Reading Reviews for Help Wanted
  
99 Reviews Found

Review #1, by shadowcat2 Tick, Tock, Frankie's on the Clock

27th July 2013:
I know that you haven't updated for a long long time. But I absolutely love this story. I love all the characters. I love how David is all confused about his feelings. I love Frankie for being Frankie. For some reason your story reminded me a hpff fanfic called "Match". It was one of my favourite stories. Your story made me laugh out loud so many times. Thank you for that. I hope you update one day. Even if it takes a long time, I know the wait will be worth it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp Tick, Tock, Frankie's on the Clock

8th August 2012:
Haha awesome chapter! I am really enjoying this story. I can't wait to read the next! keep writing!

cheers!
AD

 Report Review

Review #3, by a_pevensie Tick, Tock, Frankie's on the Clock

16th July 2012:
Ooh, love this story! Interesting, having it centered around two OCs, but it's funny and cute and fun to read, and I love Frankie :) I have to say, though, she's going to have a rough time explaining this to everyone in the office when it all comes out (as, inevitably, it will!). Love getting to see her getting things done, and getting some appreciation from Harry in this chapter - she's awesome, and deserves it :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by charlottetrips Tick, Tock, Frankie's on the Clock

15th July 2012:
AH! You updated!! Yay!

I read this when it first came out but I love it and I love that we're back to Frankie/David land. I can totally follow all the new characters and I'm liking the inside skinny we're getting on the goings on behind Auror doors.

And I love the not-fight that Frankie and David had! It's such a bf/gf or bf/bf (I guess) thing to have! And it went to naturally.

I love Connor dinners! I love that you're back!! *huggles*

 Report Review

Review #5, by nabbed_wren Tick, Tock, Frankie's on the Clock

23rd June 2012:
So I've had this on my favorites list for a while, but somehow forgot how awesome it is and skipped reading any chapters since the third one. I just caught up with the rest and I have to say, I'm sorry to have been missing it.

You've been able to keep just the right amount of tension in the story- enough that you know that everything is going to blow up at some point, but not so much that it eclipses everything else that happens. That's a hard balance to strike, and in my opinion you are doing it fantastically.

I hope you update again soon! I'm happy to have rediscovered this and I'm looking forward to more.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Hope's Mom Tick, Tock, Frankie's on the Clock

22nd June 2012:
I have just found your story - what a terrific idea! I look forward to reading about how and when Frankie is able to tell Harry about herself. The first dinner with David's family was hilarious - Does Jocelyn know? It seems like she might have an idea. His mother seems clueless and his father's comment about being gay once was unexpected and funny. Great chapter - thank you for sharing your story!

 Report Review

Review #7, by bester_jester Tick, Tock, Frankie's on the Clock

22nd June 2012:
Wow, great story!

I can really feel David struggling with his feelings for Frankie. He's obviously mega confused.. It's awesome hehe

Interested to see how Harry reacts to Frankie's eventual security check!

Can't wait to read more :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Marzipan How to Succeed in Lying Without Trying

18th June 2012:
David made a mental note that his fake-boyfriend had latent vindictive tendencies.

David made a mental note that his fake-boyfriend had latent vindictive tendencies.

his fake-boyfriend

HIS FAKE-BOYFRIEND

...

that's all
xoxox

 Report Review

Review #9, by Marzipan The Adventures of David the Eavesdropper

18th June 2012:
ANNIE ANNIE ANNIE ANNIE

I seem to remember you locking lips with some strapping, red-headed man? Said he was there visiting his brother?

IS THIS A REFERENCE TO HESTIA-VERSE CHARLIE?! ARE YOU CROSSING FICS ON ME? ASHDFSBFSH

OMG, David so hearts Frankie here. He is thinking about their kiss and how soft her lips were and he still doesn't even know she is a she but now he wants to get her a job so they will work together everyday and be luvahs 4 lyfe. I am dying. I CAN NOT SPEAK ANYMORE. OR READ OR WRITE.

