Reading Reviews for etc. etc. (and life goes on)
  
1,095 Reviews Found

Review #1, by a nice day to get away Epilogue

1st December 2016:
Alright. So, I sped through this, even though I probably shouldn't have. I'll probably go back and reread it; to at least try to savor this time.

So, anyways, Clemence. She is, in all sense of the word, a cynic. This is a similarity between the both of us. The difference? She flaunts it; wears it out like a heart on her sleeve; she thinks it makes her better than all of the others, all of the others that are optimistic. And she thinks it makes her right. She is, in a way, correct. This is a not a really healthy mindset to have; it gives her too much pride and maybe a slight bit of ego. Just because she’s right, it doesn’t necessarily justify her actions. Because, yes, she is right, but the view optimists have are also right. She looks at one side of the story, and she still hasn’t looked at the other side yet. I believe that yeah, sometimes friends do come and go, but there is always a chance to get that spark, that relationship, back. Optimists and pessimists have opposing views. They are both right, but if the other was wrong, the world we live in wouldn’t really be the world we live in. It would either be much too perfect or much too dreary and both would be too boring to live in.

Clemence also has a tendency, in her worst moments, to think that she’s the only person in the world, the only person like her and understands her. Well, now if that were actually true, she wouldn’t have such close friends because they do, to a degree, understand her.

I just love the way she handles Janey. But Janey does say something that caught my attention: “You wouldn't have given up Witchy Business on your own,” which is true. But why did Clemence let go of it so easily? Did something change in her? Was it a sign of her growth throughout the story? Was the newsroom symbolic of her letting go a bit of her old self (because let’s face it; she’d never give up her cynicism)? The Witchy Business is basically what got her into this whole situation with Albus. Am I thinking into this too much?

About Albus and Clemence: They clashed. Opposites really don’t attract, if one can say that they are opposites. They were never meant to be, and high school relationships don’t really work out most of the time (there are a rare few cases). They used each other. Clemence said it outright, and Albus’ intentions were implied. I do wonder if they’d ever become friends though. That would be the strangest friendship ever. Maybe it wouldn’t even be a friendship.

That’s all I really have to say about this. I have a question though: In your VVV, the protagonist is Chinese (or Korean? I’m sorry, I don’t really have a good memory). Why didn’t you make the protagonist in this story Chinese? Or was making her diverse a thought that came after you had written etc. etc.? Also, I’m really interested in how you’re going to handle V-Day D-Day in your VVV, as the love potion was an important element in the events that conspired in that chapter. Aphrodisiacs maybe? They are really sketchy however and you don’t even know if it’s going to work because they stimulate sexual desire, not love…

 Report Review

Review #2, by rainy_days Epilogue

15th October 2016:
Also, I feel you should know that this was the story that had me start writing a novel. It was so well written and executed that it pushed me to start writing. I can't even being to reach your level of prowess if I don't even start writing something.

Author's Response: Ahh! Please please please write and reach and surpass my prowess! etc was a five-year project and I learned SO much from it, and I think the growth over the chapters really shows (Neither Clemence nor I knew from the first chapter that this is where the story would end up!). Throw your heart in something and have something fervent to say, and good luck!

 Report Review

Review #3, by rainy_days Epilogue

15th October 2016:
So I just finished this story. And oh my god, what a wild ride! The characters are all so amazing! Not necessarily in their moralities or actions but rather in how their characters were built. It was an enjoyable read; I couldn't stop (even if I was averse to Clemence). It's also a good read for someone who likes analyzing and breaking literature down to their cores (which I am).

On Albus: um Okay wow Albus in this story is everything that I thought I didn't want but once I read this something I learned I need? If that makes sense lol. Like he's a dark character that switches from being chivalrous to "whoa wow um who are you? I didn't think you had it in you to do that." I think he changes into what people want, like a femme fatale of sorts. He's eeevil but he does enough "good" things for us to be able to sympathize with him. This makes him such interesting character; I kind of want to know his point of view in this story just to simply get to know him more and more--right down to his core.

On Clemence: She's a rather interesting character you could say? I don't like her (and truthfully I don't think you're supposed to). But I think this is what happens when you get to know someone in real life. If you actually knew what they thought and the intentions behind what they do, you'd dislike them more and more. So it's better not to know sometimes I guess. Clemence speaks so badly of herself. It's not a matter of low self-esteem, it's just how she views herself. And I think she likes this, she likes her views on things, she likes that she's not a part of "the norm." To me, she's not very relatable; I don't have the same views as her nor do I do the things for the reasons she does. Never explicitly said, I think she doesn't have much faith in the world and so she believes the world doesn't deserve a good Clemence, so she does what she wants.

