Reading Reviews for A Christmas Carol
  
48 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LilyPotter White Christmas

30th July 2013:
I loved this story, it was really cute and fluffy in a good way. I have also checked out some other of your stories and their lovely. Your really good at writing!

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much for the kind words! I'm glad you enjoyed this and my other stories. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by LilyPotter Still, Still, Still

30th July 2013:
That is the most adorable thing ever! Your very well written as well!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Still, Still, Still

12th December 2012:
Awww; this is so sweet and just really lovely!

Most of the fics I've read about James and Lily (post-Hogwarts) have been about the night they died, so this was a very refreshing! It's just a perfect little moment out of Lily and James' short time with Harry, and the "normalcy" of it (for lack of a better word), really helped me to connect with it.

The thing that stood out to me the most was James' characterization. I love, love, LOVE that, even though he's a grown man and a father now, he's still a tiny bit immature. That's just SO realistic and just classic James (at least in my head-canon, that is :P).

The line "James had never been to a carol service before" was a nice touch; great attention to detail, there! But my favorite line of the whole thing was, "Have we had enough proper Christmas yet?"! I laughed out loud when I read that!

I really don't know why, but I got really wary for some reason when Bathilda showed up. (Probably because the last thing I remember about her was DH - and we ALL know how scary that turned out!) As I kept reading, though, I thought it was really nice to see her um... pre-snake?

Okay, enough about the snake! :P This really is just adorable and lovely, and perfectly written! Amazing piece! 10/10!

Holiday Review Extravaganza Event Two.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it. I don't see a lot of Lily/James stories set at this point in their lives, but it's an interesting time to me because they're really still so young and their happiness as young parents was just so brief. That makes me super sad, and I process sad HP feelings by writing drabbles like this ;)

He's definitely still immature I think, he's only 21 here. Still very young. I loved giving Bathilda a cameo as her real self, though I wasn't sure how to write her since the only thing we see of her in the books that's really her is Lily's brief mention in the letter to Sirius.

Thank you again, and thanks for the review! Happy review holiday!


 Report Review

Review #4, by writeyourheartout Still, Still, Still

18th July 2012:
This was so sweet and simple and lovely and I now wish it were Christmas! Although I am unfamiliar with the song you used, it fit perfectly with the tale. ^.^

These kinds of stories are always so bittersweet for me. It's such a wonderful idea - the happy family of Potters doing normal things like attending service during Christmas, watching the Nativity Play, thinking about the days when their own son will be up there delivering lines that he barely remembers. But it's hard to think that none of these things happen past this point! This is their only Christmas, Harry probably never steps foot inside a church again, even.

It was so nice that you thought to set them up in this situation where they would use the church that we come across in Deathly Hallows when Harry and Hermione visit their graves. I know that the entire story was laced only with the happy simplicity of a family's first Christmas together, and I love that you didn't foreshadow things to come or anything, but allowed us as readers to connect back to that if we so chose to. It's just really cool how this story can be completely innocent and also entirely sad! haha

I really love it when people bring canon facts into a story, so when Bathilda showed up I was like 'Oh, yeah, cool, that was really from the story!' LOL I must be easy to please or something... haha

I thought James and Lily's relationship with each other and with Harry was all so realistic, it was almost like reading a snippet from JK Rowling herself if she decided to give us a slight insight into what Harry's life was almost like.

Also, I just love your descriptions. You paint a very clear picture with your words, which is not always something I can do, and you make even what could be a very mundane activity seem enchanting. The walk to the church was one of my favorite moments: The snow-covered path, the music growing louder, James arm around Lily and Harry. Idk, it made me smile. :-)

Simple, lovely, bittersweet and very enjoyable. You're so talented. I hate you.

No, no, that's just the bitter envy. Ignore that. ^.^

Author's Response: I think this is a less popular carol these days - it's an older one, and you don't hear it much. It's nice though, sort of peaceful and calm.

It's sad to think of the Potters during the period when they're happy and content with their little family, knowing how little time they have left together. Dreaming of days that will never come for them.

