Reading Reviews for Sharing Fire
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Beeezie Sharing Fire

14th July 2013:
(It's still Violet day for me.)

I read this ages and ages ago for something - maybe a duel on TGS? - but I clearly didn't review it then, so I'm taking the chance to now.

This was such a great one-shot. You have this talent for taking characters and ships I thought I had all sorted out and making me look at them in a completely different way. In this case, I can sort of see Voldemort acting like this, but this makes me look at Minerva really differently.

It makes sense, of course - she was so much younger here than when we meet her, and of course she couldn't have always been the stern disciplinarian we always saw from Harry's pov. I can see a shadow of the McGonagall we knew in the Minerva here, though, mostly in her strength. That's not to say that she's not hurt - of course she is, she's crying - but I could see that raw backbone that always made her so compelling as a character.

For what emotion could a man without a soul express? -> This is one of the best lines of the story. It sums up Voldemort so well.

And, of course, as always, your writing is simply breathtaking all on its own.

Author's Response: Thank you for popping in to review this story too! It's one of the few older ones that I'm still proud of, so it means a lot to hear that you admired it. :D

You're right that this McGonagall is different - she's not like the other portrayals of her that I've written. There's something far more naive about her, though her Gryffindor side shows when she takes the risk of walking off with Voldemort - she recognizes that he's dangerous, but a streak of recklessness takes hold. Perhaps the more authoritarian nature emerged as a result of this moment.

And I'm very glad that you liked that line. :D It reflects what Voldemort becomes, a shadow who can only experience hatred and rage.

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan Sharing Fire

14th July 2013:
This is really good! I've never read a Tom/Minerva story before and it was both beautiful and disturbing. Your descriptions and imagery are wonderful. I think it's probably realistic too that Tom could be charming when he wanted to - after all he got the Grey Lady to divulge where she'd hidden the diadem, so it wasn't surprising that Minerva was temporarily drawn in. And it was clear that Tom sensed she was powerful and wanted her on his side - I can't imagine how terrible that would have been if she hadn't come to her senses. I also liked that you had his control come from mind powers. Given that Voldemort is a very accomplished legilimens/Occlumens it made sense that he could use his mind to attempt to infect others' minds. Great work on this story.

Author's Response: Thank you for stopping by to read and review! I'm really glad to hear that the descriptions and imagery helped capture the kind of atmosphere I wanted for this story. It's supposed to be creepy, making their romance almost disgusting, certainly disturbing. It's very strange to write a romance in that way, that's for sure.

I'm interested in what you said about the Grey Lady - it's something I'd forgotten about, though it's not unlike his effect on Hepzibah Smith. Riddle has this amazing charm and appeal about him that's in such contrast with his real nature.

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #3, by MissMdsty Sharing Fire

13th March 2013:
Hello dear!

I saw this story around a couple of times and finally decided to check it out! And I must say, it was a pleasant surprise!

After I got over the initial shock of picturing McGonagall kissing Voldemort (I am scarred for life!) this really was a very pleasant read. Through your descriptions I could see the boy that so many years ago fooled so many with his charisma and pleasant personality. If you just look at Tom Riddle in the books, he isn't what you would call magnetic. Of course we are looking at him through the eyes of a teenager who's had a bounty on his head ever since he was born.

But here, I could see Tom's attraction and fascination. He is a man of charisma and has the power to draw you in. It's too bad for him Minerva is the kind of woman that sees through such manipulative techniques and had the power to resist. I can't even imagine the world if McGonagall was a Death Eater!

This was a beautiful and passionate one-shot! Their chemistry, the air of mystery and misery around them was so well written that I could feel all of Minerva's emotions and her inner struggle. Of course, he saw right through her. Frightening!

Good job dear! Congratulations!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! It's very nice of you to have checked out this story - it's a strange one, but an old favourite of mine, probably one of the most intense stories I've written, probably also the most disturbing... as you've seen. :P

I don't know, but it seems that Voldemort must have some magnetism in order to have garnered such loyal followers. He frightened many into following him, but there were others, such as Barty Crouch Jr. and Bellatrix, who are so passionately devoted to him, to Voldemort the person more than the cause he stands for. It would be the same magnetism that made no one suspect him as the murderer of Myrtle and Hepzibah Smith - he had charm and could manipulate people in an incredible way, though the Voldemort Harry fights is much older, harder, no longer human.

