55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AAC From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

24th August 2012:
Touching. . . . Percy is undervalued

Author's Response: I agree! He has become one of my favorite characters to write and explore. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #2, by rosmione From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

10th November 2011:
I loved this. It made me laugh and cry. Thanks for writing such a beautiful piece.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Grace Arie From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

2nd July 2011:
*wipes tears* That was beautiful. There is nothing more to say.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by CandyK From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

3rd December 2010:
I loved this because I think it's just what Percy would of felt. Thank you. You even brought tears to my eyes.

 Report Review

Review #5, by thegirllikeme From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

23rd November 2010:
Wow! This was amazing. I never really thought how Percy would be effected, but this nearly brought me to tears. Awesome! Brilliant! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Emandem From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

11th November 2010:
I very nearly cried when I read this. It's exactly how I imagined Percy feeling after Fred's death. You wrote it so well... I could practically feel his sorrow. But it wasn't really sorrow. No, that isn't the right word for it. It has a bit of acceptance thrown in, too. It was perfect. I canít say anything else.

 Report Review

Review #7, by RebelWithoutRemorse From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

27th October 2010:
As I was getting ready to read this oneshot, I promised to myself one thing - that I wouldn't cry; I guess it's not the first time I've ever broken a promise to myself, though, because I was literally sobbing about halfway through it.
So I'm a big softie - but this is such a beautiful piece of work, I couldn't imagine how anyone could keep dry-eyed! So visual, and compassionate - so much like Percy! It faced up to many truths about his character, but also reminded me of one thing: how much I used to adore Percy! Up until the fourth book I thought he was hilarious, and these past few years I'd forgotten that - not that this oneshot is humourous, or anything, it just seemed to hit home for me.
You're an incredibly talented author! Wow, you've got a huge amount of talent :)
Makes me feel very small and unimportant - but also is inspiring me to write something as wonderful as this! I doubt I ever will be able to write ANYTHING up to this level, but...I suppose, it's inspiring me to try my best.
Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Star From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

16th August 2010:
I've only read this story and one other, both have left me completely breathless and in tears.
Keep up the amazing work.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Isannah Lyte From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

9th July 2010:
Aw, I'm going to cry.

 Report Review

Review #10, by LovelyRabbit From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

7th July 2010:
ohhh. that was beautiful
i feel tears coming on seriously!
wonderful job!
i can see why so many other authors faved this one

kudos to you and this wonderful monologue! *heart heart*
:D

 Report Review

Review #11, by writeyourheartout From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

27th June 2010:
This is wonderful. Gave me a new look at Percy, who I've been holding a grudge against, regardless of the fact that he came back. But this is really mind-altering for me. Thank you for writing it. :-)

xTanya

 Report Review

Review #12, by Luminous_Tears From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

20th June 2010:
I'm crying so much right now. This is beautiful, it's genius. I can barely type, I'm crying so hard right now.
This is a work of art, I'm so thankful that I've read it.
The best fanfiction I have ever read. Ever. Bittersweet, in character, memorable - it ticks all the boxes.
I miss Fred so much.
Well done. You're a gifted writer.

 Report Review

Review #13, by winslow From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

12th May 2010:
Wow! You really are a terrific author! This was so moving and insightful! There is so much love in this family and it is not often chronicalled, Thank you for writing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by whisky From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

19th January 2010:
you write beautifully. and... this has left me speachless

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Alopex From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

29th December 2009:
*sniff* What a beautiful eulogy for Fred. You know, I don't really read stories written in the second-person, and even too many references to "you"--such as in this story--irritates me usually. It didn't here, though. I felt like I was being granted the honor to listen in on a very private, intimate conversation.

I didn't quite feel the emotions myself, so I'm not sure I would describe this as an absolutely wrenching story. However, Percy's pain was broadcast loud and clear, so this obviously was wretched for him.

It was Fred who was the first to shake his hand or hug him or whatever in the Room of Requirement, wasn't it? (Maybe George. But I think Fred.) So in a way, Fred was the first to officially welcome him back into the family. And then he dies. I wonder if Percy ever felt he'd taken Fred's place in the family when he came back, if he felt that the Weasley family size had already shrunken to eight, and when he came back, someone else had to go to make room for him.

Ah, well, now I'm speculating a bit beyond the bounds of your story. It was beautifully written, though very heavy and sad. :-(

Author's Response: You know, I got a little worried when I realized you were reviewing my old stories, because there are a few of my older fics that I'm really not that proud of - I think I've improved quite a bit over the past year. But this story is one that I still like, and it still holds a special place in my heart, so I'm happy to hear you enjoyed it!