I adore bringing canon in as much as possible. I especially adore obscure canon. I don't think Bathilda counts as obscure, but I do love it. Anyway, I'm glad you liked her appearance here!

Poor Harry. The life he almost had. Well, did have, until he was a year old, poor little thing.

Thank you so much for the compliment on description - I always feel like that's my weakest point in my writing. I'm so pleased that you thought it was good! And aw, you silly. You're so sweet :) *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #5, by FideliusFiameta Mele Kalikimaka

25th January 2012:
If this annoys you then I'm really sorry. But Sirius's christmas out of Azakaban would have been during Prisoner of Azkaban because he escaped in the summer between Harry's second and third year. Because, if you cast your mind to Prisoner of Azkaban Christmas of 1993, Harry receives his Firebolt from Sirius Black. Thus, being his first christmas out of Azkaban.

Sorry if I sound like a prat. I do love this one shot, it's bittersweet feeling of loneliness.

:) Fia

Author's Response: Uh, I think you missed the point of my a/n?

 Report Review

Review #6, by she who feels no need for a name White Christmas

29th November 2011:
i don't know why but this made me cry

Author's Response: Well, I will take that as a compliment! Thank you for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by shadowcat2 Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

10th November 2011:
This was beautiful. According to the JK Rowling's family tree I think George and Angelina did end up together. So your story is cannon if I am not wrong and I love your writing!

Author's Response: Yes, they did end up together! Apparently they weren't always the healthiest relationship but were happy. I love a happy ending, so I hope that they got a nice happily ever after together. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by PotterUnited White Christmas

16th October 2011:
I loved this collection of stories! I'd love it if you write more of these! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I think I might add to it this Christmas. That would be fun ;)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Flower n Prongs Still, Still, Still

7th August 2011:
I'm not quite sure why I decided to read a Christmas story of all of the fics that you have up, but I did and I must say I'm very happy I did. I'm a big James/Lily fan and them spending Christmas with Harry was very cute. It was very bittersweet when Lily glared at James for laughing at the children and mentioned that Harry would be up there in a few years, since we know that by the following Christmas he was with Petunia and Vernon.

This was a very cute little fluffy story. I quite enjoyed it. =)

Lily Flower (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Christmas in August, why not? lol. I love Christmas, it's my favorite holiday. I'm glad you liked this story - this is my one and only take on Lily/James, and I kind of liked writing them. It's sad to think of their one year with their son, isn't it? Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by GinnyCullen Still, Still, Still

26th April 2011:
As always I enjoyed this so much!
For your first time writing James/Lily I think it went fantastic. James does seem the kind of person who would rather listen to a game rather than go to his sons first Christmas. I love how you added Bathilda into the story!

Author's Response: Thank you! I do think James wouldn't be much into the whole "first Christmas" thing, but Lily would. I'm glad you liked it, thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Guada White Christmas

17th January 2011:
Once again, lovely story.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #12, by milk_honey White Christmas

3rd January 2011:
I don't know when you wrote this, but it is wonderful! every single chapter! I loved it! Thank you!!

Author's Response: Thank you! It was last Christmas (2009) when I wrote these. I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Singularity Still, Still, Still

30th December 2010:
I'm a fan of stories like this that show Lily, James, and Harry as a family. Granted, they are always bittersweet because we know how the story ends, but I still love reading them.

I think you wrote this beautifully. Lily and James seemed very in character to me. The idea that Lily wanted to give Harry a 'proper first Christmas' especially seemed very much like something Lily would do. She always seemed like a bit of a perfectionist to me. (That line also made me really sad, thinking about how long it will be before Harry has another 'proper' Christmas).

I also really liked the idea of tying in the church in Godric's Hollow that Harry and Hermione pass in Deathly Hallows. When I read that part of the book, I always just thought of it as a normal Muggle church, but it makes sense that some of the witches and wizards would attend as well...especially on Christmas.

I really enjoyed this. I thought the addition of the song lyrics added a nice touch. It was really sweet.

