Reading Reviews for Madam Minister
  
227 Reviews Found

Review #1, by J The Radical Pamphleteer

7th March 2013:
Darling, it's the Statute of Secrecy, not the Statue. Otherwise brilliant!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Cirque Du Freak The Duel

15th July 2012:
I love how authentic this really is!
You've done so well in the time era and although I've never been one to read historical fics (mostly because a lot people tend to get it wrong) it sounds so brilliant!

This is also really believable considering there wouldn't be a full-blown duel between the two and Artemisia couldn't compare at all to an Auror. So I'm so glad that you didn't do anything silly like prove that she's "advanced" or something silly like that for a young witch.

I also really like the idea of them having the duel, because she insulted his "honour" - it sounds almost archaic if you compare it to now and I think you've put a lot of emphasis on how customs would have been back then.

I also really like that you've kept this fairness between male & female as well, because although I think that there would have been sexist characters or eras it wouldn't have lasted long or would have been set at an earlier time period, because females are blatantly just as skilled at magic as men are.

I really like that you skipped time somewhat afterwards and I think you displayed Artemisia's character really well even though it was from Hart's POV. You've shown that she's still a teenager, she's very forthright and very stubborn in a way, too and they haven't had all that much interaction either. Not verbally anyway, haha.

I really like the second part the most, I think, because its the stepping stone for Artemisia's future and that moment when the Head Auror refuses the position to her is when all the important later invents come about.

I like that Dick hasn't shown any resentment either and that he's kind of chivalrous in the way that he didn't want to duel Artemisia and that he helped her out when she had been turned down from the position she wanted.

So you've got a pair of strong characters here and I really liked this interaction in particular and when I was reading this some months ago, you have no idea how happy I was to have Hart come back! :D

Hanzi
xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by Cirque Du Freak Prologue

15th July 2012:
Honestly, I am in love with this story.

I read it in May when you had updated it in one sitting and I absolutely don't regret it! I do regret, however, being very late with the reviews - I'm so rubbish at giving them its ridiculous.

Anyway.

I adore this Prologue. I am a fan of all things mysterious at the start of a story - normally I don't name the character at all and usually just with inner-monologues and such, but you've given a lot here and there's still so many questions that I catch myself asking!

Considering I've read all future chapters, I have to say that this one still remains my favourite. Mostly because you've given nothing away 23 chapters later and there's still this element of surprise all along the way andsdfihsdgiofsha yeah okay I can't. This is just fantastic.

I have nothing else to say because I'm just in ~awe~ about this plotline and the writing and the descriptions...ITS JUST TOO MUCH.

You're really great at it, honestly, and I wonder why I haven't stumbled upon your author page sooner. Especially considering you have the amazing one-shot The Ivory Child - I only adore the intense horror of that. Oh wow. Okay.

I just need to stop and just yeah okay.

I will be back with a more coherent reviewing erm process.

Hannah
xx

 Report Review

Review #4, by SilentConfession Prologue

28th June 2012:
This is such an intriguing story. I love running across obscure characters from Jo's world and i think you did an excellent job of painting this really vivid picture of someone we know next to nothing about. She is so full of faults and vices and yet she's such a compelling character that it makes me sad to see her take her own life. I think you really captured her helplessness and despair which really made me connect with her some how. I also really like how you've captured so much of history into this. The status of woman and the French Revolution for instance made the story seem very real. Anyway, this was a breath of fresh air to fun across and i'll definitely be reading the rest of this! Your prose and description is wonderful. Great job. :P

 Report Review

Review #5, by ruby_slippers Adieu, Adieu

26th June 2012:
I really love your stories and their depth and realism (whilst still maintaining a fictional whismy if that makes sense?).
I can't seem to make up my mind about Maxime, whether i like him or not ... I don't know how long they can last with both of them so tied to their countries and both i think hoping that the other will end up living in the others country.
Poor Artemisia loosing her father, and poor maxime being introduced under such circumstances. I wonder how he will fare not being the most sensitive of characters.