Sorry about that, oops. I think too much sometimes. :P

It's great that you liked Minerva in this story. She's such an amazing character to write because of her strength of will and mind, but in this story I've also given her a reckless streak in the Gryffindor vein. It brings the two characters together in an interesting way, and I'm glad to hear that it was successful. :D Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by lilypotterfan123 Sharing Fire

3rd March 2012:
As much as I love this ship, I'm glad Minerva walked away and that she didn't give in. Partly because Minerva isn't like that so it would'e been OOC and the plot in itself seemed very canon. This story shows a more corrupt side of Tom and I think that we aught to remember that although when he's with Minerva they should be in love, there's a time when Tom becomes Voldemort and no one can want a monster. Unless you're just as corrupt as them, so unless you're Bellatrix Lestrange.

The way you write this ship is amazing but I've already told you this too many times so everything I say is getting old pretty much, soon I'll just send a record player with me saying the same old thing and compliments because I'll never ever get over your talent and I am lost for words each time I read your stories.

Ooh I've just had a thought. I know you like The Beatles and ABBA, a lot of your titles are based on ABBA especially so what if you did a poison kitty story that wasn't necessarily a song fic but based around one of their songs, like One of Us? If I had the talents I'd do it but I'm rubbish so you know, I doubt it would ever happen. Just think of it as a suggestion ;)

Thanks so much for writing this, as for a rating my maths teacher says there's no such thing as 110% so I doubt he's read you're work. This is 200% perfection. Hopefully that makes sense *yeah I don't think you can put perfection into percentages but ah well*.

Bex x

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! It's a wonderful treat to get a review for this story, which is probably the best I've ever done, or at least it's been regarded as such. There's something about it that just worked out, and I'm really glad that you enjoyed reading it.

Your compliments are super-inspiring, and they've gotten me thinking about writing more Tom/Minerva again. The Moody/McGonagall/Riddle story I'm working on isn't the same as just writing Tom and Minerva together - most of it has to do with the timing, that he can't of become Voldemort yet and she is still young enough to want to see the good in him. To move their relationship into their adulthood would be way too complicated - it's just like you said: she couldn't love a monster and he would only use her and torture her. It's a very time-sensitive ship.

ABBA is usually my inspiration for the next-generation stories, but there are songs like "One of Us", "Cassandra", or "Should I Laugh or Cry" that would fit Tom/Minerva, too. I will think about this - it's a very good suggestion, and it might be the push I need to get inspiration for writing a new Tom/Minerva. :D

Thank you so much for this! I can't thank you enough, Bex. It means a lot that you liked this story to such a degree. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #5, by Smitty Sharing Fire

28th July 2011:
I found this work amazing, it touched the characters perfectly! I must say that this pairing has become a favorite of mine and thus far this is the best capture of what I believe was their lust for one another.

No, Voldemort may not love but he may desire and he desired to share the would with a woman of equal someone he might have tried to replace with his dark gem Bellatrix but with her crude nature she was never the same. The boy's last futile reach to the light, to his Minerva that could save him from himself and yet he could only find the will to ask her to join him in hell.

As for Minerva we all have a thing for the bad boy, she may have felt the need to save and the throb of young attraction. She wished to taste something beyond her nature, to be with someone she desired for the greatest thing to her was and is intellect and courage. Tom had both, other then his devilish fear of dying he did not fear the loss of his soul or his appearance he handled it in stride.

The two sides that could never be. Very well written, it is positively beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! This one shot still gives me nightmares, but only in a good way - it was perhaps the biggest thing I'd ever written at the time, not in terms of length, but sheer breadth and power of content. It was my first exploration into the ship, and I'm glad to hear that it worked out so well. ^_^

This pairing is endlessly fascinating (great to find another fan! yay!) because there's so much to it, so many facets and complex characterizations to navigate through for both characters. I like your point that he ended up "replacing" Minerva with Bellatrix, but the latter couldn't fill the position in the way he wanted - Bella lacks Minerva's goodness and independence of thought, she never questions him like Minerva always would, and I imagine that would make Minerva continuously interesting, not merely a follower, but something more. It's much harder to try and understand what Minerva could see in him apart from his appearance, brains, and magnetism which, in most cases, is enough. :P Perhaps he was her rebellion from propriety and primness - that I could see, especially when she was younger.

