Reading Reviews for Healing
334 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jutta The Truth Hurts

23rd November 2015:
I love it! Brilliantly written I might add

 Report Review

Review #2, by Penelope Inkwell The Importance of Communication

23rd September 2015:
Hello there! I'm back for more. Took me a bit – Dobby time is crazy! But I'm so excited to be back :D

He planned to sequester himself in Ron’s room until he’d worked out how to speak to Ginny and explain everything without getting himself blasted to bits.
--Hahaha, this is such a realistic Harry thought. And accurate. I love how you've kept the side of Ginny that really gets Harry, and you've let her grow up a bit, but you haven't sacrificed any of her fierceness (or the fear she can instill in all who know her).

- “Were you dropped on your head as a child?”

-"You haven't met the Dursleys yet, have you? I probably was.”

--This was so great! I chuckled. And I mean, honestly, it's probably true. Poor Harry. He turned out amazingly well, all things considered.


“Haven’t your lips long for my touch?
--I'm thinking that "long" should probably be "longed".

“I know. That's part of why I love you. And why I'll get around to forgiving you.
Between the Battle, and Fred dying and coming back, and you doing the same… Well, I’ve learned that life’s too short and unpredictable to hold grudges over silly things.”

--the spacing got a little wonky here. There was an extra "enter" or something, I think, maybe?

So glad to see Harry and Ginny actually talking (and snogging!). And it wouldn't be the Burrow if there weren't a whole host of Weasley brothers there to witness it. Heeheehee. Hey, at least they got applause, right? Could have been worse. I could see Fred and George holding up voting numbers: "4 out of 10, Harry. I'm gonna need to see more passion." Really, he was lucky. And I loved that he just accepted that his life was never going to be without an audience and just carried on kissing Ginny. I mean, it's a rare man who can snog a girl in front of her brothers and have them cheering instead of calling for blood. Just go with it, Harry. Count your blessings ;)


 Report Review

Review #3, by StarFeather A Little Wounded

19th September 2015:
Hi, farmgirl. I read the chapter 1 and came here, I wanted to know if Fred was alive or not. I felt relieved you let him alive! So I decided to review here. Congrats, nomination for Dobby!

I've noticed you mentioned AU is wonderful in the status in the forums. I think you're right. It was too sudden J.K.Rowling had Fred die. It might be necessary for her to let Fred die in the story but you can revive him in AU! I like it.

I like the conversation between McGonagal and Harry. I really respect you, I'm amazed by the way you describe the story. I wish I could write like this. It seems a far long way to climb on the top of the mountain. (sigh. I sometimes have urge to delete all chapters I posted in the past.)

I'll be back ASAP!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Penelope Inkwell Coming Home

15th September 2015:
“No, Harry,” said Molly firmly, reaching out to turn his face back toward her as she shook her head. “The thing is that I felt the exact same way when I watched Hagrid carry you out of that forest! I thought you were dead! That I’d lost another one of my sons!”
--I literally teared up. There are tears in my eyes.

Here he was, only seventeen, and already ripped from the heart of one family and casually discarded by another. He’d had father-figures and friends thrust upon him and then torn away without care. The Wizarding World had willingly laid its salvation at his feet, and then tossed him unthinkingly aside when he shouldered its burdens without complaint and accomplished what it couldn’t do. He was an instant celebrity, the poster boy of the war. Everyone wanted his autograph, but no one thought to ask if “The Boy Who Lived” had a roof over his head, clothes on his back, food in his stomach.
--this is so real I cannot. I feel so deeply for Harry right now. You really connect us to Molly's worries, compassion, and her motherly love phenomenally well. Once again, your ability to truly think through all the likely details and outcomes astounds me. I could see this happening to Harry--being sort of left in the dust, but the Weasleys taking care of him, of course. And the way you bring back how he's lost father figure after father figure. Ohmygracious, that poor, brave boy!

