314 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Parvati_Khatri Hagrid Meets August

7th June 2012:
HAHAHA! I loved that last paragraph!!! It was superb!
Poor Remus, he really does think its a innocent harmless activity. I love all of your stories, please continue righting, these fanfics are my life! (No, literally!) 10/10

 Report Review

Review #2, by the_other_potter Weasel, Kneazle and Butterfly

17th April 2011:
no0oo0oo0oo0oo its sad how the story ended im a big fan of kerri and remus. but on the positive side you are my favorite writer, i love reading everything you've written. speaking of which on to the next :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Bella_Portia Weasel, Kneazle and Butterfly

27th August 2010:
This was an outstanding chapter. The final scene with Remus -- and I'm including the whole long scene, from the artificial cave to the bedroom -- was crafted into a perfect transition in their relationship. We knew it was coming, of course. But I just thought you worked it out beautifully, and touchingly, and in a truly inventive meshing of your story with the canon story.

I wondered about the moment when Mme. Pomfrey said she was going to see Severus. I had visions of his barely surviving the encounter -- I imagined Mme. Pomfrey letting him have it. (Perhaps that's why he was so subdued when Kerri saw him.)

The moment with the butterfly and the AK spell was just perfect.

Author's Response: Thanks.

Some people thought this chapter was a bit boring after the last one because they felt that I glossed over the canon events. I did that on purpose because everyone has read the books and I felt it would be redundant. Also, I don't like to re-stage canon scenes (like where Harry tries to convince Remus to stay) because of the rules about quoting. So I focused on Kerri and Remus and went for emotion rather than action.

Yes, maybe Madam Pomfrey has had Snape cornered somewhere, shaking her finger at him.

And finally Kerri can do the spell. Which will no doubt come in handy in the years to come.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Bella_Portia Hippogriff, Centaur and Werewolf

25th August 2010:
Your description of Hagrid was so enormously touching, was he prepared for Buckbeak's nearing execution. The way you handled his inability to process, the way things had to be repeated to him, really underscored his state of mind.

The part about the two dogs was lovely and absolutely true.

I could just imagine the chagrin of the Three when they realized that Hagrid had a visitor who'd witnessed them under the Invisibility Cloak. Nice, the way you (like JKR in the book) noted, but underplayed, the finding of Scabbers.

You could feel poor Kerri's stress while all this was going on.

Good point about Fudge. What, indeed, was he doing there with all he had on his plate? I think you are the first one to make this point.

The scene with Kerri asking Hagrid to walk her down the aisle was very touching (apparently, Kerri had relaxed a bit by then).

The scene with August was actually pretty shocking. And I knew it was coming. I even knew what happened to Buckbeak.

The scene that follows -- with Dumbledore and Snape -- is an exciting jolt, a complete change of pace, and rather invigorating. (So much fun to see Kerri and Severus at it again!)

The section with the centaurs was outstanding. Athena is a wonderful character -- I think she rules the centaurs, except she makes sure the males donít know it. And Kerri finally came through with the AK spell.

This was a great chapter, with lots of substance.

I'm so sorry it took me so long to get this up.

Author's Response: Where in the heck have you been? I was getting ready to send an email. Victoria told me about the accident. Is it going to prevent you from going to Universal next month?

By the way, I'm on Facebook if you're interested. I don't use it much but I have some pictures and things and since elderlies is gone now, at least we can keep in touch. I'm in there among Victoria's friends, which would probably be the easiest way for you to find me. You know what my real name is, right?

You read a part of this chapter once before I think when I previewed it at elderlies. It's one of my favorites because of the scene in the forest. It was my favorite of all my pre-written scenes.

Hagrid's part was easy for me to do because at the time, I thought one of my cats was dying. I wasn't really planning to go into detail with that part until my cat got sick and then it just came naturally. Also, the story about the two dogs was taken from reality. They belonged to my next door neighbors.

Kerri's an adult so I guess she would be more alert to taxpayer money being wasted by the Minister of Magic attending a hippogriff beheading. He couldn't catch Sirius so I guess he wanted to show that he had Buckbeak in hand...sort of. Kind of. Almost?

