Reading Reviews for Healing
  
280 Reviews Found

Review #1, by theelderwand Bless the Children

15th October 2014:
More More More More! Author!! Author!! Author!

Farmgirls triumphant return!! This was brilliant! Where to start...

The Harry/Arthur scene was well done right down to the last word. Reading it again it seems there was absolutely no other way that scene could have progressed. Perfectly, naturally superb. Harry as their adopted son, and the Weasleys as his adopted family is simply the way things are supposed to be. Excellent.

Fred and George's escape to the kids ward was a masterful stroke. Exactly what they needed. It captured the depths of Fred's and George's despair and offers up the perfect cure. I really liked how you wrote from Fred's point of listening (I'd say point of view, but that would miss the point, wouldn't it?) That was genius. And, at one point (Forgive me) but I was worried you were going to forget that F and G couldn't do real magic without injuring Fred. Needn't have. you made sure they were Muggle tricks. Excellent continuity catch there. And them getting caught? Brilliant.

As for Harry's reaction to the Healer, again spot on. Harry's still healing along with everyone else and the emotional scars are deep. The cure? This sounds like a job for Ginny.

Now, I do hope I still have beta rights to advance copies? ;) Cause I really can't wait to see what happens next.

Really, really glad to see you back at this story, Little Sis. It was a real joy to be reading this tale again.

Eldy

 Report Review

Review #2, by CambAngst Bless the Children

15th October 2014:
farmgirl! I have rarely been so happy to see an update to a story. Seriously, I have missed your version of post-war life so much!

The moment between Arthur and Harry was perfect. It wasn't overdone or overly dramatic. Arthur was soft-spoken and insistent, but he also led with his heart. Harry, for his part, was emotional, but also deferential to someone he considers a father figure. The whole exchange played out perfectly in my mind, and I can't think of any other way it would have happened. Then you wrap it up perfectly with Arthur parenting Harry, making him stop and take some time to see to his own physical recovery.

The entire scene with Fred and George was amazing. It started out on a low note, with George trying to figure out how he would tell Fred about the damage to their shop. George's solution was perfect. I enjoyed the quiet bickering between the two of them as they made their way to the children's ward. Excellent dialog. The scene in the children's ward was inspired. Of course Fred would rediscover his sense of purpose by making people laugh. It's what the twins are best at. It was warm and kind and felt so natural for the two of them. Fred's epiphany was heart-warming.

"Erm...about that," said George hesitantly. "We might have to do a...er...bit of rebuilding first. Went by there today and I think the Death Eaters took exception to our decorating style..."

"So, we rebuild," he answered firmly. "Bigger and better than ever."


That's the spirit, boys!

Good to see that somebody's finally talking sense to Harry. Not that other people haven't talked sense to him so far, but now somebody's talking sense about his health. Harry being Harry, of course he's not ready to hear it yet. I assume that will take a while and probably a dressing down from either Ginny or Mrs. Weasley. But the ball is rolling.

I saw one lonely little typo as I was reading:

Strangely enough, the little fox Luna had given his twin seemed to be providing more help than anything, giving the comfort no one else could break through his protective shell to doll out. -- dole out?

Gah, I enjoyed coming back to this story so much. Awesome job with this!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Hannah Bless the Children

15th October 2014:
I hate reading a great story and it suddenly stops.
Put me out of my misery and write.

 Report Review

Review #4, by poobear Bless the Children

14th October 2014:
Hat There
All i can say is wow this story is so good i loved it and defo carnt wait for more please please not to long for the next great chapters. only one thing i was thiking wile reading it was i would of thort harry would be more hurt what with all he went through but maybe thats me.
Anywhoo i will leave there for now you take care and have a good week by for now.
Bruce

 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfan Prologue: No Words

25th March 2014:
Well, it looks like you haven't updated this one for a while, but it looked interesting. Having just recently written something about post-war George as well I decided to have a look at yours because I have a sneaking suspicion that you dispensed with parts of canon. Fred is listed as a character in this, so I have hope. :p

Ugh, reading about George witnessing this is so raw and heartbreaking and sad. You've portrayed the grief and emotions so well, and it's like reading that part of DH all over again :( and the way you've focused on things like Bill's face "floating" in front of him is such an effective way to portray George's shock and helplessness, like he's seeing everything in the hall through a haze of tears. :'(

BUT WAIT. HE IS TOTALLY ALIVE. Why else would Madam Pomfrey do that? Ha, I knew I could count on you, as someone who denies that Fred's death ever happened. HE'S ALIVE! At least he'd better be. Ahhh!

Awesome start! I'm excited to read more of this. :)

Author's Response: Hey there! Only 4 months late responding. Yeah, I know...I'm not very good at setting records. At least not good ones.

I'm so glad you found this story. I know it's sat for a long time, but I am still working on it. It just got pushed aside for a while.

You wrote a George post-war? I should check it out. Then again, it will probably just make me BAWL! They always do, I'm still so sensitive about that topic.

I have no idea what you are talking about with this dispensing with canon and Fred characters... *whistles guiltily*

Sorry to make you feel the pain. This chapter was really my way of getting my own pain at what happened out into the open. I thought it would help and make it go away...nope. Still feel it every time I think about it. Silly fictional characters that make me love them as much as real people.

But WAIT. ARE YOU SURE? Hehehehe. Keep reading to find out!

Thanks for stopping by. Hope you come back and finish this someday.



 Report Review

Review #6, by MargaretLane One Step Forward...

13th December 2013:
OK, I'm finally getting around to reading this monster of a chapter. *grins*

*grins at the signatures* A few names that might not be the most popular in my country. Sorry, just had to mention that.

