Reading Reviews for Perfect Moments
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Elenia Perfect Moments

27th July 2012:
Passing the parcel ^^

You're kidding me right? This is your first ff? But, but... it's so amazing and perfect! I just have so much love for it that I can't even describe!

James ♥ he's one of my favourite characters, along with the other Marauders. I think you did a great job with him. I especially liked all his memories of near-perfect moments.

This was such an amazing one-shot because you managed to tell such a story in ony 1000+ words! That shows real talent!

Brilliant job! Hopefully I'll get a chance to read more of your work!

Take care!

~Elenia

 Report Review

Review #2, by Shortie Perfect Moments

27th July 2012:
First ever fanfic? This is AMAZING! The plot, grammar, vocabulary! Everything is just impeccable. Sure you edited but the plot and idea is just marvelous. I'll get down to that.

Grammar is amazing. I didn't find any mistakes at all. I love your choice of words, how from a little paragraph you've said a lot about what happened with the Imperius Curse and all. I mean, even if the whole incident was written, it wouldn't have been artistic as this so yay you!

Plotline is stunning. I love the way you've taken a few minutes of Jame's life and turned it to a story of a lifetime. Not literally of course but you get what I mean.

Characterization is flawless. I guess I could say that. Yes it was flawlessly done.

My favourite quote is "Best of both" which is very VERY true.

the last line heightens the quality of the story more. This story is just amazing.

*Hugs*

 Report Review

Review #3, by Aphoride Perfect Moments

18th July 2012:
Gosh, I loved this. I seem to love everything of yours which I read... I should read more of it, lol!

I loved James in this. I loved how you didn't include any dialogue right until the end, until he shouted up to Lily that Voldemort was there - it just set it all up so beautifully and made sure that the dialogue felt as important as it was, you know? It's the moment when everything is ruined, it's moments before he dies... it felt so huge and it needed to.

I loved the whole stream-of-consciousness idea behind it as well. How it was James thinking over his life and about perfection and Lily and Harry... gah. I loved what he said about having two hearts - Lily and Harry. It just surmarised him so perfectly, all that loyalty to his friends and family and the fact that he's such a loving and caring person.

I also liked how you mentioned the Imperious Curse and the Order, and you included the idea that Voldemort had wanted him to be a Death Eater. It really kept the idea of the war included, and showed off James' morals and how much he hates them without spoiling it (which I have no idea how you managed to do, btw).

It was really, really beautiful. I loved it. So sweet and romantic and then... the ending... gah. Poor, poor James.

And, seriously? Your first fanfic? Pshaw... too good! ;)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Ahha thankyou so much! I'm very flattered that you like my writing :3

That was exactly what I was aiming for - for the dialogue to be more important because he was projecting outwards for the first time in the scene, after relishing the full life he'd lived so far. I just felt the need to give him that life, that rightness, before he had to fight Voldemort.

Ooh I am glad you like the stream-of-consciousness stuff - now, I worry it's a bit too sappy and rubbishy, but I do still like the emotions behind it. I've always imagined James as so full of love, and Harry and Lily are just so important to him :)

Hehe, at the time I wanted to put it all in context! I'm still not sure how it doesn't kill the fluff, but I wanted to show how effected James was by the war but how lucky he still felt. His morals are so strong and he's very sure of himself.

Eep, thank you so much Laura! :D I'm very glad you liked it.

TGK xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by thesinandthesinner Perfect Moments

13th June 2012:
If this was your first ever fanfic, then it was really wonderful! An intriguing POV and moment to choose to illustrate the idea of a "perfect moment". I love your writing style. xoxxo

Author's Response: Aww thankyou! I didn't embarass myself too much when I wrote it, anyway :P Hehe, I'm glad you liked that - and thankyou so much! xoxo

 Report Review

Review #5, by GrangerDanger76 Perfect Moments

6th June 2012:
NO!
How could you just end it like that!

BEAUTIFUL! I loved this, you really captured James in a really unique and mature way. I really enjoyed that aspect of it.

Bravo! You really left me wanting more! :P

This is GrangerDanger76 for TEAM BLUE! :)

Author's Response: Ahha I'm glad you found it sort of pulling, then :P And thankyou! I did want to get across how the War had changed him, so I'm really glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by LittleWelshGirl99 Perfect Moments

24th May 2012:
LOTTIE LOTTIE HI! Can't believe I haven't noticed this one-shot yet *hides*

Ah, I have shivers going down my spine. I've always imagined what these final moments of terror must have felt like for Lily and James; not knowing whether Harry would live or die, whether they were going to die. But gosh, you've basically described it exactly the way I would have AND BETTER!

I think it was the theme of 'perfect moments' and the way it was told; the tone of a boy-just-turned-man who was still trying to make sense of his life really.

Wow, brilliant :D
-Annon xox

Author's Response: HEY ANNON!! No worries, I only just edited it - it's been at the bottom of my AP since forever ;)

Ahh I'm so glad I managed to write that way to effect you (if that makes sense)! I think I always wondered the same; how it would feel to be cut down so unexpectedly, and whether Harry would make it. Aah thankyou so much!! 8D

Aww thankyou! I wanted to write something about perfect moments at the time, but teamed with that fateful night, I just sort of mashed them together :P I'm so glad you liked James!

