154 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Amy Year's End

4th July 2014:
This is a very well written story with characters so in character. Though I still thought that Harry would be a bit more ... adept at things but that is just wishful thinking. After all, this year was all about learning to be more adept and become all he can.

A very good story. Addicting too. Sad that I shirked work for this though...oh did I say sad? Tee hee! :P

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for taking the time to let me know you liked this. And no one's called the story addicting before, so that was really nice to hear! I also appreciated your comment that the characters were in character. I try really hard to do that in all my stories, so I'm always pleased when a reader tells they thought it was good - or points out where I got it wrong.

My reasoning for not having Harry too adept in this story was exactly what you mentioned. When I started writing this, I knew I'd be writing a whole school year, and I wanted to do it in detail and take the reader into plenty of classes with the characters, so I had to leave room for the characters to still have things to learn - and also to make mistakes so I could put some humor into the story. I also thought about Harry having another 3 years of auror training ahead of him with even more to learn, so there must still be quite a bit he doesn't know and has to perfect. Anyway, I'm glad it didn't keep you from enjoying the story if I made his skill level different than you imagined.

Thanks so much for reading all of this story and for leaving a review. And I see you've gone on to read the next story as well, so that's the best compliment I could hope for. Thanks a lot.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Cannons The Recapture of the Carrows

1st July 2014:
Hi!

Here for the review tag! I thought this was an interesting start to the story and a realistic one at that. Your description was good enough that I could clearly see what was happening during the battle scene which was good as I know battle scenes can be hard to get right at times.

The only weird thing I found was Harry's nerves when he was about to fight them with his wand hand shaking etc I would have though that just after defeating Voldemort he would have been so pumped up he wouldn't have any nerves. That's just me being pedantic though I suppose!

I loved the section with Peeves, it was such a clever idea and somehow made it feel more like Hogwarts.

Anyway keep writing you defiantly have talent.

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for reading. I enjoyed all your comments. This was my first fanfic and also my first finished novel-length story. It was also the first action scene I ever wrote (eek!) - so I'm thankful to hear you thought it wasn't bad, because I did struggle with it. And because it was one of the first scenes of the story, I knew it could either draw the reader in or turn them off. You're so right to say that battle scenes are hard to get right - they really are.

I can see your point about Harry not having nerves after just killing Voldemort, and I agree that he wouldn't be nervous about just fighting Death Eaters. But I was looking at it from a slightly different angle - my thought was that Harry was nervous about the Cruciatus curse the Carrows might cast and hit him with - or his friends - since Ron had just pointed out the Carrows were known for liking to use it, and no one wants to get hit with torture. So that's where I was coming from. But I'm glad you mentioned it, because it lets me know that the story might not have made my reasoning clear to every reader.

Thanks for letting me know you liked the scene with Peeves. I was so glad I got that idea, and hoped the humor would work for readers.

Thanks for a lovely review. I appreciate your reading this and commenting on it.


 Report Review

Review #3, by MargaretLane The Recapture of the Carrows

14th May 2014:
Hmm, this is interesting, starting a year eight fic right in the Battle of Hogwarts. I don't usually read year eight fics, but it sounds like this is going to deal with the issues that arose in the series, rather than just having the trio return to being typical secondary school students, as if the previous couple of years never happened.

I really like the way this chapter shows the war doesn't just end when Voldemort is defeated; that there are still issues to deal with, like the Carrows escaping.

I also like the way you show Hermione as being affected by the torture she experienced. It is only realistic that it would affect her.

Love the part with Dawlish and Ron's comment about his uncle Billius.

*cheers for Kingsley organising things so quickly* Especially giving Arthur back pay. Recently information about the pensions for our Irish struggle for independence was given out. I think the Ministry should give the Order members some kind of compensation too, actually.

I was surprised when Peeves dropped Carrow a wand. I really didn't think he'd give them anything that'd help them escape. And then it turned out to be a trick one. Brilliant.

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for giving this chapter a read, and for such a lovely review, especially since you say its not what you would normally read.

I did spend quite a few chapters tying up loose ends from the books, and I especially explored the aftermath of Fred's death in a couple of chapters. I tried to be realistic about what would logically happen between the Ministry, Death Eaters, and the Goblins post-war, along with the main characters, and let those natural conflicts shape the plot, along with adding some elements of my own.

