Reading Reviews for Patchwork
  
202 Reviews Found

Review #1, by (alex)andra bester (13 almost !4) Pivotal

1st November 2013:
not bad not bad
ek hou van dit, dits nogal oulik.
moet nie ophou skryf nie... jy is goed.
>oh yeah I just wrote Afrikaans- language of legend south Africans(we rock)




peace out
x0x

Author's Response: thank you very much, with the help of google translate, i read and enjoyed your review! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Splendiferously_Awesome Pivotal

21st March 2013:
Awesome - I loved this story!! This is the second time I've read it! :)

Author's Response: thank you so much that means a lot to me

 Report Review

Review #3, by stickyskies Accidental

3rd September 2012:
wow, this story is all my favorite things in one, plus i get to be the two hundredth reviewer so yay reviews

i love that you put eczema in there, as icky as it is i have it on my legs and it's nice to actually read about a character who has it too.

and i love patch, her hyper drama queen poet combination is perfect.

best friends in love is my favorite thing to read, plus louis (i have a very soft spot for him).

but your writing style, it's really pretty and fascinating to read. the italics at the beginning of the chapter were really interesting and well-written and poetic.

you are a fantastico writer, gold stars for you!

Author's Response: thank you so much for this, i wrote this 2 years ago and its lovely to come back and read reviews on writing that now embarrasses me greatly :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Niamh Pivotal

22nd July 2012:
Wow. Some major props go to you right now my friend. Stunning.

Author's Response: thank you so much!! ;)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Parvati_Khatri Primal

16th April 2012:
TD? What's that, I mean I know what it stands for, but what does it mean? Will you use it later on? Love it as usual!
-Parvati

Author's Response: Tampon Duty? I didn't use it later on in the story, but thanks fot the review!



 Report Review

Review #6, by Meggie Pivotal

31st January 2012:
This story was amazing, I loved it and I love your writing! It's quirky, funny and definitely original.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! what a lovely review and thanks for the two hundredth! :) x

 Report Review

Review #7, by Meggie Pivotal

31st January 2012:
This story was amazing, I loved it and I love your writing! It's quirky, funny and definitely original.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! what a lovely review and thanks for the two hundredth! :) x

 Report Review

Review #8, by Slytherinbabe Pivotal

22nd January 2012:
Awesome story :)
Can't wait 4 the sequel

Author's Response: Thank you, but the sequel wont be coming for a while :) x

 Report Review

Review #9, by Bella Bug Pivotal

28th December 2011:
honestly that was the best ending I have ever read...it was Harry Potter worthy!

10/10
Bella Bug

Author's Response: Oh wow! Thank you ♥ xx

 Report Review

Review #10, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Pivotal

15th December 2011:
You know what?

I think that was the perfect ending.

If it would have been some big romantic thing I would have been disappointed. I like open endings and I'm look for that sequel but I feel like they are just connecting now, you know? Sure they're friends and Louis has liked her but now that she has accepted she likes him too it really is going to be a new adventure! Wonderful job, wonderful job! :D

Author's Response: Wow, thank you. On the whole people liked it, but a couple of people didn't like it. You win some, you lose some. The sequel will feature them a lot. Thanks for all your reviews, they were a really lovely read :) xx ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Rental

15th December 2011:
*swoons* He got in a metaphor of his own and then he pretty much just ruined everything. *stops swooning* Hahaha. Seriously I actually really enjoyed this chapter because it's just them, you know what I mean? I like all the characters you incorporated into the story but I like when Louis and Patch interact. They were there own world. It's like they live in a small bubble and I guess you could say that's a bad thing but I don't think it is. I feel like to understand them fully we really just need to focus on them.

Author's Response: Hahahah. I loved writing the last three chapters because it was mainly Patch/Louis interaction, which there actually wasn't a lot of in the story. Their on their own wavelength, which is why they get each other so well, and it does alienate people which is what Lorcan was getting at.

 Report Review

Review #12, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Mortal

15th December 2011:
I feel like Harry Potter right now. Why? I'm untouchable because I'm loved and some stupid rumour is a bit like Moldyshorts.

