Reading Reviews for While You Were Sleeping
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Daanana While You Were Sleeping

14th August 2011:
Oh wow. So powerful. I'd love to leave a really long review, discussing the story, pointing out some mistakes or whatever but I can't. This was just too perfect.

And it makes so much sense. The events Harry and his friends had to go through were traumatic. It would give every sane person nightmares and such.

This just really was a realistic, touching piece of work. I tip my hat to you.

Love,
Danielle

[review extravaganza
forum name: xdaanana
house: slytherin]

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you liked it! I put so much thought into the ideas behind this, but I still thought that they were a little weird, so it was good to hear that it all made sense!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by That_Nerd While You Were Sleeping

8th March 2011:
Nice job!
:) I liked it. I got a real mental picture of the scenerio in my head . . .just like any well written piece is suppose to give you!
10/10

Author's Response: I'm glad that you were able to picture it, and thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by awesome247 While You Were Sleeping

8th March 2011:
Aww! Its so... so... bittersweet, I guess. I think thats the word I'm looking for. Anyways, wonderful job!

Author's Response: I agree with the word bittersweet, I think that sort of sums everything up. But thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by NessaMahtar While You Were Sleeping

8th March 2011:
Wow...that was intense! You paint your characters so vividly, each paragraph a melodious brushstroke, all combining to form this wonderful piece of writing. It is so realistic, how Harry would never quite get over the horrors he had witnessed and been a part of in the war against evil, yet Ginny would be there for him. And James...what a depth to add to his character! So intense, and yet so simple. And little Lily with her Gryffindor blanket...
Wonderful work.

Author's Response: This review totally made my day! I'm glad that you liked it, I was trying to make something meaningful but also something normal, which I think this managed to do. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Snapdragons While You Were Sleeping

4th March 2011:
It was the title of this that first drew me towards this one shot. While You Were Sleeping. I have to say, I still really, really love this title. And I really, really love this one shot...

At first, I was a bit curious as to where/who the screams were coming from. It made perfect sense that it was Harry, though. PTSD is nowhere near a stretch of the imagination after everything that's happened. It's a sweet, if sad picture: Harry being comforted by Ginny as his nightmares haunt him, while his son pretends that he is the one being comforted, with his sister next to them.

Having Albus sleep through it all was also a nice touch. It enforced the idea of "what happens in the night is a secret," so to speak. The interaction between James and Lily was my favorite. They have such a sweet, loving relationship. Makes me wish I had an older brother like him.

I also found it moving how this was completely ordinary for James, to be woken up by his father's nightmares. Dunno, it just really stuck with me.

And Albus sleeps through it all... I really do like how the next gen isn't portrayed as perfect, happy-go-lucky. I imagine the Trio and everyone who fought in the Battle of Hogwarts would probably have some serious problems to work through, and not everything magically resolves itself.

A beautiful and moving oneshot. Congratulations on a job most excellently done. :)

Author's Response: First-this review totally made my day!

But yeah, I really think that the world wouldn't be perfect even after the end of the war, and I thought that this was one way to show it. I can imagine that after the childhood that they had Harry and Ginny would want their kids to have things perfect-but this shows how no matter how hard they try they really can't give that to them. And seeing as they are young, they really don't realize whats 'normal' and what isn't, which I thought was important. I didn't want it to be scary, all the screaming, it was just supposed to be like anything else that happens in daily routines.

And I love the relationship between Lily and James in this, I would love a brother like that too!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Me Myself and I While You Were Sleeping

17th November 2010:
I liked the suspense in this story. I have to admit though, it took me a while to figure out who was was screaming. At first I thought it was Albus, then Lily, and I smacked myself on the head when I realized it was Harry. Oh, well it's late, I don't have to be smart. Great story!
Oh, and I love your penname! -Bella

Author's Response: I didn't really make it obvious until the end, because it was through James's POV and he already knew who it was. But Harry had a past with nightmares so I thought it made sense to have him have those issues.

Thanks for the review, and the compliment on my penname!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Canadian_Hogwarts While You Were Sleeping

23rd October 2010:
I really enjoyed this story. I definitely think that Harry's nightmares continued, even worse than before the battles. The fact that James and Lily can hear their dad going through them almost every night was really... I don't know... I want to say touching, but I'm not sure if that's really the right word. I thought that it was really well done, and it seemed very realistic. I hope that someday, Ginny found out that her kids heard them. Not Harry though; you're right in saying he would never want his kids to see the state he was in. Great writing!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you liked it! I think it'd be really interesting for Ginny to realize what they were listening with them every night, her reaction would probably be really neat. That would actually be really neat to write *starts plotting*. Anyways, thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Ilasia While You Were Sleeping

31st August 2010:
Hey Megan, Zinny from TGS here come to lurk your author's page (as is pretty customary with new TGSers!) I'm really glad I came across this, because it really resonated with me.

I really like how you've made it so everything isn't completely perfect after the war is over - especially Harry's post-traumatic stress of sorts. I think having him plagued by nightmares was a really clever idea, both because it essentially pays homage to the nightmares he's had all his life and also because it's just an extremely realistic choice.

