Reading Reviews for The Longest Walk of Her Life
  
61 Reviews Found

Review #1, by purplepotter77 The Longest Walk of Her Life

20th August 2013:
I don't like Dramione at all, but I really enjoyed reading this! I loved the way you inserted bits of Hermione's flashbacks into the story as she was walking down the isle, and you managed to do it in a way that kept the flow of the piece going very smoothly. I also liked how you managed to keep the Dramione realistic, because in the few Dramiones I've read, the relationship isn't realistic at all and Draco and Hermione are written out of character, but you managed to pull it off really nicely.

The description was another thing about this story that I loved. You gave just enough without having it distract from what was going on in the fic.

A part of me kind of feels bad for Ron at the end and wishes Ron and Hermione had ended up together, but I think that's just the Romione shipper in me :P

Overall, you did a wonderful job with this! :D

Author's Response: Thank you for this very kind review and sorry for getting back so late. I'm very glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan The Longest Walk of Her Life

30th July 2013:
Review tag!

So... I don't even like Dramione, but I loved this! (Please take that as a huge compliment!) I loved the way you told the story - the flashbacks interspersed with Hermione's long walk up to the altar. I think what I liked the most was that the two of them were perfectly in character, with all their history and everything, but seemed really natural together. I think that's mainly because this is clearly several years after Hogwarts and they've both had some time to grow up. They're not enemies from the start, just people who have unpleasant history that's started to fade over time, and I think that's what makes it the most realistic. I never thought the hatred between Malfoy and the trio was the same after Harry saved Draco during the Battle of Hogwarts, it wouldn't make sense for them to go back to the black-and-white judgmental hatred of their youth. Anyway I'm rambling, but what I want to say is that I really like the way you wrote both Draco and Hermione and how they have changed since the war.

I have to admit I felt really badly for Ron at the end! But this was still a beautiful piece, the writing is fantastic and you did a great job!

Author's Response: Oh thank you for making this a well-rounded 60! I'm glad it came off naturally to you and I specifically made it a few years after the war so time could work its magic in healing. I'm really appreciative that you read this and reviewed it even though you don't like Dramione :)

Char


 Report Review

Review #3, by HeyMrsPotter The Longest Walk of Her Life

29th July 2013:
Hello! Here for our review swap. I just couldn't resist a dramione, it's my guilty pleasure!

I noticed just a few errors:
"What could I do to help you?" This sentence just didn't read right, I wonder if maybe "What can I do to help you?" Or "How can I help you?" Would maybe sound better?

"...that would be the last time she saw him for awhile" should be a while.

Other than those tiny details, this was OUTSTANDING. I loved it from start to finish.

I thought the flow was brilliant, I liked that you had her walking down the aisle whilst having flashbacks of her time with Draco, both created a really palpable tension throughout the story. It's hard to structure a story in that way and still have good flow but you definitely managed it.

I thought the relationship you created between them was completely realistic, which is difficult with a Draco/Hermione story because they're such enemies in everything we've read about them. I love that it was fast paced, intense and really believable. Both seemed perfectly characterised too.

What I loved most about this was the description, I could picture every scene and every little detail in my head perfectly. I could feel the tension and Hermione's heartbreak and I gave such a sigh of relief when Draco burst in.

My only issue is that I want MORE! I'd love to know what happened after this!

Brilliant one-shot, just superb really :)

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, I can't believe you caught a grammatical error! Le gasp! No seriously, I appreciate that you did.

Thank you overall for this lovely review. The description was something I specifically concentrating on so you commenting on it makes me really happy.

And just so you know, I did write a multi-chaptered sequel to this which is on my author's page if you want to read it (cough cough).

Char


 Report Review

Review #4, by unb315 The Longest Walk of Her Life

6th July 2012:
This was simply superb!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Aderyn The Longest Walk of Her Life

3rd May 2012:
Wow, this definitely kept me guessing the whole time. From the banner, I thought it was a Draco/Hermione story, so I was a bit confused about her initial sadness, though I assumed she was marrying Draco.

However, as it became clear that she wasn't marrying him, and that the groom was Ron, things began to make more sense. I thought it would end with her marrying Ron, but then there was the ending.

Overall, this was well written. I liked the alternation from past to present, which, as I said kept me guessing. And I also thought you did a good job showing how Hermione came to love Draco, since I think considering canon, just saying it wouldn't be enough. That he left also seems rather plausible for his character.

I'm not the hugest fan of Dramione, but I think you managed to write a nice mix of drama and romance here, which was an interesting read. (Also, sorry it took me so long to get to this review).

