Reading Reviews for Stuck in the Middle
  
139 Reviews Found

Review #1, by crestwood Threats and Payback Plans

20th June 2015:
I love that you emphasize the importance of the 'group.' It was a very real thing that I was concerned about when I was younger - having a group to attach myself to.

Ryan is an interesting character that I'm never sure about. I can never decide whether I like him or distrust him. I definitely enjoy the whole winking thing and think that's funny though. That's for sure.

I've always drawn a comparison between Potions and Chemistry too. But, weirdly enough, I hated Chem, but I feel like I'd enjoy Potions a lot if I could take it. Not sure how that works out in my head, really.

Ryan is certainly acting like he's completely aware of Ollie's feelings. I don't wonder why he'd have the impression that he knows.

And Melanie - it seems like everyone knows. At least those who pay attention.

I remember first reading that James thought Ollie looked adorable and freaking out. I got incredibly happy about that. It was a little ridiculous of me, but that line gave me so much hope!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #2, by crestwood Explanations and Fan-Girl Moments

20th June 2015:
I adore Ollie's tendency to sleep in. And of course Potter is still standing by the door. He's so interested in Ollie and doesn't know why. I love that it's pointed out that they've been in close vicinity this entire time and they're just now meeting. A lot of stories seem to ignore the fact that the school is only so big. But then, these characters are a lot more self aware than most are. Not that I don't love meet-cutes, because I do! But they are difficult to pull off when the characters were meant to be sharing a dormitory all along.

Ollie is always second guessing himself and it kills me. I can't express how much I love the assessment that they're treating him like the new kid, because they totally are. Obviously he knows what everyone says, it's been established that they have all hung out! I get why he got so snippy about it. It must hurt that they clearly never paid him much mind before. Like, at all.

Sarah is always the voice of reason in this story. She basically says exactly what I want to say to Ollie, only she's actually in the story and can really do so.

The internal monologue is just as good as the dialogue. Everything about this story is pretty much great though, so it's hard to even know what to praise. I will praise everything.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by crestwood Need That Picture of You

20th June 2015:
Okay awkward Uncle Ron assuring James that it's nothing to be ashamed of is top ten moments in fic. The Witch Weekly cover is just the icing on the cake. This is the funniest story ever told. And him trying to pull off the 'hide behind sunglasses' trick?? Pure comedy.

I'm so glad that James isn't mad at Ollie and doesn't irrationally blame him for all of this. The first time I read, I thought that was the route you were going to go. The relief was immense when I realized they were just going to be dorks.

And falling over laughing at the Daily Prophet writing an article about them. They're supposed to be a respectable source of news! Even if it was true, it's hardly news. Kind of sad commentary on the mainstream press, kind of hilarious.

James spreading rumors about ickle Ollie and getting punched in the face. I think this story has it all. This is the exact story for me. It was written with me in mind, although you did not yet know me when you wrote it.

Ollie is so good with comebacks. He's cheesy, but in just the right way.

I've had friends that I always hung out with in a group and then kind of got close with out of the blue and I think it is the best experience possible. I've always associated this story with a lot of personal stuff and that may contribute to how dear it is to me. Or maybe it's just really, really well written? Either one.

Also I have to mention James watching Ollie leave and also 'James is not my guy.' Ollie reminds me so much of myself that it freaks me out. And being I'm a gigantic narcissist, that only means I love him even more.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by crestwood Who are You and What are You Doing in my Brother's Bedroom?

20th June 2015:
So, I said I would be back to review this..about a year ago. Better late than never, they say.

I love that James feels the need to sneak Ollie into his house like this. (I feel weird calling him Ollie so early in the story. At least I didn't add the Pop) Seeing these two act like this toward each other is so weird after reading the sequel. It's been awile since I've read the parts of this story where they barely know each other. I think you write their interactions so perfectly, regardless of what stage in their relationship they are at.

Okay, I'm gonna admit - I LOVE Lily. She's just so funny. Completely disregards Ollie and runs away screaming about how she always knew. What a gem.

Albus is so snarky. I would pay to read about him and Ollie sitting in a room together, quipping back and forth.

