Reading Reviews for etc. etc. (and life goes on)
  
1,043 Reviews Found

Review #1, by pinkpanther16 Appy Ever After

1st May 2016:
Wow, I can't believe this story is petty much over. Its definitely been a wild ride, and I've loved every second of it. One of my favorite stories on this entire site. Thank you for writing this amazing story and actually pulling through and finishing it. I'm glad Clemence finally had some realization and found peace with herself.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! c: It's taken a long time, but I'm finally finishing it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jessica Appy Ever After

14th April 2016:
Excellently written chapter. I was Cheering for Clemence all the way. Waiting for the epilogue!

Author's Response: Thank you! c:

 Report Review

Review #3, by HarrietHopkirk Appy Ever After

28th March 2016:
Lots of things I enjoyed: dream dementor Appy, parka-adorned Pickett, flower crowns, and 'poor top-heavy thing'. Looking forward to the epilogue!

Author's Response: I can totes see these in an aesthetic post, "poor top heavy thing" in hipster font and all.

♥ thank!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Slytherdor18 Appy Ever After

24th March 2016:
Holy crap you just took me on a roller coaster of emotions!

I want to first apologize for not reviewing (that I remember) this story at all, even though I've read it very thouroughly and even more than once... Sometimes I just forget or get too excited and go to the next chapter without thinking "hey maybe she wants some feedback" T_T so yeah, I'm terribly sorry about that!
I found this story when you were about, eh, say in the mid teens chapters? And I've been following ever since! I believe it was in my junior or senior year of HS because I destinctly remember telling a friend about it in class! That's been, what, three and a half years? Dang! So you could say I'm committed lol.
But that doesn't mean you're not an incredibly and awesome author! I really adore your vocabulary, imagery, and tone of this story. I have read a good amount of stories here and there (maybe too many than I would admit), but Etc. is by far one of my favorites.
Not only is your grammar really great (seriously, I've only caught a couple typos - and I am a grammar nazi - considering the context of what I'm reading), but you capture Clemence's relationships throughout very well and I feel like I can really relate to her. I've always thought myself as kind of cynical and more pessimistic in the past years (not anymore though), but I really get her, especially when she asks why she doesn't feel the same feelings others do - or something like that. I completely understand. Also, in the middle of my high school years I would say I was even a little manipulative and not well liked because of my bold personality and telling others what I think, like Clemence. A lot of her experiences are similar to what I have gone through (and was currently, when I was reading this in the past). When she constantly has that empty feeling, when she feels like she needs or can have anyone in her life, the feeling of not being able to express emotions by not crying, etc.
Also, I really love the whole Dom/Rose/Scorp triangle you made and I appreciate how it has unfolded over time. I love a good Sco/Rose but when you can do something different and actually make it work, it's really interesting! I never even thought about putting Dom in the mix. I've never been a big Dom/Sco fan, but this played out well.

And seriously - you broke my heart with the whole Scorpious-loves-Albus thing. Ugh, killed me. I actually cried while reading most of this chapter (although I do have to admit I've cried a good lot throughout it all tbh). So perfect, yet so heart wrenching... It's like I love it but I hate it, but then I love it because I hate it!

This chapter has been really great in unraveling everything that's happened, I applaud you! It has a great ratio of dialogue to monologue. The Appy nightmare was crucial and I basically dropped my jaw when reading because, now that I think of it, everything that happened WAS because of Appy. Like why didn't I see it while reading? I mean, I'm totally for the thought of her and Albus together but it didn't seem right, the way your writing it. I did ask myself over time, "why is she doing all this?" and "if Albus just left her or didn't have any interest, would Clemence even care?" The mood of the whole story was really good in that area because it stuck with me for a while.

Even though I was sad that their relationship ended, it just felt like the right thing yknow? Of course you know. I find it kind of funny how you said you flipped a coin for them. I guess it really was meant to be! Still kind of sad though, I cried during that part too.

Speaking of crying, when Clemence cried into Henry's arms...it gave the story a lot of closure I feel like. Like all her pent up feelings and emotions that she had to go through and endure finally spilled out and she could just let it go. I approve! Crying really does help, even for someone like Clemence!