On Dominique: I liked her a lot! When Henry "confessed" to her she didn't say yes because she felt an obligation because of Henry's friendship with her. She didn't say yes at all because she likes where she is and doesn't need Henry to make it better. I can totally respect that. I think Dom makes up more of what Clemence is more often praised and attributed to in the reviews. I agree both Dom and Clemence are strong people, but for the different reasons. Dom wasn't much involved in this story and I kind of wish she was.

On Appy: She's really positive and my god, she absolutely has to show it. She often is the person people don't like because of her annoying demeanor. Beneath her exterior, she's really ambitious and she's working towards it. I think this is shown through her being able have a ready publisher for her book and the fact that she is the president of a really well established and popular club.

I think that's all I have to say for this, other than the fact that there are some really tumblr worthy quotes in here. My favorite is the "we have two hearts" one.

Author's Response: Hi!! Ahh, love that you love breaking down a story, I like to write with that in mind (Literature classes are a major influence for my writing and there's rarely a motif I don't like), and a lot of what you say is spot on with things I've voiced myself, close to word for word even!

Case in point: Albus IS SO A FEMME FATALE. He's totally a chameleon that becomes whatever you want him to be, and I wonder what that says about his own aimlessness and tendency to place responsibilities on others.

Another case in point: Dom is more like the idea of Clemence than Clemence yesss. She's intentionally characterized that way, and there's an underlying envy that Clemence has and never addresses. I think the biggest difference in their situations is Dom always gets away with her exploits and Clemence doesn't. She's actually a pretty static character, which I like, because people expect her to change and she just doesn't.

Clemence is always the last person I'd defend and it never matters to me whether or not people like her, though it touches me deeply whenever people relate to her, because I wrote her for them, for those who rarely saw a heroine who saw the world like themselves. I remember struggling to describe to my friend exactly! about how Clemence doesn't have low self-esteem but it would be easy to mistake her observations as such - it's more that she has poor esteem for literally everything. And she's very smug about it. I think she and Albus exemplify, in different ways, how being correct about something doesn't justify their actions.

Appy really is so successful! Annoying, maybe even dangerously ignorant at times, but earnest and clever in ways foreign to Clemence. And nuts, but so is everyone else in this story ;)

Bahaha, I love when I find a tumblr worthy quote (I very often turn them into tumblr worthy graphics - including one for that hearts quote!). Thank you so much for reading and for your insight! c:


 Report Review

Review #4, by Una Owens Epilogue

6th October 2016:
This was a wonderful wonderful story that I've been following for so long. I was so glad to check back and see that it was finished. I was wondering if there were any stories you'd recommend to someone who liked yours and want to read more like it?

Author's Response: I'd heartily recommend GubraithianFire's 'Devilish Delights, Wicked Ends' for morally ambiguous characters who go nuts; it's slow burn and absolutely incredible as it builds up. So many 'did she really go there???' moments. For lighter fare, Celestie's 'Bathing in Roses' is a half-rom-com parody that's romantic but tongue-in-cheek. There's not a lot I'd recommend for fic like etc, but there's a bunch of movies like 10 Things I Hate About You, Heathers, Bring it On, any variation of Emma, Chicago; tv has Daria - I'm sure there's more, but I'm blanking.

Thank you so much for reading! So glad you came back and that you liked the ending c:


 Report Review

Review #5, by liquidlu Epilogue

16th September 2016:
This story left me with mixed feelings, mostly because I relate to a lot of how Clemence is- just a little less self-serving and more of the "I can't care, what is wrong with me?! I can't feel, so just don't come near me" thing. That said, those mixed feelings are a sign of a really good story. It was hilarious at times, and heartbreaking at others. It also really puts a perspective on how other people feel about Clemence vs. how she sees herself- they're quite different views and it's a pretty accurate reflection for a lot of us in that how we see ourselves is often skewed. She does care and she always has, otherwise she wouldn't have had friends like Dom, affection for Scorpius, and all the other relationships in her life that she kind of took for granted.

I'm glad she's finally trying and taking those little steps that are SO hard to do in the midst of the hopelessness and conviction that there is something seriously wrong with her. She'll have a lot more of those moments of pushing people away and (I guess you could call them) relapses, but the difference is she'll try, and she'll recognise the patterns in her behaviour. I also think Clemence and Pickett are PERFECT and made me happy! Albus and her just never really worked- they were just a challenge to each other.

I'm hopeful for Clemence- she doesn't know it, but she's a better person than she thinks. First and foremost because she actually cares about whether she's a good person, and secondly she's more just confused about what she feels and it takes her a long time to figure it out because she's constantly trying to rationalise them in a way that fits with her idea of herself- which doesn't work if her idea of herself isn't accurate. In time, with the help of people like Pickett who seems to know her better than she does, I think Clemence will understand herself better rather than hate herself for her reactions to things. And even if she slips back and drives people away, she realises now that they are in fact important to her and will reach back out to them.
Also, I'm strangely happy for Appy (rhyme!), it's time her life stopped revolving around boys. She is still batsh*t crazy, though.