Thankyou so much!!
~Lottie xxx


 Report Review

Review #7, by Opalpixiechick Perfect Moments

23rd May 2012:
Poor James. I love this story. It is nice to be able to see how James might have thought the night he died.

Author's Response: Aah thankyou! I know, I feel so sorry for him :( But I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #8, by forsakenphoenix Perfect Moments

16th January 2012:
Oh, dear. I adore the Marauders, mostly because I'm a sucker for angst, and the tragedy of it all is so heartbreaking. This was so terribly sad.

I loved James's perfect moments; winning the Cup, marrying Lily, finding out she's pregnant. You sort of foreshadow to the last line earlier too, when all his moments don't stay perfect forever. I love how you described those moments as 'magic' - it gives it more of an ethereal quality, I think.

It makes me so happy that James relies so heavily on his friends and family to keep him sane. He's always seemed to me to be a very family-oriented guy, so I love that you included that to stay true to his character. Then his comments on the Death Eathers and how some of them were probably just scared - that's so true and I love that you included that because not many people would think about it that way.

His thoughts about Lily and Harry were precious and once again show how family oriented he is. I adored it.

You do a wonderful job with this, setting the scene up for Voldemort's entrance. I could feel James's panic and it saddened me, knowing what was to come.

Nicely done. Now, let's hope I can get this review done in time to claim it in the Review Battle unlike the one I did for Reasons Why. :P

Author's Response: That's why I love them too, their stories are such tragedies :(

Thankyou, I'm glad you liked them! I was hoping they would come across like that, but wasn't sure they were special enough. So thanks.

Thanks! I'm glad that you feel the same way, because I always thought that James was a family guy too. I tried very hard for him to stay in character, because he's so often done differently, and I'm very glad you see the Death Eaters the same way too. They're misunderstood too much.

Aw, thanks! I hated writing his entrance, because I wish James could have stayed that way forever.

Hehe, glad you managed it :) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by megaaan  Perfect Moments

8th November 2011:
Very cute story - congratulations! I really enjoyed reading this, and I love how it fits so perfectly with canon (Canon is my favourite. Always. ;] Apart from sometimes, when non-canon is extremely well written...)

Perhaps, just as something a little extra, you could explain one or two of the things that ruined the perfect-ness? It would be nice to know what they were - whether they were knowing Voldemort was out to kill them (after Harry's birth), or before that, when they didn't have that to worry about. What could have spoiled these perfect moments for him?

I love the idea of James being "imperiused" by Voldemort, and wondering, and realising that he has no Death Eater qualities. At first, I was a bit worried that he had considered becoming a Death Eater, but I loved the way you had made it that he didn't think like that at all. Maybe, to add even more to this, you could have a proper flashback to just before he was put under the imperius curse? It may give a bit more depth...

I love how much we can see his love for Lily, in just this short chapter, and how he'd do anything to protect her and Harry - even wandless, when he knew he could never survive.

And ugh the last few lines send shivers down my spine - it's a perfect ;) ending! Well done. Hopefully I'll get your next couple of reviews done soon -- sorry it's taking so long!!

- Megan xox

Author's Response: Aw, thankyou! Yes, I ♥ canon too :)

I think that's a great idea, because it doesn't entirely make sense and I love your idea!

Thanks! No, he wasn't considering Death Eaterism, he was just realising that he couldn't have done anything differently to get here! And I like that idea, I think a flashback would work well.

Aw, thanks - it was what I tried to get across, and I hated writing James wandless, but protective :(

Thanks so much Mummy! :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by ClawBabe Perfect Moments

6th November 2011:
Freakin' amazing. Y'know(of course you wouldn't), but I really, really, really am addicted to L/J fics. It's like one review said, I practically have them for brekkie.
But. And here comes the weird part. I always, always end up sniffing my heart out(there it lies on the keyboard) and YET I continue reading 'em. Why oh WHY did the Queen have to kill them off? (that is a rhetorical question, mind ya)
Oh, I almost forgot to tell you. You ROCK.
"...best of both", "...two hearts to live" "he would be whoever she wanted him to be"...all these heart-wrenching lines are like pieces of (epic) art.
And amen.
xOxOxO

Author's Response: Aww thanks! Yeah, me too - they're just such a beautiful love story. Although having them for breakfast can sometimes bring down the day if it's a sad one. But yes, they are very addictive; I can't stop writing them!

And thanks! I'm so glad you liked those lines, I love fave quotes :) Wow, thanks!


 Report Review

Review #11, by The_Heir_Of_Slytherin Perfect Moments

28th August 2011:
Incredible!! (Sniff,sniff) How do you write that well?! Its way beyond me. I cant right half as well meaning ful stories as that. Plus, you right 1st person just as well as you write 3rd person, so Id like to see more of that in the future. (Whoops! Sounded like my 44 year old mom there!) You write killer lingering ones! (Big snob) Its such a shame it ended like that and its a one shot! Rats! Yknow those stories that just stay with you and sometimes you cant help the tears, well Im stuck like that now. (sniff,sniff) Youre the best writer I know at writing sad truthful ones(and Ive seen a fair few!) Please write more amazingly brilliant sad ones! I love them!! I eat them for breakfast! Yum! (Going slightly too crazy there! :D) P.S Apoligies for long review! !:) From, THE NOT-SO-OFFICAL HEIR OF SLYTHERIN!

