Reading Reviews for The Art of Breathing.
  
2,901 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Tais Grote Endings.

20th August 2014:
Just one word: amaizin!
I'm lying in bed crying my eyes out because of this amaizing story! I know everything I say is going to be sh*tty cause it's 3 am and I've cried a lot, like last 4 chapters a lot!
You are an awesome ( just not to repeat amazing again) writer and i'm impressed! You should really write, like something that its only yours and you would sell millions! I swear! And I would buy anything you'd written!
I don't even have words!
Just amazing! I smiled, I cried, I laughed, I loved, I hated, I got annoyed, I fell in love, I got my heart broken and repared again, hated loved and cried again with marry!
You have a way to put life in your characters that is just brilliant, I don't have words for how I feel about all of this!
And let me tell you: awesome work at all the feelings! I was afraid you would make her survive (because I saw there was a sequel) I almost died inside thinking that you would ruin a perfect ending.. But I was so wrong, and your ending is more perfect that I would ever imagine!
Thank you for this genius work of yours! You made life a little bit better for people out there, take all your credit, feel proud, because you should and deserve it!
Just so you remember: amazing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ribbons Endings.

11th August 2014:
With the copious reviews you've gotten for this story, I'm sure mine is like all the others, but I just really wanted to review this, because I think I might go crazy if I don't.

First of all, I LOVED IT! This was an amazing story that hit home on so many agonizing levels. You just killed me, about 45 times. In a row. I perfer to keep my body parts intact, so this story had to be pretty special for me to willing read it, knowing what kind of pain I would experience. That's a big compliment, coming from me who is usually so wrapped up in my radical ramblings that I can't even bother to remember to tell the author that I THINK THEY'RE ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! Seriously, you're terrific.

As an author, I think you've felt success when your readers are sobbing hysterically on the floor of their bedrooms at 3 in the morning, eating grapes and clawing at the carpet for salvation.
Insert me into that equation and you have my response to the final chapters of this story. In terms of actual amount of tears shed (think: pints), this evens out with Titanic. Just take a moment to let that sink in. Yes, you really have done well my friend.

First of all, let's think about what made this story so great: There was heaps of angst, but also humour, fluff and plenty of romance (oh yesss).

Secondly, the characters were never tiresome and our oh so lovely protagonist was a freakish little demon with actual problems. Not just all that 'oh he doesn't like me' crap. I am so tired of that!

Third: the romance was expertly handled and Marius (interesting ship name, no?) was absolutely beautiful, making the ending even more heart-wrenching.

Here are the facts: Mary MacDonald is dying young. Okay, cool. Stuff happens. Then you add Sirius Black, her friends, life in general, LOVE. You have the recipe for extreme feels right there. Oh, you're cruel, but isn't that what makes this such a heart wrenching story?

At the end, the interactions between Sirius and Mary...oh man! They just didn't have enough time. Never before had the thought of not having enough time on earth meant so much to me. Recently I have experienced a lot of deaths and gone to enough funerals to last a lifetime, and this story really connected with me when I thought of that. I mean, Sirius and Mary were so REAL. In a way, Mary reminded me of a cancer patient (seeing as that's the desease most prevalent at the moment in Canada). I mean, this was just all around a very beautiful handling of terminal illness.

Mary is the opposite of forgettable, her greatest fear. Somehow, she manages to defy everything I thought I knew about OCs. She can be mean, self-centered, annoying, miserable, cruel, thoughtless...and yet you love her. And Sirius! He is so perfect, but that doesn't mean he doesn't have flaws. Everyone has plenty, but together they're perfect.

It really hurts to think that in the end their love is marred by her death (I know that's a pretty obvious statement that we understood from the very beginning, but still...). It just HURTS.

And the fact that Mary shouldn't have sex, or make out with people, or play quidditch just makes me so mad. Don't even get me started on the fact that the cure is ready months after she dies. I mean, COME ON!

All those reviews, recommendations, reads, they're all for good reason. This story has it all. Everything you could want.

After you finished ripping my heart into small shreds and throwing them across the lands, I realized that even though reading it caused me incredible pain (not in a bad way, mind you), it was also a beautiful, heartfelt, unique experience. One that I never thought I would have on HPFF. You have achieved something beautiful here.

