Reading Reviews for Holey
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by colourmeneon Chapter Two

21st October 2011:
This is adorable. I love your take on George. I don't think I've read anything with him that takes place between the last chapter of book seven and the Epilogue. I can't wait to see where this is going.

Author's Response: Mmmm...George is yummy. Unfortunately, school and writers block are determined to keep me from posting the next chapter. But I really wanted to write about his story because I feel like he lost the most out of the Weasley Clan. An ear and his twin/best friend? He deserves to be happy.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Daanana Chapter Two

19th August 2011:
Well, the really long review will have to wait - it'll come after the third chapter, I promise - because I couldn't wait and had to read this chapter on my to work and are now letting you know - from my windows phone 7 which is a pain with the archives - that I loved this as well. George is so charming and just, you know, George.

Keep on going.

Love,
Danielle

 Report Review

Review #3, by Daanana Chapter One

19th August 2011:
Ohh yes, I simply adore this story. It's twist from the regular muggleborn goes to Hogwarts because for once the muggleborn isn't a scared but eerily beautiful girl but a little boy with an aunt who's just as scared and actually is the main character! Love it.

I'm definitely faving this and when I get home from work tomorrow I'll read the rest and leave a review that makes more sense than this.

10/10

Love,
Danielle

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! 'Holey' is a bit harder to write than my others :P


 Report Review

Review #4, by Elizabeth Wolf Chapter Two

11th February 2011:
This is, quite simply, brilliant. I love Emma. She seems so sweet and caring. I love her keen interest in the wizarding world. I also love George and am excited to read something about him. He's always been the overlooked of the two twins, and when people do write about him, it's always about him being blissful with Angelina (which I think is a dangerous relationship; dating/marrying your dead brother's girlfriend can't be very healthy). I love how cheekily charming he is. This is definitely one that I'm adding to my favorites. I can't wait for your next update!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Thats totally what I think about George/Angelina. I always thought that he needed to find someone outside of all the craziness to marry. I think he will do better with someone who he can start on a clean slate with :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Carole Chapter Two

10th February 2011:
I waited for this chapter! I love the Emma character, I like how she knows nothing, it's realistic and endearing!

Author's Response: Thanks! I really wanted to write about how a muggle would handle the magical world without it being too cliched, you know? Its really hard, so I really appreciate that you like her.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Kriztal Chapter One

19th January 2011:
I liked your first chapter, I'm looking forward to reading the rest of your story. Liked Em, so far!
Keep writing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Avanell 2 Chapter One

17th January 2011:
So glad we got to witness her and George's first sighting of one another. Wonderfully presented. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thanks! I really appreciate that you took the time to tell me you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Libera Sonorus Chapter One

17th January 2011:
Loved this first chapter! Whimsical and fun like the books themselves. I especially liked Emma's first contact with owl mail! Not many people attempt to show what the wizarding world must appear like to Muggles who are thrust into it, and I appreciate you tackling the subject. One thing though - if this is the year 2000, surely Dumbledore is already dead and no longer Headmaster of Hogwarts?

Hope you write more!

Author's Response: Ah! Thanks for pointing the Dumbledore thing out--I planned it so that Dumbledore is dead, but I'm so used to him being Headmaster I made a mistake. Back to the editing room!

I'm really glad you liked it even though I made mistakes haha.


 Report Review

Review #9, by TheHufflepuffian Chapter One

4th January 2011:
A nice start! A few spelling mistakes here and there, but other than that I loved it! I love your plot, and your writing style is quite good. Your characterization of Emma is superb! I love the way you wrote her! Can't wait for your next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ohjaayweasley Chapter One

21st December 2010:
LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #11, by thegirllikeme Chapter One

12th December 2010:
I think you have an interesting start of a story. I've always wanted to write about a Muggle's POV on the world, and I stumbled upon this story (because I was searching for George Weasley stories -- he is amazing!).

Anyways, you asked for a constructive review and I'll try to put some in here.

I think you have an interesting character in Emma. As an aunt, I can totally understand her feelings towards Bobby. But I really want to see more of how you develop her more before I make much judgment on her character. I'm not sure how I feel about how you had train station, before going back into the past. It wasn't necessarily bad, but I don't really see the point on having that scene first when it might have been much more interesting to show Flitwick arriving at the house before journeying there. But that's just my own opinion and it's your story so write it how you like.

About Flitwick though? Why is he traveling with them? Is it because he is Head of House? Also, I have a question about Bobby in his parents. I got the feeling that he's known about being a wizard for a while, but it seems that Hogwarts only actually comes the summer before their first year. So it would be a relatively new idea. Unless you're talking about the expression of uncontrolled magic.

I have mixed feelings about what happened to his parents. On one hand, it's interesting. On the other, I find it kind of unlikely that *both* of his parents went insane, but I also have the feeling that I really don't know all the story yet. So I'm more curious on where you go with it right now.

I like your style of writing, and again I do like how Emma is starting out as a character. Generally by the first chapter in most fanfictions I'm screaming Mary Sue, but Emma had me quite feeling for her. I also like Bobby -- poor boy, and their relationship (the little we get to see). Your story was pretty free from errors except for typoes--words that shouldn't be there, or misplaced words, just little things that are bound to be missed.

Hopefully none of my comments offended you. I just wanted to point out some things to give you food to chew on -- hopefully without making your mouth hurt.

I'll continue to read because I'm quite curious to where you will go with this.

Author's Response: First of all, I want to thank you for the review--I like knowing that someone is actually considering what I write.

I'm very, very flattered that you like the Character of Emma, primarily because I feel like I am a character-centered writer rather than a plot centered-writer--I just write a plot around what the characters are. And so when I got the idea for Emma, I could hardly wait to write her story.

So I am not offended by your criticism. Some of the things I didn't even notice. Its a great idea to start the story with the shopping trip rather than the train station. I simply wrote one scene before the other and didn't think anything of it.

And a lot of the time I write knowing details the reader couldn't possible know, so my stories make more sense to me. For instance, I know that Bobby's mom isn't crazy--Emma convinced a judge that her sister had temporary insanity so she could get Bobby out of a bad home situation. And I just like professor Flitwick. I think he was sent because he seemed less scary for Emma. Not imposing like Hagrid or something.

Also, I have a question. You said you thought kids got the letter the summer before their first year, but for some reason I assumed that they got it on their eleventh birthday (I suppose because Harry did). Bobby's birthday is January 23 and so in my imagination, there was time for his parents to freak out about magic and all.

Anyway, that you took the time to think through this review means the world to me. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Carole Chapter One

29th November 2010:
Amazing. Believable and well written. Please continue the story!

Author's Response: Thank you! It really means a lot for you to tell me you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by MarieBlack Chapter One

29th November 2010:
Oh my, I must say after the first chapter, I'm hooked!
I really enjoy this story, and I can't wait to see it as it grows.
The only bad thing is that there isn't a second chapter yet! Hah.
Seriously. This story draws someone into Emma's perspective, and the perspective of a muggle dealing with the world of magic. I love it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I just really wanted to find a way to make a muggle have to deal with the magical world and how odd it would seem to them haha. I really appreciate that you took the time to tell me your thoughts!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login