Reading Reviews for Hero
  
57 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BKL8008 Letter Home

16th November 2014:
This is just a great little read that fills in so much for us. Thanks for writing it! Enjoying it very much.

 Report Review

Review #2, by emia23 Midnight Rescue

30th October 2014:
I just found your story and I love seeing everything from Ron's point of view, Ron is my favorite carachter, yes he's not always so nice but he's just a normal boy with his own baggage, but he's a very good friend to Harry and just what he needs, I think. He helps Harry to most of the time feel like a normal boy.

I agree with other commenters about your ablility to capture the different carachter's personalities, it's very well done. Will love to follow your story!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I really like Ron as well. I think many of his positive traits get overlooked, especially in fan fiction, so I wanted to write a story that really celebrated Ron and his friendship with Harry.

It was really great to hear from you. Thanks again! (Also, *shameless plug* I just posted a new chapter if you're interested :))


 Report Review

Review #3, by True Author After the Stone

5th April 2014:
This was such a beautiful chapter! I think the simplicity and the short length of your chapters make them so wonderful. And you are very good at keeping Ron's emotions simple as they always are. So transparent and easy to know! You have mastered his character. :)

Dumbledore! I find him awfully hard to write so I have never dared to do so, but you did the job very carefully and nicely. He was almost cannon, especially his dialogue.
“I I believe Harry will need his friends more than most, though I venture to say he has chosen them well.” Thjs was so. canon of him!

I also love the events you choose. They fit together perfectly as a whole piece of writing and still each seems a little bit different than the other. I can't wait to see what more you have for us! :D

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi there! Nice to hear from you again :) I appreciate that you continue to come back to this story and review the chapters. I am hoping to have another chapter up soon-ish.

I completely agree with you about Dumbledore! He is so terribly difficult to get right, and is one of those characters that I shied away from writing for a long time. I still limit his appearances, but I'm glad you found him to be close to canon.

I worry that this collection will get a bit stale and that the chapters are going to start being too similar, so I'm glad that you haven't found that to be the case (at least not yet).

Thanks again for your review :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by Red_headed_juliet Midnight Rescue

22nd February 2014:
This was sweet! Ron was my favorite character, and I feel as though you did a wonderful job at portraying him, especially the line about "it felt good to be the hero for once." I never really thought about it from his perspective, and it really was quite good of him to risk all that to get Harry. Very nicely done. Sorry, but I don't have any CC. Oh! And I'm here for team Bronze! Keep going with this, it seems like a great idea!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you liked Ron's characterization :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by True Author Letter Home

13th January 2014:
Hi! Now that the identity of your Secret Santa has been revealed, I though I'd leave the reviews from my account instead of leaving them anonymously. :) Sorry for the long wait, though! You know there are times when RL is too much hectic... Anyways, back to the review.

Oh my God, why is Ron always so cuuute in this story? I mean it! His letter was so sweet that I almost kept smiling until it ended. You wrote it perfectly, keeping in mind that the boy was just eleven years old. :)

Poor Hermione! She was trying to make friends with them, wasn't she? You wrote her with equal perfection too. You always seem to write them all in canon with your own style.

I can't wait to read on! It's just the beginning and I'm already wondering through what moments you are going to explore their friendship. :) Really great job!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Yay! Real Secret Santa :D

I totally understand the real life getting busy thing (as it is the middle of February and I am /just/ responding to all of your reviews) so no worries :)

I'm glad you're still liking Ron. I have younger brothers which helps a bit with this story, actually. Helps me know a little better how kids of various ages act.

I always felt really bad for Hermione at the beginning of the first book (a lot of which has to do with the fact that I was just like her at that age). I'm glad you thought I wrote her well.

I've got a basic outline of most of the chapters I'm planning to write, and have a few of them done. I'm really hoping to put up at least one chapter per month and have this story finished by the end of the year. *fingers crossed*

Thank you for all of your wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Secret Santa On the Platform

1st January 2014:
It was fun to see my favorite scene all the time through Ron's eyes. It was just so sweet that he was so impatient to meet Harry and didn't even recognize him... I know Harry might be a hero, a stylist person or something like that for Ron.
Can't wait to read more! Really loved this story. i don't know how I have never come across this!

Happy new year!
Secret Santa

Author's Response: You're favorite scene? Ooh, I hope it lived up to your expectations! It was one of my favorites to write, even though it was tricky to do so while staying within the ToS, and not quoting too much of the chapter.