Ollie literally fits right in from the very beginning. I forgot how perfect this first chapter is. I'm about to get obsessed all over again, I can feel it. Ollie is honestly flirting so hard at the end of this chapter, it's inhumane. 'Just a thought, Potter.' Honestly I wouldn't have been surprised if they just, like, started snogging right there. The dialogue in this story is actually perfect. Not a single line out of place anywhere. I love this so much.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #5, by HappyMollyWeasley Full Circle

7th March 2015:
Hi!

I just wanted to say that I've enjoyed this story, and that I couldn't stop reading. I usually don't like main character being an OC, but I love Oliver. He's a complex character, and it's hard not to like him. James is great too.

Melanie confuses me. I guess there is more to her story than what's shown here? The same goes for Ryan. I would like to know more about him.

The one thing that bothers me a little about the story (Don't get me wrong here, it's a great story over all!) is the use of Muggle electronic. I know there are lots of different views on this, but to me it's a little annoying. ;-) Besides, who knows what electronics the Muggle world will use in the future (I mean, all Nex-gen stories is in fact set at least a few years ahead of us.)?

I like Harry in this story. It's believable that he's been very affected by the war and the aftermath, and you portrayed him well. I also like Fraser Ford. He seems genuinely nice, and he cares about his son.

Thanks for letting us read this great story!


Molly

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you liked Oliver enough to keep reading. He's one of my favorite characters, so hearing that he's liked by others always makes me happy.

Melanie is one of those girls who finds out the hard way what it's like to be told no after growing up as a spoilt only child. But there is more to her than just that, as you will see if you read the sequel. Same with Ryan and Emily, they'll be back. :)

The Muggle electronics in Hogwarts is the Ministry's way of keeping up the label of tolerance that came up after the second war. They were too busy pretending nothing was wrong that by the time they finally took notice, it was too late. They don't want it to happen again. But it doesn't work. The Muggleborns, particularly younger ones, prefer to be immersed in magic rather than what they already know and the rest of the school just stick to Muggle Studies and what friends say, not really caring about actually using Muggle things. There are a few Muggleborns, like Oliver, who don't want to remove themselves from the Muggle world completely and have things like music devices because they prefer that kind of music. And only Hugo can manipulate the wards in the designated 'Muggle Room' to actually use it, so is the only one with a laptop there, which he uses to talk to his Muggle granddad about school and to watch the Oscars. :P The room is completely empty apart from Hugo and his laptop. The phone that James has is Harry's way of keeping in contact in case of emergency; he grew up with Muggles and he knows they're faster than owls. So if he's really needed, they call him instead. There's rarely an emergency. And Harry's laptop is simply because a muggle got him one for Christmas. :)

I'm glad you like Harry and Fraser. Fraser is cool, I think. And Harry's the only member of the 'Trio' I can actually write well. :P

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #6, by HappyMollyWeasley Whispers and Touches

5th March 2015:
I love this story, I just have to keep reading! :-)

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you'll continue to like it. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne Full Circle

29th November 2014:
THIS ISN'T A HAPPIER START! DON'T LET HIM GO TO FLORIDA!

GO AWAY MELANIE!! *prepares to throw things* okay, I don't have to throw things *throws things anyway*

Ahhh! Oliver is talking to James... I'm calm. I'm so calm right now. I AM NOT CALM!! COME ON OLIVER FORGIVE HIM!!!

YAY! THEY'RE BACK TOGETHER AND I AM SO HAPPY! I KNEW YOU WOULDN'T BREAK MY HEART FOR LONG! :D

Oh Lily! hahaha

I can't believe that one of my favourite ever stories is over :( But I have the sequel to look forward to, and boy am I excited for that one!! :D

Thanks for an amazing and wonderful reading experience Sam :D Best story ever!!!

Author's Response: CALM!!!

Haha, throw things if you want.

Of course Ollie is talking to James.

Not if I didn't have to, no. ;)

Thank you so much for leaving a review and I hope you will enjoy the sequel just as much!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne Let Me Go

29th November 2014:
I am finally here!

I wondered how long it would be before people spread rumours!

Oh Oliver I wish you didn't feel the need to be quiet about your awesome relationship with James until after school is over. Although I totally understand.

Oooo what's it to Jake if James and Oliver are dating? He seems angry about it, I don't like it!

Oh no! I can sense something bad is about to happen! I don't want to be right.