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! :) I'm glad that, though you aren't a big Dramione fan, that you still found this interesting. I like that you were kept guessing because that's essentially what I was trying to do here! :) Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #6, by littlemissmb The Longest Walk of Her Life

26th April 2012:
i dont know if i can describe how much i loved this!
i wish so badly that there would be more!
even if its just a sequel!
:(
PLEASE? just a lil sequel??

Author's Response: There is a sequel! Just go to my Author's Page and look at "One Second Can Be A Lifetime".

Thanks so much for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by MercyWaters The Longest Walk of Her Life

16th April 2012:
Here from the Review Battle, once again. :)

I absolutely love this! It's incredibly realistic, none of the characters seem to be taken out of character. You get the emotion across beautifully and I love the scenes where Draco and Hermione are interacting with one another. They seemed so sweet with one another and the romantic aspect was written excellently. The flashbacks flowed well and didn't seem forced. They're nice and informative and give the sense of sadness and nostalgia Hermione surely must be feeling at the time of her wedding. I also liked the small little interaction she had with her father before walking down the aisle--it seemed real, not forced.

I only noticed one little typo. In the fourth paragraph you said "father lead daughter out from the doorway". I'm assuming this in the past tense, and if so, should be "father LED daughter". Other than that I didn't notice anything glaring when it came to grammar and spelling.

Once again, I cannot emphasize how much I enjoyed reading this. :) You're an excellent writer, and a wonderful Dramione writer. I'm most definitely going to go check out the sequel!

Bri xx

Author's Response: I am rather fond of this one-shot and so I am very happy that you enjoyed this! It's like having someone visit my house and enjoy their tea and the atmosphere, that's basically the same feeling.

Gah! I can't believe you found a typo! Do you know how many times I've gone over this story, how I've had it beta'd (I don't get beta'ing) and still you found that typo! I salute you!

Thank you for reading!


 Report Review

Review #8, by goddess faith The Longest Walk of Her Life

20th March 2012:
Oh wow. Just wow. I am still bawling my eyes out. That was amazing! Simply amazing! I am a huge Draco/Hermione shipper and I have read so many, but not one came close to that.

Everything about the story was perfect!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks for this! This is one of my own favorites so I'm glad you were able to enjoy it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by watchoutfornargles The Longest Walk of Her Life

10th March 2012:
This was bloody amazing. I usually don't like Draco/Hermione, but this was just awesome. I really wish it was longer than an one-shot, because I'm kind of left in suspense :P

Author's Response: Hee hee, I saw you found the sequel! So there, I fulfilled your wish! :) I'm glad you liked this, it's one of my dearest one-shots.

 Report Review

Review #10, by ravenclaw_slytherin The Longest Walk of Her Life

26th February 2012:
Wow! This is really amazing! I've always hated Dramione, and its cliches and immature drama, but this story made me a believer. This story is so unique: I love how it takes place on Hermione wedding day and then goes through flashbacks. The way you told two stories at once was very unique, and kept me, as the reader, engaged (no pun intended :D) from start to finish.

My favorite thing about this story is the characterization of both Draco and Hermione: they stay true to their characters as we know them from the books, but it's obvious that they've both matured and grown a lot since Deathly Hallows. One flaw that I've noticed in my limited experience reading Post-Hogwarts has been characterization: authors sometimes either have a character grow too much much so that they're unrecognizable, or grow too little so that they're unrealistic. I think you achieved a perfect balance in characterization, which really intrigued me throughout the story, as I wanted to learn more about the things that affected Draco and Hermione's character 8 years after DH.

I always loved your description: it was spot on and there was the perfect amount, so that I could imagine the scene precisely in my mind. Overall, 10/10 for an amazing story!

Author's Response: LOL "engaged". This is such a lovely review to read as it's been a while since this one-shot's been reviewed. This story is one of my faves (and I'm not even trying to be narcissistic! I genuinely like this)

I definitely worked on characterization here and I'm so happy to hear that it worked! It's how OOC Draco and Hermione can be that puts people off so I tried to remedy that here. Thank you for being so nice about it!

Oh, and as an aside, this story is actually my evil plot to convert Dramione-haters into believers. One more down, 2.1 million to go... :P

xChar


 Report Review

Review #11, by confusedlover The Longest Walk of Her Life

25th November 2011:
very lovely.

this was beautiful! i loved this one-shot so much. it was so well written and realistic. i could feel the tension and the true love that was present throughout the entire story. wonderful job. keep up the amazing writing!!! (:

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you found it to your liking :) I'm a sucker for true love

 Report Review

Review #12, by forsakenphoenix The Longest Walk of Her Life

8th October 2011:
If there's one pairing that I am completely iffy about reading - it's Dramiones, which is why I've skipped around on your author's page and read all the non-Dramiones you have written. So when I came here intent on reviewing another story, I found I had little choice in the matter and so, here I am.

