Reading Reviews for How to tame a Marauder
  
3,866 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Tris  Epilogue

3rd October 2014:
I knew that had to happen, but I just wish it has been in a way more noble and good. I know you wanted to stick to cannon but. This must be why my friend told me to skip this chapter and just read the ulster ate ending, yes I am crying and a mess but I really think it was best... But odd you have to break my heart with that last line? Also some other thought--poor Lilly and James. GAH it is so sad. I wish JKR would write a Murauders prequal, would be so good! And yeah love the story understand the ending even though my heart has been shattered.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Nic Epilogue

3rd October 2014:
As in agreement to most of the other reviews; a totally heart breaking chapter but understandable for the story line. I knew from as soon as Sirius and Laura started dating that she would have to die, to fit in with JKR's storyline, but it didn't make it any easier. It would have been worse to break them up. The ending compliments the real HP novels, and provides an explanation to Sirius' often bitter and reckless behaviour.

Overall, this story and your writing is brilliant. I admire your 62 chapters (must've taken ages to write) but have to admit I read the whole story in just over 24 hours (totally addicting). As I've stated in a review of the chapter in which Mary died, I am not really into fanfiction neither am I a huge potter-nut, but happened to find my way onto this story, and couldn't put it down, so to speak. So I just want to say congratulations on a smoothly written, heart warming and heart wrenching (I cried) and above all, very clever story. Legend! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #3, by Tris  It's all about James

3rd October 2014:
Just reaps g this and thinking who they really should have had more time together. If yet had not both been so stubborn they could have been together for longer before they both died :( so sad to think about.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Nic Mary

2nd October 2014:
Wow... I actually cried real tears. This may just be a fanfiction story, but you have a wonderful gift for writing. The whole story has been excellent so far, and I've spent a whole day reading it up to this point, neglecting my homework in the process (oops), but although I highly doubt you still check these reviews, I think you should know you've done very well. I've never got into fanction, and completely out of the blue ended up on this site, in 2014, despite my own potter-obsession being greatly diminished now all the books and films are finished, but truly, this story is excellent. I read a few shorter ones which were okay, but not to this standard. You've worked in so many subtle details from the series, recently the 'snuffles' nickname, which has been very clever. Once again, I highly doubt you ever reading this, but thank you for the excellent story that has actually made me laugh and cry! You have a gift.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Pia Bathgate Epilogue

1st October 2014:
I believe that, as a whole, the story is thoroughly enjoyable. however, the beginning was absokutelty tedious, and, whilst it did pride information on both Sirius and Jamss from an unbiased perspective, the fact that our protagonist was so tedious and undesirable set the mood for the writing. About a third if the way through, it gorbtinyeresting. I loved all you're dead for the story and particularly your characterisation of James,, Siruis and Severus for the first half and then the girls, particularly Lily, Elvira, Peter and Moody.mI adored your references to all the ahoy warts secrets and little giveaways from Snape's memories. I really changed my perspective on these characters as a whole and I think you portrayed them in a wonderfully unique and modern way, However,I think it was a bit too modern in terms of speak, dress and actions. I think that the deaths of Laura and Mary, and the break ups, though they did make me cry for hours afterwards, could have been a bit more dramatic. I love how you chose to end them, and the relationship of Remus with Charlotte, because the girls would have obviously influenced the future. Thoroughly entertaining, but could be improved to make it worthy if publishing officially. Thank you so much.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Emily1990 Hogsmeade under attack

19th September 2014:
Nope you don't have to have been prefect to get Head Boy.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Emily1990 Bertram's end

19th September 2014:
Isn't Filch's cat called Mrs Noris not Mrs Clay??
All in all the story is good :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Emily1990 Coming of age

19th September 2014:
hi, the name Marauder was definitely a secret. I think there was a bit where Snape had a bit of an idea, when he finds Harry with the Map, but it wasn't obvious, just a suggestion that he might have known.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Emily1990 The Sirius Black fan club

18th September 2014:
The Yule Ball was always held in conjunction with the Triwizard Tournament. When the tournament was consider too dangerous and consequently stopped, so was the Yule Ball.

