Reading Reviews for A Man Barely Breathing
  
75 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ILikeSweats Until I take my last breath.

27th September 2014:
Dear Dark Whisper!
First of all, thank you so much for this touching, amazing, incredible story! You made me cry, truly. I have no words to describe what exactly I was feeling, just want to say that your story is incredible and really useful. And I'm so happy about the happy end. It's great that they are together in the end, I'm really happy that they didn't divorce.
And second, I would like to translate this story into Russian, it is my native language. Will you let me, please? Of course, I promise that I'll write that you are the author and I'll send you a link to my translation as soon as I translate it. I hope, you won't mind:)
Well, thanks a lot again for all emotions I felt while I was reading. You are the brilliant author!
Best wishes,
ILikeSweats.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dramione_18 Until I take my last breath.

20th January 2014:
It was short but it was amazing. I could have read 30 chapters for a story like this and it could have been good story. Yet you make it amazing in just 4.

Author's Response: Dramione 18,
Oh, thank you for seeking out my other stories and finding this one. :)

You give me a very unique and amazing compliment. Wow. Thank you.

This particular story was near and dear to me as I felt some of the things that he felt when she was gone. So, this one was quite emotional for me to write at times.

I'm so glad that you liked it. Thank you so much for taking a chance on it and commenting.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #3, by jane Malfoy vs. Malfoy - A File for Divorcement

12th January 2014:
You're killing me!! Hmpf!! I didn't even read the entire thing and I'm already crying!!! :'(

Author's Response: jane,
Oh, deary, Jane... *sends tissues*

This story really was a sad one to write. There are many emotions depicted here, some of which I actually felt in my own life. That's probably why it seems so "real" for so many that have commented.

Thank you for telling me that you cried. Honestly, it tells me that I'm doing something right as far as putting words to a page that will touch people's hearts, you know?

I really hope that you kept reading through it to see that things turned around... he just had to go through an extremely tough time to understand what went wrong so that their relationship would actually strengthen.

I hope you come back and tell me what you thought of the end. :)

Thanks so much for telling me how you felt. You have a big heart to feel this one.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper



 Report Review

Review #4, by Ju Hana Until I take my last breath.

6th October 2013:
Love it...Such a great story..I'm going through your list of dramione stories now..hehehe

Author's Response: Ju Hana,

Awe, you are going through my Dramione stories? Teehee. Aren't these two awesome together? I must say they are my all-time favorite pairing. I shipped them way before I found this awesome site.

Thanks for reading and commenting!
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #5, by Quinn A Man Barely Breathing

18th July 2013:
Yes, I am experiencing this similar situation with my childhood friend. I ended up distancing myself from everyone when my father passed away. And, so, with the lack of communication there is an obvious gap in our friendship. I feel so sorry for casting everyone out when they tried to help, yet I can't seem to have the courage and fix amends with my best friend (or ex-best friend? I'm afraid to find out. It's something that is egging on me and I truly regret thinking of it.).
You got magic with your writing. All your stories have sparked an emotion or two when I read them.

Author's Response:
Quinn,
Again, I'm so sorry for the loss of your father; someone so close to your heart.

I tend to think that everyone reacts differently, in their own way, in their own time with grief. And sometimes that means shutting people out or pushing people away that we care about.

If something is 'egging you on,' then by all means listen to that inner nudge. They might need you right now. Start with an apology and try to explain that you haven't been in the right frame of mind. You may never be as close as you once were, but at least you've said your peace.

I lend you some courage to take that step. Even more time has gone by now and in writing this, I hope that you already have.

Thanks again for your wonderful words about my stories. Much appreciated... and I do hope you forgive the delayed response.

If you haven't already done so, make contact with your friend today. :)

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #6, by megthechef43 A Man Barely Breathing

27th July 2012:
Dark,

I love this chapter it was a wonderful way to bring them back together. It was all a misunderstanding.

The judge is my favorite character. When Draco noted that the judge seemed to be a human lie detector was perfect. Draco's hope when the judge told him that they might not be ready for a divorce was great. I could almost feel his hope.

