Reading Reviews for All Things Life Must Be
  
51 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sushmita More Than Just A Memory

29th November 2016:
Siobhan is definitely one of my fav OCs. Great to read in detail about dragon handling! Would love to read a novel or short stories on just her adventures as well, if it has to do more with what the Death eaters were upto with dragons in that era?

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sushmita Half the Clouds are Empty

29th November 2016:
Oo how romantic! So excited for Hattie to meet her love as well.

 Report Review

Review #3, by patronus_charm All Of Your Joy

11th July 2014:
Ok, this gave me so many mixed emotions! ♥

First I was feeling as if my heart would break from the sadness about Dustan and Gemma not being able to have any children because it just seemed as if they wanted them so badly and to be denied that was so, so sad. You wrote those scenes so well and they were so powerful Iím sure theyíll stay in my mind for a while.

I really liked how you addressed the fall of Voldemort and what everyoneís reactions to it were, because I didnít see it coming in this story so I was really caught by the shock and surprise they must have all faced when it happened. I loved how you made Harry and the Weasleys crop up a lot in conversation as it just made me laugh that no one knew then what that family would mean to Harry.

Finally, the ending! ♥ That really was lovely that even though the two of them had decided to give up on the idea of children, they could still have something to love in a way with the dogs and that was just so sweet and so adorable and I really loved that scene!

This was such a good read!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm More Than Just A Memory

11th July 2014:
Hi again!

I thought you wrote the madness of Siobhanís life really well and I could just imagine her jumping from one country to the next purely dependent on what she thought would be a good place to visit. Ha, I loved the way she just butted into those guysí conversation and impressed them with her knowledge about dragons and how she actually was a witch. It was just like oh yeah! Ooh, she got a job from them I wonder what this is going to lead to now.

I really liked seeing her with the dragons and it was actually really fun learning about how she managed them and what they had to do to keep them under control, because just finding out all these tiny bits of the magical world is what I love about FF. Ooh, the tiny historical thing about them going in as the Red Army was really cool too!

I definitely wasnít bored while reading this and really loved in fact!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by patronus_charm Times Past Glories

10th July 2014:
Omg, what did you do to me with this story!? I actually have tears in my eyes and I just donít know what to do with myself.

On the one hand I was really hoping the person was Cecilia whilst Reid was talking because then I would have known they actually managed to stay together and then be married, but I didnít want it to be her too because then she would be dead and gone which would be too sad and too much to deal with. Reidís emotions and voice when he was talking to her or thinking about her throughout though was so raw and so pure it made it hurt even more than before, because he was just trying to keep it normal and sane for her but he just couldnít at other times and I didnít know what to do.

Here, the mentions of everyone else like Hattie, Molly and Arthur and Petula were just too much as it made Cecilia being gone even worse as I knew they were carrying on their lives and living while she was gone. The ending was what did it for me though because Reid was stuck in this weird in-between state with the way he was clinging onto her but wanting to move on too, and I just didnít know what to do. At least there was a glimmer of hope with the way Hattie was helping him plant the roses so they can live on happily together I hope.

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by patronus_charm Not Yet Spoken

10th July 2014:
Hi again!

I really liked this story as it was fun to get a perspective on what the guys of Unsinkable were up to now. All the Molly and Arthur things were so sweet! ♥ I loved how Arthur was still blushing at the mention of them, and would still blush for quite a few years to come. Another thing which was so sweet was the baby news and just how cute it was. Gah, you are seriously the Queen of this ship and you just write them so well I canít imagine anyone else attempting them.

But the thing I admired most here was how despite that fluff you managed to interweave the serious things too such as Voldermortís rise to power and the danger it was posing for all of them and it was really clever. Ooh, and I also loved how you liked in a little Hattieís chapter and how her mother had escaped him already. It was so sweet what Cosmo did for his mum though and that he wanted to try and protect her so much as you rarely ever get to see that lovely mother-son relationship but you wrote it so well here! I canít wait to read on and find out more about the others now!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charm Come To Me Today

10th July 2014:
Bahaha, this story made me laugh!

I really loved how you started it off as you really made me believe that this was going to be the worst wedding ever as nothing seemed to be going Petulaís way and I felt so bad for her. Speaking of her quickly, I was actually surprised by how much I missed her as I really did like her quirky shall we see character, and it was just so much to have it back here again!

Thomas was so sweet and so perfect in this story and he just seemed to know exactly what to do and how to manage a perhaps problem bride and I felt so proud of him. Petula and he really are a great match! Another thing I really loved were all the little cameos from the others ad how they kept on popping up now and then as it just made me so happy to see that the whole crowd was there, albeit not Siobhan.