This will be Snape and Kerri's last major fight for a while. Hopefully the last major one ever. Right now in year 4 they're just sort of ignoring each other although they both already seem to share the same opinion about Moody. (Either one)



 Report Review

Review #5, by ishu161 Weasel, Kneazle and Butterfly

30th July 2010:
I've been late this time...but oh well,
Story-wise, this last chapter was as well as to be expected. We knew remus was gonna bail, knew Kerri was going to be supremely angry at him, almost knew everything. So no point in me repeating all that.

But i feel as if this chapter was rushed. For a last chapter, the end of a year at Hogwarts, when so many big mysteries are revealed, the end of Kerri and Remus relationship, this chapter was way to short, and it didn't have that 'shock value' which I always imagined will hit Kerri when all things are finally revealed in the end (ending of the relationship came after that).
But even assuming that she was too tired and/or brokenhearted, her emotions, feelings were 'explained' quickly. I would expect her to have some of a reaction after all that happened. Although killing the butterfly was simply awesome :D
Overall, this story has far too many things going on, and since your update speed is fantastic, this hardly affects the overall story-line.
so overall,
5/10 - chapter,
9/10 - story
awesome stuff. Waiting for the next one :D
Manish

Author's Response: Sorry it's taken me a while to respond. My grandfather is in the hospital so things are crazy now.

Maybe the rushed feeling comes from the way I glossed over the canon events. I felt that we all knew the story so there was no point in rehashing it, although maybe if I'd done it in more detail it would have been fun to see Kerri's reaction. I was concentrating more on the demise of her relationship and the emotional turmoil of that.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Margravine Weasel, Kneazle and Butterfly

23rd July 2010:
Oh that was a truly wonderful end. I will admit I've felt this story has been lagging a bit - it's really very long, and because you write about ordinary life (perfectly) my attention was wandering, but in the last few chapters you really have picked up the pace magnificently. Your characterisation is so nuanced and vivid and this chapter was heartbreaking, but it all felt very natural. nothing forced, all appropriate to the past you've built up, and the avadra kedavra was chilling. This series deserved the AU Dobby ten times over!

As always, the truly brilliant part of this story is what happens in the 'behind the scenes' of the books, and you've got tortured, believable, moral, stupid (??) Remus down pat. I'm looking forward to reading more!

Author's Response: The action scene from the last chapter was my favorite of my prewritten scenes, written two or three years ago actually. I've had a lot of time to play with it and clean it up. The actual final chapter wasn't planned in detail until fairly recently. The idea to have Kerri and Snape's final, quiet little encounter at the end was an even more recent idea. Both chapters have been getting good reviews which is a good thing, except now I'll have to figure out how to top them with next year's ending. (Which I do have one small pre-written scene completed for already).

Glad you liked the story. Looking forward to seeing you back for the next one. Chapter one is complete and I have a partial draft of chapter two. I'm going to use this two week vacation that the staff has gone on as a chance to get ahead.


 Report Review

Review #7, by CoCo Weasel, Kneazle and Butterfly

22nd July 2010:
Another great chapter. Its upsetting that the yr is ending on such a sour note b/w Kerri and Remus. I cant wait for yr 4!

Author's Response: Thanks.

Well, they can't all be completely happy endings. Since I plan to write one story for each of the books, I have room to take my time and develop things slowly. (They do get married in the summer between years 5 and 6 though).


 Report Review

Review #8, by CoCo Hippogriff, Centaur and Werewolf

22nd July 2010:
What an amazing chapter! Very intense, and very dramatic. I absolutely loved it. I was a bit worried how you would be able to fit Kerri into the action in yr 3, but you Just nailed it! :]

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm especially fond of this chapter. I wrote the action bits years in advance and it's my favorite of all my pre-written chapters. I guess now I'm under pressure to produce something better.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Orabella Weasel, Kneazle and Butterfly

20th July 2010:
ahh!!! my review didnt show up :( i posted it really really late last night haha probably morning for you i think it was about 2 here. anyways i will just repeat myself :D

okay so i think this was the best ending. it was satisfying in every way and it just feels complete. i mean i am not happy with remus leaving but i understand it. i feel sympathy for severus because i think besides the revenge thing he truly thought he was helping kerri so when she did the killing curse i think it upset him. i also feel empathy for kerri of course but these are things i am supposed to feel and make this story and the way you write it amazing. it was PERFECT.