In the books, whenever there was a shift of power at the Ministry, it brought about dramatic changes very quickly, so I just followed that same protocol in this story, and just tried to keep it within believable limits. As a former Order member, I think Kingsley would be very much on the ball as Minister of Magic, and get certain things done right away, particularly when it came to protecting Harry and the Order. He also seemed to be a man of high integrity, so I think he'd compensate Ministry workers who'd lost wages because of the war. I was especially delighted to see your comment about the Ministry giving Order members some kind of pay, because I thought of that as well, and actually had Kingsley do it in later chapter when he recruits help from the Order at their first meeting.

I'm glad you liked Peeves' prank in the dungeon. I tried to put a good dose of humor into the story, and they were often my favorite scenes to write.

Thanks again for such a lovely review. I really enjoyed reading your comments, and I hope you'll decide to continue with the story.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Jonia Year's End

29th March 2014:
Great story! Really well done, thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Teddy1993 Year's End

3rd February 2014:
Great chapter to end this story with. You did a great job on the Quidditch game.

I liked you included the part where Harry talks to Snape's portrait. Although it wasn't a very friendly conversation, what was to be expected, it provides some closure concerning the relationship between them.

The sentiments you expressed when Harry thought about his parents and Sirius and Remus when he had caught the snitch and when they all left Hogwarts for the last time were perfectly described. Beautifully written.

I absolutely loved this story. I could perfectly imagine this is what the eigth Harry Potter book could have been like. Your writing is amazing. you grab the reader's attention with enough mystery, but you also include humorous, relaxing moments which keeps the story fun.

I must really compliment you on your writing style. As I said before, it is amazing how detailed your story is without stretching it out or losing the interest of your readers. I think you could really be a published writer.

Thanks you so much for writing this story. I have enjoyed it from the first chapter right up to the very end. Great job! And keep writing :)

Teddy

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely final review on the story. I'm flattered by your comments. There's nothing more satisfying for a writer having an appreciative reader. And a tolerant one, because every story has some flaws. So I thank you very much for being both. And you've also been a very kind reviewer.

I was determined to give readers a full final chapter and not just a short epilogue. As a reader I always feel a little cheated when the final chapter is only a few paragraphs long. Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed what I put in there, including the quidditch game. And thank you for letting me know what you like about my writing. I'll certainly do my best to keep on doing those things.

I had a great time writing this story, and I'm especially happy that I actually finished it. Thanks again for reading. I'm thrilled to hear you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Teddy1993 A Goblin Fairy Tale

3rd February 2014:
Of course it was Umbridge. I don't know why I was surprised by that. It perfectly makes sense for her to try to take control of the Ministry now that Voldemort is gone.

I was really afraid that Winnie was going to be killed when she showed up. That scene was so similar to the one where Hedwig died.

There's probably one bird in the world who has experience in combat and of course it's a bird that was once owned by Mad-Eye Moody.

Wonderful story. I liked it from the beginning until the end. Only one more chapter...

Teddy

Author's Response: Hi, thanks again for another lovely review. When I examined who I could use for a possible culprit, Umbridge was the only really sinister personality still alive. So I just tried not to make it too obvious that she'd show up at the end. I didn't think readers would even mind all that much, as long as I kept the story climax exciting enough.

I actually did write a trial scene where Winnie got wounded and was in danger of bleeding to death, so that I could kill her if I wanted to. But I was never completely satisfied with the way it turned out, and ended up not using it. The other reason I decided not to use it was because I thought it was too similar to the way Dobby died. I had the owl bleeding to death in Harry's arms with a shard of broken glass piercing its breast. And Hermione trying to heal it with that 'resarcio penetranter' spell Flitwick taught them on the fruit. That's the reason I had Flitwick teach that spell - just in case.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Doug james Year's End

3rd February 2014:
This is a brief review of the whole book: Overall a very good read, well paced and very easy to become absorbed into.
Minor niggles with the story are the elements that are introduced and then not pursued such as the Carrows who look like they are being built into a storyline but never reappear; The Hogwarts picture was good but not really sure what it added; Fred & George?.;the inability of Harry, Ron and Hermione to seemingly land a single hex makes the future of Harry and Ron as Aurors seem doubtful!
However these are just niggles and the main story does move well, has good tension building with the research into the curse and the symbols and has satisfactory conclusions to all. Overall an absolutely excellent novel.