Once Hermione was in his sight I loved when he mentioned he would do anything so she would remain near to him. I literally had tears in my eyes when Hermione was telling her part of the story. It was so sad because they both suffered needlessly. Then I started tearing up again at Draco's lovely confession and when he offered the ring back to her. I love that he heard his mother's voice and then he listened. :)

This was a great chapter. I was so happy reading it.

I'll be reading on...

Meg

Author's Response: Meg,
What can I say about your reviews? You are such a wonderful person to have read and reviewed so much and I cannot thank you enough.

I'm so glad that you liked this emotion-packed story. So much of my own personal life was reflected in this story, my own feelings anyway.

I'm so glad that you liked the judge. He was quite a character in this and played an extremely important roll. Partly light-hearted, but during a serious scene.

Awe, you had tears? Well, that is a compliment that this story evoked such emotion. Truly, these kinds of feelings are very real and so much suffering can happen when two people clam up and say nothing. So much damage can be done. ;(

Oh, but these two did have a happy ending and Narcissa did help, didn't she? I'm so glad that you liked it.

You truly know how to make an author feel so special. Thank you so very, very much, Meg. You don't know what your words mean to me.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #7, by lovi_lea Malfoy vs. Malfoy - A File for Divorcement

26th July 2012:
this is a one beautiful story...
i just love it

Author's Response: lovi lea,

My apologies for not responding sooner. I have been extremely busy. Sorry about that.

Thank you so much for your very kind words. This story is very near and dear to my heart because it was a bit of a reflection of my own life.

This one is packed with emotion and sadness, but is followed by elation and hope.

Your words mean so much and I truly appreciate the fact that you took the time to tell me how much you liked it.

My apologies again for taking too long to respond. Sorry about that.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #8, by a_free_elf Until I take my last breath.

20th July 2012:
Hey this is Izzy, I have only just got round to making an account.
I just want to say that as much as I love your stories I am going to have to cut down on reading them because they always make me cry. I love the way you write and you are so amazingly articulate in the way you describe things. On second thoughts, keep writing and I'll just buy some waterproof mascara xxx

Author's Response: Izzy, a free elf...

Ah, welcome to being 'official' and I must say that I adore your chosen pen name. I too reviewed many stories before I finally was able to come up with a name that would sort of suit the tone of my stories. A free elf... awe, so sweet. :)

I fully understand why someone would need to take a break from my stories. XD I write sad because it is my favorite. I love to 'feel something' and have a good cry.

Truly, your review is a huge compliment to me as an author. I put a lot of my own feelings into this particular story (more so than any other).

Waterproof mascara... XD Your comment made my day. I thought you might say, 'box of tissues' but you surprised me with mascara. LOL!

Thank you so very much, elf, for your wonderful, repeated reviews.

Truly and sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #9, by megthechef43 Talking to Mother - Divorce Date

19th July 2012:
Dark,

I had to fight the tears for the entire chapter. Draco is so sad and lonely. I wish he would just speak out and let her know that he still loves her and wants he in his life.

The conversation with his mother was heartwenching. I was hoping she would answer though I knew she wouldn't but Draco just needs an ounce of comfort on the darkest day. The graveyard was the perfect opening scene for such a strong emotional chapter. I love the part about the confort his mother would bring him as a child. If only it were that simply now.

I think Draco reaction in the court room is well written. I think I like Draco's prayer the best and the little background story dealing with his first miracle. I wonder what Hermione is truly thinking and why she is going through with the divorce. Hmm...

Blaise is playing his part perfectly by helping Draco get up and go to his court date. I smiled when he mentioned "liquid candy. I truly hate that stuff myself.

I'll be reading on... 10/10

Meg

Author's Response: Meg,

This chapter was really emotional for me to even write. Again, because much of what Draco said to his mother mirrored my darkest days. Her leaving him felt worse than death because it was her choice to leave. Oh, the pain. It is a different kind of grief, but grief nonetheless.

He truly wanted to hear from his mother... some sort of advice that did not come. Her touch comforted him as a child and will be important to him for the rest of his life.

I think you might be the first reviewer to mention his little prayer in the courtroom. It is great and terrible things that have a way of bringing us to our knees praying for a way out or at the very least, strength to endure it.

All that Hermione is thinking comes about in the next chapter.