I am super excited, as always for the next book and cant beleive it has been three years. :) keep being the incredible author that you are and keep perservering through this story and life :D haha sorry a little dramatic but i love this story and i hope your life is turning out as well as these books are.



Author's Response: I hate it when reviews do that. It happens a lot. One of my readers, Morgana67 loses reviews on a regular basis. One time it was just week after week after week that they vanished. It's frustrating when reviews are long.

Remus's reaction is pretty typical of him and just couldn't be helped. Snape definitely believes he's doing the right thing -- and so does Kerri's kneazle. Isis checked him over and decided he was okay, proving that he is trustworthy. He means well, he thinks he's protecting Kerri, she just doesn't like the methods he uses.

I can't believe it's been three years either. A few months ago I realized I needed to start planning year 4 and started to panic a bit because I didn't think I was ready. It sneaked up on me a bit. It's always kind of scary finishing an installment, maybe because I have to worry about whether or not the next one will measure up, but it's also very satisfying too to be able to go into the "edit story" page and click on the "Completed" box.


 Report Review

Review #10, by morgana67 Weasel, Kneazle and Butterfly

20th July 2010:
Well, this was a fantastic last chapter. You know me and my predilection for bitter-sweet endings. lol

You have built up a lot of anticipation for the new installment of this series.

You are extremely skillful when it comes to giving information to the reader without having to involve the main players (in this case the trio). Once again, you have managed to talk about a completely trio centric scene without having to write 'my boyfriend' at all. lol

Remus is totally in character here, the shame, the fear, the embarrassment, everything and so is Kerri. I wouldn't be too pleased if I were in her shoes especially after taking for granted that the wedding would happen and telling everyone. The sadness that they both felt is so palpable. I almost cried when Remus left and she didn't go to say goodbye.

Snape's shock at the fact that Kerri managed the killing curse successfully was masterfully done.

Great way to end year three!

Author's Response: Yes, but unlike you, I don't have a thing for murdering off my favorite characters either. (Not that I plan on all of my original characters surviving though either).

This chapter ended with a cliffhanger. The first chapter of the next story picks up a couple of months later but not much has really changed. Kerri is still upset and depressed and not talking to Remus. She won't until after the mess at the Quidditch World Cup so at least some good comes out of that.

I left your boyfriend out because I couldn't insert her directly into the canon events. You can only quote so many lines, after all. I settled for a quick paraphrase from Remus's point of view. Your boyfriend will be in the sequel though. Kerri will go to the World Cup with him. She can't possibly avoid him then.

Kerri does have reason to be upset with Remus although she did somewhat bring it down on herself. Remus constantly reminded her throughout the year that they were only going to discuss getting married. She got over excited and started making too many concrete plans. She still doesn't realize it either as she's too busy pouting. Maybe I should work on that.I should send her to visit Sophia who can probably set her straight. Sort of. Maybe. We can hope.









 Report Review

Review #11, by Drummergirlred Weasel, Kneazle and Butterfly

19th July 2010:
I was looking forward to this chapter all weekend. I couldn't wait for Monday lunch to read the last chapter! I was not disappointed in the slightest!
Since I know the whole Remus thing will heal in time my favorite part was the very end. Loved Kerri killing the butterfly, rather poetic justice in same ways.

"Dumbledore will never suspect me and I will get away with it."

I was not sure to laugh or be scared with this line. I think I laughed evilly. I can just picture Snape rather unsure of what to do at Kerri's actions. I am excited to see how brother and sister regain their relationship. I'm hoping Kerri will be sympathetic to the Dark Mark returning.

Two weeks!! EAK! What will I do with my Monday lunches? Maybe re-read the old stories! Awesome job!

Author's Response: Originally the butterfly was a worm and then I decided that I liked the image of it's wings fading and changed.

Kerri thinks Dumbledore won't suspect her because she's never been the murderous type before. Maybe she's right but probably not. In this case it doesn't matter though because she won't be killing Snape. Still, it's fun to have him know what her abilities now are.