 Report Review

Review #10, by George Whitman Clandestine Food Shopping Can Cause Problems

29th May 2012:
Oh my darling buttercup this is absolutely absurd! I knew all those Korean dramas would go to your head! Well I do like the easy humor anyway. Laughing at the previous reviewer (Reader) firstly for being named Reader and secondly for reminding me that I once thought your name was Trixy. Well done.

 Report Review

Review #11, by ericajen How to Succeed in Lying Without Trying

10th April 2012:
wow i totally just did this thing where like i finished reading this like ten minutes ago and totally thought i already left a review and just now realized that i didn't. WHOOPS.

fab-o chapter as per usual, darling. i mean. frankie is harry potter's secretary lololol. OH OH OH AND ALSO DAVID HAS FEELS FOR FRANKIE DAVID HAS FEELS FOR FRANKIE DAVID HAS FEELS FOR FRANKIE YES HE DOES INDEED. and frankie has feels for david. so many feels being passed around. i love it.

ILY DEAR! POST MOAR SOON.

 Report Review

Review #12, by ericajen The Adventures of David the Eavesdropper

10th April 2012:
OH DAVID. YOU OBLIVIOUS MAN, YOU.

I love me some David. I like his friend also! Let's see more Ewan in the future. Also I'm excited to get to some secretary!Frankie bits. Because like, I'm hoping people will begin to get suspicious. Like, wow that is one girly looking guy. Hey! Maybe it's a girl!

Eee! I lurvee David/Frankie interactions. They're so precious together. Even if one of them doesn't know the actual gender of the other one. STILL PRECIOUS.

 Report Review

Review #13, by justonemorefic How to Succeed in Lying Without Trying

27th February 2012:
Oh yes, fate is pushing the ghey on you again.
“The front goes in the front, and the back goes to the back.” hee
"You look like you’re a refugee from East Berlin or something.” omg I am imagining Tim Gunn saying this.

Girls do look hot in menswear. The voice in your head has taste, David :3

Red was the color of confidence, after all. It was a power color. And no, knowing something like that did not make him gay. LOL oh David, how did you know exactly what I was thinking? If you were thinking it... well then. I rest my case.

lolol I can just imagine a shop assistant coming up to them all cheerily as they're scuffling and she's like "Can I help you -- er... I'll just -- yeah."

“You idiot,” David scolded himself quietly. “What are you smiling for?” :333

Haaa sister banter. YOU KNOW I JUST REALIZED THERE'S HARDLY ANY SISTER BANTER IN HP FIC. Not enough sisters around. Dom and Vic always hate each other or something. lolol kind of hitting on your sister, awks. You saw the line Lettie and you did not care as you crossed it. Sounds like something I'd do.

Hee, Harry. You are a confident man now. I LOVE SEEING HIM LIKE THIS. You write the best post-Hogwarts Harrys anywhere.

No Frankie, stranger things haven't happened.

Hee you are totally a cool mom, Frankie's mom. Yeah yeah, thinks you're a man, got you a job under Harry Potter, cool. Want some cake?

♥ I LOVE IT. MOARRR.

Author's Response: LOL. David channels Tim Gunn. I dig it.

Girls look so good in menswearrr. Anyone looks good in a nicely tailored button up tbh, so David is not far off.

HAHA I SHOULD HAVE PUT THAT IN. BECAUSE THAT IS SO WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED. Poor shop assistant haha.

SISTER BANTER IS BOMBBB. And Lettie doesn't understand those kinds of lines haha. I really think her goal is to completely drive Clemence mad.

AGAIN I SAY, BOSS!HARRY IS AWESOME AND I LOVE HIM SO MUCH.

Basically, Frankie's mom is Lorelai Gilmore. With cake!

CAKE FOR YOU GINA HE!