Blaise is such a loyal friend that I imagine him to be there for Draco no matter what is happening. No matter if Draco is doing something right or wrong, he would be there through the thick of it... at his wedding and his divorce. And I put a bit of myself in him as well. I can't stand coffee, tea, or 'liquid candy.' LOL!

Thank you so much for your wonderful reviews and your 10/10. I hope you continued with the story as it does get a bit lighter.

A very heart-felt thank you...
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #10, by megthechef43 Malfoy vs. Malfoy - A File for Divorcement

19th July 2012:
Dark,

I ache for Draco. It is horrible that this is happening to him. I love how you have taken this quote and made it uniquely your own in this lovely first chapter. I can feel Draco pain and angish in this chapter.

I love the swing and what it represents to him. I also love how he stated he would burn it down after the divorce was final because it was a reminder and it was completely hers. I love how he could stand anyone else ever sit in her swing/taking her place because he loves her so much.

It is so emotional to read about Hermione's gradual removal from his life because it is so hard. I think the most emotional moment is when Draco is laying in bed and want to touch her. It was beautifully written.

I'll be reading on...

Meg

Author's Response: Ah, Meg...

You found the story of mine that is the nearest and dearest to my own heart.

My Delilah story is important to me, but this story has a lot of the feelings that I felt myself, in my own personal life.

What he felt in laying beside her, wanting to touch her... oh, yes. That piece is so very real.

I'm so glad that you liked her swing. Yes, it meant so much to him that he would burn it before another woman sat down on it.

His love for her is so great that there would be nothing right about it... almost an abomination against his soul to allow such a thing.

When you love someone so strongly, those are the thoughts that cross you heart and mind. That kind of love will not faulter even when everything is falling apart...

Thank you so much for finding this story and Reviewing. This story truly means a lot to me and so do your words.

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #11, by Elleinad A Man Barely Breathing

8th July 2012:
Your penname is apt I felt as if you whisper this whole story to me. It was perfect and absolutely wonderful. I love how you talked about how he wanted to give her everything so when she filed for divorse he gave her it because he thought that's what she wanted. I also like how you gave us Herminoe's side at the end. I did not see the happy ending coming and wound of crying through the whole thing. Thank you for this story for it was truly remarkable.

Author's Response: Elleinad,

Oh, my... what a wonderful review. :)

Yes... he thought a divorce was what she wanted, so he was going to give it to her. *cries* You picked a really sad point in this story. *sniffs*

And then we see Hermione's side of things. Her hurt was real to her, even if it was a misunderstanding. ;(

You cried through the whole thing? Awe. I have to say, that out of all of my writings, it is this story that is dear and close to my heart because I have experienced some of the things that Draco felt.

Happy ending? Yes, they can happen and real couples can survive their own dark times.

Thank you for your wonderful, heart-felt review. It means so much.

I'm so happy that you felt compelled to leave me such deep and wonderful comments.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper





 Report Review

Review #12, by Loving_Sirius_4eva Talking to Mother - Divorce Date

16th April 2012:
I am almost about to cry! This is such a brilliant story.
~lOve_Sirius

Author's Response: Loving Sirius,

Awe, really? Well, many have admitted to doing so with this chapter. It is so very sad.

Him talking to his mother, especially... and given what he said about someone leaving being worse than death... well I have felt that in real life and it is a pitiful feeling.

Thank you so much for commenting. I hope you like the next two chapters. They are a bit more light hearted and you'll find out what a miracle it was that they stayed together.

I hope you come back and finish.

Much love to you for Reviewing!
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #13, by Loving_Sirius_4eva Malfoy vs. Malfoy - A File for Divorcement

16th April 2012:
This is amazingly written. I have no words to describe this chapter. I'm speechless. (obviously in a great way).
~lOve_Sirius

Author's Response: Loving Sirius 4eva,

Oh, you somehow found "A Man Barely Breathing."

I'm so glad that my story rendered you speechless. :)

This one is an emotionally sad chapter as Draco is losing Hermione. He is absolutely devistated right now... sick with depression and worry... that he can barely breathe.

Thank you so very much for Reviewing this story. Many won't bother if a chapter isn't 'recent', but I'm so glad that you did. I don't think it is ever too late to Review a story.

