Reading Reviews for Of Pints and Pigtails
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Splendiferously_Awesome Reacquainted

5th April 2013:
This is a lovely fic! Neville and Hannah make such a sweet couple :)

Just a small thing that I noticed (though I'm not sure if you'll be editing this story at all) was the apostrophe in the last line where it's not really needed...

i.e. rather than saying "it definitely had it's perks."
I would instead write "it definitely had its perks."

Aside from that, this was superbly written and I'm now a huge fan of your writing! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing out that mistake. (I know the difference between it's and its, I swear!) I've gone through and fixed it. I really like Neville and Hannah and had a lot of fun writing this bit of fluff. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I hope to hear from you again!

 Report Review

Review #2, by parashar_harry Reacquainted

2nd November 2011:
another peace of beauty
u wrote one shot really well.
i wish it would be long , but it is good . i like it
why not u are making it a short story , it will be fantastic

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm really glad that you like this story. Neville is my favorite character. I don't have any plans to make this longer at the time being, but I'll let you know if I ever change my mind. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Klynxx Reacquainted

5th September 2011:
That was adorable!! You had me smiling stupidly throughout the whole thing!! :) well done!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks :) I'm glad you enjoyed this little piece of fluff. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #4, by alicia and anne Reacquainted

13th August 2011:
Now this is just adorable! it is a really sweet story. It gave me goosebumps and I 'awwed' a lot! The way you wrote them was really good and really believable. I really enjoyed the awkward but sweet moments they shared between each other and the flirtatious chat they seemed to have. I love how at the end she got the confidence to kiss him.
I really love this!

alicia and anne
Slytherin

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. Writing this story turned me into a total Neville/Hannah shipper :P I never was before.

I'm glad you liked it and thought it was believable. I love a bit of sweet, fluffy, goodness from time to time :) Thanks again!

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #5, by MileyMalfoy Reacquainted

5th August 2011:
That was fantastically cute! I haven't read many Neville/Hannah stories but this was really interesting. I might have to actually search for some more! I though that the characterization for both of them was absolutely spot on, even though we don't really see a lot of Hannah in the books she was pretty much how I had imagined her to be.

I liked the fact that it seemed like she wasn't entirely happy with her life and how it had gone so far. I think a lot of people really do go through those kinds of regrets to to me it seemed realistic that she would as well.

One of my favourite bits had to be when Hannah commented on the drinking. It made me laugh at her internal reaction. Another definitely had to be the kiss. It was so cute and beautifully written and just overall really sweet. And the fact that she was worried about having made a terrible mistake only to have him kiss her back just made it even better in my opinion.

Absolutely beautifully written. I really enjoyed it.
Fantastic job!

Miles
(Hufflepuff)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and leaving such a lovely review. I was never a Neville/Hannah fan until I started writing fanfiction, but now I pretty much love that pairing.

When I imagined Hannah, her becoming a barmaid was pretty much the last thing I would expect her to be. She seemed a little too sweet, shy, and naive for that, so I decided she must have just sort of fallen into that line of work.

Writing this story was really fun (especially Hannah's inner monologue) so I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks again!

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #6, by UH60TI Reacquainted

28th July 2011:
Very well done, as always. I really like how you get into the minds and emotions of characters not normally seen in the cannon.

Love and passion always last a lifetime, even when the years seperate two people.

Agin, VERY WELL DONE.

Reading more of your work.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) I'm really glad you enjoyed this story. Neville's my favorite :)

Thank you for continuing to check out my stories. I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Hufflepuffgirl93 Reacquainted

5th January 2011:
Aaaw! This was so sweet! Loved their characters in the books...but have never read a Hannah/Neville before. Loved how you wrote both their characters, and how they both fancied each other in seventh year. So cute! I like how you wrote it, you have a very simple style and its really natural and easy to read. Such a sweet story, made me smile! :D

Author's Response: To be honest, I wrote this story for a challenge, and before writing it, I HATED Neville/Hannah. In the books, we only ever see her as slightly dimwitted, gullible, naive girl with pigtails. I was so annoyed when Jo announced that someone as awesome as Neville ended up with someone as lame as Hannah. Especially because (at the time, though not any longer) I was a huge Luna/Neville shipper.