 Report Review

Review #14, by justonemorefic The Adventures of David the Eavesdropper

26th February 2012:
lol park. suuure a "park". ...oh it is a park. Carry on.

First, that banter about Frankie's mom still makes me giggle. But for some reason, omg it is like extra cute because I'm imagining hot hot David laughing and it is hot and very hot. And I realize all you said was "David laughed" but my mind is filling in very delicious details.

lol wizard money. You are so impractical. I can just imagine Frankie with the meme, 'Why can't I. Hold all these galleons?' I would love to have a look that could say lit table on FIRE

Oh David. The world is demanding that you become gay. This is clearly your life's fate. Do not fight it.

Heee it's Ewan McGregor, I mean McCrouther. LOLOL I have only just realized the brilliance of that 'brute force' exchange. Oh David, what is it with you and the women in your life. They all cray cray. No wonder fate wants you to be gay; it's good for your health.

You know the rules around here: you break it, you buy it. Heee. Auror rules. Love the snippet on Harry and Ron. This is the post-Hogwarts Harry I see.

Magikfurer snicker. CAN'T HELP BUT SNICKER. I SEE A MAGIKARP.

Ohh Ewan again. Seriously, I just love him. Like, the buddy is always the best. The fact that he's also kissed a man and that little ending bit of the scene :3

heh, she's knitting a sweater. Teehee, I'm replacing Frankie and David with their counterparts again. It's so Coffee Prince at the end but you've totally made it your own, like a different brand of downtrodden and sarcasm.

♥ THIS SEEMS LIKE THE THIRD TIME I'VE READ THIS CHAPTER BUT I STILL LOVE IT.

Author's Response: GINA WHAT ON EARTH KIND OF PARK DID YOU THINK IT WOULD BE OMG.

ugh, David is so attractive sometimes it makes me feel quite sick. And well-dressed. And tall. Him laughing is a lovely prospect.

I just love that image of Frankie with all these Galleons and it's that awkward moment where someone is telling you something really serious and important and you're just a mess and are like flailing around for things and its all really ridiculous.

Also, you mean you /don't/ have that look?

David is caught up in a chain of homosexual events that cannot be stopped. Please keep your head and arms inside the cart and awayyy we gooo~ lol. He's such a twit.

Yvonne is... well, you'll see. David has problems with picking his ladies.

Boss!Harry is so great! Him and Ron man, dynamic duo fo rills.

Yup. The german head of the magical government is a pokemon, Gina.

The best friend is always likable and Ewan is definitely not exception haha. I like him and David together. I can see why they're friends. They get along really well.

EEE THAT IS SO AMAZING TO HEAR I SHALL NOW GO DANCE IN THE MEADOW AND SING WITH FLOWERS IN MY HAIR HEE. No but seriously. That is the best thing anyone could ever tell me about this story. Ever.

BAW. IT LOVES YOU TOO.


 Report Review

Review #15, by soliloquy How to Succeed in Lying Without Trying

25th February 2012:
GIRL. THIS IS TOO GOOD. YOU NEED TO UPDATE THIS AREADY. GEEZ.

i'm so in love with what's going on and everything flows so smoothly and i can't wait for everything to get rolling and omgahhh.

why are you so freaking incredible? the chemistry. the description. girl, this is too good. TOO GOOD. ACTUALLY CAUSING ME HARM.

need...more...details...about other...aurors...a;lbkh;ra

WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO ME, ANNIE. ALL THE DRAMA!FIC.


loff you, girl. now update this. :P ♥

Author's Response: HEYOOO

I JUST UPDATED TWO DAYS BEFORE YOU LEFT THIS OMG CALM DOWN LOL

Heee, I am really excited to really really get the ball rolling here. I wonder if anyone really understands that the first five chapters were really just to get Frankie this job at the Aurors with David. SUCH A TRIAL. But now all the intros are almost done (we still have to meet the Auror peeps, but they're fun and confusing so) and now we can get the show on the road!