I'm so glad that you're enjoying this story so far, and hope that you'll continue to enjoy it.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Fonzzx Midnight Rescue

29th December 2013:
I love this story. I feel like the films really skipped over the most important part of Ron's character: how loyal he is to Harry. I know there were times when they fell out but really, he is Harry's BEST friend, and this story really brings this to light. I love it!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I agree with you! Ron isn't perfect, and he makes a lot of mistakes, but he almost always realizes his mistake, owns up, and apologizes, and that's kind of huge.

Plus, I think Ron gets a bad rap in fanfics, so I wanted to write a story that celebrated him. I'm glad you are enjoying it so much :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Secret Santa Childhood Games

22nd December 2013:
OH THIS WAS JUST TO SWEET! I want to run into the scene and pull little Ron's cheeks and. anyways. Getting back to review.

This was really very very believable. I'm sure Harry's story is enough for any child to go crazy for him and play games like "Harry Potter beats You-Know-Who". But poor Harry wasn't taken care of ; that's what makes me so sad. :( I wish he could come to live with Ron and his family, that would be so fun! Though that's almost what he does when he grows up. ;)

I'm in love with your characterizations. Everyone was just so canon! Lovely chapter!

Secret Santa

Author's Response: Tee hee, aw, thanks :) I LOVED writing little Ron. He was just so much fun to play with, and a really sweet kid. I'm really glad that you liked my characterizations. I try really hard to write my characters as true to canon as possible, so I appreciate your kind remarks.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Secret Santa Bedtime Story

20th December 2013:
I just love the concept of your story! Not many write a fic centring Harry and Ron and their friendship, so I'm glad someone's trying. :) congrats for doing that!

This idea was really interesting. It was so much like Arthur to tell Ron the story of Harry Potter and Molly refusing to do so. It was all believable.

Just thought that you should make it a little longer, I mean more descriptive. That would help us know more about what Ron's childhood was like.

Overall, this was a really nice read! Will be back with the other two reviews for the next two chapters! Just like a true Secret Santa. ;)

Author's Response: Sorry for taking so long to respond to your reviews. I really appreciated getting them :D

The friendship between Harry, Ron, and Hermione was one of my favorite things about the HP series, and I feel like it's often overlooked in fanfiction. Similarly, I think Ron gets a bad rap in fanfics, so I wanted to write a Ron and Harry friendship story that really focused on how Ron changes throughout the years, and the struggles that he has to overcome, as the Hero's best friend.

I know that descriptions are something that I struggle with, and I'm continuing to work on that. I appreciate you mentioning it, though. It's a good reminder to keep working on that skill.

Thanks again for your review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Cannons After the Stone

12th December 2013:
Wow, your chapters are getting better as they go along. You wrote Dumbledore to absolute perfection, which is so hard to do. This line gave me goose bumps ''In my experience, it is nearly impossible to predict the actions of any person. Within each person lies the great capacity to make surprising choices.' ' - It was incredible. I'm so pleased I've stumbled upon this.

:)

Author's Response: What a great complement. I find Dumbledore very difficult to write, so I am really excited that you thought I wrote him so well. And thanks for pointing out that line. I thought it fit very well with what we know of Dumbledore in canon, and it seems like the kind of vague allusion he would make.

I worked on this story a bit during NaNo, so I'm hoping to have a couple more chapters up soon.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Cannons On the Platform

12th December 2013:
I don't know what to say really, I don't want to spend time writing long reviews because I want to keep reading!

All I know is that I have a feeling you might actually be Ron writing about yourself :o

Author's Response: Thanks for continuing to read and review! I really appreciate your comments.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Cannons Childhood Games

12th December 2013:
So good, your really good at getting the characterisation of small children right!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you. I have three younger siblings who are quite a bit younger than I am, so I've been around kids a lot. I'm glad to know that you thought I wrote them well. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Cannons Bedtime Story

12th December 2013:
I actually had thought of doing something like this but yours is much better then mine would have been!

I really like the idea of this happening and it is totally believable that this happened.

We knew how Ron acted around Krum and he was in awe of Harry on the train.

So great job

Author's Response: If you were thinking of writing a story like this, I think you should go for it! The archive does not have nearly enough stories about adorable little Ronnie :P

Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter.


 Report Review

Review #14, by house elf After the Stone

13th August 2013:
Loveloveloved it. Well done on Dumbledore - it's difficult to get him right, with that mix of calm, wise and vague. :p but you managed it perfectly in my opinion! Especially this quote: 'In my experience, it is nearly impossible to predict the actions of any person. Within each person lies the great capacity to make surprising choices.' Loved Ron&hermione's interactions too.