Overall, I found this written almost poetically. As I read through it, I was left with the feeling that I was almost walking beside James, listening through the door with him, hearing everything he did. Your description was really just spot-on, and diction was just really lovely!

Apologies for this short, incoherent review, I shouldn't be allowed to write when I'm distracted by sports matches :P I just had to drop by and let you know that this was really wonderful!

Hope to see you around TGS soon!

Author's Response: Hey Zinny! TGS seems like a really awesome place, and everyone is so friendly, I'm really glad that you took the time to leave me a review!

One of the biggest things that bothers me is that in most Next Gens, it seems like everything is perfect. Sure, things would be calmer than they've ever been before, but it wouldn't be as though the war had never happened. Nightmares are pretty common with people who have PTSD so I figured that it would make sense that he were to have them. I honestly didn't even think about the fact that he had always had them though, but that just makes it make even more sense.

I'm really glad that you liked the descriptions, I always find everything I write feeling very vague, so that is something that I struggle loads with. And thanks again for taking the time to leave a lovely review!

Megan


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ronsgirl29 While You Were Sleeping

22nd August 2010:
This is so beautifully written, the way the words flow and paint such a wonderful picture. It was also very sweet, in a sad way. I hate the idea of Harry being upset, but it was cute how Ginny would comfort him back to sleep and James would pretend that she was comforting him as well.

Over all, this was just amazing. Your writing talent blows my mind!

100/10
-ronsgirl29

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you liked it! And while it isn't a great situation, I think that it had a sweet ending. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by alicia and anne While You Were Sleeping

16th August 2010:
I really liked this story, it flowed very well and was pleasant to read. I like the idea for your story and I feel sorry for Harry waking up in the middle of the night, but with everything that Harry has gone through I'm not suprised. I enjoyed this very much, and shall be adding it to my favourites.

10/10

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you liked it! I am very happy to see that it flowed because that is something that I struggled with for awhile. Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Galawen While You Were Sleeping

15th August 2010:
Well done. Seriously. This was touching in so many different layers and you managed to evoke so many feelings. After everything Harry's been through PTS is nowhere near a stretch of the imagination. Thinking of him having nightmares, even after so much happy time has passed, of friends lost and deeds done is incredibly sad and made me blink back tears. James and Lily show amazing maturity at their age and I like the show of unity that they present; even if he doesn't know it they are there for their dad. On a side-note I also feel sorry for Albus. Of course I wouldn't want the child to have to deal with this if he couldn't handle it but the fact that he doesn't share this experience with hsi siblings leads me to wonder if, as they grow older, will their relationships be as close. Fantastic job, this was beautiful.

Author's Response: I really think that things wouldn't be perfect, Harry went through a lot at a very young age, and I would assume that would affect him loads. I didn't even think about how this might cause Albus to be farther from his siblings with time, but it really does make sense that he would be less close than the other two. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by JLHufflepuff While You Were Sleeping

9th August 2010:
I really like this. I always think that most of the characters we know would have some form of PTSD, and I think it's realistic that Harry has the symptoms here with waking up and screaming/crying in the middle of the night. I also like that it's not disturbing to James or Lily - just a part of every day life. This is really sweet and meaningful! Thanks for entering the challenge! :)

Author's Response: Personally, I find it hard to believe that after what they went though everything would be just peachy, which is where the idea came from. But I figured if they had grown up with it, there would be no reason for them to find it odd, kids don't normally notice things are off until they're older. But I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by CornishPixie While You Were Sleeping

21st July 2010:
Oh man, that was sooo sweet.

I was scared at first because I had assumed that the screams meant that Harry and Ginny were middle-of-the-night-fighting parents. That would be sad. But then it turned out to be this sweet thing? James was a dear, Lily a doll, and the touch added by having Albus sleep completely through it just added one more edge. Very well written, and I'm thoroughly surprised that you don't have more reviews for this.

Plus, it made me remember how afraid I was when the floor creaked when I tried to sneak out of my room at night. Fantastic!

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you liked it, I figured that even though they've moved on from the war there would still be some parts of them that wouldn't heal. I'm glad you liked how I portrayed the kids too.

When I was little I used to think the creaking floor was the loudest sound ever, but I doubt anyone ever heard it!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Jenna822 While You Were Sleeping

5th July 2010:
That was kinda sad. Like tear envoking sad. Anyone can write a sad breakup or death, but it is things like this -those seemingly small incidents- that can really pull on your heart. Very well done!! I mean very well.

I like that you combine it, too, especially with such a great other challenge.

Above all, I have to say that I'm glad you didn't dive straight for the oh-so-obvious choice. When I saw James II paired up to Dark Red, I straight thought, "Ah, Gryffindor tale, here we come." but you didn't. You thought outside of that box and ended up with something great. So, I ramble in reviews LOL.

Thank you so much for entering my challenge! --Jenna

Author's Response: I really wanted to write this because everyone seems to have everyone perfectly happy in all the Next Gens, but after what Harry went through he isn't just going to snap back to normal. I thought that this would show how their are still effects, they just aren't advertised.

When I go red and James, I'll admit the first thing I thought of was Gryffindor, but then I started to think about how red stood for anger and love, and that really inspired me and gave me this idea. And I'm glad that you enjoyed it.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login