159 Reviews Found

Review #1, by StarFeather Return to the Burrow

7th February 2015:
Hi, I came back here to find why George got two house-elves as your guidance. :)

Your story is really like a model of good description. I felt it when I translated the scene of dinner table set up by McGonagall into my own language for my son. He was sleeping now, but he also enjoyed your story as a bed time story. :)

And floo powder part, it is complicated but even J.K.Rowling didn't explain how Umbridge watched the floo network in book 5, you did a good job.

I like the conversation by Weasley brothers the best in this chapter, they care George with full of affection.

And I'm glad Ron got angry saying Dumbledore was mental for he let Harry go to be killed. His loyality to Harry will be forever.

And the last part about Harry's sad feeling after so many people he loved died, I tried writing the same thing in my third story, so I felt close to your thought.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much for your kind compliments. And WOW, you even translated some of this to share with your son. Now that's a real compliment. Thank you so much. It means a great deal to hear that. I hope you share your own stories with him too. He is a lucky child to have a parent who reads to him and writes stories!

I agree with you about the floo powder. I read this chapter myself just a few days ago, and had the very same thought. I rewrote that part many times already trying to make it simpler, but it's still not right. I'm glad you mentioned it. It's going on my list of things to work on when I have time to come back to this story.

I'm glad you like the Weasley brothers scene. That was one of my favorite scenes to write too.

Yes, I thought Ron would be angry when he learned the truth, since it would be such a shock. But Harry would make him understand that Dumbledore was only trying to help Harry survive a situation that was avoidable.

Harry's sadness was a natural thing for him to feel. If you write a similar scene, I'll be interested to read it.


 Report Review

Review #2, by StarFeather Fred's Funeral

6th February 2015:
I really understand why George wore Fred's workrobes. And slides of Twins. I have attended the ceremony of my deceased friend, where they had slides, too. To remember the dearest deceased is show respect for them.

The scene Aunt Muriel, 107 years old sipping a flask reminds me of one scene of "the Cripple of Inishmaan" I read, there was also an old woman who loved alcohol. And the conversation of Harry and Muriel you created is marvelous. It can likely be written after Book 7.

The whole story of a dancing Irish jig goldfish made me laugh again.

One thing I might miss, why George became Master of two houseelves, Dash and Nibbot. Which chapter did you mention about them? I must go back.

And Peeves! You let him enter effectively. After his prank, the picturesque sequence of Weasleys Wizard Wheezes including Farewell Fireworks are exquisite.

Author's Response: Hi, thank you so much for reading and reviewing this chapter. It was a pleasure to read your thoughts about it.

I didn't want to write such a sad and depressing funeral chapter. I wanted to make it a chapter that people would enjoy re-reading, and not avoid because it was sad. Plus I decided that putting some humor in would be very fitting for Fred. So the slide show was a good way for me to honor Fred in a way that is also fun for the reader.

I used Muriel for some comedy too, even though she and Harry had a conversation that shows how nasty Muriel is.

And the same with Peeves. He provides some humor, but I also had a purpose for putting him in the story.

The chapter that explains how Fred and George got house-elves is Chapter 5, and then the Trio meet them for the first time in Chapter 6. One reason I put the new elves in the story was because I just wanted to practice writing an elf. The other reason was because I wanted to give the reader the idea that George would always have enough help in his shop, so that the shop would never feel like a burden to him after Fred died.

Thanks again for such a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by StarFeather The Acquisition of Spinner's End

5th February 2015:
I tried to read next chapter after reading Harry's flight with Ginny but the title of this chapter drew me so I'll review this chapter before others.

I like the way you described how the silver patronous appeared and repeated the message to Harry and left.

I laughed again when I read George's dialogues and his gesture,"be sure to nick it for us," and deprimanded by Molly, turned back to Harry mouthing, "no, I'm not kidding."

