Reading Reviews for And Then I Died
  
30 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Anoymoose And Then I Died

15th October 2011:
WOW :o i absolutely adore this :D I want to read more! It's very inspirational as well ^_^ thank you for writing this!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed this! Myrtle was fun to write (though annoying in her own way, of course), and it's a great feeling to have others have as much fun reading her. :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by Siriusandmeforev And Then I Died

7th September 2010:
I really enjoyed this! It was interesting to see her point of view on her death. Typical Myrtal to be happy about her death so she can torment someone else! haha i found it very creative and appriate as I am watching the thrid one as we speak! I love the banner! It was very nice :)

10/10

Author's Response: When I saw what the challenge was for, I knew that I had to write about Myrtle because there's an exciting story behind her death and because she's a strange character. :D I'm really glad that you enjoyed reading this! Thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Laurawwrr And Then I Died

26th July 2010:
This was amazing. Even from the title I was drawn in. It was an amazing read and it was so in depth especially for a one shot. Thanks for this, it made my day ^.^

Author's Response: Thank you! :D It's fantastic to hear that you liked it and the title (I'm not very good at coming up with titles). It makes my day to hear you compliment the story!

 Report Review

Review #4, by daliha And Then I Died

14th July 2010:
Quote:
Author's Note: Myrtle is officially the most annoying character I've ever written. Trying to keep her in character felt demeaning, but alas, she's whiny, weepy, and vindictive, and there wasn't much I could do to avoid it.
End Quote:
I'd like to say that as much as you hate Mytrle you didn't show it in your writing (which may I add must've been hard) It kept me interested and annoyed at Mytrle. 10/10 for a wonderful job.

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! I'm glad that the hatred didn't show through. XD It was more frustration than anything because she was unable to defend herself that well or make herself appear strong to others, and that whiny voice definitely hurts the ears after a while. :P

 Report Review

Review #5, by TheTenthWeasley And Then I Died

20th June 2010:
Even though you seemed to dislike writing in Myrtle's character, I absolutely LOVED reading it! You wrote her brilliantly, exposing the ... "true" Moaning Myrtle that others replace with pity and such.

There were a couple lines that I, sadly, could relate to, and I'm sure other people can/could too. Which sort of means that there's a Moaning Myrtle in all of us (haha) and also sort of means that you are an excellent author :D

"And all her idiot friends would laugh, happy that she wasn’t making fun of them. I couldn’t really blame them. They hated her just as much as I did. They were just luckier."

I was one of the 'idiot friends'.

But this was brilliant anyway, and I absolutely love it, despite Myrtle and her 'whiny, weepy and vindictive' ways.

10/10 and FAVOURITED! (:

Author's Response: Another review, thank you! :D

Myrtle was a pain in this, only because she has that whiney voice that gets into your head. I imagined the movie version's voice for her, which probably only made it worse. XD But at the same time, like you said, there is something disturbingly relateable in her. She may not be a "good" person herself, but how she's treated is worthy of pity and anger towards Olive. It's scary how easy it was to draw on things one sees on the playground or in high school. Hogwarts isn't any different, no matter how much magic it contains.

Oh well, thank you again for reading and reviewing this story. I really appreciate hearing from you! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by Steph And Then I Died

20th October 2009:
I agree with you author's note; she's annoying, whiny, vindictive... but we love her, really. This is the first Myrtle fic I've read, and I tell you, it's beyond impressive. You kept her in character all along, which I know a lot of people wouldn't do. It had a comical ending, despite the disaster that's just taken place, and even though in most fanfics, that would be wrong on so many levels, it really fits with this one.

You've written it wonderfully, without a doubt. I really enjoyed reading this fic. Great job! 10/10

Author's Response: Haha, she's awful but lovable. :P I'm glad that she seems to have stayed in character the whole time. It means that the torture was worth it. And it was torture, having her voice ringing through my head. Yet, without her voice, I wouldn't have come to that ending - Myrtle's desire for revenge was so strong that death didn't even bother her that much, she just has to get back at Olive.