What else... Oh yeah! The whole thing with the newsroom being set aflame...brilliant. I find it very powerful because it has a lot of symbolism in it where we really do see how far Clemence has come. My only question is how...

The whole relationship with her and Pickett makes me so happy, I mean at least Clemence has one person right? I was scared that they'd just fall out... There's so much to this relationship hat makes it more deep and amazing once really read into. I'm so glad that you reunited them!

I am so excited for the epilogue, I know it'll be great, just like the last twenty four have been! This is definitely a story that I always think back on and will probably give it another go once its status is completed. You've done a great job on this novel, and the others on here, so please don't give up writing! It seems like something you're very passionate about and I really encourage you to keep at it!
The only question I can think of right now is are there going to be any future stories including Clemence? Like a sequel, prequel, or maybe a parallel to it? I mean I don't know what all is included in the epilogue, but maybe a story with one of the supporting characters? Just wondering :)
I will seriously read anything you put up, even if it has nothing to do with Etc.!
Okay, I'll go now, you're probably bored reading all my comments since I've basically written a whole essay about it.
Thanks for giving me an entertaining, emotional, funny, and heartfelt story to read over these past few years!!
- Morgan

Author's Response: Another oldie!! This fic has seriously changed so much over the years, I'm so glad you've stuck with it. It's taken forever and I feel like it kind of had to, with how I grew along with it. I'm just so glad to hear that people read this fic and can relate. I couldn't find enough protagonists who were sure of themselves, who attacked the world first, who were honest with the nasty thoughts they had. And Clemence isn't just these qualities either--she is unsure and vulnerable and scared, even if she won't admit it, and I love the destructive way she reacts to these feelings. I wanted to show these feelings in someone who'd never admit they feel this way.

Bahaha, Rose/Scor/Dom ended up so wild. But of course, what better to gain popularity than to create a shipping war? Fandoms have perfected this. Scorpius and Albus, that's also a bit of a toxic relationship; I love how it's really a touch dark--there's Scorpius with his intense crush and Albus who let it happen because he's not willing to lose Scorpius as a friend. And they both just sit on this ambiguous relationship like they can last like this forever. Sound familiar?

I'm glad you felt something was a little off! I kind of did some foreshadowing but wasn't sure how well it came through, without it all being read at once. I kept throwing out these very paradoxical metaphors. Clemence is in love! But... sarcastically. Clemence is intimate with him! But... the imagery is so cold. I didn't actually flip a coin for them, aha; but I did flip flop between two kinds of endings, and this one always felt more right.

THE CRYING. It really is a catharsis.

I won't write any sequel of length, but I might write a few short things; depending on their length they might only be posted on my blog :) I do know what happens to Clemence and the gang in following years, but there's just no conflict to drive a story, you know? I'll always answer questions regarding the fic ofc.

♥ thank you SO much for this review! I love all your comments :D it's so exciting to know what's going on in my readers' minds!


 Report Review

Review #5, by randomnickname Trust Whom You Love, or Is It the Other Way Around?

20th March 2016:
"and my pulse hammers fast and strange like drums of a revolution calling for a coup."

I forgot about this amazing half-sentence - so dense in meaning, you could write an essay on it. (Where is the revolution going on? In her? Or is the revolution the things and people not behaving as she is used them to behave? And the coup, I still want that coup to come and Henry to rise.)

I was rereading your fic (AGAIN) cause it won't leave my head these days, although I'm supposed to work, and dat sentence simply struck. LUV

Author's Response: THAT LINE another line I saved for ages. It was originally intended for an entirely different scene that didn't make it in. I write weirdly a lot about revolutions without intending to.

That line actually started with her heartbeat. I'm very conscious of when I write of anything related to Clemence's heart, even if it's physical description. When she feels her heartbeat and it does not quiet, I imagine it being overwhelming and it's saved for moments like these, when everything is changing around her and in her.

♥ hee what a crazy reread it must be, the ERAS of this fic. I see so many years of myself looking back and you can sort of see my priorities change every few chapters. thank you again!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by Kai Appy Ever After

19th March 2016:
wowowowowowowowow. wow.

clemence is such a good character ohmygod i love her - and while i hate you for pushing the plot this way, i love you at the same time - but why'd you have to put in feelings i cant deal with this ahh

just - this is so good. so, so good.

