Reading Reviews for Out of Your Depth
  
236 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Tessa CHAPTER 28

4th March 2014:
I just love your choice of music!:D i've listened to ALL of them and put them on repeat throughout the chapter:) cant wait to read the rest of the story btw, there is just sooo much thats needs to be figured out... meaning i miss some Al&Nieves action haha though that thing with rory and her was really good.. it felt raw...but also weird:s Anywhooo when does your next chapter come out?:)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Tessa CHAPTER 1

2nd March 2014:
I dont know about the "old" genevieve cuz this is my first time reading but i really like this character already!! She sounds really smart (in her her head lol) and she doesnt take bullshit. Me like!:) lets go to chapter numero dos!

 Report Review

Review #3, by sophie CHAPTER 10

19th February 2014:
Hi! Really enjoying this story! There was just a bit in this chapter that confused me - the bit when Rory mentions 'Deya' and something about dumbledore? Might just be the way I'm reading but could you explain her character to me? Thanks :)
But keep up the good work!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by PotterJAM97 CHAPTER 28

2nd February 2014:
Hello.I'm not sure if you still read you reviews, and I'm slightly doubting it, but I thought I'd post one anyway. I feel like your writing especially deserved one.
Firstly, the plot here is absolutely incredible. It's one of those stories that is so twisted and complex you can't even begin to fathom the ending, and one that has a dark, twisted, sarcastic humor, perfect for Genevieve. It's perfect because the way she talks and her thoughts line up perfectly, and so well, and the facades she puts on and the jokes she makes are so understandable with the reader. It's really great in that aspect.
On the other hand, it's extremely serious. One of the most serious next generation fan-ficus, and at parts I almost don't even want Albus to be there, as Rory is more of a main character recently than Albus. Your characters are so deep and full of (generally depressing) emotion it's nearly hard to read at times, and is somewhat of a downer, but so captivating you just can't look away.
Critically, the main characters are plenty deep, but your side characters, such as Hermione and Ron, and even Albus and Rose occasionally, are a bit stiff. The speech is stilted, and doesn't quite flow the way a normal dialogue would, at times. This was probably the worst part of the novel. Also, there's a tendency to describe things in a way that's VERY detailed...almost too much so, in a description, versus an observation. As a reader, it can be tedious at times to sort to through all the description to find the important plot. Not that I'm one to criticize, I mean this all intended constructively, and it's still very good.
It was so captivating I could barely stand to put it down, as I HAD to know the ending, but alas, it looks like no further updates are going to come...which is ok, I suppose. I wish you well wherever you are in your life, and thanks for an incredible tale. It was a brilliant plot, with a very interesting main character.
Well done,
-J

 Report Review

Review #5, by Hedwig_Pie CHAPTER 18

19th December 2013:
TOTALLY CALLED HIM BEING GAY. GREAT PLOT TWIST. GREAT STORY. GREAT CHAPTER. love the way you write, and just grewt job!

 Report Review

Review #6, by free elf 25 CHAPTER 28

17th August 2013:
Yonks ago in this story, I remember you writing something about how you preferred revealing things in small doses about Nieves, instead of giving everything away at once. When she told Harry everything, and Rory told her (mostly) everything, I thought 'what on earth is going to happen for the next ten chapters?'

The answer? You have killed me. This story, though it is awesome, is making my brain overthink stuff, and I'd appreciate an update ASAP to stop that, as it is the holidays, and I technically shouldn't be thinking at all. However, one question- she says she killed two people. I know one is Nate, but I can't remember who the other is.

I also want to say that I totally love Rory, despite his...issues...and James, because you're showing something that I haven't seen as much as I would have liked in stories on here, which is the struggle a lot of people face with that kind of issue. I think I prefer Albus and Deya being together because after what he did I don't think he really deserves Genevieve, and Deya doesn't deserve any pain either. And hey, what's up with Hugo?