Anyway, thank you very much for taking the time to read and review, I really appreciate it! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #7, by dyqw1700 And Then I Died

13th October 2009:
Oh my gosh! Wow...that's so good! It makes me think of Myrtle in a whole new way!

Author's Response: That's wonderful, just what I was trying to do with this story! Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by Alopex And Then I Died

9th September 2009:
I just got a review request for the first staff challenge 4 piece, and I sort of groaned, remembering I still had two or three SC 3 pieces I hadn't read yet. It's about time I got around to them! I'm so glad I did, because this story was fabulous.

I have to agree with what you said in your author's note: Myrtle is annoying, whiny, weepy, vindictive. However, I think you did a fantastic job of keeping Myrtle in character. Her voice was amazing. I don't think I've ever heard anyone say the like Myrtle. She's not very likeable. It's actually hard to feel sorry for her too, at times, although I felt very sympathetic towards her in this story.

There was a point when I was thinking, geez, this bullying and teasing is going a little overboard; isn't this a bit much? But then I realized that Myrtle was probably magnifying it in her own mind, and since this was in the first person, we readers got a full dose of her poor-me. Also, I thought it was pefect the way you included little things in Myrtle's thoughts that other people had said to her, such as the bit about her glasses being expensive. Her sarcastic (well, not exactly sarcastic, but almost) thoughts about herself were good too. It really played up the poor-me, which I feel is such a big part of Myrtle's character.

Oh, right. I almost forgot to say I thought the death scene was also well-done. I especially liked the way Myrtle tried out her new powers and then just appeared behind Olive. By that point, I felt like I was so much inside Myrtle's mind that I wanted to cackle.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to read this one (and all of the contest entries)!

It's very strange, even awkward, writing a character who is purposely supposed to be annoying, almost to the point of alienating. So often writers want to make "sympathetic" characters the reader can relate to; writing Myrtle was an entirely different experience because she couldn't be these things. Yet, I couldn't help trying to make her less whiny - like her remark about being made a Ravenclaw and how she does have brains. It's the bullying and neglect that has made her who she is, and that's what I wanted to highlight.

Yes, Myrtle is exaggerating things a bit. I'm sure there were other people Olive bullied, unless there is a specific reason that she liked to bother Myrtle most - maybe there's a history between them. It was almost fun? writing the scene with Myrtle in front of the mirror: that was when the full-blown Moaning Myrtle came through. She thinks a lot of herself for someone who's bullied so much, which is interesting - she's so obsessed with hating herself that there has to be something in that.

Haha, well, I'm glad that I wasn't the only one so affected by Myrtle. It was hard getting her voice out of my head after writing this. It's good, though, that you almost put yourself in her position, feeling her victorious glee at finally getting revenge.

Thank you again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Voldy_needs_a_hug (too lazy to log in) And Then I Died

26th August 2009:
nice,VERY unique! good job! i like how you made her annoying...she's VERY annoying...gah
9/10
~Annie(",)

Author's Response: Haha, yes she is. :P Thanks for reading and reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by ParaSiempre And Then I Died

18th August 2009:
I liked it and I love how you didn't need to put any complicated descriptions into it and you just put, "And then I died. :) I do agree she was a bit annoying, but you kept her in character. If only she had known the boy had been Tom Riddle and could have accused him after she died.

Author's Response: That's something that always bothered me as well, that she never actually saw her attacker or figured out that Riddle was involved. It made me separate Myrtle from Riddle, not letting her have a crush on him (as usually seems to appear in fanfics) or anything. Maybe because she didn't know him well, she wouldn't have recognized his voice.

