Reading Reviews for Starving Artists
  
516 Reviews Found

Review #1, by merlins beard Metaphor Wrapping Paper

23rd October 2014:
Hey. Just wanted to let you know that i absolutely adore your rambling, crazy caracters. You had me (almost) rolling around on the floor, laughing so hard i could barely breathe, whining to my boyfriend about how lucy should finally realize she's in love with scorpius, running around the appartment swearing at rose (and pouring scalding hot tea down my shirt)... i love stories that play with my emotions and you have certainly done that very well. I'll go check out your other stories (if you have any) now, so yeah - keep up the good work

 Report Review

Review #2, by SHES CRAY CRAY Everything is Lovely

29th June 2014:
AAA ROSE IS CRAY CRAY

 Report Review

Review #3, by MINTSLICE The Pear-Shaped Iceberg

28th June 2014:
AWWMIGOD I LOVE THIS STORY REREADING AGAIN FOR PROCRASTINATION PURPOSES AND OMG LUCY AND SCORPIUS IN THIS STORY WAS JUST IT HITS THE SPOT YA KNOW AND I LOVE IT SOSOSO MUCH YOUR THE BEST WRITER EVER WHAT ARE CUSTARD CREAMS IM LOOKING THEM UP RIGHT NOW HAVE YOU EVER HAD A MINT SLICE THEY'RE AMAZING I LOVE THIS

 Report Review

Review #4, by evil little devil Metaphor Wrapping Paper

14th February 2014:
So I feel super duper guilty for never having reviewed this before, especially considering I must have read it through about ten times. This is my go to story for when I'm sad - if I'm upset, I'll come and read this through, and re-watch the tv show Miranda, and feel much better about life. I had a bit of a depressing year last year thanks to a hideous housemate, and this story really was one of the things that kept me sane, so thank you!
This story is just excellent. I don't even really know where to start. The humour is just my sort of humour, I absolutely love it and spend a lot of time getting weird looks for cackling like a mad woman at my computer. It's just so beautifully weird and wacky and hilarious and I love it. I think I can also relate really well to this kind of story, because I've never really had any idea what I want to do with my life (or rather, I've had way too many ideas and can never choose between them), so it's fantastic to be able to read a story which is about someone who is just trying to find her way in life. It's especially fantastic that you have a female lead to, because a role like this tends to get given to the menfolk. You have all the lovely romancey elements, but the story really is just young adults trying to be young adults, wondering what to do with their lives and what exactly they're supposed to be doing to make them adults (who I personally feel are a myth). And Lucy is adorable! I really struggle to picture any other Lucy now, I tried to write one of my own and found it really difficult. I can deal with all the multiple Roses and Scorpii and Albuses that I've read, but when it comes to Lucy I can't really get past your gorgeous portrayal of her. And I can't see her as anyone other than Hannah Murray (who I love to bits) now either! I go to watch Skins, and just for a moment wonder why she's being Cassie and not Lucy. I find her such a realistic character too. The story is so silly (in a good way of course!), and the characters keep it grounded, because even though they're also a little silly at times, you make them so very human and three dimensional and lovely to read.
Don't even let me get started on your Scorpius! He's as adorable as Lucy, if in a completely different way. If there ever was a human personification of the music of the Smiths (whose music, embarrassingly, I had hardly listened to until I stalked your fanmixes on tumblr), it would be Scorpius.
I should probably start to wrap this up, because I have a feeling I could probably ramble for approximately forever about this story. I'd say it ranks up there as my favourite fanfic of all time, and I wish I could write stories like this, and I wish there were more out there, so thank you so much for writing this :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Sorry, Ron ate my username The Benefits of a Flashback

23rd November 2013:
Oh my god. That duck thing almost killed me. I love this. I love you. KEEP WRITING !