And you know what? I might just reread it. Very soon.

Well done and good luck.

(And with that I finish the longest and most rambling review I have ever left in my entire life. Wow :P)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Kathleen Endings.

28th July 2014:
I've sat here for about two minutes unable to comprehend anything. This was the most moving and totally shocking ending I couldn't have ever thought could exist. You have such a brilliant way with words and I'm still trying to figure out how you've made a character like Mary so hate-ably lovable. I'd just like to say thank you.

 Report Review

Review #4, by PolyJuice_ Endings.

9th July 2014:
helen it's done. wow. help what do i do now that it's done??? what the heck did you do when it was done? i mean, i've read this story several times and it never fails to get me. it's just so...final. the ending is just so amazingly perfect, it gives great closure. like, you'd expect death stories to leave you wanting more, to wish they hadn't died, but honestly, mary needed to die. it was perfect. it left me wishing for a mary in another universe where she was healthly, but this mary was at the perfect place for it all to end and that hurts liz. ugh okay so pretty much i loved this story so much and this chapter with all their goodbyes and their tears is so painful and ugh yeah amazing amazing amazing work, helen. *hugs tightly*

house cup 2014

liz

 Report Review

Review #5, by PolyJuice_ Burn out.

9th July 2014:
Hiya, it's kinda like genesis, this chappie, the way it's formatted. idk might just be me. i love rachael and charlotte and i'm so glad you added them because it was just what mar and the girls needed. and the nail painting aw it's the last time any of them will pain marys nails ugh why am i thinking such things help and the talk with her family and her dad D; and sirius's goodbye and ugh i can't take this and mary's goodbye bah too sad for liz. i loved this chapter, especially the seventh day just because of all the emotion in it without actually really saying much it just was so touching.

house cup 2014

liz

one more review. D;

 Report Review

Review #6, by PolyJuice_ Drifting.

9th July 2014:
Look who it is; it's a Liz. And Remus going through his phase that I can't mention by name because you know 12+ rules and all that and I don't wanna be warned and Marlene is pregnant and oh god she screwed up and no no no because Regulus, and the Johnny talk ugh I love that kid, and Lily's batty because she doesn't believe in love and oh no, you love James, lily you're crazy, and Karen and Mary forgiving her at long last and oh thank god because I liked Karen and only a week left and oh my god i don't think i can do this and lets screw punctuation and grammar and sentences because liz is too sad for any of this and this review is two sentences, oops.

liz

house cup 2014

two left! D;

 Report Review

Review #7, by PolyJuice_ Awakening.

9th July 2014:
Me again, yo. Ugh what am I supposed to say? This is just too sad for me to form coherent sentences. And the part about the fork and ugh I can't. That letter Helen it's making me feel all the feels and at this point I've given up on sentences and probably will continue to for the next three chapters and it's all gonna be one long run on sentence because FEELS and sirius crying over the letter and giving Mary a ring and oh no and she loves him and he love her, and she's finally accepted she's gonna die which is so good but so so so bad and it's killing me (AND IT'S KILLING HER) and bah. Def. holding you repsonsible for the emotions

Liz

House Cup 2014

Three left!

 Report Review

Review #8, by PolyJuice_ Perspective.

9th July 2014:
It's me again. I'm so sad about this next bit ugh. But at least she's waking up. Lily would be so miserable to find her best friend dying when the last thing she said to her was an argument about what a bad friend she was and all that, especially since it wasn't true. And even now she only has three weeks to live, one of which isn't gonna be a week where she's concious, and she'll never walk and oh my gosh Helen I should hold you responsible for my lack of control over my emotions right now. In fact, I do hold you responsible. :p This is all your fault. D; Incredibly, miserably, excellent chappie!

Liz

House Cup 2014

Four left!

 Report Review

Review #9, by PolyJuice_ Descent.