Hmm, I wonder how things like the Ministry are funded in the wizarding world. And Hogwarts.

*laughs* My next gen also mentions the assets of Death Eaters being seized. It's rather a significant point in the first mystery.

Aw, I love the way the Weasleys are looking out for Harry and the contrast with the lack of care he's had from his own family.

Ugh, that bruise does sound rather unpleasant. I can imagine though, that in the immediate aftermath of the Battle, any injury unlikely to be fatal would seem unimportant. He had plenty of time since, though, in which he should have got help.

Once Harry hesitated, I guessed it was the Killing Curse.

*cracks up at the suggestion Fred and George would be in danger of much worse if their family found out they'd kept this from them* That sums up the Weasleys pretty well, I think.

Fred and George's lines are very funny, such as them making no promises when it comes to burning down the hospital. You characterise them well, which is kind of hard to do, particularly in this situation, when things are naturally more serious than ever before and yet, they are still maintaining their usual attitudes while at the same time, we see a more mature and serious side to them. That must be hard to balance.

I wonder is Harry going to to buy the Burrow for the Weasleys. That'd be one way to give them the money.

I also like the way you're showing the aftermath of the war, the fact that some Death Eaters are still on the loose and so on.

And I love the confrontation between Fred and George and the recognition of what is going on behind the jokey exterior.

Author's Response: Well, I'm finally getting around to responding to this AMAZING review! And I would like to humbly apologize for that monster chapter in the process. Sometimes, my muse just runs away with things.

I'm an American. I was pulling signatures out of my memory from history classes, so yeah, I might not have been very politically correct, LOL.

I've been thinking about that funding thing lately. We've never heard mention of there being tuition for Hogwarts, but somehow I think there must be. If there weren't, then how could it be such a financial strain on the Weasleys to have so many kids there at once. Books and robes are expensive, yes, but you only buy them once a year. So, I think there has to be more to it than that.

I love it when Harry is treated as part of the Weasley family. It's one of the reasons this story even exists in the first place.

The bruise is unpleasant, but Harry is also very stubborn. He has that nobility thing - he might even have a tiny bit of him that thinks he deserves it, given he's still harboring that irrational idea that the entire war is his fault.

Weasleys can be a very protective bunch, can't they. LOL.

It is hard to balance writing the twins here. I love them so much and want them to be back to their wise-cracking selfs, but I have to keep reminding myself that is a little unrealistic given the situation. I need to let them be normal people and be angry and sad and grieving as well.

You are a very smart lady and I won't comment more on the Burrow thing.

So glad you are enjoying this version of what happened after the war! Thanks so much for your awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by ella144 Coming Home

20th November 2013:
This is just lovely and sweet and perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #8, by toomanycurls Some Rain Must Fall

2nd November 2013:
I'm at review 300 - As you got review 200 I wanted to come back after 100. :D

...and I wanted to read on with this.

Ron's attempt to be cute/romantic/tender is adorable. I mean, he's clearly young and inexperienced at being tender but it's so sweet that he's trying.

International travel for wizards sounds more complicated that international travel for muggles. I mean, just hopping on a plane is rather straight forward. I'm a bit surprised they don't have a fast magical way to get places.

I love that Hermione's spell was so well done that it's not in the way of them finding her parents. Awesome and sad. Ahh, Hermione can't give up!! Ron's offer to get a job to fund their time in Australia is so incredible. I mean, he's never been one for muggle work but offering to do it just for Hermione is quite awesome. Now I'm going awww at Ron asking Hermione out. (His timing isn't the best though :P) The bet idea was hilarious - genius maybe. I got a really good laugh out of that.

The Weasley banter towards Ginny is extremely cute and elder-brotherly. I'm sure glad they approve of Harry or he'd be in trouble.

Poor Fred's diet. :( I wouldn't want to be on that stuff either. I do like that he's in good spirits about it. A warmth spread through me too with Harry being included as one of the brothers. :D

:-o The ramifications the Healer explains for Fred's recovery is quite well done. (my shocked face is at what they are, not that it's well done) I felt that it was very well thought out and seemed a good combination of magical and medical. Oh man, being blind isn't as bad as being dead but it's still a harsh blow.

Really amazing chapter!! I promise to come back before I hit review 400. :D

-Rose

Author's Response: Hi Rose! Sorry I'm SO slow responding to this amazing review! But I have to tell you how excited I was to see it pop up! Thanks for remembering me!

Oh, and before I get into the responce, please know I haven't forgotten about Remus and his story. Still trying to make a LITTLE progress on my now probably unreachable NaNo goal, but as soon as Nov. is over I'll be back to reading and reviewing for you.

Ron really is a sweetheart when he tries to be, isn't he? I really hate it when people portray Ron as just a stupid, clumsy sidekick. There's so much more to Ron than that. And I tried really hard to show that here - to still let his personality shine through, but also show that he's growing up and learning. Glad you liked it.

Figuring out Interenation travel was really hard. I probably made it too hard, actually, but then sometimes I think that despite magic, wizards do things the hard way. I mean a good ballpoint pen is ten times easier than carrying around ink, quills, and parchment but wizards stick to the later anyway. So, I decided to just roll with it and make it difficult for Ron and Hermione.

Hermione can be too smart for her own good sometimes, can't she? And yes, after I wrote it, I wished I would have made the odds a little more staggering. Oh well. I'd just read too many stories where Hermione's parents were either forgotten, or it was like Hermione says "Gotta skip down to Australia and get my folks, be back in half and hour." Way too easy. If wanted it to be a bit more realistic than that.

And yes, I had fun with Ron offering to get a Muggle job. It was too good of an opportunity to pass up. As for his timing in asking her out, let's face it, Ron's never had good timing.