My third question is, does Rory, or anyone of her friends for that matter, die? Does she kill them? And how long until 'Justice' returns? Anyway, sorry for the long note (longest I've written EVER), and keep writing! A definite 10/10! :D

free elf 25 (who had already logged out when she wrote this)

 Report Review

Review #7, by pookielow CHAPTER 28

12th July 2013:
Ahhh Please write more; I love your story :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by hpfan CHAPTER 28

18th May 2013:
hey...i see you have updated all your others stories this month,but this one. This is your best story please update!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Younger Wand CHAPTER 27

14th May 2013:
I am so ridiculously addicted to this. It is so amazing! I won't let myself read the next chapter because I know you won't put out another one out for ages and I don't want to annoy myself with waiting. You are so good, seriously you should get an award or something! I think the emotional depth and complexity to both Rory and Genevieve's characters are just amazing and I'd love to be as good an author as you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by fizzingwizzbies CHAPTER 28

1st May 2013:
Ahh love this story! Only just found it but its great I just love your characters - Genevieve and Rose exspecially! Can't wait ro read more and see how this pans out! Keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #11, by patronusflight14 CHAPTER 24

23rd April 2013:
i really loved this chapter! & safe & sound is my favorite song too! keep writing, i cant wait to read more

 Report Review

Review #12, by patronusflight14 CHAPTER 28

23rd April 2013:
i reallly love your work & cant wait to read more, so keep writing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by miluv CHAPTER 28

21st April 2013:
lol okay well please try atleast to post a new chappie soon. thanks we love you :)
xox miluv

 Report Review

Review #14, by Genia CHAPTER 27

5th April 2013:
Wow. That's really all I can say. This chapter was so sad and deep and kind of eerie - but so good; you write really well and use a lot of captivating and unusual imagery - for example when you describe the beach and the sea.
I don't understand what's going on with Rory though... it doesn't seem like him at all to hurt her and not notice how he scares her. I know he is upset, and his "gift" or "curse" or whatever you want to call it, is hard to handle... especially when he knew all along how and when his mother would die and now it happened. But still.
I love Rory and Genevieve. I hope they can somehow get out of this deep-black-depressive state they're in right now.
You're a really great writer!

Author's Response: Hi, Genia! Thank you so much for your comments — my apologies for my late response; I'm a horrible person and have been procrastinating on all my responses since... *low whistle* September 2012.

Wow, thank you! I remember writing the beach scene and just thinking, "I have no idea where this is going, but I LIKE IT." The story's getting... not darker, really, but just sadder, I guess, than I ever really planned it to. At least I think it is. I'm not sure if it's the right direction, or if people like it or not, but it just seems like it's going where it should be. /shrug. We'll see!

Yes, Rory... I've got ch. 28 in the queue, atm, and Genevieve portrays her own confusion about that — it's not right what he did, and there's no real evidence of him being that kind of person, so she's just as utterly confused, and wounded, really. You mention how he knew all along, and I think in response to that I'd say that his visions are really very separate from real-life. They haven't *happened*, so when they do it's just like, "Oh. My God. This is real, this is my life; I saw my mother die and now she's actually dead and I don't know how to handle this or cope and Genevieve just please STOP TALKING and let me just sit in silence and I don't want to TALK about my goddamned FEELINGS." I think it pretty much just built up until *bam*. I mean, it's fantasy, so god knows how someone would react in that kind of situation — I don't think we'd ever know.

Hahaha, me too! It's taxing on the mind, but it's so ~good~. ;D

Thank you a thousand times, Genia, I'm so grateful you've spent the time to comment. Much love. x


 Report Review

Review #15, by NoixdeMuscade CHAPTER 27

18th March 2013:
Wow... just... wow. I don't have another way of expressing how I feel right now.

Author's Response: Hahaha! Thank you! (apologies for the late response!)

I'm... not sure if that's a good state of inability-to-express-feelings or not, but I'm going to go with that because I like feeling good about myself. ;D

Thank you a billion times for commenting! Take care, x


 Report Review

Review #16, by Leela CHAPTER 27

28th January 2013:
Wonderfully written. You bring so much feeling into the story with how you choose your words. Yes, this chapter is quite dark and depressing, but it's beautifully done. There's this eerie feeling that I just can't shake.
I just want them to be happy. Rory, Genevieve. You write them so well and complex. Her memories and wishes for her friends, and how that 'going back to childlike freedom of worries' doesn't work out in real life; even though she was never all that carefree in the first place.
It's almost heartbreaking to read about Nate, and about Rory. So much pain in what happened/ is going to happen.

It's hard to write down what I think -the story is so multi-layered and ... Well, anyways. Like I said: You write wonderfully. Are there lighter times to look forward to? At the end of the story?

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Leela. My profuse apologies for such an awfully late response.

