Reading Reviews for She's Sitting Down Now
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jchrissy Waiting

17th December 2012:
I just realized when looking around at what I wanted to read on your page, I've read at least half the stories!

Anyway, you know by all my gushyness on WAT how much I love the Weasleys. And this story, sad as it may be, about Molly and Arthur was absolutely beautiful.

The style you wrote it in... the way that every moment with the healer moved forward, getting closer and closer to telling her the news, and the way that the memories went backwards, taking her father from that office... it was such a perfect style and these are the times I just want to bottle up your talent and keep it. I'll be like the evil woman on The Little Mermaid who takes Ariel's voice. Except I'll take your talent and won't promise you legs to meet your sexy future husband.. hmm. This isn't sounding like a good deal on your part :P

Anyway, the first memory of him tinkering with the pipe, I was afraid you were going to show him falling or something and we'd know that soon what happened, so I was really happy when you left it at a back spasm and continued the mixture of reality and memories.

I never thought too much on exactly what Molly was feeling when she realized her youngest son and his two best friends were gone. But I think you've written it so well here it could have slipped in teh seventh book and no one would know it wasn't JKR. The way they both reacted, the methodical way Molly searched for her children one after another, was just perfect. And then that moment with her and Arthur when she tells him that they aren't there ;(.

Ahh the way you're giving us just a few lines of relativity before blocking back out to the memory is perfect. It really makes me feel like I could be Molly, sitting there... trying so hard to believe that if I don't hear anything and tune it out it can't be real..

The 'I'm pregnant' memory and the proposal memory are absolutely precious. It just makes the end result of this piece so much more heart breaking and gah I just want to cry for her :(.

I loved that you showed just how excited they were about the baby that a cake got burnt. Now that takes some serious distraction for Mrs. Weasley to burn a cake.. I wonder just what they were up to... ;). Just kidding, I know exactly what they were up to.

A stroke :(. Something so human, so plain... after living through years of dark wizards, being bitten by a poisonous snake.. and a stroke does him in :(. It's such a muggle death, but I think that was probably perfect for Arthur. And at least Molly has all of her family to lean on ♥ But you made my heart get all breaky and I hate the idea of one of one of them living without another :(

This was absolutely gorgeous, Melissa. Your choice of style, the forwards competing with backwards, and italicizing the memories.. it all went to creating such an emotional piece. Awesome, awesome one shot ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by Santa Claws Waiting

14th December 2012:
Now, first I have to say that I can spell Santa claus and instead am aiming for a slightly witty attempt at revealing that I am your Ravenclaw secret santa, but as I'm sure I just come across as someone who is spellingly-challenged I thought I'd make myself explicit. I know it sort of ruins the effect, but if you pretend this part of the review never happened then we can both move on.

Hullo! I was going to leave you a review for each day during advent, but after realising the site was going to be down it came to my attention that there'd be a lack of continuity which would upset me, so AFTER the site is back up and running smoothly... get excited for your daily dose of reviewage!

So, after that rather pointless introduction I'll now get to the important bit here - your story.

My favourite sorts of stories are the ones where I come away wanting to continue writing for a few more thousands words and what not because you have invoked the feels and, Mel, this definitely makes me want to write write write. All the lovely little snippets of their marriage were just beautiful and had me on the edge of my seat (well, I'm sat on the floor but you get the idea) going 'nononononononono, he can't be dead he can't he can't' but because of the lovely way you structured the thing I knew it was coming just as much as Molly did, and then and and and THEN Mel all the bits about thinking he should sit down was just ack ack ack ack, my Weasley feels are multiplying like the actual weasleys.

THIS Good news is preceded by better kisses. was one of the better and more lovely examples of how great you are and how much your description makes me all drooly (that's a compliment). And the proposal was just SO adorbs that I need to be put in the fridge to re-solidify after all the melting.

(I'm not sure when this review got so... weird so I am sorry for that. Sleep deprivation, you know)

Ack. You write such lovely shippy things and I really wish there was more of this to sink my teeth into.

