Reading Reviews for Don't Say a Word
  
164 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Strawberries202 The Raven's Claws

31st August 2013:
I usually like Rose in most stories, Except No offense to Rose or anything in this story, but she honestly seems like a bitch. And I get where she's coming from; she's so filled with jealousy to even consider being nice to Noli. But right now I literally hate her.
- Love the story; Update Soon :)

Author's Response: Wow! A review already, and its been up less than 24 hours! And you like the story! :-)

Thanks for the feedback on Rose. I'm glad you can both see where she is coming from but also dislike her at the same time. 'Twas the goal!

Thanks for taking the time to review!

Hugs, Gail


 Report Review

Review #2, by rerosisu Dreaming the Dark Arts

2nd August 2013:
Thank you.
I thought you had abandond the story. I love how the main plot thickens.
:-)

Author's Response: Nope, not abandoned! ;-)

I'm glad you like the thickening plot. The pace is going to pick up a bit over the next several chapters...

Thanks for reading, and leaving a review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by 1billsookie The Duel

7th December 2012:
Love the chapter. Good to see Noil proving herself. Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: More on the way... Thanks for the review! ;-)

 Report Review

Review #4, by MurderSheWrote The Duel

14th October 2012:
Yay! Update! Please keep it up. I love Scorpius's involvement and support. I am curious as to whether you will bring up the people/event that lead to Noli's muteness. Thus far the story has focused on the present and has lacked any elaboration on the backstory. Not that this is a bad thing; just an observation. Please do keep this up and continue to update (hopefully a little more frequently! :P ) Good luck and happy writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm glad you like Scorpius. I'm always trying to find the right balance with him. Don't worry too much about Noli's muteness. Noli's past is going to begin to rear it's ugly head in the coming chapters... (And they are coming, I promise!) ;-)

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #5, by bomberchica The Duel

12th August 2012:
I love this story. Just so you know! I'm so happy that you updated it. I had it waiting in Google Reader for an update, and then I reread the whole story today and finally finished this chapter. I can certainly tell the difference between when you have a beta and when you don't, and I really like that you started using one. It makes it so much easier for the reader to read and understand the plot underneath the grammar. This was a great chapter. I'm glad to see that Noli is finally making her way into her own house. I'd love to see something where Noli does something to get back at Lily. Overall, great chapter. Can't wait for another update!!!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you love Noli's story, and even re-read it! :-D I've worked hard on the plotting as well as the writing.

Also thanks for the ever-so-gentle nudge about the earlier chapters. I'll revisit those early chapters and try to tidy up the grammar in an effort to improve readability! ;-) Also, my beta also will be happy to know you approve of his work.

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a review!
Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #6, by fairegirl22 The Duel

12th August 2012:
OMG YAY! YOU UPDATED!!! I gave up hope that you would :( And that was sad because this is one of my fav stories. Please Update soon :DDD

Author's Response: I'm sorry it has been so very long between updates. I promise to work harder to update at a more regular rate. :-)

 Report Review

Review #7, by windy The Shame of Slytherin

9th August 2012:
plz...z update..cant wait for the next chapter..

Author's Response: Just done so! ;-)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Tom The Shame of Slytherin

31st July 2012:
This sucks. My favorite HPFF and the author abandons it just when it's getting interesting. :(

Author's Response: Tom, Noli's story is not abandoned. It was merely on hiatus while I finished some major 'real-life' writing. The next chapter, 'House Pride', will be up by the end of this week. Sorry about the very long wait!

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #9, by rowan The Shame of Slytherin

28th July 2011:
come on. please update. been ages.

Author's Response: Sorry it has been so long. :-( It will be up by the end of this week.

~Gail


 Report Review

Review #10, by rowan The Shame of Slytherin

31st May 2011:
please update soon. I want to see how the duel goes.

please

Author's Response: Working on it! I promise. (And it's a great next chapter, so bear with me a little longer...)

 Report Review

Review #11, by anonymous The Shame of Slytherin

30th May 2011:
wow poor noli! It never ceases to amaze me how insensitive lilly can be! how did she know to hit him with her tie though?and- cliff hanger!
hanks for updating and I can't wait for the next update!
this really is a brilliantstory thanks :)
Anon
xxx

Author's Response: Your welcome! Thank YOU for the wonderful review. I realise Lily does lack a bit of forsight and understanding of the ramification of her actions for others, but she did feel she was acting FOR Noli... Ah, well... As for Noli and her tie challenge... Well, I'm giving nothing away yet! ;-)

Thanks again for the review!
Hugs, Gail


 Report Review

Review #12, by Loony_Scorpy The Shame of Slytherin

26th May 2011:
Ahh this is really addictive! I really like this story and it's soo original! I can't wait until she can do more spells and I'm also interested for more interaction between noli and malfoy :) also I want al to like her again, he is so sweet :) anyway I love your story so I can't wait until your next update! :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I always feel this story is full of cliches, so it's always nice to hear others think it is original. I'm really glad you like my main characters, don't worry, both Al and Scorpius feature heavily throughout the story... and the next update is coming soon!