Author's Response: Haha, I love your username! (or what you've replaced it with after Ron ate it). Despite my best attempts at procrastination, I will endeavour to keep writing ;) ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by sharzamow Metaphor Wrapping Paper

27th October 2013:
I actually read this story ages and ages ago, back when I didn't have an account here, and then I forgot what it was named, but, seeing as I acquired an account on here a few days ago I decided to go on a quest to find this fic again! Found it, re-read it, and laughed just as much as I did the first time, if not more. Gosh, gosh, gosh. It's just fantastic, seriously. So witty, so clever, so wacky, so original!

First off, your characters are absolutely fab. I have a soft spot for Percy and so I'm always delighted when I run into a Lucy Weasley or Molly Weasley fic and you seriously made the best Lucy ever. I love how you made her rebellious, a bit wacky, a bit of a dosser, and a bit naff and wibbly on the edges. I think sometimes people make the next-gen characters a bit too - I don't know, perfect? But Lucy was just the right amount of sassy and clumsy, and I was never quite sure if she was so uncool she was cool or so cool she was uncool. Either way, she was excellent, and I adored her, which is awesome, because it's so easy for people to hate main characters. I honestly wish I had a mate like Lucy, I'd keep her around through thick and thin for pure entertainment value. Plus, she was quite easy to relate to, as well, which is really great! (Also I love how you used Hannah Murray for Lucy's face, because Skins. Cassie. Lovely.)

And I swear to god, whenever Scorpius was in a scene I never stopped laughing. I downright cackled. Absolute favourite characterization of Scorpius ever, without a shadow of a doubt. He was so...awkward and droopy and like a Smiths song personified! I just wanted to shove him and Lucy together because they are actually the most perfect artsy-fartsy, naff, droopy, hipster-disaster, hilarious couple ever.

Huge love for all of the other characters as well - Tarquin and Raven were absolutely spiffing (I have a crush on Tarquin and I am unashamed), Al Potter and his many elbows was so fantastic (I adore him and his everything), Molly had me clutching my sides because she was hilarious, Rose was utterly terrifying and I'm glad Scorpius got rid of her and went for Lucy instead although I feel sort of sorry for her, and Obscure Henry. OBSCURE HENRY. And Lettuce, and Dean, and good gracious you forget how many characters are in one fic. Regardless, I loved them all.

I also loved how you wrote Percy and Audrey, and the little cameos from Harry and Ron and whatnot. Seriously great.

I genuinely can't say enough good things about this fic, it really cheers me up when I'm feel low, and it's just so fresh and funny and witty and makes fun of itself and actually makes me laugh out loud and I just love all of the characters to absolute pieces. Plus, it's so clever, too - like, there's a silliness factor, but there's a real wittiness, and I just love it. I wish I could remember all my favourite bits and all the fantastic quotes but I can't - basically, every single chapter made me laugh my socks off. Every single one.

I also loved absolutely everything with Al, particularly when he fell down the stairs. I also muchly enjoyed the reader's first meeting Al, when Lucy's taking pictures and Rose is being disapproving.

"Thus Spoke Scorpius" is quite potentially one of the funniest chapters of anything I have ever read. I want a Scorpius I can follow around and laugh at. His antics are brilliant.

The still life class which involves the nude bloke and the ducks was also priceless. Seriously, a golden moment.

Aaand I do love when Lucy snatches Scorpius' poetry and reads it aloud for him. Dodgy poetry, but seriously hilarious.

Anyways, yeah, I could fawn and fawn - but I basically adored every single little bit of it. Really such a great fic. The sort of fic you read when you're all sad and droopy and huddled in a jumper and you think you're going to be droopy until the end of time and then lo and behold you're snorting with laughter and seeing the funny side of life.

Author's Response: Oh my god -€” first off, please let me apologise from the bottom of my heart for not responding to this review from !OCTOBER LAST YEAR! until now, and secondly, please let me virtually hug you for a thousand years over the internet because this is one of the nicest reviews I€'ve ever received and it means, so so much to me to hear stuff like this! I actually took a bit of a writing hiatus at the end of last year because, ironically, I was too busy being a starving art student to work on fic, and I didn'€™t see this review forever. But now I'm back without a vengeance and here to respond.

