descriptions and his behaviors than anything else is actually a testament to the job you did. Particularly when they're leaving for the party, I can absolutely imagine McLaggen trying to push the envelope too quickly physically, started with premature hand-holding and putting his arm around her. And you escalated that well given the season with the mistletoe.

As far as the mechanics goes, I did notice a couple of missing or misused apostrophes, but those are minor things. With Slughorn, I'm not certain he'd admit to not be responsible for the decorations (it just seems a bit OOC for him to deflect praise or give credit where credit's due if he can get away with taking it), but perhaps that's just me.

See you in CHapter 6!

 Report Review

Review #18, by TidalDragon chapter four

20th June 2015:
I am back once more!

A Hermione solo walk through Hogsmeade was a nice break from the intensity of the relationship drama (even if that served as bookends to this chapter). I felt that it gave us a great opportunity to see more of Hermione in her own right as well as to understand her favorite places at Hogsmeade. While they are certainly not surprising, the reasons and details about them you provide make the sharing more compelling.

I also enjoyed Mr. Bleakly. He's obviously aptly named given his apparently poor health (good on that), but his story about his wife was a nice inclusion. I have a feeling there was a delicious purpose to it, given the whole "different houses" and "end of Sixth Year" bit. Perhaps it will be a mirror for things between Draco and Hermione at least in those respects?

I also thought that this chapter returned to a stronger characterization of Hermione, which was refreshing. She rightly came across as disappointed, but perfectly fine being on her own and given her interactions with the shopkeeper, typically mature beyond her years.

See you in the next chapter!

Gryffindor - House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #19, by TidalDragon chapter three

20th June 2015:
Oh Hermione! How the mind does wander down distressing and dangerous roads when the heart has been shattered. And then it does such a splendid job of following up with the dismissals and rationalizing for us doesn't it? You hit that part well.

I will say that for me, this chapter seemed to flow a little less well than the previous two. Rather than necessarily seeming to occur naturally, the dialogue this time felt more like interludes that had been deliberately injected in. I'm not sure if that's because of the areas around the dialogue or the dialogue itself (particularly Draco's) feeling somewhat repetitive.

Nevertheless, I was proud of Hermione for showing her Gryffindor spirit in smacking down Malfoy after his deluge of insults, despite being in a vulnerable place. She has a knack for making him walk away with his tail between his legs.

It seems clear they're going to have more run-ins as she tries to ascertain what he was doing and I'm interested to see now how he shifts from the scum we know, spewing slurs, to someone Hermione could actually be with. That's always a big part of the hold-up for me with this pairing so it will be intriguing to see how you pull it off.

Gryffindor - House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #20, by TidalDragon chapter two

20th June 2015:
Howdy again!

First, I was really glad to see you explain how Draco and Hermione ended up in the Room of Requirement at the same time. Originally I had assumed he was in there working on the vanishing cabinet and so it struck me as a bit odd that Hermione was able to get in as well, but the explanation fixed that, even if Hermione doesn't know the reasons for his needing an escape yet (at least not for sure). Also, you SLAYED the "couldn't care less." It's one of my pet peeves (even though I've done it before when people mess up that saying, so kudos for not being one of them.

Back on the plot side, there were two other things I enjoyed. First, your not being afraid to cut out abruptly at the end of one chapter, but then pick immediately back up there in the next despite it not being a cliffhanger in the classic sense. Too often it seems people are afraid to cut at a natural point and then immediately pick up from there in the next chapter like you did, but for me it was refreshing because we needed more of the immediate aftermath. Second, I thought it was a nice touch how you had Hermione talk to someone other than Harry first. Too many times when the beginning of Draco/Hermione is a Ron/Lavender schism, we see that the story gets a Harry overload, which somewhat jives with canon, but can be frustrating because we've seen a lot of their interactions surrounding the situation straight from HBP already. So thanks for branching out.

I did notice a missed apostrophe in one of the last paragraphs, but it's a minor thing.

On to the next chapter!

Gryffindor - House Cup 2015 (please convince the others to forgive my lapse on Chapter 1?)

 Report Review

Review #21, by TidalDragon chapter one

20th June 2015:
Howdy Erica! Even though we're racing, I prefer novels so I decided to stop here first!

I think it's interesting to get an opportunity to see Ron and Lavender's kiss (and the aftermath from Hermione's POV). Somehow I don't end up reading a lot from her perspective, but I always enjoy the different things people do with it. What I enjoyed about your take on her was that in this moment of vulnerability she WASN'T perfectly rational. It made her characterization feel a lot more real, not to mention authentic to her age, especially her doubt about her own justifications and her hating wanting to be someone as antithetical to herself as Lavender, but still wanting it on some level nevertheless.