Hugs, Gail


 Report Review

Review #13, by fairegirl22 The Shame of Slytherin

15th April 2011:
OMG now im so excited for the next chapter i can't wait to see if Noli uses magic, and if she does i can't wait to see the faces of everybody's. She will pwn him xD

Author's Response: Well... We'll just have to wait and see, won't we?
(Ok, I admit it, I'm excited about the next chapter, too! ;-))


 Report Review

Review #14, by fairegirl22 Sneaking into Slytherin

15th January 2011:
YAY! you updated xD i love this story

Author's Response: Yep-yep! Thank you! I'm glad you enjoy Noli's story. :-)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Carolina Sneaking into Slytherin

13th January 2011:
This is really one of my favorite stories on here. Especially the beginning was really powerful. I could really feel the exclusion and unhappiness that Noli was.

I'm SO glad she finally learned non-verbal magic though! Yay! :) I'll probably go back and review most of the chapters later, but I don't have a lot of time today so I thought I'd just review this one. :) I really, really hope you update soon! You've done a great job.

I liked seeing how Lily is still Noli's sister, and I'm impatient to see what happens next. At the same time, Lily sort of bugs me. I wish she wasn't so prejudiced. :/ She is a little spoiled I guess.

Wonderful chapter. I really do love this story!

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks! I'm glad you liked the beginning. I revised the first few chapters so many times I've lost track. It's great to hear that all that work paid off!

I'm glad you enjoyed Lily's side-track. I know she seems a bit spoilt and prejudiced, but that's part of who she is! When considering Lily's prejudice against the Slytherins, keep in mind just what the Weasley family lost during the war. I've used all sorts of back-story and child-misunderstanding-of-adult-issues to inform the characters of Lily and her siblings and cousins.

Thanks again for the review!

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #16, by GreyLady Sneaking into Slytherin

12th January 2011:
Yay an update!!!

This story rocks. I love how you have portrayed Lily, you have wonderful characterisation. Update again soon? Please?

Love this story so much :-)

-x-

Author's Response: Thanks for the vote of confidence on my characterisation! I work hard to create unique characters, and I'm glad you like Lily, not many seem to.

I promise I'm working on the next chapter. :-)

Thanks again for the lovely review!

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #17, by Zannyfordraco Sneaking into Slytherin

12th January 2011:
This has to be one of the top 10 Harry Potter fanfics that I've ever read! Please keep on writing!

Author's Response: Wow! That's high praise indeed, considering the quality of a lot of these stories! (*I'm blushing now! Hat getting too tight, and all!*) Don't worry, I have BIG plans for how this story turns out. So I'll stick out it. Please come back to read more (and review)!

 Report Review

Review #18, by anonymous Sneaking into Slytherin

11th January 2011:
AMAZINGNESS! :) i LOVE it! keep up the good work; i can't wait to read the next chapter.
when will noli make up with al?

Author's Response: Thanks! (And thanks for taking the time to review!) I'm working on the next chapter, but it might take a wee while... As for Noli and Al... Just you wait! ;-)

 Report Review

Review #19, by bmhallows Sneaking into Slytherin

11th January 2011:
Loved the side track and this story

I hope Now lily has noticed how horrid they are to Noli that we will see some Potter sibling intervention/interaction, as my only very small complaint about this story is how, when they are at school the siblings don't seem to interact with her. (xcept Al)

Author's Response: Thank's so much for the review!

I know the Potters seemed not to interact with Noli much in the story, unfortunatly, it is (generally) Noli's story, and she doesn't see much of them at school. They are in a different house, and I noticed in the books that (and in real life) that kids get very wrapped up in their own peer groups. I thought this chapter was a good way to show that Lily was still Noli's sister, but as she had her OWN friends, she didn't realise what was going on with Noli. The same is true for James (mostly). As for Al, well, he's just Al, isn't he? :-)


 Report Review

Review #20, by hpguafan Sneaking into Slytherin

11th January 2011:
Been a while. Thanks for continuing this great story. Good to see Lily sticking up for her sister. I would also like to see more about how Albus is doing.