And I was very impressed you recreated the scenery of the town Snape and Lily had lived with your ingenious pen. I also like the scene Harry recognized Snape's scribbling each textbooks to use them to plan his teaching lessons over the summer.

Climax of this chapter, pressed red rose part. Perhaps other readers left comments for this so I dare not mention in detail, readers can guess and expect this scene since when Harry entered Snape's house but still it is beautiful.

I reckon Snape used Time-Turner to be back to the spot before Lily was killed so that he could rescue her.

Author's Response:
Hi, thanks for reading more and leaving another nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

I was a fan of the twins in the books. So I always looked for ways to include George in this story. So I'm glad you liked his little part in this chapter.

I was always curious to see more of Snape's house when I read the books. But I think there was only one scene of it in the books. So I decided to write a scene at Snape's house in my own story. But I really had trouble thinking of what Harry might find there, because I wanted it to be something that was important to the plot. And then I thought of Lily objects as well.

I'm glad you enjoyed some of the descriptions. A lot of this chapter was just one long description without any dialogue to break it up, which I usually don't like to do. I worried the scene might be too long and boring that way, but I wanted Harry to be alone when he made his discoveries. So I just took a chance with it, for better or for worse.

I was undecided for a long time about whether or not I might put a Time-Turner in this story, and if I did, how I was going to use it, because I didn't want make any part of this story predictable to the reader.

Thanks again for reading and for leaving another very nice review.


 Report Review

Review #4, by StarFeather A Menace in the Sky (The Firebolt Ride)

3rd February 2015:
Hi, I came back to your wonderful magical world after your great comment on my blog of forums.

I really love this chapter where Harry enjoys his ride from bottom of his heart feeling of freedom having defeated Voldemort aside.

And I like the way you describe relationship between Harry and Ginny, which is not too fluffy, well balanced, which can make readers who love romance feel satisfied. And the pause you created was amazing . Readers gasp at the sight of a dark figure after their happy moment. And George's help with sending Bluders! Your lightning trick is brilliant!
And all the old Gryffindor Quidditch stars enter! I was so excited, shouted in my mind, 'Go, Gryffin, go for it!' I felt like I experienced an exciting game while I read this chapter.

And I laughed at Ron's catching Harry's wand. He nicely, saved! I love your plot.

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for coming to read more of this story and for this lovely review. This was one of the chapters I struggled with the most in this story. I never tried writing any action scenes before this novel, so this chapter was part of my earliest practice. I'm still not completely satisfied with it, so I'm always glad when people enjoy it anyway.

After all Harry went through, the one way I could give him a little relief and relaxation was to put him on a broom. Better yet with Ginny. But having Ginny with him also made the pair more vulnerable when the enemies showed up. And I hoped it would raise the suspense. So thanks for mentioning it.

I also wanted to put some humor in this chapter, so I thought it would be good fun to put George and Ron on joke shop brooms, and to show George using bludgers since he has such skill, and since bludgers are pretty dangerous anyway. And I looked for a way to bring back the old quidditch team since they were my favorite Hogwarts team in the books, and I missed Oliver when he left, So I'm glad you enjoyed those too.

And Ron - well, every now and then I think Ron deserves to do something right!

Thanks again for this wonderful review.


 Report Review

Review #5, by WhitedragoPieGuy Year's End

12th January 2015:
Great story. It kept me up reading the whole night because I needed to know what happened. As the story went on I completely forgot about Umbridge and was convinced that the antagonist was Professor Ogilvie. With a name that spells out I go evil when shuffled I was so confident in my suspicions. This is now one of my favorite books to reread with spare time. Thanks for a great read!

Author's Response: Hi! This review just made my day! Thank you for such terrific comments. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it that much. I tried to write the story so it would drop surprises on the reader right up to the very end. And I didn't decide which way I was going to play Ogilvie until the very end, and had a lot of fun writing him so that his character could go either way. But my gosh - what you pointed out about his name was not something I did on purpose. I wish I could take credit for it, cause I'm really pretty blown away. You are quite the sleuth for detail! And you just gave me a reason to like my own character even better now! Thanks so much for this lovely review.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Amy Year's End

4th July 2014:
This is a very well written story with characters so in character. Though I still thought that Harry would be a bit more ... adept at things but that is just wishful thinking. After all, this year was all about learning to be more adept and become all he can.