Oh my gosh, Harry has never had someone to comfort him in a motherly fashion--not like that. And of course we knew that, but knowing is different than hearing it and seeing it like this. My heart!

She paused, but not because she felt odd, holding a conversation with the dead. She was the mother of seven wild children; odd didn’t exist in her vocabulary.
--there are just so many lines that I love in this chapter!

Oh wow. Wow wow wow. This scene with Molly at Lily's grave. I can't! This is perfect. This is the scene I've always needed and never knew I wanted. It's beautiful. And the way she's asking permission to help raise Harry, and to take him in. The daisies. The way she talks to Lily. Just all of it. Wow.

They grow their hair out and hang fangs from their ears, or traipse across the continent thinking fire-breathing lizards make good pets.
--haha, oh my gosh, it's the sniffle laugh. I'm laughing through the tears that are building in my eyes ever minute.


The sunshine just felt warm and comfortable on her tired shoulders and she waited a moment, soaking it in.
--This is totally just a matter of opinion, but I thought "comforting" might fit better than "comfortable".

Girl, this chapter. Wow. I'm probably at least halfway through the Dobbys list, and this might well be the most beautiful, emotionally touching thing I have read from it so far. This is an incredible chapter, and you should be really, really proud of it. Molly absolutely shines here. It's truly excellent work.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Penelope Inkwell The Wages of War

15th September 2015:
I loved the detail of Harry having a bruise from Voldemort's killing curse. That seemed very realistic, especially in light of all the talk about it being rare to survive that kind of dark magic unscathed.

a complicated sort of Bubble charm complete with floating, miniature bellows covered his nose and mouth.
--I love when people come up with their own magic. Love love love. This is a great idea for a magical breathing tube alternative!

If Gringotts ever unfroze his accounts and pulled him off their black list, that is.
--haha, this made me chuckle. I'm really impressed by how you've thought through all these practical details. The goblins to seem like they can hold a grudge, after all.

I'm glad he's going to get Bill on the issue. If anyone could sort it out, I reckon it'd be him.

Harry, Harry. George is right--you are being stupid. That was everyone's fight, everyone's war. It wasn't your fault in the least. But then, Harry is used to being the catalyst for everything, and Voldemort always was after him. It makes sense that he blames himself, but I hope that he soon learns that that's a ridiculous idea. If anyone could make him see sense, it would be the Weasley women.

I'm glad that Hermione's gone to find her parents! That'll be a lot of healing in and of itself, I imagine.


So, as a rule I always try to give CC. I find it really helpful as a writer. With you, though, this is all so clean already, so what I've got here is a bit more nitpicky, and it's more along the lines of suggestions--areas that are already good, but the flow of a sentence or something could maybe be polished up a bit. It's all just my opinions, though, so you're free to take or leave it as you will.

The reception area at St. Mungo’s was extremely crowded when Harry stepped into it.
--"stepped inside" might flow better than "stepped into it"

but he’s alive and amazingly in good humor, so we shouldn’t complain.”
--"and in amazingly good humor" might flow better than, "and amazingly in good humor."

“We did just send the unsuspecting bloke right into the clutches of all three Weasley women, didn’t we?”
--since only Ginny and Molly were mentioned, I had to think for a really long moment before I could figure out who was meant to be the third. I'm guessing it was Fleur? But it might be good to mention her, too, by name, because thinking on it drew me out of the story for a second.

And that's all I've got. I'm loving how you've thought through so many details, and your writing is excellent, though as this story has a Dobby nomination that is hardly a surprise. This is a real treat!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Penelope Inkwell A Little Wounded

15th September 2015:
FRED IS ALIVE! AAAH! *shouts of joy, hallelujahs from the sky* :D

Oh my gosh, that was crazy. I felt the tension, and the baited breath, and the overwhelming joy. Best AU decision ever. And really, it's kinda canonically sound, according to what we know from the books. Like, they thought he was dead, but this picks up right after that. It's plausible. (and wonderful, because FRED!)

