Reading Reviews for Inches
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pretense Of Perfection Bridging the gap

8th July 2014:
Hello there!

This was a sweet, fluffy little story. Typically not the type I read, but it was quite enjoyable non the less.

I like how you sort of changed it up slightly, it adds an interesting and unique twist to a canon moment, as well as deeply personal insight from Ron.

I think anyone who has ever been in love can relate well to this story, having just sat there and watched someone you love sleep. I think Ron' worry and apprehension about holding her hand are just too cute, and surprisingly in character for him.

You did a wonderful job incorporating his past memory about her falling asleep in the common room. I also particularly liked the intensity of emotions he's feeling, and the hope for a better future where he can grab her hand and not have to worry about anything other than his feelings for her and hers for him.

You did well in just 500 words, it really was sweet and to the point. I think you managed to capture the perfect glimpse of the earlier stages of their relationship with one another in this story.

I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors, and the pacing was perfect. Great job, and I'll definitely have to check out some more of your work!!

---House Cup 2014 Review---
Pretense of perfection, Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #2, by Bea Anon Bridging the gap

15th July 2012:
Not usually a fan of ron/hermione pairing even tho its following the book, but I really enjoyed this one shot :) even though you posted these a while ago, I admire your work! Keep up the amazing work :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #3, by BambiScott Bridging the gap

2nd April 2012:
OMG this was so great. I dont really read much of this couple but this Ron made me want to!

 Report Review

Review #4, by goldengrass Bridging the gap

10th January 2012:
Definitely up there with my favourite Ronmione one shots!
I was having a rather bad day until I stumbled across this adorable story, so thankyou for that :)
x

 Report Review

Review #5, by Marie Bridging the gap

6th January 2012:
Aw, what a cute story! When that one line was in the book, I imagined similar to what you have put down here! Loved it.

 Report Review

Review #6, by alwaysthetoneofsurprise Bridging the gap

5th January 2012:
I have no words for this. It's just absolutely beautiful. You are an amazing writer. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by S.D1998 Bridging the gap

16th August 2011:
WOW the best of the holding hands story line I have ever read

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne Bridging the gap

14th August 2011:
This is just such a cute one shot, I really enjoyed this. Ron is so sweet in this, I wonder if he knew then that he loved her? I think he might of from the way he was looking and thinking about her.
I like your take on this moment and I loved how it was just Ron reaching for her before he went to sleep, rather then both holding hands before sleeping. It's not often you see Ron like this and I really enjoyed it.
You wrote this brilliantly and it flowed so well

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: I like to think he knew he loved her - or at least something very close. Ron isn't as lame as so many people seem to think he is. :-P

I did like putting a different spin on this little moment. It brings out a whole different level of emotions.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Akussa Bridging the gap

10th August 2011:
Hello dearest!

This was such a sweet heartwarming story. I just love how you put words on Ron's difficult feelings (I hardly think he would have been able to do it himself!!) and show how much his love has matured.

I like the idea that Harry might have gotten the wrong idea about what had happened the night before. Sure, more than these two, Harry knows how they relly feel about each other but it was nice to imagine that Ron might be getting a clearer idea as well. His infatuation was lovely and so believable. Oh the number of nights I spent looking at my boyfriend sleep next to me; just looking at him because for once, I had all the time in the world to do it. It is one of the best feeling in the world, isn't it?

I really loved this little glimpse and especially to have it from Ron's point of view. Great, wonderfully poetic story, I loved it!

Akussa (Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Thank you! I agree, Ron's feelings are somewhat difficult to write - he's my favorite character, and I think I understand him pretty well, and I love writing him, but when it gets down to the actual emotions and thoughts in his head, it's hard to articulate them without coming off as unrealistic.

I'm glad you could relate in a way - I was worried at first that this fic would just come off as totally creepy (a la Edward-watching-Bella-sleeping-creepiness). But I'm glad you enjoyed this. :-)

Thanks so much for this great review!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheNumber12 Bridging the gap

20th June 2011:
This is absolutly precious! Sure it's a great big pile of fluff, but I can overlook that because you seem to be writting from right inside the character's heads. I honestly BELIEVE that this is what Ron would think if he had an oportunity to hold her hand. It's like you took all the thinks JKR put between the lines and wrote it down for the rest of us to enjoy.