And you know what? For a pairing that I find hard to swallow, mostly due to the ridiculous manner in which people pair them up, I adored this story. I think what helps is that this takes place so long after Hogwarts, that they've had time to grow up and to change, especially Malfoy. It's hard to picture them as a couple set during their Hogwarts years because of what we've seen of Draco's character, but I think after the war and living as adults, there's definitely room for maturation and to see people in a different light. That works for you here.

That instant connection between them is brilliant and their kiss? I could feel the fire burning, from that first spark to the blaze that consumed Hermione when their lips met. *fans self* Deliciously done.

I love how seamlessly you intertwined the flashbacks as she walked down the aisle towards Ron. I think it really gave us the opportunity to see how Draco and Hermione's relationship progressed and how they still struggled to come to grips with it, even years after Hogwarts and the war - they have to fight against the prejudice that had been so present in their younger years.

I definitely was NOT expecting Draco to object! But I liked it. I'm happy that he showed up and that Hermione could be with him. She seems happy with Ron, content, even, but she doesn't share the passion that was evident in her relationship with Draco. So for a non-Dramione shipper, I was rooting for them from the start.

As usual, your descriptions are fantastic too. I love the imagery at the beginning, especially. I love how you mentioned Hermione wearing "virginal white". You didn't say that she was just simply wearing white, but giving us the idea that she's this innocent, young woman though she's not. It's kind of like a rebirth, you know? I'm not sure if that makes any sense...

Anyway, I don't think I'll be a die-hard Dramione shipper but I'm definitely a bit more open-minded to the relationship, especially if they're all as well-written and executed as exceptionally as this. Well done. :)

Author's Response: Ohhh, look at you! Liking some Dramione! :) I'm so happy that my evil plan to convert everyone to worship the Dramione idol!!! MWAHAHAHAHA!

*cough* Excuse me.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this here story and appreciate it for the amount of time and love I put into it. I'm so happy to have found that you enjoyed my descriptions and writing as I have great admiration for yours! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Mrs Roonil Waslib The Longest Walk of Her Life

1st October 2011:
This is wonderful :) I quite like it as is, although reading it's sequel is great to get an understanding of the background. Love it!! Your description and diction is perfection.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading! It sounds like you read the sequel prior to reading this and it definitely explains more there. I think though that this one shot carries its own :) Thank you for your lovely words!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Coley The Longest Walk of Her Life

27th September 2011:
Holy bejesus, that was incredible! (bejesus is totally a word :P)

That was so fantastically written and the flashback scenes were brilliant. :) Can you tell I'm just going to gush this whole entire review? ;)

The flow was wonderful, and the flashbacks slotted in perfectly. I'm not one for Dramione's, but the characterisation of them both, Draco and Hermione, just seemed so fitting, albeit slightly OOC for nonetheless amazing!

It was so sad when you were describing in the flashback about Draco proposing and then never coming back, I was quite devastated. But, at the end, when he comes back, I went a little fangirl-ish and I might have squee'd just a little.

SEQUEL!?!?! Yay!

I'm sorry that this wasted very informative, just telling you how awesome you are ;)

Nicole

Author's Response: I agree "bejesus" should be stuck right there in the dictionary!

And WOW thank you so much for your lovely review :) Of course as a humble author, I must say that these words are too much for me (not) :P Even despite the fact that you aren't a Dramioner I'm so happy you got to enjoy this bit!

And squeeing is completely acceptable to Draco's entrance! :) :)

Thanks, Nicole!

xChar


 Report Review

Review #15, by emylee94 The Longest Walk of Her Life

16th September 2011:
My, my, my. I love your writing. It has a nice flow to it. Draco and Hermione would obviously never be together but this story made it believable and it's not that cliche.

Author's Response: Thanks! Even despite the fact you don't quite ship Dramione it's good to know that you found this believable! And your lovely comment on my writing: smiles

xChar


 Report Review

Review #16, by June Knight The Longest Walk of Her Life

15th September 2011:
*faints*

That was so beautiful, I have tears in my eyes. I have absolutly nothing bad to say about that writing, it was truly amazing,'m speechless!

*controls tears*

Okay, I found no spelling or grammar errors and the writing just flowed beautifully of the page. It seemed really short, but I was over 3000 words long, but for the feeling of it's shortness, it was tuly outstanding.

I couldn't stop reading or ever bare to drag my eyes away from the page. I loved it and I really want more.

June Knight
Ravenclaw

Author's Response: ::fans you:: I hope you'll recover your sense soon. I know that I wrote this to break people's hearts and that it worked at times but no need to harm yourself in the process :)

Thank you so much for reading this and thinking so highly of it! Lucky for you, the story actually didn't end here as I wrote the sequel (on my author page) - One Second Can Be a Lifetime. So here I am satisfying your demand for more!