*happy dances*

I'm still nervous that he might not pull through and that it could all be cruelly snatched away from me, but still. I'm excited!

In the absolute chaos that followed, Harry couldn’t help but wonder how he could be crying so hard and so completely happy at the same time.
--I liked this line

I loved what you did there at the end with McGonagall. She's so snappy. I love that, even now that he's the hero of the wizarding world, to Minerva he's still Harry, her student. She's willing to give him the shove he needs. That's so like Harry, not to want to presume or intrude, but to be desperately wishing for home. I love how she phrases the whole thing, like, "Obviously your home is the Burrow, Harry! Honestly."

Sometimes you force me to wonder if you would have made it through school without Granger’s help. Yes, home, Mr. Potter – the Burrow!”

“She’s not very good at listening when her children are involved,” McGonagall said curtly.

--These two lines were gold! I wanted to smile and laugh and cry at the same time! You nailed that!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Penelope Inkwell Prologue: No Words

15th September 2015:
Hey there! I'm here checking out the Dobby nominees--big congratulations on your nomination!

And OH MY GOSH! Is Fred alive?! This possibility fills me with joy! What is happening?!! FRED!

Okay, I'm going to try to calm down and give you a review that's actually a review.

I found the first line to be really striking. It pulled me right in. And your descriptions are really solid--the whole scene seems just how things might've looked after the battle.

I like the idea of a Wand Sweep. That's a handy piece of magic. I wonder if wizards had that way before we could detect brain activity and heartbeats with machines. I always love when people include new bits of magic.


blood-shot expressions
--Most properly, I think it would be spelled "bloodshot".

That's all I noticed, though!

Great job, and now I really do have to go find out what's happened with Fred. Like, right now!


 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotter Coming Home

11th September 2015:
Wow, one ticket for the emotional rollercoaster please!

Harry and Molly's conversation has taken my feels, ripped them to shreds, chewed them up, spat them out, and then kicked them while they were down. Oh my goodness. I know I've said this so many times already but I'm in awe at your ability to write the canon characters. Everything that Molly said to Harry and then to Lily just felt so perfectly Molly. She said everything we know she's been feeling since the minute she met Harry and it made me sob unashamedly.

Perfect chapter ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by HeyMrsPotter The Wages of War

11th September 2015:
He and Fred had some sort of furious, one-sided conversation about an hour ago and he finally collapsed. My favourite line in this chapter, hands down. I can picture this PERFECTLY.

Oh god, this “Something about breaking and entering, grand theft, excessive damages…” is HILARIOUS.

It's so typical of Harry to want to pay for the hospital bills, and to try and blame himself for everything. You have such an amazing grasp on his character.

I'm loving this!


 Report Review

Review #10, by HeyMrsPotter A Little Wounded

11th September 2015:
YES YES YES YES! Fred is alive and all is right in the world again!!

I have to commend you on your ability to write all of the canon characters absolutely perfectly. Like, your Molly and how protective she is over her children. Then Harry insisting that he stay and help with the repairs. And then McGonagall♥ omg she is the most perfect, that line about Harry not making it through school without Hermione, that could have come straight from the books.

I'm so excited to read on!


 Report Review

Review #11, by HeyMrsPotter Prologue: No Words

11th September 2015:
Hey, Farmgirl! I'm here reading/reviewing the Dobby stories. Congratulations on your nomination!

Boy, did George's grief break my heart here but then HOLY MOTHER OF PLOT TWISTS, is Fred still alive?! If Fred isn't alive and you're just getting my hopes up I will cry real tears and have an actual tantrum! I need to read on!!


 Report Review

Review #12, by TreacleTart Coming Home

10th September 2015:
Hi there!

You should know that I rarely cry, especially from reading. In regards to fanfiction, I can count on one hand how many times a fic has made me sob. It doesn't happen very often. After reading this chapter I was full on sobbing. There are just so many emotions in this and I truly believe you'd have to have a heart of stone to not be affected by this at all.