 Report Review

Review #10, by XxXEllieXxX Return to Hogwarts

4th August 2014:
really really well written. Good Job

 Report Review

Review #11, by JamesAlbusLilyLuna At the Potters'

22nd July 2014:
did you know your EVIL !

 Report Review

Review #12, by JamesAlbusLilyLuna Snowballing

22nd July 2014:
epp ! ruddy heck ! FINALLY !

 Report Review

Review #13, by JamesAlbusLilyLuna The effects of Hogsmeade

21st July 2014:
wa bloody hufflepuff !
me no want bertram ! Sirius/laura all the way !

 Report Review

Review #14, by JamesAlbusLilyLuna And classes begin again

21st July 2014:
Wet dog ?! (squeals)
I have been so waiting for this ! Sirius Orion Black the wet dog,the mangy mutt !!! Seeing the pairing when it said sirius/OC it was kinda obvious.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Tom Epilogue

21st July 2014:
Heartbreaking chapter...

 Report Review

Review #16, by gigi Confrontations

20th July 2014:
Not sure if you still read reviews to this story Mel, but please disregard my last review about Lily knowing Moony's secret. I was obviously jumping to conclusions like Laura here and it was just that Lily was more trusting of James and the guys. Anyway, read the whole story and the related one shots and this has to be the best story I've read, better than Delicate, which even though was well written like yours, this had the better story.

 Report Review

Review #17, by gigi Confrontations

16th July 2014:
Why is there a double standard: its ok for Lily to be in on Moony's furry little problem but not ok for Laura?

 Report Review

Review #18, by LunaNotLoony Werewolves are people, too

16th July 2014:
This is a good story, and really unique too. I like how normal Laura is, and not fake Bella-Swan normal. She has a great character too, and so does everyone really, you feel like you know them. I'm totally sucked in. Though I have to say I hate how blasť this story seems about giving people cancer. My Mum has cancer, and my uncle died of it, and while you do have the sensitive issues warning, I think it's only fair to put a A/N warning at the start of the chapter really. But it is a brilliant story so far, and I mostly love your writing style.

 Report Review

Review #19, by bellawu Snowballing

11th July 2014:
Simply love this chapter, and this whole story, i can't read any other Marauder time frame stories because the characters simply do not match up! great work, cheers

 Report Review

Review #20, by nott theodore Epilogue

8th July 2014:
Wow. It's over. I can't believe I've just read through 62 chapters of this and reviewed them all in the last few days, and I've enjoyed this story so much. It's so well written and I can understand why it's so popular - very well deserved!

I think, no matter how sad this chapter made me, that it does work better for Laura to have died rather than the two of them to have broken up at the end of this story. From the story you've created, and especially the way that you wrote the relationship between the pair of them, I can't imagine either of them realistically giving up on the other and just letting the relationship come to an end - they meant too much to each other, and had Laura lived, I don't doubt they'd have married eventually.

It was awful that they hadn't killed her outright but there was nothing at all the Healers could do to save Laura. It was great in a way that she was able to save her sister from the Death Eaters, and also that she managed to take a couple of the Death Eaters attacking her out before they got to her, because that's what she wanted to do all along - fight against the people who killed Mary.

The last few lines were brilliant, and I thought they worked so well to end this story. There had to be a reason that Sirius carried on living without Laura and he clung onto something like the Order to fight in her memory. It's so believable and the way that you crafted Laura made her seem as though she could have been a canon character, and that this whole story could have taken place in the Marauders era.

Thank you for sharing this story and giving so many people hours of enjoyment when they get to read it!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by nott theodore The final journey

8th July 2014:
I can't believe I'm almost at the end of reviewing this story! It's been so brilliant to read and I'm really apprehensive for the final chapter now because I have a feeling that something's going to go wrong to keep this story in line with canon as the rest of it has been, so I kind of don't want to read that!

I loved the part when Sirius met Laura's parents. I thought that you wrote her dad's reaction to the news that she had a boyfriend really well, especially when he heard that it was a Black, because I think that the prejudice works both ways and when you know a family to be supporters of the Death Eaters, then you're not going to appreciate your daughter dating one of them! But I liked the third degree that her dad gave Sirius - no matter how intimidating others think he might be, there's no stopping a dad when it comes to protecting his daughter!