By the way, thanks for getting Noli doing non-verbal. I hope some of the Weasley mischief in her. She has got to start fighting back, but in a Slytherine way. Basically, follow Scorpius' advice.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the side-track. It really is Noli's story, and so Lily, and Al and James only feature as they affect her life. But this chapter, hopefully balanced a lot of Lily's traits and told a bit of story that's necessary for the next couple of chapters.

I'm also gratified you're happy with Noli learning non-verbal spells. I couldn't leave her unable to do magic just because she doesn't speak, but I was aware that non-verbal was NEWT level, so I really tried to balance the two problems. As for fighting back... Just you wait!

Thanks so much for the review! I was so pleased to check back and see what visitors were thinking about the story!

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #21, by windy 'Expelliarmus!' and What Came of It

8th January 2011:
hi.update soon??please?

Author's Response: Just done so. ;-)

 Report Review

Review #22, by voldemortisrlyfreakinawesome 'Expelliarmus!' and What Came of It

16th September 2010:
Poor Noli! Getting into that situation the day after she learns magic. I feel so bad for her. I am really looking forward to more of this story! I really want to find out more about Noli's past.

Jeep up the great work! Good Luck!

Author's Response: Chapter 19 contains some of your answers. Just you wait! We'll get there soon enough, I'm working on it now. As for Noli, I felt for her too... Its really hard when things don't go as you plan.

Thank you sooo much for coming back every chapter and leaving such wonderful reviews!

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #23, by miss_aurora 'Expelliarmus!' and What Came of It

15th September 2010:
Well, it's really good that Noli finally learns how to stand on the ground on herself but although it might not be intentional, she has harmed someone else, almost to death. Despite whatever, it's still wrong and she didn't even admit it. But then again, she's so... i don't know, i want to say fragile but she's not exactly that, is she? Well anyway, thanks for the update :)

Author's Response: Hmmm... You're right, Noli didn't admit it to the teacher. Would you, if you were being accused of hurting someone out of malicious pleasure, when all you did was try and make him look foolish? Especially when you're sick to your stomach over what happened already. Noli's not a little goody-goody, I'll give you that. She did however, pretty much confirm it was she who attacked Rimhi to Scorpius.

And you're right. Noli's not exactly fragile. She is something...

Thanks for the review. I hope you come back soon!

Hugs,
Gail


 Report Review

Review #24, by Crystle Answers in the Air

26th July 2010:
Awsome, she's finaly learned. Scorpious knew how smart she was, and that's why he wants to help her, becuase he thinks she'll be an asset to Slytherin, rather than just the dumb squib looser who everyone else sees in her. She's learned something that most of them only master at age 16,17.

I like your Scorpious, he's determined. Not as cowardly and self obseesed as his father.

I think there is nothing wrong with most Slytherins, they are certainly not usualy very friendly people, but it doesn't mean they are evil. It's sad that the school thinks that. They are told they are evil from a young age, people are suspicious of them and they keep themselves to themselves. No wonder a lot of them ended up being death eaters, they must have felt a sense of purpose and joined up becuase all the Slytherins were doing it. And now it's even worse, becuase it's like being in Adolf Hitler's house or something. They are asociated with Voldemort, the guy who tryed to take over the school and killed a whole load of people.The houses define them too much too young in Hogwart imo, it's like being told what you are going to be like as an adult, when you are 11 years old. But they would keep them out of respect for the founders, I expect.

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm glad you like Scorpius, here. I was a little hesitant, wondering if I'd created a believable character. He is meant to be raised by Draco Malfoy after all, but I couldn't make him a complete carbon copy.

Thank you for picking up on the situation in Slytherin in the post Voldemort years. I really tried to capture what it would be like to be in that house, then, and your comments were gratifying. I think the House system is meant to foster the qualities the founders valued, but it's not a perfect system. We'll see how it develops.

I hope you come back for more!

Hugs, Gail


 Report Review

Review #25, by prettywishes Answers in the Air

26th July 2010:
I was so exicted that she finally got down the spells! I thought it must have been awfully hard for Noli to chose between Al and Scorpius, but I'm glad that she chose Scorpius because it shows how she's finally starting to break off on her own. I can't wait to see her in classes now that she can finally do magic, at least some of it, it'll allow her to grow a lot more. Amazing chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks! Yep, Noli will be doing magic in class in the very next chapter, and we'll see what develops from there...

Thanks again for the review, and for coming back to read more about Noli!

Hugs, Gail


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>