Yes, two weeks. I'm looking at them as giving me time to get a bit ahead. I finished the draft of the first chapter tonight and started the second.


 Report Review

Review #12, by ShadowChanger Weasel, Kneazle and Butterfly

19th July 2010:
What an ending!

I can sort of see why Remus has decided to leave Kerri, but I still don't entirely agree with him. And, who knows what can happen next year? Obviously, since title says so, they do end up together, and have kids, but I'm quite desperate to find out how.

I feel that Snape and Kerri's relationship will soon be on the mend. Hopefully. And, I'm excited about looking into Kerri's view of the World Cup, the Triwizard Tournament, and the Yule Ball.

Also, the ending was well constructed, as was the entire story. Congrats on a great fic, and I can't wait until Year 4!

~ShadowChanger

Author's Response: Yes, the title completely gives away the fact that they will get married. And the prolouge of the first story gives away the fact that they'll have children. I know when their wedding will be (the summer between years 5 and 6) and when their first child will be born too (the night that Dumbledore dies). I've written a partial wedding scene and a childbirth scene so those parts are already fairly detailed. They're coming. Eventually.

Kerri and Snape's friendship will return eventually too. Actually, her relationship with him will probably be fully mended faster than her relationship with Remus will. She'll be angry when she sees "Moody" harassing Snape next year and that will be the start of the reconciliation between them.

Lots of plans in place --- working on chapter one now. Wish I could post it next week but I'm still happy to have a little wiggle room again.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jen Weasel, Kneazle and Butterfly

19th July 2010:
Yours is the only story I read. I love it, thank you for continuing it.

Author's Response: Thanks. Glad you're enjoying it. I guess I'll see you in two weeks when hpff opens the queue again.

 Report Review

Review #14, by crazy4fred2 Weasel, Kneazle and Butterfly

19th July 2010:
No! Remus! :( why does he have to be such a noble guy. I will be deprived from this story for two weeks and that makes me sad
Sad but I am excited for the next installment

Author's Response: What was it Ryann said about Remus once ? Something like, "He's very honorable but that's the only bad thing I know about him." Maybe now Kerri can appreciate that statement. To be fair, he never did say for sure that he was ready to get married. He only said they'd discuss it at the end of the year. Kerri did get a little carried away with it.

Sorry about the two weeks...that's hpff's timing, not mine. It came at a convenient time though because I had a bad week last week and didn't have much time to work on the story.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Bella_Portia Tying Loose Ends

14th July 2010:
In your world, does Voldemort know that Snape is his son? Do any of his followers? No, I'm not asking you to tell me anything I'm not suppposed to know, yet. The reason I'm asking is -- I do so hope that you include a scene where ancestry-conscious Franklin, who treats Kerri like she's barely worth the time of day, finds out who she's related to. It would be so priceless.

I thought the "plotting" scene between Kerri and August was brilliant -- nicely written, cleverly thought out, very logical. I could just picture the timely entrance of Cedric. The following scene with Cedric was very funny. Hufflepuffs with ice cream -- sounds about right. I liked the line about Ravenclaws and complex math equations; figured that Cedric wouldn't be sure it was a joke.

I always enjoy the Kerri/Severus banter. I'm waiting for them to get back together, so to speak.

Great scene with Remus. The Rita Skeeter book about Gilderoy -- lovely touch.

Author's Response: Voldemort knows Snape is his. I've left it open as to whether or not his followers do in the event that I want to use that as part of the plot later. I'm not sure who or how many people will eventually know about Kerri, although several more people will by the end of year 4. (Harry and friends, the Weasleys). I'm not sure yet about the Death Eaters although probably some of them will. I'm not sure that Franklin will live that long though as I do have definite plans for his demise. (Year 5)

Ravenclaws probably don't joke much so maybe Cedric is to be forgiven for his confusion. Probably most of them are a lot like Percy who evidently thinks he's smart enough to be a Ravenclaw, but clearly wasn't. (Shame on me. That's not nice)

There are a couple of hugely ugly fights left for Snape and Kerri before the end of the story. It ends with her threatening him within an inch of his life.