THE AURORS ARE SO GREAT OMG I CAN'T WAIT TANYA YOU DONT UNDERSTAND

I think it is becoming more and more true that kdrama!fic is the best thing that ever happened to either of us haha.

Promise I'll update soon. Just because I loff you 2.

Annie


 Report Review

Review #16, by charlottetrips How to Succeed in Lying Without Trying

23rd February 2012:
Look! You updated so fast! I have to tell you that you’re basically the only WIP that I’m following right now because I normally make it a personal policy to not follow WIPs because I literally die waiting for the author to update and finish the story. So this is a testimony to how HOOKED you have me on this. It’s like my fix.

Ah yes, the shopping expedition. What a fun way to get into awkward moments…

Wait, did I miss Auror Rules #1 somewhere?

Ha, I like how David has taken the fact that his sister and mom chose his clothes for him and made it his own idea (basically). Such a guy thing. And of course he has to think it makes him look intimidating rather than him just liking clothes. That would be un-masculine wouldn’t it?

Oh dear, poor David. What if he actually likes Frankie as a male? Will he be completely whacked out when he finds out Frankie’s a she? This is so going to mess with his head!

Frankie looked unconvinced, shifting in them uncomfortably, and David thought for a moment. He looked all right (more than all right, the voice in the back of his head told him), but something was missing…. Gah! I was like what’s missing is “his” *ahem* and then David thought of a tie :P

*snurfle* I can totally see arrogant David laid low on the floor with a bright red tie around his head!

And who wrote these Auror rules? Some guy full on innuendos? Hello? Rule #8? :) Also I find it funny that David keeps having to refer himself to them. As if they’re the ruling point of his life…which they probably are.

I love all the sister banter you’ve put in here. I know in my last review I mentioned that I didn’t really know Lettie and Clemence but I feel like I do now. Clemence has got sass and a “real” point of view on life while Lettie’s got her head in the clouds. It’s fun to have such varied people to read about.

I personally think it’s very normal to eat all the crisps. In fact, you’ve now made me interrupt my reading to go and get my own bag to munch on! *crunch, crunch*

OMG, Harry can’t even tell? I would think someone could see through it and be able to be an extra confidant besides her sisters.

I liked the scene between the Aurors. It was just what I’d think I’d see in some wizard crime movie.

You’ve moved us along quite well to the point where there’s feelings there for David and Frankie. I’m a little afraid of what Harry’s reaction is going to be in finding out Frankie’s a girl or if she’ll even tell him!

Thank you so much for updating!

xChar

Author's Response: I have always, ALWAYS wanted to do a clothing montage like in a movie, but you would not believe how hard they are to write omg. You can't really get the same feel as in a movie haha. But seeing has David's already stuck his hand down her pants, I feel like shopping together is really just the next step.

David is really just... he's the spoiled youngest child, the only boy, dragged around by his mother and older sister and as a result, he's actually pretty well-mannered and just a bit of a jerk. He's also just one of those men that is extremely well-dressed, mostly because he's that good-looking that what he wears almost doesn't matter, but he wears clean, tailored things, just like his sister always told him to. Basically the Zara Young Men's Lookbook will always have at least one outfit David would wear lol.

I wonder if David could actually fall for Frankie as another guy? Do you think it's possible?

Haha, the Auror rules came to me on a really weird day and I haven't been able to get rid of them. You didn't miss rule #1, I'm just listing them as they come up. And the Aurors themselves are a bit of a weird group, so once you meet them, the rules might make more sense.

Like i said, Lettie and Clemence are two of my favorites and also a very easy way to get Frankie to see some other perspectives on her situation!

Poor Harry. If only you knew how busy he is trying to do things without a secretary. Honestly, Harry didn't realize that Prof. Moody was taking Polyjuice Potion for a whole /year/, so when he's in this sort of tired state, it was actually probably kind of easy for Frankie to fool him with a little glamour charm on her chest. That being said, what Frankie's mum said is right: she can't let a lie ruin such a good thing. I think telling Harry is definitely her best bet for keeping this job.