Finally, I can't leave without saying THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR FINISHING THIS AMAZING STORY!

Author's Response: It means the world to me when people can relate to Clemence. I think a lot of that insecurity/misconception about one's own feelings comes down to how rare lack of emotion is explored in female characters. Not ones that are "broken" or coy, but just *are* that way. I didn't have anyone I could point to when I started writing this.

It's obvious to us that Clemence does care, but I remember what it was like to just not relate to how other people parsed their feelings; I didn't understand why people cared so much about some things, why they were unreasonable about others. I cared, but it was like my feelings were in a foreign language that other people didn't understand, and I didn't know how to earnestly empathize when "normal" feelings escaped me.

TRYING to care is really all the difference in the world, and I love that you point that out so many times. It's exactly what gives me hope. Clemence cares about caring, about being a good person. I think what she needed was to believe it's worth something. People like Scorpius and her followers and even Appy all saw this innately in her already. For her love interests, I think the big difference is Albus knows she cares but he believes she needs to change to be that better person, while Pickett accepts her for who she already is. Clemence is really quite sensitive to people leaving her (Dom!), she's just typically confident that that sort of thing doesn't happen to her. But when it does. Welp.

Appy would not be Appy without an unhealthy passion.

♥ thank YOU for such a lovely review!!


 Report Review

Review #6, by TroubleFindsMe Kiss Me Twice, Shame On Me

26th August 2016:
To tell you the honest truth, I'm feeling seduced by Albus and he's not even talking to me

Author's Response: He appreciates your undivided attention :'D

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ronsgirl29 Love Overrated, Overruled

16th August 2016:
Was Clem being serious when she said she liked Pickett more than Al, or was she just trying to hurt him?? Because I honestly never saw that coming, she never seemed into him romantically. But anyway, great chapter as always. Glad to see Al is switching things up on Clem; she needs to wake up and realize she loves potter soon because clearly he's willing to play her game!

Author's Response: I think she absolutely meant it AND she was trying to hurt him, ha. Though it doesn't necessarily mean it's romantic; Pickett is one of her few genuine friends while her feelings for Albus are complicated at best.

The next chapter's quite a ride! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ronsgirl29 Intermission, Enter Firewhiskey

15th August 2016:
Great chapter AHHH!!! Love it when people take on all the ridiculous cliches of next gen fics and turn them into something as brilliant as this. I mean, you can't graduate from Hogwarts without the obligatory drunken lake hook up!! Is it bad that I kind of ship scorpius and Pickett? They were just too great in this chapter. Can't wait to keep reading

Author's Response: You can't trash on cliches without committing one! Haha, and it's not bad at all, I've shipped just about every pairing at some point. Excited to see what you think of the rest!

 Report Review

Review #9, by aimless abby Epilogue

11th August 2016:
WELL that was an adventure. when i clicked on this fic in idle curiosity and boredom i had no idea how twisty, turny, and often, quite turbulent, the story would be. i applaud you. this is unlike any other story i've read. it's slightly orwellian in its sly commentary of society, with a strong heathers-esque flavor throughout.
i thoroughly enjoyed Clemence's inner monologue. she is a masterpiece of a character. you took the trope -- ice queen melting for a man -- and subverted it, flipped it, took it in a new direction. i loved it, and i loved the growth that she underwent. i loved the risks she took, what she threw away, her struggles with outward forces and with herself. in some ways she remained the same, yet in others, she became radically different.
i loved the juxtaposition of dom and rose. their war was a masterpiece of performance art. the poor girls are only 16/17 years old, and creating flawless public personas like pros. imagine how carefully they would present themselves to real life society -- their social media accounts! they would rival the kardashians and jenners in maintaining an envious and adulation-inspiring public image. that said, i would sooner become obsessed with rose or dom as social media queens than i will ever become enamoured of the kardashians/jenners.
i will NEVER forgive you for driving me to ship al and clem. i knew i knew i KNEW it would never ever work out but you somehow made me root for them and love them and their twisted seduction. god i was a MESS when i realized once and for all it would not work out for them. their romance? -- i guess is the only word -- was ever so convoluted and i started to hope that they would make it. i should have known.
never in a million years would i have thought the ending would be as it is. if you had told me it was a kiss, i would have thought clem and al (because i couldn't let myself DREAM of pickett and scorpius!) if you had told me it was a kiss between pickett and clem i would have thrown something because HOO BOY that was something i really didn't see coming. like clemence, i suppose i was too distracted by al coming in with the rolled up sleeves and endless steam.
it was quite a ride and i don't entirely feel satisfied by it. i doubt i could ever top your finale, but it feels incomplete still. i suppose that's a good thing in some ways. though i might rather have a ridiculously saccharine ending (ie: the Epilogue of HP7. i retched on the sweetness, even tho i was 11 and weeping buckets) than this unresolved sort of feeling. i suppose that's just me. god knows i wouldn't be able to survive another novel with Clemence as the snarky, bitter narrator. i loved her in all her b!tchy teenage glory, but i doubt i could love an adult clem quite as much.
delicious job overall. top notch stuff. i'm off to stalk the rest of your stories. ta!
ps: i WOULD read another novel with Janey as the protagonist. i never saw that twist at the end coming. i love that it was the one thing that made clemence treat her like an equal, yet the one thing that destroyed clem's high opinion of her
pps: i really do hope al all the best after the events of this story. he remains my favorite of the weasley-potter kids. i don't think i could pick a favorite character out of this story if i tried. i love them all. except maybe Appy, but i do love to hate her.