So basically, I loved this and it was absolutely lovely. I'm sorry the first installment of your gift isn't as exciting as I wanted it to be, but I got all caught up with time and what not. BUT THERE ARE MORE COMING I PROMISE YOU.

Thank you for writing and happy December 14th!

Sincerely,

SantaClaws

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ginger Lust Waiting

29th September 2012:
Wow. Such a beautiful story. I cried. I, also, love this pairing. They're perfect for each other. And they show that forever love is very possible to their children. So one can see Ron and Hermione, Ginny and Harry ( and the rest of the Weasley clan) staying together forever also.
But how sad also. Having really grown to know the Weasley elders, I can't image Molly being without her Arthur.

Author's Response: -passes tissue- I'm sorry I made you cry, but at the same time I'm not. ^_^ Molly and Arthur are the bees knees, and are one of my favorite model couples in literature. The entire Weasley family unit works and is so wonderful b/c of them. Thank you so, so much for your review!! It really made my day.

 Report Review

Review #4, by lizmusic45 Waiting

13th June 2012:
Oh my gosh this was so perfect and wonderful and beautiful and so lovely, and so nice, and I want to hug Molly and cry at the same time, I...love this so much, this was so perfect.

Your writing is breathtaking, your writing is perfect, you writing is just...is amazing and brilliant, and wonderful.

This was so, so, so, good.

Lizzie

Author's Response: thank you so much, Liz! Your compliments are so sweet.

 Report Review

Review #5, by ChoS_sista_gurl Waiting

27th May 2012:
Hey Witness, I came by to see what you've been up to =] I'd never read Arthur/Molly before, but I'm so glad I decided to give this a try! The theme is so unique and your little flashbacks of the couple are truly touching.

Author's Response: Baww. I'm glad to see a review from you!! This one shot is a bit older, but it's still one of my favorites. I'm glad you liked this story.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #6, by GubraithianFire Waiting

31st July 2011:
Mel. MEL. How am I supposed to enjoy something this sad? (cry) (cry) (cry) (You're free to imagine whatever version of a crying smiley you wish! Democracy!)

SAD. Did you know that when our queen JKR was writing the fifth book, she was originally going to kill Arthur? Of course then the whole veil thing happened and Sirius died instead (moar creys), but the important thing was that Arthur was safe. Arthur was safe, and alive, and survived countless attacks and war. Which means he isn't supposed to die, dammit. Can you imagine the deluge of crazy Arthur Weasley fan mail she would have gotten if she killed Arthur? Can you imagine the rants and the tears and the begging please rewrite that scene KILL HARRY INSTEAD JUST GIVE ME ARTHUR NAO letters?

Yeah, well, imagine them directed at you.

ALL THE SAD IN THE WORLD.

Brb, going to find something happy because now I'm depressed (although the smallest bit cheered by the happy life we got a peek into).

Ooh, maybe a heart will help! ♥

(... Okay, that did kind of help. BUT NOT MUCH.)

Author's Response: Gubby. Gubbeh. Democracy.

I did know that. Molly and Arthur are like my mould for a happy couple and family. Writing this made me so sad imagining it, that I hope it came through in my writing. I'm sorry I depressed you, love. But I really appreciate the review. And here's a heart for you. ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by lauraf68 Waiting

24th August 2010:
Very Lovely personification of Weasley love, you captured the Molly and Arthur I see in my mind. Thank You for a wonderful, although sad (**sniff**). ~Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thank you for this review! I'm very glad that you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Rose_Weasley123 Waiting

17th August 2010:
Melissa! This was... well, this was just AMAZING. How do you write like that? If my parents weren't here at the moment, I'd be in floods of tears. I've always loved the Arthur/Molly pairing, and you did it such justice. Their love shone through in every word, if that makes sense and doesn't sound too cheesy! And the whole time, I guessed what might be happening, but I REALLY hoped it wasn't true. Molly and Arthur were beautifully characterised - I love the small touches, like calling the television the 'Tellyfission'. And I loved the range of emotions in the flashbacks. I just loved it all!

