Reading Reviews for How to tame a Marauder
  
3,922 Reviews Found

Review #1, by jambon357 Epilogue

24th January 2017:
Hi! I just wanted to thank you for writing this story! I have read it so many times yet I always find something new every time I read it! I would say that it is as fabulous as the Harry Potter Books! Please write more stories this length (maybe a James Potter II/OC ;) ). Keep up the AMAZING work! x

Author's Response: Aw thank you! That really has made my day ... though I don't think it's quite at JKR's level, I'm happy to take the compliment! :D

I have no plans to write next-gen at this stage, and I admit that anything new is unlikely to be posted on this site as I have moved archives. (As an aside, a revised version of this story is on both of my new preferred ones.) My current project is to finish Year of the Snake, so that's next on the list. If I feel a pressing need towrite a next-gen story, though, it may possibly happen. :)

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by P Epilogue

21st January 2017:
You write really well, I couldn't stop reading. And it's great that you've almost always kept up with canon from JKR. Cheers

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I put a lot of work into this story so it's lovely to have that recognised. :)
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by MRpadfootandprongs The end of term

3rd January 2017:
i wasnt expecting sirius to ask for a dance

Author's Response: Nor was Laura. Which was kind of the point, which I think you gathered. Ah, the teenaged years. So much drama!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by MRpadfootandprongs The Sirius Black fan club

3rd January 2017:
Elvira reminds me of someone I used to know
really liked this chapter

Author's Response: Yes, I think a lot of people know an Elvira, of sorts. She's exaggerated, of course, but so much fun to play with as a character. ;p
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by quill2parchment Return to Hogwarts

22nd December 2016:
Great first chapter! I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you found it interesting.
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by emma28 Epilogue

13th December 2016:
This is an amazing story! It's incredibly well written and the character development is done really well.

It's so nice and refreshing to actually read a Sirius/OC story that's really good and COMPLETE! So many are just abandoned or just not updated in years.

This is hands down the best sirius/oc story I've ever read. And I actually read it word for word. Normally I find stories just lose their touch and become boring so I end up just scanning the rest or just jump straight to the end. But this one had me hooked the entire way through!
I'm so sleep deprived right now, it's not funny! lol

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's a ridiculously long story so the fact I kept your attention is amazing, so thanks for that. It's been up for a while so I sometimes forget to check this site (a newer version is being posted elsewhere) so sorry if its' taken me a while to respond. I'm so pleased you enjoyed it so much. Thanks for the review!

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by Becca The girl least likely

8th December 2016:
I'm actually reading this through a second time, I really enjoy your story telling! I think that this chapter and the last highlight one of my favorite things: Bea and Laura's relationship. My older sister and I have one that's suuuper similar, and it made things difficult for me in high school when I had to break through being "the second coming." But I love the moments between them where it's obvious that even if Laura sometimes resents Bea for what she puts her through, the two of them are still sisters and Laura does love her a lot. The sister bond breaks through the stigma of Cauldwell, and I really appreciate the way you recognized that in this story. :)

Author's Response: You know, I used to know someone who was in that situation too - a close friend in primary school had a Bea, though it was a brother, not a sister. I suspect I subconsciously based Bea on that relationship. My friend had to change schools to end the "sister of" stigma, but Laura didn't have that luxury. I agree, though, that the sibling bond does overcome the social ostracising the younger sibling has - despite the bad press, that person is still their brotehr/sister, and that comes through. I'm very glad you think I captured that because I was certainly aiming to. Thanks for the comment!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by dramione Exams

21st November 2016:
cute, and i would like to see more advancement in the relationship. Then again, i still have half the book to go.

Author's Response: Yes, there's quite a bit to go yet. Though I do like torturing people and making them wait, hahahaha. Glad you're enjoying it!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Sushmita Epilogue

10th November 2016:
This story was exceptionally good and I was surprised U hadn't won a dobby award in the Marauder era category. Your attention to detail, way of bringing the characters to life was unbelievably good. I wish u would write more stories as after this story I read everything you had written from your author's page. You are just that amazing! You have gotten me hooked to Harry potter fan fiction now and I cant get any other work done.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! What a lovely thing to say. I admit I did want that Marauder era Dobby (as well as the canon one) but it never happened. However, one Dobby is better than none and I'm definitely not complaining. I've been working on some original fiction in my time away from this site so that may make an appearance eventually, otherwise it's just been tidying up what I already had and working on YotS. I hope you do manage to get some work done though - it's bad enough me wanting to write through my work day without you wanting to read as well!!

thanks for the reviews, they really did make my day.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by Sushmita Cataclysm

4th November 2016:
That ending was spine chilling! The omnipresent Voldemort, in case we forgot.

Author's Response: Yes that was kind of chilling, wasn't it? But that was very much the idea. Sudden, horrific, no warning. Because that's what (I believe) the first war was like. Glad you appreciated that!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by Sushmita Confessions

3rd November 2016:
I think I enjoyed the wait. It added to the romance. I think this is the one chapter I would want to read over and over.

