Reading Reviews for The Wedding
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by prettywishes The Wedding

22nd November 2012:
I like the fact that you managed to take one of the most monster-like characters from the book and made her feel like a real person. It was clear in this piece that she had clear intentions with what she was doing, not only was she going to please the dark lord but she was shielding her sister. The latter was something that I had never even thought of before, the fact that Bella would have done what she did with her life so that her sister wouldn't receive as much heat after everything that happened with Andromeda. But that would logically make so much sense. She may not have been marrying for love, but she was marrying for many other very human reasons, and human wasn't anything I'd ever considered her before reading this.

Author's Response: I think it's important to remember that beastly characters, like Bellatrix, are human too. Even Voldemort is a human, albeit a human born under a love potion, and with mad theories about the workings of the world. The sister bond between Narcissa and Bellatrix was something I myself hadn't thought about until writing this story, either. But with Andromeda essentially out of the picture, each other is really all they have, you know?

I'm flattered I could bring a bit of her human side to you here. And really, I'm just thrilled beyond belief, yet again, at ALL your reviews. i hope you know now just how much I appreciate them. Hoping to see you back by here really soon, and thank you a million times over! ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by angelicdemon1209 The Wedding

14th May 2012:
Wow.. An insight into Bellatrix's thoughts, that too on her wedding day. Well, I really enjoyed reading it. It does seem that she would be thinking these things. I love the line by Emily Bronte. So passionate. Good job! :D Thanks for the story.

Author's Response: When I got that quote for the challenge, I immediately thought of Bellatrix. :D Some of my one-shots have little stories that go along with them, and I distinctly remember writing this in one sitting in a hotel in California. Ah, memories!

Thanks for going through my page and leaving such wonderful compliments on my stories! It really did cheer me up a lot, and I can't express my gratitude enough. ♥ Hope to see you back soon!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Anonymous The Wedding

8th April 2012:
Hey doll, Anonymous here with a review that will hopefully make you smile!

I think you captured the sister bond well, and I absolutely adore how you wrote the little bit of Lucius/Narcissa like they actually care about each other. That little insight with the...skill of your writing was enough to make we want to know more!

It was rather short, but not one sentence was wasted, so the length was perfect!

Every word added to the imagery, it created the most beautiful imagery!

I think your...the way you gave us an insight into Bellatrix and her physcotic head was wonderful! I haven't seen her explored like this! It was truly a treat!

I hope you enjoyed your review, and that you have a lovely day!

xoxo

Anonymous

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I wish I knew who you were, so I could thank you in a more appropriate manner, but this will suffice. It definitely did make me smile!

I'm not terribly fond of the Black sisters, but writing this story was a lot of fun. :D (If I can use the word!) And it's a part of me, a part of this site, and I have such a vivid memory of writing it in one go in a hotel on spring break, so it's just... I dunno. I like it. :)

Seriously, thank you so much -- this review made me smile like nobody's business! I am so grateful to you for reviewing, I really am. It's great that you could do this for me! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Bonnie The Wedding

30th January 2012:
I thought it was really good.It always enjoyable to see the other side to characters!! especially the dark ones cos they more complex.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the sweet and unexpected review! It really made my day, as did seeing you'd favorited me as an author to boot. :3

I'm glad you liked this story, too! I've got vivid memories of writing this in particular, in a little hotel in California last spring, so it's got a fond place in my heart. Thank you for your review, I really do appreciate each one I get! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by CassiePotter The Wedding

18th December 2011:
Wow. That was definitely different than what I'm used to reading from you! But you certainly pulled off Bellatrix! I agree that dark characters are fun to write, even if it does make you shiver a little. I can't wait to read more from you! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I wanted to respond to this right away, before I forgot, because today you have left me my 900th review on this account. And that's so unbelievable to me, that so many people were willing to leave so many reviews, that I really wanted to thank you for coming by and being so great about reviewing so many of my stories! It really and truly makes me speechless -- I cannot think of a proper way to thank you for it.