God, I want them to be happy, too; it's like dragging myself through black tar, but it's... oddly familiar so I'm not as uncomfortable writing in such a mournful tone as perhaps I should be.

I agree - when I first wrote the beach scene I wasn't really sure why I was writing it. At the time I was suffering from chronic/acute writers' block, so I just thought, "Just write and we'll see where it goes." But after contemplating the scene before I fleshed it out it sort of hit me how even something like going to the beach, where most kids have such fond memories, wasn't like that for her at all. Or it it was fond, it was brief and fleeting and filled with a kind of false promise of future happiness - or maybe an omen/fore-warning. I'm not quite sure. But as you say (and which I love), "'going back to childlike freedom of worries' doesn't work out in real life".

Nate is just *deep breath*. I can't. I want to love him, and then it's like, Oh wait. He's dead. I mean, he would be such an incredible person for her - so light-hearted and funny and kind and compassionate and exactly what she needs. I know Albus is sort of like that, but their relationship has far too many strings attached. I just wonder, sometimes, what she would be like if Nate had lived, and I think she would be such a different character, but then this story would be so different, too. So... Yeah.

Lighter times? Hmm... Well, I have the end scene sort of semi-written (I wrote that, like, two years ago, so it obviously needs some major tweaking now), so I can't give too many hints away. I feel really irritable and uncomfortable in the knowledge that I never planned the story fully before I started writing - I shock myself sometimes when I remember that this story is the first thing I ever wrote. There was a point where I briefly planned it out, like, at around Chapter 16, but now I've reached the moment where I'm at Point A and I need to get to Point C with no idea what Point B is. It's very frustrating, because I keep thinking, "God, what shall I do... I know! I'll do some writing." And then I open up an unfinished chapter or that devil spawn blank white screen, and it's like, "What on earth happens now, then?"

But when I do write the Point B's, they will hopefully have lighter moments in - I need them just as much as you guys, 'cause I'm writing sometimes and just thinking about how goddamned depressing everything sounds.

ANYWAY! Sorry. I ramble far too easily. Thank you so much for you wonderful comments and compliments and points that have really made me think about the story more. It's amazing how helpful reviews can be in terms of understanding your own characters or plot more. So, thank you, Leela, and much love! xxx


 Report Review

Review #17, by miluv CHAPTER 27

27th January 2013:
what. just. effing. happened.
did he just. ohmygosh. what. OHMYGOSH. wait. so they like had sex with clothes on bc he was upset, but she had a boyfriend.. i dont understand. IM SO CONFUSED. okay can i ask you a bunch of questions? ok so
1. what was the whole rory asking genevive about "he's gonna hrt you" or whatever?
2. he was like ABUSIVE. WHAT. WHY. HOW. OMG. rory is like omg i love him but he was like ABUSIVE. and i get that he was kinda not in the right state of mind at the time bc his mom died, but ABUSIVE?! WHY? im so distraught right now
3. how come al got so mad that genevive asked whether he loved deya? i mean what if it was just for curiousity's sake?
4. do you know how good of a writer you are? like omg this chapter {and like EVERY other chapter of this story} gave me chills. like honest to god CHILLS. that's how awesome you are.
5. this isn't really a question it's more like a statement- I LOVE YOU SO MUCH OMG.
that's pretty much it ya know. keep writing and updating please, lovesyouxxx

ps: i read this over and omg there are SO many omg's and like's in here like i can't even. i swear i don't normally talk like this, but i've been up all day and all night studying for midterms nonstop so i read this whole chapter and wrote this review during my allotted 10 minute break, which means i read it like ninja speed. woah. okay bye :D

Author's Response: My gosh I am so sorry for the late response - I'm only just catching up on all of these. I hope you're still able to read this!

Hahahah. I'll try to form a coherent response to this.

1. I can't tell you. I'M SORRY!

2. Yes. I kind of hated him when I wrote it. I deleted it, then tried to re-write it, but then I was like, screw it. This is how it's happening. I do not condone his behaviour, but in Ch. 28 Genevieve questions his behaviour, too. After I'd finished that and as I was writing 28, I wasn't really happy with his actions, and I'm not really sure if I am now, but in a way it just emphasises the extent of his anger and his confusion and loss - the way he showed it wasn't right, though. What can I say, he has issues, and I like to explore emotionally twisted people? Ha ha?