Haha yes! Feeelingsss~ Not that either of them would ever admit it, silly people. Ah well, all in good time. Perhaps.

Sorry for this novel-length response, haha. I just get babbling sometimes. Thanks so much for your review and support of this story!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #17, by Reader Clandestine Food Shopping Can Cause Problems

22nd February 2012:
I really love this story, but thought you should know that someone has posted it up on another website (fanfiction net). Here's the story id if you wanted to check it out 7214711. The uploader's username is trixyregina
Just thought I'd let you know :) Hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for letting me know! Actually, that is my own account on ff net, so it's definitely not been plagiarized, but I really, really appreciate it and I'm so glad you like the story!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #18, by adluvshp How to Succeed in Lying Without Trying

22nd February 2012:
Haha this is just getting more and more interesting! Frankie got the job! I wonder how Harry will react when (or if) he comes to know that she's a girl and not a guy. Even more so, David. LOL. This is some terrific writing. Good going! I am really looking forward to more.

10/10

cheers!
AD

Author's Response: It certainly seems like the whole Frankie-is-a-girl secret is on a ticking clock, doesn't it? Only a matter of time before it all comes out in the open! Poor David, haha. What /will/ he say?

Thanks so much for your review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #19, by Loony_Scorpy How to Succeed in Lying Without Trying

21st February 2012:
I love that David is (kind of) attracted to her even though he thinks she's a man. I suppose it goes to show that he's not superficial (since he is actually/usually straight) and is actually looking at the personality. I can't wait to see what happens next! Especially since I'm sure her records will have to say that she is a girl...so I suppose this shall definitely be interesting!

Author's Response: Yes, David definitely considers himself a modern man, comfortable in his sexuality and not bothered by what other people think, but I'm pretty sure even he is thrown off by the thoughts he's been having. Because there's noticing another guy is fit, and then there's /noticing another guy is FIT/, you know? I think he also likes Frankie's personality more than he will admit, because she's pretty endearing, haha.

AH HAH! I wondered if someone would think of that! Her records will /definitely/ say that she's a girl, no way of getting around that. I wonder what she'll end up doing to get out of it!

Thanks so much for your review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #20, by Magic_Phoenix How to Succeed in Lying Without Trying

21st February 2012:
This chapter was awesome!!! I love David and Frankie!! Her sisters bantering is pretty hilarious too :P I can't wait for the next chapter!!!

Author's Response: Lettie and Clemence are some of my favorites. I'm glad you enjoyed their bickering and also this chapter. Thanks so much for your review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #21, by charlottetrips The Adventures of David the Eavesdropper

20th February 2012:
Yay! You updated!! This has really and truly got to be one of my favoritist stories EVER!

First off, this is my first gender-bender type of story and I'm so glad that you're writing it because then I'm not going to be disappointed at all. Second, David is an idiot. A very nice idiot, but an idiot all the same. I can't even really think of how he's going to feel once/if he finds out that Frankie's a girl but it's going to be sweet!

I love how all the characters have their own depth to whatever degree (though I'm still getting a bit of a handle on Clemence and Lettie) and that they're all real to me. The absolute over the topness of the whole story is weighted down by some real issues (at least on Frankie's side) and helps add some more believability to it all.

Your banter, your lines, the dryness and blatant humor you put in this is a study of AWESOMEness. Please Please Please keep updating this until you're done and then some! :) :)

xChar

Author's Response: haha! It's so flattering to hear that you like this story so much. I don't know of many genderbenders on the archives, so I'm glad you chose to read this one! David is certainly... good at getting himself into situations. When/if he finds out the truth, he'll be kicking himself I think, haha.