That was my favorite line. Ah, Patchy! I wonder how you're able to write this. Her thoughts and her phrases are so...well, sometimes they're all over the place and then sometimes they are clear and sometimes...well, sometimes I don't even know what she's going on about. I love the random thoughts, the quick short chapters and just the general hoopla of the story.

Author's Response: Thank you, this was just me experimenting and just exaggerating myself when I get a bit sugar high and I was slightly high (on coca cola) and listened to very pop upbeat boy band when I wrote this :) xx

 Report Review

Review #13, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Logical

15th December 2011:
I am in a rhyming mood as I read this story. I can't write poems and I can't rhyme for my life but still it's a nice mood. I still wonder what's going on with Arisa. She was more airy in this chapter. I like her airy compared to angry much more! Three more fun filled Patchy wonderfulness to go!

Author's Response: I was when I wrote it. I have a love/hate relationship with poetry. This is more of her normal self. :) xx

 Report Review

Review #14, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Sentimental

15th December 2011:
Where is he so I can beat him up? And then kill him, I'm not even joking right now. I won't even Avada Kedavra him, I'll Sweeney Todd his ass.

HAHA! Loved the Sweeney Todd reference. Really funny.

I wasn't expecting his point of view you know so it was a nice surprise. At first I was like oh no! Not Louis's point of view but now I don't think he's so mean anymore. Now I'm gushing. I just want to squish him like a teddy bear and break him. Mwahahaha. I feel evil today. Anywho, his thoughts were so sweet! He's such a silly teenage boy.

Author's Response: Itwasntreallysupposedtobethere, it was a way of overcoming writers block, then lazily I didn't put it into Patch's pov. I really regrett it now. He is a very silly boy :) ♥ xx

 Report Review

Review #15, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Mental

15th December 2011:
Hopefully, Lorcan and Louis will talk to me. I mean c'mon, I'm bloody irresistible. This wavy hair and cute pout are hackin' adorable. You can't ignore me; it must be like a cardinal sin or something. What is a cardinal sin anyway?

Why is everyone so moody? Reminds me of high school HAHAHA. Thank goodness I'm done with all that nonsense. Anyway, I really want to know what's wrong Arisa now that he brought it up because as you can tell I just don't like her so if she has a plausible explanation then yes I will change my views. If not...MWAHAHAHA I will evilly shun her as I read the chapters. Louis was mean in this chapter. I don't like mean Louis. :( Patch wasn't being mean! She was nervous and she doesn't like him (well, she does but she doesn't know that yet). She had every right to hit him!

Author's Response: I wanted to mix humour and teenage angst together, everyone is always moody in high school, well at least mine. There is a semi-plausible reason, I never really decided on one when I was writing, which was a bad idea. Louis' ego was wounded, so his defence mechanism was lashing out.

Merci beaucoup ♥ x


 Report Review

Review #16, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Temperamental

15th December 2011:
He kissed her! I didn't expect that but I don't know if I wanted it to happen so soon but then I'm squeeing as well because I'm like 'FINALLY.' I make no sense! *sighs* Anywho! I love Louis, he finally told her at least but I'm still put off by Arisa. I think what he said to Patch is true, growing up doesn't mean she has to become all moody like Arisa. I don't think she's all that fun. Patch and Louis are one of a kind (or two of a kind since they're so like each other) and they can grow up, sure but they shouldn't lose their charm. I think that's what he was trying to say to her, don't lose your charm!

Author's Response: I didn't expect it either when I wrote it, the characters took control of their own situation. Yeah, he was saying that but he's a boy with a wounding ego, so he decided to phrase it differently, so Patch didn't quite understand. (I think that was what I was getting at)

Merci ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Maternal

15th December 2011:
Arisa. Yeah, don't like her. Definitely not. She's so moody and she sounds jealous and I don't know her mood swings annoy me. She's not very nice. I'm going to be violent and say I'd like to shove her with my toe.

Roughly.

Well, anyway. I don't understand why Patch doesn't like 'Michael' but I guess it's because of him her mother is neglecting her? And then Arisa said that she has her father so I'm guessing her parents are seperated and she didn't take it well. Or maybe I'm completely wrong. Oh! I loved the whole bit between McGonagall and Patch shaking, that was very clever!

Author's Response: Hahahahahahahaha.