A very good story. Addicting too. Sad that I shirked work for this though...oh did I say sad? Tee hee! :P

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for taking the time to let me know you liked this. And no one's called the story addicting before, so that was really nice to hear! I also appreciated your comment that the characters were in character. I try really hard to do that in all my stories, so I'm always pleased when a reader tells they thought it was good - or points out where I got it wrong.

My reasoning for not having Harry too adept in this story was exactly what you mentioned. When I started writing this, I knew I'd be writing a whole school year, and I wanted to do it in detail and take the reader into plenty of classes with the characters, so I had to leave room for the characters to still have things to learn - and also to make mistakes so I could put some humor into the story. I also thought about Harry having another 3 years of auror training ahead of him with even more to learn, so there must still be quite a bit he doesn't know and has to perfect. Anyway, I'm glad it didn't keep you from enjoying the story if I made his skill level different than you imagined.

Thanks so much for reading all of this story and for leaving a review. And I see you've gone on to read the next story as well, so that's the best compliment I could hope for. Thanks a lot.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Cannons The Recapture of the Carrows

1st July 2014:
Hi!

Here for the review tag! I thought this was an interesting start to the story and a realistic one at that. Your description was good enough that I could clearly see what was happening during the battle scene which was good as I know battle scenes can be hard to get right at times.

The only weird thing I found was Harry's nerves when he was about to fight them with his wand hand shaking etc I would have though that just after defeating Voldemort he would have been so pumped up he wouldn't have any nerves. That's just me being pedantic though I suppose!

I loved the section with Peeves, it was such a clever idea and somehow made it feel more like Hogwarts.

Anyway keep writing you defiantly have talent.

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for reading. I enjoyed all your comments. This was my first fanfic and also my first finished novel-length story. It was also the first action scene I ever wrote (eek!) - so I'm thankful to hear you thought it wasn't bad, because I did struggle with it. And because it was one of the first scenes of the story, I knew it could either draw the reader in or turn them off. You're so right to say that battle scenes are hard to get right - they really are.

I can see your point about Harry not having nerves after just killing Voldemort, and I agree that he wouldn't be nervous about just fighting Death Eaters. But I was looking at it from a slightly different angle - my thought was that Harry was nervous about the Cruciatus curse the Carrows might cast and hit him with - or his friends - since Ron had just pointed out the Carrows were known for liking to use it, and no one wants to get hit with torture. So that's where I was coming from. But I'm glad you mentioned it, because it lets me know that the story might not have made my reasoning clear to every reader.

Thanks for letting me know you liked the scene with Peeves. I was so glad I got that idea, and hoped the humor would work for readers.

Thanks for a lovely review. I appreciate your reading this and commenting on it.


 Report Review

Review #8, by MargaretLane The Recapture of the Carrows

14th May 2014:
Hmm, this is interesting, starting a year eight fic right in the Battle of Hogwarts. I don't usually read year eight fics, but it sounds like this is going to deal with the issues that arose in the series, rather than just having the trio return to being typical secondary school students, as if the previous couple of years never happened.

I really like the way this chapter shows the war doesn't just end when Voldemort is defeated; that there are still issues to deal with, like the Carrows escaping.

I also like the way you show Hermione as being affected by the torture she experienced. It is only realistic that it would affect her.

Love the part with Dawlish and Ron's comment about his uncle Billius.

*cheers for Kingsley organising things so quickly* Especially giving Arthur back pay. Recently information about the pensions for our Irish struggle for independence was given out. I think the Ministry should give the Order members some kind of compensation too, actually.

I was surprised when Peeves dropped Carrow a wand. I really didn't think he'd give them anything that'd help them escape. And then it turned out to be a trick one. Brilliant.