I love it when Ginny's brothers are protective of her, but I get annoyed when it gets way out of hand, like suddenly they all turn on Harry and won't let him touch their sister. Seriously? Harry did just show he was willing to give his life to save the entire wizarding world - that has to show he's a pretty decent guy. I think they'd be glad to have him dating their sister. Besides, as you mentioned, I think they claim him as an honorary brother anyway.

As for Fred - yes, he really is pretty messed up, isn't he. And he's trying to stay positive and in good spirits. I felt like I saved Fred from death, but I couldn't just go "poof" and make him all better. There had to be some long-lasting complications and consequences. You are very right that being blind isn't as bad as being dead, but I imagine it will still be pretty hard for Fred to take at first.

Thanks so much for coming back and reading! Maybe, by the time you hit 400 and come back, I'll actually have another chapter up so I can stay ahead of you.


 Report Review

Review #9, by santosh Unexpected Help

13th October 2013:
please write some more i love this story

Author's Response: I plan to. Might be a while, as I'm trying to fix a few plot holes, but it will be finished.

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #10, by loveinidleness The Wages of War

8th October 2013:
So, I'm back and I've calmed down slightly from my first review.

I love the tenderness that you're infusing your whole story with. You're really conveying a sense of the calm after the storm, the dust settling. Little notions like now Harry has to consider where is home is. It's no longer at Hogwarts of Privet Drive. That question wasn't important during the final book, but now the battle's over it's very important.

I love the way you don't shy away from what would have to happen after an event of this magnitude. The clear up, the funerals, the long-winded recovery. All of this serves to make the world so vivid and real. It grounds your story in reality which makes all of your future chapters so much more powerful. It's a very brave start to a fanfic. I mean safe-guards on international apparition. Who would think of that? But as soon as you mention it, it's so obvious and brings such a depth and colour to your piece.

You pace and flow is exceptional.

I did notice the brit-picky things. Cot is a babies bed and a couple of other Americanisms but it didn't bother me. Your meaning was always very clear and as brits we get so much American TV the dialect isn't unfamiliar.

I did notice the whole medical bills thing but I think the concept does add a lot to your story. I think it's a clever tactic to use to communicate the guilt Harry stills feels in a real world way. Plus while most of us Brits are on the NHS we do have private healthcare. Maybe wizards are just on BUPA.

I am struggling to find CC to give you because so far your tale has been exceptional.

Author's Response: Look, I'm back, too! And only a month and bit late. (Sighs.) I really, really am sorry about this, being so tardy in replying.

Thank you! I really did try to make this touching and tender, but you are really the first person to point that out. Most stories that I've read that follow right after the war don't deal with the days directly following it. I wanted to show how life had changed, both for the better and the worse. And I have always wondered what Harry did when his quest was done. Seven years of his life had been wrapped up in it, and he gave up everything for it. And they he had to ask, "Now what?"

And thanks for making me blush with your compliments. I didn't feel particulary brave while writing this - just like I wanted to fill in some holes.

Yeah, that cot thing. I have a list of mistakes in this story that I need to fix. But I've been holding off on making the edits until I have another chapter to post. I don't want to give people false hope by having it jump to the recently updated list without anything new to read. So, you will probably find more of them as you go along. Feel free to keep pointing them out to me, incase they are ones I have actually missed, but know they are going to get fixed eventually.

And I'm glad you weren't too bugged by the medical bills part. It was too integral to the story to remove it once I'd realized the mistake. And we can just say Wizards are stuck in the past. hehehehe

Did you know that the comment you said about struggling to find CC to give me actually makes me smile a lot? That means my stories are completely awful!

Thanks so much for reading! Hopefully will be more active again in the next few months.


 Report Review

Review #11, by loveinidleness Prologue: No Words

8th October 2013:
First of all... Gah.

I read the first line of this then had to leave. I returned minutes later cowering from my laptop behind a pillow and clutching a tub of ben and jerry's as if it were my first born, having prepared myself for the emotional turmoil that was to follow. I had successfully refused to deal with Fred's death in the years since the final book was published by sticking my fingers in my ears and singing loudly every time it was mentioned.

So I finally prepared myself to face the inevitable and gosh darn it, you go and move the goal posts!

This isn't a bad thing. I love it, genuinely. I don't have time to review this chapter now because I need to know what's going on. I couldn't spot anything I wanted to mention in CC but then again I was too emotionally wrapped up in it, so perhaps I wasn't paying enough attention to spelling. I will start being more constructive when you stop PLAYING WITH MY HEART.

-goes back to behind pillow and clicks next chapter-

Author's Response: I am very slow responding to your wonderful reviews! I appologize from the bottom of my heart. I'm a music teacher and Oct/Nov are the months we put on a musical theater production. (I might have told you this.) It's one of the reasons I kind of took a break from writing/reviewing/responding for a while. But I'm back to writing and have a chapter ready to post again, but I won't let myself post it until I've given all of you wonderful people who left me reviews the responses you deserve first.

It's been long enough I hope the shock of reading this prologue has worn off by now. I didn't mean to play with your feelings like this. Okay, well, maybe I did...but it's all for a good reason, right?

Was the ice cream good? Did it help with the reading experience?

Secret: I have never really delt with Fred's death either. It took me 2 years to actually read the last book because someone had told me what happened and I figured as long as I didn't read it, it couldn't be true. And I STILL don't deal well with it, which is why I keep finding ways to undo it. Or ignore it.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this prologue though. Even with your emotions. Thanks so much for reading! I love getting reviews from you! They are so nice and helpful.