 Report Review

Review #6, by CassiePotter Pater Familias

1st June 2012:
That was a phenomenal chapter! I LOVE Tarquin! He's a fabulous character! Your blend of history and magic is awesome, and this story has a really great flow to it. 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by CassiePotter The Duel

31st May 2012:
That was fabulous! I love how you combine the wizarding world with London of the 1770s. It's awesome, and really enjoyable to read! I love Brutus Baddock's character. I can totally picture him! This story is really great so far, and I will definitely read more! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by blackzero Adieu, Adieu

27th May 2012:
It is nice to see you are alive again :p , Please do complete this brilliant story of yours.

 Report Review

Review #9, by CassiePotter Prologue

27th May 2012:
That was incredible! I love the emotion we get just from the prologue. Even if we don't know what's happened in Artemisia's life, we can still get feeling and and wonderful plot from just this chapter. I'm already hooked, and can't wait to find out what happen's next! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by katti4493 Adieu, Adieu

27th May 2012:
AH!!! I nearly fell off my seat when I saw this had been updated! I love this story so much, and I am so glad it is back! Really good chapter, I loved how much of it was just in Artemisia's thoughts. Can't wait for the next one!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Beth The Rondelet Family

23rd April 2012:
I'm completely in love with this entire fanfic! I don't usually read them, as I'm a bit useless with computers, but this whole story has been such an amazing read - I found myself really looking forward to sitting down and reading the next chapter after studying and coursework!

As a history student, I adore the French Revolution aspects of Madame Minister - I think in a way, you give Robespierre a voice through Rondelet, which is wonderful! I'm quite fond of Robespierre, and I think it's so lovely that you've shown him in a human light as Rondelet. I've studied the revolution for the last year or so, and I love the fact that you've intertwined different aspects of the period with your own works. I've never known anyone who's done that before, and the result is fantastic!

You write in a way that completely transports the reader into the world you've created, and every chapter leaves me wanting to read more and more. Thank you, for cheering me up and giving me something amazing to look forward to reading after a long day of coursework! :)

I do a lot of artwork based on the French Revolution (and coincidently, I've done some Harry Potter fan art, too!), so if there's anything I could do for you at all as part of this fanfic, please let me know! Come to think of it, there are a few portraits of Ivascu as Robepierre in my gallery, so if you fancy using any of them, please help yourself! :)
sparkypoo [dot] deviantart [dot] com

 Report Review

Review #12, by Debra20 Prologue

29th August 2011:
This is so promising! I feel I already love the story.

It feels great to read more about the obscure characters that built the magical world as we know it in Harry Potter. I am not sure if Jo thought about the backgrounds of every single character, so having them explored in fanfiction is incredible.

At first sight, Artemisia leaves the impression of a very well rounded character. There is not much we can go on from this first glimpse into her character but we can already feel the effects of her contrived feelings and passed. We find out she had been a very important figure in the Ministry. A woman with great power and influence. But she had also been an adulteress. This is very intriguing and quite contradictory to the image we were first presented of her: a righteous ruler.

Also, we find out she had been associating herself with a Muggle. I imagine that during the period this story is written in, many would frown and downright disapprove a relationship of this kind. How is it possible that she had indulged a relationship with a Muggle? Curiosity reigns supreme!

With the help of great imagery description, we were able to vividly feel her turmoil. She felt incredibly real, as a person. I especially enjoy this when reading about Original Characters. Details like the ones you provided flesh out mere ghosts of the magical world.

I am most certainly not frightened by the angst of this first chapter. Actually, I am very intrigued by the whole setting you placed before us and can't wait to find out more :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by Jessica Prologue

21st July 2011:
I was directed here after stumbling on the trailer for this story on youtube.

First of all: WOW. It is so refreshing to finally find an original serious fanfiction. I LOVE finding these. It really adds to the Harry Potter fandom to me. Especially when they are written so well (I MAJORLY commend you on that). I can't wait to read the next chapter. I also love the way that you approach Rowling's character and, in a way, make her your own. In the words of Ron Weasley: That's bloody brilliant.

