Reading Reviews for Blurring the Lines
  
34 Reviews Found

Review #1, by katiemkh Resistance

3rd February 2012:
I hope you can update soon! :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by luna_lovely Resistance

13th January 2012:
as usual you have created an exiting and intriguing turn of events, i can't wait for the update! i cant help but note that i was a little upset at the fact things didn't work out between Athena and Fred.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm working on the update now, and I'm sorry about the lack of Fred/Athena shipping :P

 Report Review

Review #3, by katiemkh Resistance

30th December 2011:
Keep up the great work! Totally enthralled and can't wait for more updates.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Glad you're enjoying it :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Shan Resistance

24th December 2011:
Loved this chapter! The way you showed Bins in 100% believeable even with his 'rebel' moment there :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it :) Binns is a new character for me, so I'm glad he seemed true to canon. Thanks for the review and merry Christmas! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Magic is Might

2nd December 2011:
Were Snape and Athena allies before? I get that she would think Snape is a traitor because he killed Dumbledore and Athena was in the Order and so was he. Or am I wrong? I'm not sure if I'm connecting the pieces together correctly.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Loony_Scorpy Into the Clouds

2nd December 2011:
Wow, that was intense! I was surprised that Athena wasn't with Fred anymore but when you explained it, it made perfect sense :) when the girls made the hottest guy list in the prequel, I thought I remembered something about Cassian being arrogant? Or was that someone else? Anywayyy, I can't wait for more :D

Author's Response: Wow, good spotting! Yes, Cassian does have a reputation for being arrogant, but it's certainly not the be all and end all of his character. And besides, Athena definitely has some arrogance about her as well :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Annie Magic is Might

2nd December 2011:
I sincerely adore your story, even if it's the first time I stumble upon it.
All the characters, especially Athena, are exceptionally well-built, and the storyline is very realistic.
I also happen to have a soft spot for your version of Snape - he's so cool!!! *squeaky schoolgirl moment ended*. I'd love to see him & Athena interract more, maybe as secret allies or something.

Keep up the lovely work! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #8, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Mercy

1st December 2011:
I'm really interested to know the backstory to Athena/Snape. I didn't read the first story because you said it wasn't entirely necessary. I really want to know about her relationship with Fred (or was it George?). Anyway, it was rather interesting to see such a speech from Snape. I wouldn't take him to go out of his way to say something like that but then again I don't know what their relationship was like before hand.

Author's Response: There is a bit of backstory with that, but it comes up later in this story, not in the other one. There should be a bit more background information about her relationship with Fred, but I've covered a bit in earlier chapters and it's not really too important to the plot. I think that speech from Snape fits in with what we know about him - he promised Dumbledore he would keep the students safe, but at the same time he doesn't exactly go out of his way to protect them.

 Report Review

Review #9, by katiemkh Mercy

1st December 2011:
Really excited to see you updated! :) Still loving this story; can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope to update sometime soon, glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Beginnings and Endings

30th November 2011:
Ah! My heart almost stopped. I thought her sister was dead and I was about to blow up! Thankfully you didn't do that to us so early in the story. I was just getting used to having her around and Athena being remotely happy.

So, update, whenever you can. I know you have a lot of other stories you're writing as well (the founders one, the other one with the exchange students). I read three of your WIPs, I'm not sure if you have anymore but I can't wait till you update any of them! :D Hope your exams went well! I'm getting ready for mine so I probably be won't reviewing right away, sorry!

Author's Response: Oh dear, what could possibly make you jump to that conclusion? Killing off main characters' younger siblings? That doesn't sound like me at all!

I almost get the feeling you're watching over your shoulder, waiting for me to kill off the characters you like :P But it's not revealing too much to assure you that neither of those characters are actually going to die :P There will be deaths, of course, but not those ones, and not this early in the story :P

I will try and update when I can. I should have another chapter of this ready to go now (ish) but the others might be a wee bit longer in coming. (I do have a few more WIPs, actually, feel free to check out my author page :P) My exams went really well, hope yours go just as well :) Thanks for the reviews!