I thought that you wrote the ending really well - it brought back memories for me of leaving school and it does feel like a very big moment in your life at the time, especially for these characters since they're leaving a school they've lived in for seven years and then going out into a world where they've got to face war and all sorts of prejudice. It was a cute idea for Martha and Bernie to get together! But at the same time I'm kind of glad Remus and Charlotte don't get together in this, since it wouldn't have been realistic if all of the girls and boys had paired off together, and we know that he loved Tonks in the end. Now, I'm going to apprehensively continue to the final chapter...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by nott theodore Graduation

8th July 2014:
Normally I'm not a big fan of graduation scenes that happen at the end of Hogwarts because, with it being modelled on the British school system, graduation isn't something that usually happens. However this one felt more natural than some of the others I've read, and more believable and authentic. I think that my favourite part of it was the fact that all of the awards for being best in each subject were handed out, because that does happen over here. And I was so pleased for Laura when she got a prize as well! Technically a special commendation, I suppose, but like her parents said, it's still impressive, and better than Bea - maybe now she'll realise that she's not as mediocre as she's always thought. And of course Sirius and James would be competing for the other subjects against each other!

I wasn't surprised by Sirius's offer asking Laura to move in with him but I can understand why she said what she did as well, because it would be awkward not paying her way. And now her mum (ever perceptive) has worked out that Laura's got a boyfriend - I can't wait to see how her parents react to meeting him!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by nott theodore NEWTs

8th July 2014:
A third chapter which is basically about the exams that they have to sit and I still managed to find it interesting, yet again. I think it must have been hard to write this chapter and come up with all of the different things for them to do in their exams, especially when I think about the fact that the NEWT exams never actually took place to our knowledge in the books so there's not really much to go off when it comes to writing about them yourself. But it's impressive that you managed to write all about the different exams and still make it interesting.

I loved the little tale about Maggie Flint managed to get attacked by Devil's Snare, even though they dealt with that in first year - it was such a funny image and kind of retribution for what she's done to others. The normality of this chapter was quite refreshing because there's been a lot of drama in recent chapters, so it was nice to read something that wasn't quite so eventful! And I liked the way that Martha turned to Laura and Charlotte to get a normal reaction after the exams, plus seeing how caring and affectionate Sirius is continuing to be. It's so cute!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #24, by nott theodore Recovery

8th July 2014:
Is it really bad to say that I laughed at the first part of this chapter, when Sirius was caught 'Muggle duelling' with Snape? I really felt like Snape deserved what he got for saying all of those horrible things about Laura, and to be honest, it was in character for Sirius to punch him since we know that he's both protective and doesn't have the most even temper. I'm glad that Laura recovered okay but also that you wrote the recovery as something which took some time, because it's so easy to pretend everything's solved easily with magic. The Slytherins are so horrible to Laura unnecessarily though!

I liked the conversation with Remus when Laura learnt about the fact that Sirius is changing more under her influence than anyone other's. It was so cute to hear a friend saying something like that to her but not being annoyed at the change that's taken place. And then the part towards the end when Sirius tells Laura she'll be a Black one day anyway! ♥ That was just so adorable, and especially how embarrassed he was after he'd said it. But now I'm a bit worried, because we know he didn't marry, and then there are only a few chapters left...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #25, by nott theodore Settling the score

8th July 2014:
I'm really glad that Laura decided to go and tell Professor McGonagall about Elvira having been the one to jinx her broom. I know she normally wouldn't have wanted to snitch on anyone but really, after all that she's done to make Laura's life absolute hell this year, she does deserve to be punished with detentions or something at least. So then when we got to the section when they're actually in Dumbledore's office I was glad that they didn't try and dispute it, even if it was only because there was no point denying the fact since Dumbledore would know if they were lying. I really liked the sweet Laura and Sirius moments that there were in this chapter as well, because they were so cute to read and a nice interlude from the rest of the chapter, and the stresses of the war and the fan club in recent chapters.

Oh, and what a dramatic ending! I don't know how, with only a few chapters still left in this story, you manage to keep surprising me with what happens and something as dramatic as Laura being hit by Sectumsempra cast by Snape! I hope she's okay!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>