Author's Response: ahh thank you! I've been really pleasantly surprised with the 'not what I wanted but rolling with it' kind of response I've been getting, it's better than I could've hoped for! ^__^

 Report Review

Review #7, by skeet500 Certifiably Quirky

17th March 2016:
"Mum says you won't ever amount to anything if you don't finish school? Point to Head Auror Harry Potter." I AM SCREECHING

Author's Response: HOW TRUE THOUGH RIGHT? drop out of school, go camping, save the world

 Report Review

Review #8, by skeet500 A Vivid Imagination

17th March 2016:
Oh Albus Severus, you are making me swoon...is it possible that you take more after your grandfather than your father.hmmm...very interesting...

Author's Response: Ha! I don't think James Potter was quite so devious! Unless you mean Arthur Weasley was an unexpected cad...

 Report Review

Review #9, by skeet500 May I Have This Duel?

17th March 2016:
Al is everything I want to be in this world I think - such fascinating characters! You are thus far successful in your mission to dispel useless tropes and cliches

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope you like the rest!

 Report Review

Review #10, by randomnickname Intermission, Enter Firewhiskey

14th March 2016:
One of the best chapter ever, bearing what I think will be my next t-shirt print:
"Never fear! Convenient love interest is here!"



Author's Response: Show me if you ever do it! :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by randomnickname Appy Ever After

14th March 2016:
Well, I didn't see that coming. It's been such a while since I've checked on this story that I didn't remember some of the statements and situation, so this ending did came as a kind of shock. I was like: " Appy-nightmare?...Isn't that a bit a cheap way of justifying this one urge to having Al?" I just didn't find it so believable at first.

But it gave me the perfect excuse to reread the last 5 chapters in search of clues of Appy being the motive of that crazy V-Day. And...yeah, when you look at details, it totally makes sense. She doubted her "love" for him from the beginning. And Appy was always quite central to her feelings. And I finally got the answer to one of your statement in the comments "So why did Clemence fight for Albus on Valentine's Day?" that buggered me a lot back then.

The more I reread this chapter, the more I enjoy it, and the more love Pickett gets from me for being stuck with someone he likes a lot but can't really help. (I know that feeling from life and stuff)

So, well, this is a rather chaotic review, but as always, thanks for you writing awesome characters and scenes that get to you and won't leave your head for a few days.

Author's Response: It was always weirdly clear to me that Clemence was... never interested in Albus, romantically. I didn't consciously know it, but subconscious me kept them a foot apart. She's charmed, intrigued, touched by certain gestures, and knows deep down that he's right about a lot of things he says. But almost every time she's pushed to care about him and the things he says, it comes from a source of spite or anger. Her feelings are never rooted in trust and choice. Which is why every time she admits her feelings for Albus, they carry an addendum, a "but".

I think the most telling thing is that Albus never really has the ability to hurt her. Not in the same way that Dom and Pickett do. I asked myself, as I reread each chapter, if in any of these moments Clemence would be sad if Albus left her suddenly, and the answer was no. Except for Valentine's Day, because she was humiliated. Because it was Appy. And I think that day fooled a lot of people; it fooled Clemence! Because she does have these two sides to her feelings: she cares, /but/.

And the 'but' wins.

♥ I'm glad you went back to read the old chapters, because I know the time in between them made it hard to catch the details. Thank you so much for reading!


 Report Review

Review #12, by randomnickname V-Day D-Day

14th March 2016:
Hey dear,
just noticed I didn't review this chapter although it's one of my all time favorites and had me choking in laughter throughout numerous re-reads (shame on me!).
I have this habit of imagining how you'd make a movie out of scenes I really like, and this one totally works for that. The Valentine Puddifoot setting, dirty, tired, frumpy and angry Clemence in contrast to the perfectly groomed, radiant Appy, flying pastry in the confetti-bloodbath, this awesome Scorpius-Pickett kiss - it's so vibrant, colorful, alive and hilarious that I can just play this scene in my head over and over, and I'm just so happy with its awesomeness :)

So I love, love, love this chapter. Perfect pace, perfect absurdity, perfect humor. Choose a word to express the kind of exhilharating perfetion that makes you want to clap your hands as hard as can get while hopping up and down.

