Reading Reviews for Southern Cross
  
154 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Elsa Hoggy Hoggy Hogwarts

28th September 2014:
HENRY IS SOUTH AFRICAN YES REPRESENT THANKYOU also you are hilarious, I love this so much :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by emmacweasley Decisions and Departures

21st August 2014:
PLEASE HELP! (that was in all caps, btw, in case it changes when i submit) IT WAS SO CUTE I WANNA DIE (that was also in all caps) i understand that it was 2011 and nobody's blaming you for it because it was so cute i want to die. that's it, lisa. so cute i want to die.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Callippso Home. Apparently where my heart is.

16th July 2014:
Man this is the best thing ever. ... I'm Aussie so only a couple things go over my head. Wish I could find an Aussie Fanfic maybe I should write one haha

 Report Review

Review #4, by PotterBaby__x Gryffies

3rd July 2014:
"It's also full of sheep." I paused. "And immigrants"
Way to sound racist.
"And political incorrectness"
Oh my god, I died hahahahahahahaha. Omg and ghost chips

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by DancingMooncalf Defence Against the Dark Arts

1st July 2014:
This story is brilliant! It's so refreshing to look at the British Wizarding war from the point of view of outsiders. I can imagine the whole thing being documented and taught in other countries but they probably didn't understand any of it because none of them lived it.
I like how New Zealand is pictured as younger and smaller and had a whole different few on the pureblood/mudblood discussion. There is less history and more openmindedness.
I think you do a brilliant job marking the differenes between the countries and their histories.
I like the teachers too, they are a lot less uptight and proffessor-ish. They are teaching teenagers and try to get to their level. I love that.

You are doing a really good job with this story and I saw you were writing a sequel as well. I'm definitly going to read that too! But first let me finish this intriging story.

x Maya

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it! This story was pure self indulgence - I'm a very patriotic person and I just had to write an NZ-centric story. The lack of history and the egalitarianism is VERY true to New Zealand history and culture - by the time humans eventually settled in New Zealand Hogwarts had already been established for 200-400 years, and NZ identity is very much based on egalitarianism.
A lot of those teachers were based almost entirely on some of my teachers at school, so they're definitely pretty chill. I hope you continue to enjoy, and thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by DancingMooncalf Home. Apparently where my heart is.

1st July 2014:
Hey, I think I'm going to love this story, the idea is very original and I adore your style of writing. It's very real and makes me smile allthe time. I'm a huge fan of your 'Fred Weasley mermorial scolarship' story, which made me interested in other work of you.
I haven't read any stories about other wizarding schools yet, so this is going to be very interesting. I love the idea of a different school then Hogwarts. It puts a new light on things and open loads of oppertunities.
I'm very curious for the rest of the story.

x Maya

Author's Response: I'm glad you're checking out my other stuff, even though my style's changed a LOT in the last three years. I hope you enjoy and thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by The_Crookshanks_Saga Decisions and Departures

26th June 2014:
Well, that was rather... abrupt. But to be fair, it matched the brisk pace of this whole story, and made the perfect snappy close.

This story was a perfect mix of old and new, and so extremely refreshing. Like, for once, instead of the exchange student falling in lust with a Potter, Sirius, or Remus- you get the gist-, she maintains her crush on her fellow student- but more importantly, a strong friendship. Georgia stole my heart, with her happy-go-lucky attitude and overall "meh"ness, and Larissa my breath from laughter.

Favorite scene: git. It was exactly how I felt when I picked up Harry Potter for the first time "that's an insult now? Well, okay." The way they took it in stride but still made a joke out of it seemed just so Adelaide.

If you asked me which school I liked better, Southern Cross or Hogwarts, you'd have me stuck between a rock and a hard place. Southern Cross is so well-imagined, with its relaxed teachers and even more relaxed students, the flowering of relationships woven into the infrastructure (and no, I don't only mean romantic). But Hogwarts- regal and majestic and staunch, in every single way. What can I say? You left me with a compelling urge to visit both.