Thank you so, so much for going on a quest to find my fic - I'€™m so happy it made such an impression on you! I actually did a similar thing ages ago, haha. I started using HPFF in 2005/2006 but didn'€™t start seriously posting until 2009, when I went on a series of mini-quests to find all the stuff I'€™d read before. (Also, what the hell, I just realised I'€™ve been reading fan fiction for nine years and I want to cry)

I have a soft spot for Percy too!! He'€™s definitely an insufferable git but I can actually empathise with him a lot. I'€™m really flattered you like Lucy, mostly because her voice sort of sprung from my own mental narration (although I'€™m definitely more of a Scorpius on the outside. I could win a gold medal for tripping up stairs). Also ♥ Hannah Murray ♥ I could look at her face forever.

I'€™m so glad you liked Scorpius too! and Tarks and Gwendibird!! Everyone seems to fancy Tarquin (even me, a bit). And I'€™m actually really glad to hear you feel sorry for Rose as well - one of my biggest regrets about this fic is that I made her so one-dimensional and horrible, which I tried to atone for in the sequel.

Lettuce has such a cult following. It's actually made my life. He's definitely my favourite character I ever dreamt up. Fun fact: I invented him after going to a gig where the support band were a bunch of emo kids who lit candles on stage and wore silk scarves around their necks and looked so artsy untilll...their lead singer moved his guitar and we all saw the massive rip in the crotch of his jeans.

I'm basically glad about everything you say in this review because it is SO DARN NICE and I really don't want the phrase '€˜I'€™m glad'€™ to sound overused and cheap because I genuinely am really pleased...I'€™m so glad you say it cheers you up when you're down - literally, it means the world to hear you say that - because it'€™s a lovely thought, that, thinking I can cheer people up! And that you think it's witty. Fun fact #2: when I make jokes IRL and people laugh, one of my friends just tuts and says '€˜stop laughing, you'€™ll just encourage her!'€™ I hope your feet didn'€™t get cold when you laughed your socks off. I actually laughed a lot when I was writing this. That sounds a bit bigheaded, like, 'oh, I'm so funny, I made myself laugh'€™ - I mean more like it was the most fun I'd had in ages. And I still smile thinking up crazy things for these characters to do, even if I'€™ve sworn to stop writing stories about them.

♥ ♥ ♥ thank you so, so much for this review, and I'm so sorry once again for how long it took me to reply - it'€™s cheered me up a lot on a blustery tuesday and I might just print it out and look at it forever - it means so much to hear people say this sort of stuff and eee basically thank you to the ends of the earth for being nice ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by Winters Victory Art School

4th September 2013:
Read this story many moons ago, when you were just finishing. Got a new account and just had to look it up. This has always been one of my favourites.

Author's Response: Aaah, thank you so much for coming back to review this! So happy to hear you enjoyed it and liked it enough to find it again - this review made my month :D ♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #8, by javu Art School

26th August 2013:
You should write more; it has an interesting twist.

Author's Response: I have, in fact, written more! There's about 21 more chapters of this, plus a sequel and a couple of spinoff one shots - one could almost say I've written too much ;) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ribbons Metaphor Wrapping Paper

26th August 2013:
I really, really liked this story! It was hilarious and the characters (every single one) were wonderful. I often read longer stories that get very dark and intense towards the end and whose main characters are very serious. I love when stories with romance in them aren't like that, it was funny and lighthearted until the very end. I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Aaah, so sorry it's taken me about a month to respond to this! Thank you so much for reviewing and I'm really glad you enjoyed it - it means a lot to me when people say they like my stuff! As an avid fan of angst, it was a little hard to resist the temptation to write the story into misery (if you don't like intense endings, I don't recommend you read the sequel...) so it's good to hear you liked the lightheartedness of this.