THANKS

Author's Response: This is one of my favorite chapters too, if not my favorite! It took forever, but I'm so happy with the end result. I think I was only able to write this after the copious action scenes in 'And Capers Ensue' where I stuff a lot of random hilarity adjacent to serious character stuff and plot progression and it all has to work, somehow. Clemence has a sort of single-mindedness throughout this chapter that made it all work better too, I think--get her stupid boyfriend back from Appy, by any means necessary. :D

♥ thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #13, by stardusts Appy Ever After

13th March 2016:
This chapter was so so important and moving to me. I'm not gonna lie, I was semi-crying while reading it. Clemence, throughout this story, has been the character I've related to the most. I think we're the same on quite a few things, sans the people manipulation and stuff.

"What is it that you all feel that never feels real for me?" -> by far the quote that has spoken the most to me throughout this whole story because that's exactly how I feel with regards to quite a few things. And it kind of made me feel better that maybe I'm not the only one that feels that way? (I mean I know Clem isn't real, but surely this means that there must be other people that feel the same way?)

Also, as much as I am kind of disappointed that she didn't end up with Albus, I do think that story-wise and given what she was going through it makes complete sense? Like it was a pretty satisfactory ending to be honest. And the fact that she didn't try to save 'Witchy Business', I think speaks volumes of how she's grown as a person, really.

Honestly, this is one of the best stories I've read in a long time and one of the few to which I've connected to in such a powerful/meaningful way. So I just want to say thank you for writing it (even if I'm a bit sad it's pretty much over). I look forward to see what epilogue holds :)) xx

Author's Response: Ah, this is such a touching review! I wrote Clemence because there wasn't enough characters like her, like me out there. I was frustrated with female characters always getting the emotional roles, who led with heart and moral counter to the male character, as if it's some innate quality; the reverse is hardly explored. I wonder if Clemence's self-perceived heartlessness would be less frustrating if she were male, just because they aren't expected to be emotional and have role models who are stoic and lead their life by their own rules.

Thank you so much for reading and responding :) I'm glad you liked the ending and I hope you'll like the epilogue!


 Report Review

Review #14, by happyanon Appy Ever After

10th March 2016:
And here we are. The last chapter before the epilogue. I gotta say, it's been quite a ride with this fanfic. Sometimes I find myself thinking, if there ever will be another of this kind of writing in here.

Our Clemence can cry after all. Only took her 24 chapters and Pickett. Yup, thats her for you. There's just something so incredibly relaxing to reading her cry. Its like, after everything that she's endured and had to deal with and not a drop of tear in a way it was almost suffocating you and then she cries and i was like breathing well for the first time lol.

So what happens now Clemence? Hmm? Where do we go from the ashes of the burned newsroom? From the emotional outpour? From the breakup?

I hope she finds a good career and i know she says shes never happy but I hope she finds something close to it. I really adored clemence as a character.i really really, did. There's none like her so far and I dare say there wont be one in a long long time. You made her well Gina. Well done to you!!

I look forward to the epilouge but im also kinda sad-ish. I hope you end it worthy of Clemence Fitzgerald.

Much Love!!! Xoxo

Author's Response: Her finally crying is so cathartic! She /was/ literally suffocating from it--panic attacks and all. She had to prove it to herself, in this totally messy way, that she felt and hurt and cared and it /mattered/, no matter how hard she tried to stifle it. She might not care a lot still, but it's a huge difference from pretending she's utterly heartless; and I think she cares immensely in selective ways (re: hurting friends long-term due to her personality).

I'm so glad you've enjoyed reading her, and I think the epilogue coming up will be fitting for her :) It's a breath, finally, after all these chapters.


 Report Review

Review #15, by naughtforreal Appy Ever After

7th March 2016:
(I think I just missed the whole Review-a-thon. T^T)

BUT GINA.

Well, I'd really start off with your CI because Appy. Really. It's pretty pretty *u*

And then I would calmly tell you how I am holding my collected tears rn and dropping them on my burning cauldron of sacrifice because even if I had to go through:

-Sad Scorp (I have to say, this was the saddest part even though Dom and Rose were just ridiculous. Amazing. But ridiculous.)

