Reading Reviews for The Playground
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by I_trusted_Snape13 The Playground

22nd July 2012:
This was so beautiful! Amazingly well done! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! This was my first HP fic ever, and I still have a soft spot for it - so nice to see it still getting some love. :-)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Owlpost68 The Playground

27th November 2011:
This was such a sweet story :) It makes a lot of sense that she'd be the one to greet him, and take him on. I really love the imagery you put in this also, plus I can almost hear the squeaking swing :) Great job!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Sincerely_Snape The Playground

4th April 2011:
I literally wept. Thank you so much for writing this. Even though he has so many character flaws, Severus' ability to remain steadfast in his love for Lily even after her death is what makes him my favorite character in the Potter series. You are an excellent writer, and I am grateful to be able to read you work.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Elena The Playground

13th August 2010:
I think this was very sweet :) It doesn't matter that it was short, in this instance. You gave a moment to us to resolve Lily/Severus's relationship or friendship. I thought it was a nice read.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Accio Malfoy The Playground

2nd April 2010:
Ahhh thats really cute i haven't read one like that before i really enjoyed it !!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by MollyOly The Playground

2nd March 2010:
Pardon me while I bawl my eyes out...
OK, that's better. No, wait, there's more...
This is so lovely and straight to the point. I really admire how well you can say so much in so few words!

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review!! :-)

 Report Review

Review #7, by pthgrl The Playground

9th February 2010:
wow. so nice. best lily/snape reunion story i've read. thanks for leaving james out!!!

Author's Response: LOL. Thanks for reviewing! Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Son_of_Poseidon The Playground

20th January 2010:
Wow. Um ... well, yeah- I'm completely speechless.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading. :-)

 Report Review

Review #9, by christinacruciatus The Playground

18th December 2009:
I loved this! It was very well written and I absolutely love how Snape's idea of heaven is seeing Lily's face. So sad, yet so sweet. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for your review!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Melissa The Playground

21st October 2009:
Fabulous job keeping the characters true to themselves, and beautifully written

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #11, by draikaina8503 The Playground

10th October 2009:
Wow, very descriptive. I like how he came to the place where they played as children. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Lizbeth Carson The Playground

6th October 2009:
aww... thats sadness...

Author's Response: I know!! :-(

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ava Pearce The Playground

24th September 2009:
aw... even know it seems sorta wrong not having James/Lily i LOVE Snape/Lily, i just love Snape in general, he is so... pitiful in ways and you can't help but feel for him. I love this story. thankyou for writing it!
10/10
luv ya,
Ava
xoxo

Author's Response: I definitely think Snape's story is tragic, so as much as I like James/Lily, I also love unrequited Snape/Lily.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by HarrietHopkirk The Playground

6th September 2009:
Oh my lord. Tears on keyboard, tears on keyboard.

Author's Response: I'm really glad you were moved by this. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Alopex The Playground

4th September 2009:
Gulp. Blink, blink. Whoa, I teared up over this story. It's so short, and I wasn't prepared to be moved like this.

I don't remember that quote from DH at all. I know Snape's death scene, of course, but I didn't remember that JRK wrote it that way. Obviously, the quote was a great lead-in to your story.

I've read a handful of post-death Snape scenes, and they've all been fairly similar. I was particularly moved by this one though. I thought you did a wonderful job with Snape's character. He continued to think of himself as undeserving and vile, but Lily affirmed that he deserves some happiness and that he's worth something. I just felt like that scene was so healing.

My only complaint is that this story didn't really "go" anywhere. It was short, without much development. The reader is left to decide what happens, though it's fairly obvious, which means there wouldn't be a huge point in telling it. If this story hadn't been so moving and beautiful and tragic, I wouldn't have been very impressed. However, what you did with mood and emotion here is amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm glad you liked it, and that you found it moving. In fact, I loved that you described it as "healing" -- that's exactly what I was going for!

You're right that it really didn't go anywhere. When I wrote it, I was more interested in giving one of my favorite characters some closure and exploring a moment in time. It was also my very first fic posted on this site, so that might have something to do with it. XD

But yeah, there wasn't really a point beyond describing some emotions. :-)

Thank you for the review! I was pleasantly surprised to see it, as it's been awhile since I posted this fic!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #16, by jman7693 The Playground

23rd July 2009:
This was nice. It brought a sense of finality to Snape that the book really didn't bring. I really believe this is something that could happen after Snape died, and you wrote it wonderfully.

