Reading Reviews for The Art of Breathing.
  
2,912 Reviews Found

Review #1, by bec Endings.

9th February 2015:
i really loved this story! it felt like a rollar coaster ride of emotions and i love love love the way you wrote sirus/mary it was perfect
i really wanted her to not die but if you had made a corney plot twist and somehow she survived i probably would be less impressed so this was probs the better option... still really sad though
i also really loved marlene she was great and to me she just made it more real
all in all i think this was a wonderful story and i've started reading the sequel
thankyou

 Report Review

Review #2, by shayrocks50 Endings.

27th January 2015:
Wow. Mary seems like she absolutely belongs in the marauders life, like that was supposed to happen, in order to spur on the rest of the story

 Report Review

Review #3, by shayrocks50 Burn out.

27th January 2015:
This story is so good and real its a little scary. But it kind of means a lot to me, and I have started to think as Mary and the other as real people. It weird to think their all just a string of words on a page. It's a brillant story:) but it is very very sad

 Report Review

Review #4, by alexaemd123 Endings.

24th January 2015:
I have been reading this story for a while now and I just finished it! It was beyond amazing! I absolutely without a doubt, loved it! It was funny, sad, terrifying, and so many more things that I can't sum up right now. This story is some what personal to me and I want to thank you so much for not only being a harry potter fan..Lol..but for writing such a beautiful story! At first I didn't know if I was going to like it..especially when you always wrote about Becky. Whenever you wrote she's my sister (sorta), I would get so mad at you. No offense to you but since I'm adopted I hated it when you said that. I know, obviously, that you didn't intentionally mean to write that to be mean or judgmental, but I feel like I needed to write that. I'm sorry, but that's just how I feel. Anyway, all in all this story was great and very meaningful to me. I do admit that I cried about fifty times while reading this, especially during chapters 43 and 44. Some parts that weren't supposed to be sad were sad to me and I loved it. I hate crying but while I read I always cry and its ok because no one is around me..Lol. anyways..thank you so very much for writing this story, and I can't wait to read the sequel! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by obsessed Endings.

14th January 2015:
Incredible story. You really made me feel a connection for the characters. I have to admit that I even cried. Really well written. Keep up the awesome work!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Lyra Endings.

26th September 2014:
I am crying. Literally. This was perfect- the best Sirius/OC story I've read. (I know Mary is in the books but I don't know how else to label it...) anyway, I wanted to say that your descriptions were so vivid and real. Please never stop writing. Oh, and I forgot to review the chapter with Lily's break down scene but I think that her craze is so perfect and really resonates- I will admit that I feel like that more often than is probably healthy, but I'm doing better now and I just wanted to say thanks for writing something that I can really feel. Because that's what I love about reading, how much it makes you feel.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Mae Endings.

2nd September 2014:
I think . . . I think that this is one of my favourite stories. Congratulations on this book, I really enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Mae Drifting.

2nd September 2014:
I'm not to cry a lot but I can't deny that this chapter had me in tears.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Mae Mischevious.

1st September 2014:
I just want her to tell someone already ugh

 Report Review

Review #10, by Mae Average.

1st September 2014:
I love the way you write, it's really not average.

 Report Review

Review #11, by cathilde Average.

30th August 2014:
I'm going to read this for the third time, yay :) this is the fic I cuddle up with.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Tais Grote Endings.

20th August 2014:
Just one word: amaizin!
I'm lying in bed crying my eyes out because of this amaizing story! I know everything I say is going to be sh*tty cause it's 3 am and I've cried a lot, like last 4 chapters a lot!
You are an awesome ( just not to repeat amazing again) writer and i'm impressed! You should really write, like something that its only yours and you would sell millions! I swear! And I would buy anything you'd written!
I don't even have words!
Just amazing! I smiled, I cried, I laughed, I loved, I hated, I got annoyed, I fell in love, I got my heart broken and repared again, hated loved and cried again with marry!
You have a way to put life in your characters that is just brilliant, I don't have words for how I feel about all of this!
And let me tell you: awesome work at all the feelings! I was afraid you would make her survive (because I saw there was a sequel) I almost died inside thinking that you would ruin a perfect ending.. But I was so wrong, and your ending is more perfect that I would ever imagine!
Thank you for this genius work of yours! You made life a little bit better for people out there, take all your credit, feel proud, because you should and deserve it!
Just so you remember: amazing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ribbons Endings.