The best part of this story was the flaws. Hogwarts too rigid, Southern Cross too primitive (coming to coursework). Georgia had low self-esteem to match her work ethic, and Adelaide had this chronic problem with blurting things she wasn't supposed to. Henry was a bit oblivious and slow- you get the point. Basically, thank you for reminding me that just because they're wizards, doesn't mean they aren't human.

If there's one thing I didn't like, it was the references to New Zealand that went unexplored until later- it left you scratching your head. As you probably know, most of the people on this site aren't Kiwis, and need immediate explanation or context clues, which you didn't always provide. But overall, I love the way you brought the culture to us in a way that didn't make it feel otherworldly and exotic, but still unique.

Anyways, I'm off to read the sequel. Until next time!

-Meena

Author's Response: Hiya!

You're right, this was a bit of an abrupt ending - from memory, I wrote these last chapters when I was overseas and incredibly homesick, and wanted Adelaide back in New Zealand so I could live vicariously through her, so that goes some way in explaining that.

I really don't understand those stories that have students going on exchange purely to fall in love with existing Hogwarts students (admittedly I did my share of Southern Cross/Hogwarts shipping, but that was never the main objective.) I got incredibly fond of these characters myself, particularly Georgia - she wasn't actually meant to have as big a role as she did, but she just sort of elbowed her way into the story.

I feel you there, I really do. I love Southern Cross the way I imagined it, and it is very Kiwi and I'm very patriotic, but at the same time I'm a sucker for grandeur and Hogwarts is a castle with a thousand years of history behind it.

I didn't notice the references to NZ that went unexplained, so I'm sorry about those! I must have been in a little Kiwi bubble the entire time I was writing - and when I was publishing it on the archives the vast majority of my reviewers were Kiwis telling me "Ooh, I loved this reference!" rather than other readers going "Wait a minute, what's that?" If I ever come to rewrite this story, I'll definitely bear that in mind!

I hope you enjoy the sequel and thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Randi Decisions and Departures

18th January 2013:
O my GAWD! this is the stuff/way i wish i could write. Hilarious awesomness.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by LoopyLemon Decisions and Departures

25th September 2012:
Hehe I just read this all again :)
I love this story so much (I might also be procrastinating studying for that test and writing that essay). This story is so well written, from start to finish. I love the kiwi references you managed to write in there without it ever seeming over done. Oooh! I just had an idea! You should write a story where Hermione's parents end up moving to New Zealand instead of Australia!
Anywho, aside from my random thoughts, I just love the magical world you created in New Zealand. There should be more stories that are based outside of England. I also adore that Addie and Henry end up together.
Thank you for writing such an awesome story. It makes procrastinating all the more fun. At some point I think I will go back and comment on all the chapters. There is something satisying in seeing "already one of your favourite stories" and "you have already reviewed this chapter" at the end of every chapter :D
Please keep writing, I know RL gets busy, but you are so good at it!! You should write a story based in ancient greece...

Author's Response: I'm glad I could help you with your procrastination...I'm procrastinating my Greek translation by replying to your review. If you want more procrastination my new story Figurehead could use some love...:P However, I digress.
It was a lot of fun writing this story and slipping all the kiwi references in, especially going into detail about lesser-known things like the wildlife and figuring out the tribe of Adelaide's grandmother and stuff. I fully agree there should be more Kiwi stories, but that would require more Kiwi authors and there really aren't a lot of us around.
I am definitely still writing, and have spent the entire day working on Figurehead (another shameless plug for you to check it out) even though I, like you, have an essay to write and a test to study for. Priorities!
Thanks for the review, it's awesome that you've come back to reread it! Makes me all warm and fuzzy inside :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheGoldenKneazle Home. Apparently where my heart is.