 Report Review

Review #12, by toomanycurls The Importance of Communication

29th September 2013:
My Saturday morning was reading this in bed. I got through a few chapters before doing something productive. ^_^

The sauna/furnace bed was quite hilarious. I lol'd at the Quiddich practice smell comment. Well, first I laughed then I went ew. Charlie's comment about Mrs. Weasley roasting people in bed was funny and it conveyed her constant care and concern for people.

Dun dun dun - Ginny!! I've decided that I'm going to be mad at your Harry like you're mad at my Remus. *grumbles* stubborn men... I really like Ginny's confrontation. We know from the books that she's not a pushover but it's nice to see her really stand up for herself and call Harry out for some of his "i'm the hero" selfish behavior. hmph.

That was quite the kiss they had ^_^. I got a seriously good laugh out of the "Peeping Merlins" comment. Your ending line is awesome - I hope Harry keeps up his trend of not being so stubborn.

Author's Response: I hope it was an enjoyable Saturday morning then, as Saturday mornings are kind of sacred things, hehehehe, not to be wasted.

Hehehehe. I like to mix humor into my drama. It's how I write best. So I'm glad you didn't mind. And it seemed like something Mrs. Weasley would do, try to pile blankets on him. It also seemed like her kids would have practice helping people "escape" from what could often be over-protecting. hehehehe

Hehehehe. You can be mad at my Harry like I am your Remus. They are both kind of acting like idiots, aren't they? (Maybe it's a guy thing...) And I DO like to include romance, but I just can't do that sappy, lovy-dovy stuff. This was my answer. Just have Ginny call him on his nonsense. Glad you liked it!

And yes, I did let them kiss. But I do try to remember that they are still only 17 and 16 years old! hehehe. They are KIDS!

Peeping Merlins was fun.

Thanks for reading! Your reviews are so much fun. And I promise to return to your Remus soon.


 Report Review

Review #13, by musingmarauder Unexpected Help

28th September 2013:
Really enjoying this so far. I look forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad to have people reading it again! There will be more but it will probably be a few months. Real life is very busy at the moment.

 Report Review

Review #14, by toomanycurls Coming Home

27th September 2013:
Your intro bit about Molly and the changes/new direction was a bit ominous. Oh man, Molly's reflection on the recent events and her love for the family was perfect. It was sad but still had a touch of hope and thankfulness.

You really nailed the descriptions in this chapter. Harry walking up to the house perfectly captured the sullen behavior he'd been acting out but in a very poetic way. The way Molly recognized him and his feelings really showed her maternal love for him.

...then Harry starts with the self-blame.

This chapter may have brought out some tears. Just FYI.

Molly's description of what if felt like to see her son dead and then feel the same when she saw Harry dead was heartbreaking (I'm running out of words for sad).

I am so glad you have Harry breaking down his defense a bit. It's nice to see him open up about his feelings. I like her advice to take his recovery one day at a time.

Seriously - making me cry here.

I never thought of Molly going to Lily's grave. Her discussion with Lily's grave area was terrifically sad and brilliant. Molly's comments about Harry were perfect. I've never gone to someone's grave to talk to them but this seems like the kind of stuff you'd say to someone's tombstone.

Is Lily alive??!?!?!?! My head just exploded.

Really good chapter - I don't think I've teared up so much reading in a long time.

Author's Response: Oh, I am so slow responding! I am very, very sorry! Real life has been even crazier than usual these last few weeks.

Very glad you liked the beginning with Molly reflecting, even if it was kind of somber as you said. I can't imagine what it must have been like for her and Arthur, fighting in a battle with all their children fighting along side. *shudders*

That image of Harry walking up the lane was one of the driving forces behind this whole story. It came into my head and just kind of stuck there, and I knew it was important and I had to use it. He's just...so alone, you know? Even when he's surrounded by bunches of people, he's set apart by his past, the fame he never wanted, and the fact he doesn't completely belong to anyone, and yet the whole wizarding world thinks they should get a piece of him.

Sorry about the tears. *hands over hanky* And yes, Harry is REALLY good at guilt and self blame.

Harry really needed a hug, and I think Molly really needed to give him one. The tears were good for both of them.

So glad you liked the graveyard scene. I've talked to people in the graveyard before, so I guess it didn't seem all that odd to me, but maybe I'm weird.

And sorry to get your hopes up, but no, Lily is not alive. I just was trying to say that in my mind I like to think her spirit is still watching over her son.

Thanks so much for reading! Again, sorry for the tears.



 Report Review

Review #15, by toomanycurls The Wages of War

25th September 2013:
I kind of read this last night. ^_^ I am so happy to see Fred. I really like how you explained him not dying. Harry's concern about this was very believable - especially after the Horcruxes.

As much as it sucks that Fred is hurt and all banged up, it adds a bit of realism and believability to his non-death.

I'm glad Harry kind of faced/looked at his how he was avoiding dealing with the people he loves by moving rubble around. You've hit on one his core weaknesses as a character and I hope you explore it a bit more. ^_^

Oooh, I got a giggle out of the witch at the desk not thinking Harry was a Weasley because of his hair.

I can't imagine how draining it was to go to all the funerals. I do see Harry trying to go to as many funerals as possible. Poor guy. :( Though, the idea that they died for him rather than for the wizarding world is a bit off. I mean, I think he thought that but it bothers me that he thinks that.

I really liked their prodding about Ginny and joking about Ron/Hermione.

so... the bruise - is it important? Deadly? Going to crop up later and be a bit plot point? Again, Harry annoys me with his "no one can help me" streak. It's totally him but yeah (he kind of annoys me as a character after HBP and DH).

I love that Harry offers to help with the medical bills. I never thought about St. Mungo's costing money (because I think the wizards as socialists :P) I hope they let him help.