Thank you again for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by dobby88 Metaphor Wrapping Paper

30th July 2013:
Ahh I've been meaning to review this for a while now, but I was reading it on my phone and it's really awkward to leave reviews :O Anyway... I loved this story- every spare minute I had I was reading an extra chapter, I loved the awkwardness between Lucy and Scorpius and thought it was very realistic because really? which relationship goes off without any awkwardness? lol, anyway I liked how the characters grew throughout the story, I also liked your interpretation of Scorpius, all too often he's the 'hot Slytherin' who gets with Rose. I think this is the first ever Lucy/Scorpius that I've ever read and I loved it :) I've also seen your tumblr page which is really cool (just putting that out there :D ) I also liked how the story was set at art school, there's not too many stories out there that combine art and magic so well done for making it so original. I can't think of anything else to put, but just generally this was a great story- now excuse me whilst I go and read the sequel :D

Author's Response: Awh, thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, especially the pairing - these two have been my favourite characters to write and it's always a joy to hear from people who like them. I'm glad to hear you've looked at my tumblr too, I do tend to dump a lot of fic stuff on there and feel like nobody ever sees it!

Thank you so much for the lovely review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by Shinicha Metaphor Wrapping Paper

19th June 2013:
Ahhh loved this story. I actually started reading it way back when it wasn't finished yet and somehow stopped mid-way because life took over, but I'm really, really happy that I remembered this story and actually reread it. I nearly fell off my chair on several occasions laughing, completely fell for your characters (Scorp is lovely)... AND I have completely ignored my upcoming exams (tomorrow), so wish me luck and let's hope one night of studying will suffice ...so I can read the sequel soon! :*

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you came back to read it, and that you enjoyed it :3 I've just embarked on a huge rewrite of the sequel (I only have the last two chapters left to go!) so hopefully by the time you come to read it it'll be all polished up (and a better story!). I hope your exams went well - I wouldn't want you to fail on account of my writing!

Thanks for reviewing :3 ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by PitchBlue Sunny with a Chance of Showers

17th June 2013:
Hey there,

I've read your whole story a few days ago and I never left a review, which made me feel bad so here it is! Also, I chose this chapter to leave a review on because I thought it's unfair the last chapter gets all the attention. So there.

I just loved your story. It's brilliant, hilarious, witty, absurd, crazy,... just every awesome little thing thrown together in one story. I love your characters (especially Tarquin, he would probably be my best mate in RL), they're so original and realistic and interesting. Just aaah they're great. Brilliant.

So anyway, I guess I just wanted to say that I loved it and that I'm devouring Weather for Ducks right now. Keep up the writing for the sake of us mere mortals. Or don't, I wouldn't want to pressure you *freaks out mentally*

This has stopped making sense so I guess I'll just leave it there. Thank you for sharing this amazing story.

- PB

Author's Response: Hi! Eee, thank you so much for saying so! I'm so glad you enjoyed it and especially that you thought it was witty - inevitably, when I make a joke in real life, the reaction of my friends is 'don't laugh, you'll just encourage her!'. I'm also glad you liked Tarquin - I must admit, he'd be a good friend to have. If you got over his burning desire to play jokes on you all the time.

I hope you enjoy weather for ducks too! I'm almost done with the rewrite, I only have the final two chapters left to go, so I'll be sure to get them edited pronto so they'll be ready for you to read :3

Thank you so much for reviewing! ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by my_voice_rising A Dark Room

30th May 2013:
Hello again!

One of your best skills with writing, in my opinion, is dialogue. The flow between every single one of your characters--even between Raven and Mr. Holstone--is so natural. The conversation between Lucy and Scorpius was so realistic, too; I never felt like he was getting unrealistic with opening up to her. It was nice that she admitted to failing everything (even Muggle Studies!) just to make him feel more comfortable. I am already 100% on board this ship.