 Report Review

Review #14, by DracoMuggleLuver_01 Prologue

27th January 2011:
I know it took me forever to review this. I'm so sorry! But I'm here now, and I have to say I do like it. Although I'm not so sure I can put why I like it. that's how awesomely written it is. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so very much, DracoMuggleLuver! It was just wonderful hearing from you. I'm so glad you enjoyed this first chapter. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #15, by MidnightBlue_x Prologue

8th December 2010:
Hey there,

I'm playing a little bit of Review Tag.

I've been meaning to read this for a while as I'm a self-confused History Nut but I haven't much time with school and such.

I absolutely love Prologue that start at the ends of stories and then travel back, I have no idea why but yeah...Anyway this is a great prologue and I can't wait to read what you have in store for Artemisia and her ministry.

x Ely

Author's Response: Hello Ely!
Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review! I was so happy to hear that you enjoyed the first chapter. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #16, by gingersnape Prologue

6th December 2010:
Wow, this is wonderful writing and so much tension can be felt from the scene. I thought that this was very well done and am interested to read on. I think it is amazing that you could write so much and so well on a character who you know next to nothing about. Amazing work, and I will be reading more in a minute!
-ginger

Author's Response: Hello gingersnape!
Thank you so very much for taking the time to read and review. I'm truly glad to hear that you enjoyed the opening chapter. Thanks again! :)

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #17, by miss_aurora The Rondelet Family

1st November 2010:
While I admire Artemisia's bravery, I don't like the fact that she is actually a liar. She had told not even a thing to her husband about her affair and yet she proposed for him to migrate to England. Say, if Maxime does agree, how complicated things will turn to. But on the other hand, to advance politically, I guess you have to be a good liar. Not that I despise politicians, but they have to at some point, no matter how honest they want to be.

It wasn't quite a surprise that her father passed away. I love how you pick the moment though. It was perfect, at least for me. Just after the lover's quarrel, the news was delivered. Artemisia has to go back to England immediately, but what about Maxime.

To be honest, at this point I still couldn't predict how exactly Artemisia starts her way in becoming a minister though I assume Maxime has to get out of the picture first (either dies or Artemisia just leaves him). I'm curious.

Thank you so much for the update. This is my salvation, honest. I've been studying the whole day and it's just a matter of time when my brain will explode. Ok, I exaggerate that a bit. But anyway, I'm so happy to read this and now I'm off to studying again. Exams sucks :/

Ok I rant. Sorry about that.

Author's Response: Hi miss_aurora!
Ugh, I know exactly how you feel about exams. They are one of the reasons why it took me so long to respond to this review. :( I really am truly sorry it took me over a month to get back to you. I absolutely love your feedback and I didn't want to leave a short, vague response after you took the time to leave such a detailed review. However, college kept getting in the way and I just couldn't find the time to write a proper reply. Again, I do apologize! Your feedback means the world to me and I do hope you know just how greatly I appreciate it.

Now, onto the reply at last, haha. ;) Yes, Artemisia is a huge liar. In fact, if I remember correctly, the title of the last chapter was "The Grand Deceiver". Well, that's her all right. She lies not only to others, but to herself as well. And like you mentioned, her ability to lie will help her when she becomes a influential politician, and later on, the Minister of Magic. Although it's not really beneficial now, her talent for lying will help her through some extremely sticky situations in the future.

And I'm glad you thought her father's death came at the right time. I had it planned for a while, but I wasn't sure if it would come across as contrived in this chapter. :)

I definitely agree with you about the unclear nature of Artemisia's path to becoming the Minister of Magic. At this point in the story (the winter of 1777-78) she's only 23 and, according to the little canon JKR gives us, Artemisia does not become Minister until 1798, twenty years later, so she still has a way to go. However, I do promise there will be a bit of a "jump" after the next few chapters, which will certainly advance things and put her on the right track. Hope that didn't spoil things too much. ;)

Again, thanks so much for the wonderful review! Your kind support has really kept this fic going. The next chapter has already been plotted and I do hope to start working on it as soon as my finals are finished next week. Until then, take care and be well, miss_aurora!

Best,
celticbard

PS I do hope your exams went well. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #18, by Ginny45 Pater Familias

26th October 2010:
Hey! :)
This chapter is a lot light than the other two and when I first started reading it, I got a bit worried. However the link between the two is very well done.