Author's Response: I'm very glad you enjoyed the wait, because there were a number of people who were very keen to hurry it all up. But I had a very strict story plan and The Snog had to happen now, not before. Thanks for the feedback.

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by Sushmita Snowballing

3rd November 2016:
OMG! So hot! I'm totally in love with Sirius and Laura. I love the way u write and how everything flows so well.

Author's Response: Thanks! This was a rather popular chapter when it was first posted - glad it still gets that reaction. :)
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by Sushmita The worst news possible

3rd November 2016:
"I think Id rather get Kissed by a Dementor than have a life like that" so much irony built into that last line. You are a fantastic writer and ur attention to detail regarding everything is amazing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I did put a lot of work into this story so it's really nice to have that appreciated. Glad you're enjoying it. :)

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by AL Return to Hogwarts

14th September 2016:
Intriguing beginning. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! So pleased you enjoyed it.
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by AbraxanUnicorn Epilogue

11th September 2016:
This is pure brilliance! Read it in just over 24hrs and got virtually nothing else done during that time as I was too desperate to get on with the story to be distracted by real life. I wish Laura hadn't met the end she had, but I see why in order to fit in with JKR's original story.
Have to say, Laura and Padfoot's dallying in the middle of this was excruciating. It took a lot of inward strength not to screech "oh for goodness sake!!" at my computer as they almost got together then didn't quite. 10/10

Author's Response: Really? Why thank you! It's not often people sit and read something this long in a binge like that so it's really lovely when people say they've done it with your story. *beams* And thank you for understanding why she had to die, as not eveyrone did. :)

As for that extremely frustrating bit in the middle, well it was enormously fun to write, though I do understand how people were throwing things at their computers. But I had a very strict story plan and The Snog couldn't happen until the end of the calendar year. So I just tortured them both for a while, hahaha. *evil grin*

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by TidalDragon Return to Hogwarts

7th August 2016:
Howdy! Believe it or not, I have never read this story despite the fact it's gotten so many recommendations from so many people I trust with this things. I'm here now though and trying to rectify that situation, even though I know you're editing (or contemplating it anyway).

I want to start by saying that I think the characterizations are excellent from the off. You give Laura a distinct voice and a background that makes it easy to accept her as the narrator as well. Though I'm not sure if this was a conscious choice (I think it was...), her half-blood heritage and the details of her upbringing that you described also give you this great extra latitude to explain a lot of what you do, whereas with other characters it would feel like too much telling. On top of that, though I'm not sure if you're from there and thus have an inside track on what Scottish speech reads and sounds like, Mary's dialogue read exactly how I've imagined the accent reading based on hearing it before (and being pathetically unable to capture it in writing myself) and so I thought that deserved a special shout-out.

As an introductory chapter, there wasn't a huge amount going on here plot-wise, but unlike many such chapters from many writers, it was egregiously short nor painfully boring. Even with background and history taking center stage for much of this, your writing bridged the gap, being more prosaic than simple at times, but nevertheless constantly retaining a delightful accessibility.

The two things I did notice that I wanted to comment on from another perspective were: (1) "diffuse" about mid-chapter and (2) the number of students you selected. For the first, I wanted to know legitimately if that spelling is the one you use in the situation described (because here we use "defuse"). Likewise, I was really interested in your rationale for the nine (9) Gryffindors in Laura's year. Was it based on JKR's rather odd canon math and portrayals or something more?

In any event, I thought this was an excellent start and though I've become painfully sluggish at reviewing, I'm hoping I'll get back to read the remainder of this story soon - it deserves every accolade and recommendation it's ever gotten!

Author's Response: Hi Kevin! Thanks for the review!!

Well. Where to start. I think you've hit on why I wanted to make Laura half-blood - it does give me a lot of leeway and besides it's fun to throw in all the Muggle references. :) I'm not from the UK so Mary's accent was a mixture of guesswork and research, but I've had people from Scotland compliment me on it so I must have done something right. That said, in the new version it's toned down a bit - not all of it, but some of it. When I came back to it after 5 years even I was finding it hard to read, hahaha.

YOu are right about diffuse/defuse, and that correction has been made in the new version. Funny thing is I didn't even realise I'd done that! So thank you.

As for the 4 boys in Gryffindor, well that's covered in a later chapter but essentially I figured that, if there was an option for Peter to hang around with someone else, he would have. So, it's just them. It may not be accurate but it's my reasoning, and I haven't seen anything to contradict that - though I haven't delved into all the depths of Pottermore yet so I may have missed something.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by Dinthemidwest The Sirius Black fan club

3rd August 2016:
I say fine with the Yule Ball! Good story & enjoyable chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! It's a stretch, I know, but I just couldn't make Sluggy's part work for me in the way I wanted it to. Thanks for the vote of confidence. :D
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by Mikaila Exams

27th July 2016:
Something just occured to me, I'm pretty sure J.K. Rowling said James was a seeker.