8th September 2012:
This was such a great first chapter! I've never actually read a magic school story not set in Hogwarts, and being British, I'm pretty unfamiliar with Kiwi culture. However, you made it pretty easy to understand what went on, and I already find Adelaide really easy to relate to - can't wait to find out what happens when Hogwarts visit! :)

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it, and I hope you're more familiar with Kiwi culture by the end of it :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by TamsynLovegood Decisions and Departures

16th May 2012:
LOVED SO MUCH! Going to stalk your author page now :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Hope you find more you like :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by TamsynLovegood The Hogwarts Kids

16th May 2012:
Aww, making got kiwi with the 'your mum'!!! That is such a win, please tell me there is going to be some yeah, nah's coming up!!

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you appreciated that!

 Report Review

Review #13, by TamsynLovegood Home. Apparently where my heart is.

15th May 2012:
Love! It's so kiwi, just brilliant!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed the kiwiness!

 Report Review

Review #14, by vintage90vinyl First Dates

13th May 2012:
I love the Rugby part of this! :] but then I am a bit of an obsessive when it comes to the the game, comes with having brothers I think :]
Anyway, I love Addie and Henry's relationship, wish he was my boyfriend!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! I'm not much of a rugby person usually, but I got super into it during the world cup (hence this chapter) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by M Decisions and Departures

22nd April 2012:
I liked it but I want more!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed what was there!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Me~ Homesick

10th April 2012:
Woohoo! I actually knew something! Me and my sister laughed for weeks over that ad because the accents were just so amusing. That and the beached whale video.

I can actually recite that whole ad.

Anyways, this story is absolutely brilliant, and so original, and I loved how well you've made the New Zealand Wizarding World, it's so cool and detailed! I actually like it better than Hogwarts.

Really, REALLY, cool story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Hope's Mom Classes

23rd February 2012:
Okay I feel like an idiot. I have been reading this sporadically and just picked it up to catch up. Professor Rutherford and Emilia are from Train Wreck - I know you already knew that but I just figured it out. I was puzzled about why the names were so familiar and then I checked to see what else you had written and voila! I really liked all the NZ wildlife references. I am glad that the story is at Hogwarts now. I felt liked it slowed down a litle too much when it was in NZ. Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Yes, they're both from Train Wreck - well done on picking that up! Glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by ginny_malfoy22 Homesick

10th February 2012:
I am way too lazy to log in.
Anyway, I LOVE that you included that bit from that freaking BRILLIANT ad. My brother and I always quote it, it is brilliant. Also, I know more of Pokarekare Ana than Adelaide does, HA!

Author's Response: It's probably not difficult to know more of Pokarekare Ana than Adelaide, to be fair. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Jesabelle Decisions and Departures

24th January 2012:
: )

I have just stumbled across your story and and a born and bred New Zealander I have to say it made me smile.

Most the time when I read work surrounding a Kiwi character I cant get past the first chapter but as you can tell that isnt the case with your story.

Your character is the first realistic betrayal of a kiwi girl I have read, you didnt go over board on the new zealand manerisms which was really brillent and made her believeable.

your New Zealand reminds me of home. it feels right the way you spoke of NZ.

PS love that you made our version of diagon ally in russle, bonus points for calling it Kororareka!

I must admit though i was hoping to see more detal about her in hogwarts. her interacting more with the kids there and everyday life, it felt like your story was over to soon : (
hey thats a god thing though, means I want more! (Please!)

Also must say that i found it cool you pictured the magic school in the north island, and northland more specifically, im from there myself and now after reading your story can completly picture it. As a kid i imagined NZ magic school would be in the south island. All that land and not as many muggles to stumble across it haha.

Any way im going to stop blabbering now.

Kapai!

Author's Response: Whoo, thank you!