Author's Response: ahh it's so great to hear from people who stumble onto this fic with NO idea what they're in for. I wrote it for multiple audiences so I intentionally wanted it to have readable as both trashy teen comedy and this actually-going-in-the-other-direction satire, but the real story that it became - Clemence's emotional ramp-up - actually wasn't planned. But I can't see it any other way now. She starts the story as devil-may-care as one can be with a narration to match--it's literally all fun and games--and by the end she is roughened and somber, the same cynic in many ways but irrevocably different in how she wears it.

Dom and Rose are 100% aesthetic; oh the SLOGANS they'd have. The digital age is made for them tbh, if only wizards caught up.

I'm glad now my new readers get to read straight through the story at once and are actually catching all the details I put in??? (most people had to read it over the course of YEARS, bless them). And it's nice to know it's actually p clear that Albus and Clemence aren't meant to be together when it's all read together (though still agonizing muahaha). Maybe it's also the changing times and the reduced expectation of romance; stories are SO much more varied and different now compared to five years ago when I started writing this - I could barely name a single popular anti-heroine when I started writing this! And YA was still entirely trendy trope focused. I'm really glad for how the genre's grown and for the Gone Girl effect.

If I had the time, I would've loved to explore Pickett and Scorpius' friendship; I like to think Scorpius confirmed Pickett's pansexuality to him. I did think about a romance but I think they're romantically attracted to different kinds of people (both are attracted to trouble lmao). I think the general consensus is Scorpius 100% deserves better than Albus so we're all cheering for him.

HOO BOY INDEED, yeah I can't believe I ended it with a KISS first of all, secondly THAT ONE. My heart was RACING the day I posted this.

I have such a specific brand of resolution. I actually adore ADORE happy endings and fluff, believe it or not lol, but when I'm actually putting words on the page, I lean toward hopeful possibility and it often comes out bittersweet. To me, Clemence has taken small steps to opening up, and it's the smallness of those steps combined with the utter difficulty in taking them that makes her all the realer to me, unlike a lot of brash-but-softening characters that misunderstand how core such cynicism is to one's identity. I have all the world's happiness in my head for her, but I wanted to end the story appropriate for those small steps. Clemence doesn't know what's coming next; she's raw and afraid with a fistful of defiant hope; the questions she asks about love and justice and everything else never really get answered... but those kinds of questions don't have answers. Love stories don't happen one way, and fairness is in the eye of the beholder.

I'd hope Adult!Clemence is settled in her skin though. I actually imagine her as a private eye 8)

Also LOVE your description of Janey and Clemence's relationship. That is 100% what I wanted to show. I love the quiet, reliable ingenue who is secretly capable of setting (mostly figurative) fires. Would make A+ protagonist.

Rather ironically, Albus shows his first real bit of growth in the epilogue, only made possibly by his first real bit of loss. I think he'll be quite fine, though he really ought to lay off the firewhiskey.

All my stories are SO different from each other lol but I hope you find more you like! Thank you SO much for your detailed review. I have some extra stuff over at tumblr if you want to check it out (graphics; extended epilogue kiss lmao, if that's your thing; plans for the original story). ♥ ♥ ♥!


 Report Review

Review #10, by SilverMoonFairy Epilogue

9th August 2016:
My friend has this problem where all her stories end up like this- ridiculously funny to deadly serious. She can't figure out why she can't keep them funny all the way through.

I'm okay with this ending. It's messy and that's who Clemence is. It's fitting, even if I did shed tears and sacrifice sleep to get here.

I am WindingArrow on the forums if you didn't know. If you ever write this as OF and publish, please let me know. I really want to read that story.