9th July 2014:
Gosh, this is a long one, isn't it? (That's saying something considering this is you we're talking about! :P ) OH NO. I ONLY JUST READ THE CHAPTER TITLE. IT'S VERY ACCURATE. THIS IS INDEED THE DESCENT. OH MY GOODNESS NO. The description of her fall is absolutely horrifically real sounding and the fight and Lily and James going nuts and all of it and Sirius believing them at first and Snape writing the letter and Lily hating her best friend when they've finally started to become close again and it's all just going down and it hurts to read and why oh why are you being cruel and writing such sadness? Liz can't take sad. D; Wonderfully sad chappie, Helen. ;c

Liz

House Cup 2014

Five left!

 Report Review

Review #10, by PolyJuice_ Luck.

9th July 2014:
Hellooo, six chapters left, whew. (Oh god, I keep messing up the count, I clearly can't math, can I? To be fair I've been reviewing for what is close to three and a half hours straight this morning) This was an adorable chapter! You totally should write a short story collection of all the missing moments (happy ones, of course) between these two! I'd love you forever. *liz requests a story for like the eighth time* And James and Lily are so cute together, too, of course. Eek. I love them all. *hugs* Adorably stellar chapter, Helen. I'm gonna go head off to chapter forty now!

Liz

House Cup 2014

 Report Review

Review #11, by PolyJuice_ Empowerment II.

9th July 2014:
Eww, he kissed her vomit mouth? That's...not a nice image. Ew omg vomit. GO MARY, MAKING HIM BEG. GO YOU. AND GO MARAUDERS FOR LETTING EVERYONE LISTEN IN. IT'S TIME SIRIUS STARTED TO ACT HIS AGE RATHER THAN A MOODY LITTLE SO AND SO WHEN HIS GIRLFRIEND IS DYING. HELOVESHERHELOVESHER. Whee, her list is half finished already! And we still have eight chapters to go! (I am going through these like /mad/ oh goodness, really only eight left??) I'm so excited, and she made it up to Lily and she gave her the pensieve and now they're best friends again and Mary can talk to someone other than Remus or Nate or Sirius about it and oh my gosh I am so very freaking excited about this. Terribly wonderful chappie!

Liz

House Cup 2014

Eight left!

 Report Review

Review #12, by PolyJuice_ Empowerment.

9th July 2014:
Yo. That was yet another exciting chapter. Oh goodness, now that Jily is a thing Snape was bound to be unhappy, yeah? Gah, oh well. Mary now has 2/10 things done on her bucket list, so that's a plus, yeah? And more of Jeremy! Thank goodness, I missed the guy. He's another one who should get his own story. Also I've noticed that he seems to be very much like Sirius. Almost exactly like. It's kinda terrifying; the thought of two Sirius's. *hides* And Rachel, the poor girl really is deluding herself, isn't she? She's just always trying to be happy except she does't really know what's gonna make her happy and it never turns out well for her. Spectacularily splendid chapter, Helen!

Liz

House Cup 2014

Eight Left!

 Report Review

Review #13, by PolyJuice_ Humiliation.

9th July 2014:
REMUS KNOWS, REMUS KNOWS, REMUS KNOWS. FINALLY SOMEONE ELSE KNOWS, HECK YES. So much drama in this chapter, once again. But now Mary knows Remus's secret so they're even I suppose. We're getting so close to the climax of this story and I simply cannot wait, I'm tempted to skip chapters 37-44 and just do the last but I know if I do that I'll be far too lazy to go back and review the rest. :p Anyway, I like this group when they're drunk; they should do it more often, yes. Nine chapters left! This one was absolutely wonderfully, fantastically magnificent. (I figure since I'm reusing adjectives I should use more than one to make up for it.)

Liz

House Cup 2014

 Report Review

Review #14, by PolyJuice_ Chaotic.

9th July 2014:
Hello, aack the Becky secret comes out at last! The poor girl having to live with herself knowing that had she been the second child she'd have been in a good mental position, or even the third child, who ends up living. Ugh this story is playing with my feels far too much, Helen. D; Oh gosh, it's the bathroom scene dearie me, Mary makes quite a fool out of herself. At least now I know things are gonna begin to look up for them, because honestly, how can it get any worse? (That's totally making me feel better...) Ah well, wonderful chapter, I'm gonna head off to number thirty six now! Wheee~

liz

House Cup 2014

 Report Review

Review #15, by PolyJuice_ Disintegrate.