As I mentioned in the last review, it's fascinating to watch Ron slowly change his view of Harry. And realise that, actually, he likes Just Harry as he is. You're doing the characters and their friendship a real justice.

Looking forward to the next one!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you thought Dumbledore was done well. You're completely right that he is a tricky one to write.

I am also so happy that you think I'm doing the characters and their friendship justice. I try really hard to keep the canon characters as 'in character' as possible.

I'm sorry it's been so long since I've updated, but I am actually working on this story as part of my NaNo goal, so I'm hopeful that I'll have at least one or two more chapters up before the end of the year, and the whole story finished by spring time. *fingers crossed*

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by house elf Letter Home

13th August 2013:
Another lovely chapter. You're a great writer.
Hahaha 'So how'd you start your essay?' is such a Ron thing to say. Love it. I also like how he is starting to realise Harry's isn't some kind of inhuman superman - just an ordinary boy like himself. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I really appreciate you taking the time to leave reviews on each chapter.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Fonzzx Childhood Games

12th August 2013:
I want to cry at how cute little Ron is!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! Little Ron was really fun to write.

 Report Review

Review #17, by house elf Childhood Games

12th August 2013:
How wrong Molly was. :( Harry would've been so happy,loved and safe at the Weasleys. And to be honest, even though they were struggling enough money-wise as it is, with 7 other children, Harry was no stranger to second-hand everything. :P
Another great chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by house elf Bedtime Story

12th August 2013:
Daww this is lovely :) I've never thought much about Ron before his first meeting with Harry... But this seems so realistic! 'Ronnie' was soo cute and I loved your portrayal of Molly and Arthur, too. ^^
Reading on!

Author's Response: I'm really sorry that it has taken me this long to respond to your reviews, especially because you took the time to review all the chapters of this story. You're a rock star, and I appreciate it so much!

I had so much fun writing little Ron, and I'm really glad you enjoyed reading about him :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Santa! Letter Home

1st January 2013:
Hello again from Santa! My sleigh seems to have sped up a little- probably because this story is so very good.

I have to say I found this chapter, and Ron's letter to his mother, fascinating. I imagine Ron might have found it hard to deal with, this hero that his parents had told him of, turning out to be a small, relatively normal boy. I think that the letter was a fantastic way to express this, as it really showed it in a 'words left unsaid' kind of way. I liked it.

I also thought that the little details you included we're wonderful; these moments that I imagine would happen, that were not needed in the books, but create such a full universe.

Hermione's interlude also made me laugh- particularly Ron writing about her in his letter!

I can't wait till you publish the next ( that autocoeected to best- i don't know how you could top this chapter, but I'm sure you will!) chapter,

The most elusive and secret Santa!

Author's Response: had a really hard time writing this chapter. I am a ridiculously sentimental and sappy person and I had to keep pulling back and reminding myself that Ron is not like that. He's not going to write a sappy, insightful letter about the joys of friendship...especially not at age 11. So hopefully this seemed kind of realistic.

I'm glad you liked Hermione's cameo. I mostly wrote it because I wanted to give Ron an excuse to write about her in his letter (I don't think he would have thought to write about her otherwise). Though, part of me thinks that Hermione, having read all about Harry, would find him fascinating and (similarly to Ron) want to become his friend. She just doesn't quite know how to go about doing that yet.

Thanks again for leaving these lovely reviews. I really do appreciate it :) I am hoping to continue working on this story and get more chapters up at some point. I hope you'll check back and continue reading.



 Report Review

Review #20, by Santa!! On the Platform

1st January 2013:
Santa returns- with dodgy wifi, and an unending wish to give you some gifts. She's very sorry that she had been a bad Santa- perhaps Rudolph went missing?

This chapter was very fun! I loved seeing the platform scene from Ron's point of view. I keep saying it, but to me this story is so original! I love stories told from Ron's point of view, as he is one of my favourite characters. Somehow i can never bring myself to write him (probably because in many ways, we are quite similar), so it's lovely to see someone else provide such a realistic view inside his head for me.

The only thing I can say even vaguely negative about this chapter is two fold- I thought that, similarly to the last chapter, it was a bit short! I think that maybe you could of extended it a little bit more by, perhaps, writing a little about the Weasleys before they got to the platform.

