Reading Reviews for Stronger
  
119 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Shay_Gryff Epilogue- Christmas

7th December 2013:
Hello! Sorry I haven't reviewed before, but I literally read this all today and I'm so glad I found this story! I've actually been meaning to read it for a while but life and broken computers get in the way :(

Any ways, I love this story! For a first novel-length piece it was extremely well written and the plot flows so well and I LOVE ANDIE!! By far my favourite, other than James and Calla.

Speaking of James and Calla, AHH! I loved this story so much! I'm going to read the sequel right... NOW!

KEEP WRITING :D
Shay_Gryff

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much! You have no idea how much this made my day. :) I'm so glad that you liked the story!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #2, by Madi :) Epilogue- Christmas

11th February 2013:
Great story, it was cute, funny, and it wasn't in the least boring!! I loved the last chapter and thought it was am absolutely adorable way to finish the story!!
Thanks for the few hours of entertainment this has given me!
Madi x :)

Author's Response: And thank you for the lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed it and that you took the time to get to know Calla and James. There's a semi-sequel called "Bolder" if you want to check it out.
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #3, by quaquaquaqua Confessions

11th December 2012:
This is way too much. I get that Calla needs to man up, but clearly you've never been in a situation like hers before. People don't just 'get over it'. Just like how depression is a serious mental illness that requires medical treatment - you can't just tell people with a mental illness to grow up.
I'm feeling quite offended on Calla's behalf as I read this. This is a child who has just lost her parents less than a year ago. How dare her closest friends not allow her to be sad? Ever heard of a mourning period? I want to continue reading, but the attitude of everyone towards this one girl is just rude and offensive.

Author's Response: I have had dear friend of mine go through the exact situation, actually. I think I portrayed, when writing this chapter, that Andie was overreacting. That was the point; that's just Andie's character. I'm sorry you didn't understand what I was trying to say. I hope you continue reading and find that I, in fact, was not saying that Andie's behavior was correct.

~cb


 Report Review

Review #4, by Fawkes394 Epilogue- Christmas

10th December 2012:
Sorry for not having reviewed earlier, I REALLY loved your story. Calla is awesome, I love her character and her ability to morph, and the fact that she grows so much throughout the story. I also love the way you show James in your story, he's so similar to James Potter I!, I've never read a story that showed him like this before. : )
I'm going to read the short story right now, it's sad this one was so short.

Author's Response: Thank for so much for the lovely review! It really made what had been a pretty terrible day into a good one. I'm so glad that you enjoyed my story. Thanks again!

~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #5, by Hannah Temper

6th December 2012:
Hell, I want to punch ANDIE!

Author's Response: Haha yes, at times I did too. Thanks for the review!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #6, by peanuts11 Epilogue- Christmas

12th November 2012:
This story certainly grew on me. I thought it was really clever how you wrote a story about James II that mirrored the story of James Potter I. I especially like the line about James chasing after his own lily. Clever pick of a name. It also subverted the idea of how cliche this story could've been.

This story was not without it's cliches but because it was so well written, I barely noticed. Some things, like how James bestfriend and Calla's best friend date because James and Calla are linked was a bit cliche as well as Calla's love rival Lauren threatening Calla. I just think that although it was needed to develop the story and so that Calla's real family could come out, I found it slightly unrealistic that someone would threaten another person to stay away from someone. I don't have the MOST life experience but generally, I think girls in particular are more secret about plotting and stuff.
I also think it kinda made Lauren seem a bit 2D but it really, really doesn't matter because she isn't a main character and because it's from Calla's subjective point of view, it'll obviously be biased.

I also think you need to work a tiny bit more on continuity. Like how Andie is supposed to be a bit of a heartbreaker but there isn't any evidence for this and how although Calla is Head Girl, she doesn't appear to be bogged down by the job.

You are a talented writer though. I think my favourite line is after James and Calla break up and she remarks that when they were flying he never to let go. I actually nearly died at that. Loved it sooo much. I also liked the twists in the story with Calla's real parentage as it was well thought out and it fit with the story so well.

I think that you are also really skilled at characterizing your protagonists and setting the pace of the story. This gave the story more depth as more than just a romance but also about re-evaluating things in a new light and dealing bereavement. You characterised Calla really well as someone level-headed but not without her flaws of sometimes commanding sympathy. James also appeared like someone who was marred by his family's past experiences but grew throughout the story, which made me like them as characters rather than just in the context of the story.