I did a happy dance about Charlie calling Harry out on his "they died for me" blah blah blah.

Yay for Harry realizing he knows people that can help him out. I hope he takes advantage of that.

The Fred/George/Charlie discussion was awesome. I felt for George not wanting to spend time away from Fred after he was thought dead. I haven't seen a lot of Charlie before but I really like how you write him. ^_^

Really awesome chapter - thank you for having Fred!

Author's Response: That's totally awesome that you read ahead. Seriously, that makes my day like no other.

I had to think long and hard about how I was going to save Fred. See, I have this awful habit of not writing in order. I have about 75 pages of the sequel of this story done, that I actually started first. And in it, I just had Fred "alive" without explaining it. But, I realized that probably wouldn't fly so well, so I started this story to come before that and fill in the gaps, but then I had to think my way out of the "but how" hole I'd dug. LOL. Glad you think my idea worked.

I've never been a quick fix kind of writer. Injuries take time in real life to heal, why shouldn't they in fic? Now, granted, sci-fi and fantasy can help speed that up a bit, but still. So, yeah, Fred is hurt pretty bad, but like you said, at least he's a live!

I love Harry, I really do. And while I admit his character trait of thinking he has to do everything alone and no one can help him IS a bit annoying, it's actually great fun when writing him, because it gives you a lot of angst to work with. HEhehehe. I guess that makes me a bad person, huh?

Maybe someone will try and FIX Harry's hair color - what do you think?

Harry really does have that noble streak to him, doesn't he, which can also be annoying. That's why he has Ron and Hermione, to keep him grounded and sensible. Of course, right now, they're gone, so the rest of the Weasleys (like Charlie) will have to step up to the bat.

The bruise...well, just keep reading.

St. Mungos and the hospital bills. I've actually received quite a few comments about how St. Mungo's probably wouldn't charge patients, etc, mostly from Brits. And I guess I messed up there. But, it's such an integral part of my plot now I can't change it. So I'm just justifying it with wizards are as archaic about health care payments as they are with other technologies like quills and parchment and such.

Go Charlie, huh. I love including all the Weasleys, even the forgotten ones. And so I'm really glad you like my take on Charlie.

Thanks so much for reading again! And you never have to thank me for having Fred. It's kind of my specialty, bringing him back from the dead. LOL.

Your reviews are great! Thanks again!



 Report Review

Review #16, by Illuminate Coming Home

25th September 2013:
Hi! Sorry this is going to be a short review, I'm quite busy today xD

This is a lovely chapter! You have great characterisation in both Molly and Harry, and I'm glad this was a low-key chapter in terms of the emotional conversation that she had with Harry, and the scene at the graveyard. It's all written very well and I'm glad the story slowed down for a bit to let these conversations happen.

Great job!

Author's Response: No worries about the short review! You're reading, which makes my day! (And you've got me beat. Been meaning to get back to your story but real life keeps ganging up on me right now.)

I'm so glad you liked this chapter. It was one I really wanted to write at the time. Harry is so alone, but there are so many people who WANT to love him if he'd just let them. I wanted him to finally realize that, realize he DOES have a family, just not the one he was born with.

Thanks again! Your reviews make me smile.


 Report Review

Review #17, by toomanycurls A Little Wounded

24th September 2013:
This chapter is very unfair. I'm on the edge of my seat, dying for news of Fred (which there is a bit with George's letter) but there's not happy "you're alive" reunion scene. Fine, drag out the drama and turmoil. :) well done with the suspense. At least people know he's alive. But, yeah, I need Freddie screen time.

It was also nerve racking to read about the Weasley family trying to figure out what happened to Fred and where he and George got off to (considering that one of them was dead). This struck a chord with me as I've hoped in the past for a loved one to have gotten back up from their death bed. Considering how emotional this subject is, I think you write it with a good mix of humor and sadness. Enough sadness to be real but humor to take the sting out.

Harry and Minerva's discussion about going home was very bittersweet for me. It warmed my heart to have the Burrow stated as his home but is also made me sad that Harry's first reaction to hearing that he should go home was confusion about what that meant.

My emotions were poked at quite a bit while reading this. I definitely felt the post-war emotional recovery in a very real way. I'm just going to have some ice cream now.

Author's Response: Sorry for the unfairness of chapters.

I wasn't trying to be inherently mean, but I didn't want to give things away TOO soon. And I needed to get Harry into the story.

Maybe the happy you're alive reunion scene can happen later? hehehehehe

Yes, I'm very good at dragging out the drama. I do try. LOL.

Don't worry. Freddie is half of my pair of favorite characters. There will be lots of him later, I promise.

As for the humor, I do try to add it into my stories, and yes, it probably creeps in at some not quite as appropriate times, but I can't help it. I can do angst, I really can, but sometimes you just have to have a laugh or two as well.

You caught my secret love of Minerva again, didn't you. She keeps popping up in my stories.

Sorry poor emotions. I would try to promise you it gets better after this, but I'm me, so that would be a lie. By, maybe.erm...there could be cake? *shrugs*

Thanks so much for reading. Hope the ice cream was good.


 Report Review

Review #18, by toomanycurls Prologue: No Words

23rd September 2013:
Oh man, tug at my heartstrings. :( I cried enough during DH, this is so sad looking at George's reaction to his twin's death. His reactions feel very real and quite heartbreaking.

This is great and dramatic. The utter terror and grief of letting her do the wizardly last rights stuff then to have her think he's alive. Talk about an emotional roller coaster.

I have to read on - you've taken me through a hard emotional journey and I need to see where it goes.

Really, this is a fantastic start. It's gripping and raw in a way that puts the reader right into George's devastation.

