Reading Reviews for My Definition
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Crescent Moon  Slipping Down Walls

16th March 2014:
Loved this chapter.
I also love your writing style, it's really different to most stuff on here and refreshing to read.
I can't wait to see what happens next.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ray Body Safe To Shore

8th October 2013:
Hope you update!:) This is so good. Love the characterization of Dominique, even though the her condition is so serious. Absolutely love this fic so much!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I definitely will, don't worry, just uni's a bit wild at the moment!

 Report Review

Review #3, by heart4siriusblack Body Safe To Shore

16th September 2013:
So good! Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Cirque Du Freak Muscle to Muscle and Toe to Toe

16th June 2013:
And here you've introduced Rose who doesn't seem nearly as horrible as she did in the previous chapters - where she seemed almost embarrassed to be caught looking after her cousin and wasn't interested in being sensitive. But then it all depends on personality here and Rose is the tough cookie of the family.

Yet here you've portrayed her as a bit more fun and open and enjoying Dom's company, which puts her in a bit of a more favourbale light - but here again they are by themselves and not completley in the sight of other people - only dashing past them whilst Rose tries to track her down.

And then in the small eye glance a sudden drop is made when you see that Finn doesn't accept what Dom is once he knows. Expected, but still disappointing.

And then you bring him back up into good graces as its revealed he will pretend (as far as anyone else is concernd) that Dom's normal. Does that mean he's actually alright? Well, like I said before - Dom seems to be a very unreliable narrator.

Awaiting the next chapter with pinched toes and anticipated excitement!

Author's Response: Aw, Rose. She's a mixed bag, that one. Sometimes I like her, sometimes I don't. She can have her nice moments but likewise the opposite... I do see her as a bit of a tough cookie, the sort of straight talking glue of the fragmented little clan.

You pick up on little things and it makes me feel all fuzzy inside ee. You're probably my favourite reader ever because it's the tiny things that make the big difference and like oo I'll put this in just to build it up. I'm scared about putting any big hints in as you might pounce upon them ;) But I cannot thank you enough for your lovely, lovely words. I will try not to let you down with the next update!! -aggressively loves-


 Report Review

Review #5, by Cirque Du Freak And The Holes In My Apologies

16th June 2013:
I like how you've shown there's a lot more to Albus and Dom's relationship here and how even Dom doesn't want to tell anyone her secrets - if she had it her way then no one would know she was ill and she would die quietly and everyone would lament it after she was gone - at least it wasn't while she was there, sticking around and experiencing what she's experiencing now.

She seems very detached from the world and only slightly closer to her cousins, but only because they're family and you can't escape family (unless they're distant cousins who live in the north of Brazil, or something).

I like how you named one of the girls Percy - it was slightly confusing at first, but intriguing and also Georgina fitting her posh name by her exclamation of 'darling!' every five minutes or so. They're an annoying bunch - not bad, but obviously not in Dom's league where it stands. But then IS there anyone who would be in Dom's league?

And then... the bombshell hits.
You know, I've been side-along reviewing now since the last chapter and then just rambling about each section and I've only just read the last bit and WOW. Okay.

So this clears up a lot more, but still the questions remains: why and how exactly is she dying? And then Finn in the mix makes a recipe for disaster - there is still always more questions to be asked and in each chapter answers are available but its like going around in circles. I'm so interested of what's going to come of these developments and Dom's life in general - what else to throw into the mix?

Author's Response: You have Dom down to a tee. I couldn't have described her better myself! It's such a strange experience to try and put yourself in her position, in some ways she's very like me and how I imagine I'd react. But also the polar opposite in some ways. So it's very strange to try and master her!

Hehe, the names! I have such trouble with names. I like how I don't have to name characters. I wanted British names but ones that fit them, so hopefully they'll seem to fit their names as the story goes on. No one is in Dom's league, according to her highness ;)

Lots and lots to throw in the mix! ;) I have to remember to get cracking with things and get past the introduction stage. People know who everyone is now moove on. Thank you so much for this lovely trail of reviews you lovely lovely person!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Cirque Du Freak Here We Go Again

16th June 2013:
"A prettier scar." -- This line really hit me the most for some reason. It was something that held a lot of weight and was actually quite worrying - scars are always seen as a blemish, ugly, unwanted and bothersome. And here you have Dom who has them in abundance, picking the ones she likes best - its disturbing and gives this little window of insight into her.

