Reading Reviews for Endgame
  
54 Reviews Found

Review #1, by theblacksisters Check

19th November 2013:
Well written. It nearly made me cry, and I am by no means a Ron fan.

 Report Review

Review #2, by deluminator Check

25th July 2012:
Do you want to share that chocolate ice-cream? This one-shot is so very sad.

I don't want to say that I "enjoyed" reading this as it is such a grim tale but it is an engaging read and it is so incredibly well written. I loved the addition of the chess terms throughout.

Your characterisation of Ron is brilliant. All his thoughts are just the sort of bleak things I imagine adolescent Ron would have. And I do like the way you included his insecurities in a realistic and relatable way as opposed to the simple-minded and trivial Ronald Weasley I oft come across in fics.

Really well done!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Puygme puff gal  Check

12th January 2012:
Omg loved it! So god but sad i love ron!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by FantaFae Check

22nd December 2011:
My god.

Straight 10.

That was spectacularly written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Really unpleasant to write, but I always love being able to explore Ron's character and portray him fairly (which I feel is not done often in fanfiction).

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ace Check

20th December 2011:
This so beautiful but sad. I love it

 Report Review

Review #6, by lily_evans_ginny_weasley Check

8th December 2011:
Oh that is sosososososososo sad. It made me love Ron more than I already did, and also made me feel so sorry for him. This was exceptionally well-written, and horrendously sad! I did love it, though.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ron_The_King Check

31st July 2011:
Ah. JKR needs to read this

Author's Response: Well, thank you! :-)

 Report Review

Review #8, by RedJulyet Check

24th June 2011:
You know, for a death that's supposed to be so anti-climactic, this fic was rather dramatic. (That's a good thing).

Most of what you said wasn't true/canon (Ron is not a nobody!!), but that worked in its own melodramatic way. It really felt like Ron's own angsty, angry, teenage, and redeemably humble thoughts. It was one-sided in that sense--like we didn't hear much about Hermione/Harry's thoughts-- but that's why I loved this! You didn't paint a scene, you painted a character.

Ron's lying in his bed, people are crying over him. This could have easily been boring or cliche. Obviously it was the opposite. Great job!! :D

Author's Response: I totally agree, he is not a nobody. He is one of my favorite fictional characters of all time. But I think this is more or less how Ron views himself, which is very sad, but frankly, is part of what makes him so endearing.

You're absolutely right, I was painting a character here. It was a difficult challenge, because I had to write about someone who knows he's going to die in 24 hours, but I didn't want to go the route of having him grieve and commiserate with his family and say his goodbyes - I liked this creepy idea of him not being able to do anything, literally, and I was then worried that it would just be boring, but at that point I said, ok, time to delve into Ron's head and let his emotions come out.

I'm so glad you liked it. :-)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ember Nickel Check

19th June 2011:
Wow. Really nice job using the section titles in order to break the pattern at the end.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Chaos Walking. Check

22nd February 2011:
I am speechless.

Honestly there is no way i could even begin to tell you how absoloutley amazing this peice is.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #11, by magiccarpet Check

10th January 2011:
This is such a heartbreaking and beautifully-written story. I read it when it first came out and, rereading it, I remember why I haven't read it since then: It's too damn heartbreaking.

Like you, Ron is my favorite character. One of the reasons I've always been drawn to him is because even though he is insecure and jealous and rash, he does great things anyway, often without understanding the significance of his actions. He's the glue that holds the trio together; they fall apart without him. So he is important, but he just can't see how important he is to so many people. That's what's so tragic.

My favorite part (such a strange phrase to utter when talking about this) is when Ron remembers the exact day that Hermione started wearing perfume. It was a perfect recollection; I've no doubt that canon Ron would have noted the exact same thing.

PS: You write Ron and Hermione's relationship so realistically and wonderfully that I just have to make a plea for you to write more about the two of them, but in happier circumstances!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Reveille Check

20th November 2010:
This was beautiful and wonderful and also painful to read. It made me cry :'(
You wrote Ron perfectly, and his thoughts were just heartbreaking. I love how you tied in the chesspieces, and it was generally just mindblowingly brilliant.

yes, this more a giant squee than a review, but I can't help it -it was just that amazing. XD

 Report Review

Review #13, by spencefa Check

17th August 2010:
that was quite good, intentionally sad, very well written, very, very sad.realistic too, he always felt sorry for himself.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Star Check

16th August 2010:
That was actually the most beautiful story I have ever read; it gave me shivers and made me cry.
Amazing.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Abhorsen Check

20th June 2010:
Review Challenge #1:

Wow. That was. Wow. I loved how you drew the link between Ron's dexterity at chess and made the entire story a metaphor. I disagree with Ron's self-assessment, though. Seems to me that he's a really great guy.

