Reading Reviews for Bloody Rose
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #1, by knottedwool Parley

28th December 2012:
I love AU fanfiction and this is the best Scorose fic I've read in a long while. I love Rose's character she's tough and strong and there's potential for her character to build to even greater heights after the introduction of the other characters. I love Rose and Scorpius's relationship, it's very original and I can't wait to see what happens to them both. The same with the rest of the Potters and Weasleys and how much they affect Rose. My absolute favourite is Gilderoy Lockhart being captain of the ship. There's something so fitting about it-as well as adventure I love the humour you've incorporated in. (:

I really hope you're continuing this. I would love to read more. (:

Author's Response: Thank you so much! ^_^
I will continue this, I promise! I'm glad you liked Lockhart as the captain (I had misgivings about giving him that post :P) and the humor!
Thanks again! :D


 Report Review

Review #2, by Ryebread Parley

24th September 2012:
I love it so much! The way that you changed the story is amazing and the characters are exactly how I pictured them. You're an amazing writer, especially because you write the talking how it would sound. 10/10 Write soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :D I'm glad you enjoyed it! I know this story hasn't been updated in a while, but I feel that I'm ready to continue writing again. All thanks to readers like you!

 Report Review

Review #3, by bester_jester Parley

18th September 2012:
Hey, great story! Bit sad that you first published it in 2010 and there is only three chapters! I really hope you continue to update.

I love the relationship between Rose and, well, everyone. The protectiveness she feels towards Louis, the love for Al, the bitterness and anger towards Scorpius. It's all really well portrayed. If I were her though, I'd be pretty angry that Scorpius actually tried to shoot Louis.

The way that you've written this is just so interesting. And you brought in Lockheart! I actually laughed out loud at that. This story is so well done, so please, I'm begging. Update again soon! :)

Author's Response: I know. It IS sad, isn't it? :(
I sort of developed a mental block toward this story sometime last year, but I'm gettting over it! ^.^ I'm really glad you liked Rose's characterization! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #4, by AriesGirl40 Parley

20th August 2012:
Got bored, had no new chapters to read, so I thought, why not see what else you have written, because I like how you write. This story has been so well written, I was wondering why you ever gave it up? Once your through with the other, you simply must continue with this one, it's really good :)

Author's Response: Well... I don't know. I quit HPFF for a while due to Real Life problems, and I doubted that I would have time to update all of my stories, so I choose THC to focus on. If I find that people still support this story, then I shall definitely continue it. I'm really glad you enjoyed it! :) Please read on!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Windcharm Parley

4th September 2011:
Omg! that was amazing! please write more!

Author's Response: I will, I will ;) Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Avanell 2 Parley

3rd September 2011:
Interesting update...and sharing quarters ;)

Author's Response: Hahaha, thanks! ;)

 Report Review

Review #7, by krapfm Parley

24th July 2011:
Fantastic story! :D
I love that so many things are in the dark and the whole setting of the story. :)
Looking forward to the next chapter

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'll update as soon as I can! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by PetrificusTotalus Parley

10th July 2011:
Yay! You updated! :D loved this chapter! The story is general is just awesome! :) update soon! I wanna read more!

Author's Response: I'll update! I promise :) Thanks so much for reviewing again!

 Report Review

Review #9, by reallifewizard Parley

9th July 2011:
The concept of this story is so unique and interesting! I like how you put them in a completely different time zone. Just out of curiosity, though, are you writing the story like the Harry Potter books just happened like 200 years earlier, or was there a time-travelling screwup or something? Thanks

Author's Response: It's happening 200 years ago, yeah. Totally AU. :) Thank you for the review!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Hermionniny9 Parley

6th July 2011:
YAY, this chapter was just what I needed :D it was amazing and i can't wait for more :D

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'll try to update quicker! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by RavenGriffinSlitherPuff Parley

5th July 2011:
Wel thank you for making me cooler. And btw, this sounds like math, art, lunch, and hallway. lmfao good job weirdo
10/10
PS. update soon
A Friend

Author's Response: Haha, you're welcome ;)
And oh my gosh, all four of them TOGETHER? (but how is this anything like math??)
Thanks so much, amigo!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Crescent Moon  Parley

5th July 2011:
Great story!! Have to admit I was a bit confused at first as to why they were on a Pirate ship in the 1700's but soon got used to the idea.
You're a really good writer, it's really well written XD
I can't wait to read the next chapter and see what's going to happen. Please update as soon as you can.

Author's Response: Haha, yes, this is AU. Thank you so much for the kind words! I'll update as soon as I can!