Author's Response: Erm.sorry about the heartstrings?

Maybe.

Honestly, I'm just really glad you liked it. Because it's not only really sad, but it's AU.

Fred's death hit me really hard. So hard, I still try to pretend like it didn't happen. So, I guess this was my way of writing out my grief for a fictional character.

When you get time, I'd love to have you read on and see what you think. I really need to get unstuck on this one and figure out how to get it to the ending, but in a different way than the one I originally had planned. (And hopefully a slightly shorter way as well, LOL.)

Thanks so much for such a wonderful review! And for being patient as I find time to respond to it and your others.


 Report Review

Review #19, by MargaretLane Stumbling Blocks

12th September 2013:
Augusta Longbottom should know how he feels. Compared to what happened to her son, I guess this is comparatively minor. Though that plays it down more than it should, but I guess everything's comparative.

The Beater thing reminds me of a story about Irish President Eamon de Valera, in his 80s and pretty much totally blind, throwing a sliotar (small ball used in hurling) in the air and hitting with a hurley. The Taoiseach (Prime Minister) apparently commented he hadn't thought the President could see well enough to hit the Presidential residence with a hurley.

Love Augusta Longbottom's words about how war doesn't have happy endings. I agree completely with that. Everybody loses to some degree in a war.

Oh crikey, how dreadful must that be, to lose your son AFTER the war is over. *goes to play an Irish rebel song about a rebel who was killed on the last day of our War of Independence*

You portrayed her feelings when she heard so well. You almost brought tears to my eyes again.

Also like the way you've shown Percy still feeling awkward about his rift with the family. It makes a lot of sense and I love the way you have things taking time to sort out.

And *cheers for Kingsley leaving the handmade sign up*

To be honest, my sympathy in a lot of the wizard-goblin relations is with the goblins. If they consider items to belong to the maker and wizards are aware of that, then wizards ought to enter into the contract knowing they are only renting and will have to return the item on their death or else not buy from goblins. I can also see their side of things here; the trio DID break in to Gringotts, but I do think they could understand the situation Harry was in here. After all, I doubt the Death Eaters were that fond of goblins either. On the other hand, considering how the wizarding world treats part-humans, I guess it's understandable that they would want to remain outside wizarding wars.

Love the detail about Hermione's father liking universities. It's so personal and considering Hermione's personality and her insecurity about her grades, it sounds like one or both of her parents may well have been very academically inclined. I mean, obviously you have to be very smart to be a dentist, but it sounds like they may also have valued education for its own sake.

*laughs at Ron taking Death Eaters over spiders any day* Funny how irrational fears can be, isn't it? Like Ron's so brave when it comes to facing down all kinds of evil people and monsters, but faced with a spider, he's terrified.

I love that nightmare. It fits Harry so well. Actually saying I love the nightmare makes me sounds somewhat sadistic, doesn't it?

*laughs* I had a line in one of my stories where the villain is jailed and one of my characters was talking about how some of his victims are still in counselling and "this is victory?" This is what we've all been hoping for?" The ending of this chapter reminded me of that.

Author's Response: Augusta Longbottom inserted herself into this chapter. I had no plans to use her, but she just kind of showed up. So, I let her talk. *shrugs* She apparently had some things she needed to get off her chest and I'm just honored she chose my story to do it in, as I think it worked out perfectly. And yes, I think wars, although sometimes sadly necessary, always cause pain in the end.

That's a great story about the Irish President! You will have to tell that to Fred, to give him some hope and a good laugh.

I have a soft spot for Percy and really want to bring him back into the family fold. But I also think even choosing the right side in the end wouldn't instantly change his basic personality, or how he felt he fit into his family. So, as much as I want to have him right at home, I think it will take time. And lets face it, some people, no matter how much they love their family, just always feel a little like they don't fit in with them.

He IS still a Weasley, however - hence the sign. Glad you liked it.

It's true. Wizard relations with non-humans is a very shady gray area of the book. As a children's series, I believe JKR was trying to be funny and light-hearted. And so I usually read it that way. But if you delve very deep and think too much about it, they can turn very dark indeed, and often it's the wizards who come out seeming dirty. I guess I choose to not look too deeply.

As for Hermione's parent's, well, no one grows up in a vacuum. I figured there had to be something at home that helped influence her character.

Irrational fears. Yes, they are funny. Until it's you facing that spider/snake/mouse. LOL. But, it makes the characters human, doesn't it.

Whew! Writing the nightmare was hard! I was afraid it would seem corny. So glad you liked it. And no, you sound fine. I understand what you mean completely.

That's a weird coincidence! LOL. Too funny.

Thanks again so much for reading! These reviews have been great to get, randomly popping up. You've almost caught up to my last chapter, so I suppose I'd better get busy writing a new one.






 Report Review

Review #20, by MargaretLane Some Rain Must Fall

12th September 2013:
Really like the amount of information you've given about Ron and Hermione's search for her parents. It's bound to be difficult. After all Australia is a big country. And I like that you've given a sense of that difficulty.

Love George and Charlie's words to Ron.

I also like the part where they don't feel ready to share a bed at this point of their relationship. Often it seems like stories have every character immediately ready to consummate their relationship as soon as they reach adulthood. And of course there's nothing necessarily wrong with that, but it's nice to see a couple behave differently.

Ron's awkwardness about it is also quite in character.

Yeah, I'd imagine that once the Ministry realises who Hermione is and what she and her friends have done for Britain, they would be anxious to help, particularly since Britain and Australia seem to have a pretty close relationship - both being part of the Commonwealth and all - but it is a big country and without the Ministry having any record of their having entered the country, this could get tricky.