Author's Response: Ah, but Godric's Hollow is an all-wizard village. Any church inside the village ought to be a church populated with wizards. No one ever said wizards couldn't be religious. In fact, JKR specifically said that wizards run the religious gamut just like Muggles: agnostic, atheist, Christian, Muslim, Buddhist, etc. And I do think a lot of people turn to church at Christmas, even if they aren't otherwise terribly devout. I imagine the church is Anglican, since that's the most common religion in the UK.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I really appreciate it :) I agree that Lily's the perfectionist type who would want things done "properly", as it were, and get Harry the whole experience. It is sad to see them as a family - part of why I don't normally write Marauders era - since they have such a short time together. Thanks for reviewing, and happy New Year!


 Report Review

Review #14, by AndrinaBlack White Christmas

20th December 2010:
lol! Poor Charlie. I'm glad he knows how to handle his mum. Molly's little thoughts about matchmaking made me chuckle. I can imagine her doing that.

I can also imagine her feeling quite weird about not having that many people around for all times at Christmas even though she had managed to get everyone there for Christmas dinner. Though I just realised that there were some Christmases when the kids stayed at school or work and they must have been just Molly and Arthur or one or two children with them.

I really liked this story though. It felt very Weasleyish and Mollyish. :)

Author's Response: I think she'd be a big matchmaker. She'd probably been expecting Ron/Hermione for a while, seeing them together so much.

I'm trying to remember which Christmases the Weasley kids stayed at school, but I think it was just the first year, when Ginny went with Molly and Arthur to see Charlie in Romania. I think they all went home every other year. Hmm. Must check on that. But I think having an empty house, and not just temporarily empty, would be a bit jarring to Molly. Empty nest syndrome and all that. She had so many kids, it was probably lonely without them. I know I love getting a break from my boys, but then I wind up missing them after a day or two.

Thank you so much for all your reviews! I loved reading them :) I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #15, by AndrinaBlack Mele Kalikimaka

20th December 2010:
This has not much to do with your story, but I laughed for about five minutes after I read the first sentense. I read it first as "Sirius Black had a new haircut." and then realised it was hideout. I must have been thinking about the queue.

Like you say it doesn't exactly fit canon time, but I don't know of many stories about the time when Sirius was abroad and sent those exotic birds with letters, so I too imagine he was somewhere warm. So I'm happy you wrote it anyway even though it isn't in the exact right time. I can understand his a bit confused and conflicted feelings here. He is nice and warm, but it doesn't feel quite like Christmas as it's so different and he has a kind of sanctuary for the moment but he still feels imprisoned as he can't be in the open and so far away he wouldn't have known much about what was going on elsewhere. This would have been a much nicer Christmas for Sirius though, because wasn't he living in the cave or something if it was during Goblet of Fire?

Author's Response: Well he did need a new haircut after being in Azkaban for twelve years! haha. The queue is getting to us all I think.

I don't think I've ever run across a story of when Sirius was hiding out somewhere tropical. More people should write that. I wonder what he was doing... Yeah, I think in canon by this point, he was living in a cave near Hogwarts and eating rats, poor guy. I think he'd have had a hard time by that point (after 12 years in a cell) even remembering it was Christmas, so I doubt he'd notice the not-feeling-like-usual, kwim? I just thought of that now haha. Wish I'd thought of that earlier, when I was writing this. Oh well. Anyway, I hope Sirius had some nice times in his tropical journeys, getting fattened back up and healthy(ish) again. Thank you for the review, hon!