Thank you so much for stopping buy and commenting.

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #14, by ravenclaw_princess Malfoy vs. Malfoy - A File for Divorcement

4th March 2012:
Wow. Utterly breathtaking. Draco's heart break was so wonderfully depicted I could just about feel my heart breaking with him. I loved how your took us through their romance and their path to divorce, it showed how happy they had been, but how easily things can go awry.

I love your use of language and imagery and the whole story flowed seamlessly. I wonderful first chapter :)

Author's Response: Ravenclaw Princess,

What a wonderful review. Thank you so very much.

I wanted to show that they were happy without spelling out how the got together. It was keeping the relationship going that was difficult.

And in real life, 'happily ever after' is a bit unrealistic as relationships can be tough, but as depicted in this story, the storms people weather can actually bring couples closer together and grow stonger. It can happen.

On imagery... thank you so very much for this comment. I was at an outdoor party once and the people held it in an 'outdoor living space' of a grand gazebo. It was gorgeous and so I thought it would be a wonderful gift for Hermione and most certainly something that he could afford. ;)

Oh and that picture he gave the judge... I wanted it to almost tell the story... her gazebo, the path to his mother's grave, and them finally holding hands.

So thank you so much for that comment. It really warms my writer's heart.

You give me wonderful compliments.

Thank you!
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #15, by TalaTiva Until I take my last breath.

20th February 2012:
Quite simply, I love it. Communication is the cornerstone of any relationship. Happy writing!

Author's Response: TalaTiva,

Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it. And I do agree... communication is the cornerstone... so very important as it can make or break a relationship.

Thanks so much for your reviews. They made me smile today. :)

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #16, by TalaTiva A Man Barely Breathing

20th February 2012:
I am so glad that they got back together! It is better than any crazy plot twist you could have come up with. Perhaps I am simply a hopeless romantic...^_^

Author's Response: TalaTiva,

Awe, thank you! Yes... no crazy plot twist. No one hexed her so they could have her and she wasn't leaving him to 'save' him... blah, blah, blah...

Hopeless romantic... haha! You and me both, hon... to the extreme!

Thank you so very much for your review!
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #17, by blondeWeasly Until I take my last breath.

15th February 2012:
I loved your story. It had me close to tears and then my heart was soaring the next moment. Keep writing. 10/10

Author's Response: blondeWeasly,

Thank you! This one was an emotional story as Draco sunk to the depths only to soar once again.

I wanted to try to stay to 'real' as possible and still have the story be magical.

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. Each is golden and means so very much.

And thank you for the TEN! That is a huge compliment. Truly.

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #18, by Shiyaka A Man Barely Breathing

28th December 2011:
Sorry if I'm being a bit of a Grammar Nazi, but I believe 'divorce' sounds better than 'divorcement' and I would also use 'dragged' instead of 'drug'. Otherwise it's an amazing story, had me teary eyed in a couple of places (very unusual for me)

Author's Response: Shiyaka,

Ah! But you missed one. Somewhere I wrote 'isle' instead of 'aisle'. Oopsie. LOL!

I agree about 'dragged' and 'drug'. Sorry about that, as I hope it wasn't too distracting. Those things can get in the way and disrupt the flow of a story. Sorry about that.

As far as 'divorcement'... I was going for an 'Englishy-type' formality and thought the word sounded more 'formal'.

At any rate, I might go back and change those words and hope the Validators won't hate me for only changing one word or so. LOL!

Thanks for your honesty.

And... I had you teary eyed in a couple of places? Awe... I know this takes a lot for some people to do and it is really a compliment that my words evoked such emotion in any reader. So, thank you so much for telling me.

'A Man Barely Breathing' is a very emotional story and several have admitted to shedding a few tears. ;(

It was so kind of you to leave your reviews... so appreciated.

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #19, by Jakumo1 Until I take my last breath.

28th November 2011:
Aren't happy endings the best? :-3

Author's Response: They are the best... and after all that Draco went through in this heartfelt story, he deserved it.

Mistakes were made and they almost lost each other through lack of communication.

But yes... I do love happy endings. XD

Thank you so much for Reviewing!
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #20, by Loving_Sirius_4eva Until I take my last breath.