Author's Response: Hello, and thank you very much. I really appreciate your comments. This was the first novel length story I ever wrote to completion, so it was very much a learning experience for me. I'm pleased to hear you felt the flaws were only minor, and I thank you for specifically pointing out what you thought those weaknesses are. I struggle quite a lot with plotting. I'm jealous of authors who have endless plot ideas running through their minds, because I'm usually stuck with a void and have to wrestle a plot into being.

I was pleasantly surprised to hear you say the story was well paced because I thought the pacing was a little uneven myself, slow at times, and then faster at the end.

Thanks for sharing your reaction to the story as a whole. You've given me some useful feedback that I'll be able to keep in mind for any future writing I do. Thanks also for reading the entire story. I'm delighted you thought it was excellent overall.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Teddy1993 An Uncommon Brew

3rd February 2014:
I'm glad the potion worked and Bill will be alright. Another fun scene in Herbology class. Nice job.

Teddy

Author's Response: I had a good time writing both of those scenes. That herbology scene strikes me as being a little out of place. But I felt like I was rushing through the end of the story pretty fast, so I put it in to try to even out the pace. I don't think the earlier chapters can stand another classroom scene. So for better or for worse, I'm leaving it here.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Teddy1993 Worthy Blood

3rd February 2014:
I think it was a good move from Harry to confront Ogilvie with the incidents at the museum. I'm still not sure he's being honest or just happens to be a very good actor. I expect we'll find out soon enough.

Great chapter!

Teddy

Author's Response: This was the point in the story where I had to decide myself what side of the fence I was going to put Ogilvie on. I'd hoped I'd made him an interesting character even if readers guessed correctly.

The plot could have developed much differently in pursuit of Worthy Blood, but that would have been really AU. I didn't feel too comfortable taking the characters into medieval times in search of a wizard in a HP fanfic. So I hope the owner of the worthy blood didn't turn out too cliche.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Teddy1993 A Surprising Hint

2nd February 2014:
An interesting development. I'm looking forward to meeting Nicolas Flamel.

Author's Response: Hi, I can see you've already finished reading the story, so thanks for staying with it until the end.

This chapter and the next two were the ones I thought might be poorest received by readers. I threw a lot of information at the reader in this chapter and in the time travel chapter, and I just hoped it wouldn't be too confusing or too utterly boring. The logic seemed like a far stretch even to me sometimes, and this was when I started to feel shakiest about the plot development.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Teddy1993 A Saving Grace

2nd February 2014:
Awesome chapter. Just when I thought the story couldn't get any better. Wonderful writing. I was surprised to see the Mirror of Erised again. Nice touch. It's amazing that Harry was able to see his old friends again and could finally meet his parents. I liked the bit with Dobby too, he deserved it.

"Life is merely a series of passing moments. The wisest of us choose to dwell on only the happiest of them." That is one brilliant quote. Classic Dumbledore.

Teddy

Author's Response: This was a chapter I figured a reader would either love or hate. I tried to figure some way to make this event happen without using Fawkes because using a phoenix has become pretty common in fanfic, but I just couldn't come up with anything better. But I loved writing that scene of Harry visiting the other side.

In the books I always longed for him to have a real visit with his parents. So I decided to write a scene like that myself, and I'm happy with the way it turned out.

Dobby deserved a thank you for giving his all. I love that elf. I was thrilled when I thought up that little nugget of wisdom for Dumbledore to say.

I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter so much. It was a real pleasure to write this one.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Teddy1993 Christmas at Grimmauld Place

2nd February 2014:
That was an excellent way of testing where Kreacher's loyalties really lie.

Nice Christmas scene. It was good to see George reappear, he always makes sure there are some laughs. Great ideas for the hats. I also liked Harry's presents for Mr and Mrs Weasley.

Great scene at the end with Harry and Ginny. Nicely written.

Teddy

Author's Response: I actually found the Christmas chapter a little awkward to write. That and Harry's birthday - I was running out of good gifts to give him, and I was finding it a little hard to make that day feel special anymore. So I decided Harry had better start giving some gifts instead. I relied on some humor to get me through the celebrating part of the chapter. Geroge and his funny hats bailed me out, along with Mrs. Weasley's devouring drawer.

But I enjoyed writing the scene with Kreacher and exploring his attachment to Grimmauld Place and Mrs. Black.

And the kiss - well Christmas mistletoe - I thought readers would consider it a must.