Patch is just resentful of Michael, there's no particular reason, which is typical for teens and step parents and parents respective others that aren't their parents. Thank you (sounding like a broken typewriter) ♥ xx


 Report Review

Review #18, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Skeletal

15th December 2011:
Sev-eeer-us, three syllables of vom.

Velll-maa is two syllables of junk.

Off Topic.

HAHAHA! Favorite part right there. Oh, I felt this chapter was a bit sad at first you know but then it went right back to that humor that I enjoyed in the first two chapters and then it got a wee bit creepy. I shivered myself as they went down in the chamber because I can just imagine how eerie it is being down there. I really love your characterizations, all the characters mesh well with each other and yet they're all just so different. I'm interested to know about Pactchy's family (yep, I just called her Patchy) and how or when or why exactly Lou-boy likes her!

Author's Response: I'm glad you found that bit creepy, the chamber of secrets really creeped me out when watching the film, I was like eight or something. Characterisation was probably like the only thing I paid vague attention to when writing this. Unfortunately, I never developed on that :/

Thank you ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Primal

15th December 2011:
It's like a horcrux. He got me a hackin' horcux. See, my poetic skills. I just used alliteration.

Everything has been so awkward since the event I call 'Tripped over and ended up straddling and kissing Louis' or TOESAKL pronounced toe-sackel. It works, trust me.

BAH! You come up with the best lines/paragraphs ever! I'm jealous. I'm in awe. I'm jealously in awe. This is such a fun read! Patch is hysterical and odd and so random that sometimes I have to sit back and go 'what did she just think?' Louis seems like a sweetheart...well, as much as a stinky teenage boy can be!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you :) There's not much to be jealous of, the story is quite the mess. She is extremely odd. Thank you ♥ xx

 Report Review

Review #20, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Accidental

15th December 2011:
Wait for it, these were just a few of my favorite parts:


"Casse-toi, pauvre con," he jokes. Please excuse his French, because he said something like 'sod off, you bloody idiot.'


But seriously what's the harm of letting two clueless, celibate teenagers share a room and goof off?

Firstly, I have a quasi-almost boyfriend.


HYSTERICAL! Seriously, how come I'm not reading every single one of your fantastic stories! I'm jumping with anticipation to get to the next chapter already. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! You're going to get very annoyed with seeing my name come up in 'unanswered reviews' so I'll apologize before hand BUT if the next chapters are as great as this (and I'm sure they will be) I'll be around for a long time! :D

Author's Response: First thing, I love it when people tell me their favourite quotes and it's a refresher for me, because it's been so long since I've looked at this story.

I'm glad you found it funny. I love getting reviews, so this is like an early christmas present! :) Thank you so much, i'm very flattered. ♥ xx


 Report Review

Review #21, by SusanBones Pivotal

12th December 2011:
I think it's really good, a brilliant brilliant story, however I think it's a weak ending and you could have done much more with it. Like they didn't finish the list! They should have done that gradually and then it would have added more to the finished product. as I said, brilliant story overall though.

Author's Response: There's a sequel (which I have yet to post) and that deals with some of the things you have mentioned. The list was never an important part of the story (in my opinion), but I see what you mean. Thanks for the review! ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #22, by fairegirl22 Mental

9th December 2011:
:O YOUR A NERDFIGHTER ARN'T YOU? "de-virginize (this brings me to the fact there is a lexical gap in the english language as there is no word for someone who is not a virgin)"

Author's Response: YEP! I think it's on my profile if i'm not mistaken. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by argetlam shadeslayer Pivotal

3rd December 2011:
OH GOSH, can you please, PLEASE just write narratives for all of our lives? The world would be such a better place if you did. I kid not. This story is seriously one of the most beautiful, wonderful, inspiring things I've ever read, and while I'm sad it's over, I'm also over the moon/having kittens that Patch and Louis finally sorted things out. (And a sequel?! Oh, Lord, please let there be a sequel!) But honestly, this has to be the loveliest ending to a story I've ever read. And this line, "I've always through falling in love was like a slide, you know you sit, take a deep breath and you glide down easily into happiness. It never occurred to me, that there would be so much friction along the way", should be one of those quotes. You know, those brilliant quotes that people put on picture frames, on magnets, in books of glorious quotes, etc. It's just that beautiful.