Also everything that has happened and I'm guessing will happen is getting twined together which makes it very realistic. Her character is also growing which each of these elements, it is really nice.

RandomRed/Ginny45 xxx

Author's Response: Hi Ginny45!
I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter despite its lighter tone. I myself am partial to dark fics, so I can certainly understand your hesitance.

Thanks so much for the lovely reviews! It was really great hearing from you. Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ginny45 The Duel

26th October 2010:
Hey me again.
Your story is flowing really well from the prolouge into the frist chapter. Many stories don't achieve that so well done.

I think many of Artemisia's characteristics are fitting for the story so far. Like her being stubborn, which would help her get where she wants to be and so on. She is what stands out in every chapter, not everything else that is going on.

Everything so far is very inkeeping with the time it is set in.

Ginny45/RandomRed xxx

Author's Response: Hello again Ginny45!
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review another chapter. I really do appreciate your feedback. And I'm so glad you think Artemisia's personality fits with the plot. She does have some massive flaws, although, as you mentioned, they may help her later on. :)

Thanks again for everything!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #20, by Ginny45 Prologue

26th October 2010:
Hey it is RandomRed from the forums. :)
First of all, I love your chapter image.
Your Prologue is really good, you build up a lot of tension throughout it. They are really maent to hook people in and yours does it wonderfully.

You have used history which gets you big points in my book, however if you have a little bit wrong I will correct it. Not that I am saying you'll get something wrong. So i am warning you in advance, I probably won't though if you changed it to work with the story. :)

Your summary is brilliant after I read it I wanted to read your story so bad. Anyway you created a storng character and a stong individual world that she lives in. Even though it is based on the HP world.

Very well done :)

RandomRed/Ginny45 xxx

Author's Response: Hi Ginny45!
Thank you so very much for the lovely review! It was just great hearing from you. I do apologize for taking so long to reply, life has been unbelievably crazy lately and I didn't want to leave you with a short response. ^_^

I'm so glad you enjoyed the prologue. To be honest, I think my first chapters are always the weakest. ;)

And yes, history is a big part of this fic. As you mentioned, I had to change some things to fit with HP canon, but being a huge history nut, I have tried my best to keep everything else accurate.

Again, thanks for the awesome review. I hope you have a great weekend! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #21, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Pater Familias

23rd October 2010:
I like the idea of wizards wanting to take more conventional ways of travel, to allow themselves time to think. It makes sense, really. I need that in between time, so wizards should too.

Sissy says a lot about the Lufkin family, just by being herself. When a house elf misses a wizard, it means she's been good to the house elf, and that doesn't occur exactly often. It means Artemisia was raised properly, which I like. Mr. Lufkin seems extremely pleasant, and I already enjoy him.

I like the comfortable chatter of the family, both between brother and sister as well as among the three of them. Their mother's death clearly scarred the family, but they seem natural as a whole, and made for an easy read.

I also was pleased that Artemisia was so concerned for her father, and didn't want to go to France because of him. Someone who cares so deeply about people, especially those dependent on her, must make a good Minister.

This story is flowing very nicely, and it helps that I'm in love with your main character. She's natural, believable, interesting, and has a mind of her own. It's a good combination. Good job!

~lllb

Author's Response: Hi long_live_luna_bellatrix!
Once more, thank you so much for the thoughtful, in-depth review! I always look forward to reading your feedback. Your comments always give me something to think about and that truly helps while writing and rewriting chapters. ^_^

I'm so glad you found the interaction between Artemisia and her family natural. I myself don't have any siblings, so I couldn't really base Artemisia and Tarquin's relationship on my own experience. I do hope their conversation wasn't too stiff!

And I do think Artemisia does care about the people around her (her father, the house elves, etc.) although she can sometimes be extremely impulsive, or, at the very least, completely careless. ;)

Again, thanks a million for the awesome feedback! You are such a wonderful reviewer--I really do cherish your comments. Take care and have a great weekend!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #22, by long_live_luna_bellatrix The Duel

11th October 2010:
When I read stories for review requests, I usually keep notes on the side so I remember things I want to comment on when I get to the actual review box at the bottom. It says something if I forgot to take notes completely and read this purely for enjoyment, no?

