Reading Reviews for A Weasley Christmas
  
43 Reviews Found

Review #1, by my_voice_rising Weasley Jumpers

9th December 2012:
A Weasley Christmas story, I'm sold!! :)

How sweet that Scorpius and Rose have been dating for ten years--and I love that she's skittish about commitment. I like seeing how authors give Next-Gen characters traits from their parents, and I feel like this is probably a part of Hermione's independence being passed on? :) How very sad that Molly never knits a sweater for Scorpius, even after all those years!

I love this line: No one did chaos quite like Rose Weasley. That says so much about their characters; how she's unpredictable at times and how he's drawn to that.

Fleur and Scorpius's bonding moment was particularly touching. I can imagine them clearly, cast off to the side, the only blondes in a sea of redheads. They come from similar backgrounds of wealth and coldness, I'd imagine, and it makes perfect sense for them to be connecting the way they did.

Oh my god. Trying not to cry at the last paragraph. How sweet that Scorpius wants one of these jumpers so badly; the thing that Ron, the twins and Ginny always received with reluctant smiles. This is a really touching story; I'm so glad I read it. I'm adding it to my favorites. :)

Author's Response: Who doesn't love a Weasley Christmas! ;)

I think Rose's skittishness about commitment is a bit of both her parents, really. And a lot of all her own neurosis. I like to give the Next Genners bit of their parents but make them their own people too.

Molly wouldn't warm too quickly to a Malfoy, I think. That's a lot of bad blood between the two families. Scorpius's grandfather, after all, nearly got Molly's only daughter killed in an attempt to get her husband fired. I doubt she'd want to have him hanging around much. But eventually she can accept him, since Rose likes him and he's so different from his family.

Rose is chaos embodied, for sure. She's a mess. Good thing Scorpius is there to feed her and do the washing-up.

I think Fleur is really the only one who can get what Scorpius goes through to join the Weasley family. Similar lack of welcome, though I think Scorpius would have it worse. And I do picture Scorpius from a background of wealth and coldness, but Fleur's dad was very friendly and affectionate. She's a bit snobbish but not really cold. Or at least I never got that impression. Hmm.

Eventually Scorpius gets a jumper. The Weasley kids wouldn't appreciate them properly but I think the Weasley grandkids would like them better, even while mocking them, because it's long-standing family tradition by then. And Scorpius wants one so he can be part of that.

Thank you so much for the review! I'm really glad you enjoyed the story.


 Report Review

Review #2, by shadowycorner Weasley Jumpers

8th December 2012:
Aah, this was so lovely, Megan. Of course Scorpius wants a Weasley jumper, I want a Weasley jumper! You've captured the essence of needing to belong into a family so well here. Scorpius must adore the Weasleys because they function so much differently than his own lonely household. I can understand how the Weasleys don't let anyone in between them, but once someone gets in, he'll be pampered and loved like the rest of them. Adding Fleur to the mix was a great and logical choice. You're brilliant for touching upon that subject, I've never before thought of the possibility the treatment she's been getting in the beginning could upset her. I liked that she comforted Scorpius, it was very nice of her. It's funny how such a little thing can mean so much. I remember when I first read the Philosopher's Stone and when Harry received his jumper and just how strongly it warmed him at heart. And reading this story it just makes me think he was always meant to become a part of the family because he got the jumper so soon. :)

And then the ending just made me grin like a little kid because Molly winked at Scorpius and it was just wonderful. It's also sweet how even though the jumpers aren't exceptionally pretty, everyone loves and cherishes them, whether openly and warmly. They're much like family, chaotic and problematic at times, but we want it and we need and even though it's not perfect, we just want to snuggle it like snuggling the soft, warm jumper. Aah, now I am overcome with Christmas family feels. :)

This was a wonderful story, Megs, as always.

Author's Response: I got all excited when I saw you reviewed me ;) So good to see you back active on the site again! (((hugs)))

Thank you so much! I love my Weasleys, and the way I set up Rose and Scorpius as a couple in the Midnight Run series he's sort of in between fitting in and not fitting in around Rose's family. So of course he wants a jumper. And of course the person most able to understand that would be Fleur. I'm surprised more people haven't written it that way. It seems very logical to me, if Rose and Scorpius tried to get together, Fleur would be sympathetic, because nobody wanted her around either (well, maybe Ron, and obviously Bill), but she made a place for herself. I doubt she really likes Scorpius, since she did fight in the final battle and I imagine the connection between Malfoys and Death Eaters would be impossible to overcome in social settings, but I do think she'd understand.

