Reading Reviews for He Nearly Killed the Cat
  
69 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Elloise He Nearly Killed the Cat

4th September 2013:
Oh what a marvellous story. It is so lovely.

 Report Review

Review #2, by hiral05 He Nearly Killed the Cat

14th September 2012:
aw wow, this was such a fun one shot x

 Report Review

Review #3, by Cherigarcia He Nearly Killed the Cat

26th June 2012:
Perfect!:) im such a sap these made me wanna cry:)

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by ikidunot He Nearly Killed the Cat

8th January 2012:
I love this little snippet of the potter's life when everything was well! Its just sooo endearing

 Report Review

Review #5, by You Have No Idea Who He Nearly Killed the Cat

21st October 2011:
This is the funniest, most entertaining one shot I've ever read. I absolutely love it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Lydia He Nearly Killed the Cat

13th October 2011:
I dont think a HPFF has ever made me have such a mix of emotions. I laughed and cried for ever. Please right more:)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Sev-Lily He Nearly Killed the Cat

28th August 2011:
Wow, I just loved this! It was so heartwarming and adorable, and this really is how a little one-year-old would act. You didn't break canon once. Loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jasmine_d_Princess He Nearly Killed the Cat

20th July 2011:
WOW!! That was such an adorable piece of writing!! :)

We never actually got to know James, Lily and Harry as a family.. :( But whatever we can gather from the books, they must have been a happy family and this story just made the perfect image for me.. :)

Thank you for writing this.. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I had a lot of fun writing this because, like you said, there aren't a lot of stories out there about them as a young family. I liked thinking about what James and Lily would have been like as parents.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jess the Enthusiast He Nearly Killed the Cat

12th July 2011:
This is absolutely adorable and hilarious! I loved it! :D 10/10

 Report Review

Review #10, by leopard He Nearly Killed the Cat

12th May 2011:
this story was the sweetest thing i have ever read! it put a huge smile on my face :)
such good writing- well done!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ladysphinx He Nearly Killed the Cat

20th March 2011:
Brilliant! That's all I have to say

 Report Review

Review #12, by A reviewer He Nearly Killed the Cat

7th November 2010:
Mostly, this fic made me sad. Sort of in a good way, though. It's kind of heartbreaking to read when you know that not soon after, Lily and James die. I think your story was an absolutely spot-on description of the time. It showed the family trying to be as normal as possible in their broken world. Loved it. Amazing job.

 Report Review

Review #13, by hell_from_peeves He Nearly Killed the Cat

11th September 2010:
This is possibly the greatest story I've ever read on HPFF. I honestly laughed for at least 10 minutes after I finished.

 Report Review

Review #14, by happy_person He Nearly Killed the Cat

11th September 2010:
aww sooo cute!!! i love when people write james and lilly with baby harry stories, they are always so sweet! great story!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Storyteller He Nearly Killed the Cat

24th August 2010:
This was really really nice!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Isannah Lyte He Nearly Killed the Cat

9th July 2010:
Yeah, he nearly killed me, too, out of laughter.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Jellyman He Nearly Killed the Cat

12th April 2010:
Brilliant, Mel, simply brilliant! I can't believe I have never read this, it's absolutely adorable! Harry is just a delight and James...I want to be cooped up in a house with him but I suppose Lily deserves him, being as lovely as she is in this ;D

My two fav lines:
- “There isn’t, but my writing’s so lovely, they’re willing to create an entirely new office for me as Head Calligrapher.”
- Heathcliff had never really liked James. Come to think of it, James didn’t really like Heathcliff.

Fantastic work, the whole concept was marvellous! I wish I could be more critical but I really couldn't spot anything that didn't deserve a squee.
10/10
xx

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Georgia! (And I wouldn't mind being cooped up in a house with him, either.)

