Reading Reviews for Beyond the Shadow
  
402 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Arianna A Good Different

25th June 2014:
Oh.My. God! Now I'm just grinning like a fool.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by MyMagicalEnchantedAccessory Turning Thirty

7th May 2013:
I just reread this story. What ever happened to Jamie, did the new potion work for him? Did Kate finish her book? What happened to her home life? Did Thomas' condition finally improve? What happened to the rest of the kids at Amy's support group?

Author's Response: That's all stuff that I want to address in a third installment at some point, but I'm not sure when I'll get to it. At the end of this one it's not known whether the potion will work for anyone else, since it's still in the testing phase. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by J Epilogue

7th January 2013:
I haven't commented on any of your stories before I don't think but I'll write one long one now. I don't like to read incomplete stories because it bugs me immensely have to wait ages for a chapter (I know it hard to write long stories so I don't blame people but I prefer complete stories. I found your stories by just using the 'Find a Story' thing and selecting complete. After sifting through heaps on one-shots I found your Remus and Adeline story which I really enjoyed. Then I discovered all your other, COMPLETE stories and I really really like you as a fanfic writer now. I really like that a lot of your stories a series or focus on particular characters. I usually read a lot of the romance stories so yours were a big change from that especiall your Albus stories. It's nice to read from a younger point of view and your writing is very good. In Moonlight's Shadow and Beyond the Shadow were also very refreshing because you focus on Amy, a completely made up person but you make her story very believeable. You involve the magical world in your story so well I do wonder whether you are a witch with a werewolf for a brother (your stories certainly focus a lot on werewolves!). Please keep writing, I can't wait for Amy's wedding.

PS. I love the scene in In Moonlight's Shadow where Amy and MAtt visit Hogsmeade for the first time. It is very fitting that they run into Teddy, one of the only people in Hogwart's that would have real sympathy for a werewolf. Very Rowling-esque!

Keep going, I love your stories,
Josie

Author's Response: I hate reading incomplete stories, too! Nothing drives me crazy more than reading a really awesome story only to then realize that the author hasn't updated in years. I tend to look for completed stories, too.

I'm so glad you liked my Remus and Adeline story! I loved writing that one. And I'm glad you enjoyed all my other stories. I love writing about OCs in the wizarding world because I can develop them however I like, without having to worry about writing them out of character.

Haha, I'm not a witch with a werewolf brother. Regular Muggle here with a normal brother. I just really like werewolves.

I loved writing that scene, too. It was so much fun to have them run into Teddy. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by REE Epilogue

29th November 2012:
I love all your stories so much, but this one is probably my favorite! Thank you for writing these stories!

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so glad you enjoyed it that much! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by draco_lover12 Epilogue

18th October 2012:
NO! I didn't want this to end. I've read both of your stories back to back on Amy.

I got to admit I cried when she finally succeeded in her task to find a new wolfbane potion. As a writer myself I was so pulled into Amy's world and I love every single moment.

I'd love to read a third Amy story, and I really hope you see this comment. I also read the Albus story and no story since Fifty Shades of Grey have got me this hooked!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Meg Epilogue

14th October 2012:
I am so glad to see this story finished. I haven't read any fanfiction in several months and came to check and was excited to see I could get the whole story in one night. I really enjoyed Amy and Matt's stories. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Riverwind Epilogue

1st October 2012:
Thank you again for a great read,

Truly one of the best stories in the HPFF world, I think because it is your story and not that other persons. :)

Keep writing

River

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! I'm glad you liked the story as much as you did. Thanks again for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Riverwind A Good Different

1st October 2012:
WOW, I have followed Amy and Matt through two stories and finally a potion that works, It has been a great read and I will continue with your next story.

Thanks again for a great read, your own story in the HP world.

Congratulations

River

Author's Response: It's taken a while, but Amy finally succeeded! A part of her always knew she would, but she got very frustrated with how long it was taking. I'm glad you liked the story so much. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Riverwind Stay the Night

30th September 2012:
Actually I think you did the Romance just right, it told what happened without being over the top about it. Glad I found your story again, I thought you had walked away from it, I will review again when finished if not before.

I have really enjoyed this story and I am glad to finally be able to finish it.

River

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! I definitely didn't want it to be over the top, and I think less is more when it comes to romance. I'm glad you've enjoyed the story so far. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by onestop_hpfan18 Epilogue

22nd September 2012:
Yay, I feel all warm and fuzzy inside! Dillan proposed! They're getting married! Yay, yay, yay! Now all I have to do is catch up on BH&S (way behind on that one). But great wrap up on this one. :) 10/10

Author's Response: Aww!!! I'm glad you enjoyed it! Haha, that's okay. I'm way behind on Why Not, but I'll definitely keep going. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by onestop_hpfan18 A Good Different

22nd September 2012:
This was such a wonderful way to end the story and I can see the possibility of another story to follow this one if you wanted to add on. But for the most part if you didn't decide to write another one, this ending offers a conclusion to the story that would satisfy readers. I'm happy that the potion worked for Matt because he had been through so much and deserved to have something good to come out of one of those potions. Great chapter! Off to read the epilogue now :)

Author's Response: This definitely summed up the story arc nicely, but I did come up with a good idea for a third a few weeks ago. I won't be starting it until I finish what I'm currently working on, though. We'll see! Matt has been through so much, so it's great that there's finally a potion that works. I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Starshine14 Epilogue

26th August 2012:
I loved this story and i love how you've ended it. I can't wait to read about amy's wedding and how that is going to turn out.