I liked how he knew the scent of Hermione's perfume and how she held onto his hand forever.

Great job. 9/10

 Report Review

Review #16, by Quazie89 Check

29th May 2010:
Aw, poor Ron! He's one of my favorite characters, too, and I hated to see him die, but this was a good story. I enjoyed it very much.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Singularity Check

16th May 2010:
I don't think I can add anything that hasn't already been said. This was fantastic in a really horrible and sad way. I love Ron and am not sure if I could have forgiven Jo if this really happened in the books. Your characterization of Ron was perfect. Harry and Hermione were very true to character as well. I definitely had some tears welling up at the end. Absolutely brilliant.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Amberfire Check

5th April 2010:
bloody hell.
*stares at RonsGirlFriday*
How in the world did you think of this?
Merlin...

Wow that was... just... beyond words. The simplicity of the last line:
'But mainly, Ronald Weasley is sorry for being such a waste of space.'
folds the entire story up in such a meaningful way. God, how, oh how did you manage to put so many emotions into this?

The significance of how he dies is truly brilliant too; you defined Ron, just by his death.
And the way it was split up into sections - 'attack', 'pin', 'kingside', 'en prise', 'end game', and 'checkmate', made each part of the story, and the progression of the poison, stand out. The 'Checkmate' at the end gave me shivers; just so final.

and his relisations at the end about Harry and Hermione - 'Not just sorry that he allowed himself to be consumed with jealousy towards the only person who ever treated him like he was fine the way he was. Not just sorry that he was a right prat to the only girl who ever meant a damn thing to him.' That, that was perfect, that was Ron. Well done.
Amberfire

 Report Review

Review #19, by peppersweet Check

20th March 2010:
Woah.
That was...moving. Utterly, completely moving.
'He is the ninth pawn in a rank meant for eight. He is the third knight when there is only room for two' - perhaps one of the most arresting things I've read in a while. This is a brilliant concept, and you've written it so well. I think I've got a tear or two in my eye :')

 Report Review

Review #20, by A. Check

22nd February 2010:
Incredibly depressing. But so brilliantly written. A very, very original piece of fiction which is ALWAYS a pleasant surprise for me- and your careful choice of words are perfect.
In my opinion, Ronald Weasley is hardly a waste of space- far from it, but it's an emotion that has always been prominant in his character, and you captured his insecurities perfectly.

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review! I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed it so much, aside from the obvious depressing nature of it. XD

 Report Review

Review #21, by Reyes91 Check

29th January 2010:
Okay, I'm going to start off by saying I do not like Ron. He's probably my least favorite character in the series, so I tend to avoid stories where he's the main character. But, I am so happy that I decided to read this one.

Every word you wrote was perfect. I mean, I could practically feel everyone's emotions. Especially Ron's. The way he felt so worthless was just...sad. I actually felt bad for him. I think the worst (yet best) part had to be when he just started accepting the fact that he thought he was a waste of space. That's a terrible thing for anyone to accept, especially when they're dying.

All in all, wonderful story. The use of the chess symbolisms were perfect. I loved it.

-Reyes91

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It's a true compliment when someone who dislikes Ron ends up enjoying a fic I've written about him. I couldn't ask for anything more, really. I'm glad the emotions came through to you as a reader.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #22, by whisky Check

19th January 2010:
HATE THIS ITS HORRIBLE HE IS MY FAVORITE PERSON IN THE WHOLE BOOK AND I LOVE HIM AND HIS PERSONALITY AND THE WHOLE WORLD JK ROWLINGA HAD CREATED WOULD BE NOTHING WITHOUT HIM!

Author's Response: I love him too - sorry you didn't enjoy this very much. I didn't enjoy killing him off - I like him very much alive. :-)

 Report Review

Review #23, by holunder Check

19th January 2010:
Whoa, this is... I can't say amazing because it's so horrible to read this, but it's a amazing in a veeery terrible and sad way, if you know what I mean^^

I nearly cried.*sob*

Love, holunder

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Sorry to have made you so sad though!

 Report Review

Review #24, by The Empress Check

9th January 2010:
OH MY GOD MELANIE! Scoot over and share some of the ice cream, I need comfort food now. This is HORRID.