11th August 2014:
With the copious reviews you've gotten for this story, I'm sure mine is like all the others, but I just really wanted to review this, because I think I might go crazy if I don't.

First of all, I LOVED IT! This was an amazing story that hit home on so many agonizing levels. You just killed me, about 45 times. In a row. I perfer to keep my body parts intact, so this story had to be pretty special for me to willing read it, knowing what kind of pain I would experience. That's a big compliment, coming from me who is usually so wrapped up in my radical ramblings that I can't even bother to remember to tell the author that I THINK THEY'RE ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! Seriously, you're terrific.

As an author, I think you've felt success when your readers are sobbing hysterically on the floor of their bedrooms at 3 in the morning, eating grapes and clawing at the carpet for salvation.
Insert me into that equation and you have my response to the final chapters of this story. In terms of actual amount of tears shed (think: pints), this evens out with Titanic. Just take a moment to let that sink in. Yes, you really have done well my friend.

First of all, let's think about what made this story so great: There was heaps of angst, but also humour, fluff and plenty of romance (oh yesss).

Secondly, the characters were never tiresome and our oh so lovely protagonist was a freakish little demon with actual problems. Not just all that 'oh he doesn't like me' crap. I am so tired of that!

Third: the romance was expertly handled and Marius (interesting ship name, no?) was absolutely beautiful, making the ending even more heart-wrenching.

Here are the facts: Mary MacDonald is dying young. Okay, cool. Stuff happens. Then you add Sirius Black, her friends, life in general, LOVE. You have the recipe for extreme feels right there. Oh, you're cruel, but isn't that what makes this such a heart wrenching story?

At the end, the interactions between Sirius and Mary...oh man! They just didn't have enough time. Never before had the thought of not having enough time on earth meant so much to me. Recently I have experienced a lot of deaths and gone to enough funerals to last a lifetime, and this story really connected with me when I thought of that. I mean, Sirius and Mary were so REAL. In a way, Mary reminded me of a cancer patient (seeing as that's the desease most prevalent at the moment in Canada). I mean, this was just all around a very beautiful handling of terminal illness.

Mary is the opposite of forgettable, her greatest fear. Somehow, she manages to defy everything I thought I knew about OCs. She can be mean, self-centered, annoying, miserable, cruel, thoughtless...and yet you love her. And Sirius! He is so perfect, but that doesn't mean he doesn't have flaws. Everyone has plenty, but together they're perfect.

It really hurts to think that in the end their love is marred by her death (I know that's a pretty obvious statement that we understood from the very beginning, but still...). It just HURTS.

And the fact that Mary shouldn't have sex, or make out with people, or play quidditch just makes me so mad. Don't even get me started on the fact that the cure is ready months after she dies. I mean, COME ON!

All those reviews, recommendations, reads, they're all for good reason. This story has it all. Everything you could want.

After you finished ripping my heart into small shreds and throwing them across the lands, I realized that even though reading it caused me incredible pain (not in a bad way, mind you), it was also a beautiful, heartfelt, unique experience. One that I never thought I would have on HPFF. You have achieved something beautiful here.

And you know what? I might just reread it. Very soon.

Well done and good luck.

(And with that I finish the longest and most rambling review I have ever left in my entire life. Wow :P)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Kathleen Endings.

28th July 2014:
I've sat here for about two minutes unable to comprehend anything. This was the most moving and totally shocking ending I couldn't have ever thought could exist. You have such a brilliant way with words and I'm still trying to figure out how you've made a character like Mary so hate-ably lovable. I'd just like to say thank you.