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for giving this chapter a read, and for such a lovely review, especially since you say its not what you would normally read.

I did spend quite a few chapters tying up loose ends from the books, and I especially explored the aftermath of Fred's death in a couple of chapters. I tried to be realistic about what would logically happen between the Ministry, Death Eaters, and the Goblins post-war, along with the main characters, and let those natural conflicts shape the plot, along with adding some elements of my own.

In the books, whenever there was a shift of power at the Ministry, it brought about dramatic changes very quickly, so I just followed that same protocol in this story, and just tried to keep it within believable limits. As a former Order member, I think Kingsley would be very much on the ball as Minister of Magic, and get certain things done right away, particularly when it came to protecting Harry and the Order. He also seemed to be a man of high integrity, so I think he'd compensate Ministry workers who'd lost wages because of the war. I was especially delighted to see your comment about the Ministry giving Order members some kind of pay, because I thought of that as well, and actually had Kingsley do it in later chapter when he recruits help from the Order at their first meeting.

I'm glad you liked Peeves' prank in the dungeon. I tried to put a good dose of humor into the story, and they were often my favorite scenes to write.

Thanks again for such a lovely review. I really enjoyed reading your comments, and I hope you'll decide to continue with the story.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Jonia Year's End

29th March 2014:
Great story! Really well done, thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Teddy1993 Year's End

3rd February 2014:
Great chapter to end this story with. You did a great job on the Quidditch game.

I liked you included the part where Harry talks to Snape's portrait. Although it wasn't a very friendly conversation, what was to be expected, it provides some closure concerning the relationship between them.

The sentiments you expressed when Harry thought about his parents and Sirius and Remus when he had caught the snitch and when they all left Hogwarts for the last time were perfectly described. Beautifully written.

I absolutely loved this story. I could perfectly imagine this is what the eigth Harry Potter book could have been like. Your writing is amazing. you grab the reader's attention with enough mystery, but you also include humorous, relaxing moments which keeps the story fun.

I must really compliment you on your writing style. As I said before, it is amazing how detailed your story is without stretching it out or losing the interest of your readers. I think you could really be a published writer.

Thanks you so much for writing this story. I have enjoyed it from the first chapter right up to the very end. Great job! And keep writing :)

Teddy

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely final review on the story. I'm flattered by your comments. There's nothing more satisfying for a writer having an appreciative reader. And a tolerant one, because every story has some flaws. So I thank you very much for being both. And you've also been a very kind reviewer.

I was determined to give readers a full final chapter and not just a short epilogue. As a reader I always feel a little cheated when the final chapter is only a few paragraphs long. Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed what I put in there, including the quidditch game. And thank you for letting me know what you like about my writing. I'll certainly do my best to keep on doing those things.

I had a great time writing this story, and I'm especially happy that I actually finished it. Thanks again for reading. I'm thrilled to hear you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Teddy1993 A Goblin Fairy Tale

3rd February 2014:
Of course it was Umbridge. I don't know why I was surprised by that. It perfectly makes sense for her to try to take control of the Ministry now that Voldemort is gone.

I was really afraid that Winnie was going to be killed when she showed up. That scene was so similar to the one where Hedwig died.

There's probably one bird in the world who has experience in combat and of course it's a bird that was once owned by Mad-Eye Moody.

Wonderful story. I liked it from the beginning until the end. Only one more chapter...

Teddy

Author's Response: Hi, thanks again for another lovely review. When I examined who I could use for a possible culprit, Umbridge was the only really sinister personality still alive. So I just tried not to make it too obvious that she'd show up at the end. I didn't think readers would even mind all that much, as long as I kept the story climax exciting enough.