-Sad ClemClem (She's just a girl!!! Really.)

-Dementor Appy (Have I told you how I love this part? Fulfilled Clappy dreams.)

-Sad, Desperate Albus (I step back. "Come on, Potter. You're just sad now." --> I'm pretty sure that broke every Clembus heart and I felt so sorry for Al. It was a little pathetic but still, he just wanted to be a hero. Hero Complex is genetic. Tsk, tsk.)

-The rejection. (Henry, how dare you?! But I understand. I almost screamed when she slipped that paper under the door, though.)

And yet! CLICKETT LIVES. Thank you for not entirely cracking my heart!!! I really can't think of anything to say except that thank goodness Pickett forgave her--did he? Because I know I would really be hurt but Clemence is Clemence and I know she won't want to hear this but I feel so sorry for her. With all the "not feeling love like the way others do". Still, I'm glad she chose the ending she wanted.

Even though the consequence was the burning newsroom.

Still, letting the newsroom burn was really symbolic--I love it. It's like her walk through fire and coming out alive. For all I know, she could do a Daenerys Targaryen and burn in the newsroom only for others to see her there, after the fire, standing triumphantly on Ol'Bessie.

But still the question: what could possibly be next? Absolution? Revenge? Well, whatever it is, you know I'll be here, brewing.

Author's Response: DIANNE. Is this chapter not exactly what I warned: a lot of sad but not ALL sad? There's a leeetle island of hope, which is, well, Clemence breaking down... but... hopeful breaking down?

SCORP SAYS IT'S NBD. Don't be sad for him, he insists, even though he looks very sad.

From Glitter Appy to Dementor Appy, oh how far we've come. And from golden boy Albus to sad pathetic Albus, oh how far we've fallen.

But of course I had to made you reaaally sad about Pickett first before I untwisted the knife. I think Pickett did that thing where he was mad but not "really" mad but... really mad. Ya know? I love their never-discussed friendship because the two people who don't trust anyone... trust each other unconditionally. She's sorry and he knows (a regular Han Solo there), and neither of them wanted to face it because it means being vulnerable *again*, when both of them have just been burned for it.

A PHOENIX RISING FROM THE FLAMES. this metaphor has not escaped me... but for something else!

WHAT COULD COME NEXT? Sunflowers. :D



 Report Review

Review #16, by heyluchie Appy Ever After

7th March 2016:
Kind of reminds me of this song: bridges by the broods

Author's Response: I like Broods! I think a few of the songs fit the melancholy of etc :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by mcdash Appy Ever After

6th March 2016:
I can't believe this story is almost over. I've been keeping up with it since somewhere around the sixth-ish chapter (then I fell off the HPFF wagon, hopped back on a few years later, and started reading at chapter eighteen), so this feels equal parts sad and happy. So far, I'm loving the ending. Of course I was rooting for Clemence/Al the entire time because, honestly, who wasn't, but with regards to the nature of the relationship, this denouement makes so much sense. They're destructive people, Clemence far more so within this story, and I think their relationship had an expiration date from the beginning.

I loved the scene with Dom and Rose's peace treaty/flower crown offering. Such dramatics are so suited to that pair.

I've loved reading this story, and I can't wait to read the epilogue!

Author's Response: FIVE YEARS LATER WHO WOULD'VE THUNK IT'D COME TO THIS. Not me.

Probably odd but I never rooted for Clemence and Albus much, although I did dally in just about every other possible ship. I always knew they were a fast-burning flame--they can't resist a game of chicken and they'd push each other too far every time, which makes for a very fun month-long affair but... not really relationship material. If Albus had changed over the course of the story as Clemence had in a way that matched her growth, they'd have a chance, but he hasn't felt deep enough losses to push him to do that. Until now, maybe, when it's too late. But Clemence never really loved him in the first place, so it was probably already doomed. Oops.

On a brighter note, the epilogue is quite breezy :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by thegreatcatsby Appy Ever After

6th March 2016:
This chapter- wow. It was brilliant, razor sharp, evocative writing, a total dream to read.
I'm a little pressed for time right now (writing this at lunch hour before a meeting), so I'll just make some quickish notes- I still couldn't not review this.