I enjoyed the fact that Ron didn't recognise Harry at all- that he didn't even guess who Harry was. This not only tied in nicely to JK's canon, it also fitted beautifully with yours. Molly and Arthur's constant assertations that Harry was in a happy, loving family probably would have thrown him off a small, scrawny boy who was all on his own, even if the physical characteristics pointed otherwise.

Another wonderful chapter,
Santa!!

Author's Response: Ron is one of my favorite characters as well, and probably my favorite one to write. I think he gets a lot of flack in fanfiction (mostly becuase of Dramione), but I think he's awesome, and try to write him as such. I really appreciate the nice things you said about his characterization.

Ron has unrealistic expectations of who and what Harry is. While he understands (at some level) that Harry is an 11 year old boy like himself, he hasn't /really/ grasped that idea. In his head, he still sees Harry as this big, strong, superhero type. I can only compare it to the first time that I watched the Chamber of Secrets movie. At the ending, when Dan Radcliffe pulling out the sword and fought that giant snake, I couldn't help but think 'Holy crap...Harry's only 12 years old..." Yes, I always knew that, but it never really registered until I saw tiny little Dan on screen.

Sorry, I tend to ramble sometimes :P Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Santa!! Childhood Games

1st January 2013:
(Sorry I'm being a bit dippy- I'm working hard on your last present and I keep forgetting to post these- I did them a while ago all ready to post on the 24th, and /well/ that didn't go too well.)

Ho ho ho, Santa is back. And ready to roll on your lovely story!

I thought it was fantastic how you managed to get at the time gap using your third person narration, instead of writing 'five years later' or the date or something at the top. It really helped the narrative flow.

I also very much liked the part about Ron's sibling thoughts; I never really thought about him not being paired of with another of them, but I suppose its true that he doesn't really naturally have a play mate. I can vouch that younger sisters aren't to fab, and they always ruin your games (at least in my experience ;))

I notice that your chapters are quite short- it's not necessarily a bad thing, although I do like your writing, and its a pity to have to finish so soon, particularly as my wifi is quite temperamental, so I can't always move onto the next chapter immediately.

Like the last chapter, your final paragraph was extremely good. It created forshadowing for those who had not read any of the books, or seen the films. (Though I doubt they'd be on hpff if this were the case. I suppose that brings me to say that I honestly think these could stand alone, as an original fiction.) On the other hand, it's not only an interesting perspective, but a good laugh for those ho have!

I hope you have a wonderful 2013,
Santa!!

Author's Response: Younger sisters always ruin everything. It's a fact of life. My little sister (for example) lost/chewed on/ate/damaged every single board game I ever owned as a child. Granted, I'm sure my older brother would have some things to say about me, so I should probably watch it ;)

Anyway, thanks for another lovely review :) I do tend to write really short chapters. It's something I'm trying to work on: adding more detail and description.

Thanks for all of your sweet comments. I'm really glad that you seem to be enjoying this story.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Santa!! Bedtime Story

30th December 2012:
Well hello- apologies for the lateness. Between the archives and my Internet access, I haven't been able to get much in. Anyway, hohoho, I'm here with a few little gifts!

This was fantastic and cute, and lovely! I adore the Weasleys, and this was such an adorable portrayal of them. Arthur telling Ron about Harry and the war reminded me of the way my grandfather used to tell his war stories to me- abridged, and just like that! It was very realistic, and I thought it was great that it was Arthur, rather than Molly, telling Ron, as Molly is usually the only one shown with the kids.

The last paragraph made me smile, too! The opening line was also fantastic, really, it sort of set the scene for the whole chapter, but it was trés hilarious too. I can just imagine Molly saying it hehe.

I also really thought you portrayed Ron well. He seemed vet realistic for his age, not too young or too old. I think many fanfiction authors have trouble portraying younger children, so you did very well there.

Merci Beacoup, and Merry Christmas, and Happy New Year,
The elusive and secret Santa.

Author's Response: Speaking of lateness...sorry it has taken me so horribly long to respond to these reviews. Thank you so much for leaving them and for being my Secret Santa *hugs*

I really love the Weasleys, so this scene was so much fun to write. Little Ron was especially fun. I haven't written a whole lot little kids, but I have done quite a bit of babysitting in my day, so that might have come into play when writing how little Ron spoke and acted. I'm glad you enjoyed the "abridged" version of Harry's story. I wasn't sure how well I had written that. It was a bit trickier than I anticipated.