I actually did write a trial scene where Winnie got wounded and was in danger of bleeding to death, so that I could kill her if I wanted to. But I was never completely satisfied with the way it turned out, and ended up not using it. The other reason I decided not to use it was because I thought it was too similar to the way Dobby died. I had the owl bleeding to death in Harry's arms with a shard of broken glass piercing its breast. And Hermione trying to heal it with that 'resarcio penetranter' spell Flitwick taught them on the fruit. That's the reason I had Flitwick teach that spell - just in case.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Doug james Year's End

3rd February 2014:
This is a brief review of the whole book: Overall a very good read, well paced and very easy to become absorbed into.
Minor niggles with the story are the elements that are introduced and then not pursued such as the Carrows who look like they are being built into a storyline but never reappear; The Hogwarts picture was good but not really sure what it added; Fred & George?.;the inability of Harry, Ron and Hermione to seemingly land a single hex makes the future of Harry and Ron as Aurors seem doubtful!
However these are just niggles and the main story does move well, has good tension building with the research into the curse and the symbols and has satisfactory conclusions to all. Overall an absolutely excellent novel.

Author's Response: Hello, and thank you very much. I really appreciate your comments. This was the first novel length story I ever wrote to completion, so it was very much a learning experience for me. I'm pleased to hear you felt the flaws were only minor, and I thank you for specifically pointing out what you thought those weaknesses are. I struggle quite a lot with plotting. I'm jealous of authors who have endless plot ideas running through their minds, because I'm usually stuck with a void and have to wrestle a plot into being.

I was pleasantly surprised to hear you say the story was well paced because I thought the pacing was a little uneven myself, slow at times, and then faster at the end.

Thanks for sharing your reaction to the story as a whole. You've given me some useful feedback that I'll be able to keep in mind for any future writing I do. Thanks also for reading the entire story. I'm delighted you thought it was excellent overall.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Teddy1993 An Uncommon Brew

3rd February 2014:
I'm glad the potion worked and Bill will be alright. Another fun scene in Herbology class. Nice job.

Teddy

Author's Response: I had a good time writing both of those scenes. That herbology scene strikes me as being a little out of place. But I felt like I was rushing through the end of the story pretty fast, so I put it in to try to even out the pace. I don't think the earlier chapters can stand another classroom scene. So for better or for worse, I'm leaving it here.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Teddy1993 Worthy Blood

3rd February 2014:
I think it was a good move from Harry to confront Ogilvie with the incidents at the museum. I'm still not sure he's being honest or just happens to be a very good actor. I expect we'll find out soon enough.

Great chapter!

Teddy

Author's Response: This was the point in the story where I had to decide myself what side of the fence I was going to put Ogilvie on. I'd hoped I'd made him an interesting character even if readers guessed correctly.

The plot could have developed much differently in pursuit of Worthy Blood, but that would have been really AU. I didn't feel too comfortable taking the characters into medieval times in search of a wizard in a HP fanfic. So I hope the owner of the worthy blood didn't turn out too cliche.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Teddy1993 A Surprising Hint

2nd February 2014:
An interesting development. I'm looking forward to meeting Nicolas Flamel.

Author's Response: Hi, I can see you've already finished reading the story, so thanks for staying with it until the end.

This chapter and the next two were the ones I thought might be poorest received by readers. I threw a lot of information at the reader in this chapter and in the time travel chapter, and I just hoped it wouldn't be too confusing or too utterly boring. The logic seemed like a far stretch even to me sometimes, and this was when I started to feel shakiest about the plot development.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Teddy1993 A Saving Grace

2nd February 2014:
Awesome chapter. Just when I thought the story couldn't get any better. Wonderful writing. I was surprised to see the Mirror of Erised again. Nice touch. It's amazing that Harry was able to see his old friends again and could finally meet his parents. I liked the bit with Dobby too, he deserved it.

"Life is merely a series of passing moments. The wisest of us choose to dwell on only the happiest of them." That is one brilliant quote. Classic Dumbledore.

Teddy

Author's Response: This was a chapter I figured a reader would either love or hate. I tried to figure some way to make this event happen without using Fawkes because using a phoenix has become pretty common in fanfic, but I just couldn't come up with anything better. But I loved writing that scene of Harry visiting the other side.