 Report Review

Review #11, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Wedding

30th November 2011:
Oh boy! You know I saw that coming, him proposing to her I mean. You made it obvious in the other chapter that he was thinking about it so I knew it would be soon and I'm glad you didn't do it at the wedding but after because it doesn't seem Athena really knows everyone (in case Fleur) so that would have just been awkward with her ex there as well. I think it fit that they were looking at 'history' and then he asked her because it seems very Cassian. I adore him, he's probably my favorite in this entire story. I hope nothing bad happens to him. I'll be devastated if you kill him like you killed Ron and Hugo in your other story. Let's not do that here, okay? :D

Author's Response: It wasn't really meant to be a surprise :P Their relationship (and engagement) is important to the story, but it's not the main focus - I didn't see the need to make it a big shock or anything. I'm glad you like Cassian! I rather like him too, he's a very neat character. I can't guarantee that nothing bad happens to him, but I'll let you know now that he doesn't die :P I have that boy's entire life planned out, it's not ending in this story :P

 Report Review

Review #12, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Into the Clouds

30th November 2011:
This was really intense compared to the other chapters. I really liked it! I'm still not over Mad-Eye's death, reading it in fanfiction still hurts. Poor Mad Eye! Poor Hedwig!

 Report Review

Review #13, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Light in the Dark

30th November 2011:
I really enjoy Cassian. He's very funny! He and Athena compliment each other so well. I really enjoyed this chapter it was funny but I can see the dark elements starting to creep in now. I wonder how Athena will impact the Harry mission and the other missions to come.

 Report Review

Review #14, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Luck

30th November 2011:
Excellent, excellent, excellent. I love Athena's snarky attitude. She is very quick witted and really just throws herself into situations. I can already see that. She doesn't seem to think too much and that might be her downfall.

It'll be interesting to see if he can actually brew the potion because it's very hard to brew it, isn't it? He seems kind of cocky thinking that he can.

I like that your chapters aren't long by the way, it's sort of like reading a James Patterson book, you get so much done/said in less than 2,500 words that it makes the story seem much quicker, like BAM, action. I really like that because I'm usually put off by action filled fics because they explain everything.

Author's Response: Oh, you're back! Good to see you again! :)

Athena is quite a complex character. I've been writing her for a long time now, eighteen months at least, and every new chapter I write she reveals more about herself. I think it's interesting you think she doesn't think too much; in all honesty she tends to overanalyse things a lot. But in saying that, she's also very confident, borderline arrogant, in her own decisions and never sees any reason to second-guess herself.

Cassian is a very competent wizard. He's a very studious and intelligent person, so precise magic like potion making comes quite naturally to him. Though he is very confident in his abilities, so there's a definite similarity between him and Athena there.

I remember you commenting on the shorter chapters on Legend of a Thousand Winters, so I'm glad that style works for you. I don't tend to write any chapters longer than 2500 words - most of the time they're around 1500.


 Report Review

Review #15, by maskedmuggle Beginnings and Endings

19th November 2011:
Great chapter! You're definitely keeping up the continuity of it really well! I thought it was so sweet when they told their families of their engagement & i really liked Cassian's witty comebacks to Athena's mum's questions xD Then I loved the really stark contrast to all that happiness to finding out Artemis was missing - it really put back into perspective that they were in the war times. I'm glad Artemis was at the Lovegoods! And I'm looking forward to how you're going to tackle Athena's situation!

You probably won't read this review until later? but the best of luck for your exams! Feel free to prod me when the next chapter is up, otherwise, I hope I remember to check back later :) Lovely chapter ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That bit was quite fun - I love Cassian and Lucinda as characters so their interaction was quite enjoyable to write.