But anyway, thank you very much for the review! I'm really glad that you liked this story and that you thought Myrtle was in character. :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by AndrinaBlack And Then I Died

16th August 2009:
You really kept her in character! I felt both sorry and annoyed at her and also thought her quite funny! :) I think you got her right in the beginning as this sad little (a bit annoying) girl who is being awfully bullied. But I loved the part after she died most. There was such a funny kind of change in her, which was still plausible. She's still the same, but suddenly she realises that she can have fun in her ghostly state while she makes fun of Olive. I loved it how she found pleasure in all the things in her new ghostly state. Great job with writing Myrtle's death! :)

Author's Response: Being a ghost gives Myrtle a feeling of power that she never had before, and she makes use of it as soon as possible. The part after her death was more fun to write, especially when she confronts Olive. :D

It's great that you liked how she was portrayed here, mostly because it was a chore to get her voice right! Listening to the movie version helped a lot, but even then she was really annoying to write. But it's a wonderful success that she turned out in character, thank you! ^_^ And thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Pretty Purple Pelican And Then I Died

7th August 2009:
Oh, no. You did a very good job of keeping her in character while still staying true to the fact that because she is the one telling the story, she is the one in the right. I loved the ending line, too. What a perfect way to end a story. It's always the last line that really does it for me, and you totally nailed it. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad that the hard work paid off, haha, trying to stay true to Myrtle's character. I was afraid that, at times, I slipped up, making her too clever or too knowing, so it's great that you liked how she turned out here. :D

It's even better that the last line suited the story well. The image of Myrtle confronting Olive after death was too amazing to leave out - it's an important moment, the one reason why Myrtle choose to be a ghost. I knew when I began writing this that I wanted it to end with that confrontation, so that's where that line was born. ;)


 Report Review

Review #13, by MrsLovett And Then I Died

5th August 2009:
AMEN.
excellent job on this, I really enjoyed reading it. :)

x christine

Author's Response: Thank you very much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #14, by Phoenix Ashes And Then I Died

3rd August 2009:
This story makes me feel so much more sorry for poor Myrtle, though she is very sad and depressing- but that's Myrtle. Great story, brilliantly written! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :) Myrtle's story is very depressing, perhaps because it's so real with the bullying she endures and her own lack of self-esteem. It was interesting to fill out the original facts JKR provided and try to make Myrtle even more realistic.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Rosalie Beckett And Then I Died

30th July 2009:
How do you keep coming up with these?! And each is as perfect as the last. So not fair. :P

I found that I connected with Myrtle the easiest out of all the characters I've pretty much ever read. She was annoying and whiny but I loved it. lol. I felt so bad for her as well for being teased as much as she was. You did a great job in having me relate to her. I wanted to go and tell Olive to shove it!

I like at the end how Olive just sits there when they all find out she's dead. The last line made me laugh out loud. :P Wonderful job!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you very much! :D There's nothing special about how I come up with stories, really. The Staff Challenge prompt was enough to make me want to write more about Myrtle. She's from the era I'm currently interested in writing, so I couldn't resist trying it out. It's wonderful that it turned out well, and I'm really glad that you enjoyed reading it!

As for Olive, I wasn't sure what to make of her. She's the stereotypical girl-bully, very cruel and using verbal insults rather than physical abuse to injure her victims. But at the end, I wanted her to feel just a touch of remorse that she lead to Myrtle's death in a way. Of course, she can't admit that she was wrong to bully Myrtle, which is why she remains silent, but maybe she actually feels bad about it. But then Myrtle comes and the fun begins. :P That last line was where I started with this story, so I'm glad that you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Liam R And Then I Died

30th July 2009:
I told you I'd read this! :D

That was absolutely brilliant. Usually I wouldn't touch a Myrtle story, but I was automatically drawn to this. The very concept of it just seemed so interesting, I just had to read it!

Myrtle is so whiny and annoying! Exactly as she should be, basically. It was so interesting to read this fic, I felt engaged in the story the whole way through. Even though she's whiny and vindictive, and always feeling sorry for herself, I felt sorry for her. To see how these girls had actually destroyed her as a human being, how they ripped her apart, and the role her parents played in that aswell (in this story, at least). As horrid as she is in personality, you have to feel sorry for her because of what these people have done to her to create this Myrtle, this whiny, sobbing nuisance. I'm pretty sure anybody can relate to the taunts, "fat" "ugly" "spotty", etc, pretty much everybody has been called those names or worse at some point during their life, and it just makes me relate to the character, annoying as she is.