Forever invested in Witchy Business
-Liz

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing and getting all the way to the end ♥ I'm so glad that after all the stress and emotional overloading you liked the story and resolution; when I was responding to your early reviews, I was just waiting to see how you'd react once you got to the more serious waters. I saw your responses to the book club on the forums too, thank you for participating in that!! I'll be tracking my progress on OF on my tumblr; it'll be a while, and another bout of hard work, but I'm really happy people are looking forward to it.

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #11, by SilverMoonFairy Appy Ever After

9th August 2016:
I'm not crying... Really... my husband is rubbing chopped onions in my face.

I knew it was coming. I saw it. You warned me. Clemence warned me. I warned me. It doesn't make it hurt any less. And I'm mad that Potter doesn't hurt more. At least there's hope for Pickett.

I can't believe you burned the newsroom... I don't think I'll forgive you that one.

It's not funny anymore and I'm seriously depressed at the moment. I feel like you're the George R.R. Martin of hearts...

Still reading...
-Liz

Author's Response: Baww I really am SO sorry for the rollercoaster (as a writer, still steepling fingers). I realized when i was writing the last chapters, "Gee, this is veeery different than the beginning." I remember putting up alll the possible warning signs after the Valentine's Day chapter - "shippers are gonna wish I stopped here!" But it's just too fitting for Clemence to fall after a false happy ending that she prophesied.

(I appreciate that you want Albus to hurt MORE, despite the existing angst.)


 Report Review

Review #12, by SilverMoonFairy Trust Whom You Love, or Is It the Other Way Around?

9th August 2016:
I was going to say a chapter or so back that this should be like Easy A- of course, she should publish the story in Witchy Business!

I am so torn! I love Pickett! I want HIM to be happy! And Al IS an arse! But-but-! *sigh* Clemence fought tooth and nail to get him back from Appy. Maybe it was just that she wanted to beat Appy, but I was pumping my fist and whooping the whole time. I've grown to like Al. I thought I wouldn't so much by the end of this. Or at least I thought, she'd be with Al and Pickett would have Dom... But now it's just all messed up. Broken pieces on the floor and I've only got two chapters left to wrench my heart out because no matter who she chooses, I'll cry over the loss of the other.

I think I should stop reading for tonight...
-Liz

Author's Response: I've never actually seen Easy A, I should take note.

Bwahahaha, the last minute love triangle. I'd known that Dom was not interested in Pickett and abandoned that idea a long time ago (Dom can't attach herself to *anything*). I played with the idea of something between Pickett and Clemence in the beginning, actually, but I just never went through with it, and didn't think it'd become relevant. My secret backstories have a way of creeping up on me.

You're almost there!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Kaylee Epilogue

9th August 2016:
I'm a new reader, and I've read this entire fic in two days. I had to put my phone down at 4 am and reconsider my life choices. I often indulge in the quite cliche and often repetitive James/OC and Albus/OC fics, I was a frequent reader about three years ago and I have found myself coming back.

I have enjoyed some of these fics a lot, cliche as they may be. However, I often find myself enjoying a story less and less as it goes on. When I say you Author's note early on about this fic being different, I'm not sure what I expected. It wasn't this.

I've read hundreds of Harry Potter fanfics, but when I think about the period three years ago, I can only remember once story that stuck with me. I think this might be the second.

Maybe this is because I have been reading this non stop for two days, but I was floored when Albus and Clemence didn't end up together. But then, after reading the epilogue, it just clicked. It didn't really make sense for them to end up together. Maybe it could have worked, but it also made sense that it didn't.

If you had told me maybe five chapters back that they wouldn't end up together, I don't this I could have handled it. But now, I really see it. And I just want to thank you as an author for writing this piece of fiction that really challenged me as a reader.

This has been a pretty nonsensical rambling, but yeah. I just want to say thank you. I feel kinda weird, like this story actually had an impact on me. Is there any way for me to find your original works? This could be a really great novel. Though I've just discovered you, I appreciate the time and craft you've put into this story.

Author's Response: Ahhh! Thank you so much! Nothing against cliches by themselves - I have my own guilty pleasures - but I wished there was more depth to certain kinds of relationships and characters (especially characters like Clemence and love/hate relationships) for when I wanted something *not* cliche. When I went looking, I came up with almost nothing. People have told me how much this fic has meant to them and it brings such a smile to my face because that means these readers wanted same story I wanted to read. And I love when I'm able to write a story that people don't expect to like, and they end up loving it.

I was on the fence about Albus and Clemence, but honestly in my gut, I always wanted her to walk away; I just didn't fully know why, not until she put her distrust into words. Could she be genuinely vulnerable around him? Did she think he would step in the line of fire for her? No. She's seen this time and time again, and it's always been no. With all the time in the world, that might change, but what would push Albus to change? Only losing her. Turned out rather poetic.