Lettie and Clemence are very different from each other. Lettie is 15, always cheerful and popular because of it, despite the fact that she's fairly plain. Clemence, on the other hand, is extremely pretty, but much more introverted and world-hating. She's also much more academically inclined where Lettie kind of coasts through school. As their older half-sister, I think Frankie is also different, mostly because she grew up taking care of them.

Frankie's issues are definitely serious. She loves and wants to support her family, but also she has never been able to have any real goals for herself because of all these responsibilities. Her family is worth it, but it would be good to see her have a chance to have her own life a bit.

David, on the other hand, has always known what he wanted to do, and his mother, who is extremely successful in her own career, just wants to see him safe and happy. I think Umma has decided that if David was tied down to a nice woman, or man, or anyone that he really cared about, he would be much more careful in his job and then she would have to worry less. David hates the idea of being "trapped" into a marriage because he thinks that being in a relationship like that would mean he couldn't pursue the career he wants.

lol. That was a bit of a babble. Anyway, there's a lot of baggage on both sides, so it's kind of cringey to watch them just create more issues with all of these schemes!

Glad you really like this and thanks so much for your reivew!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #22, by WitnesstoitAll The Adventures of David the Eavesdropper

20th January 2012:
ANNIE.

CAN I EAT THIS CHAPTER?

No? Sadtimes. But seriously this was so, so good. In comparison to the first draft I saw to this, this is just so perfect and polished and fluid and hilarious. I love the arrangement of scenes here. Great choices! Your characterization and the way you jump back and forth between your characters is really admirable. Of course I can change characters between chapters, but within the same chapter? probably not. You really make it feel effortless to the reader. Also. Ewan kissing a Redheaded man visiting his brother in cairo, huh? Very nice connection to a canon fact (bill in egypt...) I initially thought Percy for some reason... but settled on charlie after actually thinking about it. Really, that was hilarious. The whole chapter is so funny and light and fast moving. It's great.

I hope you update soon. Nudge me when you do!
Melissa

Author's Response: Haha, that awful first draft. It was so clunkyyy. So glad I chopped so much of it off :D

The change in POV's only seems to work for me in this story, for some reason. I can't really make it work elsewhere :| ALSO HMMM. IT MIGHT HAVE BEEN A WEASLEY THAT WAS NEVER MARRIED IN CANON. POSSIBLY.

So good to hear that it was light and fast-moving, because before it was like trying to swim with lead shoes.

Thanks dear!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #23, by GracelesslyFalling The Adventures of David the Eavesdropper

19th January 2012:
Ah, I love this chapter! I know that it may be a while until David realises that Frankie is in fact a girl but each chapter I hope something happens to get him a little bit closer to that revelation.

I dont think that made sense!

Love this story! It's perfectly written and has a wonderful storyline! Update soon!♥

-izzyxx

Author's Response: Hmmm, I think everyone is looking for the wrong thing with David. Maybe instead of waiting for him to realize she's a girl, we should be looking for when whether she is a boy or a girl ceases to matter? :3 I won't say anymore though.

I'm glad you enjoyed this and thanks so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by adluvshp The Adventures of David the Eavesdropper

13th January 2012:
Haha nice chapter. I wonder when David will come to know that Frankie is actually a woman lol. And I'm amused, wonder how things turn out if Frankie gets this job.

Good work going. Looking forward to the next chapter.

10/10

Cheers!
AD

Author's Response: I think the plot will definitely thicken even MORE if Frankie gets this job. It'll be a lot harder to keep up the pretense if she and David work together.

I'm glad you enjoyed this and thanks so much for your review!

Annie


 Report Review

Review #25, by IsThisLove A Deal with the Devil (...er, I mean, David)

12th January 2012:
Hahahahahaha! I love this idea. Frankie is great as a charactor :) I adore how she just doesn't correct him! Priceless! xxx

Author's Response: I think she's more surprised that he really, REALLY thinks that she's a guy than anything, and probably a little curious as to how this whole thing will end up too. Thanks for your review!

Annie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>