9th July 2014:
Hiya, eleven to go! Ugh so much drama in this chapter! Finally Sirius talks to Mayr about the whole dying thing. But oh poor Lily, she really needs to know. She's losing friends by the dozen here and she's very clearly not taking things well. I love your Lily; she's realistic and ack all 'round amazing. Mary! The simplest way to get out of this blackmailing situation is to TELL everyone, you silly creature. Just do it, aah you're hurting me. *shakes fist at Helen* this is your fault for making her so darn stubborn. Only a few more chapters until Lily knows, though thank god. I'm gonna head to the next now, bye! Fantastic chappie!

Liz

House Cup 2014

 Report Review

Review #16, by PolyJuice_ Marauding.

9th July 2014:
Right, okay I forgot I did the other one before, for a Decree. So now I'm down to thirteen left! Okay, yay a James chapter! Guy talk, heck yeah. They're all complete and utter fools and I love them for it. Ugh, none of them are particularly good at this whole girl thing, are they? It's no wonder none of them ever turn out. But oh goodies, next chapter it looks like Sirius is finally gonna confront Mary about all this secrecy business. *sigh* If only he were actually able to read minds. That'd solve so many issues here. But then, I suppose we'd not have a story. :p Anyway, lovely chapter, am off to the next!

Liz

House Cup 2014

 Report Review

Review #17, by PolyJuice_ Acceptance.

9th July 2014:
Hiya, it's the party, yay. Shame it was boring. Sirius is right. Alcohol makes everything better. (But what would Helen know about alcohol? :P) Aaaw, Mary pointing out that she's had her last full year. Oh my poor baby. *squishes* Oh goodness, here'a another thing I forgot! The whole Becky thing, oh no oh no oh no. Oh my goodness that cat scene was the best, I love it. Of course Peter was terrified. This chapter was so cute! It was all happy fluff and eek, happy fluff is the best type of chapter. I'm gonna head to the next chapter *whew* I'm in the thirties, finally!

House Cup 2014

Liz

Fourteen left! (I miscounted somewhere)

 Report Review

Review #18, by PolyJuice_ Shift.

9th July 2014:
Hi again. Oh God, Sirius's injuries, poor guy! (Reading this story I keep remembering plotlines I'd forgotten such as Malone and Sirius in the hospital!) But why didn't Dumbledore detect traces of magic and send a letter to Johnny? Phew, at least he's not gonna die, oh my gosh how d'you think their Dad would've taken that news? *sweats thinking about it* Yay, she has the bike now! Now they get to snuggle up on said bike and be all cute together, heck yeah. WHEEE, it's the party! Time to make the loser jealous. *cheers* Lovely chapter, Helen, I am off to the next to watch Malone suffer!

House Cup 2014

Liz

Sixteen to go!

 Report Review

Review #19, by PolyJuice_ Unwelcome & Unforeseen.

9th July 2014:
Hellooo. Aaw, poor Regulus! I love the kid; Mary's right, it is horrible that a fifteen year old would think he needed to threaten to have people killed in order for others to do him a favour. AND MARY'S PRESENT, OH. A FLYING MOTORBIKE HECK YES. Ack, Karen and the baby. She's so cute! Mary, why the heck don't you like her? ;c OH MY GOD AND JOHNNY DID MAGIC OH DEARIE ME. THIS ISN'T GOOD, THE POOR KID. (I mean, it's not like it's really any shock to me at this point, but it still hurts. :P ) Lets hope he's clean, yeah? *crosses fingers* Honestly, I genuinely can't remember the result. But I don't think it matters because of the cure, yeah? Anyway, I suppose I'll just head to the next chappie to relearn his results, yeah? Wonderful chapter!

House Cup 2014

Liz

Seventeen to go

 Report Review

Review #20, by PolyJuice_ Comfort.

