Reading Reviews for And the Pattern Repeats
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TooMuchMagic The Burrow

10th May 2012:
This one-shot is so tragically beautiful. The beginning had me feeling rather depressed because of all the dying and melancholy, but it was good, if that even makes any sense (K I know it doesn't, sorry sorry).

- Most of all, George would repeat their mother's words to him on the day of Fred's funeral, with her eyes misted over and her nose rubbed red and raw. "He knew I was proud, didn't he?" she had whispered, lips trembling. -

That part was when I started crying. The thought of Molly, filled with regret that her son might've died not knowing that she was indeed proud of him... I was a sniffling mess for a while.

This was written SO beautifully. I don't even have the right words to express it, but this story was so heavy with grief and the feeling of standing still in memory when everyone else keeps moving on. Aaaand I'm not making sense again :(

I love the ending! Taking the roof of all things, how brilliant and perfectly Fred-approved. A wonderful close to a beautiful story. Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: No, you made a lot of sense! I really love what you said about the feeling of standing still in a memory when everyone else keeps moving on. It's an absolutely perfect way of describing it and I'm pretty jealous that I didn't think of it so that I could add that in there. :P I'm so glad you liked this one-shot - it's my favorite one-shot of mine because I just really love the Weasley twins and the long-term emotional responses to death each Weasley will have to endure for years and years to come. Thank you for reading and reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by MistressM The Burrow

29th February 2012:
Okay.
So I cried. I actually cried hard enough to where my four year old son came over and gave me a hug. This was beautiful. Simply put. Astounding.
Thank you.

Take care -- MM

Author's Response: :( Baww, I'm sorry! I'm pleased that it elicited such a reaction from you, I must admit. ^ ^ Your son sounds adorable.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by ThreeTagain The Burrow

18th December 2011:
Wow. You kept me in lock-step with George, the ending was excellent. I can imagine the tales that will bleed through the generations. Amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. It was a somber story, but I felt very inclined to write it, and I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by WitnesstoitAll The Burrow

3rd December 2011:
This is gorgeous. Just so you know. I was trolling over your page, looking for something to read when I saw this. Of course I clicked on it, and I'm so glad I did. Everything here is so accurate. I see this decay in my own family as the elderly grow feeble and pass on, replaced by a new generation of cousins with their own tradditions and children. That is an amazing thing, sarah, to be able to capture something genuinely real in a story about a ficticious world.

Beautiful job.

Author's Response: OH LOOK IT'S MOLOSSO AGAIN TO RESPOND TO. ♥ You may troll my page any time you like, dearest - your reviews make my day. (hug) I wrote this George one-shot well before I wrote Frollis, and at that point I was very surprised at myself for trying to attempt writing the twins, as I didn't much have the desire to write them or read about them until that point. Bahaha, how things change. ^ ^ To be told that you liked this story leaves me a bit starstruck, as you are the master and commander of George Weasley and I feel extremely honored that you read it and liked it.

ETERNAL HUGS AND LOVE MUFFINS 4 U


 Report Review

Review #5, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 The Burrow

20th November 2011:
This blew me away! I was filled with so much emotion it was remarkable. When I started reading the part about Freds' funeral with Molly, tears began to sting my eyes and my body became filled with those tingles.

Absolutely amazing!

Author's Response: Oh goodness, thank you! I've seen all of your reviews on my stories and I still cannot believe it. I am just completely flabbergasted. This is my favorite one-shot I've written and I'm very, very pleased that you liked it. Thank you so much. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Lumos_Nox The Burrow

30th September 2011:
This was heartbreaking.
I always knew that George would never stop hurting over Fred's death. Fred was, truly, George's other half, and when Fred died, he took half of George with him.
That being said, I always knew that George would eventually find closure, but the way you wrote his closure was absolutely, totally, beyond perfect.
It was bittersweet. Just the right amount of humor. Something Fred and George would do in a sad situation like that.
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you for the beautiful review. :) This story was sobering to write - I'm very strongly affected by what I read and write, and this one-shot left me in a gloomy mood for quite a while. The ending, however, was a bit of a silver lining for George. I think Fred would certainly have approved. :P

Thank you for reviewing and for the 10/10!

:)


 Report Review

Review #7, by dobbys_socks The Burrow

28th September 2011:
Oh wow, that was amazing. I've never read anything like it.