The ending! ♥ That was really sweet to see that it was perfect in the end and that it all worked out for her as I just love her as a character so I was so glad that it was ok in the end.

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by patronus_charm Half the Clouds are Empty

10th July 2014:
Hi again! The Unsinkable series still has a place in my heart so I couldnít resist coming to check this out!

I really loved this! ♥ Hattie was such a wonderful narrator that I could read from her mind all day long. Thereís something just so quiet and calm about her that you almost feel peace when you step into her mind which was a rather strange experience but a really lovely one though. You still managed to make her voice so distinct and her feelings known to us throughout this story so that was really impressive given the sense of calm in it too.

Another thing I really loved was all the little historical things from her dress, the way they spoke and their names. The history nerd inside of me was just squeeing away with each historical aspect and I really could tell that there was research behind this which is something I always appreciate.

Hattieís thoughts out in Muggle London were really interesting to read too, because naturally she was going to feel some apprehension about the whole thing, but it was actually fun to read them and see her slowly embrace this new world too. I really liked the fact that she seemed to have developed a fondness for it too, and didnít want to let it go with the way she wasnít going to give into the threat of war just yet and hold onto this sort of freedom for as long as possible!

This was so lovely I canít wait to see more excerpts from the series now!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by GryffindorSeeker4 Times Past Glories

17th August 2013:
You should have warned me that I would need a box of tissues! Poor Reid!

Author's Response: Aww sorry! This is a sad one, I know. Poor guy. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by alicia rose potter More Than Just A Memory

17th May 2012:
I love Siobhan; she might be one of my favorite OCs of yours. I'm glad you get verbose with her. I'd be delighted if she showed up again...but your stories about Rose are delightful too, if in an utterly different way. :)

Author's Response: I do love Rose ;) But I have for quite a while now had a story for Siobhan mapped out, I just never seem to get around to writing it. I should get moving on that. I'm glad people like her and still want to hear more about her. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Moonyxluna Half the Clouds are Empty

2nd January 2012:
Aww go Hattie! I think I've said 'I love her/him/them so much' about almost every one of your OCs, but Hattie's so wonderful. I'm glad she found someone. (I realize they just met, but I can be hopeful, can't I?)

"From an unusual, even fractional platform?"
Oh god I could cry. That's so funny!!!

Author's Response: Be hopeful! They did just meet, but this is Hattie's future husband :) I wanted her to have somebody wonderful too, cause I really like Hattie. I'm glad you do too!

That was one of my favorite lines when I was writing this ;) Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by TheWorldISee More Than Just A Memory

4th April 2011:
So glad to get a look at what Siobhan was up to on her long search for herself. I didn't think this story was too long at all and I certainly wasn't bored! But then again, I love Siobhan. I do hope she turns out alright in the end, although I think I'm getting to the end of the Unsinkable series so this might be all I get of Siobhan. Great job as always!

Author's Response: "Long search for herself" is an excellent way to put it. She definitely hasn't found what she needs here just yet, but she's on the path. I actually have much more in mind for her, so I might need to start working on her story after this one-shot. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by TheWorldISee Times Past Glories

4th April 2011:
Poor Reid... his has become a story that tugs at one's heartstrings. These one shots are as amazing as all your work is. It's great to get these little snippets of what is happening in their lives and sort of fill in the rest yourself. Marvelous job!

Author's Response: Thank you! Poor Reid, yeah. He winds up a bit tragic, but he presses on. Bit of a backslide here though - he kind of snaps a bit. I'm really pleased that you're enjoying this addition to the OC stories :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by RonsGirlFriday All Of Your Joy

9th March 2011:
I'll be honest and say I'm glad you ended this with a squishy, happy feeling. :-D How adorable. And of course I love that you tied it in with Voldemort's defeat by baby Harry - it puts us right back at the beginning of canon! Dunstan wondering who the devil was Harry Potter made me laugh a bit.

This has been so wonderful to read. Your OC's are hands-down the best I have EVER read. And now that I think I have caught up on all recent Unsinkable stuff, I will promptly go back into withdrawals (seriously, have you considered the idea that nobody is ever going to get enough of this, and we're going to force you to keep writing Unsinkablicious stuff until you're about 90 years old??) :-)

Melanie ♥

Author's Response: It was a lot of sadness in this one, wasn't it? But it's wartime, so... And Dunstan and Gemma will be happy once they can let go of the dream of parenthood and let themselves have a new dream. At least they have each other. I had fun with the Harry Potter bit, because he's so famous at age 11, but no one would have known who he was before that day.