3. I think it's sort of like he's dating Deya and he's doing right by her by not interfering with Genevieve or putting either of their relationships at risk, and he's trying so hard and then Genevieve asks him about how he actually feels about a relationship he's somewhat convinced himself is right - even when part of him knows it isn't. I think he's just angry, and feels like Genevieve has almost ruined this delusion he has wrapped around himself and tried so hard to keep. At least, that's a bit how I see it. Also, part of him genuinely probably thinks, "Why are you asking me this? It's nothing to do with you. You have a boyfriend, and I a girlfriend, and that's pretty much it. Stop interfering." I guess it could be seen a number of ways but I don't really want to look into things too much. I have a vague idea of the meaning behind things when I write them, but sometimes I look too far and I never much like what I find...

4. Hahaha, thank you! I always feel kind of sad when I write this story now. I mean, there's obviously a feeling of contentment and satisfaction, but the story is really just quite sad, and it makes me sadder knowing I'm never quite sure how to make it happier. It's a dangerous profession, I tell you!

5. I LOVE YOU, TOO!

ps. omg it's absolutely fine - i have a tendency to slip into faux-text speak, too, but then i'm just like, no. write normally and coherently otherwise no one will know what the hell you're writing about. i ;D i hope your midterms went excellently! much love, x


 Report Review

Review #18, by J CHAPTER 26

24th January 2013:
This story is so good! Really different to most things I've read but really good. You expect it to be easybut more complications just keep popping up. How long are you going to make this story? Anyway I hope you put up your chapters as quickly as you can! I do hope Al and Genevieve get together though :)

Author's Response: Thank you, J!

I'm glad you like it. Yeah, I'm not one for simplicity, or maybe I'm sort of just like, Let's just throw in another twist to screw with people's minds. Hey, I could be Steven Moffat and *then* where would we be?

Hmm, I'm not entirely sure if I'm honest with you. I have an end pretty firmly in mind, and a few twists and turns here and there along the way, but I haven't planned everything down to the last chapter (*sigh* which I really need to do...), but I'm going to make a rough guess and say, like... 30ish? 30-40? Almost definitely not more than 40 I would say, though.

Aw, I know - I think a lot of people wish they could be, too!

Take care, J, and thank you so much for commenting! x


 Report Review

Review #19, by J CHAPTER 13 ALBUS. S. P.

24th January 2013:
So when do they find out that Deya's evil?
Plus, I love this story :)

Author's Response: Hahahaha - if only, eh?

Nah, she's not that bad. Just a bit... questionable. Like a lot of the characters, I suppose.

Thank you so much! x


 Report Review

Review #20, by Cal CHAPTER 26

5th November 2012:
Realy enjoying this. When is the next chapter?

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Chapter 27 is up, and 28 is in the queue. xxx

 Report Review

Review #21, by Dare to Dream CHAPTER 26

5th September 2012:
OH MY GOSH OH MY GOSH!

So Rory is being tested like some sort of test subject for lack of a better phrase...THAT SON OF A Ugh. This upsets me as you can clearly see. So does this mean that Clegg may very well be trying to turn Gen into his little test subject? If this is the case then I don't like him anymore like, at all, he sucks! hahahaha

Sorry for the seemingly late review!!! I've just been busy!!!

This was amazing as always, and your writting is beautiful and gauhhh i just love it!!

UPDATE SOON OKAY?!

Okay!

btw, i still can't figure out what chick would want Gen gone. Your good, too good =(

10/10 as always

xoxoxoxoxoxo morgan

Author's Response: Heeey, Morgan. I'm so incredibly sorry for the late reply on this - I've been busy but that's not much of an excuse.

Hahaha, nah, it's not really like that - he's just a patient that's really intriguing and unique, but I wouldn't call Rory a test subject. Turning Genevieve into one? Wow, there's an option I never considered. It's not really the turn I'm planning to take with the story but that's certainly an incredible idea that I'm sure could be worked very easily into the story...

Thank you a thousand times for your lovely comments, Morgan, and I really hope you're well! Bethan, x


 Report Review

Review #22, by imacullenpottergirl CHAPTER 26

4th August 2012:
Why am I crying!? This isn't meant to be a heart breaking chapter, but why is it?
I feel her pain, I feel his pain, and although this is just a story, I could FEEL every fiber of her numbness. I could see every strand of his helplessness and heartbreak. And its killing me.