 Report Review

Review #15, by PolyJuice_ Endings.

9th July 2014:
helen it's done. wow. help what do i do now that it's done??? what the heck did you do when it was done? i mean, i've read this story several times and it never fails to get me. it's just so...final. the ending is just so amazingly perfect, it gives great closure. like, you'd expect death stories to leave you wanting more, to wish they hadn't died, but honestly, mary needed to die. it was perfect. it left me wishing for a mary in another universe where she was healthly, but this mary was at the perfect place for it all to end and that hurts liz. ugh okay so pretty much i loved this story so much and this chapter with all their goodbyes and their tears is so painful and ugh yeah amazing amazing amazing work, helen. *hugs tightly*

house cup 2014

liz

 Report Review

Review #16, by PolyJuice_ Burn out.

9th July 2014:
Hiya, it's kinda like genesis, this chappie, the way it's formatted. idk might just be me. i love rachael and charlotte and i'm so glad you added them because it was just what mar and the girls needed. and the nail painting aw it's the last time any of them will pain marys nails ugh why am i thinking such things help and the talk with her family and her dad D; and sirius's goodbye and ugh i can't take this and mary's goodbye bah too sad for liz. i loved this chapter, especially the seventh day just because of all the emotion in it without actually really saying much it just was so touching.

house cup 2014

liz

one more review. D;

 Report Review

Review #17, by PolyJuice_ Drifting.

9th July 2014:
Look who it is; it's a Liz. And Remus going through his phase that I can't mention by name because you know 12+ rules and all that and I don't wanna be warned and Marlene is pregnant and oh god she screwed up and no no no because Regulus, and the Johnny talk ugh I love that kid, and Lily's batty because she doesn't believe in love and oh no, you love James, lily you're crazy, and Karen and Mary forgiving her at long last and oh thank god because I liked Karen and only a week left and oh my god i don't think i can do this and lets screw punctuation and grammar and sentences because liz is too sad for any of this and this review is two sentences, oops.

liz

house cup 2014

two left! D;

 Report Review

Review #18, by PolyJuice_ Awakening.

9th July 2014:
Me again, yo. Ugh what am I supposed to say? This is just too sad for me to form coherent sentences. And the part about the fork and ugh I can't. That letter Helen it's making me feel all the feels and at this point I've given up on sentences and probably will continue to for the next three chapters and it's all gonna be one long run on sentence because FEELS and sirius crying over the letter and giving Mary a ring and oh no and she loves him and he love her, and she's finally accepted she's gonna die which is so good but so so so bad and it's killing me (AND IT'S KILLING HER) and bah. Def. holding you repsonsible for the emotions

Liz

House Cup 2014

Three left!

 Report Review

Review #19, by PolyJuice_ Perspective.

9th July 2014:
It's me again. I'm so sad about this next bit ugh. But at least she's waking up. Lily would be so miserable to find her best friend dying when the last thing she said to her was an argument about what a bad friend she was and all that, especially since it wasn't true. And even now she only has three weeks to live, one of which isn't gonna be a week where she's concious, and she'll never walk and oh my gosh Helen I should hold you responsible for my lack of control over my emotions right now. In fact, I do hold you responsible. :p This is all your fault. D; Incredibly, miserably, excellent chappie!

Liz

House Cup 2014

Four left!

 Report Review

Review #20, by PolyJuice_ Descent.

9th July 2014:
Gosh, this is a long one, isn't it? (That's saying something considering this is you we're talking about! :P ) OH NO. I ONLY JUST READ THE CHAPTER TITLE. IT'S VERY ACCURATE. THIS IS INDEED THE DESCENT. OH MY GOODNESS NO. The description of her fall is absolutely horrifically real sounding and the fight and Lily and James going nuts and all of it and Sirius believing them at first and Snape writing the letter and Lily hating her best friend when they've finally started to become close again and it's all just going down and it hurts to read and why oh why are you being cruel and writing such sadness? Liz can't take sad. D; Wonderfully sad chappie, Helen. ;c

Liz

House Cup 2014

Five left!