Thank you, thank you! I'm so pleased that you like my OCs. I'm pretty fond of them, so it makes me very happy (and relieved) when readers like them too. I hadn't considered that - haha! I figured people were probably done by now with this stuff. I've written so much in the Unsinkable-verse, but I don't think I'd ever really say I'm done with it. Maybe I should work on another one after I finish up Rose's latest adventure.


 Report Review

Review #15, by RonsGirlFriday More Than Just A Memory

9th March 2011:
I love Siobhan to pieces. She's fascinating and so damaged. She seeks all these thrills that would normally make you think, Man, she's really living life, but when you acknowledge the fact that she does it just to get away from her problems and get lost in different kinds of excitement, it's ironic because she's really not living life after all. Her experiences don't really build her up, they just keep her kind of distracted and numb - that's how I read it anyway. I love reading her. And I loved the end of this chapter - it was actually very sad, but in a beautiful way.

Melanie

Author's Response: Damaged is really the perfect word for Siobhan. She's no less damaged here than she was at Hogwarts, and you're exactly right, she's still running away and not really living. Her adventures cover up her feelings and let her distract herself from really thinking or feeling anything. And you see she hasn't actually changed since Hogwarts - there she has no adventures, only boys, and here once the adventure falls into a lull, she immediately turns to a man. Poor thing, she's really messed up. I *do* have in mind a future - several years past this - where she can begin to heal, and hopefully one of these days I'll finish writing it.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #16, by RonsGirlFriday Times Past Glories

9th March 2011:
*sob*

Where to even start? Reid's devastation, even three years later, is so palpable. What stuck out to me a lot was his attitude towards digging up the rose bush - in contrast to Hattie, whose first thought is that it's a very odd thing to do, in Reid's mind it makes perfect sense, and nothing will convince him otherwise.

These quotes are wonderful:

If only it said beloved wife instead of beloved daughter, so he could know that he still belonged to her, even when she was gone. Mad, he knew. She'd owned him, heart and soul, since he was sixteen. Maybe before, even.

He wasn't sure how he'd survived without Cecilia, come to that. It had to be because Hattie had told him he must.

"I miss you," he whispered, staring at Cecilia's roses, and Hattie, who always knew when to pretend she hadn't heard something, pretended not to hear him.

Seriously close to bawling right now. And I love the relationship between Reid and Hattie. It's gorgeous. I love it.

Melanie

Author's Response: Poor Reid. Yeah, Hattie is aware that he's sort of lost it here, but Reid isn't seeing it. Sinking into madness for a minute there, but Hattie will drag him back. It's what she does. Hattie and Reid developed sort of slowly through Unsinkable and WIW, and then in Over The Anvil, Hattie really takes charge of Reid. But never in a romantic way; they only ever were friends. I think it's good for both of them.

I tried to show that he had been getting better, but this was sort of a big set-back for him. He says to Cecilia that he hasn't been by for a few weeks - he's getting to the point where he doesn't visit her grave as often, which is good for his grieving process. Anyway, hopefully that made sense. As much as Reid's disjointed thoughts can make sense here.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by RonsGirlFriday Not Yet Spoken

9th March 2011:
Ok, so I legitimately thought I had read this whole fic already, but I recently realized that was not the case! So I'm back!

I am always in awe of how perfect the interactions are between your characters, how everything you write flows like butter. Like buttah! And the amount of adorable constantly emanating from Arthur is going to kill me. In the best way.

I love the reference to how the Burrow was named. So cute!

And the end of this chapter was so heartbreaking. Poor Cosmo. It was written just perfectly.

Cosmo was one of those characters in Unsinkable who really just flew under my radar. I liked him of course, but he didn't stand out to me as much as, say, Reid (whom I want to *squish* and love forever). But the point of this is that it's really nice to just see a whole chapter devoted to Cosmo and what he's dealing with here, and that's what I love in general about this whole series of one-shots. :-)

Melanie

Author's Response: Yay! I love getting reviews from you.

Arthur is sweet, isn't he? lol. I love him. He's a great character in the books, I get such a kick reading him. So of course I love writing him too. Thank you sooo much for the comment on my buttah-rific flow! *restrains a squee*

I threw in the Burrow bit almost as an aside - I can't decide if I fully like that explanation, but it was fun to add in.

Cosmo didn't get a lot of screen time, but he's still part of the group, so I gave him a one-shot in this collection to show a little more of him. It's tough times for everyone, especially a Muggleborn like Cosmo.