Fred. Albus. Mum. Dad. So much tragedy in the family, yet no discussions about these losses. I really felt for the Weasleys through your writing and I think you portayed George perfectly; "George never realized exactly how much of himself was actually Fred until Fred was gone, leaving a cold, gaping hole in his wake." That is exactly how George must have felt and I congratulate you on capturing that image. Well done.

I was a little confused about Roxanne and Dominique; I didn't really understand who they were. Having Angelina as George's wife was a great idea, though I thought it was Fred who liked her, but never mind. my favourite line is definitely "The world still ticks, with or without you, and either you can stay at Mortal Peril or you can move with the time, and somehow make it around the face of the clock." I love how you interpreted Molly's clock into the story and I thought that that was really clever.

All in all, I loved your story through and through; I like the way you wrote the characters (especially Harry not telling nyone what he had taken but you probably could have built on that), incorporated little things like Arthur's plugs and toaster collection and how George's voice shone through it all making the story clearer and more vibrant.

Amazing, beautiful story. 10/10.

dobbys_socks

Author's Response: Hello, there! Thank you so much for stopping by and reading/reviewing this story. And the Pattern Repeats is probably my favorite one-shot I've written.

That said, I thought to perhaps clarify a few things! It's not mentioned in the Deathly Hallows epilogue, but Rowling created a family tree and George, in fact, marries Angelina. I thought it odd at first as well, since she went to the ball with Fred, but since Angelina and Fred never gave any evidence for being anything more than just friends, I've grown to really like it. Their children are named Roxanne and Fred II. :) Dominique, Victoire, and Louis are Bill and Fleur's children. I didn't invent any of these characters, Rowling did. :P

My bit about the world ticking with or without you, and the reference to Molly's clock, was my favorite bit of the story, so I am VERY pleased that you liked that.

:)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Lady Mouldywart The Burrow

8th September 2011:
This concept was used a lot of times before, but I honestly feel that you wrote it better than all of the Fred&George fics out there! You really - KNOW - the Weasleys, and you make them feel even more real, and you really explain the grief of losing people you love...I would like to go on and on about every little thing that makes this fic so beautiful, but I wouldn't stop then, and besides, the other reviews explain quite well. You've got big talent, you were just born to be a writer! I hope someday you publish your own books - with your skill and talent, I bet they'd even be as good as Harry Potter! :D No I'm not exaggerating :) Best of luck, and thanks for sharing it with us ^^

Author's Response: That...was like the best review ever. Day = made.

I love the Weasleys - I think just about everyone loves the Weasleys. This concept has been written and rewritten many times, but for some reason I felt compelled to write my own version of it. I feel like it would have had a powerful effect on George and the way George lived the rest of his life - living it for two people.

RIP, Fred. :(

Thank you so much for reading and for your very lovely review. It made me feel wonderful. My greatest dream is to be published someday, so I'm glad to hear that. :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by flozoeoreo The Burrow

6th August 2011:
aww that was so sad! what happened to Albus?

Author's Response: I'm not exactly sure, I didn't think about it too much. In my head, I'm pretty sure he drowned.

:(


 Report Review

Review #10, by Salem The Burrow

31st July 2011:
You know, it just killed me when Fred died in the book, and when I saw it happen in the movie the sorrow was renewed again. And once again when I read this. Losing a twin--a brother and a best friend--I honestly could never imagine how heartbreaking and devastating that would be. But this fic captures George's feelings about losing half of himself quite well, I'd say. It's just about how I'd think twins who are very close would feel, too. The way you wrote the emotion was so painfully heart-wrenching that I have to admit it made me actually shed a few tears. I'm still sniffling!

The light, humorous note this story ended on did bring a smile to my face though. Balanced the angst well and was a very Fred-and-George thing to do.

This was just wonderful!!

