Reading Reviews for Ginny? Are you ready?
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Wildmoon Off to Kings Cross

2nd June 2013:
I'm sorry to see this story seems to have been abandoned. It held a lot of promise. Any chance we can convince you to pick it up again? I'd really like to see more, this is something I hadn't spent a lot of time thinking about and the ideas you present here are really intriguing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lessa_Potter Off to Kings Cross

26th February 2013:
love it, loved both chapters actually. Your stile is so fluid, and I can absolutely see Ginny and Molly in the way you wrote them. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pacific Wizard Off to Kings Cross

1st June 2011:
Hi Lauraf68: Two great chapters and I agree with all of the positive reviews you have been getting. Your plot is solid and your character depictions are on target.As much as I love to hate Umbrage, you had her dead on. But your POV from Ginny was very good and since she is the central character of your story, I believe you've set yourself a firm foundation to move forward with this.

You have a nice writing style, it's clear and crisp. I also like your creativity and use of the characters closest to Ginny, (Molly, Arthur, Neville, etc..., and of course Harry when he shows up later in your story).

You have some powerful allies in Theelderwand, Singularity and dalek197. They are all great writers and you chose very well. They are in my favorites. You also need to check out 1917farmgirl. She's awesome and a close friend of Eldy's.

I'm going to favorite you to keep tabs on your stories. Good luck and well done. PW

 Report Review

Review #4, by Singularity Off to Kings Cross

17th April 2011:
Hi Laura :)

Sorry it took me so long to get to this chapter. I was absent from the fanfic world for awhile. Thanks for the message to let me know that your new chapter was up :)

This is another nice chapter. I really like your idea about the checkpoint before you can get onto the platform. Blah...of course toady would be there. I'm a little worried about the Creevey brothers though. I hope you will continue your story!

 Report Review

Review #5, by kas Off to Kings Cross

10th April 2011:
Nice, keep going! I want to read more!

Author's Response: Thank-You for your review. I do appreciate knowing that there are some who enjoy my little story.

My writing adventures are strictly a stress reliever and I don't take myself too seriously. But don't worry, I will keep going. Look for another chapter possibly within the next month.

You see my muse doesn't come to call very often. However, when she does we do have an awfully good time! I do feel as if she is due any day now. Unfortunately she does not communicate very well and often shows up unannounced.

(I'm waiting for Friday 4/15. No, not for the US Tax deadline, but for the release of HP 7 Pt 1 movie to DVD. I am hoping for some inspiration.)

TTFN (Ta-ta for now)!! ~Lauraf68


 Report Review

Review #6, by Bill Mullens Off to Kings Cross

26th March 2011:
Laura,

I like your portrayal of Ginny, she's a Weasley -- as you say -- smart, and even very young is learning to overcome her fears and do what's right.

Her and Neville's sixth year resistance to the Death Eaters is a great back story to "Deathly Hallows." I'm looking forward to your take on it.

Bill Mullens

Author's Response: Thanks Bill!!
I appreciate you taking the time to review. Mine little story will never be a novel story like yours is, however I do enjoy putting a few words down about my favorite character, Ginny. I like to see if I can give justice to how she must have felt and just hope others can enjoy a bit of my perspective too.

I've always wished that JKR had given us a little more Ginny and Neville (ie Hogwarts) in Deathly Hallows. But since she didn't I thought I would enjoy playing in the HPFF playground for a while. :-) ~ Lauraf68


 Report Review

Review #7, by Janvi Off to Kings Cross

11th March 2011:
Hii!!! I'm so so so glad of at last finding the story I was looking for for ages!!! I always wanted the 7th year at Hogwarts from some canon-based view and all I used to get were AU fics! This is a really awesome story with a great plot!Please, I want to hear more! Add lots of action!
Cheers!
Janvi (penname-JANZme)

Author's Response: Thanks Janvi,
I'm just a lowly reader who decided to put fingers to keyboard and write my ideas for the empty spots within the story we all love.

I appreciate knowing you liked it and hope to be able and continue filling in the blanks. ~Lauraf68


 Report Review

Review #8, by timstearns2 Off to Kings Cross

1st March 2011:
I just finished the first two chapters.
I like your Ginny. She feels right. Molly and Arthur are spot on, Umbridge too.
I like your prose, the rhythm and pacing are really comfortable.
The atmosphere is good, too, a sense that everything is trying to be normal and the menace.

Author's Response: Thanks timstearns2! Funny thing about HPFF, I show 26 readers of this chapter but you are the only one to review it so far. I appreciate you taking the time to give me feedback.

I'm glad you like my Ginny. I'm pretty impartial myself. I am also happy to know that I am doing well with the others too. :-)

My goal is to create a few little chapters to compliment the wonderful world JKR gave us. I don't want to change too much, just fill in the blanks with the ideas that come to mind.

I hope to soon (mid-March?) get a chapter together that talks about Ginny's first term at Hogwarts. I hope you stick with me. ~LF


 Report Review

Review #9, by RumbleroarOnMars Ginny? Are you ready?

