Reading Reviews for Ronald's Box
  
265 Reviews Found

Review #1, by wenlock Finding the box

7th October 2014:
Well, you hooked me. Unique enough concept, potential for some laughs - in fact I have already laughed ( at hip g-mum Molly)

Other than a few grammatical errors, it looks good so far.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this review! I'm glad you enjoyed the first chapter of this little story. I hope you'll come back for the rest!

 Report Review

Review #2, by TidalDragon Seing things the wrong way

4th May 2014:
Hello again! Here for another of your Golden Paw nominated stories!

While I am just not able to review every chapter of the longer ones, I did read all the way through and I have to say, I really like the idea behind this story. It's mostly a light-hearted look at the Next-Gen kids and their parents as they all look back at the book years, but it also has the capacity to address darker more difficult moments.

I think you do a good job with the characterizations throughout for the most part, making the characters differentiable through their differing reactions to the memories or situations they encounter.

The thing I would comment on though (both going forward and if you go back and edit) is the dialogue. I think you do a good job balancing the difficulty of jumping back and forth, getting everyone's perspectives/commentary and all the characterizations, but the dialogue holds the last one back a bit. For me, the words spoken by each character are just a little too interchangeable. Though it's not as noticeable (and I guess maybe nitpicking a bit since they HAVE all grown up now), Ginny, Ron, or Harry will occasionally use complex vocabulary or phrasing that I would call "Hermione-language".

Overall though, I think you're doing a good job with a really interesting story and a plot that has LOADS of potential to develop into something truly great.

Good luck with the voting!

 Report Review

Review #3, by HEG Finding the box

10th April 2014:
I'm looking forwards to the rest of the story :)

Author's Response: Thanks I hope you'll enjoy!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Finding the box

25th November 2012:
Hi,

This is a really great start to your story! You have me hooked and I can't wait to read more. I love the attention to small details, the necklace and the bezoar being in Ron's box - it really made me smile!

I love G-Mum though! That really made me giggle! Trust George eh?

Lauren

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you enjoyed! It was a lot of fun creating the box and trying to think of objects that would represent Ron as much as possible.
Why yes, of course George would suggest such a great nickname for him mum!!!


 Report Review

Review #5, by True Author Sortings and brilliant plans

1st November 2012:
Loved this!!! =] I can't wait to see what happens... I always wanted to read what Hogwarts was for Ron; as I sometimes felt sorry for him I don't know why!
Anyways, this was cute. ♥

Author's Response: I'm really glad you like this idea! We don't see much of Ron's perspective from his school days so it was different to write it like that. I don't know why but I agree with you; he's the underloved character but he has so much to offer!! Plus, it allowed me to explore other aspects of their school days and adventures.

 Report Review

Review #6, by True Author Finding the box

1st November 2012:
This was beautiful! I loved to read about some old objects... the necklace, SPEW badge for example.
On the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked the box; it was a lot of fun figuring out objects that would represent Ron from his school days. I hope you'll enjoy the rest as well :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ms Michelle Radcliffe Revelations

5th October 2012:
so, whens the third year going to begin? really cool though.

Author's Response: When my writer's block leaves me :(

I'm really sorry; it's outlined and ready to write but right now, I can't seem to find Ron's voice anymore.
I'm working hard on it though and I'm positive I'll get there eventually, please don't lose hope!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Keira7794 Seing things the wrong way

3rd July 2012:
Hello!

My plan was to drop in and read your great entry for the 'Ronald Weasley Challenge'. Then I saw there were 17 chapters (:O). So I figured I'd read a couple... but then I got hooked... and 17 chapters later... here I am. :P

I love the plot; it's something that I've thought a lot about - how much would they tell their children of their Hogwarts Days? I really like how you did this - especially the letters from Ron's POV. It's amusing that it smells like sweets and the scene is warped slightly. I love the distinction between his and Hermione's letters!

This story is actually one of the first fanfics I ever read - there must be an ancient review around her somewhere :P Though there was nowhere near as many chapters! :)

I really like how the kids comment on everything they see, and then the contrasting personalities of the parents. There's so much that keeps you involved and I can't wait to see their reaction to Sirius!

Are you planning on carrying this on through the next school years? Your characterisation is perfect, as always! And I love your plot. :)

It's a brilliant story, Akussa and I can't wait to read more! :) Keira

P.S. I feel horrible - but I was completely swamped with exams that I don't think I fully congratulated you! Congratulations on mini-Akussa! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by CambAngst Seing things the wrong way

24th May 2012:
Hi, there! One good turn deserves another.