Thanks for the wonderful little delight!

Author's Response: Fluff, fluff, fluffity fluff. I do love me some fluff and am not really ashamed to write it. :-)

I am glad to know you enjoyed this and found it believable. Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Sincerely_Snape Bridging the gap

4th April 2011:
I love this take so much more than what Harry believed might have happened. Brilliant once again.

Author's Response: Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by HarrietHopkirk Bridging the gap

26th February 2011:
I love this: really, really moving, really, really well written and just gorgeous. 10/10.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #13, by girly1393 Bridging the gap

13th February 2011:
That really was wonderful; it was so gentle. I could see Ron's indecision, his slightly twitching hand as he tried to figure out what to do.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Thank you muchly! So glad you liked it!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by lilypotterfan123 Bridging the gap

1st February 2011:
Wow that was amazing, I loved the characterisation of Rom it ws perfect! I loved everything about it, especially the fact that you have proved it is quality not quantity! I like how you brought back memories and how Ron was hoping to be able to hold her hand properly one day. So sweet!

LpF123 xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much. These 500-word challenges are fun to do, because it really is challenging and it's also good for when you have an idea that wouldn't play out well as a long fic. Thanks for reading!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #15, by baletgir Bridging the gap

17th January 2011:
So sweet! I love this softer side of Ron. It was so adorable. And your writing was beautiful. It flowed so well from moment to thought. I really felt as if I was inside Ron's head. Great Job!
:)BaletGir

Author's Response: Thank you! I really appreciate it. :-)

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #16, by Indigo Seas Bridging the gap

9th January 2011:
I'm always a sucker for a good Ron/Hermione, and this lovely little one-shot was definitely no exception!

You write Ron so incredibly well. And I mean that. I, at least, find him hard to write because I'm always afraid I'll screw him up and people will throw eggs at my house because he's OOC, but you... you have this confidence when you write him that I can't ignore. :) It's lovely. And he's definitely in character and just as adorable as he is in the books, which is even more lovely.

Your premise is also really, really good. So heart warming. I like the fact that you didn't just take the quote and turn it into a story where they DID fall asleep holding hands, but instead put your own little spin on it while it could still be considered canon. I loved it. Every single adorable bit of it.

This was lovely. And did I mention how gorgeous it was? Lovely and gorgeous.

xx Rin

Author's Response: Thank you, Rin! I'm glad you think I write Ron well - he is one of my favorites to write, but it can be difficult keeping him in character when you want to write something kind of emotional like this. I was so worried it would come out too sappy for him. (And pshaw, like anyone would ever egg your house over anything you write!) XD

I like to thing that they DID fall asleep holding hands, but I figured this other version was something a lot of people probably hadn't considered before.

Thank you again! xoxo

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #17, by irisa_storm Bridging the gap

17th December 2010:
loved it. Its a great idea. I love how you depicted ron. I've rarely read rons point of veiw. In the books you hear harrys thoughts and reactions. I've always just felt like theres this thin veil over ron that you can't quite get through, like hes guared or something. Its good to see ron with his defences down

Author's Response: I do agree, for all his outbursts, he is quite a guarded person, definitely insecure. I enjoy writing him and digging into his head. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by SnitchSnatcher Bridging the gap

5th December 2010:
Oh my God, Melanie, this is so perfect!

I was literally squealing with joy the entire way through. There are very few authors who can capture Ron's sensitive side, yet still keep him in character quite like you do.

It was so adorable and definitely puts a new spin on the situation, though I still like to think that they did hold hands and whisper to each other and just love each other oh so sweetly.

Still, great fic and such a wonderful piece to read after being away for so many months. I loved it!

♥ ♥

Molly

 Report Review

Review #19, by Cedrics Blueyed Girl Bridging the gap

27th November 2010:
Mel!!! This was so sweet :) I have fallen in love with Ron/Hermione since seeing Deathly Hallows, and when I saw you'd written this, I got very excited! It was, as expected, wonderful. You never fail to live up to my expectations, dear.