NO! I knew it! For god sake James! But I can't be angry at him because Oliver told him to hide it!

Ryan started the rumours?! Damn you Ryan! Everyone thought that was Lily!

NO! NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NONO NO NO NO
WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME? DON'T MAKE ME CHOOSE A SIDE! I LOVE THEM BOTH BUT I CAN'T HELP BUT BE MAD AT OLIVER, EVEN THOUGH I UNDERSTAND AND GAH! I CAN'T COPE! IF THE NEXT CHAPTER ISN'T A HAPPIER ONE I SHALL CRY!

Author's Response: YAY!!!

People always spread rumors.

Oliver is a private person with a bad past. It's sad, but inevitable for him.

No, he's not angry at them. He just hates the rumors.

You jinxed it. *something bad happens*

Ollie did. Now Ollie is angry with himself and taking it out on James.

Yes, it was Ryan.

I AM SORRY. ONLY A LITTLE, BUT A LITTLE IS ENOUGH, RIGHT?

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #9, by merlins beard Full Circle

19th November 2014:
Sooo... i loved it. Can't wait for the sequel

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you did. I aim to start posting the sequel in the beginning of December, but that will depend on if I can finish the stories I need to finish in November and if I can get to writing the sequel.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #10, by merlins beard Let Me Go

19th November 2014:
I kind of hate you right now...
Still, very well written

Author's Response: Yeah, I hated me, too. It's okay. :)

Thank you!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #11, by merlins beard Care to Make a Wager

19th November 2014:
This amazing masterpiece is one of the best stories i've read in a while. I wonder if james and oliver will be together before the holidays are over...

Author's Response: That's so nice of you to say. Seriously, thank you! :D

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #12, by merlins beard Thankful For You

19th November 2014:
Naw this is sooo cute... i love the whole story so far. Can't wait till oliver figures it out :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you're liking it and I hope you continue to. :)

Thank you for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Shinicha Full Circle

13th September 2014:
I'm sorry I only stopped now for a review, I kinda rushed through this story (I should be studying...)

First of all I'm really happy that you wrote a same-sex-love story so convincingly. I really liked Oliver, he's the perfect mix of awkward and cool :*
I thought you described great how James grows into his feelings. Ollies family is wonderful! Who would move all the way to another country for their son.. Also I really liked your Potter-siblings. Lily is awsome!! And Albus is Slytherin-y in a perfect way. In general you questioned some standard-assumptions about next-gen in a good way- Nicky being a good example. Also the mention of Harry not simply having overcome a war without any problems. "Molly Senior" made me laugh - sounds way cooler that Nana Molly haha..

I think your story got better with each chapter and I liked how it developed, it was very realistic. I admit I have a certain personal fluff-limit so at some points it almost got too cute! *laughs*

But thanks a lot for this story and I think I'll love the sequel!!

Author's Response: Ah, it's okay. I'm glad you liked it enough to read it.

I'm so happy you liked Oliver. He is among my favorite characters to write. He's just so... awkwardly cool. :P

James was fun to write. He was my first ever character to not fully know or understand his feelings and developed them until he knew he could have more. It just wouldn't have worked if it went too fast in the beginning.

Oliver is very lucky to have his family. His dad was looking for a new job anyway, but to do what he did with his wife... they're awesome.

Thank you so much for the lovely compliments and for reading and for leaving such an awesome review! I do hope you'll love the sequel.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Lily's Sidekick Full Circle

13th August 2014:
I finished reading this story while i was on holiday, but had a really bad internet connection -so I'm coming back to review now. Pretty much only to tell you again that I looove your characters (James and Oliver are so wonderful) and your writing and that the pace of their developing relationship from dormmates to friends to lovers was just right and wow, what a wonderful story. The end happened kinda quickly -I'd have liked to read on. But -sequel, so yay.
Kudos

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you loved them so much that you stuck by this story for so long. Thank you so much! The sequel is coming as soon as I've completed a couple of other stories I hope you'll like it as much as you liked this one.

Thank you so much for leaving such lovely reviews!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #15, by alicia and anne Overcoming Demons

12th August 2014:
I love that Harry is terrible at cooking, bless him, he gave save the world but he can't cook.

Poor James missing Oliver, I bet Oliver misses him too.