The first scene where Harry comes home is so touching. It's heartbreaking that he feels so guilty, but it's so lovely to see Mrs. Weasley comfort him and try to take away some of his burden. I love how clear she makes it for him that she considers him a son. The part about her heartbreaking when she thought he and Fred died was really what started the sobbing.


You took Molly to the graveyard to introduce herself to Lily.


I've read several versions of Molly at the graveyard talking to Lily and vice versa, but I think this was possibly the most moving version of it that I've read. You didn't make it overly dramatic or cliche. You had Molly saying all sorts of things that a mother might really say to another mother. It read like a real conversation and I could imagine Lily standing there nodding her head in agreement.

Molly leaves the graveyard and my face is all streaky red from tears...


Something that I've noticed so far in your writing is that your words flow very smoothly and clearly. Even though there is a lot going on in quite a few different places, the story is still easy to follow and never verges into murky.

Another thing is how beautifully vivid and real you make each character. They seem more complete because of all the little worries and thoughts you've given them. The way that they all interact is so real too. It never feels forced or contrived.

Good job!


 Report Review

Review #13, by TreacleTart The Wages of War

10th September 2015:
Hello again!

Back to review another chapter of this lovely story!

Wow. So Fred is alive, but things aren't looking all that great for him. Madame Pomfrey's words about having to put his insides back together sound pretty ominous. And then when Harry sees him for the first time, it really doesn't do too much to reassure me. He's covered in bubble charms, his arm is all bandaged and his eyes are covered. Sounds like he really got messed up and now I find myself worried that he might not make it or if he does that he might be paralyzed or impaired in some way. Please, tell me that everything's going to be alright.

I'm really glad that Harry finally went to see Fred. I think Harry's hurting badly from the after effects of the war and he needs some love and support around him. I know that he feels guilty. I mean he does have that savior complex going on, but he's going to need help healing all of his emotional damage and I think that the Weasley family are just the people to help him through it.

One of the things that I really liked about this particular chapter was all of the little details that you included. Things like Ron not wanting to let go of Hermione's hand since the end of the war and the way that George and Charlie fill in Fred's witty banner really bring this story to life and make it so much more than just words on the paper.

I thought it was kind of sad to see that Harry's bank account had been closed. Here he saved the wizarding world, but instead of any thanks, he gets treated like a criminal by a bunch of vindictive, vengeful goblins. I hope Bill sets them straight.

It is just like Harry to offer to pay for Fred's bills. A long hospital stay like that could get really expensive really fast and we all know the Weasleys aren't exactly rolling in the dough, so it's very thoughtful of Harry to offer to help even if they don't accept it. (Of course, knowing Harry, I imagine he'll find a way to pay for it whether they want him to or not.)

I really liked the little bit at the end where the brothers are laughing about sending Harry home to the Weasley women. I imagine Molly is worried sick about him and Ginny is ready to strangle him slowly. But maybe their reactions will snap him out of this funk he's in.

This was another lovely chapter and I'm really excited to see where you go with it. (although I'm quite nervous that you're going to break my heart by making Fred's situation take a turn for the worst.)

Good job!


 Report Review

Review #14, by TreacleTart A Little Wounded

10th September 2015:
Hello there!

I'm in the proccess of reviewing all of the stories that were nominated for a Dobby, so congratulations on your nomination!

Warning: Some of this review may verge into shouty rambling!

OMG FRED IS ALIVE! FRED IS ALIVE! *happy dances all over the living room*

In cannon, Fred's death is literally the single hardest death within quite a few really awful deaths. I mean there's Sirius, Dobby, Colin, Remus, and Tonks just to name a few, but there's something particularly gut-wrenching about the idea of Fred dying. Maybe it's because he'd leave behind a twin. Maybe it's because he was always the life of the party. Maybe it's because he's so young and full of life. Either way, I'm so happy to see that in your version he's alive at this point!