Everything was fantastic, as usual, and of course, I've favourited it.

Magnificent, Susan :)

Author's Response: Haha, I don't remember you saying that you would, but I'm glad that you did. :) Writing Myrtle in the first person makes it much easier to get into her character because of her unique voice. Unique and annoying. ;)

It's good to hear from reviewers (others have mentioned it too) that Myrtle was sympathetic, even with her whining. I was worried that she'd be alienating, but it does help to have the bullies and to show how horrible they are to her. And like you said, taunts about personal appearance is something that most teens deal with. I didn't think of that while writing, but I'm still glad that it came out of the story - it definitely makes Myrtle more realistic.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing, Liam! I really appreciate it. :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by Iréne And Then I Died

30th July 2009:
That was bloody brilliant! You do not see many Myrtle stories, I think you did well keeping her in character, as annoying as it may have been. Your work paid off! It is nice to see characters that aren't frequently written about... well written about. So bravo! You did a top notch job.

Out of curiosity, whom is the girl with glasses in your banner, she looks so familiar.

10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! The minor characters of the series are so interesting, yet it's sad that people don't write about them more often. There's a lot of potential for great stories out there. It's great that you liked Myrtle in this - I'm glad I put in the effort to make her sound Myrtle-ish. The story wouldn't have turned out the same in the third person.

The girl is a model, but I don't know her name. :( Someone gave me the picture for another story, but I liked it better for Myrtle.


 Report Review

Review #18, by criscatlover And Then I Died

29th July 2009:
I never expected that I would ever read a story about Myrtle, but I assure you that this first time was a good experience :)
You made an extremely well done work with her character! She's so weepy at the beginning, but it really fits her well (how else could our Myrtle be?). Oh my God, I felt almost as miserable as Myrtle when I was reading her moanings! And then, when she finds she's dead and she realizes that she could use that fact to haut Olive... "Hello Olive. I've been looking for you." Scary. It seemed like I'll turn around and see Myrtle behind my chair (that wouldn't be good, I guess). And about the banner (I had to mention that banner), it is gorgeous (may I just ask you what font did you use on that "M"? It's awesome!)!
Congrats ;)

Author's Response: Your first Myrtle story! :D I'm glad to have been able to provide you with that good experience. It's hilarious that reading her moanings made you feel depressed - I never expected that reaction, but it's a good one. ;) It's great how you looked around after Myrtle's last line - it shows that her voice turned out strong enough, as though she was actually talking. That's wonderful to hear. ^_^

Yay for the banner! I've been feeling off with graphics lately, so I'm glad that you liked this banner. The M is in Jellyka's Endless Voyage. :D

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review! I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Romina Stephanie And Then I Died

29th July 2009:
This was great - I really can imagine Myrtle being an annoying character to write, but you still did an amazing job. She was on spot - canon-wise - but as always, you brought your personal tone into hers and the entire story and, well... it was just awesome. I loved the use of first person - it's been a while since I read it and I got the sudden urge to write it myself. Masterfully done, Susan: everything from the title (loved the title!) to that final line (that incidentally sent chills down my spine). Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much, Steph! It's great that you enjoyed this and liked the Myrtle who made me go insane (I think she's brushed off on me too much - I've been whining ever since writing this :P). When I first saw the staff challenge, writing Myrtle in first person seemed like a challenge in itself. She has a very unique voice, that's for sure.

That final line is my favourite one in this, so I'm really glad that it produced that effect on you. :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by ginnygirl808 And Then I Died

26th July 2009:
kool. .. i liked reading something from myrtle's pov. . . it was really good. .. .

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by nightoftwilight And Then I Died

25th July 2009:
I love it! I love when people write their own stories about characters that aren't exactly in the spotlight!