Thanks for all your reviews. They've been lovely. And thank you very much for reading this quite long story.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Teddy1993 The Order Meets at Grimmauld Place

2nd February 2014:
I really liked how Harry tells Teddy stories about his father before he puts him to bed. I'm sure he would want Teddy to know everything about his parents and how brave they were.

I was surprised to read that Arthur build The Burrow himself. I always imagined that generations of Weasleys had been living there for years, much like the Blacks at Grimmauld Place. It does make sense in a way though, especially the working shed where Arthur can mess around with Muggle things.

I really love your story. Great work.

Teddy

Author's Response: Well, Harry promised to tell Teddy, so I thought I ought to show him already starting to keep that promise.

As for the Burrow, I went by information in the HP WIKI which isn't always a reliable source, but I really liked what it said. I don't know where the WIKI got its information, but it said that Arthur and Molly moved into the pigpen after they got married. And as they had children they started adding rooms with whatever salage material they could get. Which made sense to me and would explain why the Burrow is so crookedly built if they just added on rooms and floors child by child.

Thanks a lot for your comments. I'm glad you like the story. And thanks for reading this far.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Teddy1993 Creatures Run Amuck

2nd February 2014:
Great scene with Hagrid's creatures. Those things can only happen at Hogwarts.

It was nice to see Sir Cadogan make an appearance, being his usual crazy self.

Great writing, as usual.

Teddy

Author's Response: I was hoping I'd be able to think of a scene with Hagrid's creatures causing some kind of commotion. Even though the main characters aren't taking his classes, I like to put Hagrid in wherever I can. It just doesn't feel like Hogwarts without a good dose of Hagrid.

And Cadogan, well, he was useful for humor. But he and Luna (at least where creatures are concerned) are two characters that sometimes give unreliable information. And the reader will have to decide for themselves whether or not to believe it. Uncertainty is always a good thing.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Teddy1993 The Quidditch Match

1st February 2014:
I loved the Quidditch match. You wrote it very well.

Rita Skeeter did it again. I expected she would publish a book about Harry. When you quoted from her book you said that Padma Patil had gone on a date with Harry while he actually took Parvati to the Yule Ball. I'm not sure it's a mistake though, it could easily just be a way of showing Rita doesn't know what she's talking about, like when she got George's name and the name of the shop wrong.

Great chapter again!

Teddy

Author's Response: Hi and thank you. I think the first quidditch match is the easiest, and then you have to get more creative. I'm glad you liked it - or maybe you're just sympathizing with me because you know what it's like. Either way thanks a lot.

According to JKR, Skeeter did write both Harry's and Snape's biography that were just full of lies. But there's no telling when I might like to use Skeeter again down the road, so I didn't want Hermione to have to make good on her threat and get her thrown in Azkaban. She's just too useful a character to get rid of. The mistake about Padma was mine, and thanks for pointing it out. I hadn't noticed it - a case of author's blindness. I'm putting it on my list of things to correct in edits.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Teddy1993 The Wizard's Portrait

1st February 2014:
Never thought I'd say this but I really want to visit that museum. If they don't shoot killing curses at me at least.

The background information on Lupin was a nice touch. Now we know what his father did to make Greyback angry.

That was definitely something weird with that portrait. It doesn't seem to be a coincidence that Ogilvie sent them there but I still think he hasn't got bad intentions.

Teddy

Author's Response: Thanks for your comments. They're always fun to read. Oh, the things I do to Harry for entertainment. I left the background I made up about Lupin just hanging in the air as a possibility for the reader to decide on for themselves. The plot will continue to thicken, and I hope you enjoy where it goes. I tried to put a little surprise in each chapter to keep things unpredictable. Thanks again for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Teddy1993 An Unexpected Privilege

1st February 2014:
Yes, Slughorn would certainly be uncomfortable when a young student comes to ask questions that have to do with the Dark Arts. Quite a sharp remark from Harry towards him in the end.

Ogilvie seemed to be quite interested in the Elder Wand, but then again, who wouldn't be? He doesn't strike me as someone with bad intentions at the moment.

That museum sure does sound interesting. There's a sentence I'd never thought I would say.

I love the story so far. You write the characters very well too. Being annoyed because someone else receives house points for a good answer in class, even if also a Gryffindor is classic Hermione.

Teddy

Author's Response: From your comment in this review and the next, it sounds like you don't like museums very much. I'm glad you find this one interesting. When I started writing the story, I didn't know exactly where the plot would go or what would need to happen, so I just picked a setting that could feel a little mysterious and sinister, and the museum worked quite well.