The Weasleys are accepting eventually - longer for Scorpius than for others who joined their family, but there's a lot of history with those two families, so I think he did pretty good. I totally want a Weasley jumper. Wish I could knit! Ah Christmas. Thank you for reviewing! It means a lot to me :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by SilverRoses Weasley Jumpers

23rd October 2012:
So, I finally got to read it! Sorry it took so long, I've been loaded down with school and work, but I've got some time now, so hopefully will get to read all of your stories soon :)

This is just...I think I almost cried, it's so good! I love how you make each character have their own personality and all, and how the original characters from the book are so accurate! I absolutely adore your writing style and characterization and can't wait to read the rest of the Midnight Run series!

And I'm so glad Scorpius finally got his jumper, I was guessing he would from the beginning, but then the end was getting closer and I was becoming concerned...but it's awesome; no criticism from me :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for leaving a review, I appreciate it. I try hard for canon characterization, I'm a huge stickler for that, so thank you for the compliments on how I wrote the next gen and originals :) Thanks again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Jchrissy Weasley Jumpers

2nd July 2012:
I just remembered after my finishing Sarahís Weasley fics, that you also write them! Yay! I find it really difficult to find the Weasleyís portrayed well, they are such an amazing family and reading something that doesnít do them justice is always frustrating. Now I found you and Iím doing a happy dance!

Iím already excited about this story, I love reading from Scorpiusís PoV.

This is such a sad first section, my heart is breaking for Scorpius and the family he wants to be part of :(. You describe his sense of abandonment well without it being over done, itís great!

Iím ten times happier that Fleur is in this! I get the feeling that she does understand because she has once been there with the disapproving Weasley clan, and she held her own. She didnít just blend in as Scorpius seems to think she did, she had to deal with being called phlegm for a whole summer ;)!

The bonding between Fleur and Scorpius is so precious, you are holding true to her personality, she isnít being sympathetic, just understanding.

Finally! I got such a warm glow when he opened his jumper. This was such a sweet story, exactly what I was in the mood for

Author's Response: I write quite a lot of Weasley fics! Actually, come to think of it, probably 80% of what I write is about the Weasleys ;) I love them!

Poor Scorp, the Malfoys just don't measure up. Ron is always going to be a way better dad than Draco. lol.

I really think Fleur is the only person who could understand what Scorpius would go through when dating Rose. Hermione seemed to have instant acceptance into the Weasleys. We don't know from canon how Angelina or Audrey fit in, so I suppose one of them could have been greatly disliked, but in my head they fit in fine and didn't have any trouble. But I digress. Fleur was so thoroughly disliked by the Weasley women, and even Hermione, that she would really be able to feel where Scorpius was coming from. I'm glad you liked her conversation with him. She is still a bit cold, but she does empathize with him.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I'm so glad you liked the story!


 Report Review

Review #5, by ScorpiusRose17 Weasley Jumpers

14th May 2012:
This is exactly why I love Rose & Scorpius. You brilliantly portrayed them and brought to life a beautiful story. I felt really awful for Scorpius because that is what anyone would want is to be accepted. Especially since he grew up a Malfoy. I also like how you included Fleur and her telling him about her own story of how she wasn't accepted at first either. It was a great turning point for Scorpius. In the end he got his Weasley Jumper and the acceptance that he craved.

