Reading Reviews for Mother and Son
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by No_oneKnows Mother and Son

28th September 2012:
I love stories to do with the Black family and found this one really interesting. I always have this mind frame of Regulus being much more timid, more reserved and more mysterious than Sirius and your portrayal of him was so different, but it was also very imaginable.

Author's Response: What a lovely surprise to see your review on this story, too! I wrote this story in a bit of an emotionally heated moment -- I used to fight with my parents and sisters with frightening regularity. I love putting bits of myself in my writing like that, though, just because I somehow feel it makes them more real.

I think it's very interesting that you see Regulus as timid. :) It goes to show how varied and complex JKR's magical world is, doesn't it? I'm glad you saw my way of things, too!

Thank you again for all your reviews -- your leaving them all really did make my day. I can't thank you enough for doing what you did. ♥ Hope to see you back here soon, and truly, thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #2, by angelicdemon1209 Mother and Son

14th May 2012:
Sirius is one of my favourite favoutie characters, I love him!!
Poor baby, people keep troubling him at home all the time.. :(

Author's Response: I love Sirius, too! I wrote about him here before going more in-depth about him in 'In The Black' and 'In The Red', so his characterization's actually a little different in this particular story. Then again, I wrote this in a spat of heady emotions, so that's not too surprising. :3

Thanks for the review -- really glad you liked the story! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by forsakenphoenix Mother and Son

8th August 2011:
I saw your post in academica's review thread because I'm a little stalker...er, I mean...a big fan of academica. I noticed your request and that it mentioned Sirius which well, to me that's just a big red arrow that says READ ME. And boy, am I glad I read this.

Your imagery is fantastic. I'm so jealous of how beautifully you write! I just pictured Sirius waking up, the sunlight causing the gold and red of Gryffindor colors to brighten his room and watching Sirius lazily get up.

I love your characterization of Regulus. He's nothing more than a snobby, privileged boy who acts too much like his parents and not enough like his own person. I can see Sirius getting angry about that, especially Regulus's snide comments. But because Sirius is the 'black sheep' of the family, well, who cares if his feelings are hurt anyway.

You really evoke some powerful emotion in this fic. I could literally feel Sirius's anger and frustration. You had my blood boiling and I was ready to pick a fight. I think it probably helped that you had just had an argument yourself. You get the best inspiration from real life, no? :)

This was just such a lovely fic. I loved the rivalry and hatred between the brothers and everything about this was just wonderful and Sirius was perfect. Nicely done.

forsakenphoenix (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Hey there! I'm always happy to have reviews, especially ones so lovely as yours was. :) Thank you eternally for all the nice things and lovely compliments on this story, they mean a lot to me and I am so glad you enjoyed the story as much as you did!

Many, many thanks!


 Report Review

Review #4, by academica Mother and Son

3rd August 2011:
Hey there! academica here with your review :)

The imagery you've got going on here is beautiful. I loved the beginning with the lion instead of the snake -- very powerful way to set the scene and let the reader know who the main character will be. I also love the care you've taken with characterizing Regulus. In my experience, he's usually portrayed as sort of a loner, but I really like the way you've made him a spoiled rich boy who acts just like his mother. It makes the idea of him getting in deep with Voldemort and then having to back out years later much more tangible; that is, it gives him something to turn around from, a state to mature into, when he makes his drastic reversal later on. I sincerely hope that makes sense, because I really love it. I also think your characterization of Sirius and his mother was spot-on as well. I could definitely empathize with Sirius being so upset that his least favorite people, the ones he was stuck with, would destroy his connection to the one he loves most.

This was such a pleasure to read; thank you for asking for a review. Your writing is really something to be admired and I can tell that you've edited very carefully; not a mistake to be found. OH! And Toujours_Padfoot has been trying desperately to get me to come read 'Life and Times' because I'm such a huge Snape fan. You're incredibly talented, just as she said, and so don't be surprised if I pop over to that one at some point.

Thanks again, and I hope my comments are helpful :)

academica

Author's Response: Wow -- thank you SO much for such a lovely review! I cannot even do your words justice. :3 And that Sarah, I will have to speak with her -- but it would be lovely if you returned! :D

Thank you very, very much!!


 Report Review

Review #5, by raznilla Mother and Son

27th June 2011:
acciochocolate319 here, with your review :)

First, I'm going to say that this story is beautifully written! You write with awesome grammar and no spelling mistakes. Your story flows really well. I also like the few oxymorons you have in there: "calm rage", "determined lethargy." They make it really interesting :)

I'm having a difficult time coming up with something to work on! If there was a flaw, it would be this: "The young elf, who was still a fairly recent addition to the Black household, having taken over the duties after his own mother died." I read it, and for some reason, thought you were talking about Sirius' mum! It isn't a major issue, though, so no worries!

All in all, fantastic story! :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for leaving such a great review! I love that you found the oxymorons, too, it's not something a lot of people notice. :3

Thanks!!


 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Mother and Son

29th May 2011:
Great job, dear! I really enjoyed it! It gives the reader a sort of "connection" with Sirius - it made me feel like he understood some of the exact same things I've gone through! I totally agree that this fits teenage Sirius' mood VERY well! Awesome job! 10/10!

Author's Response: Thanks, Jayde! :D It's sort of a miracle this was fit for publication, really, seeing as how my mood was so foul. :D I really, really appreciate your taking the time to review this!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Owlpost68 Mother and Son

26th May 2011:
I thought this was extremely well written for someone who was just in a fight lol, but seriously, I thought it really reflected all that Harry went through at the Dursley's. I know Sirius was kinda provoking Regulus and his mum, but they certainly treated him similar, favoring one son over the other. Also the throwing the letter in the fire was similar to the Dursley's throwing Harry's hogwarts letter in the fire. At least they haven't gone to the extremes of locking him in his room.
Anyway, great job!!

Author's Response: Ha! Well, thank you -- I've learned how to distract myself, since I have a quick temper, and reading or writing does the trick. :3 Now that I look at it, I've written young Sirius to be very like young Harry -- maybe that's a subtle intent, I'm not sure. Thanks for the lovely review!!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Lioness06 Mother and Son

25th May 2011:
I liked it! I thought your characterization was very good of all three characters. I guess James and Sirius didn't have two-way mirrors yet? And writing fanfiction is def a very positive way to deal with your own frustrations!

Author's Response: YAY! Thank you for being the first to leave a review on my newest story! (Nope - Sirius is only about thirteen or fourteen here, I'd say, and I figure they'd be older if they had the mirrors. My own interpretation!) Writing is the best way to unwind, I find. Thank you so much for the great review!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login