My darker stuff is different, but I sort of love getting into that sort of mode, exploring the twisted side of twisted mindsets. Thanks so much for reading, and I really, really do mean it when I say I appreciate it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by fairytalelover3 The Wedding

28th July 2011:
It was good! I loved all the dark details. I thought you wrote Bellatrix really good, i also like writing dark characters but I'm not anygood at it. Again it was great.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the sweet and unexpected review! I don't believe you aren't good at writing dark characters, all it needs is a little confidence and a LOT of practice!

 Report Review

Review #7, by TooMuchMagic The Wedding

22nd May 2011:
I really enjoyed reading this! I've never read a fanfic that directly involved any of the Black sisters, so this was refreshing. About the challenge you were issued, I think you fulfilled it very well. I can't think of a better way to use that quote than to use it regarding Bellatrix's devotion to Voldemort. :) 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the sweet and unexpected review! I am so glad to hear your compliments, they've really boosted my confidence about this particular story. :3 Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by ShelbyBlack The Wedding

18th May 2011:
JANE! *hugs* Thank you for being to patient :3 I'm finally here!

Wow...siriusly? This is great! I LOVED reading about Bellatrix's marriage. I'm in awe of your Bellatrix, it's spot on. I don't think I've ever gotten that many chills while reading something (other than the crooked man haha) Bellatrix's mannerisms are so amazingly perfect, it's brilliant!

Your topic 'acceptance' is perfect in this, your interpretation of her life and the topic go hand in hand, along with her love. The quote was chilling, I had tears in my eyes! It was unbelievably fitting! Her devotion and undeniable love towards Voldemort is so amazing!

Jane, thank you so much for participating! You're very welcome my dear, you've done great, I loved it!

xxoox

Author's Response: SHELBY!! *hugs* Don't worry about the wait - the fact that you made it here at all just makes me so happy! :3

Thank you so much for all your comments (and for the placing!). You really made my day, and I cannot thank you enough for the review. This was such a fun challenge to write for, and I really thank YOU for issuing it!!


 Report Review

Review #9, by heliopath The Wedding

11th May 2011:
This was awesome! Your writing is great, and I loved your descriptions. The way that you characterised the differences between Bellatrix and Narcissa was brilliant, and I also loved that you mentioned Andromeda. 10/10 :)

Author's Response: Wow, you've left me speechless!! :D Thank you so much for the review, it means so much to me. You are so kind! :3

 Report Review

Review #10, by SaphireSmiles The Wedding

11th May 2011:
Bella is pure evil and you have written her so well! I enjoyed this one-shot a lot. Thank you.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for the review! I am really glad you liked it so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by AquariaJasmyne The Wedding

17th April 2011:
JANE~ ♥

Oh, this is for Shelby's challenge! Yay! Bellatrix is a very fun character to write, trust me, hehe. ;)

For a first time at writing dear old Bella, you did a good job! You've captured her general Black-ness very well indeed. Her arrogance and pride really shone through, as well. The mention of Andromeda was just perfect! :D

Narcissa's innocence and naive nature was brilliant. You've characterised her just as how I've always imagined her - just a little doll in a world of pretty dresses and society with the romantic flair. Also, the way Narcissa was confused by the Dark Lord was done incredibly well.

As someone who has written about the Black sisters a fair bit, I have to commend you for giving them a go - they are such unappreciated characters and yet you have written them very in character and made them memorable in their own way. So you have done a really, really good job, my love, 'twas brilliant! YAY FOR JANE AND HER EPIC SKILLS! *hugs*

-Lizzie xx

Author's Response: Lizzie-Claire! Please forgive the lateness of this response, I really am truly grateful you read this over for me. ^^ I am sosososo glad you liked it! Bella and Cissy were fun to write, and I'm glad I got the chance to. :)

LOVER YOU!!! *squish* Thank you for doing this for me!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Curiosity is not a sin The Wedding

14th April 2011:
Hi! Me again :D

Wow. This fic is absolutely beautiful. I love the devotion that Bella shows towards the Dark Lord, and I absolutely love the way you've wrote Narcissa as well :)

Very interesting plot concept, and I have to say, very much upper class pureblood story, if I've ever read one XD Brilliantly written :) The pace of the story is superb, the scene settings are great, as are the characterisations, and of course, the plot.