Thank you for writing such a wonderful One-shot!! =)

-SR17

Author's Response: The way I write Next Gen, Scorpius really doesn't fit in with his family either - thanks to his thing for Muggle music, and then dating a Weasley girl - so he is even more motivated to want to fit in with the Weasleys. He really just wants somewhere to belong and he sees what the Weasleys have and wants that as well. It's all just so opposite of what he grew up with. And I really think Fleur is the only one who can really understand and sympathize with his situation, because nobody wanted her to be a part of the family either. But she was able to show them who she really is, and won her acceptance. Scorpius, lacking the sort of situations a war presents for showing your true self, and being a quiet and laid-back kind of guy, took a long time for them to really cement the thought that he is a decent chap and might as well have a jumper ;)

Anyway that was longer than I meant to go on and on :p I'm really really pleased that you liked this one-shot, and thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne Weasley Jumpers

29th April 2012:
I loved the ending to this and how Molly has finally accepted Scorpius.
I loved the way that you described everyone here, how they felt towards Scorpius and how they all interacted with each other.
A very good read :-D

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. :) I tried to depict a scenario for the Weasleys taking in Scorpius realistically (given the setup of JAMR's backstory). Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Lillylover22 Weasley Jumpers

19th April 2012:
We call it jumpers in australia too. I like the midnight run series. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thank you very much, I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Siriusly3 Weasley Jumpers

9th April 2012:
Aw. I teared up a little. Oh my God, what is wrong with me? Right, this was such a cute one shot. I can't believe I've got tears in my eyes. I adore Fleur in this, she's so kind and so, well Fleur-y. I love your Scorose! I've said it before and I'll say it again! :D I'm still angry at myself for crying, but you wrote this perfectly. I don't know what else to say!

Author's Response: Aww haha. I know, it's a little tugging-the-heartstrings, isn't it? I really like having Fleur connect with Scorpius over their mutual outsider status when joining the Weasleys. Scorpius certainly has it worse off, given his family history, of course, but I think Fleur is closest to being able to understand his plight. Thank you for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Weasley Jumpers

23rd March 2012:
Ooooh yay! I think I might end up going through both of the Midnight stories tonight, I love this particular Rosius pairing so much. Yes, Rosius is an odd term, but "Scorpius" is too much of a mouthful honestly, to say Rose/Scorpius. Not to mention the letters while typing. I digress. Just strange ramblings from a strange girl.

ANYWAY.

With Scorpius's personality, his appreciation for the loud boisterous Weasley company -- given that his purpose in life now is to basically be Rose, the walking disaster's safeguard -- is totally spot-on I'd think. And it is so adorable and slightly moving how he opens this jumper, almost reverently or something. I kind of felt his emotions right then, kind of like that "omg I don't want to assume because then I'll look like a stupid person" sort of way when you're expecting something but know full well that you don't have a right to expect it. But ten years... Dang on, Mrs. Weasley! But I suppose if she was waiting for him to "become family"... Ah I dunno.

Again, long story short, I loved it.

Author's Response: Well, remember those ten years start at age 16. And he *is* a Malfoy. His aunt tried to kill various members of the Weasley family, and his parents were directly involved in the battle that killed Fred Weasley. That's a lot for a family to overcome and accept him, you know? I actually tend to think in real life this could never play out. But I like them together at this point, at least the way I write them, so I try to make it work.

Anyway :p Yes that's totally the feeling - don't want to assume and then be wrong. But fortunately he's finally got a sweater and can join the family now :D Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm really glad you liked the story!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Paulette Weasley Jumpers

31st December 2011:
I love your stories, especially the way you characterize Scorpius - he and Rose make a great couple :) And the whole jumper idea was genius, btw.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it. I'm quite fond of them as a couple these days, I must admit. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by peppersweet Weasley Jumpers

16th December 2011:
This was such a wonderful one-shot! I've been feeling quite festive today and I decided to read this with Christmas music playing away in the background - a good decision, I feel :)

I really like the Scorpius you have in this story. I haven't read the actual series that he's taken from (although it is definitely on my ever expanding list after this), but I felt I really got a sense of his character here. He seems so normal - in a good way, of course! Some of the characterisations I see of him in fanfiction are bordering on caricatures (and I am equally guilty of this). Here, though, he felt like a really realistic, developed character.