I'm a bit wary of second person as well. I think I'd like to try writing in true second person someday - I've done a few stories like this, where it seems like second person but is actually a character speaking in the first person and addressing another character, but I'd like to try my hand at second person just to see how it works out. It would probably be rubbish, but you can't sink all your shots, can you? :-)

I see what you mean, about you as the reader not really getting the full force of the emotions. That said, I really jumped for joy when I read that you felt you were listening in on an intimate conversation - that's exactly what I was going for. I really wanted it to be about Percy's emotions (not least of all, to prove that he actually has them!!)

I grabbed my copy of DH and looked it up, and, by golly, it was Fred who shook Percy's hand first (after calling him a "Ministry-loving, family-disowning, power-hungry moron"). I'm sure JKR must have done that intentionally. It's actually interesting - having re-read the books a couple of times, I've come to the conclusion that Fred was what is often called the "dominant twin." So that might have something to do with him being the first to welcome Percy back as well.

I think you make an interesting point, about how Percy might have looked at the family as having already shrunk to 8. I imagine he must have felt quite awkward, trying to figure out how to fit himself back into the family dynamic. You've really got the wheels turning in my head now! You make a poignant observation.

Thank you again for the review!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #16, by Jen From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

18th December 2009:
Perfection. Absolutely fabulous...very novel. I'm glad you wrote this.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Khp From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

1st December 2009:
Wahhh! Oh, I feel like crying! Percy the prick can be sensitive and lovely, and I know that's really you as a brilliant author coming through, but still! WHY did he have to die? I loved him! It's not fair!
OH, am now so very far into the throes of unhappiness...but a wonderful story nonetheless. Thanks so much!

Author's Response: Percy CAN be sensitive and lovely!! I should make it my mission to prove this to the world! XD

Thank you for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by fred is dead From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

30th November 2009:
This was really moving. Everything you wrote fell in so well with the characters and events of the book. A drop dead perfect 10!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #19, by MischievousMarauder From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

13th November 2009:
Ohmygryffindor, I'm crying do hard now!
This is one of the most heartbreaking things I've read on here, but I loved it...!
Percy, oh Percy, I used to hate him, but seeing his changed his demeanor after Fred died, I really felt sorry for him.
I am NEVER going to forgive JKR for killing him off! EVER!!!
*cries harder*
Anyway, this was lovely, you really got into Percy's character, and it was--breathtaking, almost,--to read.

15/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the amazing review! I really adore Percy - he irritated me, but I never hated him. I can identify with him in a lot of ways, and I really wanted to give him (and myself) some closure on this issue.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Fairytale12 From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

27th October 2009:
Omgosh, what an amazing job you did on this story. It was so powerful, I'm almost crying right now. Fred was without a doubt the hardest death in the whole series for me and this story did a good job of reminding me why I loved him so much. What a good idea to write from Percy's point of view, it made it very meaningful. Wow, just wow.

Author's Response: Fred's death was definitely a difficult one - writing this was a good way for me to deal with it (and give Percy some closure - he is one of my favorite characters).

Thank you for the review - it means a lot to me! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #21, by Melissa From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

21st October 2009:
Very well written, introspective

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #22, by MuggleMaybe From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

16th October 2009:
Wow, this is really moving!
I'm not sure if I believe that this is what Percy's voice would sound like, but the sentiments are so strong that I WANT to believe it.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by fatality From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

15th October 2009:
"One big, happy Weasley family Ė minus one."
This was beautiful and heartbreaking. Amazing!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by 1917farmgirl From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

13th October 2009:
*Sniffles* Tries to think of something to write... *Sniffles harder*

Okay, so I admit without shame that Fred and George are my favorites, hands down, with the rest of the Weasleys coming in right behind them. And while I may understand on an intelectual level why JKR killed Fred, I will probably never, ever forgive her for it.

Fred's death struck me like blow, a real loss, not just someone made up in a book dying, but like losing a real friend. It still hurts. But stories like this one help that.

What a wonderful, wonderful story! And I'm so glad you used Percy to tell it. I never hated Percy. Always thought he'd come around, and I love how you have him realizing that sometimes you don't know what you do have until it's gone.

Well done! Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thanks for the wonderful review! Writing this was sort of a way for me to find closure. I love Percy and always thought he redeemed himself, but at a terrible price.

Glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #25, by George Whitman From Third Brother to Fourth Brother

6th October 2009:
That does it! You are now one of my favorite authors. This piece really shows how well rounded you are and is a great extension of the writing of J.K. herself. Some of her best writing came when Percy and Fred were interacting during the last battle. When Fred suddenly dies you feel the true scope of what war really does. This reflection on that gives us even more. Well done!

Author's Response: Well thank you very much!! I agree, that scene was very vivid and heartwrenching.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>