Reading Reviews for Dancing in Fields of Yellow
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Cirque Du Freak Daffodils

23rd December 2011:
Considering I haven't had much exposure to fluffy things as of late I kind of sort of really did enjoy this haha!

It was interesting, because even though (as you said) that you hadn't much experience in the era - you did amazingly well, in my opinion. I've always been quite intrigued in the era and have been starting to branch out towards it and this definitely helped. :)

I really liked this because your writing is so easy to read and I feel like I'm enjoying it and it isn't a hassle either. The description/dialogue ratio is perfect and you make things interesting enough.

The language is easy and I've always thought of having to write in Founders era (or anything before the 20th century, for that matter) would be forced and hard and tiresome. You've made, even the speech, understandable but still holding that "olden times" tone to it in the arrangement of your words.

I particularly like that you pinpointed on Helga being different compared to the other Founders, because she originally was a "peasant" and she wasn't used to being treated as anything but. I love the characterisation you have for her and I think you've fit it very well with your challenge too. :)

All in all, I really enjoyed this! :D

Author's Response: Cirque,

Your winter gifts from TGS bring some many smiles to my face! Seriously, I love your reviews, they make me feel so good about my writing. I feel like you're my personal booster-upper and I love it! Haha.

I'm happy that everything I did fit the era and prompt in your opinion. I did take me awhile to write this, because I wanted it to be as close to perfect as I could it. I like the way it turned out, but I like it even more when readers say that it's not dreadful :P Seriously, the language wasn't as bad as the characterizations. You should give the era a shot sometime!

Thanks again, I'm glad you enjoyed!

--Ellie


 Report Review

Review #2, by _Leo_ Daffodils

30th September 2011:
Hey there, back for another review!

Lol, it has daffodils :D
But seriously, I thought you did a wonderful job with the prompt. Slash or not, it was a nice affectionate gesture.
I liked the way you characterised Helga, from the way she deals with the house-elf to her thoughts of the other three founders. Nice thought that she might have cooked for the first students herself; that's something I can imagine from how she chose her students.

Especially the first paragraphs were really impressive, they painted the scene for me quite nicely.
This line made me chuckle:
"Onions and Rowena's diadem were notably absent as well."
I love it when some canon detail is woven in so casually!

Really great story, it really deserves the Dobby nomination!
Cheers, Leo

Author's Response: I know right! Daffodils bring about great stories haha!

Thank you very much for the kind review. *blushes* it means a lot to me that you thought I deserved the nomination. I was so shocked when that happened!

I'm glad you felt that this piece was so canon-compliant and great! This is always something I strive for, canon correctness.

THANK YOU SO MUCH, LEO!

Bear hugs,
--Ellie


 Report Review

Review #3, by Evanevieve Daffodils

7th September 2011:
I think it's beautiful :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Evanevieve! I'm glad you enjoyed this one-shot :) I appreciate the review!

Best,
NRB



 Report Review

Review #4, by leannemariesnape Daffodils

11th August 2011:
I've never read Founders before, so I know little about it, but I do like what you've written in this one-shot. The interraction between Rowena and Helga was really nice, and the Daffodils were a nice addition. I also liked how Helga interracted with the house-elves, which I thought would be very in character. It was a very cute one-shot and a nice introduction into the Founders era. I also liked your characterisation of Ravenclaw, which I think would have been perfectly in character.
Well done!
Leanne (leannemariesnape, Hufflepuff)

Author's Response: 'Ello Leanne! Thanks for stopping by, I'm glad you enjoyed the one-shot :) I'm glad you felt that I got the characters of Helga and Rowena down, that's a huge compliment considering JK left us with only snippets of what these women meant to her HP world. Thanks for the review again!

Best,
NRB


 Report Review

Review #5, by schoenberg12 Daffodils

6th August 2011:
beautiful diction! beautiful imagery!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm glad you found the one-shot to be so beautiful :)

Best,
NRB


 Report Review

Review #6, by GinnyWeasley_13 Daffodils

25th July 2011:
This was fantastic. You worked so well with description; it really lit up the story and made you feel you were there. I think you've got Rowena and Helga perfect - the way they would have acted and talked. I liked the name you gave to the house-elf too.

Author's Response: Thank you very much, GinnyWeasley_13! I'm glad you felt like you were there and that I did justice to Rowling's characters, Rowena and Helga. I appreciate your review and your kind words :)

Best,
NRB


 Report Review

Review #7, by WhiteAzaleas Daffodils

12th May 2011:
This is gorgeous! You really have a way with words :) I love the Founders era but it's so hard to find a good story to read. Thanks for sharing this!

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much, WhiteAzaleas! I adore the Founders too and so I'm glad that you found this to be a good story, yay! Thanks for reading and reviewing, I appreciate it :)

Best,
NRB


 Report Review

Review #8, by Jenna822 Daffodils

5th May 2011:
This is really really good. Like, seriously. You clearly did your canon research and it showed. Wonderful story. I'm bad at reviewing today. :/ Love this. ♥ --Jenna

Author's Response: Aw, thanks, Jenna!! I'm glad you enjoyed this and find it to be wonderful :) I read a lot of Founders and am still trying to do the era as much justice as I can haha. Thanks again for the read and review!

Hugs,
Ellie


 Report Review

Review #9, by maskedmuggle Daffodils

10th January 2011:
Hello!
I love this. There are so less founders stories compared to Marauders/Next-Gen, and many of those are about Hogwarts specifically. I really like your story because this missing moment that you wrote about is so special, like nothing I would've imagined.

Your writing is so descriptive, particularly at the beginning where you were describing the setting, and I could just imagine Helga and the whole scene.

Lovely writing, lovely story, an enjoyable read :)

Author's Response: Hi, maskedmuggle!

Wow! Another unexpected and lovely review :) I never thought anyone would read this, let alone review it haha. Thank you for taking your time to review this one-shot, I'm glad you enjoyed the missing moment. *blushes* And thank you for all the kind words about my writing, I really appreciate them! I'm glad you felt I added an enjoyable read to the Founders Era on HPFF. Thanks for this!

(Also, good luck in the challenge too!)

Best,
nrb


 Report Review

Review #10, by CheeringCharm Daffodils

7th January 2011:
This piece was very pretty, I love the way that you paint pictures and sceneries with words.

You have made a great story I do however find some parts a bit too long and they lose my intrest.

I really like the way that you have Rowena and Helga in your story and how you have their relationship just underneath the surface. According to me you have pictured their personalities very well and I really like Helga and when you have the house-elf you make her traits all the clearer.

I could not find any things in the text that seemed weird except for a double usage of were (?) "Potatoes and were carrots were on the left" :)

Very good story!

*huggles*

Author's Response: Aww thanks, CheeringCharm!

This is such a random and lovely review, I really appreciate it! Thanks for the feedback about the lengthier parts, I will look those over ;) I'm glad you found my characterizations to be accurate and that you enjoyed Helga. And thanks for pointing out that error, I always make a few >.> Sigh. Haha this was very sweet of you and I'm glad you thought it was pretty too.

Best,
nrb


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login