I'm oddhour on tumblr! You can find the link on my profile. I haven't posted any original works online, but I am working on an original version of etc :) Thank you so much again! Knowing my story made an impact is one of the best compliments!


 Report Review

Review #14, by SilverMoonFairy A Kingdom For My Name

9th August 2016:
I'm curious- when they say D.A.D.A., am I supposed to assume they're talking in acronyms?

Poor Barry. He really needs a vacation. Poor thing. He can take Janey with him.

I don't have much on this chapter- I'm taking in the change and the angst whilst writing my own angst at the same time. It's very draining!

-Liz

Author's Response: I imagine they're saying "DA-DA"; I'm not actually sure what's the correct way to notate that!

Haha, the emotional journey of this story is a rollercoaster. I'd apologize in advance if it didn't spoil everything!


 Report Review

Review #15, by SilverMoonFairy V-Day D-Day

9th August 2016:
I knew it, but I was too caught up in heartache and racing to the next chapter to get it out on review. THAT *string of expletives* I will MURDER HER! My stomach was clenched, my heart twisting, and she just flouncing down the hallway with Al, I want to cry! FIGHT, CLEMENCE, FIGHT! Dirty, under handed, no good *expletive*! Come on, Clem, put that stick back in the mud! (PUN INTENDED!)

I am okay if Pickett and Clemence end up together as I thought they would in the first couple of chapters, but I can't ship Dom and Al because they're related and I will kill Appy, so Al can't be with her either. Maybe Sandra can have him.

I need to figure out the bigger mystery here- who hates Clemence so much that they are sabotaging her so badly? It can't be Caroline because I feel like she's not nearly intelligent as she thinks she is. It's not Appy if Pickett says she looked confused. I doubt it's Rose and Dom is FOR all this Clembus nonsense, so WHO is AFTER her? And have they already been revealed? IS IT SANDRA?!

WHY DOESN'T DOM LOVE PICKETT?!?! T_T I was so excited when she got a table for them...

SUCH AN AMAZING FIGHT AND OMG SCORPIUS! SCORPICKET! PICKIUS! TEAM HEN-

NO.

*ahem* You will forgive me? Thank you... I'M GOING TO BEAT THE EVER LIVING EXPLETIVE OUT OF AL! I don't care HOW jealous you are! WHY WOULD YOU DRINK LOVE POTION?!

Also, back to Scorpius, again, for once, HE is the most intelligent being in the room. ^_^

*dances*
-Liz

Author's Response: Ahhh another one of my favorite chapters. The visceral reactions I got from this chapter are some of the best things, yours included 8D Even me, this chapter just pumps me up and sort of makes me want to punch everything at random and see how far I get.

Oh the tangled webs we weave; I love that you are immediately assigning consolation love interests. ALSO I looove the rampant speculation. You are catching all the details ;)

Dom is perpetually on troll-mode.

Don't worry, Clemence is doing all the deserved roughhousing for you.


 Report Review

Review #16, by SilverMoonFairy Love Overrated, Overruled

9th August 2016:
OMG DOM IS HARUHI! I had a manga from Ouran a friend sent me for my birthday where Hikaru professed his love and interest in dating her and he specifically said, "No dense misinterpretations allowed!" XD

Shame, shame, Potter. Coffee and Firewhisky this early in the morning?

And what exactly did he think she would say? She had been actively against this relationship the whole story. Plus, Pickett is one of her best friends. And besides, while DRUNK, Pickett ONLY wanted to kiss Clemence because she sounded like Dom. It's not like he was dragging her under the dock to shag her...

I am curious to know what it is Al has come to like about Clemence. Sure, she's funny and they have good banter, but that doesn't make a relationship. I'm actually rethinking all the movie and TV relationships that started this way. The only really good ones were the ones that had real history behind them, like their friends or they went through some crap together. I'm equally curious as to why Clemence likes Al. He hasn't been particularly nice and has, in fact, been aiming to use her. Why are these things I never thought about before?

By the way... Pickett. T_T Hahaha, Let's get you drunk- Thank you! *dances*

WHAT IS THIS ABOMINATION?! *sobs*

-Liz

Author's Response: Albus slowly became a surprise alcoholic, who knew, not me.

Omg I love the half of the readers who go DUH ALBUS, OF COURSE SHE WOULDN'T CHOOSE YOU. Such presumptuous Potters. I also laugh when I think about this a little because Pickett was 100% right; Albus did get jealous.