 Report Review

Review #13, by NextGenna14 Parley

5th July 2011:
This was amazing, like some sort of dark fairy tale!!! :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much!! :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by Anna Parley

5th July 2011:
Yay for the update! Great chapter! The end scene was cute and serious at the same time. And LOL at the pirate accent. Haha I love it!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing!! I appreciate it very much! :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by Sally Jane The Price of Freedom

2nd June 2011:
Aww I really liked this was turning out! I was hoping to see some Rose/Scorpius action :P I'm pretty bummed to see it hasn't been updated in a while. Please dont leave this!

Author's Response: No, I haven't given up on it. I just lost my flash drive with all my chapters on it...and yeah, I'm in the process of rewriting all of them. Thanks for liking this story :) I'll have the next chappie up very soon!

 Report Review

Review #16, by xxDobbyX The Price of Freedom

14th February 2011:
WOW, malfoy's a jerk... I adore Louis already and i like this version of the next generation... Al is okay so far and Ron doesn't sound so bad but is Hermione really that bad that she would disown her own daughter? Please update soon... xD

Author's Response: Everybody seems to love Louis...aw. And as for Hermione, well... you'll just have to keep on readin' :)

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #17, by TheTenthWeasley The Price of Freedom

28th November 2010:
Update?
This is absolutely excellent. Is it set in recent time, or further back?
It's brilliant, extremely creative and just amazing.
10/10

Author's Response: It's set in the 1700s, so yeah, way back XD Thanks for reading this story, too! :D I'll update pretty soon, I suppose. Thank you again!

 Report Review

Review #18, by RavenGriffinSlitherPuff Captain Red

22nd November 2010:
UPDATE ALREADY!
A Friend/Amigo/PengYou
10/10

Author's Response: Yow, jeez, fine.I've got the next chappie written up, actually... I just need a title name lol...

What the heck does PengYou mean? LOL!

XXX


 Report Review

Review #19, by Hermionniny9 The Price of Freedom

17th November 2010:
lol captain lockheart, cant wait to see what her parley will be like :D

Author's Response: Thanks! I'll update as soon as I can! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Hermionniny9 Captain Red

17th November 2010:
ooo, it is such a lovely interesting story line. Its like pirates of the Caribbean, master and commanded and other movies i have watched with boats :D

Author's Response: Aww, thank you!
Hahaha, movies with boats :p That pretty much sums up a lot of my fave movies.
Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Jenna822 The Price of Freedom

9th November 2010:
Hello again! I'm excited for this chapter. :D

I'm loving what you've done with Rose. You've clearly lined out her character in such a simple way. She's tough, she's a Pirate, she can Argh with the best of 'em, however...she's vulnerable. She's got a conscience and she feels guilt, remorse, disappointment in herself. She also feels the physical pain. You didn't turn her into some over tough, better than the boys, this doesn't hurt, super girl, and I adore that. She instantly feels more real and I connect to her better as a character.

One grammar thing: "You're cabin?" Rose started to visibly panic. "What the *am I doing in YOU'RE cabin? Oh, Lord, is this you're bed? Did I SLEEP here?" < - those lines should be Your

Ah! Evilness. Who is Brother Jo- ? *whimpers* Oh, I loved the Captain Jack reference thing. With the leverage. :D So clever. Have I mentioned how much I love those movies? 'Cause I love them. I love all Pirate stuff! Aww, I love how Louis was listening in the whole time. That's so cute and so very six year old! Yay we get to know who Jo- is! I hate being in suspense, so I'm glad you revealed it this chapter. :D

Captain Lockhart! Ahahaha I've never giggled so much over a story! That's brilliant. I can't wait to see Mister Smiles as a Navy Captain!! All in all, this was a wonderful second chapter! You had a big promise with your first chapter. Such a heavy set up and so well done, and this chapter delivered on that promise. I can't wait until it really gets going into the thick of things. :D --Jenna


Oh, oh, are you taking votes? 'Cause I would so vote for Lysander/Albus! I like that coupling. :D

Author's Response: Oh, Lysander/Al is exactly what I had in mind! I think I'm gonna go with that, now...(:

Thanks for the epic review and pointing that grammar issue out. *slaps head* I'm a careless idiot, lol...Oh, and you caught the Jack Sparrow reference! Lol, I'm just reminded of Jack saying, "Think like the whelp, think like the whelp..." Hahahaha!