The one thing I noticed mechanically that was a little odd to me was that toward the top of the chapter there are a number of run-ons. I'm not a huge grammar stickler because I abuse the rules myself, but I noticed it more because it seemed like they occurred at points where, the incident being fresher, Hermione's thoughts would be more clipped and scattered. Though actually now that I think about it, maybe you intended the run-ons to reflect the lack of control over her own thinking in that moment? I suppose in the end it's probably a stylistic difference.

What bad (or in YOUR world, good :p) luck for Hermione to have been seen by Draco at this moment...I'm interested to see how it plays out!

 Report Review

Review #22, by aurevoir chapter eighteen

4th May 2015:
UGHSLDKJLKSDJG.

WHY IS THE COIN WARM AND NO ONE SAYING ANYTHING

AND I KNEW THE CHAPTER ENDED THIS WAY BUT WHY IS DRACO WRITING HER

WHEN IS DRACO GOING TO BE BACK

OK. NOW THAT I FEEL THOROUGHLY TORTURED I'M GOING TO GO BACK TO MY TAKE HOME TEST.

♥ ♥ ♥ Cassie

 Report Review

Review #23, by AdinaPuff chapter two

3rd May 2015:
Hi!

This was a great second chapter. I'm not sure when I read the first one, but I did at some point and just didn't recall :p Dramione has grown on me in the past few months and I have a feeling I'll be reading on. This was a fantastic start. I love Hermione so much. I could see her with Draco. She's compassionate and I know that she would definitely feel bad for Draco like she did just now. She would feel for his suffering and would wonder. You did a great job showing the pain that both of them were feeling throughout the sixth book. It was a rough year for them, and you did a wonderful job showing just how rough.

I can't wait to see how Draco will fully play into this. Where will he show up next? What will get them talking again? It makes me want to read on, which I will definitely be doing :p great job. Ioved it so much!

- Leigh xxx

 Report Review

Review #24, by Crumple-Horned Snorkack chapter one

30th April 2015:
Greetings from the Crumple-Horned Snorkack! Despite my living in the northern woods, far away from humans, word has reached me about how excellent this fic is, so I am glad to have the chance to read it.

The first thing that impressed me about this beginning chapter is just how wonderful the characterisation is! This really felt like Hermione's voice, especially how this didn't happen over that long of a time - it was just all in her head, which I would definitely expect of Hermione. You've also touched on her insecurities which don't show as much from Harry's POV in the books - the way she feels lonely and isolated because of her intelligence. And while she doesn't regret all the work she does and her efforts to be knowledgeable, she wonders if it means she'll end up alone - a thought which I think is very relatable to any teenage girl suffering unrequited love. My, human emotions are confusing. Thankfully, the emotions of the Snorkack are much simpler. The one feeling I ever have is that I should hide from humans.

You did so well with Ron, too - although he's a bit tactless, it's obvious here that he does care a lot about Hermione, and really doesn't know what to do here. At the same time I want to hug him but also smack him over the head with a crumpled horn for being an idiot.

Your setting descriptions are phenomenal, I could visualise everything just perfectly, like the cold castle with a blazing fire, or Hermione trailing her hand along the stone in the Room of Requirement. Lovely imagery.

And there's Malfoy, lurking in the shadows! He is a stealthy one, and it seems he's quite good at concealing himself. I must get some tips from him before I go back to concealing myself in the forest.

This was an excellent start to what looks like it will be a great story!

 Report Review

Review #25, by alicia and anne chapter one

29th April 2015:
I can only apologise for the wait for this! I'm sorry! I blame work and no internet at my other halfs house and *shakes fist at everything*

And it's a good ol' Dramione! I do love myself a good Dramione :D Total guilty pleasure :P

Aww poor Hermione, having to witness Ron and Lavender together, which I might add is a brilliant place to start this story! I love how you took that scene and made it your own. :D

I just want to hug her, why can't Ron understand what he's done to make her so upset! Curse you Lavender! Flaunting your love in front of her.

And now Malfoy is there! And I bet his really smirking because Ron is taken and he can have Hermione all too himself! Although that might totally just be my dreams and hopes :P

A wonderfully brilliant first chapter! And I can't wait for more! I'm excited to see where your beautiful writing will take me. :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>