To be fair, you doesn't need to like one another to have a relationship, ha! Only a healthy relationship. I, too, get confused when the love/hate relationships jump from totally angry to sudden domestic bliss. It's not unrealistic to have a heated, clashing relationship, but follow through! Make it ugly.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Skrrrt Marginally Better Than a Broom Closet

9th August 2016:
Wow, I know I'm late to the party but this story is so good so far...and I'm only a few chapters in

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you like the rest!

 Report Review

Review #18, by SilverMoonFairy Green for Queen

8th August 2016:
The voice in my head for Pickett (I forgot to mention this earlier) is the guy who does the Scamalot videos on YouTube. Also, this anime-esque story has taken a terrifying turn toward Peach Girl with Appy playing the devious role of Sai Kashiwagi...

These last two chapters are SO PACKED, my head is spinnging. @_@ From drunken 'I love you' to being forced into a situation he did and didn't want. Oh, Al... If only you could be a pygmy puff on the wall of Clemence's life. He has no idea what poop he's put her in. It better hurt.

-Liz

Author's Response: I imagine Pickett to be from the Scottish coast, but I never entirely nailed down the accent. I had to look up Peach Girl; I can only imagine the horrified look Appy would have if one called her the antagonist, you know, right before she kills you.

I'm also imagining Albus as a pygmy puff.

"It better hurt" -- AHA ♥ my kind of reader.


 Report Review

Review #19, by SilverMoonFairy The Self-Fulfilling Prophet

8th August 2016:
*bounces*

This will end badly! *sing-song* I wanna smack both Clemence and Albus around a bit, but I'll get over it and hopefully so will they. SO MUCH TENSION! GAH! It makes my skin crawl with anticipation!

In regards to your ending note, I think you're doing a very good job of keeping up with background characters and even little details like Appy's book not being forgotten and such, or the crates of bottles- you really pick up on a lot of the little details that a lot of writer's might forget and it makes it seem more real (aside from the anime vibe, lol).

Ooh, need more!
-Liz

Author's Response: I forgot all the little author notes I wrote at the end of chapters; it's crazy to think it's been YEARS since I wrote this chapter. I still very much can't wait to expand on background characters when I rewrite this as OF. I have little stories in my head that never become relevant in Clemence's PoV all the time. Thank you again for all your kind comments about this!!

 Report Review

Review #20, by SilverMoonFairy Bare-Knuckled Heartbreaking

8th August 2016:
PS on the last chapter- why is there now CI for it?

TEAM CLEMENCE!

I don't think I can keep this review 12+, but I'll try. This was EPIC. And I'm SO EXCITED! Now the poop will really hit the fan! *pumps fist* I AM SO EXCITED! Oh, I said that already. Um... Hmmm...

"Besides, when the well-being of this school hinges on my sexuality, I think there's a bigger problem to address!"

This is probably the most intelligent thing I've ever heard Scorpius say.

Ooh, now I'm really hoping for that happy ending I don't think is coming! *dances*

-Liz

Author's Response: I'm actually SO lazy about chapter images that if I don't make it the week I post the chapter, it's very likely it's never going to happen lol. It just so happens I only skipped out on the CI once.

That line by Scorpius is probably like top 5 smartest lines in the whole story loool. The poor boy deserves some sort of agency over his storyline.

This one of my fav chapters, hehehe. Excited for your excitement!


 Report Review

Review #21, by SilverMoonFairy Intermission, Enter Firewhiskey

8th August 2016:
Okay, are you ready for a lengthy review this time? I read this at work (thank God you have it on AO3 because my phone DOES NOT like HPFF) and because I couldn't speed read through the last ten chapters (because work) I had a lot of time to think and dwell and come up with some *hopefully* worth while things to say about the story of Clemence and Witchy Business.

The first order of business is that I've decided that this story reminds me greatly of a Rom-Com-Drama anime, namely something along the lines of Ouran High School Host Club or something to that effect, except more sexiness and the girls created their own fan club rather than just flocking to the boy's club. With the rabid fangirls screeching down the hall, the very psychotic Appy Colon who can go from evil to cute in ).5 seconds flat, the whole student body feuding over a stupid cause, and Clemence, the only main character who makes much sense and is sensible, I would totally love to see this as an anime or manga.

Just saying.

Secondly, this is by far my favorite chapter. I was laughing so hard at work, I needed to hold onto a table to stand up. My friend walked by giving me a queer look and asking, "Who are you talking to?" And so I read her Pickett answering Ella's rhetorical questions as explanation. It was hard to tell if she was laughing at the scene or me.

