Reading Reviews for Of Square Pegs and Round Holes
  
54 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Bea Anon Prologue

16th July 2012:
OMG I love this story, the title itself is cute, short, and interesting all in one. This is best kind of bedtime story I can read to my kid that resurfaces the fairytale happy ending that I enjoy reading myself. U are amazing RonsGirlFriday! I love your style of writing :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Toujours Padfoot What Now?

12th April 2012:
Bawww this was adorable. I am extremely dismayed that there is no third chapter for me to click to, and continue with the fluffy Romione that is perfectly canon and also delightful and butterflies-in-the-stomach-inducing and also so cute that I want to squeeze it. I love the way you've written them. It's like they've popped right out of the books.

Lovely, lovely, lovely.

10/10

 Report Review

Review #3, by lily_evans_ginny_weasley What Now?

8th December 2011:
No, I did get the whole tongue-in-cheek aspect, and I must say I enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by lily_evans_ginny_weasley Prologue

8th December 2011:
Oh that's just gorgeously written, loving the extended round/square metaphor :P

 Report Review

Review #5, by Lydia What Now?

13th October 2011:
Please please please don't make this a one shot!

 Report Review

Review #6, by TheNumber12 What Now?

20th June 2011:
This was a wonderfully refreshing bit of tongue and cheek humor. Very true to character and full of realistic one-liners. Cheers to you and here's hopeing you keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Jade Prologue

29th May 2011:
This was so lovely. I really enjoyed it. Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by dasani What Now?

21st February 2011:
In your authors note, you worried it may come off as simply poor writing? I don't think any of your stories qualify as "poor writing". In fact, I'm of the opinion that none of your stories are poorly written. Especially this sweet one. Thank you for giving me something good to read, after an hour of scouring the website. I love your stories, mostly the Ron & Hermione ones. :) Please write some more. And then please make it so flashy I can't miss the next one. :) Thank you for writing!! I love this story!!! (10/10)

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review! You are so sweet. I know I haven't updated this one in awhile, so hopefully I'll get some inspiration soon for a new chapter/one-shot. Thank you for reading!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Cedrics Blueyed Girl Prologue

27th November 2010:
I LOVED this. Absolutely adored it, actually. I just finished reading 'Inches' and that made me feel so warm and fuzzy inside, it was splendid. And then I found this, and wondered how I hadn't seen it before! I've been searching for Ron/Hermione stories for the past week and have found a few good ones, but this first chapter was so excellent, I don't think I'll find anything better :)

Honestly, the idea of the 'square peg and round hole' is so unbelievably perfect for R/Hr. And the way you describe it, with the triangles and trapezoids! It positively made me giggle! You described their relationship so well, with such a clever analogy, that I am once again dumbfounded at how you manage to be so brilliant. I mean really, how do you?

I believe I am in love with your writing, Mel, really and truly. I hope you keep updating this, and until then, I look forward to more encounters with your brilliance.

~Alex

Author's Response: Thanks, Alex! I wanted to take a fun, lighthearted, quirky approach to this pairing. I'm so glad you enjoyed the analogy and all of my weirdness. XD

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #10, by Cassidy What Now?

5th November 2010:
AW! I love this. You simply MUST continue. (:

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ignorance What Now?

11th September 2010:
N'aw, go Ginny i am loving her setting up skills, not very subtle though.
I think you portraied Ron and Hermiones's reactions to a T, brilliant!
10/10 of course!

Author's Response: Nope, definitely not subtle. Since I was going for a quirky effect, I figure why not go all out with some slightly exaggerated characterizations. :-)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Ignorance Prologue

11th September 2010:
n'aww i love how you describe them as a square peg and a round hole and so on, that was great!
i can't wait to read what happens, sounds awesome.
This is a great piece of writing!
10/10 :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by momotwins What Now?

22nd August 2010:
A "fluff ahead" warning shall never deter me!

Not if the warning's from you, anyway.

I love the respective monologues they'd each like to hear from the other. Perfect. Epic win. Writing Ginny as a catalyst for Ron & Hermione getting together is pretty common, but it's very believable, so I don't mind seeing it. Although to be honest, I'm so fond of your writing, I'd probably smile permissively if you wrote a Harmony, and we all know how I abhor that ship. You do such great dialogue, and such natural characterization. I always love reading your romance stories. I love them going "fine" at each other. So. Them. And Ron's reaction to her crying! XD I totally sighed happily over the kiss.

Favorite line: “All those present who have snogged each other and are now pretending it didn’t happen, please get over it, go on a proper date, and learn how to behave like normal people!”

Ah and this one too: After all, they had spent seven years talking and getting to know one another, and only about four minutes snogging, and it hardly seemed the desirable ratio of one to the other.

Author's Response: Yeah, I realized while I was writing this that it wasn't incredibly original...but then I figured, original wasn't so much what I was going for, so I pushed it to the back of my mind. Kind of a cop-out, I know. XD

The mirroring monologues were fun to write and something I really wanted to do, because they each can be really unreasonable, but of course they each THINK they're being reasonable. Sigh. So much miscommunication. I love it.