In the books I always longed for him to have a real visit with his parents. So I decided to write a scene like that myself, and I'm happy with the way it turned out.

Dobby deserved a thank you for giving his all. I love that elf. I was thrilled when I thought up that little nugget of wisdom for Dumbledore to say.

I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter so much. It was a real pleasure to write this one.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Teddy1993 Christmas at Grimmauld Place

2nd February 2014:
That was an excellent way of testing where Kreacher's loyalties really lie.

Nice Christmas scene. It was good to see George reappear, he always makes sure there are some laughs. Great ideas for the hats. I also liked Harry's presents for Mr and Mrs Weasley.

Great scene at the end with Harry and Ginny. Nicely written.

Teddy

Author's Response: I actually found the Christmas chapter a little awkward to write. That and Harry's birthday - I was running out of good gifts to give him, and I was finding it a little hard to make that day feel special anymore. So I decided Harry had better start giving some gifts instead. I relied on some humor to get me through the celebrating part of the chapter. Geroge and his funny hats bailed me out, along with Mrs. Weasley's devouring drawer.

But I enjoyed writing the scene with Kreacher and exploring his attachment to Grimmauld Place and Mrs. Black.

And the kiss - well Christmas mistletoe - I thought readers would consider it a must.

Thanks for all your reviews. They've been lovely. And thank you very much for reading this quite long story.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Teddy1993 The Order Meets at Grimmauld Place

2nd February 2014:
I really liked how Harry tells Teddy stories about his father before he puts him to bed. I'm sure he would want Teddy to know everything about his parents and how brave they were.

I was surprised to read that Arthur build The Burrow himself. I always imagined that generations of Weasleys had been living there for years, much like the Blacks at Grimmauld Place. It does make sense in a way though, especially the working shed where Arthur can mess around with Muggle things.

I really love your story. Great work.

Teddy

Author's Response: Well, Harry promised to tell Teddy, so I thought I ought to show him already starting to keep that promise.

As for the Burrow, I went by information in the HP WIKI which isn't always a reliable source, but I really liked what it said. I don't know where the WIKI got its information, but it said that Arthur and Molly moved into the pigpen after they got married. And as they had children they started adding rooms with whatever salage material they could get. Which made sense to me and would explain why the Burrow is so crookedly built if they just added on rooms and floors child by child.

Thanks a lot for your comments. I'm glad you like the story. And thanks for reading this far.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Teddy1993 Creatures Run Amuck

2nd February 2014:
Great scene with Hagrid's creatures. Those things can only happen at Hogwarts.

It was nice to see Sir Cadogan make an appearance, being his usual crazy self.

Great writing, as usual.

Teddy

Author's Response: I was hoping I'd be able to think of a scene with Hagrid's creatures causing some kind of commotion. Even though the main characters aren't taking his classes, I like to put Hagrid in wherever I can. It just doesn't feel like Hogwarts without a good dose of Hagrid.

And Cadogan, well, he was useful for humor. But he and Luna (at least where creatures are concerned) are two characters that sometimes give unreliable information. And the reader will have to decide for themselves whether or not to believe it. Uncertainty is always a good thing.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Teddy1993 The Quidditch Match

1st February 2014:
I loved the Quidditch match. You wrote it very well.

Rita Skeeter did it again. I expected she would publish a book about Harry. When you quoted from her book you said that Padma Patil had gone on a date with Harry while he actually took Parvati to the Yule Ball. I'm not sure it's a mistake though, it could easily just be a way of showing Rita doesn't know what she's talking about, like when she got George's name and the name of the shop wrong.

Great chapter again!

Teddy

Author's Response: Hi and thank you. I think the first quidditch match is the easiest, and then you have to get more creative. I'm glad you liked it - or maybe you're just sympathizing with me because you know what it's like. Either way thanks a lot.