There are a lot of my older fics that I'm not very fond of anymore, but I'm still proud of this one, so I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it!

xoxo
Melanie


 Report Review

Review #18, by inkscribble He Nearly Killed the Cat

4th April 2010:
Haha! That was absolutely hilarious! Your characterization of James felt very spot-on and I can just imagine something like this happening. It was just amazingly adorable!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Glad you liked the characterization and situation and all that. :-)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Briiiii<3 He Nearly Killed the Cat

4th March 2010:
aw :(
I was laughing and crying at the same time lol
and when he dropped his wand I thought voldemort was gonna come in :O
But this was wonderfully written! And I especially love the "shit!" part!
Usually One-shots don't explain themselves very well (at least the ones I've read) but this one was really good! and it must have been hard to write this with one of the characters not even being able to talk lol

Author's Response: I actually find baby Harry much easier to write than older Harry -- he's way too complicated as a teenager. XD

Thanks for reading! I appreciate the review.


 Report Review

Review #20, by LEMONSKY4 He Nearly Killed the Cat

25th February 2010:
I absolutely adored this. =)

 Report Review

Review #21, by whisky He Nearly Killed the Cat

19th January 2010:
i dont know how you do it but u really make me laugh out loud!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Alopex He Nearly Killed the Cat

29th December 2009:
Hahahaha! This is one of the most hilarious things I have ever read! I'm sure you know which parts are the most hilarious, but I'll point some out anyway. Obviously, Harry repeating the words he wasn't supposed to repeat was very funny. James dashing after him and thinking the broom shouldn't go so fast was rather funny as well. Lily nearly roping him into writing thank-you notes (he should have quite while he was ahead). The bit with the cat of course was funny. The whole thing was funny.

Well, there were a few serious moments. For instance, the bit about Lily keeping the vase from Petunia. The references both Lily and James made to being hidden inside. It was obvious that it was affecting them, though they tried to laugh it off and cover it up with jokes. Harry was the only one oblivious, since he was having the time of his life. What a little imp you made him out to be--an absolutely adorable imp, but an imp nevertheless.

Author's Response: Thanks for this review! I giggled quite a lot when I was writing this fic.

I'm sort of amazed there aren't more one-shots about Harry's first broomstick ride. When I read the line in Lily's letter about how Harry nearly killed the cat, the obvious question was, "Good lord, what kind of craziness was going on?" And this fic sprung from that question. :-)

I loved writing baby Harry - that's something that's also not done often enough! Little kids are really fun to write.

Thanks for your review!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #23, by Ravie_girl29 He Nearly Killed the Cat

18th December 2009:
It's so cute and sweet, I love it

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by FannyPrice He Nearly Killed the Cat

27th November 2009:
Yay! *claps hands together ecstatically* That was ultra-adorable, and I love fluffy Lily/James pieces--they melt my heart. But, I mean, this shouldn't surprise me; I've really enjoyed every story that I've read by you. And that whole "Daddy" line was like the cherry on top of the sundae. Great job!

Author's Response: James/Lily fluff is heavenly, indeed! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by theelderwand He Nearly Killed the Cat

26th November 2009:
I love Pre-Hogswarts tales like this. Even when they're light-hearted and happy, they still have that sad aire to them, tho.

There's some really great stuff in here. Especially Harry's new word; I mean the one before Quidditch! And both Lily's and James reactions were priceless. I especially liked the interplay between James and Lily. My favorite line, tho, has to be:

"One out of two isn't bad," he whispered to Harry. "You can have another go at the cat tomorrow."

Harry placed a hand on James' cheek.

"Daddy."

We aren't given a lot to work with as far as JKR's characterizations of Jame and Lily, but I loved what you did with them, and with Harry.

Your writing is tight, gramatical and expressive.

Excellent work here.

Author's Response: Very true - almost everything involving James and Lily has a bittersweet air about it, because you know exactly what's coming for them. I think I even capitalized on that a bit in this fic, with James promising to teach Harry how to play Quidditch. Sigh. So sad...!

Thanks so much for the review! This is one of my favorite stories among my older works, and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it!

Melanie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>