Author's Response: Ah, the first movie said he was a Seeker, but JKR actually made him a Chaser. It's easy to get confused, though. Just Google "James Potter Chaser" if you want to find the original quote.
cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by Mikaila Detention

26th July 2016:
I love this so much! I mean it was pretty obvious Laura and Sirius were going to end up together because of the story's intro but I love the way you are developing their romance. My mom keeps on telling me to shut up because of how much I have been squealing.

Author's Response: Yeah I know, it's totally obvious. But that's to us, not to the characters. So pleased you're enjoying it though!
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Mikaila Diagon Alley

26th July 2016:
My cousin told me J.K Rowling said there are over 1000 students at Hogwarts so I think your numbers of the new students may be off. Other than that, so far this is one of the best fanfictions I have ever read!

Author's Response: Yes, I know JKR said that, but she has also admitted that her maths is often way off. So I take her numbers with a grain of salt, as to have over 1000 students there would clearly need to be a lot more than there are in, say, Harry's year. So I've just gone with the 10 or so per House. I"ts also much easier to keep track of them that way!!

Other than that, thank you so much for the feedbaack. It's so gratifiying to have poeple appreciate your work. Thanks!

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by Nathaniel Hogsmeade under attack

15th July 2016:
Saw the authors note after I read the story, I actually think the dementor were a great dark creature to attack as it showed the power of the upcoming war and the control Voldemort had over the wizarding world.

Author's Response: Thank you! I was really quite unsure because I'd used them before, but nothing else fit the story quite as well. Thanks for the feedback!
cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #22, by Steff Epilogue

5th July 2016:
All the people wondering if still read the reviews and that in 2015. Well as often i just binge read the entire thing in a day and a night. The entire story is really well written no plot holes what so ever altough the ending was quite tragic. I realised that you didn't seem quite sure about your chapters or not really satisfied with them but i guess that is just something writers do always thinking their art isn't good and could use improvements, not realising that just their story as it was from a neutral perspective is a magnificent piece of art. Had me tear up at quite a few parts. All the best wishes and hopefully too many ideas to ever stop writing.

Author's Response: Hi! Yes I do still read reviews, and now I'm even responding to them! Amazing! But yeah, I had some time off from the site and have only recently come back. I"m really thrilled to hear that you come back to binge read this story as that's very flattering, but yes, there are still a nubmer of points I'm not happy with and I'm actually inthe process of reposting it on another site with those edits done. But thanks so much for the feedback, as it means I'm not wasting my time with this writing malarkey. :)

cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by Mello George Return to Hogwarts

30th June 2016:
The way you described the marauders was excellent!! It captured their personalities perfectly. Anyway I have only read the first chapter but it seems great so far

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I"m really glad you're enjoying it.
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by Wishing I Was Sirius Epilogue

25th April 2016:
To be honest, I had hoped that the end of Laura and Sirius would be when he went after Peter and she had moved on after the 12 years in Azkaban. This was much more heartbreaking but it makes sense as she is never mentioned in the canon. Thanks for the story as a whole

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, she had to die. AFter all, if Sirius had someone to live for he wouldn't have let the Hit Wizards take him to Azkaban without a fight, would he? So thank you for recognising that.
cheers Mel


 Report Review

Review #25, by Fugacity Epilogue

8th April 2016:
This has been up for so long that I don't know if you ever read your reviews any more - but I'll leave this review anyway...

It's clear why this story is in the top 10 on the home page. It is exceptionally well written. You did a good job sticking to cannon and making it all seem real. When Mary was murdered, I was in shock. You had done such an excellent job of characterization - giving her an authentic brogue that she became a living, breathing person to me without me quite realizing it until - she died. I kept reading all the way to the end with some dread - knowing that since Sirius was alone in the cannon that Laura was too good to last, but that with the depth of their feelings that there was no way anything but death could part them; that meant that she had to die at the end.
Laura's death made it even more authentic because life is really like that. Life is messy, life is complicated, life can be wonderful, life can be tragic, life can be mundane - but a life with love is most certainly worth living.

Author's Response: Hi! Yes, I read them, but I haven't been responding to them for a while and am only now catching up. Sorry for the delay! :)

I'm so pleased you enjoyed my story so much. I put a lot of work into it and tried to sitck as closely as I could to canon (yule ball notwithstanding) so it's really lovely when people recognise that. And that's a wonderful thing to say about Mary's characterisation, that she became a real person to you, because again that was what I was hoping for. I tried with all of them to give them good and bad points, quirks, and most of all depth as they matured, and it seems like I did okay there so thank you.

And yes, Laura had to die. Thanks for recognising that, as not everyone did.

cheers Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>