'Scorpius looked up at her grandparents' home, so different from his own family seat, and wondered what it must have been like to grow up here. To be a Weasley, instead of a Malfoy. His father had grown up wealthy and overindulged, and it had left him cold and brittle. Rose's father had grown up in this run-down house filled with warmth and love and discipline. And look at what he had become, and what he had produced. - sorry for quoting such an enormous part of it back at you here, but I really liked this little passage. I do like how your Scorpius is bridging the gap between the two families - everyone's got a headcanon, I guess, of what the Next-Gen characters would have been like, and this fic fits my headcanon rather neatly. I've always liked to think that Scorpius would perhaps have been the one to make all the rivalry history. I liked the comparison to Fleur is well. Strangely, I've never really thought about her situation, but this has definitely opened my eyes to Fleur as a character, if that makes any sense.

Anyway - enough about headcanons and such. This was beautifully written; you've got such a lovely, subtle style. I really enjoyed reading this, and I look forward to starting on the Midnight Run series soon (whenever I get all my coursework out of the way). Finalement - Merry Christmas! ♥

Author's Response: Merry Christmas! Thank you so much for the lovely review, I'm really glad you like this story so well. I have a headcanon too ;) Great word for it. And this is sort of how I think it goes, now. I was never a huge fan of the Scorose ship, and wrote it on a lark, but now it's part of my headcanon too. These things happen.

I hadn't thought too much about Fleur before I wrote this, but she just jumped right into my head as the perfect person to speak to Scorpius and be able to understand him. She had to know nobody wanted her around that Christmas in HBP - she's not dumb - but she didn't show it. The only time she shows she knew exactly what Molly was thinking is when Bill is maimed and she snaps at Molly. Such a great scene, I totally loved Fleur in that one.

I try to write Scorpius as a very easy-going kind of guy. He has to play the straight-man to Rose's insanity, because she's pretty wacky sometimes. Writing this let me show a little of why he puts up with so much craziness out of Rose (bringing home accused murderers to hide from the Ministry, honestly). The Midnight Run stories are not romances, so I don't focus much on the whole being-in-love kind of thing. Mostly Rose tries not to let Scorpius or her parents find out what she's up to ;)

Anyway, I really am very pleased to hear you enjoyed this story, and thank you again for the review! I really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #12, by GinnyMione Weasley Jumpers

29th November 2011:
Not a huge ScoRose fan but this story was amazing!!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #13, by shadowcat2 Weasley Jumpers

10th November 2011:
wow.this was just beautiful.so touching and perfect. i haven't read the series. but the story made perfect sense to me. i think i'll read the series now. :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad it makes sense as a stand-alone. I hope you like the Midnight Run stories too! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Kas Weasley Jumpers

9th August 2011:
Aw this was so sweet - I've just finished reading your midnight run series, and this was a nice little extra chapter (and I'd love more *hint hint*) good work!

Author's Response: There is more! Have you read "Free" yet? It's prequel-ish but more Scorpius POV. I'm still working on the Roxanne spinoff, but I'm going to be doing more Scorpius and Rose after that! Thank you for the review, I'm glad you liked the story!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Crescent Moon  Weasley Jumpers

26th May 2011:
I loved this one-shot!! Really funny XD
I love your work :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by busybusybeta Weasley Jumpers

24th May 2011:
awww. I found this on my way to finding the rest of those arthur/molly stories, and it looked too cute to resist. and it was!

Author's Response: Thank you! This is part of the Midnight Run stories, but it works as a stand-alone too. I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #17, by thehyacinthgirl Weasley Jumpers

3rd May 2011:
Oh, my goodness, this was adorable! I always love your stories, and I think I adore this one the most. It was just so sweet.

I don't blame Scorpius. I'd want one, too, even if they were as ugly as sin.

I also like that it's Fleur that talks to Scorpius in an attempt to make him feel better. That's really rather sweet, and I think it was rather fitting since as you pointed out so well Molly didn't want to accept her at first, either.

Not to mention the idea of being engaged at only twenty six amused me since I already have a fair few of friends that are married myself, but Rose and Scorpius were never the average couple. (At least not in your story. ;))

I do hope that he does propose to her one day and they do get married because the idea of little Rose's and Scorpius's running around amuses me - because your characterizations are brilliant and I'm sure their children would be little terrors.

Your characterizations just make everyone seem so real and relatable. I really just wanted to give Scorpius a hug.

Good job, as always!

I loved this!