Author's Response: I still have to write it. I will eventually, though! I'm glad you liked the story. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by windy Epilogue

26th August 2012:
one word.just one!! WOW!!

cudn't think of anything else to say..so WOW!!
10/10

Author's Response: Aww, I'm glad you enjoyed it so much! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Kzintzi Epilogue

15th August 2012:
really liked this story - I especially like that Matt has a Wolfsbane that works now :o)

Thanks.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! I was so happy when I wrote the part where the Wolfsbane worked. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Kzintzi The Study

15th August 2012:
I like this one, just a comment from someone who is Australian (I know that Amy/Matt/etc are from Australia), when referencing scrubland behind a building or elsewhere like you did in the first paragraph, we would typically say "between two Muggle farms with some bush behind it" - in that context the bush is a specific thing/object that can be split up into smaller pieces , not just a description. so for example we would say "I cleared some bush yesterday" or "we went to the bush", or "it had a bit of bush around it but not that much"... hopefully that makes sense :o)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for the tip! I used to have an Australian beta, but she got quite busy with motherhood and her own writing. I really appreciate it when people point Australian things out since I know even fewer Australianisms than Britishisms! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Liana Epilogue

29th July 2012:
I figured you had finished this story so I wanted to start my Sunday reading off with the Epilogue. I think that was the perfect ending. This way it's either over as a series or you can come in with a new story--like Amy and Dillan having children--going to Hogwarts, etc. I'm very happy to have come with you on this journey. It was long but I wouldn't have it any other way. Thanks for this story. See you next time in another story.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the ending. This part of the story is over, but I do have an idea for a possible sequel. As for Dillan and Amy's children, I've already thought about them! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by imacullenpottergirl Epilogue

26th July 2012:
I can't express to you how well-written and moving this story is.
Amazingness.
RIGHT HERE.
MY GOD.

Thank you. For everything.
imacullenpottergirl

Author's Response: Aww, I'm so glad you enjoyed it so much! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Hope's Mom Epilogue

24th July 2012:
This was a sweet ending. I will miss Amy but look forward to reading about her wedding. I will take a peek at your Marauder story - I always have a soft spot for them. I will also give the Albus stories a try - I only just realized that Kaden, Rose, John and Matt (even Amy peripherally) are in those stories just a bit younger! Congratulations for completing this story and thank you for sharing it!

Author's Response: I hope you like my Marauder story! I'm really enjoying writing it. Yes, Amy does play a role in my Albus stories! I hope you like those as well. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by anonymous Epilogue

24th July 2012:
OMG great job on this story! I absolutely loved every minute of it and I am so happy that amy finally was able to find a compromise in her life where she is the happiest at - she and dillan make a very cute couple! Great writing skills, I really loved the imagery, the emotions/tones, and the characterization/plot you wove together in this story.

I have a few eensy-weensy requests though.. would we ever get a one shot of albus in his field of work or maybe of kaden brewing a polyjuice potion, etc etc?

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it so much! I love writing these characters, especially Amy and Dillan. I never thought about doing a one-shot about Albus or Kaden. I think one of Kaden brewing Wolfsbane would be absolutely hilarious. I'll think about it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Watcher Epilogue

24th July 2012:
Wonderful! I hated to see it end ( just for now I hope). There is nothing better than a story that leaves you in happy tears. Thank you for shareing and Please keep writing.

Author's Response: I kind of hated ending it. I love writing these characters. I'll definitely keep writing. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Luke Epilogue

23rd July 2012:
Oh my, you should've seen me at the end of this chapter. I went in feeling sad, because it was the last one and this was such a great story when I got to the proposal, I inhaled deeply in shock, my hands went into the air in celebration and I had a tear in my eye. Well Done, it takes a lot to elicit such a response from me and just like in your last final chapter of this series you've done it again.

The ending of this sequel and the last one seems very different, the last one ended the almost hospital like drama on a truly touching and sad moment that is Amy being there for her brother's transformation. It was sad, transformative and it was that ending that opened the pathway to this one and boy has this book been a ride.

You've weaved so many elements in, the support groups, the potions, the welfare of Matt, Amy's work life, Amy's home life, checking in on the twins and the romance of Amy and Dillan. You've done it in such a way that feels completely natural and completely wonderful, everything works seamlessly together and every element has such a specific role in developing the meaning of the work.