 Report Review

Review #16, by AndrinaBlack Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

20th December 2010:
Well that was definitely not quite as fluffy as the previous ones, even though it also had some hope and Christmasness. I haven't really read many George/Angelina stories before. Just not come across them I guess. But what often bothers me already in the talk about that pairing is that people assume that she got together with George just because she was with Fred before and they were simiar. As could be expected, you didn't write it that way and I really liked the way you wrote it. You talked about the Fred and George thing but explained it satisfactorily. It was not only that. I liked this story otherwise too. The song fit really well and I really love the song too. :)

Author's Response: Yeah, this one's a bit more depressing, I think. I tried to fit the George/Angelina ship into canon in a way that wasn't creepy, and showed how twins REALLY are (it drives me nuts when people write Fred and George as totally interchangeable). I love that song, too. Sarah MacLachlan has a great version of it on her "Wintersongs" album, you should check it out. Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

 Report Review

Review #17, by AndrinaBlack Let it Snow

20th December 2010:
You're covering me with fluff with this story collection. I don't know if I'll ever find my way out from the fluffyness. Which is not a bad thing. Fluff is lovely. Proposal and Christmas... I'll just go and write to Santa to give me a Christmas like that. Good job once again! :)

Author's Response: Yeah, you may need a visit to the dentist after this one ;) Too much fluff! Thank you for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it (despite being covered in fluff haha).

 Report Review

Review #18, by AndrinaBlack Still, Still, Still

20th December 2010:
That was very sweet! I loved it! I've always loved the Godric's Hollow part in DH (before they go to Bathilda's house, which is quite different) with it's bittersweet Christmas feel and how the village seems really lovely with its normal Christmas things going on while Harry and Hermione have quite a different Christmas. I like how you related this to that. It could be a similar carol service going on in the church at that later time. At the same time it's a bit bittersweet as we know that Harry won't be in a nativity play and that this is his only Christmas with his parents there.

I really think somehow that Lily would be into keeping Christmas traditions even if she wasn't that bothered about traditions in other situations. She would probably insist that James teach her and Harry some of his childhood traditions too.

You managed to mention some typical or important things in the way that I was thinking "oh I know that!" about some things: children being cute with a nativity play and looking half lost while doing it and babies starting to cry in the church (not that Harry did).

Author's Response: Oh wow five new reviews from you? I'm so happy! :D

I think Lily would like to have the traditions going, yeah. She seems like the type. And as I've thought about this more, I think it's likely James actually would have gone to this kind of service before. The church is in an all-wizard village, after all. I was thinking of the service in that scene in DH when I wrote it, yeah. Good eye ;)

It's kind of sad to think Harry never gets to do a nativity play, and they never get to see him. Maybe Harry's kids did them, and he got to watch his babies up there :)

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by ekroman White Christmas

29th June 2010:
Aww how cute! All 5 chapters. But I still find this and the Teddoire (as you so nicely put it) chapter the best :)

Author's Response: Those two are my favorites as well :) I do like the Sirius one, though. Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm glad you liked them.

 Report Review

Review #20, by simi potter Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

14th January 2010:
i love this chapter,but it was so sad...poor George

Author's Response: Thank you. It is pretty sad, I know :(

 Report Review

Review #21, by letters White Christmas

19th September 2009:
I love it. This chapter had me in fits. Keep writing every story you've started!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by green_eyed_cat7 Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

17th July 2009:
my favorite christmas song :)

Author's Response: I had the Linda Eder version of it in mind. Lovely song :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by krissy87 White Christmas

18th June 2009:
Christmas fics are good any time of year!! I can remember when I was going to school, I would play my Christmas CDs in the middle of the year, probably around September. I don't seem to get on HPFF around the major Holidays to read the holiday-specific fics people post. Also, I always find it nice, in an odd way, to read about snowy wintry Christmases, because I'm Australian and I've never even seen snow myself!

Thankyou for sharing your stories! =o)

Author's Response: I'm from Hawaii, so I didn't see snow until we moved to the mainland. Then I went to college in Utah and I didn't even know what to do in it! lol. I've always wanted to go to Australia. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by blithering_humdinger White Christmas

15th March 2009:
Loved it! I haven't read Harry in ages, so it was really nice to be back in that kitchen again!
Thanks so much!

Author's Response: Thank you! It was my first time writing Lily/James, so I kept it short lol.

 Report Review

Review #25, by FreddieKat Still, Still, Still

13th March 2009:
aww, that's cute. Lily and James are so adorable :D

10/10!
-Kat

Author's Response: Thank you! Good to see you again in a review :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>