 Report Review

Review #16, by ishu161 Hippogriff, Centaur and Werewolf

13th July 2010:
Hands down one of,if not the best chapter in this series. It had everything. Emotion,action,drama,suspense...You pulled it off brilliantly.

I was wondering how kerri was going to fit into the whole equation. I have to hand it to you for making it as canon-like as it could possibly have been with so many other factors involved.
The scenes in the forests were intense. Kerri managing to cast the klling curse was my personal favourite moment in the chapter(that makes me terrible). And putting centaurs into this whole mess only served to increase the intensity. I never really wondered about what Rems would've been doing in the forest the whole time, and him coming face to face with the centaurs is pretty cool.
Kerri is obviously a nervous mess right now, all of a sudden her plans to get married and start a family have been shot down the drain.
Another brilliant thing about this chapter was Snape. His anger and frustration (or RAGE) was very well shown. He got a well deserved arse-kicking here...its about time.

The next chapter will be even more interesting as Kerri finds out the details of what has happened the night before. Remus is going to quit. I don't think Kerri will too, don't know if you've mentioned it previously...The whole Sirius Black mess will come to light.
Again, brilliant chapter. 10/10
Manish
P.S. I'm glad you didn't include a preview this week. sometimes they tend to be more like spoilers. :)

Author's Response: Sorry it's taken me a while to answer. My car was broken into and I've been dealing with that.

This chapter literally had years of planning. I wrote the forest scene years ago. It started out small and then I expanded it and cleaned it up, playing with it until it became my favorite of the pre-written chapters I've saved up. I've just been dying to post it for a long time.

This week's chapter was based on action, next week's will be based on emotion. Kerri doesn't realize yet that her wedding plans have gone down the drain, but she will in the next one. And she gets to use the killing curse again (not on Remus. She won't be quite that mad at him).

Kerri won't quit. She'll stay because she has to pay off her debt, if nothing else.


 Report Review

Review #17, by morgana67 Hippogriff, Centaur and Werewolf

13th July 2010:
I was really wondering how you would explain the disappearance of Buckbeak given that the kids actually went back in time. I assume when this happens, the people who were there in the first instance, (i.e. when Buckbeak actually got executed) only remember the second time (the surprise at finding Buckbeak gone). Interesting point to explore. Your interpretation in terms of not remembering the execution although they were not the people who timetravelled actually makes the more sense. I assume this is what happened in canon or else the officials would have remembered and that would have been just too messy plotwise.

The scene in the forest is absolutely great, so action packed. You create the sense of tension and danger extremely well. I wonder what details will be revealed to Kerri in next chapter about what actually happened. I doubt the kids will say anything, or Dumbledore, although Dumbledore might 'off the record'. Also with Dumbledore not managing to clear Sirius' name, I figure that Snape's teasing won't end in a hurry either.

Can't wait for the final instalment!

Author's Response: I've been apologizing to everyone for taking so long to answer reviews but I can skip that with you because you already know what's been going on in my life.

I didn't want to get bogged down in the time travel stuff. If you think about it too long it just gets confusing. I suppose that the only thing they'd remember is the second one...technically that's the only scenario that actually happened. I think. Maybe.

Kerri ends up knowing that Sirius has Buckbeak and Remus tells her about Sirius being innocent. Next week's chapter is as emotion filled as this one was action packed so I didn't dwell on that part much. I was too focused on --- other things that I won't give away here, although you pretty much already know how the story is going to end.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Orabella Hippogriff, Centaur and Werewolf

13th July 2010:
AH! im so excited for the next chapter. this was amazing. i had been really curious about what happened ot remus in the forrest and im glad you did too and added a story into it as you do with all of your chapters. brilliant. i think this chapter was just amazing even though it somewhat is a filler. well maybe it isnt i just cant wait for teh next one. i was hoping this would be the last one because i wanted to know what happened so bad with remus and kerri and how she took in the whole story. keep up the fantastic work. cant wait for your next chapter and your next book :)

Author's Response: Sorry it's taken me a while to answer. My car was broken into so I've been dealing with that mess.