The only thing I want to suggest is some Magification. Like, instead of a light switch, why wouldn't they use spells to make the red light or the white? Or using potions instead of chemicals? Or levitating the paper out of the solution instead of using tongs? Maybe even the enlarger could somehow be more HP-esque. I know this story was finished a few years ago, and I'm not sure if you want to go back and edit, but that's my only complaint. Everything is very well-written, to the point of reading like original fic. But some HP-isms would really make it feel more canon :3

I love smarmy-Scorpius, though! Especially how he snaps back and forth between being nice and being all "It's more about being careful than showing off." It's funny; in some ways, he's like a well-written Draco in a Dramione fic. When he gets too nice or personal, he puts that front back up. We definitely see how he's Draco's son. Yet he's totally his own character. Something about him getting rid of the Malfoy blond (if I read that correctly and he did dye it) says a lot about his decision to go to art school. It seems that he and Lucy are both being rebelious!

Nicely done! ♥

Author's Response: Hey there! (This formal mutual greeting belies the fact that a lot of my responses, and reviews themselves, are capslock-filled pits of chaos).

Ah, I'm glad you like it! Dialogue flows quite naturally to me when I'm writing. I find it helps to speak things aloud as I'm typing them, which can result in a lot of funny looks if I've got company.

Eek, I know! My only explanation for that is that my headcanon of the next generation is of a society that's far more 'muggle', and that the building in question here has just been adapted from a muggle one, so the electricity's been replaced by magic and the switches still function - but that's just the lazy explanation. The truth is that I get quite carried away when I'm writing and I forget to include magic! I do have an explanation for how magical photographs are formed using muggle photos, but it may have to wait for another day. And, apologies, but this fic's been through about three edits already, and I think I'd defenestrate myself if I had to edit it once more...I will take your point on board, however, and try to slather all my current fics in magic!

Awh, thank you! I was a bit concerned when I was writing him that, whilst I wanted him to be different, he didn't /seem/ like a Malfoy, so this is reassuring to hear. And I'm glad you like him!~

Thank you so much for the review! :3 ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by my_voice_rising Art School

30th May 2013:
I have an embarrassing confession to make. For all of my Lucy/Scorpius love, I have never even finished reading the first chapter of this story!! I have started it dozens of times and always had to leave the computer for something stupid (like work, or friends, UGH come on I'm trying to HPFF guys.) But I have seen all of your playlists and drawings and quotations and graphics and NOW I AM HERE FOR THE REAL DEAL.

Most of this review will be fangirling and screaming, because I am working on finishing this pot of coffee, and I just love you and your stories okay?

Um, so my family tree of Next-Gen is completely awful, like horrible. So at first I thought Lucy was the daughter of Ron and Hermione, and I was going to be like "Ron seems a little out of character," but it's PERCY. And it makes TOTAL SENSE NOW!!! Oh man, I love it so much more knowing that Percy Weasley's daughter wants to run off to art school instead of following in his footsteps!

And I love that Lucy has never painted a picture in her life! There are so many art-centric books and films, where an undiscovered talented young person suddenly finds their element because it's "where they belong..." I dunno. Maybe I'm just reaching, but it feels like a cliche, and this story is so not like that. I'm already beyond interested to see how Lucy handles her coursework having absolutely no idea about gesso and composition and gouache and all that good stuff.

One tiny little nitpicky thing (I think we should just comprise all of our reviews of each others' stories of nitpicking) is the spacing. The double-spacing between each paragraph is kind of distracting. And, of course, that is just my opinion. And it appears to have been intentional, because it's consistent throughout the whole chapter (which is good!) So maybe just ignore everything I just said.

Hahaha. She thought Dean was his first name. And there are no applicants. Bahahahaha, "I keep telling you, my name is Raven." I love this school already.

Ooooh, and Rose and Scorpius have a history together. Poor Scorpius, being forced to do Magical Law. I can just see the child of Ron and Hermione being equal parts brilliant and hot-headed. Her characterization is great!

Oooh, I'm excited to see her new appearance! I will be back to read the next chapter later today! ♥

Author's Response: Eee, hello! Ahh, story of my life - it's hard to get decent time by myself to read HPFF~

Baha! Yeah, this would be an alarmingly OOC Ron, haha. Don't worry, I actually made a huge mistake in my family tree for this story and accidentally swapped Lucy and Molly around, so Lucy's actually the surprise older sister in this.