I love how fierce Molly is when she sees Fred and George being taken away. I've always felt that her kids come above everything else and I doubt that she'd have taken to kindly to not knowing what's going on with them. And Arthur is there being the calm voice of reason to her rage. You captured both of them quite well.

I always imagined that Harry would've stayed behind at the school and helped with the repairs. He seems like the type to want to busy himself with work to keep his mind off of the tragedy of the war. Plus, you pointed out something in this chapter that occured to me too. Harry doesn't really have a home per se. I mean of course Molly feels that the Burrow is his home, but Harry would never just make that assumption. Someone would have to explain it to him first.

I was happy to see that Professor McGonagall is keeping an eye on him and trying to encourage him to leave Hogwarts for a bit. She knows that he needs a break and some time to heal, but he's a little to stubborn to see it yet. I think a firm nudge in the right direction is just what he needs.

From a technical point of view, this chapter is quite nice as well. The grammar and spelling all look good. It's easy to follow what's going on and there's enough detail to imagine the scenes as they are occuring. The dialogue seemed realistic and all of the characters fit within the realm of cannon.

Good work! I'm on to the next chapter right now!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Frankie05 Prologue: No Words

14th August 2015:
Hey Farmgirl,

I asked if anyone wanted reviews on the forums and Tanya in her sweetness directed me to your story :)

This seems promising, George and Fred our beloved twins, starting out with the heartbreak of losing Fred, George suffering in silence. You already start out sad and upset that one of the best is dead. And the fight isn't even over yet (if we are going by canon). so when we see the audience around those in the Hall- we see the reprieve. They cant find Harry, Ron, or Hermione, Bill's sad face is making sure that he is okay, but he can't say anything. The anguish!

I love that he is annoyed that he just wants time with Fred but people are getting in the way of that. He can't mourn properly. But then comes Poppy to adequately assess Fred, and what? IS HE NOT DEAD RIGHT NOW? Oh my, what kind of magic have you unearthed! Poppy all wonderful makes a portkey (serious magical ability) and George in the last second decides to go along for the journey because Poppy is freaking out about Fred and taking him to St. Mungos. You have a great way of hooking people into your story :) Great job, Farmgirl. I look forward to reading more!


 Report Review

Review #16, by The Ghost Of His Last Laugh The Wages of War

20th July 2015:
Hi, farmgirl!
Can I just start by thanking you for writing so many Fred and George fics? I love them so much.
Anyways, I think this story is superb. The first chapter made me cry within probably five seconds of reading, and then took me on a fantastic roller coaster of emotion. I am so happy Fred is alive! I thought it was really clever how you explained Fred lived, by the curse hitting the wall. It actually made sense to me and was very believable, much better than some of the "he survived the killing curse just like Harry!" fics I've read.
Also, you did a great job at writing the interaction between Fred, Charlie, and Harry. It all flowed seamlessly, even though one of them can't even talk. Charlie is really well characterized as well. I don't see enough of him in fanfiction and it's always great when I do.
George is also perfectly characterized. I feel so deeply for him when he's hurting, and when he is describing how happy he is Fred is alive, I feel so happy for him. He's a really empathetic character.
Anyway, great job!

Slytherin House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #17, by ginnypotter242 The Importance of Communication

11th July 2015:
Hello again! I figured I'd finish reviewing this story :)

Ahh, yes! Harry and Ginny worked things out! Yay! I loved their conversation. Obviously Ginny would be very ticked off about Harry running off, and the was shown very well. But she's *so* in love with Harry, that she can't stand not talking to him ( not to mention, she is a Weasley. So she's stubborn obvs) But I like that she cornered him by the bathroom. There really is no other way to get him to talk, is there? I'm so happy they're back together, they (as my penname kind of says) are my OTP so I'm very happy with this chapter.