Linders

Author's Response: I want one too, even though I'm not big on sweaters ;)

I really think Fleur is the only one who could understand how Scorpius feels. The Weasleys (except Bill) weren't quick to accept her, either, but I do think they would have seen what Bill saw in her eventually. There's more to Fleur than being beautiful. And there's more to Scorpius than his father's actions.

Yeah, twenty-six is still pretty young, but I was married and had my kids by that age, so... I hear ya. But Scorpius is patient enough to hang in there for if or when Rose might agree to marry him.

I'm so glad you liked this little story. I had fun writing from Scorpius's point of view - how he sees Rose compared to how she sees herself. Especially her trustworthy smile lol. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by NextGenna14 Weasley Jumpers

28th April 2011:
this made me smile at the end, it did bring me close to tears. You really did well at putting emotion into the story, it made it all that more believeable!

Author's Response: Aw thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it, and thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by JANZme Weasley Jumpers

25th April 2011:
This was really very cute! I could actually feel for poor Scorpy, his resemblance to Fleur, and also all the feelings of being unwanted.very well written, very realistic.:)

Author's Response: Thank you! Poor guy, he's really a decent person and the Weasleys see that eventually, it's just hard to get past the baggage. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by hufflypuff Weasley Jumpers

10th March 2011:
aw - my sister got me to read this, she said it'd make me cry...it did :) great writing, well done!

Author's Response: I'm glad she got you to read it, and that you liked it! Thank you for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by GryffindorGal Weasley Jumpers

10th March 2011:
Awww this is really cute :) loved it !

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #22, by silverstarletworld89 Weasley Jumpers

27th February 2011:
This story is AMAZING!!! I enjoyed how you had Scorpius outside take on the Weasley christmas. It must be hard to come into a large family, especially when yours is so small. I LOVED how you had Fleur talk to Scorpius to about being an outsider because they were pretty mean to her at the beginning. I adored everything about this story and I totally choked (complete lies, I blantenly cried) at the end when after 10 years together Scorpius finally got his Weasley Jumper.

Absolutely superb!!
Silverstarletworld89

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. I think a Malfoy point of view on the Weasleys that is NOT tempered by prejudice and class hatred is an interesting thing. Scorpius wants to be one of them and knows he's not. I think only Fleur can fully understand that.

Aww you cried? I take that as a high compliment to my writing, when someone says it made them cry. So thank you very much!

WTM


 Report Review

Review #23, by Gryffin_Duck Weasley Jumpers

25th February 2011:
Aww!!! This was so adorable! I don't normally go for fluffy pieces but this one was just perfect. It had that bit of angst in it that makes fluffy ending pieces so much more satisfying. I love reading about Weasley Christmases. They just seem so much fun. I'd love to go to one.

Your characterization of Scorpius was done very well. He's a manly man but still wants to be accepted by his girlfriend's family and that's just adorable. Receiving a jumper is such a simple thing, yet it meant he was accepted by the Weasleys. I haven't read your other story, but you put enough characterization of Scorpius into this so that it did not matter.

I really liked the part when Fleur was talking to Scorpius, not only because it helped Scorpius, but it also gave a sense as to how Fleur's life with the Weasleys had gone after the war. Her relationship with Molly post-Deathly Hallows has always been something that intrigues me. Really great story! :)

Author's Response: You know, a little bit of angst does spice up some fluff, it's true. ;) Weasley Christmases always make me happy for some reason. I do love the Weasleys.

Scorpius is quite secure in his masculinity (despite his love of showtunes) and he puts up with quite a lot of crazy out of Rose. I'm glad his character came through even without reading the Midnight Run stories.

I really think Fleur is the only one who could understand what it's like to be so unwanted by the Weasleys, while watching others be accepted. They didn't like her, didn't want her around, even while they welcomed Harry and Hermione with open arms. Scorpius and Fleur have a similar experience in being outsiders. So I thought her having a bit of a conversation with him about that would fit.

Yay I'm so glad you liked it! Thank you very much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by missdagane Weasley Jumpers

9th February 2011:
I loved it and want scorpius malfoy as christmas gift!

Author's Response: lol - thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Nevillefan101 Weasley Jumpers

26th January 2011:
This story was so perfect! :) I loved it! The generation after generation, priceless. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>