In my mind, this was a wonderfully written work on the nature of hope and the reward that working toward that hope, that dream can provide. You end it on such a positive note with Amy making that discovery and there's that interesting contrast in the ending of this and the first book of Amy experiencing her brother's transformation from above, it ends on a positive note, it's the positive note that the story deserves and the positive note that Amy deserves on a personal level. It was great. I also liked that the pure ending to this story, that final moment, wasn't based on the wolfsbane potion or Matt... that aspects of Amy's life that have defined her life for so long. The final moment was dedicated to this new chapter in her life and in that way I guess it was similar to the first book, the ending defined the next part of her life. The ending was the beginning. (Aren't you a clever cookie)

Now in terms of prose and writing, simply superb, with the first person style of writing you evoke a response that is very personal and notably stylistically different from your Albus series. It works and those last two words of this piece "We kissed" I believe stand shoulder to shoulder with "All was well" it was perfect and it fitted the ending of this story nicely.

So... I know I want to see the wedding, I know I want to see the testing, I know I want to see the cure... but I'm not sure that I need to... at least from Amy's perspective. There's a nice little ring to this chapter, this story, that suggest that even though we've all made such a connection to her character, to her journey, that the journey that we need to see is over. She's the Harry Potter of Wolfsbane now and what we need to see seems over. I'm not saying I'd object to seeing more, I just feel that this story has written it's natural ending... though do feel free to write some more about Matt, his romantic life and the journey he has after/before this/whatever. In Matt and Amy and now Dillan you've created some of your most dynamic, diverse, three dimensional characters that just work. They're human, you relate to them and it's wonderful.

So... I want to thank you for sharing this with us... you don't have to write these stories and yet you do and whilst you do I will always keep coming back. You have such a natural gift in writing and I'm glad you decide to share it. (I actually pointed the likers of my HP fb page in your direction recently... the more readers you have... the better)

So yeah, absolutely cracking stuff. Keep up your writing and keep sharing.

Thanks for writing and responding ;)

Author's Response: That's how I felt while writing it! It was so weird to be writing the last chapter. I felt the same way when I finished In Moonlight's Shadow. I'm so glad that you've enjoyed the story so much.

I loved writing the happy ending for this because I really haven't done a truly happy ending in a fic before. But I didn't see any other way to end this and I'm really happy with the way it turned out. I'm glad it seems natural, though, because that's what I worry about when doing a happy ending. It was definitely time for both Amy and Matt to have a happy ending. To be honest, I didn't even think about the contrast between the last novel's ending and this ending. But I'm so glad it worked out that way! Yes, this ending was very much a beginning for Amy, and Matt as well.

I love writing in first person. I actually started In Moonlight's Shadow in third person because that is what I write my Albus series in. But it just felt weird. Since I've been a teenage girl, it was quite easy to write IMS in first person. This one was a bit different since Amy is older than me, but I'm glad you liked it! Yay, I'm glad you got the 'All was well' reference! I chose 'We kissed' for that very reason! You're the first one who's pointed it out, though.

You will definitely get to see the wedding. I want to write it, although I also believe that this could stand alone. You probably won't get to see the testing because if I do a sequel, it'll be far off in the future of Amy's life again. But since this stands so well on its own, I'm not sure I'll do a sequel. I am currently working on a short novel that acts as a companion piece, though. Funny you should mention Matt's romantic life... But I won't say anything else there. ;)

I'm so glad that you've enjoyed my stories so much. Your reviews are always so long and lovely and they make my day! Reading that you relate to my characters and that they're so believable is the best thing I as an author can hear. I truly appreciate that you take the time to not only read, but leave such thoughtful reviews as well! I will definitely keep writing. Thanks again for reading and for all your lovely reviews! :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by MyMagicalEnchantedAccessory Epilogue

23rd July 2012:
I do love happy endings! This has captivated me for a ridiculous amount of time. I love your writing and I love Amy. What will happen next time around?

Author's Response: Happy endings are amazing! I rarely write happy endings like this. Haha, I'm not going to give anything away about the potential sequel. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Lo A Good Different

22nd July 2012:
***Depressed*** Im so sad this is over but the ending was perfect! Im so happy 4 everyone it all worked out :D you truly r one of my favorite authors cz ir just so incredibly talented! Im super exited 4 their wedding

Author's Response: Aww! I'm glad you liked the ending. It was really fun to write. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Jen Epilogue

22nd July 2012:
Loved it. This was a truly beautiful story about one of my favourite Original characters. Not just of yours - ever! I absolutely adore Amy and everything you have ever written about her. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! It makes me really happy to read that you like Amy so much, as she's my favorite character that I write. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by ngayonatkailanman Epilogue

22nd July 2012:
Congratulations for completing this story. Hiatuses are acceptable because real life comes first so not to worry. The important thing is that you completed what you started. I so look forward to a one shot wedding or even a 2-3 parts wedding. I also look forward to your sequel which will make this series into a trilogy. I love your Albus and co series and look forward to Legacy plus the next 3 years... so more stories from one of my favourite authors.

Author's Response: Thank you! I always feel bad when I take hiatuses, even though I know most people understand. The wedding will definitely be a one-shot; although it will be a long one. The sequel is a long way off, if it comes at all. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>