You're doing the Cannons proud - this is just. wo :D. And since your story has reduced me to a rambling nonsense-speaker, I think I'll go now!

Author's Response: Becca, thank you so much for this review. It really made my night. I'm not sure exactly what 'that' is, so I'm not sure how I write like it. :P I'm glad it's a sad fic, the entire time I was writing it, I was nervous that the emotion wouldn't feel real enough. Afterall, it's Molly and Arthur. I'm also glad to hear that the difference in emotions present in the flashbacks shone through. I tried hard to select scenes that showed the expanse of their relationsip as well as showcased different situations where the catch phrase could be ues.

Again, thank you so much Becca. :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by padfoot4ever Waiting

17th August 2010:
I'm here with your review request! First things first: Why didnt you warn me to bring tissues when reading? This was SO upsetting! So moving! So BRILLIANT! Usually when I give reviews I like to offer some criticism: but I can't think of anything to criticise! I dont nitpick! So let me move on to swooning and praise!
Your characterisation of Molly and Arthur was perfect. It's what made the story so beautiful. They are the Molly and Arthur JKR created, and you've ended their story the same way I think she would. I can feel Molly's pain when I read this chapter, her complete devastaion that the one constant in her life has died. God, you're good! I can feel my heart breaking!
I loved the flow, and the transitions between scenes, which I know you were concerned about. I love how the flashbacks go back further in time each time. I love how the line 'you better sit down' is repeated. The flashbacks were placed perfectly between the Healer delivering Molly the bad news.
I also love your style of writing, especially your description of Molly and the ward at the beginning; it really sets the scene. And I LOVE how there are absolutely no spelling or grammar mistakes; this one-shot is literally perfect. Well done!

Author's Response: Heather! -squishes-

Thank you so much for this review. I'm quite sorry I didn't warn you to bring tissues, I guess after editing this to bits for the writathon, I forgot how emotional it could be the first time reading it. I'm THRILLED that I was able to actually encapsulate that much emotion into this fic. It's wonderful to hear that even though I use sudden transition, the transitions still work here. I sort of was trying for the fading in and out sort of style, since I'm sure Molly was having trouble focusing at the moment.

Thank you so much. You're compliments really made me blush, which is an accomplishment since I'm v. sunburnt at the moment. I'm glad you enjoyed this!

xx
Melissa


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ilasia Waiting

17th August 2010:
Oh, this was just so terribly sad! I've always admired Molly and Arthur's relationship, as it seemed very concrete. They were two characters that I could really, truly feel that unwavering adoration for each other with, and I think you've captured a true essence of Molly Weasley in this!

I also applaud you immensely for using the given phrase so well - I'd never have thought of it being such an integral part of the fic, but you've pulled that off beautifully! The flashbacks as interlude, each with the phrase woven in there, was totally genius.

Overall, this was a completely lovely concept and you handled a a ship with a lot of substance very, very well! It was sweet at the flashbacks and so very sad at the other parts, and I really enjoyed it quite a bit.

Beautifully done, Melissa!

xx

Author's Response: Zinny, lovely!

Characterizing Molly and Arthur was so nervewracking, you have no idea how much it means to here that their characters turned out well. I initially started the fic with the idea of using the phrase in a variety of different contexts, and it morphed into this tragic little fic.

Thank you so much!
xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by butterbeergal Waiting

7th August 2010:
MELISSA ♥

Oh my gosh, this was one of the saddest things I've ever read, and I do mean that in the best of ways. Seriously. It was so touching and heartbreaking not only because it's Molly and Arthur (who I simply cannot picture without the other), but because this is something that every couple has to go through eventually. I cannot even begin to imagine what that would be like for the one left behind, especially if it was true, honest and unconditional love like Molly and Arthur's.

I'm rambling. I'm sorry, but this story really moved me. And this line:

Arthur was dead. The man she had shared each waking thought and every sleeping dream with for seventy-odd years would never again smile at her or eat her cooking.