But the beauty of fanfiction is that we writers can reinvent minor characters like Hannah and turn her into someone more deserving of the awesome that is Neville.

Plus, once I write a character, I find it hard to dislike them. I guess I just know too much about them or something.

And this was way too much information and way off topic. Sorry about that.

Thank you for your review and your sweet compliments. They're all very much appreciated :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Faith Reacquainted

15th November 2010:
It's great!! I love Neville/Hannah stories! R u going to add more chapters? please do I really want to read more! (P.s I've read alot of ur other stories and they r all amazing!! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm really glad you enjoyed this one. Hannah/Neville is starting to grow on me. I don't think I'll be adding more chapters to this one, but I might right some sort of prequel, we'll see :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Pacific Wizard Reacquainted

25th October 2010:
Singularity: This was an amazingly sweet story of rediscovery. You're such a great story teller. All of these snippet stories of yours touch different chords of emotion and let our minds wander into..."what if...". This story line was absorbing and engaging. I could see it playing out in my mind with such clarity because of your wonderful writing style. I also love the Neville/Hannah combination. Thanks for bringing this scenario to life. You may want to consider continuing this story. With you at the helm, I'm sure you'll sail us into a great adventure. Well Done. PW

Author's Response: Honestly, being called 'a great story teller' is probably one of the best compliments I've ever received. Thank you. It honestly reminded me of a huge long story, but this is probably not the place to share it, so I'll just repeat, Thank you.

I'm kind of thinking of making this a one-shot collection, with scenes of Neville and Hannah's interactions at Hogwarts, but we'll see. Thanks for your review.


 Report Review

Review #10, by SiriusxRemus4life Reacquainted

21st July 2010:
That was so cute, I loved it. 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! Glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by ilharrypotter Reacquainted

9th July 2010:
I'm fascinated with Hannah/Neville... so, excellent job. :)

Author's Response: Why thank you :) I used to dislike Neville/Hannah, myself, but I find them a bit intriguing now that I've written this. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by DracoFerret11 Reacquainted

4th July 2010:
Hey there! It's DarkRose with another review for you... :D

I really loved this story! I honestly think that Hannah and Neville are adorable together and I loved how you portrayed that relationship. Your characterization was so great with both of them. I loved it! And the descriptions you gave put a nice touch on an already great story. This piece is adorably well written and very well done through everything. Honestly? No criticism. :] Terrific job! It rocked.

--DracoFerret11/DarkRose

Author's Response: *waves* Hi DarkRose :) Thanks for another great review. I'm glad you enjoyed this take on Neville/Hannah and that you thought the characterizations were well done. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #13, by lumos_ Reacquainted

3rd July 2010:
This is really cute :) You've made the characters your own whilst still retaining part of JK's skeletons. I like :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! That's exactly what I was trying to do, so I'm glad you feel that I accomplished that :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by flying_rabbit Reacquainted

28th June 2010:
Aw :) That was really sweet! The beginning was quite funny - with Hannah reminiscing about working in the Leaky Cauldron for so long already; that seems definitely plausible. I don't know how I expected her to become the owner of the place, but I'm sure it wasn't like this, although this actually makes the most sense.
Now I'm wondering what Neville has been up to all those years. I suppose I've never really thought about what he did after leaving Hogwarts as a student and before returning there as a Professor. I think you did good, though, not talking about that, because the flow of the conversation is great this way :) I liked how Hannah was trying to make Neville see that he was perfect for the job; after all, if Sprout wanted to talk to him about that, I doubt Hogwarts wouldn't want to hire him.
The ending was quite funny as well, with Hannah's mind screaming to kiss him. I'm glad she did :) (and I'm sure that Neville is glad, too!) Neville hasn't changed one bit, has he? :) His characterisation was great, and so was Hannah's, as the peacemaker in the RoR. Although, of course, Hufflepuffs as nice people is sort of a cliche. But it works here, and I really can't imagine Hufflepuffs any other way (except for Zacharias Smith, but we'll ignore him), so that doesn't really matter :)
Anyway, great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for such a wonderful review. I'm glad you enjoyed my story and felt like it was relatively true to canon.