Anyway, thank you again for reading and reviewing this! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by Cleopatraa Sharing Fire

16th April 2011:
It’s such an interesting idea that Minerva did almost join him because she almost couldn’t resist him till the end atleast .I think alot of people joined Voldemort because of this because they couldn’t resist him and it’s so fantastic that in your story she almost joined him because it makes her seem so human. She always is portrayed so strong so it’s nice to see her once in a moment of weakness. But she was still so canon and also Tom was canon off what we know off him atleast. This was something I really could imagine to could have happened. You wrote it so realistic. This could explain why she was so fierce against to him and also one of the maybe not known reasons why left her on Hogwarts. So like I said I really could imagine something like that to happen. You made me sort of wish for her to take his offer ( I know he’s bad and he probably feels nothing for her) but he is so dark and intriguing (sp?). I can see you spend alot of time in this and now I’m rambling so I will leave this story with like you can see thoughout my review I really liked this and I will add this to my favourite list.

Author's Response: That's very right - he was too charming and too... I guess that irresistible is the best word for him. When you put such a handsome face on evil, it makes one wonder, right? I wonder how many people only joined him because he made his ideas so tempting.

Anyway, thank you very much for reading and reviewing! :D It was interesting to explore the fact that Tom and Minerva are only one year apart in age - even now I'm still fascinated by the potential of this ship, and each story I've read about it depicts their relationship in a slightly different way, so the possibilities seem endless.

I'm very glad to hear that the characters were canon and realistic - this was my first time writing this ship, and one of the earlier times I'd written either character in close detail, especially with such psychological depth. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed this story! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Indigo Seas Sharing Fire

17th August 2010:
I cannot possibly sum up how beautiful that was in one review, so I will leave it at this:

Wow.

- Rin

Author's Response: Thanks, Rin! It's great to know that you thought the story to be beautiful. It was a story that took a lot out of me while writing, so seeing how well the work paid off means an incredible amount. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #8, by Elesphyl Sharing Fire

20th September 2009:
Would you believe I had never read this until this morning? I cannot believe I hadn't. But now I have. And I am, as ever, awed. Liam actually inspired me to click on to your Author Page and read this. He'd mentioned writing a Tom/Minerva as well (goodness! All of these popping up like daisies - well, so much the better! I'm inspired to write a second one, too :P) and I was rereading some unanswered reviews (I'll get to it, I promise). And then I remarked I had never read "Sharing Fire".

Goodness, what was I thinking, scrolling down your Author Page without bothering to read it? It's absolutely stupendous. Your best yet, by far. Miles by, in fact. It's so ... sinful. Yes. That is the word I am looking for. It's rich in sin, and not just because of the Biblical references, for which I congratulate you on flawless execution. The way he can manipulate people is absolutely seductive, and very, very well-written. Minerva's not the only one under his charm.

Speaking of Minerva, I love the new banner. I could picture Rachel Weisz as Minerva the entire time - a scary thought, because usually people in stories for me have kind of a blur for a face. But no. Here she's distinctly Rachel Weisz. Terrified. Alone. Powerless. But without regret nor remorse. God, I wish I could write like you.

I loved the Shakespeare reference. It fits the two of them remarkably well, I find. As for this line: “I feel regret,” he said, pronouncing each word with care. “You have made me regret, Minerva, and I do not know why.”, I think it is one of the best I have ever read - in fanfiction, or otherwise. Because Tom is so perfectly characterized here. In two sentences, you tell us all we need to know about him.

Absolutely enthralling. I cannot wait for "Widening Gyre". I love it.
XOXO, Kalina

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much for this review, Kalina! It was wholly unexpected. To be honest, I thought you'd already reviewed this story. XD Goes to show how well I pay attention to things. It is an older story, and until my latest, it was the most difficult one for me to write, but I am really glad that you enjoyed it so much!

The new banner surprisingly suits the story far better than my earlier ones. I don't know why I chose Rachel Weisz for this one - the picture just happened to look right and to fit (while all the others I'd tried before quite failed :P). I loved the reflection in that picture and how it would sit against the draped fabric stock image. It's excellent that the banner assisted with making the story more vivid - I'd never thought of that before (as I too only see blank faces, never the characters themselves - strange, as I do hear their voices).