According to JKR, Skeeter did write both Harry's and Snape's biography that were just full of lies. But there's no telling when I might like to use Skeeter again down the road, so I didn't want Hermione to have to make good on her threat and get her thrown in Azkaban. She's just too useful a character to get rid of. The mistake about Padma was mine, and thanks for pointing it out. I hadn't noticed it - a case of author's blindness. I'm putting it on my list of things to correct in edits.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Teddy1993 The Wizard's Portrait

1st February 2014:
Never thought I'd say this but I really want to visit that museum. If they don't shoot killing curses at me at least.

The background information on Lupin was a nice touch. Now we know what his father did to make Greyback angry.

That was definitely something weird with that portrait. It doesn't seem to be a coincidence that Ogilvie sent them there but I still think he hasn't got bad intentions.

Teddy

Author's Response: Thanks for your comments. They're always fun to read. Oh, the things I do to Harry for entertainment. I left the background I made up about Lupin just hanging in the air as a possibility for the reader to decide on for themselves. The plot will continue to thicken, and I hope you enjoy where it goes. I tried to put a little surprise in each chapter to keep things unpredictable. Thanks again for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Teddy1993 An Unexpected Privilege

1st February 2014:
Yes, Slughorn would certainly be uncomfortable when a young student comes to ask questions that have to do with the Dark Arts. Quite a sharp remark from Harry towards him in the end.

Ogilvie seemed to be quite interested in the Elder Wand, but then again, who wouldn't be? He doesn't strike me as someone with bad intentions at the moment.

That museum sure does sound interesting. There's a sentence I'd never thought I would say.

I love the story so far. You write the characters very well too. Being annoyed because someone else receives house points for a good answer in class, even if also a Gryffindor is classic Hermione.

Teddy

Author's Response: From your comment in this review and the next, it sounds like you don't like museums very much. I'm glad you find this one interesting. When I started writing the story, I didn't know exactly where the plot would go or what would need to happen, so I just picked a setting that could feel a little mysterious and sinister, and the museum worked quite well.

Ogilvie was one of those characters I could have gone either way with, and I didn't make up my mind until quite late in the story how I would play him.

This is my first fanfic too, just like your story was for you, and my first finished novel, so I was learning a lot about writing a story this length as I went along. Novel writing is quite a journey isn't it? So I'm glad you've enjoyed it up to now, and I've enjoyed all your comments. Thanks very much.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Teddy1993 Bristle Rash

1st February 2014:
I liked the Quidditch scene, though I expected the Chasers of the Alumni team to be more stronger than those of the Gryffindor team. Great job on the Herbology class, very entertaining. Great writing again!

Teddy

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for still reading. I had a lot of fun writing this chapter. I was happy with the way the humorous scenes turned out. I'm glad you enjoyed it too. The alumni team was stronger than the school team - they scored twice as many goals. Your comment actually made me go back and check to make sure I hadn't written the wrong score in the story. But I did let the school team score at least some goals. I didn't want to make them feel horribly bad. Even so, they only won because of Harry catching the snitch.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Teddy1993 The New Defense Against the Dark Arts Instructor

1st February 2014:
I'm glad you made Hagrid head of Gryffindor house. He's the only right choice for the job. Good job with the DADA lesson.

Author's Response: Hi. Yes, I though Hagrid was the best choice too, and he'd be tickled pink to do it. Thanks very much. I'm glad you liked the classroom scene.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Teddy1993 Return to Hogwarts

31st January 2014:
A lot of new characters in this chapter. The new DADA teacher sure seems interesting..

I loved the idea of Dumbledore still making the start of term announcements. Nice touch!

Teddy

Author's Response: Hopefully you'll find this teacher even more interesting as the story goes on. The feast just wouldn't feel the same without Dumbledore's announcements. And the new roommates and their pets will add some humor here and there, and will only have a small part to play. The story will stay centered on Harry and the other main three. So you'll be staying on familiar ground.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>