Ah, yes, Athena's situation. And the plot finally makes an appearance! Things will definitely be getting more intense from here on in, and I look forward to writing it :P

I should be studying, but I always seem to find the time to sneak back on here and have a look at my reviews! Thank you, I'll be sure to let you know when there's an update!


 Report Review

Review #16, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Order

18th November 2011:
It's official. I'm obsessed with your stories. I hope it's okay that I keep leaving you so many reviews. I'm sure your getting annoyed with seeing my name pop up when you click unanswered reviews but I'm convinced that I need to review a majority of the chapters I start to read now only because who doesn't like reviews?

I really don't know where this story is going but the summary intrigued me and so did this first chapter. I never read the other story you mentioned above and maybe I will, maybe i won't. I'll have to see but this character you have created, I already like her. She's spunky.

Spunky? Yeah, I like that.

Anyway. The names you have given your OCs make me laugh actually but that's not what I was going to say. My favorite line out of the whole chapter was the last line. You really have an ability to put humor into any of the angst/dark situations you write about which I love because I write humor (and romance) and if I don't have one line I can laugh at, I find it hard to continue some stories.

Author's Response: Thank you! And of course I'm not getting annoyed with seeing your name pop up on all my stories, I'm flattered and thrilled that you like my work so much, and I love reviews!

I admit, Red Hair and a Beater's Bat is not my finest work, simply because it was the first story I wrote on the archive, and this is meant to be a standalone story. If you feel you need more background information on the character, swing by my MTA with any questions you want answered. I have a lot of Athena's backstory that will never make it into the story itself.

I do try to incorporate humour when I can, and it works especially well when Athena (and her family) have quite a dark sense of humour. But I'm glad my writing style appeals to you! Thanks for the review, and I hope you keep reading!


 Report Review

Review #17, by katiemkh Beginnings and Endings

9th November 2011:
I stumbled across this story just browsing through HPFF and I'm so glad I started reading it. You are a great writer, and this is such an enthralling story. I really can't tell you how refreshing and intriguing I found it; this storyline is so unique and well-written. I really appreciate that you managed to create a new character but completely stick to canon at the same time in a completely believable way. Seriously, I just loved reading this story and I'm so impressed with your writing. I'm going to keep checking at the end of the month to see when you update! Good luck on your exams :) Now I'm off to check out your other stories..

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so thrilled that you found it and you've enjoyed it so much :) I will be sure to update at the end of the month once exams are over, and I hope to see you back for the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #18, by maskedmuggle The Wedding

8th November 2011:
Awww! That was so adorable! Really sweet moment! I thought it would've been even more romantic for Cassian to propose at the wedding itself, but regardless, it was a lovely moment! I had a feeling he was going to propose soon, especially when you mentioned Cassian talking to Athena's father.

Another great chapter! I think Athena is a great character, and you write her very well! I liked all the dialogue too - you actually make it really interesting. And I liked the bits with Fred and Tonks. And Ginny. xD

I'll admit it, part of the reason why I read your story was because of your status the other day about abandoning this. I just wanted to say, reviews shouldn't be the thing you use to judge how your story is. You should use yourself :) This is a really awesome story so far, and I would hate for you to stop writing it because of a lack of reviewers. SO HERE I AM. Keep writing and developing this story! I really like it so far and I'd be happy to keep on reading! And you should feel more than welcome to poke me in the future if you post future chapters! :)

- charlotte :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! As I said before, romance isn't really my strong point, so I'm really glad I pulled off that scene.

Thank you! Though I have been criticised in the past for relying too much on dialogue in my stories, so I have to keep an eye on that :P

Thank you so much for taking the time to review this story, it really was perfect timing and I'm sorry I didn't get onto the responses sooner. But once again, thank you. :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by maskedmuggle Into the Clouds

8th November 2011:
Oh this chapter really got intense! It was interesting to read about this moment from another point of view. I thought you did a good job keeping it canon. I liked the bit of history where you talked about Athena and Fred and how she met Cassian. I also really liked the discussion between the parents at the end because it kept the story realistic and emphasized the dangers.