Even now we know that she's prone to being sensitive to falls and scrapes and has a perpetual fever that won't go away. The smallest of things affect her that no one else would have to think twice about. She is more cautious and careful about herself than those around her would need to be for a very long time.

Its also sad with the interaction Dom has with Albus - that the people who know will always look upon you with pity and concern and will worry themselves over you that it becomes very stifling and just useless to you as a person.

This chapter is very much "a day in the life of..." for Dominique, a sad and glimpse at what she must go through every day and how she reacts to it all.

There are still many questions to ask here, but you're still not letting up on answers as of yet. So far Dom is being a particularly unreliable narrator in terms of giving the reader what they want!

Author's Response: That line makes me sad too :( I want to cuddle her and steal her away but she's a little bit prickly so would probably swat me away. So glad you like it.

I love the way you pick up on the smallest things, sometimes I get carried away writing her and things just flow so I'm so glad it actually makes sense and these little details seem to be appearing in a semi-coherent fashion :P There's so much of Dom in my mind she just sort of pours out onto the page, she has these weird habits and it's so hard to try and write them from her perspective because in a stream of her thoughts she wouldn't necessarily pick up on them herself... Eee, once again you're been far too kind and lovely and made me blush! You are brilliant!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Cirque Du Freak Always Have, Always Will

16th June 2013:
This was interesting!

You really pulled me in at the beginning and its an interesting concept for people (especially teenagers) to die. I think its because with younger people they have "so much to live for" and "they haven't experienced life". The thing is that death is a natural part of life and it affects everyone around that person no matter their age and a young person's death or a particularly "tragic" one shouldn't take precendence over someone who dies of a natural disease or of old age. /end small rant

So I enjoyed this first chapter and it leaves a lot of intrigue behind like - where are Dom's siblings? What's going on with Teddy? Where's Bill? What, exactly, is Dom dying of? What's going to happen next? Etc, etc.

I like all of your descriptions and this was beautifully effortless to read and took no time at all. I commend you on your writing and the clear effort you've put into this!

Onwards! :-)

Author's Response: I totally agree! Death is just 'another thing' in life, a tragedy but it is for all ages. I'm glad it intrigued you; I was so worried about people going oh dear, another dying girl, but she's my little Dommie and it makes me sad :(

Ooo siblings ;) Still not introduced. Victoire can be let off because, well, she's left Hogwarts. And Teddy hehehe. He is going to be making a reappearance, don't you worry! I'm hoping all becomes a little clearer, but Dom's a bit tempermental as a character so they may be answered slowly, I hope you don't lose patience with us!

Thank you so much, ee, you're far too kind!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Crescent Moon  Muscle to Muscle and Toe to Toe

9th June 2013:
I love this story!
Are we going to find out what's wrong with her soon, why she can't recover easily?
I can't wait to see where you take it next.

Author's Response: -loves- thank you so much! Well I have many plans and have three different endings all lined up so I guess we'll just have to see! Thank you lovely :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by adluvshp Always Have, Always Will

23rd May 2013:
Hey! Here for review tag!

Ah, when I saw you had a Dominique story, I jumped at it because Dominique is one of my favourite characters and I love writing her, so I am always curious to know how others portray her =) Needless to say, I wasn't disappointed.

You had some beautiful imagery here and great metaphorical descriptions that I enjoyed immensely. The angst, the pain, the tension is palpable throughout the narrative and I loved it. The plot seems to be very interesting and I am curious to know what is wrong with Dominique and what has happened. This seems like a great first chapter to a promising story, so keep it up!

I hope to come back for chapter 2 soon!

10/10
Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Thank you so so much! You're far too kind. I love my descriptions and my angst, it has to be said. You're so lovely, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by bester_jester And The Holes In My Apologies

14th January 2013:
The 'making it up as you go along' thing is definitely working. I love this story so much! Dom is an agnsty cow when she wants to be, but what dying person wouldn't be? Also, Finn seems like a real cutie - desperate to know his reaction to Dom's unintended confession. Thanks so much for sharing!

Author's Response: aw aren't you just lovely! i do have a vague idea of where it's going, but then finn seemed to butt in and go 'i wanna know!' and well, how could i say no? :P yes, dom is a mopey thing isn't she? so glad you like finn, i reckon he's pretty cool. thank you so much for the lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by shoveitsunshine Here We Go Again

5th January 2013:
Nice job with Dom's characterization! I'm also liking Rose and the others' dynamics so far - great work! :)

Author's Response: characterization is one of my weak points so i'm so glad you like her! thank you so much :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Maddyxx Always Have, Always Will

21st September 2011:
I realyyy like this. Please continue and update soon! x

Author's Response: thank you :) next chapter is in progress!