Ah Skander! *calms down*

Ah Harry knows!! Of course he knows!

Hahah Theo and Harry are in trouble! I wonder what they done this time?

AH!!! OH god! Olivers dad caught them! And with the most epic sentence in the history of today!!! "Hey, Oliver, have you seen - oh, God, my eyes." I love it!!

Aww James is being so polite and calling him sir. And I loved what Olivers dad said to James about what Oliver thinks of him. hehehehe.

AH FRANKIE! *SWOONS* Hehe who didn't have a crush on Kieron? :P

Ah he's offered him a job!! :D

Oh Oliver *hugs him tightly* I'm so proud that he told James about what happened and opened up to him.

James was held hostage? ;( Oh no!! and Harry's reaction to the aftermath of it all! ;(

Author's Response: Poor Harry. But alas, he must be bad at something. Breakfast was all he learnt to cook as a kid. *told you why*

I'd be sad if Oliver didn't miss him... and a little confused as to what I'd been writing. :P

*Joins in* SKANDER!

Harry knows everything.

Who knows what they did? They do a lot. :P

That was definitely the best line ever!

Fraser had to get them back with something.

FRANKIE AND KIERON! *loves them*

Yep, now Oliver has a reason to stay in England.

*Hugs them both* They shared. I'm so proud of them.

Thank you so much for leaving a review, Tammi!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #16, by alicia and anne Closer

12th August 2014:
That is a promising chapter summary!

I was going to say, are Olivers action during the match going to be any different? :P

Hehehehe I can't help but giggle when I read their moments together. Oh how I love them! WHICH I WILL NEVER NOT SAY! THE LOVE IS PURE AND AWESOME AND TRUE!!!

So many birthdays in the latest chapters!
well, two. but still! although in two weeks it'll be mine! :P

Aww look at them all waking him up on his birthday and he doesn't seem to care haha.

Hahaha I love that they don't think the 'lions' could take on the 'snake'

:O SARAH AND TUCKER! I would be confused as well if I were James and Oliver haha :D

WHO'S WATCHING THEM!??

Author's Response: Nah, Oliver is just as obsessed with James now as before. He doesn't need to change. :P

SO PURE AND AWESOME AND TRUE! WE LOVE THE LOVE! :D

Important things didn't happen in between.

Oliver's not much of a birthday person. He's so weird. :P

Lions definitely couldn't take on a snake. We're so manipulative. We don't need wands, we have words. ;)

No one was watching them and now they're being weird. UH OH! :P

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #17, by alicia and anne Ready

12th August 2014:
Awww their friends are watching them! I so would as well, with popcorn.

Is there going to be valentines day happiness?

THEY SHOULD DOUBLE DATE!

Awww Tucker, I love him!!

Harry would so pay for it! and hold it against them!!

Hahahhahaha oh Aiden being able to smell Oliver on James! Hahahaha

Eek! James and Oliver are so cute!!! I love them so much!!!

Ahhh Hugo!! :D I wonder how many sugar quills that will end up being?

I'm jealous of their food! I want it all! It sounds so yummy.

AH! AHhHhHhHhHhH!

YES!!

I KNOW! I KNOW ABOUT ELLIE'S!! I GET ALL THE POINTS!! :D

Author's Response: *Grabs the popcorn* We'll watch together.

There might be.

OMG, TOTALLY SHOULD HAVE DOUBLE DATED. Sequel.

Harry totally would.

I don't think Aidan appreciates it, though.

That was a lot of sugar quills.

HALF THE POINTS! Someone else remembered, too.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #18, by alicia and anne The Birthday of All Birthdays

12th August 2014:
I am back to reading Jollie! I am so excited! I love them so much as you know and I can't believe I've waited this long to read and review! I blame work entirely!

Hehehehehehe

I love that opening!

hehehehehe *giggles*

No! Oliver don't run away!

Ooo he's going to talk to Albus because he can't find anyone else. Where has everyone gone? Why are they not around? How inconvinient!
I love that James just tells everyone to get out of their own room hahahaa.

I'm glad that he had Albus to talk to and not judge him, he's a good brother! Even if he did push James off the bed.

Hahah James is sad and pathetic for writing essays that weren't homework. :P

Look at them kissing and being happy and in love! I'm so happy!