Ugh, I'm turning into such a ninny. But I just adore this story so very much. Please just keep writing forever. Yeah. You have the most spectacular, gifted way with words. I honestly can't even describe it. It's like you could just grow gardens and jungles of flowers and various assorted plants and things with your words, and they would just fill up the world with radiant joy and vibrant color. Le sigh.

So, yes. In case you couldn't tell from the garbled, awfully strange, jumbled mess that is my review, this story was incredibly amazing, and I can't wait to see what you write next. You rule, Nell. :DDD

Author's Response: There is an Arisa-centric sequel, which needs writing and I need motivation.

I'm glad you liked the ending, i had never ending anything (novel/novella) until this, so I'm glad that the ending didn't ruin the entire story because some people wanted them to snog senseless in a broom cupboard,

I've always wanted to be able to come up with tumblr-able, magnet quotes, you've like used the ultimate compliement on me.

Thank you for all your reviews, really from your first to your last, they were so vibrant and witty and lovely and such ego-strokers. And they mean loads to me because you're like the absolute awesome sauce at writing.

Thank you ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by argetlam shadeslayer Rental

3rd December 2011:
Oh, Patch. Patch, Patch, Patch. She's like a train tunnel full of emotional thoughts and metaphors, and sometimes they get the best of her, but I always feel like she's completely justified when she really feels strongly about something. And so, even though she's furious with Louis (because, let's be honest, what he did was...well, rather stupid of him, as a boy), it's so amazingly lovely and refreshing to read that she knows their friendship is strong enough for her to eventually forgive him. (At least, that's what I took from it.) And it seems that fake mustache will work wonders for him. Before I forget, though (I tend to prattle on endlessly in these reviews, I hope you don't mind), YAY for Louis for finally getting in a metaphor of his own! And it was an absolutely beautiful one at that. Seriously, I melted a bit inside when I read it. I even "awww"ed aloud. What a great best friend he is. I just hope Patch gets over her irritation, forgives him, and snogs him senseless soon.

Another brilliant chapter, Nell! (:

Author's Response: She's a bucketload of emotion. That was my attempt to make her appear headstrong so her being in Gryffindor was actually justified.

Yeah, it was supposed to show the tremendous strength of their relationship, I think at least, it's been a while, I can't even really remember what I was trying to get at when I wrote this.

Thank you ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by argetlam shadeslayer Mortal

3rd December 2011:
Before I forget, first things first: I cannot believe I haven't reviewed this chapter. I haven't even finished this fantastic story (yay, university!), which saddens me, and it's been completed for a while. I'm awful. I need a time turner, so I can traverse time backwards and read/review much more punctually, because I seriously miss this story. There is a gaping hole in my heart where Patch/Louis once resided, and before I began reading this again, they went on a bit of a holiday vacation to Majorca. But now they're back! Yes.

Secondly, I absolutely adore your characterization (or Henry Glass' characterization, I suppose) of Hannah the ice queen. What a beautiful, brilliant analysis. Even though she's hardly a pleasant person, I still felt compelled to read that bit about her a couple of times over because it was just so eloquent. And your walnut metaphor! Gahh, so good.

And can I just tell you how brilliant of a writer you are? Honestly, you're fantastic. The way you describe things is just so unique, honest, and thoughtful (but totally Patch), and the numerous metaphors and analogies you have in here just make me want to do a slip jig on top of a mountain or something equally happy. (Not that I've ever done a slip jig on top of a mountain. That would just be irresponsible of me, albeit probably very fun.) But really, it's sentences like "While our legs keep moving, our words hit a brick wall" that delineate your fabulous writing style and make me flail about like a jellyfish in writing heaven.

Ughhh, Nell, I've missed this story! Enough of my rambling. On to the next chapter! :DDD

Author's Response: Emma! :) I have missed your witty reviews, they always make me feel so good about myself. ;)

Wow, thanks. i threw it in there so that even though Hannah's character was clearly a throw in for drama, she had some depth.

Thank you, thank you, thank you. I don't even know what to say, reviews like this make me want to write right now, which I can't since I have work (though probably way less than you do).

Thanks (again) ♥ ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>