I don't know how to explain this, but you've made me feel something that I've never felt before. You've made me connect with Genivieve, not at a story level, but at a soul level, and for that you are beautiful.

Author to Author, you would know what I mean when I say that I can't even grasp the words to describe how.. elegant and binding this chapter was. And I mean with all honesty and sincerity when I say that it would be my dream to meet you, the creator and mastermind of such.. delicacy, to hopefully one day have as much talent and breathtaking goodness that you have.

Man, do I wish I could talk to you. You've left me so.. full, and contempt, and I thank you and respect you for that.

I think I've found my best friend,
Abhi
(pronounced Abby)

Author's Response: Oh, darling Abhi, let me love you!

I think this it the sweetest, loveliest review I've ever been given!!!

I read this and did a little dance around my kitchen, and getting down to reading it again as I reply is making me grin like mad and put my hands on my cheeks.

I'm sorry for making you cry, but God if I knew what I wrote that could inspire such emotions again. I've really been feeling quite empty these past few weeks, and my drive for writing has become so indistinguishable that I've been wondering how I can ever get it back - reading some of my old writing has shown me how I've improved, but not given me the incentive to continue improving. I think this might have been what I needed.

Thank you so much for your beautifully kind words, Abhi, and I hope the remainder of this story will continue to please you. If you ever want to chat, I'm known as "I Was Not Magnificent" over on the forums - shoot me a PM any time, darling!

I'm off to the white screen again after reading this, to see if I can get into the flow of it again. All my love,

Bethan. xxx


 Report Review

Review #23, by Hope's Mom CHAPTER 26

2nd August 2012:
More and more mysteries! Clegg is some sort of healer/teacher to Rory. Rory obviously has had some sort of vision about something yet to come concerning Genevieve. Genevieve made her own broom which apparently tampered with to cause her accident. There is a large sense of helplessness floating through out this chapter. Very interesting update - thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by fairestofthemall CHAPTER 26

1st August 2012:
Hi!

After the long wait since the last chapter I was positively baffled at your expertly writing. I had completely forgotten how your story's one of the few fan fictions here that combine simplicity, panache, and empathy in a, in fact, perfect way without overusing certain phrases or trying to use too many 'sophisticated' or 'fancy' words.
Your characters are captivating and believable, there's no stereotyping or black-and-white-portrayal. I think Rory's one of the most fascinating personae, and the insight into the work of the aurors was enlightening and interesting as well (and funnily enough, reminded me of Criminal Minds).

So, yes, I liked this chapter.

Author's Response: Um. Wow. This is such a lovely thing to wake up to. Thank you so much.

Hahaha, I've never seen Criminal Minds, but I've read a few crime-related novels over this past year or so, so I had a vague idea of how their interaction would occur. Of course, they're Aurors, so they would do things quite differently, I'd imagine.

It's a balance, I think, when you talk about vocabulary usage. I need to remember that some people reading this are going to be quite young, and won't understand certain words, which could be a major turn-away for the story, but I've also got to keep it engaging and sophisticated to a point so that I convey that I know what I'm doing... somewhat. :D It takes a lot of editing and re-writing phrases or words, I guess.

Slowly in the chapters the characters are going to seem far more *not* black-and-white, to the point that people probably won't like the story any more, but hey-ho, that's just how I've planned it, so we'll see what happens. :)

Thank you so, so, so much, my dear for your beautiful review. I'm so pleased you liked it. :D

Take care,

Bethan. xxx


 Report Review

Review #25, by Kately CHAPTER 26

1st August 2012:
You write beautifully. And it's so intriguing! (All the time - wonderful, how you manage to do that.)
Your characters are great -the Aurors, Rory, now Clegg, how you brought Rose's worry into it and obviously Genevieve. Surprise, that she made her broom herself. Wow.
Touching story. You're great!

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much, Kately! :D

Ah, the bit about the broom. I wanted to tie in the flash-back with Nate and Genevieve in the orphanage, when she said that she wanted to be a broom maker. I see her crafting her own broom as a sort of... hommage to Nate, I guess. Something she felt she had to make, and actually complete for his sake and their conversation. Not sure how many people will remember that - think it was all the way back in Chapter 4 - so I might mention that again, soon.

Thank you so, so much for you lovely comments and inspiration.

Bethan. xxx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>