25th November 2011:
This is a really sweet story. I couldn't stop reading it. I felt so bad for Draco. I loved it :)

Author's Response: Loving Sirius.

Thank you so very much for leaving a comment on this story. It was an emotional one for me as I have felt some of what Draco was feeling when she was leaving him 'by choice.'

I would'nt wish those kinds of feelings of loss and grief on anyone... ;(

It really means a lot that you gave a review. Thanks so much for taking the time.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper



 Report Review

Review #21, by HermionelovesRon24 Until I take my last breath.

29th October 2011:
Ok, I have read this fan fic a long time ago, and anyway I was trying to find it again, since it was so beautifully written and so sad, and lovely! I'm adding you to my favourites and author! P.S - I have no idea what '777' means? I checked on google; is it good or evil??

Author's Response: Awe... thank you so very much for adding to your favs and me as an author! Thank you! Such an honor.

777 is just three lucky number 7's put together. Nothing more. I put that in there as the tiniest of hints that all would be okay in the end. *winks*

Technically, from a Biblical view, seven is the number of perfection (good), while 666 is the number of the antichrist (evil) found in the book of Revelation.

Thank you so very much for your kind compliments, especially since your pen name indicates that you are a Ron/Hermione shipper! LOL! XD

Thanks so very, very much!
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #22, by Jenny Until I take my last breath.

3rd September 2011:
You're one of the very few (or the first! I can't remember) that I've given this story 10/10. I love it and it's beautiful and I'm glad they're together and are happy. You write really well. Hope you publish your own story one day. :)

Author's Response: Jenny,

Well... Wow! There are so many wonderful stories on this site and I feel humbled and privileged to receive your 10/10. That is truly a wonderful compliment to me. Thank you so very much!

And your last line was so sweet to read. I have a box full of original fiction that is unfinished. Part of the reason why I am writing on HPFF is to prove that I can 'finish' a story and also to get feedback from others to see if I'm 'good enough' to continue with my own stories some day. My confidence is lacking and this site provides a way for authors like me to test my skills and get actual feedback from readers like yourself that do wonders for my self esteem. :)

So thank you so very, very much for your kind words. They encourage me to keep writing and someday go for my dreams.

With sincerest appreciation for your Review...
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #23, by ravenclaw7thyear A Man Barely Breathing

2nd September 2011:
YAAAYY! I'm so happy!! I hope it lasts :D

Author's Response: ravenclaw7thyear,

I'm so glad you liked it. And yes, happy is the day when these two come together!

Of course it will last, silly. These two belong together! LOL!

Dramione Forever!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Nicolelovesdraco Until I take my last breath.

2nd September 2011:
I am seriously crying my eyes out. you are amazing. I LOVE YOU. you made my heart sink when i thought they were over, i was in depression mode for 2 and a half chapters. and then it got to the happy bit! thank you so much for writing this!

Author's Response: Nicolelovesdraco,

Awe... you cried? I love you too!

This one was very emotionally sad as Draco's loss had him falling to the depths.

2 and half chapters does sound like a long time to be depressed! I'm glad you stuck it out to find the happy part! :)

I'm so happy that I was able to evoke such emotion in a reader. Thank you so much for letting me know and for taking the time to review.

So glad that you like it and... you are most welcome!
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #25, by kyrnin Until I take my last breath.

29th August 2011:
Thank you. A pleasure to behold your writing. THANK YOU

Author's Response: You are so welcome!
You reviewed every chapter and that makes me so happy! Like I said before, so many people don't.

Thank you for checking out Delilah and then searching for more of my stories. That speaks volumes!

For this fic, you will be seeing it in queue shortly because of editing. I used way too many dots (...) and a reviewer pointed it out and said it was distracting. So I went through and edited a bunch of them out to make it better.

Also, you will see a one-shot coming up as well called, "To Save a Slytherin."

Anyway... thank you so very much for all of your faithful reviews. You make my heart soar and my day go faster.

Every review gives me something to look forward to as I trudge along at my job.

So thank you so very much. I'm glad you enjoyed this very heart-felt, emotional fanfic.

Dark Whisper



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>