Okay, Bill, Charlie and Percy: I love that you didn't make them go all macho, overprotective older brothers on Harry, and instead encouraged it. We know Ron was overprotective, but I doubt every single one of her brother's would be all "I'll kill you if you touch her" and I'm glad you didn't make them like that :)

I really love this story! Great job :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by ginnypotter242 The Wages of War

11th July 2015:
Yay!! Fred's okay! Well, he's alive at least, but I will accept that. That is a really interesting way of keeping him alive. It's a unique idea, but it's very plausible! I like Madame Pompfrey's conversation with Harry. the fact that she immediately assumes that he's there because he's injured is great- he did injure himself quite a lot!

Poor Fred though! I am beyond thrilled that he's alive, but he seems to be in so much pain! I hope he ends up at least mostly okay. Harry, silly Harry always feeling guilty over everything. I like that you included a conversation with Charlie here. We don't get much of him in the books (and absolutely none in the movies), so it was cool to see a conversation with him in this story. He was very well written, and acted pretty much how I think he would in this type of situation. I love that Fred and George were still able to joke around a bit, even though one can;t talk and one's a near zombie right now- it's very fitting to their characters.

Harry's coversation with Charlie in the hallway was great. Obviously the Weasley's wouldn't be happy with the idea of him helping pay, but Harry' arguments were valid and I'm glad that Charlie listened to them. It's so sweet that Charlie views harry as another brother, especially as he isn't around very much.

It was hilarious that Charlie and George just sent Harry into a house with all three Weasley women- two of which he has seemed to be actively avoiding. That should go over well (I'll say again: poor Harry!) I'm so happy for George. Life without Fred at all is devastating, and the fact that he had felt that for even just a little while will make him that much more conscious of it. Great job on this chapter- I'm really loving this story!

~Sara (Gryffindor, House Cup 2015)

 Report Review

Review #19, by ginnypotter242 Coming Home

11th July 2015:
Poor Harry! He has had so much pressure on him! And he really is so young- he's only 17, I can't imagine having the weight of the world on my shoulders at that age! I love how you wrote him all hesitant to come in and guilty. He is someone that takes all the blame on himself, and none of the success, so of course he would feel bad for Fred's death/injury. Molly is so sweet though, and the way she was comforting him was a total aww moment. I am totally in love with their relationship. Harry always seemed a little awkward around Mrs. Weasley, like he didn't want to get to close or he was unsure if she'd want him to get close. I love how you wrote Mrs. Weasley in this, you really showed her motherly side, both with her thoughts about Fred and the rest of her children, and her actions towards Harry.

And oh my gosh, the part with Molly talking to Lily's gravestone? That was he sweetest thing, and definitely something I can see Mrs. Weasley doing. Great job on the characterization here! That was such a sweet speech that she gave too! I'm so glad that she considers Harry a son, but she made it known that she wasn't trying to take Lily's place. I also love that you made Molly assume that Lily really did know what was going on- she just knew that Lily would've looked over her son, just as Molly would've if it had happened to her. I'm glad that Molly brought daisies to Liy's grave as well. The remark about her not setting much in store by societal conventions was great- plus my headcanon is that Lily hated it when people brought her lilies (but she loved daisies so...) So that was a nice touch! Okay, and the part with Lily at the very end, with her saying thank you to Molly- not going to lie, I actually teared up a bit. I'm so jealous of how well you can write emotion- you do it so well, and it fits just perfectly in everything. Great job on this chapter!

~Sara (Gryffindor, House Cup 2015)

 Report Review

Review #20, by ginnypotter242 A Little Wounded

11th July 2015:
Eeep! I'm so happy right now, I actually squeaked when Molly got George's note! Please don't let this be a distraction- he's not going to die in the hospital, is he?

Oh, how I love Ron. He's so under appreciated. I like how he just screamed at everyone to shut up. Poor Ron, he's so frustrated, and then he walks in to the Great Hall to find his family screaming at each other and his dead' brother and twin of missing. I can see how that would make him a tad ticked off. And Harry! Of course he can be crying and happy- I would be too if that happened to me!