-Eternal love to the way you write your characters. They're so complicated and dynamic, and full of contradictions. Clemence strikes me as someone who's so self aware and delusional at the same time, knowing she's not in love but trying to convince herself that this is it, and I think everyone's been a bit like that at some point in their lives.

-A+ death of Clembus and subversion of that ice queen cynic trope, by the way. You are chewing up and spitting out fairy tales and the traditional storytelling structure, the way we are supposed to view heroines and love stories, and it's beyond amazing to read.

-Random note: Clemence also reminds me of Halsey's "Badlands" album.

-Dom and Rose! Romance/shipping, girl power/#squadgoals as a tool for power...they're so whip smart in the way publicists for celebrities know how to cultivate their public image and attract fan interest using these techniques and I love them for it.

-Scorpius is a cinnamon roll. A cupcake, one may even say ;)

-The Clemence/Appy dynamic is one of the most interesting character relationships I've ever read. There's something so potent about it. One could argue, I think, that they're the primary relationship in etc.- much of the fic is about their (perceived) differences, similarities, adopting of tropes to set themselves apart from the other, their struggle for power. That war for dominance, that kiss. I kind of get Sherlock/Moriarty now?

-The falling apart of Clemence and her house of cards, her showing her cracks to Pickett: there was something so visceral and intense about it, and I love it. It broke my heart a little.

-oH MY GOD THE NEWSROOM IS BEING TORCHED. I obviously did not see it coming AT ALL, but now I can't imagine any other way of it all ending. And that final twist. And Albus was right in a way, but she's more complicated than he anticipated.

-All in all there was something so visceral about this chapter. Weird comparison, but it reminds me of the dreams in Inception (fave movie forever) and when I tried on a prototype virtual reality headset at first (tech worker best friend for the win). Something was just so real and visceral about this chapter that in real life, I felt more than a little disoriented (In a really, really, good way) by the emotional statis of real life in comparison. Your writing and the way you think that comes across in it makes me kind of wish I could talk to you or something in real life (hopefully that isn't creepy sounding), because of that je ne sais quoi and spirit intellectually that reminds me of friends.

And of course, this review for the HPFF Review-a-Thon. Now, I must meander off to the forums and figure out how enabling posting and stuff works, something I am apparently awful at. As the digital age progresses, thegreatcatsby beats on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.

Side note: my work internet is being weird and keeps refreshing the page (curses upon the rainstorms this week [except not really, because we're in a drought], so sorry if you get a double review or something.

Author's Response: I'm naming this the "visceral" review. I struggle so!! much!! with angst that I'm so happy I could write something as visceral as you describe.

I can never describe Clemence succinctly, because she's full of all these contradictions between how she presents herself, how she thinks she presents herself, what she believes, what she thinks she believes, what she judges others for, what she thinks she judges other for... I have to stop and think sometimes, 'am i showing all of these things in some way?' so the unreliable narration comes through.

#aesthetic marketing

There's a cupcake in every story, and I always smoosh them ;-;

Clemence + Appy is the secret central relationship of the story! But of course it takes a weird dream for Clemence to admit it (possibly took a page out of Sherlock's trippy dreams). I never actually intended this and only started running with it midway through the story--I even questioned myself why Clemence was doing things when she didn't want to; I was only sure that she would. She wasn't doing it for Albus, she wasn't doing it out of the goodness of her heart, so what then?? And it clicked.

And I like that Albus was always right about her, but it doesn't matter. Clemence doesn't trust his opinion in anything anyway; she has to prove it to herself in this ugly breakdown and by losing everything. Him being right doesn't justify their relationship more, either, nor his manipulations. He was right, and that's it.

Not weird at all! ♥ I think people who read this story know me quite well in a way, already. I'm such an outward Bea though--weird juxtaposition, I know! I flip between total peppy fangirl and loud snarker.

♥ thank you so so much for all of this c: one more to go!