Omfg I LOVE Pickett. Until I noticed that he liked Dom, I almost thought that he liked Clemence and it tickles me pink that he asked to kiss her because she sounds like Dom. Just... Just... XD

AND OF COURSE PICKETT JUMPS INTO THE LAKE! Followed by Boy Wonder, Boy Enigma, and Lady Cynical. FINALLY THE SEX! As much as it is romanticized in movies and books... Sex in the water is no easy feat. :/

Now, apparently I have this habit of assigning songs to stories I am invested in. I listen to music all day long at work, so when a song comes up that reminds me of whatever story I'm obsessing over at the moment, it immediately becomes a part of a mental soundtrack. (I did this with Rose's stories, too.)

So far on your soundtrack, I have...
Shatter Me by Lindsey Stirling (due to my own personal inferences into Clemence's character)

By The Way by Hinder (because she keeps saying Al is trying to 'fix' her)

Love Hate Heartbreak by Halestorm (because, mostly the title...)

And finally, this is not official yet, but given the satire and dark humor running rampant, I am not expecting a happy ending, so my prediction for the ending is:

Let Go by Hollywood Undead (although, given who they are and how the story is going, this may happen regardless of a happy ending, haha!)

OKAY! DONE! ^_^
-Liz

Author's Response: I'M HERE I'M PREPARED.

I'm laughghghing at your comparison of this to Ouran mainly because I'm familiar with it. It's also funny because I think I DO take a lot from story structures/tropes popular in Asian media; my other story 'And Capers Ensue' totally follows the structure of a typical Korean drama if you squinted. etc would SO work as a manga/anime, you've just given me a new dream.

YES THIS IS THE CRACK CHAPTER!! This is the culmination of all the next gen tropiness I wanted to skewer followed up with lake sex.

Pickett is a blessing. Can anyone explain what comes out of his mouth? Totally worth getting weird laughs from your coworkers.

Ahhh I LOVE soundtracks (I made a bunch of music mixes on 8tracks for etc). I looked up the songs you mentioned and they're so intense, I can see why you chose them LOL.

Steepling my fingers at your predictions :D



 Report Review

Review #22, by SilverMoonFairy The Casualties of War

7th August 2016:
I was RPing a VERY EMOTIONAL scene with my collab partner today regarding Albus, Scorpius, and two OCs at the same time as reading this and I just... SO MANY EMOTIONS! T_T Bring back the funny.

I can't believe those awful brats! And Al! I get why, but still! I wanted to punch him! (Not gonna lie, totally expected them to throw down after Rose left the room...)

Dom may whine and scream, but in the end, Clemence is doing what needs to be done. It's a stupid feud anyway, especially when Scorp isn't even interested.

5 chapters yesterday, 10 today- if only I didn't have to work tomorrow.
-Liz

Author's Response: Omg you probably stumbled onto one of the worst chapters to read for the funny; this is definitely one of the darker ones. No one comes off as all too great in this chapter, except maybe Clemence who does her first truly selfless thing in the story. There never is any good without bad in this story, is there? :'D I remember this chapter being another turning point! I changed quite a few plot ideas after this one.

 Report Review

Review #23, by SilverMoonFairy Lesser of Two Evils

7th August 2016:
That... Is a devious plan. And odd that Clemence has panic attacks. Hmmm... Appy will not approve! I can't wait for that showdown!

-Liz

Author's Response: It's been super fun following you read; can't wait to see what you think of the rest! ^__^ Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by SilverMoonFairy A Lesson in Persuasion

7th August 2016:
LOTS OF PRINCIPLES! Good gracious, girl, you know how to write them all steamy, don't you? I'm gonna have to direct my husband to read this for a few brush up pointers!

Is Scorpius really gay? Because that would be hilarious. Two girls getting the whole school into a war and he doesn't even like girls...

ATTACK OF THE APPY! That is the most horrifying thing I can think of that could happen to Clemence! It's so Mean Girls!

Okay, I'm calming down now...
-Liz

Author's Response: LOL OMG, why yes I do write a lot of characters with principles, hem hem.

I love reading your speculation; there's a lot I've been keeping mum about. I'll wait for your reactions then 8)


 Report Review

Review #25, by SilverMoonFairy Denial, What's Denial?

7th August 2016:
Appy is ridiculously scary. There, I said it. (Seriously, where did you get the name Apostrophe Hyphen Colon?) I'm sort of proud of Clemence for not going to meet Al -who knows what scandal may have happened!- but I'm also a little disappointed that she said anything to Caroline at all. I think you would have waited to hear more of the conversation, but now she's just feeding the flames. Oo...

I'm also mad at Pickett. He needs to TALK to DOM. But, then, where's the story in that? ;)
-Liz

Author's Response: There was this trend back in 2011 with OCs whose names began with A or were some random word that is never used as a name. Apostrophe Hyphen Colon just seemed like a natural choice 8)

I feel like Clemence just does what she wants and calls it cleverness whenever it succeeds, ha.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>