I really liked Harry's explanation of Dumbledore and Snape. I think you did a terrific job of capturing the good and the bad parts. It was kind of weird to hear Harry refer to Snape by his first name. I'm not sure that was something he would ever do, but it's not a big deal.

Another thing that sounded, I don't know, just off was the way that Harry puts James in his place over the "real Potter man" comment. I could definitely see where Harry would want to deflate his head just a bit, but after spending so much of his life suffering from bullying and abuse, I see him being more of the parent who was hugging Al upstairs, not the one taking a relatively cheap shot at his older son to intervene is a simple, little sibling rivalry. Now Ginny on the other hand... ;)

I just got to the part where they're about to enter the letters from the Third Year. Goosebumps...

I really love the kids' reactions to finding out more about Harry's treatment at the hands of the Dursleys. Very touching and genuine.

And I absolutely adore the way that you change the tenor and the details of the memories when the kids switch from Ron's PoV to Hermione's. It's a small thing, but it makes the story so much more realistic and interesting.

The scene where the dementor visits their compartment on the train was a revelation for me, because I've seen the movie so many times on TV since the last time I read the book that I'd totally forgotten that the two versions are very different. Told from Hermione's PoV, the scene loses none of its poignancy. And finally the scene with Ron and Ginny in the Great Hall was very touching. He really does love his sister and he wants to look out for her, especially after what happened the prior year.

I noticed one little typo right near the end: "No I'm serious,” he presses, “people have always be drawn to you so it'll be the same with these guys." - have always been drawn.

Still really loving this story. Can't wait to see what's next!

 Report Review

Review #10, by HartOfARebel Seing things the wrong way

7th May 2012:
Excellent chapter as always =D I loved the bit at the start, where Al and Harry were talking. Obviously Al would be a little, eh, confused as to why he was called after someone who so clearly hated his dad.

I really liked that extra scene between Ron and Ginny, it was so sweet =] Update soon =]

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the comments and for taking the time to review :) I'm glad you liked the part at the beginning; I wanted to tackle that subject in the last chapter but it was getting long so I split it and I think it works better. Al is able to express a bit more when he is alone with his dad, rather then being with the rest of the group.

The update will take a couple weeks I'm afraid, I'm too much immersed in another story I'm working on and it's taking all of the little time I have to write these days. But it's gonna come, I promise! Thanks for always being there when there is an update though, I appreciate that a lot !


 Report Review

Review #11, by potterhead42 Seing things the wrong way

4th May 2012:
i have just read your story from start to finesh; i thought i would be easier if i review the whole thing at once. i love the whole concept and idea i absolutely love what i have read so far i hope u do all seven books like this! i hope you update soon.

~potterhead42

Author's Response: Wow, you are a beast, going through it all! I'm very touched by this and I thank you a million times for your kind words. I'm glad you like it so far and you find the concept interesting.
I don't know if I'll go through the seven books yet but I know I'll finish the third and most definitly will do the fourth. After that, I'm not certain.
Thanks again and I will update in a little while; real life's got me pretty busy right now but it's coming, don't worry!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Kookiekrisp94 Finding the box

2nd May 2012:
Very interesting! i like the involvment between the characters!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing, I'm glad you like the opening chapter of my story! I hope to see you again :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by EvannaBlackthorn Finding the box

2nd May 2012:
Nice opening, short and sweet. I really liked it, can't find anything to critic. Looking forward to reading more and seeing what's in those letters. ;)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you liked the opening chapter! It is short when you compare it to the lasts ones that have been validated... Good times...
I hope you'll enjoy the letters and what is coming; I hope to see you again, telling me what you thought of it :)
Thanks again for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Tiffile Seing things the wrong way

1st May 2012:
You have a WONDERFUL imagination!! So glad you decided to do this. While you skipped Ron's version of the Dementor train ride I'm sure there will be much overlap POV which we all are looking forward to. But I really want to say don't give up on book 5, besides Percy's letter to Ron I'm sure they all (Fred, and George included) would have written home to reassure Mr & Mrs Weasly everything is ok with the High Inquisitor, and no they are not forming and illegal group. As for book 7, maybe Hermione and or Ginny kept a diary or wrote the letters but never sent them. Actually after re-reading 7 I'm surprised 1) Hermione didn't write an angry one for Ron for leaving and 2) Harry didn't leave a letter knowing he was going to die but couldn't them before he walked into the forest. (Just think about it, and please...) Keep up the Great work!

 Report Review

Review #15, by RosieQueen Seing things the wrong way

25th April 2012:
Oh, I really enjoyed this! I though the story had ended in the last chapter, but boy was I wrong! I've still got a whole new year to read! :D I've got a question: Are they going to witness all seven of Ron's years?