Awh! If I was writing this now that I actually /am/ an art student, I would probably work a bit more on the classes etc, but at the time I started this I was still at school~ I was actually surprised when I got to art school to see the range of skills people came with. I only had limited photography knowledge and drawing skills when I arrived; I'd probably done about three paintings in my life...and now I'm specialising in painting and working with oils! A lot of the intermedia and photography students in my year don't draw at all, and really suffered in our compulsory life drawing classes. I imagine Lucy's main skill is, uh, making stuff up (Oustanding in Divination!) and she'd probably have the right sort of mindset for Intermedia art. I feel I have a right to say this because some of my best friends are in Intermedia, even though me and some of my fellow painters are apt to sneer at them once in a while.

Ah, the entire story is double-spaced - everything I write is like that, I thought that was just the TOS! Or maybe I was wrong D:

Rose gets a bit of a bad rep in this story! I tried my utmost to re-humanise her in the sequel - although Scorpius is mostly based on me, there are parts of me in Rose too. I think that says a lot about my self esteem...

Thank you for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by Shay_Gryff Metaphor Wrapping Paper

13th May 2013:
Hello! Just dropping a review before moving on to Weather for Ducks...

I LOVE this story!! I'm a hard-core Scorpious/Rose shipper, but I really enjoyed this story (: Lucy was very well portrayed and the humor was, well humorous! Thank you for the awesomeness that is this story, and I look forward to reading the companion one-shots and sequel!

KEEP WRITING :D
Shay_Gryff

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Just a warning, I'm only halfway through the Weather for Ducks rewrite, so you may want to hang fire for a bit until it's all fixed up - I think I've edited as far as chapter eleven!

Thank you very much for your review, and I'm glad I managed to convince a diehard Scorose shipper! :3 ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by MissMoneypenny Metaphor Wrapping Paper

22nd April 2013:
Hello!

So, I just finished this story and I LOVED it. It was nice and kind of refreshing to see one of Percy's daughters being portrayed as a human, instead of some Mini Percy that you feel like murdering after hearing them say, like, two sentences.
... Basically is what I'm trying to say is, I LOVED Lucy. Because I may or may not share her name and I may or may not now be completely inspired to go to art school and elope to Gretna Green with a mopey fellow student who happens to be incredible and one of the best characters I've ever read.

In fact, ALL of the characters - Obscure Henry, Brooding Nameless Barry, Raven, Tarquin- were great. It was nice to see a story that was completely focused on the protagonist (hehe posh word) AFTER Hogwarts that wasn't a sequel. The whole story was just a breath of fresh air.

So now I'm going off to read the sequel... Which hopefull contains more hilarious analogies. I have no idea how (well, yeah, I do, but it's artistic license) Lucy got such poor results when she so creative, but the don't exactly do English at Hogwarts so now I sound really weird...

Thanks for writing such an amazing story!
Miss Moneypenny ~ 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Aw, I'm glad you liked Lucy! I actually rather liked Percy in the books (I can identify with him, being a bit of a pompous intellectual bighead myself) but I was adamant I wanted his daughters to be different. I imagine he would have had fun raising this Lucy...

Do it! Run off to art school! Elope to Gretna Green! Fun fact: since writing this, I've actually gone to art school myself, and all the targeted ads I get on google are for Gretna Green weddings. I think google's trying to tell me something.

Lucy's creativity shows in her one good result - an Outstanding in Divination. (or I might have forgotten to edit that factoid in)

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review! :3 ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by iatevoldysnose Metaphor Wrapping Paper

8th April 2013:
Omgg I can't believe this story is actually finished! I loved it so much and thank god Scorp and Lucy ended up together...I sort of thought at the start that Lucy liked or had a thing for Scorp, but then when she thought of the Operation Hippogriff thing, I was like..."Nah! She doesn't like him! She totally wants him to be with Rose". And it's sort of true too I guess, coz she didnt really like him then...but then she realised she like Scorp and I was like "AGHH! OMG! LUCY LIKES SCORPIUS!" Yeh, so I sort of freaked out haha;) but I loved the story so much and I think you did very well on writing this story:) The whole plot was very interesting and the twist (Lucy crushing on Scorp) was so smart:))

Anyway, I'm going to go read Weather for Ducks now:)
Good job! And keep writing!