9th July 2014:
Hiya again. Oh goodness, Mary isn't good at this whole emotional intimacy, is she? But why do you dismiss Peter as foolish/comic relief? D; I love Peter, he's a good character~ OH well, we least we get the snowball fight and Sirius Mary in the snow, yay. Oh, if only Sirius hadn't messed things up with McGonagall, the idiot. :p Oh my gosh she called the cat Pads. I'm sure the Marauders got a huge laugh out of that one, eh? Eeeek, you left the chapter off on a happy note! This is a new thing that never happens, yesss~ Since everyone is so happy at the moment I think I'll start on the next chapter right away before things get too ugly with your characters. :p You're a cruel writer. Excellent chapter, Helen, loved it.

House Cup 2014

Liz

Eighteen left!

 Report Review

Review #21, by PolyJuice_ Progress II.

9th July 2014:
Hola! Yay, date time with Jeremy! Oh no oh no oh no, Mary and Sirius! You complete and utter morons. How could you kiss him while he was dating Amanda? Oh goodnes, you fools. And then let her /catch/ you two at it? Nuh uh I can't deal, help. But at least I have the image of Alice imitating a lizard to comfort me. Wheee~ Snow day next chapter! I can't wait. I love when all your characters just get a chance to be happy and laugh. They're all so adorable and I just wanna pluck them from the screen and hug them and never let them go. Marvelous chapter! I'm gonna grab some food and head off to the next one. Nineteen left~

House Cup 2014

Liz

 Report Review

Review #22, by PolyJuice_ Progress.

9th July 2014:
Hullo, it's me again. Jememy Wood, ugh yes. I love this guy, and I love Lily and Alice for setting him and Mary up. I can't wait for their date. And heck yes, more Marlene. You need to put Marlene in every chapter. Or better yet give her her own story. *casually suggests for the second time* I'm so happy that everyone came to the infirmary to visit Becky, and that they were able to make her laugh again. I really like her. I don't really know why, but I think she's my favourite of Mary's various family members for sure. How old is she? I think I must've missed that, but I can't for the life of my remember. Stupendous chapter as I'm sure you've guess I was to say.

House Cup 2014

Liz

(ONLY TWENTY MORE CHAPTERS TO GO.)

 Report Review

Review #23, by PolyJuice_ Consequences.

9th July 2014:
Mooorning! Oh goodness, Mary's caught in the stairs! Silly thing, why didn't you remember the castle is practically carnivorous? At least Sirius came to help~ ;) I love the Mary-coming-into-Sirius's-bed-late-at-night thing, aah. It's just such a shame it had to end how it always does - in a big screaming match, followed by then ending of their friendship, yet again. Oh well, I just have to tough it out for a few more chapters until they get together, right? *rubs hands excitedly* Ooooh, I can't waaait! Stellar chapter, Helen, I'm off to the neeext.

House Cup 2014

Liz

 Report Review

Review #24, by PolyJuice_ Tranquillity.

9th July 2014:
hi so i've got a massive headache so i'm thinking this'll be the last chapter tonight. eep, sorry. i'll still try and squeeze in a few more tomorrow morning before i leave (i should be able to do so if i wake up before noon :P ) because i really wanted to do the whole story, but i'm having issues seeing - it's turning into a bit of a migrane. but anyway. here we go~ i really like this chapter because even if sirius and mary aren't making forward development, they're still making tons of development, period. i love james being purposefully annoying to lily, especially now that he knows it's working (lily, undoing buttons? charming, really.) there are just so many things i love about this chapter, but i can't stop focusing in on the jily. :p anyway, lovely chapter, as i'm sure you know.

house cup 2014

liz

 Report Review

Review #25, by PolyJuice_ Pain.

9th July 2014:
this chapter is called pain. PAIN. PAIN. do you think this is an acceptable amount of foreshadowing? now i really don't wanna read it for fear of crying. poor mary getting to the point where she begins to wish that ria doesn't remember her. mary mary mary it is better to have loved and lost than to have not loved at all or something along those lines. in other words, stop feeling sorry for yourseeelf~ and ugh marlene not wanting to help with the cure just tore my heart out. and then snape confronting mary? this chapter really is named well, isn't it? bah there should be a sadness cap on each story. i think you've way over. :P fab chappie, helen.

house cup 2014

liz

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>