I love, love, love your writing so I hope I gave some useful pointers and didn't ramble too much but there aren't enough characters for how talented you are.

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! This was an extremely helpful and lovely review!

Cliches were definitely something I worried about while writing this story, especially after I figured out that I wasn't oh-so-creative in making a James Potter I/II parallel. I do completely and totally see the cliches you pointed out, though. I never particularly liked Lauren and I think I just added her in there half-way through to add some drama when Karen Ambs wasn't in the picture. I suppose that's why I didn't put much thought into developing her. Yes, I knew when I wrote Andie as a heartbreaker it would extremely difficult to pull it off. I completely agree with you that there should have been more evidence. I think that's my problem: I introduce a character trait and then I don't really back it up. The Head Girl thing, too, was something that I probably just gave up on. I know it isn't really an excuse, but I like to think that because this was my first story, I get to be excused (which I don't, but you know, haha).

I'm so glad that you liked Calla and James! I really put the most effort in these people- especially Calla, who I had to steer wildly in different directions so that she wouldn't be a Mary-Sue (and I hope she wasn't!). I'm glad you liked the name pun with Calla, too!

I really feel the compliment on my writing and I loved this review. It was really helpful :) Although I can't really use a lot of your advice on this story because it would include drastically changing the plot, this review has most certainly given me loads of wonderful advice to keep in mind in future stories! Thanks again!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #7, by xMsFiggx Epilogue- Christmas

6th October 2012:
Very nice story. I enjoyed learning about Calla and James and their journey together. I'm really glad they ended up together and glad there's a sequel! Thanks for writing :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it and I hope you read the sequel.
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #8, by Qwerty_key Epilogue- Christmas

1st October 2012:
Omg so good!! Its 1:24 am right now. I have school at six. You better feel lucky on how much i cared for this story! Keep it up!

Author's Response: Hahahaha thank you so much! Don't worry, I feel completely complimented that you would stay up late. If it helps, I'm running on 3 hours of sleep right now ;) Thank you the lovely review; I'm glad you enjoyed my story. Check out the sequel!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #9, by pinkpanda21 Epilogue- Christmas

19th August 2012:
Loved it ;) Gonna go check out this sequel :D looking forward to it xx 100/100

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm planning on sending the sequel to the queue today!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #10, by Davia Epilogue- Christmas

14th August 2012:
I seriously enjoyed this story. I think its amazing. :D I cant wait to read the sequal!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The sequel should be up within a few days!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #11, by Hope's Mom Epilogue- Christmas

13th August 2012:
It's nice to read Calla so happy at last - Congratulations on completing the story! I look forward to reading the sequel. Thank you for sharing your talents.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you liked it!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #12, by Cj Epilogue- Christmas

11th August 2012:
Not bad dood... Not bad at all.

Author's Response: Well... Thank you, haha
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #13, by Sam Epilogue- Christmas

10th August 2012:
Excellent ending! You did a great job :) Thank you for their fun and sparky love story!

Author's Response: Aww thanks so much for reviewing!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #14, by wish right now x Epilogue- Christmas

7th August 2012:
Think I'm crying! Glad its not the end though, looking forward to seeing what's happening next x

Author's Response: Aww thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. The sequel should be up in the next week or so.
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #15, by AlexFan Epilogue- Christmas

6th August 2012:
I KNEW THERE WOULD BE A SEQUEL! I can't wait for it!

Author's Response: Hahaha yes, but it's not a full-length novel. Just a little short-story. Should be up within a week or so.
Thank you for the lovely review!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #16, by Crescent Moon  Epilogue- Christmas

6th August 2012:
I thought I'd make up for leaving my review so late on the last chapter by being the first on this one. Sorry about that by the way, I was on holiday for two weeks so I never got the chance.
You dedicated this to me? Thank you so much, that really means a lot! And you had a lot more than one person to keep writing for. You're an amazing writer with a great story! :D
This was so sweet! I loved Lily telling Calla all the tales of James when he was younger. The little bit from Harry and Ginny was really good. But nothing can compare to Calla and James. They are just so cute and perfect together!
I can't believe this story's over. I still remember reading the first chapter and reviewing, I was really surprised that you hadn't got any reviews as it was really good.
I'm so glad there's a sequel and I really can't wait to see what's going to happen. When's it set? I'm definitely going to be keeping a lookout for it. :)
But yet again, really well done on an amazing and well written story :D