-iatevoldysnose

Author's Response: Awh, thank you! Hee, I'm glad the ship wasn't too obvious from the beginning! Lucy/Scorp is my next-gen OTP and I feel like the next-gen fics I write are very predictable for that reason :P

Thank you for much for the review, really glad you enjoyed it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by AC_rules Metaphor Wrapping Paper

7th April 2013:
hi again Julia,

aww, man I'm getting feels all over again about the Scorp/Lucy relationship. THIS WAS SO LOVELY. I mean, I just like how it's all extended metaphor and ridiculous existentialism and artiness and loveliness (definitely reminds me of how I told to my coursemates) and yup, you have another whole host of cracking lines ('screw the door' has to be one of my favourites) and I really love how, basically, a lot of the drama in this was just a big fat misunderstanding.

I think that's often the way with relationships and it's nice to actually have that pinned down in fanficiton form. I mean, if everyone was just honest about their intentions then wouldn't that be so much better for everyone? Even if that honesty is like... oh, you ruin my internal filing system (I have one of those and I feel Lucy's pain).

Well, I love this story and loved every inch and every word of it. So congratulations on finishing it (years late with that one, but there we go) and congrats on your well deserved Dobby and enjoy your nice new round number :)

AC

Author's Response: Aloha!

Eee, thank you! My life is just one big bundle of ridiculous existentialism and artiness, minus the loveliness, so this fic was a piece of cake to write in places. I wish I'd started it now, though, seeing as I'm an actual art student these days and I have plenty of inspiration.

Awh, thank you! I know, all my experiences of relationships have been fairly awkward, plagued with misunderstandings, and mildly ridiculous. So I do like to write about that a lot. It just...feels more real?

Ah, thank you so much! You are wonderful ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by AC_rules Emotional Wronski Feint

7th April 2013:
So, I admit that I am a bad person who read and loved this story and never left any reviews even though I read and love (although I believe I did review most of Weather for ducks, so I'm hoping that you'll forgive me a bit) so I have decided that I will definitely join you in the aim to get this to a nice round 500 (because I feel the pain of the unround number too)

And this chapter has such a great chapter title who could resist? (I hate chapter titles, they are the worst things eevvverrr).

So this is the most romantic line of all time

"Lucy, I'm a vegetarian"

But, see, I kind of think this story was written for me because THIS IS MY IDEA OF ROMANCE I'm so bad at all that... spouting purple prose and talking lots of rubbish about feelings and what not. I LIKE relationships being condensed down to really obscure metaphors because well... at that point I can deal with it.

Ohmygosh, I read about this cutest proposal ever the other day. This guy and his girlfriend were both physicists so he proposed to her VIA an academic paper (it was so adorbs. there was like a 'happiness' 'time' graph with a prediction of future happiness... google it) and I was flailing about my flat being like MY VERSION OF ROMANCE EXISTS IN THE REAL WORLD and everyone else told me that it was really sad and a bit weird (it was not) but this really reminds me of that.

And I LOVED the Quidditch stuff. Man.

I may have to reread this whole story at some point very soon :)

AC

Author's Response: HELLEEEN I am chuffed to see you :3

Baww, thank you! Being so close to 500 was just too annoying, so I felt I had to go on the forums and beg...you are my Sir Luckless in shining armour~

OH NO IT IS MY IDEA OF ROMANCE TOO. Funny story, this: when I was 13 and held torch for a certain boy in my group of friends, awkward courting ensued, things progressed, and after he kissed me for the first time he looked at me all serious-like and said 'I love you.' And you know what I said in return? 'Right back atcha, pal!!!'. I shouldn't be allowed to leave the house.