 Report Review

Review #21, by PolyJuice_ Luck.

9th July 2014:
Hellooo, six chapters left, whew. (Oh god, I keep messing up the count, I clearly can't math, can I? To be fair I've been reviewing for what is close to three and a half hours straight this morning) This was an adorable chapter! You totally should write a short story collection of all the missing moments (happy ones, of course) between these two! I'd love you forever. *liz requests a story for like the eighth time* And James and Lily are so cute together, too, of course. Eek. I love them all. *hugs* Adorably stellar chapter, Helen. I'm gonna go head off to chapter forty now!

Liz

House Cup 2014

 Report Review

Review #22, by PolyJuice_ Empowerment II.

9th July 2014:
Eww, he kissed her vomit mouth? That's...not a nice image. Ew omg vomit. GO MARY, MAKING HIM BEG. GO YOU. AND GO MARAUDERS FOR LETTING EVERYONE LISTEN IN. IT'S TIME SIRIUS STARTED TO ACT HIS AGE RATHER THAN A MOODY LITTLE SO AND SO WHEN HIS GIRLFRIEND IS DYING. HELOVESHERHELOVESHER. Whee, her list is half finished already! And we still have eight chapters to go! (I am going through these like /mad/ oh goodness, really only eight left??) I'm so excited, and she made it up to Lily and she gave her the pensieve and now they're best friends again and Mary can talk to someone other than Remus or Nate or Sirius about it and oh my gosh I am so very freaking excited about this. Terribly wonderful chappie!

Liz

House Cup 2014

Eight left!

 Report Review

Review #23, by PolyJuice_ Empowerment.

9th July 2014:
Yo. That was yet another exciting chapter. Oh goodness, now that Jily is a thing Snape was bound to be unhappy, yeah? Gah, oh well. Mary now has 2/10 things done on her bucket list, so that's a plus, yeah? And more of Jeremy! Thank goodness, I missed the guy. He's another one who should get his own story. Also I've noticed that he seems to be very much like Sirius. Almost exactly like. It's kinda terrifying; the thought of two Sirius's. *hides* And Rachel, the poor girl really is deluding herself, isn't she? She's just always trying to be happy except she does't really know what's gonna make her happy and it never turns out well for her. Spectacularily splendid chapter, Helen!

Liz

House Cup 2014

Eight Left!

 Report Review

Review #24, by PolyJuice_ Humiliation.

9th July 2014:
REMUS KNOWS, REMUS KNOWS, REMUS KNOWS. FINALLY SOMEONE ELSE KNOWS, HECK YES. So much drama in this chapter, once again. But now Mary knows Remus's secret so they're even I suppose. We're getting so close to the climax of this story and I simply cannot wait, I'm tempted to skip chapters 37-44 and just do the last but I know if I do that I'll be far too lazy to go back and review the rest. :p Anyway, I like this group when they're drunk; they should do it more often, yes. Nine chapters left! This one was absolutely wonderfully, fantastically magnificent. (I figure since I'm reusing adjectives I should use more than one to make up for it.)

Liz

House Cup 2014

 Report Review

Review #25, by PolyJuice_ Chaotic.

9th July 2014:
Hello, aack the Becky secret comes out at last! The poor girl having to live with herself knowing that had she been the second child she'd have been in a good mental position, or even the third child, who ends up living. Ugh this story is playing with my feels far too much, Helen. D; Oh gosh, it's the bathroom scene dearie me, Mary makes quite a fool out of herself. At least now I know things are gonna begin to look up for them, because honestly, how can it get any worse? (That's totally making me feel better...) Ah well, wonderful chapter, I'm gonna head off to number thirty six now! Wheee~

liz

House Cup 2014

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>