Another beautiful one shot, and I've taken to fan-girl'ing over your banner for this story too :D

Keep it up!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much - this review just made me grin silly when I read it. :D I am so glad you liked this! It was my first time writing both Bellatrix and Narcissa, and so the fact that SOMEONE thinks I got them right makes me sigh in relief!

I love this banner, too - so unique, it always catches my eye when I stak my page. :P Thank you for leaving me such a sweet review - it's sosososo nice of you. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by UnderPolyJuice The Wedding

5th April 2011:
Ooooh, Bellatrix is my lady crush!!

I'm writing her right now so when I saw this I was like, "Must read!"

I loved it lots! I think you got Cissy perfectly! I can see Bella acting like that when she was younger: melodramatic, quiet, and a tad bit sentimental.

Keep it up,
ErinColleen

Author's Response: Hahaha! I am glad you read it, and what's more - I'm glad you loved it! :D I'm so glad you liked Narcissa, she was much harder to write than Bellatrix.

Thank you very much! :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Beene The Wedding

3rd April 2011:
Wonderfully creepy, in a good way. Knowing the future regarding Bellatrix and Narcissa made this a very enjoyable read. Even on her wedding day Bellatrix still only truly loves one other being, and it isn't Rudolphus.

As interestingly as you've filled in gaps regarding Bellatrix your characterization of Narcissa is what really got my attention. It plays upon what we know will happen eventually in the Forbidden Forest; Narcissa in her own way truly loves, as opposed to Bellatrix's appearances and approximations.

Definitely an interesting read.

Author's Response: Thanks for coming by to read this! :) Wrote it in a couple of hours or so, so I wasn't too sure about how it would play out, but your review's kept me positive about it.

I tried to keep the characters as canon as possible, which is always a bit tricky, so I truly appreciate your comments. Thank you for swinging by to leave a review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by SeverusSnape15 The Wedding

3rd April 2011:
I liked it, but if I'm thinking correctly, Bella got married to Rodolphus before Andromeda sinned on their behalf. I might not be correct :D So look up on it.(If you didn't know, Narcissa and Lucius also had an arranged marriage) :D I LOVE Narcissa...She's such a doll. You did well. HOPE YOU WIN THE CHALLENGE :D

Author's Response: I am very glad you liked it! :)

I have researched this meticulously, as you suggested, and can find no dates for Andromenda and Ted's marriage. Bellatrix is nineteen in this story, which would put Andromeda at about seventeen - the way I see it in my head, she ran off with him right after Hogwarts, so as not to have to put up with her family's reactions to the marriage.

I also cannot find any mention of an arranged marriage between Lucius and Narcissa, so I shall leave it as it is in my story. :) However! If you wish, you can drop a PM over on the forums - I'd love to hear your theories and reasoning for the two statements mentioned above.

Thank you for leaving a review! And thanks for the luck! :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by Toujours Padfoot The Wedding

3rd April 2011:
"Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same." She paused, as though about to say more, but that was all there was to it, really.

LOVE IT.

You wrote Bellatrix very, very well. I liked reading the backstory behind her marriage to Rodolphus, since she always seemed to be so obsessed with Voldemort and I found it odd that she married. She doesn't seem the wifey type. I found her characterization very realistic and in-canon, and I could just taste her disdain for the whole wedding event and everything she had to do. I also would like to imagine that this is why Narcissa loved Lucius so much, and stood steadfastly by his side - because her marriage to him was a like a gift from her sister, and to not make the most of it would be wasting Bellatrix's sacrifice.

You can convey a whole world of things just by saying the simplest statements, Jane.



Author's Response: Don't you LOVE that quote? I did a bit of a happy jig-type dance upon recieving it, as it instantly brought plunnies unto me. :D

Wow, it's like you can read what was going through my head while writing this. Seriously, you've picked up every nuance I've tried to include. :) Thank you for your always-amazing reviews, and I am honored to call you friend. ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login