Author's Response: Hi! Nope it definitly isn't over yet! As for whether or not I'll do the seven years, I highly doubt that because, according to canon, the mail was read in the trio's fifth year so the letters to home would probably be short and far from the real thing. Also, the seventh year was spent on the run so they most definitly didn't send letters home.
I will do the third year and probably the fourth as well but after that, unless I get a sudden idea, I don't think it will be done.
I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter though, it was fun to write and I really want to thank you for taking the time to review, you have no idea how happy this makes me!!


 Report Review

Review #16, by CassidyAnn Finding the box

25th April 2012:
I really like this story, lol

Author's Response: Thank you very much for this comment, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #17, by hiddenbyhair Revelations

11th April 2012:
if you drop the story now i will go hunt u down and use crucio

Author's Response: Hahaha! Best review ever! I'm to understand that you enjoy it? Well then you'll be glad to know that I am not dropping the story at all. In fact, the next chapter is almost done and the third year is about to begin. There is no need to hunt me down; I'm doing as fast as I can :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by HartOfARebel Revelations

6th April 2012:
Yay to you updating! I've been waiting for this for ages =]

This chapter made me laugh, the reaction of the adults was very good. Asking Hermione about her being a cat and her crush on Lockhart was very good. And then reciting the poem Ginny wrote haha. I look forward to the next chapter =]

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this review and I apologize, I know it's been ages! I'm very happy to see that you are still following this story though, that's a huge relief. If you read my AN, you'll know that this chapter did not want to be written...

I'm glad you enjoyed it and it made you laugh. I didn't want it to be too heavy, no matter that some of the points they had to explore were a lot heavier. Next chapter is half written! Some other questions will be answered and the first of Hermione's letter will make an appearance.! Thanks again for reviewing and keeping up, means the world to me!


 Report Review

Review #19, by lukelog925 Revelations

4th April 2012:
What needs to be in this story: Harry and Hermione's POV on:
The escape of Sirius Black, the graveyard harry vs. Voldemort, The prophecy being told in Dumbledore's office, harry and Dumbledore: the hunt for the locket, The Forest: Death of Harry/Dumbledore's final Request of Harry, and Harry's final fight with Voldemort and obviously the future generations reactions to all.
Your story has amazing potential and I'm looking forward to the next chapter, keep it up, your story is one of my favorites btw,

Author's Response: Hi and welcome to my story!

Well, I'm sorry to disapoint you with my answer but you will not see anything from Harry's point of view here. We saw all of it through the books and, although the kids didn't this story is about seing things from another perspective. I am now adding Hermione's so it'll be a split between hers and Ron's.
Therefore, all moments with only Harry can only be recalled from how Harry transmitted the information to his friends. You'll know that he sometimes omitted things (for example, the prophecy) and, in that case, it will be interesting to see how Ron and Hermione deal with this fact (well, I think it'll be!).

I'm glad you like it though and I hope you won't be too disapointed with my answer. I hope you'll still enjoy my take on the thrid year though; it will be interesting to see what Hermione gets up to when she is fighting with the boys! Thanks again and next chapter is coming soon!


 Report Review

Review #20, by CambAngst Revelations

4th April 2012:
Tagging you from the Review the Person Above You thread in the common room. So happy to see a new chapter.

So I could see a progression in your writing as this chapter went on. At the beginning, things felt a bit stiff. In a lot of places, you weren't mixing up your tag verbs and sentence structure, which made the dialog sound a bit singsongy. As I moved along through the chapter, you seemed to get more comfortable and things started to flow much more nicely. By the end, you were solidly in your comfort zone and I thought it ended on a very strong note.

In the beginning, I liked the way that you included Arthur as a calm, comforting presence. It felt very much in character for him and it set the stage well for the calm, reasonable reactions of the adults. It was amusing that Molly was more upset with Ron about the omissions in his letters than with the four cousins, but again that was perfectly in character.

The adults' explanation of why they hadn't told the kids about many of the things that happened to them while they were in school made good sense, and I thought Ginny was a good person to delivery the message. The way you transitioned into Lily's question was a bit odd, though. It didn't really seem like a "chuckling" moment.

Lily's question was a good one, given the limited window into Ginny's first year that they were able to get from Ron's letters. It would seem like Ron and the twins did not do nearly as much as they could have to make sure that Ginny was alright. Honestly, I agree more with Lily than with the adults' explanation in this case. It always struck me as odd that Ron was such a protective older brother, yet he spent so much of Chamber of Secrets completely ignoring Ginny. It's funny that there's still so much tension within the family on the topic of the Malfoys.