 Report Review

Review #19, by hufflepuffbeater1799 Appy Ever After

6th March 2016:
I have really enjoyed the ride so far, and I'm sure the epilogue will be great. While I wish that they ended up together, I can totally see why it had to end up this way, especially the room going up in flames. Thanks for a great story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by GubraithianFire Appy Ever After

5th March 2016:
I keep forgetting that this is the last full chapter (epilogue notwithstanding). You know I can't keep track of, well, anything. But !!! I should have known. I really should have known, mostly because you've been trying to write the last like 2 chapters for the last 2 years at least, so we must be reaching some sort of endpoint. And we're getting there - right? Not that it feels real to me, since it's taken so long to get here lol, but I know it's coming, and after this chapter... dude.

I remember where I was when you showed me the I believe in love as much as I believe in the scarcity of it section. I almost dropped my phone because how? To deal?? I reread it like 10 times, because I know you can write the crap out of a horrid love story, but until I see it before my eyes, it's easy to lose track of the intensity and the specificity of it all, and how you do it. I maintain that it's probably the best thing you've ever written. Your diction is so laser-sharp and precise and perfect it makes me angry sometimes. How do you make so few words do all these things?

That part is matched only by Clemence's breakdown in Pickett's arms, which is not as howlingly precise as are her exchanges with Albus (and Appy, and dream Appy) but hits all the harder for it. Fairy tales aren't forgiving to those who defy their endings. No, no they aren't, especially when you're writing them, or deconstructing them, or burning them to the ground, and letting us wonder just how much of it can be rebuilt before the end. I respect the hell out of what you're doing with this story, with these characters, with these arcs (I'm even a little surprised at how visceral and soul-rattling the breakdown is for Clemence; it's a lot more than I kind of expected, somehow), these ships (... one ship in particular), which shouldn't surprise you at all. But I really truly love how you're doing it.

So... take a breath. You did it. The hard part is over. Now get started on that epilogue, girl.

And please don't leave us (read: mostly me) hanging for too much longer.

I'm writing this review only partly for you, but mostly: For the HPFF Review-A-Thon.

Author's Response: I can't even imagine what it's like to be a reader of this story, after five years and suffering my updates and story whiplash. Also exhausted??

You know I love when you point out the nice stuff because I have zero idea what parts actually resonate. And it's almost always with sentences I never think twice about. I might agonize over the passage around it but the sentences you point out--I can't remember writing them. I can't imagine writing them again (that particular passage--I know I wrote it that one late night but what inspired it??? no idea. plain endurance??). Whatever past!Gina was doing, I'm glad of it.

And I like you mention the part of Pickett being *less* precise, because I was aiming for her breakdown to be a MESS--a culmination of all her repressed thoughts/emotions all trying to push out at the same time. There's no purpose or intent to anything she's saying, except that she wants someone to know about what she's thinking and react to it. Crying is pure catharsis. When she breakdowns, there's only crying, only fears, only this very very vulnerable side to her; she's completely lost her footing from her world and there's no way to regain it, because in truth, she doubts even her own beliefs--they've only ever been backed up by her own confidence, so what happens when that's shattered? Her personality and worldview is not impossible to sustain, but it's such a fragile thing.

Phew. Taking a breath. But a short one.

Sunflowers incoming ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by Amy Trust Whom You Love, or Is It the Other Way Around?

18th January 2016:
I just noticed you had updated and I dove back in to read the entire thing again. It was amazing revisiting this story and it really held up! I think I've changed quite a lot since I first started it, about four years ago, and it's amazing to see where the story's going now. I really wouldn't have expected it but the last scene with Pickett broke my heart more than anything that's happened between her and Albus. He's just always been so dependable. I think I understand Clemence a lot more now and her actions completely make sense to me. I just really hope there's a happy ending for her in this.

Author's Response: Ahh thank you! I'm so glad to hear that. It's crazy to think of people reading this over 4-5 years, especially people GROWING UP with this fic. Even for me, I'm in very different places writing this story when I was younger vs. writing this story now, and writing Clemence has taught me a lot along the way.

I think the last scene is the most heartbreaking it's been too! There's so many twisty games Clemence plays, but this is one of the few genuine vulnerable moments, and I can feel Clemence hurt like when she went behind Dom's back.

I hope you like the next chapter; hopefully I can get it up soon!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Jessica Trust Whom You Love, or Is It the Other Way Around?