McGonagall is the best. Seriously, she;s amazing. I liked Harry's reaction- "are you kicking me out?" it was so like him! And everyone referring to The Burrow as his home- that made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, and I'm so happy for Harry! He's so happy about it, it made me smile when he said the word 'home' himself. He's very right about Molly as well- she doesn't give up! And I wouldn't put it past her to start sending Howlers.

I just love your writing style! You're writing his story so well, and the emotion in it is so realistic and I can practically feel what the characters are feeling. All your characters so far are in perfect characterization too- there's not anyone that OOC. This was another great chapter, and it's very interesting to read. I like the idea you have so far, and I'm very interested to see where this goes. Great jpb on this so far, I really like it!

~Sara (Gryffindor, House Cup 2015)

 Report Review

Review #21, by ginnypotter242 Prologue: No Words

11th July 2015:
Wait what? What just happened? Is Fred not dead? Please let Fred not be dead, I will love you forever if you let him live!

Okay, the beginning of this was amazing. George's thoughts were absolutely heartbreaking to read, and I loved how everyone was treating him softly and carefully. His thoughts were phenomenal though, and I almost started tearing up as he thought about losing his other half. "How he wished it was still yesterday" okay, ouch. That line almost physically hurt me to read- the pain in George's thoughts was so transparent and incredibly sad. I could almost feel his heart breaking! This is honestly so well written and the emotion behind it is so real! I love the way you've written just this first chapter, and I can't wait to read more.

George noticing the rest of his family was a sweet little moment- even in the middle of such a tragedy, he was able to think about the rest of his family, and Harry and Hermione. is was really sweet.

But oh my God, what happened with Fred? Why was the light red- does blue mean dead and red mean...not dead? If she's taking Fred to ST. Mungo's, there must be a chance that he's still alive! I honestly didn't expect that at all. I can't imagine what George must be feeling at this point- extremely confused, still heartbroken, but a little bit hopeful. Don't make this any worse, I'm begging you. I will actually cry if Fred dies just a little alter than originally.

Great job with this chapter! It was very well written, and the emotions in the chapter were perfect. I love it!

~Sara (Gryffindor, House Cup 2015)

 Report Review

Review #22, by looneylizzie A Little Wounded

17th May 2015:

So I've finally managed to scrounge up some time to do some reading and reviewing...and of course, I had to keep going with this!

I'm only two chapters in, but I seriously cannot wait to see what's going to happen here. Firstly, with Fred, and then seeing what happens as everyone is recovering from the war.

The way you've written all of the characters are really true to what I'd expect of them! Molly is just spot on! And Harry is so...Harry. He's weary, and he feels broken, but there's so much kindness and generosity pouring out of him.

My favorite part by far is the ending conversation with McGonagall. The whole concept of home...because at this point, Harry has the Burrow, but as he says, he'd never do so much as assume that. So Hogwarts is really the next option, since it very much feels like home as well.

But the fact that McGonagall and Molly are both practically yelling at Harry to go home, and really meaning The Burrow...that's just heartwarming. I LOVE IT!

Anyway, another great chapter!! This story is so well written and the characterizations are just spot on...I can't wait to see what's next!!

I'll be reading the next chapter soon! Promise!

 Report Review

Review #23, by looneylizzie Prologue: No Words

6th May 2015:
Okie Dokie Farmgirl (or Jill. Can I write Jill?), I’m here for our review swap!

And, since I’ve been wanting to read this, obviously I’m going to start here!!
(Note, I’m just adding commentary as I read, so you’re gonna get all of my initial reactions to everything.)

Oh man. Where are the tissues? This is gonna be sad. Fred is the death that I’ve always hated the most. I may or may not have thrown the book across the room when I read it for the first time. Well, I threw it several times, with several more with each read.

This is easily the best description I’ve read of George’s initial reaction. So detailed, and so realistic. *wipes tears*

Of course George can’t look at Madam Pomfrey while she works. I love the line “make his worst nightmare an unavoidable reality.” That’s such a great way to sum up how he feels about Fred’s death. It’s his worst nightmare.