Author's Response: Aww, thankyou so much! I do TRY to write meaningful ones... but I think I overuse 1st person to be honest :/ And that is high praise indeed - I want to make my mark with them if I can! And is it really bad to say that I'm glad I made you cry? I mean that I'm so glad I can create that emotion! ...please don't eat my writing, it can be bad for the indigestion. I LOVE long reviews, don't apologise!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Anoymoose Perfect Moments

22nd August 2011:
i loved that :D and your style of writing is fantastic :) 10/10

Author's Response: Aah, thankyou :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by tangledconstellations Perfect Moments

27th July 2011:
Oh, this is so sad! And perfect. And flawless. And heartbreaking. And just...amazing. I'm a dithering mess right now! This line, right here, 'You wouldn't have thought I'd need two hearts to live, but if either of mine go, I'll surely die, James thought.' ...argh! Its just so lovely.
I love your writing style completely, because you're not too flouncy and over the top, but at the same time, you give the reader everything they need to know. Its really very refreshing, and it completely matches the tone of this piece. My heart stopped a little bit when James saw Voldemort come through the gate, because you built up the tension just right!
Oh, James and Lily, its such a tragedy ): This has made me very contemplative, just because you never really hear things from James' point of view. Its mainly Lily, because she's the female, the passionate one, but its really, really lovely that this is from the mind of James. It kind of gives it that more secretive edge, because he wouldn't be saying these things out loud.
Ohh, I loved it! (: I had a 'perfect moment' reading it!
(bahaha.that was lame..)
~Laura xxx

Author's Response: Aww, thanks :) I love Lily/James ... and that was a line I came up with and ended up partially moving me to write this. I'm glad you liked it.
And thanks for the style encouragement - I'm trying to improve, and often think 'am I doing this ok?', so it's good to know you think I am! Plus I find tension really hard to write.
And yeah, it is always Lily! I wanted to have James seen as the 'first defence', and why he was like that. And James would never actually say these things out loud... he's too hardcore for that ;)
And that is really sweet, however cheesy. Thankyou so much!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Debo13 Perfect Moments

21st May 2011:
I really really liked it. I'm glad you chose to write about this brief time period as I think it adds a realistic dimension to possibly the most pivotal part in the entie 'Harry Potter' saga - after all, it was the moment that everything started.

I found you were effective in tapping in to the emotions of the situation; it was a part of the storyline that we never really had much insight to, and I felt this story really brought it together nicely. Knowing that this is a one-shot, i appreciated how you did not try to do too much, which would make it uneffective. You did the small things really well with this work.

Hope to read more from you soon!

Author's Response: Ah, thanks! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by NeverGotHerLetter Perfect Moments

20th April 2011:
This was beautiful :) I think it really captured adult James perfectly. James is my favourite character ever ever ever and for me to think you did him justice (which I do) is a big thing... if my opinion mattered that much XD But seriously be proud of this. With a little editing it could be one of those one shots that make people cry :') Well done :D XXX

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much :') Yeah, I was hoping to go back and edit it soon xxx

 Report Review

Review #16, by slytherinchica08 Perfect Moments

19th March 2011:
Wow! I absolutely loved this! The description was so beautiful and I loved seeing into James and this horrible moment. It was a great oneshot on the moments before James and Lily were killed. It was fun to be able to see into the moments that make James happy because most of them do center around Lily and in my mind those things would be the ones that stick out to them the most. I liked how there wasnt any conversation except James saying that Voldemort was there but the oneshot still flowed really well and it didnt seem like it was dragging at all from lack of conversation. Great Job I really enjoyed it!

~Slytherinchica08~
Operation: Green With Envy

Author's Response: Thankyou! Yeah, I hoped thoughts would work best... and also Lily seems to be the most important person in his life by far, so i wanted to show that :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by strawberrydarhling Perfect Moments

18th March 2011:
Aw, wow, this was simply breathtaking but so sad at the same time.

You have done an amazing job with this :)

Megan
xx

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Kandy Perfect Moments

3rd March 2011:
Wow. How does this story only have one review? Awesome one-shot! Good plot, original idea, and great characterization. I could definitely see these thoughts going through James' head! No spelling errors, and the only thing I saw was when you called Harry an "18-month-year-old." Besdies that, this was amazing! 10/10 and a cherry on top!

Author's Response: Aaw, thankyou so much! Yep, I'll need to correct that :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Miss Person Perfect Moments

2nd February 2011:
Aww I love it! This was wonderfully written. When I read the description to it I was a bit skeptical as to how well it would be written, but when you introduced everything I was flung into the story. Beautifully written, bravo.

Author's Response: Ah, thankyou. Yeah, I wasn't quite sure what to write for the summary, but I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login