Author's Response: Awww thank you so much! And don't worry, I was never mad at you in the first place, so there's nothing to forgive!
I'm so glad that you enjoyed this last chapter. Your opinion really means a lot to me (as shown by the dedication). You remember reading the first chapter and being surprised it at no reviews? Wow! Honestly, I'm really glad you were the first reviewer. You've been great!
The sequel should be up within the next week or so. Just a little bit of editing to do and then I'll be done.
Thanks for the fantastic review!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #17, by Crescent Moon  Enthusiastically

30th July 2012:
I can't believe it's nearly over!!
Loved this chapter, I love how they got together. Very funny and incredibly cute.
I really can't wait to see what's going to happen in the epilogue. Please put it up as soon as you can :D

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! Honestly, I've been waiting for your review. I said to myself 'now, I can't update because the wonderful Crescent Moon hasn't told me about the latest chapter!'
Thank you for the lovely reviews you've given me throughout the story!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #18, by iyanarulz792 Enthusiastically

27th July 2012:
NOOO!!! It's too soon to end the story! Make a sequel at least!

Author's Response: Don't worry! There's still the epilogue and a semi-sequel/ short story left! It's not quite over!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #19, by Hope's Mom Enthusiastically

26th July 2012:
She made it up with James - good for both of them. Calla has to learn to trust him again and he has to work to get over her parentage completely. The holidays at the Potters should be interesting. I would love to read what Harry (Ron, too) says to her. Thanks for a great chapter - I look forward to the epilogue.

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review! Yes, it feels quite nice to have James and Calla back together again. I hope you enjoy the epilogue!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #20, by Hope's Mom Change

26th July 2012:
What Calla says at the end of the chapter echos what Dumbledore said to Harry about our choices defining who we are - and of course they (Calla and Dumbledore) are right. I am glad that things are looking up for Calla - it's about time! Thanks for the update!

Author's Response: Wow- I didn't even realise that I was echoing Dumbledore when I did it. Frankly, I take that as a compliment- smart man that Dumbledore, haha. Thanks for the review!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #21, by Corleone Almost Lover

26th July 2012:
Damn! Wow! Where to begin? First I think Al is more upset that malfoy kept it from him than he about his family history. Secondly I think that Scorpius will have to win James over before anyone else...he seems the to the head of the family in their generation and more than likely the eldest grandson! Anyway...FANTASTIC story!

Author's Response: Hahaha thank you! And yes, you're quite right about Al- he's really just upset that Scorp and Rose didn't tell him (although he is very protective over his cousins) . Thank you for the lovely review and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #22, by Wantmore Enthusiastically

26th July 2012:
Wait! You're going to tell us about christmas, right?

Author's Response: Of course! It's all in the epilogue! Thanks for the review!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #23, by cometolive21 Enthusiastically

25th July 2012:
No! I love this story... Can it please never end? Thank you so much for writing this and giving me something to read. Can't wait to read more of your stories!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Don't worry- there's still the epilogue and the semi-sequel left! It's not quite over, haha.
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #24, by wish right now x Enthusiastically

25th July 2012:
Glad to see this updated and so glad that Calla and James end up together! Hope we can say the same for Andie and Fred.
However, I am really sad to see this story end, as it has always been one of my favourite HPFFs :(

Author's Response: That's such a compliment- thank you! I'm so glad you've enjoyed the story. I hope you enjoy the epilogue and the semi-sequel/ short story to come!
~cb ")


 Report Review

Review #25, by aria :) Change

5th July 2012:
CALLA AND JAMES HAVE TO FREAKING END UP TOGETHER, THATS HOW IT WORKS. I HAVE A FEELING YOULL PUT CALLA AND THAT SAM KID BUT NO BECAUSE IT HAS TO BE CALLA AND JAMES OH MY GOD i love this story and have loved it since you first published it but PLEASE PUT CALLA AND JAMES TOGETHER OSDNDFIBIUH

Author's Response: I honestly laughed at this review. Thanks so much for it and I'm glad you like my story.
Something to ponder: our good friend Sam has a whole character in my head that I'm never going to write about. Some of his personality might surprise you... ;)
~cb ")


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>