Ogilvie was one of those characters I could have gone either way with, and I didn't make up my mind until quite late in the story how I would play him.

This is my first fanfic too, just like your story was for you, and my first finished novel, so I was learning a lot about writing a story this length as I went along. Novel writing is quite a journey isn't it? So I'm glad you've enjoyed it up to now, and I've enjoyed all your comments. Thanks very much.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Teddy1993 Bristle Rash

1st February 2014:
I liked the Quidditch scene, though I expected the Chasers of the Alumni team to be more stronger than those of the Gryffindor team. Great job on the Herbology class, very entertaining. Great writing again!

Teddy

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for still reading. I had a lot of fun writing this chapter. I was happy with the way the humorous scenes turned out. I'm glad you enjoyed it too. The alumni team was stronger than the school team - they scored twice as many goals. Your comment actually made me go back and check to make sure I hadn't written the wrong score in the story. But I did let the school team score at least some goals. I didn't want to make them feel horribly bad. Even so, they only won because of Harry catching the snitch.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Teddy1993 The New Defense Against the Dark Arts Instructor

1st February 2014:
I'm glad you made Hagrid head of Gryffindor house. He's the only right choice for the job. Good job with the DADA lesson.

Author's Response: Hi. Yes, I though Hagrid was the best choice too, and he'd be tickled pink to do it. Thanks very much. I'm glad you liked the classroom scene.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Teddy1993 Return to Hogwarts

31st January 2014:
A lot of new characters in this chapter. The new DADA teacher sure seems interesting..

I loved the idea of Dumbledore still making the start of term announcements. Nice touch!

Teddy

Author's Response: Hopefully you'll find this teacher even more interesting as the story goes on. The feast just wouldn't feel the same without Dumbledore's announcements. And the new roommates and their pets will add some humor here and there, and will only have a small part to play. The story will stay centered on Harry and the other main three. So you'll be staying on familiar ground.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Teddy1993 The Curse of the Haunting Specter

31st January 2014:
I had a feeling something would happen to Bill when he accepted the task from Kingsley.. It seems that his worst fear has come true, but at least he's alive. It would have been awful for Fleur and the Weasleys if they had lost him too. I don't really believe Bill could ever become like Greyback now that he's a werewolf. I think there are good and bad werewolves, just like there are good and bad wizards.

Nice chapter with an interesting development.

Teddy

Author's Response: Bill's misfortune helps to set the main plot in motion, and I hope you'll enjoy where it evolves from here. And I hope it keeps you guessing and pleasantly surprised.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Teddy1993 Harry's Birthday

31st January 2014:
I'm wondering who will be the new DADA teacher now that Bill won't be able to take the job.

Great chapter! Excellent writing as always.

Teddy

Author's Response: I felt like I had the same problem as Dumbledore had trying to fill the empty post of DADA teacher! I see you've read on to find who it is. I tried to make him an interesting and unusual character. New DADA teachers always had an important part to play and this character will be no exception.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Teddy1993 A Meeting with Rita Skeeter

31st January 2014:
It was good to see Kreacher make an appearance. I really liked how you wrote him. Rita Skeeter sure is a pain in the... Just like we remember her. I'm guessing she's working on a book about Harry with her own version of how he defeated Voldemort.

Author's Response: Rita was a useful sideplot for me during the first half of the story before the main plot got underway. I'm glad to hear you say I got her as annoying as she was in the books. It was time to bring Kreacher into the story as well. He'll show up more later on too. I'm glad you like the way I did both these characters.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Teddy1993 Solidarity!

31st January 2014:
Interesting chapter. Of course Death Eaters can't have a meeting without being at each other's throats. They did have a good point about the Goblins, though that's not really surprising, is it.

I wonder if that 'overly polite voice' was Umbridge. Sure sounds like her.

Teddy

Author's Response: The story does have a mystery element to it. I hoped to keep the reader guessing about a lot of things right up until the end. And it's useful for the readers to know a little about what the Death Eaters are thinking.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Teddy1993 A Visit to the Owlery

31st January 2014:
That definitely sounds like a bird for Moody. I half expected Hagrid to keep the lizard as a pet and try to tame it.

Author's Response: When I wrote this chapter I was hoping I might find a way to use the lizard idea more in the story, but I eventually gave up on it and went in a different direction with the plot.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>