Reading Reviews for Like Coming Home
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by The Empress Like Coming Home

28th December 2012:
*squishes* I love Remus. Reading things like this make me want to just hug him and hug him. He's easily my favorite Marauder. Ainsley is an interesting character. Even in this short story she comes across really clearly and I feel as if I know her. That last sentence is so sweet it breaks my heart. What an enchanting story. Love it!
xoxo

Author's Response: Remus is my favorite, too! Which is exactly why I write about him so much. I'm really glad Ainsley came across well in this, because that's my main fear about one-shots with OCs. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Kristina1990 Like Coming Home

27th November 2012:
I only really have one word for this: Cute. :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by May_Diggory_Weasley Like Coming Home

1st September 2011:
Aaaw, how cute! So sweet how she took it with Remus. plus ainsley is an awesome name! And I love the description of Hufflepuff common room... its missing from the books! 10! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! This was one of my favorite one-shots to write. I'm hoping that possibly my description of the Hufflepuff common room was somewhat true, considering that Hufflepuffs on Pottermore will know for sure. I love the name Ainsley, too. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by IwRiTe4mE Like Coming Home

8th August 2011:
Oh my. At the moment, I'm trying to think of what to say while trying to hold back a few tears, too. This was just a brilliant story. It was beautifully written, the characterization was nice, and it had a perfect flow to it. I am so glad I came across your Author's Page. Every time I smell something that reminds of something, I'm pretty sure I'll remember this story. Heck, every time I smell trail mix, I will. Odd, I know. It just so happens that I have trail on the table next to me though.
~Kat
(Kat1394 - Gryffindor)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it that much! I had a lot of fun writing this one. That's exactly how the memory works. You thinking of this every time you smell trail mix because it was on the table while you read this is an excellent example. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by PrincessMoony Like Coming Home

2nd July 2011:
I ADORE THIS ONE SHOT!:) i love the description of the Hufflepuff common room and also the way Lupin falls in love!:) it is so cute this story deserves millions of reviews... i may just have to log out and give it another 1!:)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I really adored writing it. Remus is my favorite character and it was great getting to explore a bit of his last year of Hogwarts. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Kaida_Snape Like Coming Home

25th February 2011:
Oh that was adorable! Here I was thinking it was going to have a different ending than the book, and you went and proved me wrong!

I really liked it a lot! I almost wish there was more. It was really well written.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! I didn't want to change canon, but I also didn't want them to end on a bad note. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by ClearCutDiamonds Like Coming Home

23rd December 2010:
This was so beautifully written! I very much liked the bittersweet ending. I like the idea that the people we loved never truly leave our hearts. I haven't read many Marauder-era stories centered on Remus, but I really loved reading this! The whole sense of smell in forming memories was a nice touch to the story. The flow of the story was also really good and how you tied everything together at the end. I hate sad endings, but this one was bittersweet, and really well done.

Merry Christmas!

Amanda

Author's Response: I like that idea, too. I really like the idea of how two people can drift apart, but still have a special place for the other in their heart, yet still move on to other parts of their lives. I've found that Remus-centric Marauders fics are hard to come by and they're definitely my favorite stories. So glad you liked this! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jen Like Coming Home

15th October 2010:
Just re-read it (I was having withdrawals waiting for a new chapter lol) and got all teary-eyed again.
I have just recently seen pictures of my first boyfriend - it's 18 years since we split. He's married with a baby girl and it felt really good to see him happy. You captured that feeling very well I think.
Also - the smells... I only recently discovered that the smell I have always associated with my grandmother is Taft hairspray! lol
Well done again. I really love this piece.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it again! Smells definitely bring back memories. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Blaze Like Coming Home

26th September 2010:
I know its been a long time since I last reviewed (a few months) but I've been real busy with holiday first and then starting A levels... sorry.

But i've still been reading and I read this ages ago (its really good!) but its just that you havn't updated in ages and its driving me crazy that you've disappeard.

Author's Response: I completely understand. School is always insanely busy. It's the reason I seem to have disappeared! I'm hoping to get a chapter up before NaNo starts in a month. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Liana Like Coming Home

5th September 2010:
Reading this story made me think back to my past boyfriends and smile. I thought back to a younger me and of other young people who take the world so seriously, declaring their love, and vowing that nothing would break you apart. I remember how we believed that there was no way adults knew what they were talking aabout--couldn't they see how strong our love was? About two years after that I met someone new whom I married and had three children with. I was able to smile because I was so naive. Now I'm old and jaded and a lot happier:D Great story.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad the chapter made you reminisce! So glad you had a happy ending. Hopefully Amy will as well. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Luke Like Coming Home