I wonder what's going to happen next..! :D

Author's Response: It did, didn't it? Thank you for that comment - I try to keep things as canon as possible where I can. I needed to have that bit of history, mainly to explain to readers of RHAABB why she wasn't with Fred anymore, but also to give some background into Athena and Cassian as well. (I have her entire sixth year written out, but it's just filler so I'm not posting it :P)


 Report Review

Review #20, by maskedmuggle Light in the Dark

8th November 2011:
Hahaha awww! Quite amusing this chapter, with the dialogue between Cassian & Athena and Athena & Artemis! I really liked the humour you had and just the whole chapter, again, was really wonderful! Honestly, I just really enjoyed this chapter, the writing is fabulous and very engaging and I really look forward to seeing where this story is going to go! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you enjoyed this chapter!

 Report Review

Review #21, by maskedmuggle Luck

8th November 2011:
Another awesome chapter! I really am enjoying reading this! As soon as I start I'm instantly engaged until the end of the chapter. I'm a big romance fan so I really like the relationship of Athena and Cassian - he sounds pretty nice, but I like how he has a few flaws as well - like being so worried over his NEWT he won't leave his room unless it's results, Athena or food (that was such a sweet line).

It'll be interesting to see them make Felix Felicis! I liked how they went to the apothecary and met another Weasley! I wonder who exactly Nathaniel is.. i hope I find out soon! You've made me super curious about what Cassian wants to talk to Nathaniel about!! I hope it's in the other chapters! xD Basically, I definitely enjoyed this chapter and as you might realise, I am reading on~

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm pleased you like that relationship - I'm always worried about how relationships translate from my head into my writing, so I'm glad it's working.

Nathaniel was in Red Hair and a Beater's Bat. He's a cousin of the canon Weasleys, and I quite like him as a character so I kept him around :P Glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #22, by maskedmuggle The Order

8th November 2011:
I loved this! Great first chapter! I think your writing is really amazing - you are a talented writer and I can't wait to keep on reading! I haven't read Red Hair and a Beater's Bat, but it sounds like an interesting story that I hope I'll have time to check out soon. I like Athena already, and her sister Artemis as well. I thought it was fantastic how you managed to get out quite a bit of background information whilst still making this a really interesting chapter.

I really liked how the second half of the chapter related to something we know happened in the books, but was an event we didn't actually read about - so it was good to see it written. I liked Dung's interjections and how you kept it all really canon.

Lovely first chapter! -shall keep on reading now- :)

Author's Response: Sorry for how long it's taken me to respond to these reviews!
Thank you so much! Red Hair and a Beater's Bat isn't really required reading - it was my first story on the site and more just me playing around with Athena's character. I'm glad you found there to be a lot of background information - I've had people in the past saying I haven't done that very well, and it's an easy trap to fall into when you've been working with a character for a long time :P
I do try to keep it canon, but of course there will be diversions simply because I'm using an OC, let alone one so heavily involved in the Order. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by nitenel Light in the Dark

17th July 2011:
I read this and its prequel in one day! And now you need to update! Please!

9/10

Author's Response: Good effort! And I'm stoked that you liked them enough to power through them in one day :P I've got a whole bunch of WIPs on the go, but the muse has been working overtime on this one since DH2 came out, so there should be some more chapters coming soon :) Once again, thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #24, by shapeshifter98 Luck

2nd July 2011:
no fred? aww now im sad:[ otherwise 9/10

Author's Response: I've been getting that reaction from a lot of readers :P There will be an explanation behind it, but I hope that doesn't detract too much from the story. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Stalking Shadows Light in the Dark

24th June 2011:
Love love love! I can't wait for the next update, keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll get the next chapter up as soon as I can :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>