I love Neville. I've loved Neville since that scene when he attacks Crabe and Goyle in the first book. He has this awesome inner strength, but it's so often hidden behind his insecurity. It's endearing. I'd never want to change that. I'm glad you thought he was true to canon.

As for Hannah being a bit cliche Hufflepuff, you definitely have a point. I've always had a hard time with Neville marrying Hannah because I love Neville and didn't think that she was good enough for him. So I tried to give her some redeeming character traits that would fit into the storyline, and would be appealing to Neville. I think he'd be really into a sweet, girl next door type.

Thanks again for a wonderful review. I appreciate it a lot :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by ReAnna Reacquainted

17th June 2010:
AW!That was adorable!I loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Northumbrian Reacquainted

2nd June 2010:
Hi, and congratulations on your third place.
This is a nice little Neville/Hannah story, the world needs more of them. Your Neville is instantly recognisable as the old, rather nervous and uncertain man I've always had a soft spot for. Hannah is nicely drawn, too. I really enjoned this brief encounter.
A few minor observations. First, we would say "Dutch courage" rather than "liquid courage" (one day I must try to find out why). Second, Neville is not really worried about "the Herbology portion," I think that last word should be position. Third "bullocks?" (-: Other than that, very nice. thanks for the read.

N

Author's Response: Thanks for the congrats, and for taking the time to read and review. (Also, congratulations on your first place. It was well earned :)). Thanks also for pointing those things out, especially the British idioms. My writing is unabashedly American, so those pointers are really helpful. I've reworded the sentence about "the Herbology portion" so hopefully it makes more sense now.
Thanks again for the wonderful review. It's much appreciated :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Alexandra Reacquainted

17th May 2010:
I'm not entirely sure what to write, I loved it! I thought it was so adorable, then again I tend to think everything about Neville is adorable, even when he was killing Nagini all I could think was aw.. Neville :) Anyway, I loved your one shot a lot. It was funny and sweet and like real life all rolled into one. Nice work!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! It made me laugh. I, too, am a big Neville fan. My reaction to him killing Nagini was "About freaking time! I always knew you were awesome, Neville. Way to show the rest of the world!" Glad you enjoyed it and thought it seemed relatively realistic. Thanks again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by maskedmuggle Reacquainted

15th May 2010:
Hey (:

Wow! This is seriously an amazing one shot! I love it! It's pretty short, but you managed to convey to me the scene, characters and plot extremely well!

I love the idea of it, it's simply brilliant. I love how you've gotten into Hannah's heads.. and the ending is sweet too.

Fantastic job. Very enjoyable to read.

Author's Response: *blushes* Thanks for such a sweet review. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I was pleasantly surprised to find that I actually liked writing about Hannah, so thanks for the challenge!

 Report Review

Review #19, by freakinwinky Reacquainted

13th May 2010:
This was adorable. There are so few stories about this pairing out there (despite the fact that it is canon), and there are also very few authors who can really do Neville's character justice. You wrote both Neville and Hannah perfectly in this! I loved it. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. I just love Neville, so I'm glad you thought I did him justice. Thanks for taking the time to review. It's much appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Harry and Ginny Reacquainted

12th May 2010:
awww great fic this one! u must make a sequel with them because there aren't many stories with them!!!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: I'm actually not a huge fan of Hannah/Neville. (I don't think she's good enough for him and wanted Neville and Luna to end up together so badly) I wrote this for a challenge, but Hannah's starting to grow on me. I've got some other ideas, so it's possible there may be more stories to come. Stay tuned, and thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Little_My Reacquainted

12th May 2010:
Nawww :P
I really liked the story. Good carachters, and good writing. And of corse, it was really cute. I love Neville and I think you wrote him excelent:)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing. I love Neville, too. He's my favorite :*

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login