But wonderful.

Seriously wonderful. *sniffle* I'm crying just now, this was absolutely heart breaking. I'm really, really, really glad JKR wrote it the other way. But this is just - well - I'm speechless really. You're writing is, as always superb.

I love how you characterized Ron. Right there at the end, defining himself as a waste of space, insignificant and not someone to be proud of. It's so terribly self-pitying that it just is him. Even as he dies, never realizing what he means to his friends, not thinking the best of himself but always the worst.

The way you broke it up with the chess terms is just cool. It really gives it a sense of structure. Goes perfect with Ron's character. And each section flowed so wonderfully into the next.

You were wondering if it was compelling and YES it is. The tone is almost laid back, but so heart breaking. It just fits with who Ron is, you write him so well, even when you kill him :(
I kind of want him to protest more, to cry out against what's happening. But of course it makes sense that physically, due to the poison, he can't. And when he cries, as Hermione is flung out across him in despair (lovely imagery at that part, by the way) all the emotion just spills out with them, to the reader anyway. And I think it's just so wonderful.

I'm babbling.

I LOVE IT

There, that about sums it up. :D
*huggles*
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review, Shiloh!

He really is terribly self-pitying, isn't he? I don't know why that makes me like him so much, but it does. He's so HUMAN, and that's why I love him. He needs to be huggled and made to feel better...preferably by Hermione, as they are meant for each other. XD

I think I know what you mean about wanting him to protest more. Had he been able to speak, there would have been a lot of rage and profanity, for sure. :-P But in general, I've found that writing Ron's emotions requires me to walk a really fine line. He is sensitive and hotheaded, but also very closed off. I can't see him being weepy-emotional or lamenting his impending death - if anything, he'd express it through anger, I think. Anyway, the whole point of all of that is that Ron is surprisingly difficult to write sometimes. Everyone thinks he's so simply, but he's really the opposite!!

That R/Hr bit in this piece just killed me to write. I can't even stand re-reading it; it makes me so sad.

Thank you again for the review! ILY!

xoxo
Melanie


 Report Review

Review #25, by WitnesstoitAll Check

5th January 2010:
Melanie,

First off, in line with your author's note, I think I'll also curl up in a fetal position and cry a bit.

Okay. Better now.

So about that Review...
When I read angsty peices, they are usually angst/romance stories. I was completely unprepared for the completely appropriate darkness that this story held. So was it effectual? Yes. Was it moving? Yes. I loved the tone of this story because, while it was dark and forboding, it was told in a mannerism that Ron would use if he was telling it. The contrast between those two made for an over all chilling feel to the entire story.

Can I take a moment to tell you that I hate you for that Hermione scene? It was so sad. It kept me wishing that Ron could move for a brief moment and squeeze her hand back. And then at the end when Ron is actually dy... dyi... oh I can't say that word and Ron's name in the same sentance, but you get what I mean. So at the end when Ron is d*_i#g and he wishes that he could smell vanilla and ivy, all the emotions I felt in the Hermion scene came bubbling back.

The ending was a depressing but accurate look into Ron's character. Which I think you captured brilliantly. I'm a massive Ronald fan and am very fussy about his characterization.

Since the ending was so chess-y (which suited the ending quite nicely) I think that impact of the metaphor could have been bumped up a bit through out the whole peice if you had included something small in each section. I loved the section headings...

All in all this was a wonderfully/horribly sad fic. I enjoyed reading it immensely, although I am glad you aren't JKR and that Ronald really did survive the poisoning. :) lol.

Melissa

Author's Response: Wow, Melissa - thank you for the massive review! It means a lot to me because I'm still really insecure about my writing when it comes to angst and emotions and dark stuff - so every review is helpful!

I don't even know how to respond properly - I'm just so flattered by your comments. And I hate myself for the Hermione scene, too - but it had to be done, because she lurves him, you see. -nods seriously-

I love that you're fussy about Ron's characterization. Too many fanfic writers massacre him and slander his character and treat him unfairly. I want to restore his dignity. I think he's a lovely character, and I always want to do him justice.

I appreciate the comments about the chess metaphor, and I'm glad you liked it and wanted to see more of it. Perhaps I can figure out a way to enhance that a bit, and go back and revise this one-shot at some point.

I'm glad he survived, too - otherwise I might not have continued reading! I would have been emotionally crippled had he really died.

Thanks so much, Melissa! I appreciate it!

Melanie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>