Author's Response: Minor characters are awesome to write about! :D There's so much one can do with them in a story.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #22, by Lyn Midnight And Then I Died

25th July 2009:
Oh, you did well with Myrtle, definitely whiny enough! I really like the title, and the way you presented her death so suddenly, at first I didn't realize what had happened until I passed that part and had to go back. Oh, and it'd be so typical of Myrtle to not even try to see the boy, but just be happy to finally be able to harass her bully. Hah, that's interesting, there's a word that you like to write a lot - hiccough.

Only typo I saw was: "Olive’s answering giggle sent shivers down me spine." - did you mean to write my spine or is it one of those things? :P

So, yeah, it is definitely something different from your usual style, but I liked it. A writer has to put a lot of masks on, right? :)

Author's Response: I did think of drawing out her death, but decided to make it sudden, trying to suit her words from CoS: "and then I died." It happened without warning, and she probably didn't realise right away what had happened. So how you reacted was the same way she did, which is quite perfect. :D

Myrtle is determined to get back at Olive, which is at once funny and pathetic - it shows how much effect Olive has has on Myrtle that she's the only one that Myrtle can think about once she's dead.

Hiccough is a great word. :P People in stories don't hiccough enough, even though it happens a lot in real life. And no, I didn't mean to make Myrtle sound like a pirate, though it was tempting to leave that typo, just for the laughs. XD

Thanks very much for reading and reviewing this, Lyn! I always appreciate hearing from you, and it's great to know that this story turned out well. ^_^ The first person voice is always interesting to work with, especially when you get the right character in there. ;)


 Report Review

Review #23, by cazvalleygirl And Then I Died

25th July 2009:
Hello :D

That was, well, whiny, lol. But of course that is the nature of Myrtles character and I loved this piece. I even felt sorry for her despite all her moaning and Olive totally deserves it.

I'm off to see what else you've written. Well done 10/10 Charly :D x

Author's Response: She was whiny, but you still felt sorry for her, which is exactly what I was hoping for. :D It's fantastic that you love how this story turned out!

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review! I really appreciate it. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #24, by lovedraco4ever And Then I Died

24th July 2009:
Susan, stop beating all the rest of us at everything! :D Perfect banner, perfect story, perfect characterization of Myrtle... It was brilliant and really fit in with the short version JK gave us. I thought Myrtle was great, I was torn between feeling disgust and pity for her. I wish you had given us just a teeny bit more on the part where the Chamber is opened and she actually dies, but it was still amazing! I loved the last line, where she sees Olive and says she's been looking for her. ^_^ God, how scary would that be? The bit where she's dead and comes to realize it was written really well, too. Great job! :D

Author's Response: This is hard to respond to! >.< Thank you for the compliments, even if I think that they equally apply to you. ;)

It's great to hear that you like how Myrtle turned out. Strangling her was certainly an option, and it probably didn't help that I was using the film Myrtle for a voice reference. I can still hear her sometimes, muttering up there in my head. :P

I was thinking about adding more to that section, but I wasn't sure just what. Myrtle didn't see anything but the eyes according to canon, not Tom or the rest of the basilisk. Yet I could have added more suspense to draw out that part some more. Perhaps I was too excited for the ending with Olive. That was what I started with when planning out the story - I wanted it to end in a creepy way with Myrtle approaching Olive. :D

Thank you for reading and reviewing, Julianne! I really appreciate hearing from you! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #25, by Aether And Then I Died

24th July 2009:
I loved your story! I don't think you should be too hard on Myrtle though. :) She's pretty annoying, but you wrote her so that the reader could understand where she came from better. She has a really low self-estime and she's ugly. That can't be easy. I think you portray that part well. Your writing is excellent; you had me hooked from start to finish. That doesn't happen often (or at all). Great response to the challenge! 10/10!

Author's Response: Too hard on her? Haha, her voice is still in my head and it's still driving me mad. :P She has a very strong "voice", and while it worked well for the story, it's hard to shut her off again.

Anyway, I am really glad that you liked how she turned out here and that you found her sympathetic (the latter was something I was trying for between the whining). It's also wonderful that the story had you hooked. ^_^

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review this! I appreciate hearing from you. :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>