This chapter is my favorite in the entire series because it contains my favorite pre-written scene (the forest scene). I wrote it years ago and have been holding it all this time. I couldn't wait to post it and I'm glad that everyone seems to like it.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Bella_Portia Kerri's Decision

12th July 2010:
Nice scene at the Howards' store. What was particularly interesting (I thought) was the suggestion that Dolores Umbridge might be using Dementors to abuse the werewolves. Hm . . . doesn't Dolores have a thing for using Dementors as a tool, as is demonstrated a couple of novels down the line? Interesting bit of foreshadowing.

The scene between Kerri and Hagrid was a wonderful scene. It illuminated both of their characters, as well as their relationship. Hagrid's willingness to hold himself responsible for everything -- I thought you hit the nail on the head, as far as describing that self-deprecating aspect of his character. Also, the protective, absolute refusal to allow Kerri to put herself in harm's way showed how deeply he felt for her. Really nicely done.

Author's Response: Yes, Umbridge likes the dementors doesn't she? I think it would be fun to throw her to the dementors. That, or let Fenrir get hold of her and force her to live under her own anti-werewolf laws.

Hagrid is strongly contrasted with August here. August ignores his possibly pregnant girlfriend in favor of the animals. Hagrid is willing to sacrifice an animal in favor of protecting Kerri from possible arrest.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Bella_Portia August is a Weasel

12th July 2010:
I have a lot to catch up on. I can't believe this "volume" is almost over.

I absolutely loved this chapter. While I was waiting to find out if I passed a certain professional examination, I did volunteer work as a pregnancy counselor for a well-known group of women's clinics. I suppose most women find the subject engrossing, but I certainly do. I enjoyed reading about Tonk's predicament -- which I did not see coming -- and her discussion with Kerri. Your description of Tonks' emotions, and the dialogue you gave her, rang very true to life. I just thought the whole section was very well done.

Loved the Juno Women's Clinic. Was it named as an homage to Juno, the movie and the character? (As well as naming it after the goddess, of course.)

I always thought August was a bit -- too preoccupied about the animals, too self-centered. Weasel is kind of kind, at least in my opinion. Jerk. I loved that you made his patronus a cow.

Not to pass over the beginning: I very much enjoyed the scene with Flitwick (I love this character, and he doesn't get used enough), where he and Kerri talk about Luna. Luna is such a sweetheart of a character, it is good that she gets this sort of attention.

Wonderful chapter. Catching up . . .

Author's Response: Sorry it's taken so long for me to catch up on reviews. My car was broken into so I've been dealing with that.

I can't believe the end of this story is already here either. It was a very weird feeling when I started a chapter and went to put it in the Year 3 file before realizing that it's time to start a brand new file for Year 4. It seems like the ending sneaked up on me.

Everyone keeps asking about the symbolism behind the name of the clinic. It's named for the goddess, not the movie. I had a feeling when I gave it that name that it would raise a lot of questions.

I made August's patronus a cow because cows are associated with nurturing, etc. and that fits with how he relates to animals since he is very protective of them. Unfortunately, his priorities are not in the best order and the animals come first above everything else. (And also it was kind of funny to make it a cow too)

When I sent Kerri to Hogwarts, I really wanted to work on deepening the characterization of some of the other staff members like Flitwick. That's one goal I haven't met at all. There were just too many other plot threads going on to have time for it. Maybe in the next one.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Dreaming of Remus Hippogriff, Centaur and Werewolf

12th July 2010:
In the past few days I've read all of years 1 & 2 as well as this year to this point. I'm very impressed and adore Kerri. I've left reviews on a few chapters but was eager to continue reading what was up. I'm looking forward to the rest (slightly dreading the next one). I like the sneek peeks you've given to years 4&5. Thank you and please hurry up next Monday!

Author's Response: Sorry I'm so behind on responses. My car was broken into so I've been dealing with that.

I don't know how you guys read through so much material so fast. It's very flattering that my writing is worth the effort to you.

hpff is making plans to shut down story submissions for a week while the staff goes on vacation. I haven't checked the dates yet but I'm hoping they don't interfere with my story posting.


 Report Review

Review #22, by ShadowChanger Hippogriff, Centaur and Werewolf

12th July 2010:
WHOA.

That was incredible! So intense! Wow... I can't wait for the next chapter!!