Thanks again for this lovely review. I really appreciate you reading!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Athene Goodstrength Bedtime Story

8th December 2012:
Well, this was adorable! I have something of a soft spot for the Weasleys ...who am I kidding? My *soul* is ginger and freckled. I love them. And this little story was just so Weasley-y! Ickle Ron is just the best. You portray him beautifully here - he's cheeky and loving and a *little bit* difficult... I could see that he would become the Ron we know so well.

Your characterization of Molly and Arthur was just lovely. They always have time for each of their children, and are clearly just a fantastic team. The sloppy kiss Ron lands on Molly made me melt a little, and I bet it did the same to her! Your portrayal of Arthur was just as adorable as that of his son.

It's pretty cool to see a moment that's so often implied - magical children growing up knowing Harry's name - particularly with the child in question being Ron! It's a dark story to have to tell a child, but you/Arthur handled it beautifully.

This line made me smile: "there were most certainly a large number of families who would line up to take care of the boy who defeated You-Know-Who" - it's only a matter of a few years before Arthur and his wife welcome Harry into the fold!

I'm intrigued as to what the other stories here are about... really enjoyed this! It warmed me up on a cold December evening :)
Athene xo

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this review! I apologize for not responding sooner.

I love the Weasleys, too, and writing little Ron was just so much fun. I'm glad you liked him.

Ok, this is why I love reviews, because it is so interesting (to me at least) to get alternative viewpoints on stories. I always thought that line was kind of sad, because, although it's true, it's not what happens. Harry doesn't end up going to a nice wizarding family, instead he ends up with the Dursleys. You gave it a much more positive spin. I like that :)

Any time you'd like to read the other chapters, you are more than welcome (even if you don't get a chance to review them.) There aren't many up yet and they're all pretty short.

Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by gingersnape Bedtime Story

6th December 2012:
I CAN'T BREATHE UNDER ALL THE ADORABLE - OH MY GOODNESS.

*deep breath*

I really liked this idea before I even started reading, and young Ron is SO perfect! The little conversations between Molly and Arthur and the endless "why" questions made this unbearably amazing. I felt like I was really just sitting in the Weasley household doing nothing more than putting kids to sleep, and this ordinary moment happened. BUT IT WAS NOT ORDINARY BECAUSE OF REASONS. AHH BRILLIANCE THERE IS TOO MUCH. In all seriousness, I loved how this was such a simple premise, but really the start of one of my favorite friendships in the series.

I liked how you framed it for a child too, and how Molly was still hurt from the things that happened. I know she wasn't really a big part of this, but I thought you made her seem like such a caring, but still hurt, woman who wasn't just the most amazing mother ever. I've always admired her, but the little glimpses of her endless patience and compassion made her shine in this.

One thing I wasn't sure about in this was how the time lines worked. I know the story started with Voldemort's rise before Harry was born, but I didn't see if Arthur said that Harry and Ron were the same age? I don't know if it's insignificant or out to make the story more exciting, but I noticed it and figured it was my only excuse for concrit since this was perfect. :P

I could see everything really well in my head - the crossing the arms and the ridiculous hand gestures that Arthur would make as he went along with all the KABOOMs and the fear that he had to live in, and still lived in, for so long.

This was so beautiful, and I hope to read the other bits of their friendship. :)

Annie

Author's Response: Sorry it's taken me so long to reply to your review.

Thanks so much for all of your super sweet comments. :* I really like Ron and Harry's friendship as well. I'm glad you liked little Ron. He was a lot of fun to write :)

I'm not sure that I really understand what you were saying about the timeline...sorry...

Thanks so much for reviewing! Sorry again for the delay in response.


 Report Review

Review #25, by momotwins Letter Home

17th September 2012:
Really adorable. I love the way you portrayed Ron's hero worship developing into true friendship for Harry. He's seeing him as a person, and not a celebrity. Great job with that. You write them as children really well - I mean, they really seem to be children. A lot of stories I see on the archive are nominal 11 year olds who talk like 18 year olds. Anyway, fantastic job, you talented thing you, and I love this story! So glad you posted a new chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading this chapter and for leaving a review! I've been so terrible at updating that I'm pretty sure everyone forgot this story existed, so it's really nice to hear from you :)

I really love writing young Ron, so I'm glad you think that I'm doing an ok job of making them seem age appropriate. I am hoping to continue this story, and went so far as to actually making an outline, so maybe something will come of it after all.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing (and for being excited when I posted my status update about this story). It means a lot.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>