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Author's Response: I'm so glad you're back to Jollie!

He just needs to wrap his head around finally being with James. He freaked out a little.

So very inconvenient. Leaving him with his evil little brother.

James can take charge when he needs to. :D

He's still evil. ;)

James is very sad and pathetic, I don't know what Oliver sees in him. ;)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #19, by dracodarlingxx Full Circle

9th August 2014:
I LOVE IT
i got up to chapter 14, then I went on holiday for two weeks and when i came back there were 8 new chapters and YOU FINISHED IT!!
you totally made my day :D
james is an idiot, but an utterly adorable love-struck idiot
and oliver is just oliver, cool as always
great chapter :D you know the chapters got better the further along the story you got? the first chapter was good, but this is brilliant :)
AND THERE'S GONNA BE A SEQUEL!!! I CAN'T WAIT :D

Author's Response: I did! I finished it. It was for a challenge, I had to finish the story to be eligible for it. Almost 50k in a month, 43k written in the last five days. My hand hurt. But I'm so glad to have it finished! :D

James is an idiot. Or maybe he just last common sense, since he's really quite smart. But everyone likes to call him an idiot. And Oliver, he was so much fun to write.

Thank you so much for leaving a review! And I look forward to seeing you during the sequel!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #20, by StellaRose Full Circle

6th August 2014:
LOVED THIS STORY!! Excellent job. Can't wait for the sequel :)

--Emmy

Author's Response: Thank you so much for leaving a review! I can't wait to see you back for the sequel!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Chazzie Full Circle

3rd August 2014:
That was truly adorable and perfect. The photo album seems like such a brilliant idea, and a great way for all the 7th years to remember their time together. I liked that Melanie wasn't a totally horrible person, and that she helped James and Oliver get back together. The story was really great, I've really enjoyed reading it. Thank you very much for posting it!
Lottie

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the photo album. The finished product is something Oliver is very proud of. Yeah, she's not absolutely bad. Not very nice, but knows when to help. That's something.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Gladis Gudgeon Full Circle

2nd August 2014:
That was interesting and cute. The characters were well developed. I really enjoyed reading it. The only thing that bothered me was that the pacing just felt a little bit off. The last couple chapters felt a little bit forced. 9/10
Gladis Gudgeon

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. I will be going back to edit the chapters. Fix them up. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #23, by HufflePuff_Blitz Let Me Go

2nd August 2014:
And there was the curve ball! Should've known it was coming. I think I feel worse for James. He was only denying it because Oliver didn't want to make it known.
Even if he didn't say it properly, and with Oliver just going down there to pronounce his love without consulting James wasn't cool either. Shame on you Olliver.
Great as always Sam!
Kyle

Author's Response: There's the curveball. Oliver is just as bad, worse even, and he knows it. That's what he means in his conversation with Ryan. And no, he wouldn't have not talked to James first, which is what he means when he's yelling at James. What he told Sarah was just what he wanted, he was going to talk to James.

But feel worse for James. He's an idiot. Oliver knows better. :)

Thanks for leaving a review, Kyle!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Chazzie Let Me Go

2nd August 2014:
:'( Sam! Nooo! It was going so well, all of it, and then amrkdjdos,wlz. I got so excited too, and then I was shaking my head going 'nope nope nope' on repeat. Amazing writing but still! And only one chapter left! Eek!
Lottie

Author's Response: I know! I'm a horrible person. But there's just one more conflict - Oliver himself. Gotta fix it. ;)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #25, by HufflePuff_Blitz Overcoming Demons

1st August 2014:
We finally found out! Poor Oliver, but he met James because of it. :) Also poor James also, but at least he is ok.
I loved Harry in this chapter, so hilarious. and the scene with ollies dad, haha.
I thought for a second we were getting a glimpse of Key, but it turned out to be Frankie. Still exiting seeing familiar faces.
Great as Always Sam!
Kyle :)

Author's Response: You found out! And poor Oliver, but silver linings. :)

I'm glad you love Harry. After everything he's been through, sometimes he needs to be funny.

Aww, yeah, it's Frankie. In official headcanon, Louis is with Frankie. But don't worry, Key still becomes one of Louis' best friends and he'll be around in other stories.

Thanks for leaving a review, Kyle!

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>