Play dates with Luna! That must have been awkward beyond words. I do agree with you that the death of Luna's mother has always been glossed over a bit in the books. Poor thing did go through a lot leading up to her first year.

I loved the way the kids torment Hermione with her crush on Gilderoy Lockhart. Hermione winds up being written as so sage-like and untouchable in most next ten stories and you succeeded in taking he down a notch and making her very human. The recital of her werewolf poem was priceless. And just to make sure that Ginny takes a few hits, too, they bring up her Valentine poem to Harry. Humiliating!

I think it was a great idea for Hermione to insist on including her letters for third year. That was definitely a year where she and Ron had some pretty major differences. I think the upcoming chapters are going to be a lot of fun. Can't wait for more!

 Report Review

Review #21, by ginerva_molly_weasley Bravery comes in tiny packages apparently

9th March 2012:
Hey, here I am again with another review!

I actually love this story because it is just so close to canon and you include almost every little detail with the troll and the quidditch match which is just amazing to read.

I like how the next gen children are just discovering alot more about their parents and it's interesting to see how little their parents had told them about their times at Hogwarts and when they were younger. It's interesting that they hadn't heard the troll story though as I feel that would be a story that Ron would have been proud of to relate in little family get togethers although I do understand why they wouldn't have been told about the cursed broom though.

It would be interesting if you included more of the next gen's reactions but that's just a little thing :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

It wasn't always easy to keep it close to cannon but it's what I try to do to the most of my ability. I'm working on adding more comments from the next-gen right now, you aren't the first one to comment on that! I was afraid the chapters would be too long at first and then, I write the second year with chapters of over 6000 words each... Irony.

I'm glad you enjoyed and, as for the troll story, I agree with you but when it came to writting it, it turned out more fun when the kids didn't know about it so this is why I made the choice.
Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #22, by ginerva_molly_weasley First Look at Hogwarts' Fall 1991

8th March 2012:
Haha I actually love this chapter!

Ron's perception of Hermione is actually hilarious and I can see why the kids would be confused as to why these two ever got married but then again over the books we got to see their relationship develop!

Hagrid also made me laugh because I can see how Ron could have seen him as scary so when the kids go on about how he isn't and then see him from Ron's perception it did make me laugh because Hagrid is almost like the BFG.

A very well written chapter and I'm loving the way you are almost guiding us through the books and at the same time letting us know the next gen children's reactions to the events!

Author's Response: I love this chapter because it's the only one where I had time to poke fun at how Ron saw Hermione before they became friends so I had to cram everything very quickly to make the most of it!!

It is fun for me too to go back on the books and try to find the small places where I can write a missing moment of some sort. One that does not take away from the original story but adds to it and, I hope, adds more colour to those characters. I'm glad you enjoyed and thanks a lot for this kind review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Marauder_Weasley Spiders and Snake

12th February 2012:
PLEASE UPDATE SOON IT'S A GREAT STORY

Author's Response: Thanks ! The next chapter is coming soon; I'm glad you enjoy my story, thanks for taking the time to let me know!!

 Report Review

Review #24, by ariellem Boys (and girl) versus Dragon

25th January 2012:
Poor Ron, first he gets bit, now he's going to get detention, AND his kids have figured out all his lies.

He's going to wake up with a large headache later. :) Great job as usual!

Author's Response: hahaha! this has got to be the best review I ever got on this story!!

I try to think of it like they ALL lied to their kids, not just Ron; he only happens to be the one whose letters the kids fell onto.

I'm glad you liked it and thank you for taking the time to review and make my day !


 Report Review

Review #25, by magicmuggle01 Spiders and Snake

24th January 2012:
Once again an excellent piece of penmanship. I love how you seem to take the feelings that all concerned and pass them onto your readers. I was a bit dissapointed not to be able to read Ron's account of what happened in the chamber, I just know he'd have mixed up one or two of Harry's accounts of the story.
Excellent work and 10/10. I can't wait to see what you have planned next.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this review and for always coming by with every chapter. I can't tell you how much I appreciate that!

Yeah, about the chamber, I tried a lot of ways to actually show it but no matter how I tried it, it clashed with the previous chapters and statements. So I had to settle with this idea, sorry if you feel cheated, it is unintentional but necessary.
Nex chapter is going to come soon, just as long as life slows down a bit. The chapter is all written in my head, I just don't have time to write it down (the same goes for answering my reviews. sorry about the delay by the way...).
Thanks again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>