23rd December 2015:
Oh. My. Goodness.
You updated!
And, as usual, excellence. Amazing. Does Clemence become Queen of the world after taking down the Potters? I'm hoping for that plot twist next chapter. No matter how it ends, I know I won't be disappointed. This is one hell of a story Gina. Love your writing.

Author's Response: The only thing I can guarantee you is that it won't be pretty.

Thank you! :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by ViolaCesario Trust Whom You Love, or Is It the Other Way Around?

30th November 2015:
Great chapter as always but I have to ask am I going to get a happy ending after years of reading this?

Author's Response: I think the ending will be satisfying! It's not a downer by any means, as much of a downer these other chapters are :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by happyanon Trust Whom You Love, or Is It the Other Way Around?

19th November 2015:
I just got around to reading this now. Busy busy these last few months. Ive said everything ive wanted to say regarding this fanfic. For all it's worth, i find clemence as remarkable. Such a character. So twisted, so cold, so complicated and yet it moments and chapters such as this, so painfully human. I don't know how I feel about this turn of events with so little chapters left. It's going to be too late to hope for a double plot twist. But still, a fan can dream eh? I should be shocked but its not entirely impossible, the chain of events i mean. I'm excited of how everything will go down and eventually wrap up. Clemence, i look forward to your last bow my dear. I freakin love this fanfic. One of the best ive ever read here. As always, much love xoxo

Author's Response: Thank you! I've always found the amount of emotions in this fic a little ironic considering its narrator. It's wonderful to tear Clemence apart 8D there's so much she's been holding in these past 20-something chapters, and it's all the *interesting* bits.

I hope you enjoy the ending to come!


 Report Review

Review #25, by meredith Trust Whom You Love, or Is It the Other Way Around?

15th November 2015:
I've been following this story for a while and I love it, but I'm getting very nervous about the ending. I understand that Clemence & Albus are problematic, but I don't think they're impossible--I LIKE that their foundation is rocky. It's not right, but it's real. It doesn't mean they can't find a way. Clem has always had doubts, but previously it felt like those doubts were part of a movement towards something, an internal conflict that she needed to overcome before she could give her heart away. There was a battle happening between her feelings for Albus and her selfishness, her pride, her steeliness. Now it's like she's apathetic about Al, and I don't see where it's coming from. Two chapters ago she was fighting for him, she almost believed in him, she wanted him desperately. Now it's as if she could take it or leave it. I just don't buy it. And I don't buy her and Pickett, either. I love them as friends, I truly do, and the hinting at something more is (for me, at least) taking away from that friendship.

All that aside: fantastic character development, sharp dialogue, engaging storytelling. That final scene is heartbreaking. (Have some humanity, Clem!) You're talented to be sure--you should consider writing original stuff. I think you could write a wonderful YA novel with some of these characters/themes.

Looking forward to the ending. Dreading the possibility of death to Clotter. Wishing you luck as you finish up.

Author's Response: This is the reaction I expected from this chapter, more or less, aha. It was actually the reaction I was hoping to get last chapter, because Clemence was already quite cold then. I'm on board with unhealthy relationships, as long as they aren't romanticized; that's not something derailing their train.

The question really is--why does she fight for Albus on Valentine's Day?

I think that answer is not so straightforward. And has yet to be fully addressed. Because she does fight desperately for Albus on Valentine's Day. But I would also say that for all the chapters before, she has never cared about losing him. So what changed? Is it because she finally lost him? Or something else?

She's also never stopped being bitter about their situation, at how Albus is jealous and cowardly and never suffers for it, and she does not trust him because of these things. If she is in love with him, is that love greater than her bitterness? Should she forgive him? Should she trust him? All these questions are in play in post-Valentine's behavior. Fighting for him, for whatever the reason, sounds grand and romantic, but when it all calms down, she still has these realities and she's probably as unhappy about them as you are! It's an interesting undercurrent as I wrote--I think Clemence wants to be in love, but never felt "in love" enough for it to be worth the trouble. And Albus has not proven himself worth the trouble yet.

Thank you so much for your comments! I'm glad you're still enjoying the story even with the potential death of Clotter. I do want to try writing a YA novel version of etc, with all that I've learned after writing fic!etc, thanks to so much encouragement everywhere *U* That version will hopefully entwine everything a bit better.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>