 Report Review

Review #13, by rich_blonde marauder23 Here We Go Again

19th August 2011:
Really great start :) Keep up with the good work and I'll definitely be reading! :)
xxx sofia

Author's Response: thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Hera Here We Go Again

18th August 2011:
Ah, it's very sad to read about Dom's frailness and her possible death looming near... As a character she is written very well and I have very clear mental images about her, thus it's even sadder to read about her. I hope she gets better and will live :)

Author's Response: well we'll have to see won't we ;) thank you very much :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by zelunatic Always Have, Always Will

11th May 2011:
your story is very nice. i hope to read more ahahaha good luck!

Author's Response: thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by madness Always Have, Always Will

13th January 2011:
This sounds like it is going to be a really good story. I'm looking forward to the next part xx

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #17, by HPsmartone32 Always Have, Always Will

24th November 2009:
ahh i like this. update soon!

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Leent Always Have, Always Will

24th October 2008:
Hello there! I saw your post in the review threads and decided to help a fellow Gryffie, yay!

Fabulous imagery in your writing here. Your metaphors are also fantastic and really add to the mood of your story. There is a darkness to it, but I sense a tinge of sarcasm at points which was lovely to see.

Very intriguing first chapter, it peaks the interest and makes the reader want to continue on. Excellent job!

Smiles~Leent

Author's Response: Yay! Helping Gryffs out is always a good start, bonus points if it's giving someone a review cos, well, reviews rock. Majorly.

Mwahaha, I am the queen of sarcasm (or so I've been told), I didn't intend for it to be sarcastic but, huh, sarcasm rules. It's like the best thing since sliced bread. Which is saying something, cos sliced bread is like the best thing since. they invented sliced bread.

I love it when people pick up on things I never even knew where there... Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by lyrix82 Always Have, Always Will

18th October 2008:
Absolutley excellent writing, I"m utterly hooked, Cannot wait for more! I'm desperate to find out what happened, what's wrong with her. I like that it's from Dom's POV, I haven't seen that done before, so nice original concept. I love the description that you put into each sentence, I feel like you're really enjoying writing and that we get a sense of exactly what you're conveying.Excellent Job, I look forward to more. Thank YOU! xx

Author's Response: Wow... Thank you just about sums it up. I do love writing it, I'm glad you get that idea, it's a bit angst but I suppose thats what girls do best :P No, thank YOU for reviewing and making my day!

 Report Review

Review #20, by REKNOWNED Always Have, Always Will

17th October 2008:
This is amazing. Update soon. It seems like a unique story and I can't wait for more. I am a fein for descriptions and your descriptions are the best.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I'm a fein for descriptions as well, can you tell? :P Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Dee Always Have, Always Will

15th October 2008:
Very good. Great descriptions.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! They make my day :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by amanda Always Have, Always Will

13th October 2008:
This is really great, very well-written. I liked the plot a lot and I hope you update soon.
Keep up the good work.

xox

Author's Response: Aww thank you! The next chapter is in the queue and has been since Sunday so here's to hoping it'll be up soon!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Lily Roselyn Always Have, Always Will

12th October 2008:
Oh my goodness. This is amazing! It's so discriptive, I think that is totally what she would be thinking.

I also like the Teddy Lupin aspect.

The only grammatical error I noticed was when you said. 'gently she pulled her arms away gently.'

Great job, please update soon!

Cheers,

-Rosie

Author's Response: Haha, that's so typical of me, I'll edit that ASAP. Gently she pulled her arms away gently... trust me to make no sense! And thank you so much! I love reviews and reviewers even more!

 Report Review

Review #24, by RoseLolly Always Have, Always Will

11th October 2008:
The description in this was almost horrible, in the loveliest of ways-of course. A really wonderful job, I can't wait to read more :]

-Rose.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I think I get what you mean, lol, horrible in a lovely way?... This chapter has just been put in the queue to be edited slightly, but I'll put the next chapter up ASAP. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Lily_JamesFan Always Have, Always Will

11th October 2008:
wow.
That was intense. So good! I can't wait for the next chapter.
10'/10

Author's Response: Aww! Thank you! I will try and update ASAP, hopefully it'll be in the queue some time tonight! Thank you again!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>