I love your descriptions of the rest of the family as they’re dealing with things. I think it makes sense that they’d immediately be trying to help instead of just sitting around an grieving. That feels very…Weasley. Even though Molly and Ginny, are sitting, it doesn’t feel like they’re wallowing. It’s more like they’re just tired and struggling to deal with the physical pain and the emotional pain of the battle.

Of course the Trio’s missing. No surprise there.

Wait a second.


I can’t even…I don’t know what to think…I mean…No words. Like the chapter title.

*Takes several deep breaths*

Okay. Now, normally, I’m not one to like stories that stray from canon. BUT, this is Fred we’re talking about, AND it’s really well written. Just from a basic structure and composition standpoint, your writing is phenomenal. I mean, I see maybe two grammatical things that could be fixed a bit? That’s really good!

Plus the flow of your writing and the characterization of George is amazing, and so are your descriptions! You do a really good job of giving the reader a great mental image of what is happening around George.

In short, I LOVE IT! I really can’t wait to see what happens next, and it’ll be really interesting to see how you write Fred into the story moving forward!

*jumps up and down excitedly* This is awesome! You’re gonna be hearing more from me VERY soon!!

 Report Review

Review #24, by TreacleTart Prologue: No Words

5th May 2015:
Hi there!

I'm here for our review swap!

After reading this chapter I can already tell that I'm going to love this novel. Let me give you a whole list of reasons why!

Fred is alive! Here you had me thinking this was another sad story where George is in mourning. You described his heartbreak so well that I was really feeling for him and then you go and flip it around on me like that. Can I just tell you that I've never been happier for a character to be alive than I am right now!

Second, the way you used descriptive sentences to really build a complete view of what was going on was truly well done. I could very much imagine what was happening, what things looked like, the state of disarray that the room was in, and the defeat written all across George. Description and imagery are probably the most important part of a story for me. I really love it when I can thoroughly envision what the author is talking about and in this case I most definitely could.

Third, your ability to throw an unexpected twist into the story. I love a good twist in the ending. I've been known to play with them in my own writing. The thing that's hard about it is to keep the reader from realizing there's a twist coming at all. Fred still being alive was a big surprise. I really didn't expect it based on the description of your story, so I was shocked when Madame Pomfrey's wand was glowing red.

All in all, I feel that this is a really strong start to this story. I usually like to try and leave some sort of solid constructive criticism, but I really have none to offer you here. Excellent work. I will definitely be back for more!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Crumple-Horned Snorkack Coming Home

3rd May 2015:
Greetings Farmgirl. I am the Crumple-Horned Snorkack, an elusive inhabitant of the northern boreal forest who only comes out on occasion to play practical jokes on humans and then hide from them, although today I have decided that instead I'll leave reviews for humans.

This was such an emotional chapter and I feel like there were a lot of things that had been a long time coming - like Harry finally coming to terms with the idea that things are not his fault, and he does have a loving family, even though they're technically not blood relatives. That scene with Molly hugging Harry just tugged at my heartstrings.

Her mother had always held firmly to the belief that all of life’s problems were best solved over good food. -- I must agree with Molly here. Whenever I face any problems in my life, they can easily be solved by a feast of leaves and dirigible plums.

But the last paragraph is what really got me. That whole section really, when Molly talks to Lily's grave... this was just truly beautiful and I will admit I had some tears sliding down my furry face. What an amazing scene. You write emotions so incredibly well - it all just feels so real (even to me, and I don't normally know how to feel human emotions since I am not a human.) Wonderfully done. ♥

I have greatly enjoyed reading this fic so far and I am happy to see that Fred is alive. I think I would like Fred and George, as they also seem to appreciate how fun it is to play practical jokes on humans. But now I must depart for I promised to meet Bigfoot for tea in the woods.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>