That IS the cutest proposal! :3

Feel free - I've edited it to hell and back, so it's almost acceptable now!

Thank you for your beautiful reviews ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by iatevoldysnose A Dark Room

5th April 2013:
This was a very interesting chapter haha its nice to see Scorp as a not-so-confident person, as in most stories he's up himself and very confident:) i like the story so far:)

-iatevoldysnose

Author's Response: Thank you! Hee, I am rather attached to my wee pathetic Scorp. Glad you like it, thank you for reviewing! ♥

 Report Review

Review #21, by iatevoldysnose Art School

5th April 2013:
I really like this story:)
Its interesting :)

-iatevoldysnose

Author's Response: Thank you, happy to hear that! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Avis123 Metaphor Wrapping Paper

20th March 2013:
Absolutely brilliant! Siriusly, this is probably my favourite next gen fic EVER - if not my favourite fic in general. I can't wait to read the sequel and the prequel and the other stuff because I love love love love love your writing style. Great job!! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Really glad you enjoyed it :D ♥

 Report Review

Review #23, by Avis123 Art School

16th March 2013:
I love this! I've never really been too keen on Next Gen fics, but this is so refreshing and well written. Well Done! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #24, by heartjily4ever Metaphor Wrapping Paper

6th February 2013:
aww, i'm slightly sad this is over. Literally not stopped reading since I found it. Loved it too pieces you are such a good writer.
Need to read some of your other stuff now :D

Author's Response: awwh, thank you so much! :3 ♥

 Report Review

Review #25, by TenthWeasley Al and his Many Elbows

26th January 2013:
I feel like it's nothing short of fate that I happen to be watching Community and reading this story at the same time. I'm not sure if you did this on purpose -- in fact, I don't think you'd started that show before starting to write this -- or did you? I know you had by the time of Operation: Rescue Raven. NOW I'M MIXED UP. What I am trying to say is that both this story and that show have very similar senses of humor, and what's more, both of them are splendid and know exactly the right things to say to keep me laughing. Even though "saying" doesn't work here so much as "writing".

I'm mixed up again.

One of the things I've come to enjoy most about this story so far is that, through all the antics and whatnot, your characters read more like real people than I can remember in any other next generation story I've ever read. One of the reasons I try to, in general, stay away from next gen is that I am sick to death of how overdone all the characters seem to be in those stories, and I'm pretty sure you know what I'm talking about. But the way you write this generation of the Potterverse, nobody seems fake or drawn-up; they just are. Even through bad poetry and dark eyeliner and brooding, they are very much people, and I think that's one of the reasons this story got to be so popular. People can tell that sort of thing, even subconsciously, and it's a breath of fresh air.

I am now sincerely hoping that Scorpius has to be around when Lucy develops these photographs, and has a miniature panic attack when he gets to the ones containing Rose. He's dug himself a hole, poor boy. Although you know, I can't really blame him, because Rose is... well. And here's the thing: I don't see my extended family a lot, because we're all spread out across the country, and I've never had a big family gathering like the one here, but I just feel like it would be awkward. I don't know how that's relevant, but I thought I'd throw that out there anyway.

I feel like these reviews are just getting worse and worse as I go. Sorryyy. ♥ Another excellent chapter, though, as always! I can't think of the last time reading a fan fiction has been so genuinely enjoyable. :) I'll be returning to chapter 5 before too long, I'm sure!

Author's Response: I hadn't started community, actually! I think I'd finished this story by the time the study group entered my life - so Operation: Rescue Raven is a kind of retcon, inserting all the community references into the story at a later stage.

Ahh, thank you! Well, a lot of this is taken from real life, so I'd hope it wouldn't read as being fake, hehe! Besides, I had fun coming up with the characters and really grew to love them during the process of writing this fic - they felt so very real in my head. Because I have no life and compensate with...this.

As for Scorpius seeing the photographs...yeah, just you wait. And, yep, he's good at digging himself into a hole.

No, they're wonderful reviews! thank you so much :3 ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>