That last line you quoted was one of my favorites in here as well. Something they can agree on, anyway. :-)

Thank you for reviewing!!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #14, by momotwins Prologue

22nd August 2010:
Ah, I do love your Romione. I thought for sure I had reviewed this story. Seems to me I've read it. Sorry about that! I'm a terrible reviewer really.

For a chapter that's all about telling instead of showing a story, it's remarkably engaging. It really works, you know? Usually "telling" is bad, but you pulled it off here. It's sweet and fluffy and a very enjoyable read for a prologue. The square peg/round hole comparison fits well.

 Report Review

Review #15, by S What Now?

24th July 2010:
Okay so I haven't even finished this chapter yet, but I have to tell you-
you have an absolutely wonderful writer's voice.
I havent written fanfiction in ages (it feels like decades) but I still read the odd story, and yours is WORTH IT!
Really, congratulations- you really have that serious-but-secretly-witty thing down pat!
Looking forward to more!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Jellyman What Now?

16th July 2010:
HAHA, LOVE. Oh, how I adore this story!

Favourite line (ever):
It was an all around glorious moment that could never be replicated nor outdone in a million years.

...In fact, the entire thing is brilliant. MORE, PLEASE.

Author's Response: Thanks, Georgia! It's kind of a silly side project of mine, but I do like writing it. :-P

ILY!


 Report Review

Review #17, by RupertsPheonix What Now?

12th July 2010:
I like your style. Very story-teller-ish, if that's a word. Unique, definitely.

This was cute, and I'm looking forward to reading what else you'll post. :) 10/10.

--Kate/RP

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Glad you're enjoying it. :-)

 Report Review

Review #18, by HarryandGinnyForEver What Now?

26th June 2010:
I love it :) Can't wait for the next chappie :)

10/10 :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #19, by HarryandGinnyForEver Prologue

26th June 2010:
I love this :) I love ur style of writing! Onward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by wootwootsugaplum Prologue

25th June 2010:
omg this is the perfect metaphor for their relationship!!! great job!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #21, by TheDirigiblePlum What Now?

24th June 2010:
SQUE!

*combusts due to Ron/Hermione blissful fluff overload*

This is what Ron and Hermione are all about! They're both ridiculously emotionally inept characters and you write them so well! (I've just realised how that might sound and would like to add that I'm not implying that you too are emotionally inept.)

I will now compile a list of my favourite parts:

Ginny felt it incumbent upon her to try the delicate approach first.

“Ron,” she said one day, cornering her brother in the kitchen at the Burrow, “stop being an idiot.”

“Sod off.”

The Weasley's certainly know who to sort out those delicate emotional matters. We have much to learn from them.

He strode over to the door and kicked it, and a startled squeal issued from the other side of the door. “Go away, Ginny!” he yelled.

The Weasley's certainly know how to eavesdrop badly. We don't have much to learn from them there.

The clear, rational, mature approach, they decided, was to continue with the snogging until all awkwardness had dissipated, and they could then continue alternately pestering and snogging each other in total comfort.

The Weasleys certainly know how to form the perfect relationship. We can learn everything from them to make our own happy ending!!



And now I must bring the cheesiest, fluffiest review I've ever written to an end. Let me tell you that you are one of the best writers in this world. No one does Ron/Hermione quite like you. Reading them in your stories is like reading them in JK's stories. It's quite unnerving sometimes.

This story was perfect in every way. I honestly mean that.

10/10

Author's Response: LOL! Your review cracked me up. Thank you so much. I'm really glad you enjoyed it, as I think you're one of the best R/Hr writers out there and you really should be recognized for it more often.

And don't worry. I believe I am quite emotionally inept. This must have something to do with the fact that I like Ron and Hermione do much.

Those lines you quotes are some of my favorite, especially the last one. And your commentary is priceless. :-D

Thank you so so so much for the review! Your reviews make me so happy.

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #22, by TheNextRowling What Now?

22nd June 2010:
Poor writing?! It most definitely isn't! It's awfully horrible!. KIDDING! It's a good read if one might say, I like it. No, I love it. It's tremendous writing, It's monumental.

Author's Response: LOL. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by gremlin What Now?

18th June 2010:
lol, it's definitely different writing then others, but you kept it all the way through, so it worked. It was pretty amusing, and you kept to the characters pretty well, I imagine harry would be all awkward about it, and ginny would be the one to make them get over it by locking them in a room together. I think their wands should have been taken away though. But great job!

Author's Response: Yeah, it's a bit different. I don't know what possessed me, but it feels fun writing about them in this tone. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by letsjustsmile What Now?

16th June 2010:
Awe. That is such a Ginny thing to do, you know barge into lives that are lacking in romance and make them lovely(: Hermione crying, and Ron holding her being his awkward self. This is adorable. Super fluff!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Billie Prologue

11th June 2010:
Wow. I just cant wait to get to the next chapter, so this'll have to be quick! You have skill :) See you at the next chappy!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>