Aw, that part where Ron wants to comfort Hermione but doesn't know how is SO in character for him. He is rather...not insensitive, but not the best at knowing how to deal with emotional stuff, isn't he? And he always puts himself down, always feels his brothers and Harry and probably Hermione too are superior to him. And looking at what he's done in the books, he really shouldn't. I mean, yeah, Harry and Hermione probably did more. And Neville much the same, but among the younger characters, that's it. None of his siblings faced what he did.

Those are actually fairly small numbers, considering they are searching a whole country. They could well have had thousands with the right names.

Actually, they should try getting hold of the airport records. That could be fairly hard to do though.

*cracks up at the comment about the bet with Charlie*

I don't really think Harry would bet on something like that though. He can be insensitive, but I don't think he'd bet on his two best friends' happiness.

I actually did laugh out loud at the five fingers pointing at Harry. Oooh, he's in trouble now.

Oh gosh, no using magic for months. That would be difficult for somebody who's been used to using magic for years. I guess he had to manage like that for his first 17 years, but it would be hard to go back to it after years of using it pretty much constantly.

And yikes, those instructions would be hard to remember, especially since magic would be so instinctive to them. It would be like having to pay attention to how close somebody is to you before you use your mobile phone or put a meal in the microwave or something.

Think it should be "bear in mind" not "bare in mind".

And yikes, he's blind. This just got extremely interesting. Not that it wasn't interesting already, but you know, this adds rather another dimension.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for such a lovely, detailed review! I am so very sorry it's taken me this long to reply. Real life has been a beast this last week or so.

Now, to the comments.

I haven't read a huge amount of other fics that cover the period I'm writing about, but one thing I noticed from the ones I have is that no one seems to remember Hermione's parents! Which makes me sad. Or if they do, it's just a zip off to Australia to bring them back and everyone's home for tea. That's not the way I work. I love to put my characters through events and trials to see how they respond, but I've never bought into the "quick fix" approach to resolving things. So it makes me very happy that you are enjoying the time it's taking for them to find her parents.

I also really didn't want to send Hermione off alone. I struggled, deciding if Ron would leave Fred at such a time, but in the end, I knew he would go with Hermione. She's as alone as Harry is right now and needed his support.

I also really loved that part about Charlie, Ron, and George. Glad it made you smile.

This could just be my personal beliefs and upbringing leaking into the fic, but I just don't see Ron and Hermione jumping into a physical relationship at the first chance. The books were completely free of that, so I see no reason not to continue that way until they are ready for the next step in their relationship. Not ALL teenagers jump into bed after only a few weeks. LOL.

I love Ron's awkwardness. It's just so...Ron.

Yup, tricky is a good word to describe their search. The Ministry have helped as much as they can, but even the best of governments are still tied down with red-tape. And Hermione did a brilliant job with the spell. So, this could take a while...

I have never seen Ron as particularly insensitive, just a typical teenage boy. They are really good at missing the obvious or putting their feet in their mouths. I work with them everyday, so I get to see it first hand. And I feel like Ron did just as much for the wizarding world as Harry and Hermione did. So he shouldn't feel inferior, but being at the end of a large family probably contributes to that as you suggest.

I was a little unaware of just how many people have the same names in the world when I wrote this. Since then, I've seen something about how just in NYC alone there are usually 20 or 30 people with the same name. Had I known that at the time, I would have increased the numbers a lot. Yeah, guessing gets you in trouble. Hehehehe

Airport records. Never even thought of that. LOL.

And glad you liked the joke between Charlie. And I didn't mean to imply that Harry would be insensitive about their relationship. I just...well, it goes back to that teenage boy thing again. Sometimes, boys are just boys.

Now, on to Fred.

Yes, no magic for two months, and limited magic after that. Gonna be rough, but if anyone can do it and with a smile, it's probably Fred. And his family will rally around him.

Actually, this was in some ways a thing I threw in because I'd always wanted to see it. I wondered how the Weasleys, who practically ooze magic, could cope without it for a while. I figured for a good enough reason, they'd figure it out.

Thanks for the typo catch. I really do need to sit down and take the time to put in all the edits I've been collecting in red for this fic. I'm kind of holding off until I have a new chapter to put up with them.

And yes, you've reached the zinger of the chapter. I figured I could get away with bringing him back from the dead, but I couldn't let him walk away completely unscathed. So, yes, Fred is blind. Glad that makes you more interested instead of screaming at me with rage. LOL.

Thanks again for reading! I love your reviews!





 Report Review

Review #21, by Illuminate The Wages of War

10th September 2013:
Hi!

This third chapter was probably the best yet! I really liked that we got an update on Fred's condition, and that he's up to writing messages and even hand gestures xD He's almost back to his old self. I hope he recovers and doesn't have any relapses!

Your characterisations are all really good! Harry's especially. The thought of all the funerals must be really daunting and horrible for him to go through.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Oooh, thank you! Now I'm really smiling.

Fred's in pretty bad shape, isn't he, but he's still Fred - irreverent as always. Glad you liked seeing him, even with him being so hurt.

Aw, thank you so much! I did try really hard to get Harry right in this story, along with all the others. And yes, all those funerals would be very depressing, wouldn't they. :( Poor boy.

Thanks again! Your comments are so much fun.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Illuminate A Little Wounded

9th September 2013:
Hi! I'm back!

The first half of this chapter was super exciting! Fred's still alive, yay! xD I loved the line starting with "In the absolute chaos that followed" because it neatly illustrates exactly how the characters would be feeling in that moment. I would personally like to see a little more of what happened afterwards, but for all I know that is explored more later :)

The second half of the chapter was very interesting. I think staying to help clear up the castle would be exactly what Harry would do. I think your characterisations of him and McGonagall in that scene were great. Again I would like a little detail of what had happened and what Ron and Hermione were doing while Harry was doing that. Basically just more! xD

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Cool! Welcome back and thanks for coming again! This surprise review made me smile.