Author's Response: It bothered me to know how much Fred's death would affect George. In an alternate universe, perhaps he recovered quickly and his wounds healed and he was okay. But I don't think it would have happened that way - and I think he would have suffered, at least in a tiny way - for the rest of his life. I really felt compelled to break George down to pieces in this one-shot and then sort of heal him myself, using their twin humor and memories of what Fred would have wanted. I'd like to think that eventually, someday, George no longer felt a painful void where he brother used to walk next to him, like mirror images.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by NeverGotHerLetter The Burrow

19th June 2011:
Wow, this nearly made me cry :')
So much detail and emotion in this, it was unbelievable, I loved it. I love fics about George after Fred's death and... Wow, it was so amazing. I was really intrigued about what happened to Albus? I know it's not relevant, but could you tell what you think actually happened to him? Like how old he was and how he died? The ending was perfect and made me smile profusely, Fred would definitely have done that ^__^
LOFF YOU and your awesomeness Xx

Author's Response: AWWW you are triple awesomeness. Fact.

Albus! You know, I didn't think about it too much. But in the back of my head, I think I had him drown, probably right after he left Hogwarts. You know how witches and wizards took a year off after Hogwarts to go on the traditional trip around the world or whatever it was? I imagined that he was on this trip, probably with some friends, and somehow drowned somewhere. I'm not sure why I even added that part. Maybe I'm just morbid.

Thank you so much for reading and for the beautiful compliments! This review completely made my day.

:) :) :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by TenthWeasley The Burrow

7th June 2011:
Wow - absolutely one of the best twinfics I've ever read, and that's saying a lot. I went through a twinfic phase some years ago, shortly after the DH release, and I've read more than I can count. And yet yours stands out, because of its longevity from that moment - from your wide scope of things, which was a mature and talented spin on things.

You've got the tone of all things Weasley down pat, and I feel like you know them as characters very, very well. And with the next generation, you've managed to create them to be just as real as the original Weasleys, which isn't always so easy to do - you know as well as I do the sheer number of unrealistic next-generations out there. You've breathed life into them, somehow, and made them people - not characters.

I think the thing I most like, though, is the ending - how it doesn't end with stretching depression and sadness. You've brought a sense of finality, and, more importantly, a sense of the fun people that Fred and George were (and George still is, although its admittedly more hidden without Fred by his side). You've written what feels to me to be a definitive close, but not an ending - and I like that. It's the sort of thing I would have liked to do, but you've done it so well, I don't think I could attempt my own.

And, of course, as always, you have a way with words that is unlike anything I have yet come across here on the archives. You always seem to know exactly what to say not just to write a scene, but to CREATE it - to make it solid and real, and to cause pictures to appear in your readers' minds. I don't know if anything I've said above makes sense at all (and with the state of mind I'm currently in, I suspect it's rather disjointed) but I truly, truly love this. You've taken the fairly generic twinfic and made it your own - and what is more, you've done it well.

Only one thing I saw:

No one could bear the thought of Lucy’s enormous, hideous sculptures littering the shelves that once held Arthur’s toaster collection; or of her paintings and modern appliances that would taint Molly Weasley’s beloved walls.

I would say a comma might better supplant that semicolon, but of course, that's really a grammar nazi sort of thing, and it's by no means imperative. :3

This was an absolutely fantastic story - I cannot express how much I loved it. Truly. The words cannot form in my head, for my appreciation, but they are THERE.

LOVE YOU!!!

Author's Response: THANK YOU

:D

I haven't read much twinfic, actually. Less than a handful. And I'm not sure why I wanted to write it, since this topic has been done many times before and I already have two wips on my plate, plus real life. But George just popped into my head with his cardboard box of odds and ends, and refused to go away. He just demanded me to write him. So there we are.

:)

Thank you for taking the time to read and review, and thank you for pointing out that error to me. It was much appreciated!


 Report Review

Review #13, by SilentConfession The Burrow

7th June 2011:
Toujour... i'm not quite sure what to say after reading this as i'm left almost speechless with bittersweet grief. This is incredibly beautiful and i love the tone its written in you brought me to tears a few times. The concept behind this is so powerful and touching i can't think of a single thing that is wrong with this. I'm in awe, yes, that's it, awe! I can't say anything else other than I LOVED IT! Really well written piece of work, you've got talent girl! 10/10

Author's Response: This review is amazing. To say that I brought you to tears a few times...is it awful to say that I was rather pleased by that? Because honestly, when I was writing this, I really did feel like crying. It was just SO depressing. And I was left in a gloomy funk for hours because of it.

Thank you so much for your kind words, and for reading this and taking the time to leave a review. I appreciate it greatly.

:)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login