2nd October 2010:
Aaww, that was amazing! I was right there with Ginny feeling everything she felt. You created the tense and sad atmosphere brilliantly, plus a perfect portrayal of the youngest Weasley. I can't wait to read more!
(Sorry I'm not as good at reviewing as you are.)

Also I have finally updated Lily's Boy if you are still interested.


Rumble :)

Author's Response: Dear Rumble,
Sorry it has taken me so long to get to your review. I hadn't even considered that anyone would be reading my story anymore since it is small, has been out for a while, and I haven't posted anything new. (My muse is NOT cooperating.)
To tell the truth, I hadn't even looked at my page recently. Thank You so much for reviewing!! Any review--is a good review--no matter what it says. Since I have dabbled in this "HPFF Author" hobby I realize now why authors beg for reviews. :-)

I'm glad you liked how I conveyed Ginny's POV and the stress she and her family were dealing with. I feel that there is so much more to Ginny's 6th year at Hogwarts and the aspects of life after Bill/Fleur's wedding than JKR ever revealed to us, so I enjoy giving Ginny a voice.

I did see that Lily's Boy was updated. I really enjoyed it and look forward to more. I even reviewed it--LOL. Take Care. Happy Reading and Writing!! ~Lauraf68


 Report Review

Review #10, by Mrs HJ Potter Ginny? Are you ready?

16th August 2010:
Lauraf68,

Great to read the first chapter. I love that one of my consistent fellow reviewers is embarking on their first story. Maybe someday I will venture down the same road. As for now I think you have the start of a great story and hope to see the next chapter real soon.

PS...Ginny is my favorite and I think you did quite a justice in capturing her personality so far.

Mrs HJ Potter

Author's Response: Mrs HJP,
So glad you found my little ole story. But even more grateful you took time to review. I'll never be a "great" FF author like some of the one I have on my author list, but I sure have fun with my version of Ginny and the undefined moments of JKR's amazing world. I am glad you like her. When I first started reading FF I never dreamed I would dare to write, so just go for if a plot bunny ever attacks. Unfortunatley my muse is a bit slow and rusty. Or maybe I'm too just too critical of myself. Now that I know there is one more person looking forard to it I can finally finish the next chapter??? :-) Thanks again!! ~Lauraf68


 Report Review

Review #11, by Dalek194 Ginny? Are you ready?

10th July 2010:
Well done, a great first story! You have an interesting take on Ginny's personality that is really good; she is bold but afraid at the same time. I spotted a small grammar error;

-"But his years ‘no Ron’" his should be this

But that is just a minor thing, overall this is a great one-shot that really captures how Ginny must have been feeling before setting off alone that year! I have a suggestion; you say you are thinking of continuing this in a series of one-shots, but you could change this to "short story collection" and then post them all in one story. It may make them flow better. Just an idea, if you hate it then ignore me lol :-P

Anyway, I really liked this, well done. And thanks for your super-long review on War is Over, it was really helpful :-) Great work!

Author's Response: Hello Dalek194,
Thanks for the great review!! Isn't it funny how we can read something over and over again and miss the simple typos? --LOL.

Thanks for the "short story" idea, I'll try changing it. I had considered it briefly but wasn't sure if I should since my plot bunnies take quite a while to mature and I'm not sure when I will get the next story written. :-)

May your muse cooperate and your fingers never tire at the keyboard---"see you" at War is Over!! ~~Laura


 Report Review

Review #12, by theelderwand Ginny? Are you ready?

20th June 2010:
Laura, this is a really great first fic.

My favorite turn of phrase has to be: "The icing on the whole disgusting cake" Brilliant.

Ginny isn't particularly easy to write, but I thought you captured her strength and resolve exceptionally well. Your plot development was excellent. The whole Flitwick-letter twist. Well done - I always wondered why so many parents would've sent their kids back to Hogwarts knowing Snape was in control. You've answered that question beautifully.

Good work!

TEW

Author's Response: TEW,
Thanks again, and again, and again. I'm especially grateful in your help with energizing my muse and setting her straight when her grammar went astray. :-)

I like Ginny because she can be such a mystery, JKR left her defined but open. The Ginny you see and read of here is "my Ginny" the persona I see her being "if" she had been been put into words and published on paper.

~L

PS to other readers/reviewers: If you haven't checked out theelderwand's stories, go do it now, you won't be disappointed. (I see a bit of "my ginny" in his stories.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Singularity Ginny? Are you ready?

20th June 2010:
Congratulations on your very first story :) It seems like the introduction to a longer story to me, especially the way it ended. I think you could easily expand this story and write more about Ginny's sixth year. I hope your plot bunnies are cooperative. Well done. I hope you'll keep writing.

Author's Response: Dear Singularity,
Thank You for your nice review. I am glad you enjoyed it. I hope my muse cooperates and can take good care of those little bunnies too. I feel that JKR left a lot to the imagination in regards to Ginny's life her 6th year and I hope I do it justice. ~~Laura


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login