You've read work with a Kiwi character? On HPFF? I've never seen any here in my life, but maybe I just don't look hard enough :P

I wasn't actually trying at all with the NZ mannerisms. I just wrote what came to me, it didn't occur to me whether I should include more or less "New Zealandisms" or not :P

I'm glad it reminds you of home. It reminds me of home as well, especially when I'm overseas :P Bonus points to you for knowing the name Kororareka! Seriously, how obscure can you get? :P

I kind of skipped over the Hogwarts, I know. I have so many stories set at Hogwarts and I wanted to do something different with this one, so the focus was on NZ. And the mass amounts of Henry/Adelaide shipping that came towards the end.

The South Island's a good idea, but I chose Northland for the history - the school was founded in the early days of European settlement and most Europeans were in Northland at that time, so it was me being a history geek :P

Thanks for the review! Oh, by the way, there is a sequel up - Southern Diaspora - if you want to check it out :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Olympia1863 Decisions and Departures

21st January 2012:
So, I realized I read this whole thing a while back and never bothered to review (because I am a jerk). But I liked this a lot. It's simple, and relatable, which is just awesome after the usual stream of complex plots and exaggerated characters. I just loved Adelaide - she's *real*. And your class at Southern Cross was colorful and lovely as well, I particularly liked Ella. The Kiwi references were magnificent. I admit, I was confused pretty often (I'm American), but I really think they made this story. Ah, I wish I had left individual reviews for each chapter as it came up, because there was so much I liked in each, but I guess this will have to do. I liked this tons, and I hope you do end up doing a sequel - Adelaide's too funny and fun to read for you not to do it! - Elle :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review - and for reading! I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #21, by stormydreams Decisions and Departures

18th January 2012:
OMG its over!! *wipes tearS* that was brilliant and I'm definitely looking out for the sequel!! I'll miss Adelaide!!!
PS: Bloody Legend ;)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Crescent Moon  Decisions and Departures

15th January 2012:
Aww!! I loved this ending!! XD
It's so good reading something about the Kiwis rather than the English. Also I really like how you did the exchange, you made it seem like it could actually happen rather than the whole class just suddenly moving to another country totally unexpected without needing anything.
Are you from New Zealand? It kinda seems like a stupid question saying it seeing as you know so much about it, but there is the possiblity that you aren't so I wanted to ask.
You've made me really want to go there again. I went when I was 4 and can barely remember it- just that I loved it. Reading this makes me want to nag my parents to take me again... probably wont happen anytime soon though :)
I really loved the ending, it was so sweet with Henry. I'm also glad that she didn't fall in love with someone from England, because that is just getting so boring being used again and again and again.
What I'm trying to say is that I'm really looking forward to the sequel. Please post it as soon as you can :D

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it! :)
I sure am from New Zealand :P I don't think I could have pulled this off if I wasn't :)
You should definitely come to NZ again. And visit me or something. :D
Ugh, yeah. I really didn't want a repeat of the exchange-student-goes-to-Hogwarts-and-falls-in-love-with-hmm-let's-make-it-a-Potter-boy scenario. In the beginning I wasn't actually shipping Adelaide with anyone, but Henry sort of appeared out of nowhere :P Thanks for the review, and for reading! Sequel should be out in about a week :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by mrs_remus_john_lupin First Dates

14th January 2012:
I LOVED THIS CHAPTER!!!


yay :)

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by luna_lovely Decisions and Departures

11th January 2012:
My parents immigrated to australia before i was born, but i have duel citizenship so NZ is kind of like home to me. i really enjoyed this fic, at first i thought it would be cheesy, but no, it was just pure awesome. And, i would like to note that i deffinitely enjoyed all the rugby references!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Minnie MacG Decisions and Departures

11th January 2012:
Quite a breath of fresh air, though HP relevance is scarce. could have been any other schools, really, minus magic that is. To flatter your NZ patriotism further, I daresay the Downunder education, disregarding the non-exiting (as some may think) topics and subjects, seems to work better than that of the Extreme West (lets put it politically correct here ))) as the overall structure and language of your story is good and presented with great care and respect for the English language - thank you for that. Be proud of your country, however small or unimportant some snobs may consider it. Best of luck, MMG

Author's Response: Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>