Brother Jonah Teague: new character, sort of a Godfather-type pirate/evil mentor thing going on here XD

Thanks so much for the extremely helpful review!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by Jenna822 Captain Red

4th November 2010:
Hello! Here with your review. Sorry it took so long. :P

Right off, your summery is hilarious. :D Also, I'm eager to know if the slash is going to be a main ship or a minor one. *puts on eager hat*

Okay, you did it to me again! Usually I stop every few paragraphs to comment or so, but I couldn't do it this time. I just read through straight because I couldn't break away. The whole concept is just awesome. I happen to love Pirate lore/movies/costumes and seeing as I (clearly) love Harry Potter fics, this is like an awesome blend of coolness! Really, I am just squealing at what a weird (good weird) and crazy (good crazy) awesome-sauce idea this is! I adore Louis so much. Kind of a bummer that he's too young to be a MC, cuz I love him. Aww to poor Vic biting the big one and YAY to Lorcan. He doesn't get enough loving. Scor seems hot already, I'm just saying...in that outfit...where was I? I'm excited to know if there will be more filling in on back story. Who got her involved, how this all ties together, just all of it!! It's intriguing.

Now, that being said, I will have to go back through and read the chapter again to give you a proper critique like a requested review should have, but consider everything above the review you woulda gotten had I found this on my own. Lol

*reads chapter again*

Okay, the first paragraph lead me into think this was a second person narrative (which made me cringe a little). I would have actually hit the back space if this hadn't been a requested review. Because, I simply don't like second person and it was a bit misleading. Also, I'm not personally a fan of WRITING LIKE THIS because it feels more amateur and just kinda looks bad to me. If I were recommending something, I would say just use ! to end your sentences that are yelled, or if you really want that extra emphasis, maybe italicize. Just a thought. :D

That's all I have negative wise about this. Honestly! I'm a huge grammar freak and I thought that yours was spot on. No spelling or grammar issues, no tense problems, no hang ups or anything that really jumped out. I know everyone has their preferences on amounts of description. To me, I like descriptive paragraphs about people, however, I think they might have been out of place in this story. I honestly didn't have problem visualizing the characters (Alex Pettyfer in a Pirate costume...lost my train of thought again...oh yeah!) in this piece. The way you wrote it, it was quick and sharp. Very fast paced and that suited the mood/intensity of the chapter. Well done! Feel free to return!!!

You asked about plot and flow. Well, you already know what I think about your plot ;) and I think your flow was very smooth. :D --Jenna

Author's Response: Hiyah Jenna! :D

First of I have to say that, unfortunately, the slash is going to be more a minor one. It's Lysander/someone. I haven't decided yet. Al? Scor? Someone attractive like that. :P

I am SO glad you liked my idea of pirates/HP, 'cos you know I that I consider every one of your awesome fics to be god xD Plus, Scor in a pirate outfit. . . mmm . . .right! So, um, yeah I'm going to explain a lot about Rose's backstory. :)

Personally, I EXTREMELY DISLIKE second person, so I can forgive you for harboring the desire the click the back button ;) And you're right, I suppose I should use less capitals. Sorry, I think I have a caps fetish lol :O

I love this review so much, so major thanks and cyber cookies! Please feel free to drop in again! XXX :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by Storm The Price of Freedom

28th October 2010:
This is bloody brilliant! I can see the Pirates of the Caribbean influence but its not obvious or cliche or badly done. In fact, you did amazing. Please write more!!!

love
Storm

Author's Response: Yes, I'll write more :P Thankies for the awesome review and the kind words!
:D


 Report Review

Review #24, by not important The Price of Freedom

26th October 2010:
this is amazing!! you have to update as fast as humanely possible! have you read the bloody jack series by any chance? this kind of reminds me of those books, but it's even better. i really like how you that red is wild, that she won't go back to the old rose willingly. i love red. bad girl, kick-ass, and just about as tomboy-ish as you get.

Author's Response: Ooooh! Yes yes yes yes yes! I've read the Bloody Jack series too! This fic is actually a combination of that and HP (with a little of Pirates of the Carribbean thrown in)!!! I'm so glad you liked this so much, and I feel really happy about your feedback of Red! Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Ravenclaw333 The Price of Freedom

24th October 2010:
Once again, a very original idea you have here. I don't know much about pirates except what I've gathered from having Pirate as my language setting on Facebook, but you've evoked the feel of your setting extremely well, not only with the pirates but the historical detail as well, such as the women having no future. Your characterisation of Rose is good (I may have already said that, but if I have, I'm just reiterating) and you give reasons for her personality and actions. Well done :)

Author's Response: I get all of my knowledge of pirates from Jack Sparrow XD He is truly an epic man. You should watch Pirates of the Carribean sometime! I'm glad that I got the historical detailing right. Whew! I had to go through a couple of novels about girls dressing up as boys and becoming stowaways blah blah blah to write this fic. I appreciate the time you spent to review this! Thank you!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>