And can I just say, I'm amazed that you managed to make the 500 word challenge. I feel like I would never be able to end up with the right amount, I'd have either more or less. And I am always loathe to add or subtract from my own work, because I always feel like it would hurt the piece if I changed anything. Which probably explains why I have so far to go in my quest for successful writing...but that aside, good job!

I really loved this, dear, it put a smile on my face for sure!

~Alex

 Report Review

Review #20, by Ron_Hermione_Forever_246 Bridging the gap

26th November 2010:
Wow. I honestly don't even know what to say aside from 'wow'. That was captivating, breathtaking, touching, and so very tender. I loved it.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Cassidy Bridging the gap

6th November 2010:
Lovely. [:
You do a very good job of staying in character and I love your writing style. Kudos. :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by theelderwand Bridging the gap

9th October 2010:
What a brilliant take on this moment in DH. And, I'm glad I dropped by your page and saw you were still writing.

Mel, I thought this was excellent. The way you've got into Ron's head here was brilliant. Also, I thought the twist on DH you took here fit very well, better even than Harry's assumption that they had fallen asleep holding hands.

Great stuff.

Eldy

Author's Response: Thanks Eldy!!

Yes, I am still in here somewhere, writing occasionally. Haven't written for weeks, though. -shakes angry fist at grown-up job-

This was just something that popped into my head. I felt the need to write some R/Hr fluff...considering how much I love them I really don't write them very much! Possibly it's because I feel that JKR did a more than sufficient job. ^_^ But anyway, I thought, hmm, what if Harry's assumption was wrong? How cute and slightly sad! And it allowed me to take a different approach to something from the book, which is always fun to do.

Thanks for stopping by! Miss ya!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #23, by thehyacinthgirl Bridging the gap

22nd September 2010:
Mel, this is wonderful!

I don't know if anyone knows that I'm a Ron/Hermione fangirl. (I'm too busy crowing about Victoire/Teddy, methinks.) Anyway, this was beautifully pulled off.

I can easily see this as fitting in with the canon.

Despite it's length it seems to speak volumes about the emotions of Ron, and I love that. Not many people seem to give him emotions in fics. Either they make him out to be a stupid troll or they use him for comic relief. So I really enjoy that you gave him a personality outside of both of those things.

Somehow Ron watching Hermione sleep isn't creepy at all. It's so sweet, wistful, and romantic. (Unlike when Edward does that to Bella because that's just plain creepy. . . )

Your descriptions were quite nice for a piece of this length, especially. :)

I also love that there were no words spoken in this story. So often in pieces with Ron there is a myriad of verbal detritus. I'm glad to see none of that here.

I also adore how you give us a peek into his psyche. A small glimpse, but an observation none-the-less.

Anyway, this was a great little one-shot!

Lovely job!


Linders

Author's Response: Thank you, Linda! (Go R/Hr fangirls! Wheee!)

I have to say, I love Ron as comic relief, and I do enjoy the fact that he acts slightly like a clueless dork sometimes, but I agree that the majority of fanfic writers are very unfair to him. I think he is such a deep character, in terms of his emotions and insecurities and just his overall personality, and I like exploring his mind.

I AM SO GLAD IT DIDN'T COME OFF CREEPY. Seriously. I was worried people would think he was a creeper...or I was...either way, I hoped this would have the right effect, and thankfully it did. XD I mean, really, the way I saw it, it's the only time he can just look at her without having to feel embarrassed or worry someone's going to figure out what's really going on in his mind.

Thanks again! I'm really glad you enjoyed this little drabbly thing. ^_^

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #24, by HarrietHopkirk Bridging the gap

19th September 2010:
I am logged in, but for some reason it won't work. But here I am.

Oh my days, I really truly love this one-shot.

Author's Response: Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #25, by momotwins Bridging the gap

15th September 2010:
*sighs romantically* That was so sweet, and wistful, and just all-around lovely. I like that they weren't actually holding hands, it's more fitting for their characters at that point, and it has such a great air of tentativeness from Ron to set the scene this way. Simply wonderful!

Author's Response: Naw, thank you. :-D I liked taking a different spin on what was suggested in the book...though in a way, I like the idea of them holding hands even more...but like you pointed out, it almost seems more realistic this way. I guess it was best JKR left it so open to interpretation. XD

Thanks again!!

Melanie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>