Glad you are okay with Fred living. I really didn't want to write a story where he was dead. I just couldn't handle it; so I fixed it. But that means I broke canon, so I was afraid people would be mad at me.

As for the second half, I just felt like I needed to give Harry a little time to himself to process what had just happened. So it felt right to me.

As for your suggestions, thank you so very much. I have a tendency to write too many scenes that are two long, so for this fic, I was purposefully trying to use less. I wanted to see if I could convey the same feelings and tell the story without getting stuck showing every little moment. Not sure how it's working, but it's been good for my writing, however.

Thanks so much for going on with this story! Means a lot.


 Report Review

Review #23, by MargaretLane The Importance of Communication

7th September 2013:
I like the mention of Ginny's frostiness and Harry trying to work out how to explain things to her. I'm guessing we're going to get an update on how things are going in their relationship soon.

*laughs* I was just reading somewhere recently that the English are more likely to say "er" or "erm" than "em". Just noticed Harry using "erm" here.

And I really love the way Ginny calls Harry out on how the trio treat her as if she's at least four or five years younger than them some of the time, instead of being almost as close in age to Harry as he is to Hermione. He wouldn't have liked it if she'd insisted HE was too young to get involved a year earlier because he was under 17.

*laughs at "were you dropped on your head as a child?*

And that's a good point. It sounds like something that could well have happened with the Dursleys.

Author's Response: Ginny and Harry's relationship will very much be a part of this story. I have every intention of letting them get together, however, I don't believe they have to rush it. :)

Hey, I did something right without knowing it! Cool.

They DO treat her like a little girl sometimes, don't they. And she's right in their age group. It does bug me. It's okay for Harry to risk life and limb at 14, but Ginny must stay safe at 16? Harry has a lot to learn, doesn't he...

Hehehehe. Glad you like the crazy humor.

Again, thanks so much for a great review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by MargaretLane Coming Home

7th September 2013:
For some reason your mention of all the funerals reminded me of the executions after 1916. There were only 16 of them, which isn't much compared with fifty deaths (although many more people died in the battle itself), but they happened a couple at a time which created a lot of sympathy for the rebels.

You quoted Agatha Christie. *grins* I've been an Agatha Christie fan since I was about 7 or 8.

Gosh, that part about her lost boy coming home brought tears to my eyes. I think I mentioned to you in another review that it isn't deaths that usually make me cry. Somebody coming home when they were feared lost (or in Harry's case, nearly lost) is far more likely to do it. I think this is a cultural thing, related to our centuries of emigration.

Yeah, I was thinking the same as Molly Weasley. There was no way Fred would back away from a fight.

Love this chapter. It made me cry.

You portray Molly's feelings so well and you really bring the horror of the war to life.

Author's Response: I understand the need for a happy ending of Deathly Hallows, really I do. But I have always felt it ended way too abruptly. Voldy's gone, battle's over, book's done. I'll just skip ahead 19 years and that can count as a happy ending. That didn't work for me. I need more closure than that. I really, really wanted a few chapters more. The Weasleys going back to the burrow, the people who died having their sacrifice recognized somehow, a quiet moment for Harry to sit and watch a sunset or something. So, I guess that's why I put the funerals in. I don't want the people who died to get overshadowed by the fact that in this fic, Fred didn't.

Sorry for the tears, but hearing about them is really a compliment. Poor Harry. He just really needed a mother and a home to come back to. It felt so good to finally give that to him.

I'm not sure Fred has ever backed away from anything, has he?

Love this review! It made me smile! Thanks so much for reading and your amazing reviews that keep popping up.


 Report Review

Review #25, by MargaretLane The Wages of War

2nd September 2013:
Oh gosh, I hadn't even considered the round of funerals. Must have been awful.

And I love how you describe Harry's feelings after Remus and Tonks' funerals. Really emotive.

*laughs at Fred looking worse than when he was dead* I guess that line isn't meant to be funny, but it's just sort of the thought of somebody having been dead. And the idea of looking WORSE than when dead.

One thing, to the best of my knowledge, a "cot" means the same thing in England as it does here - a baby's bed with high sides. I'm guessing you mean a camp bed or something like that.

Must have been hard for Ron - wanting to be with Hermione when she goes to find her parents, but not wanting to leave while Fred is still in danger either.

Oh, Harry says he doesn't want the Weasleys to "loose everything in the process". Should be "lose".

Author's Response: Yeah, unless they had one large ceremony for the fallen, but that would have STILL been awful. And I just always imagined poor Harry would have felt like he needed to go to as many as possible.

Fred dying broke my heart the most, but Remus and Tonks were next in line. I really wish JKR would have let at least one of them live, so Harry's fate wasn't repeated in poor Teddy.

That's okay, you can laugh. Fred would probably appreciate the humor in the situation as well.

Ah yes, the cot. Someone else called me on that a while ago. This whole story actually needs a little bit of a edit. Not for content, but just to fix some mistakes I've found. There are words all over in my original document that are highlighted in red. But I'm trying to wait until I have a new chapter to put up before I do the editing as well. I don't want to jump my story to the recently updated list without a real update for people to find.

I had a hard time deciding to let Ron go with Hermione, but I just feel like there are lots of Weasleys to support Fred, but Hermione is so alone - as alone as Harry now her parents don't know her. She needed Ron.

Oops, another typo! Not sure I have that one marked. Better check.

Thanks again! So glad you are liking the story. Hope to see you back soon.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>