So far, I'm entranced by your 18th century wizarding world and all the detail you put into it. Your duel, everything, seemed so natural, though I was surprised it was not part of a duel to defend yourself against oncoming spells. Perhaps in higher stakes duels it's different.

Not much to say on plot or characterization yet, as it's only the first real chapter. I read the prologue some time ago and very impressed, as I still am. Your writing flows easily and is extremely engaging. It's not too hard to tell when a writer puts real thought into a story, and the detail in this was impressive. I'd forgotten the wizarding world even used seconds until this chapter. Well done.

Author's Response: Hi long_live_bellatrix_luna!
First off, I'm so, so sorry it took me over a month to respond to your review. It seems as though every time I sat down to respond, something crazy would happen in real life and take me away from the computer. I really feel so bad for not replying to your feedback right away and I do sincerely apologize.

Needless to say, I truly do appreciate your kind and thoughtful review. Your opinion as a critical reader is really invaluable to me. Thank you so much!

I'm glad you enjoyed all the historical tidbits in this chapter. I'm a huge history nerd and the 18th century is probably my favorite period of historical study. ;) As far as the rules of magical dueling go, I must admit I based this scene less on HP canon and more on the "muggle" dueling traditions of the time. If fighting with pistols, the parties usually took turns firing their weapons at each other until satisfaction was declared. Therefore, I decided not to have my wizards defend themselves from unfriendly spells while fighting a formal duel of honor.

Again, thanks again for everything! It was just great hearing from you. I hope you have a wonderful weekend! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #23, by needapenname The Duel

11th September 2010:
This is a really great story. Your wording fits in perfectly with the time setting. The description is outstanding, I feel like I could practically see what was happening.

I particularly loved both the duel and where she was applying for the job. I love Dick's remorse at having to challenge her to a duel, then making her pay for it by not getting the job she wanted. It really was amazing.

The only real criticism I have is that you have a few apostrophes where they shouldn't be, and vice versa. Same goes for commas.

As I mentioned in my last review, I am so glad you requested these reviews, as I never would've found them otherwise.

I myself have never could have thought this up, and I am so grateful that you did. If not, then the world of Harry Potter fan fiction would be missing a great piece.

10/10 for the fact that the pros outweighed the few cons. :D

Author's Response: Hello needapenname!
Thanks so much for the thoughtful review! I've really been enjoying your feedback. Needless to say, I'm thrilled to hear that you like this story so far. I know I do have a tendency to make my historical stories a bit dry and therefore, boring. ^_^

I'm glad you liked the scene with the duel. Artemisia is a very impulsive young woman. If only she could have foreseen the consequences of her actions, then I think she might have avoided the situation altogether. ^_^

And thanks for mentioning the typos. I'll definitely take some time out to revise this chapter.

Again, it was just wonderful hearing from you. Thanks for everything! Take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #24, by needapenname Prologue

11th September 2010:
This is really good! I'm so glad you asked me to review this, because, if not, I would never have come across it! :D

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the thoughtful review! I really do appreciate your kind feedback. ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #25, by miss_aurora The Grand Deceiver

26th August 2010:
Yay, a new update. It seems like since Artemisia couldn't keep her secret marriage any longer, she decided to tell the truth to the family, yet the father doesn't seem able to accept the shock if she told him, so I guess it's still a secret. Great update anyway, I love how we get to understand Artemisia's feeling even more. Honestly, I was wondering myself why no divorce, but here you've answered it. Thank you for the wonderful update :)

Author's Response: Hello miss aurora!
Thank you so very much for taking the time to read and review! I'm so glad you're still interested in this fic...I know it's been a while since I've updated.

Yes, Artemisia's marriage to Maxime is still a secret. Only Tarquin really knows about it and he certainly isn't eager to spread the news. And, despite it all, Artemisia is still very much in love with her husband, so she doesn't consider divorce an option.

Again, thank you so much for the thoughtful feedback! I'm working hard on the next chapter and should have it posted soon. ^_^ Until then, take care and be well!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>