Nearly had me in tears. Superb job, my dear. Absolutely loved this.

Author's Response: Gill!

I'm quite pleased that everyone who's read this has found it to be moving. :D I was quite nervous about how sincere the emotion came through my words. I have no idea where the idea came to me, but when it did, Molly and Arthur were my first choice as MC's. For some reason, they are like my model perfect marriage.

I'm very glad you picked that line out. I deliberated over it for so long, but finally just chose to keep it. I'm glad it was appreciated.

Thank you so much.
xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by Akussa Waiting

7th August 2010:
Oh, that was so good!
The emotion was all there; Molly's distress was overwhelming through the words and I was almost just as worried as her to see what the healer had to say.
I loved those little flashbacks that lightened the mood a little. You really captured Molly's personality and her interactions with Arthur were perfect in my opinion.
Your writing is really good and entertaining; keep going please, it's a pleasure to read what you have to offer next!

Author's Response: Hello. Thank you so much for reviewing this fic. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed my Molly and the story I weaved for her. :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by LindaSnape Waiting

6th August 2010:
Aw, Melissa, this was terribly sad!

Yet it was so well written!

I especially loved the flashbacks. They were sweet little tidbits and insights to the more intimate moments of Arthur and Molly's life that aren't described in the books. So that was quite interesting, I'll admit.

Not to mention, they were triggered by something. I like flashbacks most when they appear triggered by a thought, a memory, a sound, a taste, a scent, etc. To just be there out of thin air, well, it's possible but not entirely plausible to me. So, I really liked it in this piece. Molly's flashbacks made sense.

I didn't find any spelling or grammatical errors, which is quite nice. It's any easy enough mistake to make, but I absolutely adore pieces that don't have any or not ones that I caught on first glance. Polished pieces truly do make my day.

I loved the characterization of both Molly and your OC. Molly was spot on and your OC seemed like such a nice guy.

I have to admit that I was both saddened and angry by the ending. Sad because Arthur was dead, and a bit annoyed that you had to kill him. :( Arthur!

But it was a tragically beautiful piece so I see why it was done. I just don't like it. (And by it, I meant Arthur dying. I do like the piece.) Ha ha!

Beautiful work, though!


Linders

Author's Response: Linders.

I have attempted replying to this review about a dozen times and each time it has eaten my response. :( I think that it will work this time... but I can't remember half of the wonderful things I had meant to say to you. So, thank you for this review. It really means a lot.

-Melissa


 Report Review

Review #14, by Indigo Seas Waiting

6th August 2010:
THIS IS LOVELY.

... this is really all I have to say. Nothing constructive, or anything.

:D

Author's Response: Aww. Thank you Rin, it is enough to hear. It means a lot.

xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by DarkLadyofSlytherin Waiting

6th August 2010:
That was sad, Melissa!

What I loved about this sweet, yet sad fic, was that the flashbacks were in chronological order backwards. It was rather interesting to read. In doing so, I think the reader was able to get a feel of Arthur and Molly's life, as if it were flashing before their eyes starting with the freshest memory - that of Arthur on the roof - and working its way backwards to the day he proposed. It was amazing.

I did find one sentence that bothered me slightly out of all of it, but that's great if it was only one sentence. Her heart sank skipped a beat, I don't think a heart can sink and skip a beat without another word in between or at least Her heart sank skipping a beat. But that's just my personal opinion.

Otherwise, I enjoyed this immensely and I'm so glad you wrote it! It wasn't overly fluffy or too depressing.

Author's Response: Aww. Thank you, Len!

I came up with the idea because I was brainstorming the ways I could use the assigned line of dialogue. I tried writing the flashbacks in chronological order, but for some reason kept coming back to them in reverse. I hoped that by reading it that way, the reader grew closer to Molly and Arthur's realationship as the fic progressed.

I'm so happy that you enjoyed this and didn't find it too depressing.

hmm. I shall fix that sentance, because I can tell you right now that that isn't what it is supposed to say. :P Thanks for pointing that out!

xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login