Reading Reviews for Permanent
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by xl Lily lx I.

2nd September 2011:
I love how bittersweet it is!

 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggle I.

10th August 2011:
Wow. This was a really amazing fic. All of Angelina's feelings.. emotions.. thoughts.. you really wrote this whole story amazingly well. Essentially, this is an Angelina/George mourning over Fred's death fic, but you made it so much more than that. I really liked the whole story, Angelina's thoughts on the battle, and then coming to describing his funeral. Angelina as a tough rock, and yet crying, really conveyed how much Angelina missed Fred.

I liked the ending too, it was good to see George finally realise the permanent thing - a good idea by the way. The song lyrics really related to the story. Gah, I really have nothing else to say, apart from the fact that you had me engaged the entire time, and I really enjoyed reading this. Amazing writing.

- maskedmuggle, Ravenclaw :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Akussa I.

10th August 2011:
Hello!

Ohhh, that was so sad, heartbreaking and yet, heartwarming at the same time. You did a wonderful job at creating a relationship that makes sense between these two. I like the idea of Angelina being their rock; it is a lovely image when you think of those two boys and how hard they must have made her life!

The emotional level of this story was perfect. Just the right amount of sadness and grief, and just the right amount of love and hope to balance it all. I like that you focused on Angelina's feelings and the way she reacted to what was happening. We didn't need to hear George's speach. Just sharing Angelina's emotions to it made me feel like I was right there, sitting in the room and holding her hand.

However wonderful emotional this story was, I did notice a couple little things through my read and I wish to point them out to you.

"The service was everything Fred would have wanted it be."; I think it would sound better if you said : "... wanted it 'to' be."

"and upon seeing him so frightened me."; I think you forgot some words in this sentence in order to make it sound better

"that was when George realized I wasn't' as tough"; there's an extra apostrophe after "wasn't"

That's it! There were a couple places where I felt like some ponctuation was either missing or too much, but really, it's nothing dramatic and it doesn't take away from the beaty of this piece. Great work!

Akussa (Gryffindor)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Crescent Moon  I.

20th July 2011:
Awww... this is really sweet. I loved it XD

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by onestop_hpfan18 I.

22nd June 2011:
Whoa, I really felt the hurt and passion between George and Angela in this. Great one-shot, Drue! (: The emotion was raw and real, I felt like this could have really been how both of them were pulled together after the battle in canon. And it really made me feel even more sad for Fred's death than I already felt, but at the same time I felt happy that George and Angela found each other out of his death. It really showed how one tragic event can bring two people together; excellent writing. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #6, by thehyacinthgirl I.

20th June 2011:
Sorry this came so late, I only realized you posted on my review thread - now!

I think that this is a wonderful job on the whole Angelina/George shipping. One doesn't see many of those types of stories and it's rarer still to catch a glimpse of them in Next Gen stories (as Roxy and Freddy are woefully ignored), but I digress.

I didn't find any mistakes with grammar, flow, pacing, syntax, or spelling in this story. As I've said so many times before I just really appreciate that when reading a piece.

I absolutely love the descriptions and the word choices in this piece, it seems to flow like poetry. I really love that fact.

As far as your characterizations go, I think you were spot on. I like that the more he pushes her away, the more she refuses to go. I always pictured Angelina as being the stubborn sort, and yet here it is endearing not overwhelming or annoying.

I really like that, too, because when independent women are shown in stories (Angelina, especially) people seem to make her overbearing or just plain irritating.

I think that you did both herself and George great justice in this piece, so kudos! I can imagine that it would be extremely difficult for George to move on, and I can imagine that Angelina would want to help him being one of his closer friends.

I can imagine she could be rather obstinate in a way that's irritating, but I can also picture that she has a softer and kinder side. Especially with regards to George. She was a Gryffindor, after all, and I don't think most Gryffindors are rude (excluding Ron and McLaggen, of course).

Oh, and the lyrics you slipped into the piece seemed to be seamlessly fit in. I really appreciated the fact that the lyrics didn't seem to stick out like a sore thumb as they sometimes do in songfics.

Overall, I would say you have a good plot and wonderful characterization.

Lovely work!


Linders

Author's Response: Thanks so much, my lovely Linders! Your review really just helped out so much. Thank you for being so thorough in so many areas. It's so helpful, and I really need it. :D

I'm glad you found George and Angelina characterized well. Really, they were so hard to do. I was so indecisive about all of their actions and thoughts.

Thanks so much for your input! :)

Drue


 Report Review

Review #7, by maidenwriter I.

16th June 2011:
Why hello there. :) I'm here with your review!

This first chapter is very well written. I love your writing style as well. You have great dialouge and perfect flow, the song fits very well with the story. I've actually never read a fic with Angelina as the main character, so yours is the first. :)

The flow is excellent. I like how you incorporated the song with the story. The characterization of George is very well done. I think that he was extremelly distrought when Fred died, as you explained, his other half had left him. He was very emotional and I was shocked because we never see this side of George during the series except at the end of course when Fred dies. However you have definitely pin pointed his emotions and what he was going through.

I think that you also did Angelina quite well. The fact that she cried and broke her promise says a lot about her character in this story. I also liked her emotions as well, that she was there for George and how you portrayed her needing George as he needed her.

Very well done! :)
10/10.
-Erika

Author's Response: Hey there, Erika!

Thank you so much for the kind review. That was so very helpful. Thank you for tackling the areas I was worried about.

Thanks, love! :) Talk to you soon! :D

Drue


 Report Review

Review #8, by SunSation Gal 07 I.

25th May 2011:
Daww! this was just so sad and so sweet! a brilliant piece Drue, though I've come to expect nothing less from you. all ylour stuff is brilliant. loved it.

Author's Response: Awe, thanks for reading, Lee!! Haha I didn't feel like this little one-shot was very interesting, and I was worried not too many people would enjoy it. But you read and reviewed without me even requesting! :D

YAY! Thanks, love!

xo.
Drue


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login