Thank you for taking the time to review this as part of our 'Claw battle! :)

xChar


 Report Review

Review #17, by Loving_Sirius_4eva The Longest Walk of Her Life

10th September 2011:
Wow! This was amazingly well writtened. I really loved it and can't wait to read the sequel :) 10/10

Author's Response: Heya!! Thanks so much!!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Catherine The Longest Walk of Her Life

10th September 2011:
Oh my god. this is amazing

Author's Response: ::happy dance:: :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Lilli The Longest Walk of Her Life

10th September 2011:
So heartbreaking and tender! Poor, poor Ron . . . and the rest. This was so sweet!

Author's Response: :) ::beams:: thanks!

 Report Review

Review #20, by loveHP47 The Longest Walk of Her Life

10th September 2011:
ohmigod. this is wonderful in every way.

Author's Response: hee hee, you couldn't breath between "OH my God" :) Thanks for looking at this!

 Report Review

Review #21, by thelovinspoonful The Longest Walk of Her Life

16th August 2011:
You know, I usually avoid D/H like the plague, but this was wonderfully well written. The flashbacks were cohesive, and at the same time, distant enough that it seems quite real that Hermione is remembering these little flashes as she's making her way down the aisle with her father. Ron's a doll - perfect, really - because the way you've written him is just about as IC as it gets. The nerd in me loved Hermione's dad's nervous crack about her teeth (though I wonder why he wasn't so concerned when he shipped her off to Hogwarts with buckteeth, I guess hindsight is 20/20). And Draco, while not the canon Draco we know, is quite believable. (Though it would be nice to know his motivation for change, but I guess a church aisle is only so long, and this story's about Hermione anyway.) The romantic sap in me loved the ending, and its build up. Finally, your imagery and tone are fantastic and meloncholy without being all "slit my wrist" angsty. My favorite line, by far was perhaps: "The silence rang in her ears. His absence more damning than had he been standing there in front of her telling her he didnít love her." Gorgeous little fic!

Author's Response: Wow. I don't even know how you came across this story if you're such a DHr-avoider! :)

Very happy that the flashbacks are not out of place and that they go with the flow.

Though I write Dramione, I definitely pay my respects to Romione and the true Ron character. I can't ever write him as a bad person!

Hee hee, I'm glad you got a kick out of the dentist thing. That seemed like a total dad thing to say! Yeah, agreed on buckteeth thing...oh well.

I did end up writing a sequel to this one so you could check it out *cough, cough* not like I'm looking for more reviews or anything.

Thank you so much for your whole review!!


 Report Review

Review #22, by DracoFerret11 The Longest Walk of Her Life

9th August 2011:
Oh my gosh! This is brilliant! This is going into my favorites in a moment. I love it!

Really wonderful job. Really, really touching. I loved reading about Hermione and Draco falling in love and I could really feel all of her emotions as she prepared to marry Ron.

I'm in love with the line "about to marry the wrong man for the right reasons." So, so amazing. It really tied the whole story together.

I can't wait to hear what Draco has to say for himself and see how everyone reacts.

This was truly flawless. Well done!

--Emily

Author's Response: Thank you very much for this!! That line was actually the FIRST line that came to my mind for this fic so it's quite amazing how you chose it as a line to love.

I'm very happy that you loved this!


 Report Review

Review #23, by NaidatheRavenclaw The Longest Walk of Her Life

6th August 2011:
The way you wrote that was absolutely gorgeous. The descriptions and romance in it was super. I loved the way you described their relationship. It was so intense, and just the imagery in those areas was like magic.

I have to confess that I don't like Dramione. I usually can't stand it. But this, I actually liked. I may not support the ship, but the way you wrote this one shot was amazing. So while it was Dramione, I actually really liked the story and especially the imagery and emotion you put into it.

A really good job on this!
-NaidatheRavenclaw, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I'm so happy that I could get you to like SOMETHING Dramione!

Such lovely words and thank you so much for this review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by slytherangoddess The Longest Walk of Her Life

6th August 2011:
That. Was. AMAZING. absolutely breathtaking. Indeed the walk to the alter will always be the longest walk of a girls life, but you made it so wonderful.

it would be GREAT to have a sequel to this and find out where he had been in the last year (almost a year lol)

honestly, this story was amazing! I'm so glad I stumbled upon it :D

~*~Slytherangoddess~*~
slytherin

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review!

There is a sequel! Which I saw you found! :) Yay!


 Report Review

Review #25, by DahliasQuill The Longest Walk of Her Life

6th July 2011:
Amazing! Simply beautiful.

Author's Response: Thanks! :) :) ^_^ Love that people are still reading and reviewing it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>