2nd September 2010:
That was beautifully written, I'm usually not a sucker for Romantic pieces but that was really good. I loved the descriptions of the food and all the little simple things that you placed like the hufflepuff common room in the story to make you go "Aww" and just really put that touch on the story that made it really sweet. To be honest I don't really have anything to compare this too because I usually scoff when I hear a romance poem or read a soppy romance book. And thats why I loved this little story because I didn't scoff instead I went "Aww - Thats Sweet." Because (Correct me if I'm wrong) this little story is as much a romance little fic as it is a story about how Remus as a werewolf is finally trusting people and how it does pay off to trust people which did take it away from being the standard soppy romance story to something I thought was much more meaningful. I loved the ending, it was almost tragic as we read about how Remus and Ainsley grew apart and how Ainsley would always have the special spot in her heart for him. To be honest I find myself cursing JK Rowling for making Lupin find Tonks because I wanted them to work out. All in all you did really well. The characterisation was great and I loved how Ainsley was more then just a 5th Marauder who knew everything. I loved the little descriptions you put in and I loved how it was more then a soppy romance piece but a story of Trust, Love and growing apart. The one thing I don't like: I just liked a romance piece. Brilliant Work 10/10

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I don't usually write romance. So glad you liked all the descriptions. Description and characterization were what I was going for here.

You're right. It is as much romance as it is a story about Remus trusting people. I can't write a strictly romantic piece. I just always have to put something else into my pieces.

I'm glad you liked the ending. I did not want them to wind up together because I'm a big canon person and Remus/Tonks is my favorite ship of all time. It was definitely tragic how they grew apart, though, because it was all due to the war.

I don't like the 5th Marauder type stories so I'm glad you didn't think of this as one. I'm so glad that you liked this! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by lia_2390 Like Coming Home

21st August 2010:
Hiya Gryffin_Duck!

You did a fantastic job with setting the scene of the common rooms and then with the room of requirement. Honestly, were I in Hufflepuff, I'd feel tortured with all those scents of food all the time. I love the feel of this story, very retrospective and as if I should be sitting down at a bar with a drink in one hand talking to a stranger about my school days and this one boy.

I liked the relationship between Remus and Ainsley. It's good that for all his troubles, he had a decent steady girlfriend who stuck by him. You wrote teenage-Remus really well, caring and sweet just like his adult self.

I also liked how you made use of the sense of smell and memory. It sort of tied everything together in the end when Ainsley was talking about what happened to Remus and the family she has now. I really could see her getting all carried away and forgetting what she had in the oven. And I'm glad they parted on friendly terms too.


Lia.

Author's Response: Hi Lia! I'm glad you liked the way I described the Hufflepuff common room. It just came to me while I was writing that the place should smell like the kitchens. I'm glad you liked the feel of it because it was something I wasn't sure about.

Aw, I'm glad you liked their relationship. It was tricky because I was trying to avoid the usual Remus/OC cliches.

When I wrote it, I wasn't even sure how I was going to tie in the beginning bit about smell and memory but then I realized I could just have the entire thing a memory. I didn't want them to have a messy breakup, either. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jen Like Coming Home

19th August 2010:
Beautiful. I love when you write stories about Remus. :)

Author's Response: I love writing them! So glad you enjoyed this. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by CornishPixie Like Coming Home

18th August 2010:
What a sweet story!

Honestly, if I could replicate the Hufflepuff common room in my house, I would do it too. Maybe that's why I immediately felt like I could understand this woman, whoever she was. And when we do eventually meet her, she fits with Remus in a very real and probable way. Usually when you come across a story that mentions a marauder's girlfriend, she's very tight with the group and finds things out in very cliche ways. The way you've done it, and even though it only is a one-shot, does not seem very cliche at all. It just seems very possible.

I adored the mention of how the smell of food brings back her memories! Smell can definitely trigger memories—skunk smell reminds me of going to camp as a kid, which is gross, but oh well—and the Hufflepuff common room IS right by the kitchens, so that works very very well! I also really appreciated that you didn't turn it completely AU. It's VERY realistic that they grew apart because of different attitudes or whatever about the war. And I'm glad that Remus still married Tonks and stuff.

Basically, I appreciate the thought put into this story. You made it your own, but as close fitting as you could to something that might really have happened. Thank you for the sweet read!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I would replicate the Gryffindor common room in my house if I could. Actually, I know of someone who did that. They've got the other common rooms in their house as well. I've never met them, but I know people who have.

I've always wanted to write a Remus/OC story but I've always been afraid of stepping into the Marauder-girlfriend cliche. I wanted to write something that I would actually read, because I'm incredibly picky about Marauders era. I didn't want the girl to be tight with the group and I'm very glad it didn't seem that way! I was also really afraid of making her find out about Remus's lycanthropy in a cliched way because technically it never would have happened in canon. Very glad you think I did a good job with it!

I'm glad you liked the smell of food and memories thing. Smell really is the number one sense associated with memories (haha, my psychology majorness is showing). It just randomly occurred to me that the Hufflepuff common room would probably smell like the kitchens.

I didn't want to go AU because I'm such a stickler for canon. Nor did I want them to actually break up before graduation, so I decided to briefly mention how they grew apart. I adore Remus/Tonks, so I couldn't negate that! So glad that it's realistic!

I'm very happy that you enjoyed this. It's definitely something different from what I usually write. I'm actually going to continue it in a novel and chronicle what happens after graduation right up until James and Lily's deaths, if you're interested! Not sure when it'll be up, though. Thanks so much for reading and for this lovely review! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login