Your description of Remus as Werewolf and events that follow his transformation are amazing, it was like watching a movie. You kept true to the canon story line, yet you added your own personal and fantastic flair to it! This fic is one of my favorites on the entire site, and I anxiously await The Conclusion, even though I know it will end with things going not so great between Remus and Kerri.

Thanks for an awesome read!

~ShadowChanger

Author's Response: The scene in the forest is one that I wrote years ago and have been hanging onto. It's my favorite of all the pre-written scenes I have, and the one I've most looked forward to posting. It started as a little one page scene that I had so much fun with that I expanded and proof read. It made writing this chapter easier because for the most part, I was able to copy/paste, which has saved me some time and put me slightly ahead. (I'm working on chapter 1 of year 4 now).

 Report Review

Review #23, by Bella_Portia Power Struggles in Werewolf Land

12th July 2010:
How do you pickle eels' eyes? I suppose you prepare a brine solution, then put a limited number of eyes into it, then seal it. It's been years since I've made cucumber pickles, but I suppose it's the same principle.

The scene with Severus was hilarious. I imagined Cedric looking back and forth between them, like at a tennis match (have I already written that about another scene?)

The part where Kerri astutely suggests that August's information about Lucius Malfoy may be libelous was very clever. It would have been fun to read Cedric's interview with Lucius, but -- sigh! All in all, a very fine section.

Vashti is starting to grow on me. Once again: sigh. I so much enjoyed hating her.

The inter (intra?) werewolf feud was a fun scene to read. No surprise who had the upper hand. So to speak.

Voldemort started being a wacko when he was still as student, so anything going on between him and Dumbledore would have been serously inappropriate. (Not that the word is in Tommy Riddle's vocabulary.)

Remus truly is an amazingly diplomatic character. (Hard to reconcile with the guy who wanted to run out on his wife in DH -- as I think I've said before, I kind of like yours better.)

Author's Response: I've been missing you. I'm down to the last two chapters now -- the conclusion goes up next week.

In the south we have picked pig's feet so maybe you do the eels the same way.

You might have made the tennis analogy before...I'm not sure. Probably in reference to these two again. The conclusion ends with the two of them, watching Remus leave. One final ugly little encounter. They'll make friends again next year.

I wouldn't have minded reading Cedric's interview either. I could still include it I suppose, but then I'd have to come up with the rest of the essay too. Or maybe I could just find a pretense for quoting that one part. I'm sure that one little part would make Kerri absolutely furious. She'd have to comment on it.

Some people still don't like Vashti much. I never planned for her to be a villain because she wouldn't be the type to join Voldemort. She's not evil, just irritating. I can't ever see her being friends with Kerri though, no matter what happens in the future.

That rumor about Voldemort and Dumbledore is just crap anyway. Maybe one of Rita Skeeter's fabrications? In a few chapters she's published another book, just a small detail but I had fun inventing it. Part of the title is "Gilderoy Gone Ga-Ga," so no one ever really escapes her, not even locked up in St. Mungo's.

I think that Rowling had Remus acting out of character in the last book. Maybe she wanted some extra drama? His behavior in the other books was always solidly responsible and dependable. Why would his personality suddenly change? It didn't make sense to me at all. I don't think I'm being biased because he's my favorite character. I know that he has flaws and Kerri points some of them out in the last chapter. "You're just feeling sorry for yourself and hiding it behind morals" or something like that. I wrote it, but I don't recall the exact quote. Oh well.


 Report Review

Review #24, by crazy4fred2 Tying Loose Ends

10th July 2010:
Loved the Remus parts ;)

Can't wait for the next one

Author's Response: Lots of Remus in the next one, just not necessarily showing him in the most flattering light.

 Report Review

Review #25, by CoCo Tying Loose Ends

8th July 2010:
Ahh, I loved this chapter. Remus and Kerri really are sooo cute together! Wow only 1-2 chapters left. Im looking forward to the action. :]

Author's Response: Oh sure, they're cute now. Just wait.

There will be two more chapters and I finished the draft of the second one last night. Today I want to proof-read the first one and then tomorrow I want to finish typing the second. Then start work on the first chapter of year 4.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>