Amazing little story, 10/10 :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Cassie_Nova The Playground

25th June 2009:
Oh my goodness! That was soo beautiful. I loved it. I never felt complete after reading the last Harry Potter book and this story has completed me!
I loved it! I usually hate one chapter stories but this was an exception, believe me!

Author's Response: Hahaha. I'm glad it completed you! It sure completed me -- I felt he needed some closure, and so did I!

Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by KT The Playground

24th June 2009:
This is so good. I wish it were a bit longer, but it is really wonderful. I think that Snape is J. K. Rowling's best character.

Author's Response: Yeah, it's a bit on the short side. But I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Jellyman The Playground

16th May 2009:
So I don't like Snape, at all actually, and I pretty much have no sympathy for him. I hate the idea of Snape/Lily - yet I loved this? Odd, yes? I actually only clicked on this story because of the FANTASTIC summary and banner you have. It intrigued me :) Haha, but seriously the idea behind this is absolutely brilliant. I loved that Snape accepted the fact that the Lily in his afterlife was actually Lily (if that makes sense) - I semi expected him to turn her down for a moment there. You have such a talent for encapsulating a whole series of complex ideas, emotions, etc. and pulling them all into one powerful line/paragraph that just sticks with you. It's brilliant! Anyway, excellent one-shot!

Author's Response: Haha...odd, but extremely flattering!! Thank you so much. It means so much to me because I really do have a strong attachment to this story - in contrast to you, I love Snape, and I wanted to give him some peace. I'm so flattered and delighted as an author, to know that the emotions came through to you when you read it!

And the banner? It definitely is wonderful - I was so excited when I saw the finished product. Those wonderful artists at TDA!!

Your reviews are wonderful! Thank you so much for taking the time to read some of my stuff!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Flower n Prongs The Playground

20th April 2009:
This was very touching. I believe that, once she saw everything that Snape had done, Lily would have truly been thankful/greatful for him and you showed that beautifully. I'm curious to see what would have happened after they greeted one another, so to speak. Especially the first time he got to see his "favourite" (ha ha) Marauders again. Very well written and enjoyable. =)

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! It made my day! I purposely left it ambiguous at the end since I really don't know exactly what it's like when one passes on - maybe, since the Marauders weren't exactly his favorite people, they wouldn't have been present in his afterlife because that wouldn't have been much of an eternally blissful life for him. :-)

But thank you for reading - I'm so glad the message of my story came across well!


 Report Review

Review #21, by HP_4_LIFE The Playground

16th March 2009:
I liked that fic. It was extremely well written and you described Snapes feelings really well. Gr8 job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I appreciate the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by TheDirigiblePlum The Playground

13th March 2009:
I really liked this because I really think that Snape deserved some sort of happiness after all he went through.

The writing was very uplifting and had an innocence to it that I found suited the story well. :)

10/ 10

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! I agree about Snape - I think he definitely redeemed himself for anything bad he had done in the past.

 Report Review

Review #23, by reader The Playground

5th March 2009:
Wow I think I just felt tears in my eyes at the lines

"What’s important is the person you have become.”
“One who doesn’t deserve what you’re saying.”

I LOVE Snape. And I love the setting you picked for this! (It reminds me of the King's Cross scene with Harry & Dumbledore) You kept the story simple and sweet. And I liked also the vague ending, it really makes you think. great story!

Author's Response: Cheers! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by harrylilyjames The Playground

5th March 2009:
so the way you written death is that he can have everything he wants and not have Potter or anything that he hates around? but would that mean Lily would be away from James? im just confused on that part...It was nice, short but sweet. 9/10 =]

Author's Response: I left a lot of it open to speculation for sure. Nobody really knows the mysteries behind death - what is heaven or paradise? Is it a physical place, or just a state of existence? The idea I was playing with here is that your soul just experiences whatever makes it content - so there's at least the illusion of Lily, even though Lily's soul itself is probably wandering somewhere next to James because that's who she loved the most. So Snape doesn't take anything away from anyone else - his "heaven" might exist on a totally different plane than anyone else's "heaven."

The reason I wanted to write this is that I always loved Snape's character in some way, and I thought that, despite all the bad choices he made, ultimately he deserved for his soul to be at peace because of the good choices he made later on. Considering how much debate there is as to what gets you into heaven, this is a definitely an overly-rosy view of the afterlife. :-)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login