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by jrg0715 All Of Your Joy

3rd March 2011:
I am always so astounded by your ability to make me care about noncannon characters. It's a testament to your talent as a writer. You have a skill that can't help but surpass fan fiction. I hope you never leave the genre but you could be a very successful writer of original fiction. I would buy anything you write!!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you very much. I can't even tell you how much this review means to me. *hug* Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #19, by GinnyCullen All Of Your Joy

4th October 2010:
This was a sad chapter with a happy ending. I love it thats all I can say. that and I am so sorry for Dunstan and Gemma poor things.

Author's Response: It's sad, yeah. I felt bad doing this to Dunstan. He'd have been a decent father, he's a pretty good guy. I did like throwing in more of Petula's life here, though. I picture her living down the road from Dunstan for the rest of their lives, both popping in and out of each other's houses all the time.

Thanks so much for reviewing! I'm glad you liked these stories, even though many are quite sad.


 Report Review

Review #20, by GinnyCullen More Than Just A Memory

4th October 2010:
haha no I was not bored. I love her and her strange ways. Its nice to know even Siobhan can find a bit of love. Its sad to see how fast these years are going for your OC's. I loved this chapter though it seemed well not what you usually present. It was refreshing! Well once again great job.

Author's Response: Siobhan definitely has some strange ways. She is, as Georgia always puts it, damaged goods. I don't think it's love so much as distraction, because Siobhan has a very hard time feeling love. But she is still using men as a substitute for actual feeling, the way she did at school. She's just got someone who does rather the same thing now, so they use each other. She's still pretty messed up. There's a few more years yet before she really starts a healing and growing up process.

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by GinnyCullen Times Past Glories

3rd October 2010:
You were right this was horrid sad. Reid and Cecilia are my favourite OC's of yours. The story of them is so strange i love them both dearly. I love that you slowly put in things like The baby crawling or that Petulia had a baby as well and that hattie is married. You are gifted with words my dear and I am glad for those words have touched my heart. Congrats on a great story you are an amazing Ravenclaw!

Author's Response: I have to admit, I sort of enjoy throwing tragedy at Reid. Poor guy. He kind of snaps a bit here.

This review really left me speechless. I don't even know what to say! You are so sweet, thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #22, by GinnyCullen Not Yet Spoken

3rd October 2010:
Just when things are happy, Ol Moldy shorts has to go an ruin it! He is such a funsucker! Molly pregnant that is amazing I am so happy to see that you included something as fantastic as that. I was heart broken that Cosmo had to use the charm on his mother... It is rather sad things came to this in the time of the war. I can't wait to see what Reid Has been doing! Great job as always

Love GinnyC

Author's Response: Yeah, from this chapter on out, it's a lot about the war. It sort of colors everything. And I wanted to tie in the Weasleys to every chapter whenever possible. I also wanted to use the opportunity to explain why Molly and Arthur weren't part of the original Order, and I think it must've been the kids. She spent most of the 70s pregnant. Poor Cosmo, but he had to protect them. I think more Muggleborns must have done this sort of thing than is talked about, you know?

Thanks so much for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by GinnyCullen Come To Me Today

3rd October 2010:
I loved this as I knew I would! Her sisters are cows! But her family explains her so much! I love that Thomas chose to see her the night prior to the event. It was a sweet tail of love! Great Job thank you for being the amazing author you are!

Author's Response: Yeah, they really are, aren't they? ;) They do love her, they're just... cows. I do think her family is integral to her personality. She's more like her sisters and mother than she'd admit. I love writing love stories, it's my favorite thing :) Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #24, by GinnyCullen Half the Clouds are Empty

3rd October 2010:
I love this! A badger and a loin how sweet. I love Hattie and I love that Hattie is finding a good fellow! Jack is becoming one of my new favourite characters of yours! Great job!

Author's Response: I really like Jack, I have to admit. He's a nice guy, he really wanted a sister and was glad to have one finally. And in a roundabout way, he set her up with her future husband. He's a good brother :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Georgia Weasley More Than Just A Memory

20th September 2010:
Gah, I love Siobhan. She is such damaged goods, but at least she knows it and deals with it in her own way. I like to think of her finding a place to fit in and go on with life, such that it is. Loved this one!~GW

Author's Response: She really is damaged goods, I'm tellin' ya. Poor kid. She is still working out issues here, hasn't moved past them. This is definitely a girl who needs therapy, I think. She does find the world of dragon keepers a place to belong, in some ways, but she won't be staying in the Carpathians forever. ;)

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>