The terror was a significant aspect of the story, perhaps because writing it freaked me out entirely. It stemmed from a comparison I'd made between Tom Riddle and Milton's Satan - both charming, charismatic individuals who were obsessed with gaining ultimate power over the universe. That was where the religious references emerged from (as one cannot talk about Milton without talking about the Bible :P). Yet I also wanted to give Tom a little weakness: his regret. I don't know if it's canon, but it really suited the story, and I'm glad you liked that bit. :D

"Rich in sin" is perhaps the best way I've heard this story described. ^_^

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing this, Kalina! It was wonderful to hear your opinions on this story. :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by Lyn Midnight Sharing Fire

15th July 2009:
Now this one is very rich. From symbolism to emotion and vocabulary - all good ways to seduce a reader. It’s like those excellent meals the Frech savour in several courses, because the Chef has outdone him or herself. The elements of the tale are so strongly linked, and yet everything is frail. It looks like you’ve invested a long time and a lot of effort to make it seem so … effortless.

I see why you said you express yourself in a strange way sometimes. I have noticed it in other stories, but it shows the most in this one. However, the story itself obviously demands a different treatment, and that is why you are truly a versatile author.

It was only in a few places that the structure became too hard to swallow, but it was still brilliantly written, which is ultimately the most important thing. Furthermore, I must admit that I enjoyed the form far more than the soul of the story. As for the latter, their encounter was extremely sensual, one could feel the tension, desire, and, well, distance. Something like the love of two stars – it cannot exist because of the distance, but in writing – there could be a thread, even though for just a moment.

Also, I think this is one of those cases where the title is most appropriate, and any other would be wrong for the tale. Thus, of course, my absolute favourite line is: “Like stars they would shine above the world, sharing fire while everything burned to ash.”

However, I was wondering about how old was Tom at the time, because I thought that Minerva must have been older than him by more than a year. Also, he says that he’s a ‘poor mudblooded boy’ in her eyes, but he’s Half-blood!

Again, I spotted out some problematic parts:

She turned her head to seek out the tall form and receeding hair, (receding) / She met his eyes, briefly, before having to glance look away again. (glance or look?) / Ten years after leaving this place, you returned to spend the rest of your life (here). / He came towards her again, his hand outreached (outstretched). / He used her heart, not an imperious curse. (Imperius Curse)

Finally, I MUST quote another two favorite parts:

“Liquid was the only way to describe him – each moment brought him new expression, new emotion that could either fill or flood.” -- AND – “He was facing her now, without the smiles of the lover, nor the amusement of the corruptor, nor the impatience of the genius. For what emotion could a man without a soul express?” – Brilliant! Absolutely magnificent, it couldn’t’ve been said better!

Author's Response: Rich is nice word to use. ;) There is a lot to this story, probably too much, but I can't edit out things - as is, this story is a testament to a lot of toil and trouble. This is perhaps the most difficult story I've written, so it's really amazing that it seems to effortless. It's such a weird story and I have a lot of trouble re-reading it for that reason. Though, it would be an idea to re-write it as a new story - try the ship out again in a different way to see if I can pull it off better. Who knows?

Tom is either one or two years younger than her, but in 1956 (when this story takes place), I assumed that he would have aged prematurely, looking like a much older man. He's already divided his soul (three ways by this point?) and that would have definitely taken its toll. As for the mudblood part, I think you're right - I assumed that mudblood could also refer to half-bloods, whose blood has been muddied by their Muggle blood.

Thank you very much for reviewing another story, Lyn! It's wonderful to hear from you and see what things you pick out. :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by Azkaban Angel Sharing Fire

4th June 2009:
Amazing, and added as my first "favourite story". I've read Minerva/Voldy fics before and they've never really worked but yours is just perfect and fits together do well. The emotion is so real and you can almost feel her pain and anguish at the impossible choice she had to make. Just wonderful, the best i've ever read (and i've read a lot!). I will defo be reading more of your work!!!

Author's Response: Wow, your first? And only? That's quite a compliment, wow. Thank you very much. It's brilliant that you enjoyed the story that much. I'm kind of speechless now, haha. There is a lot of emotion in this story (I can't even reread it anymore because it's too painful) and I'm really pleased that you liked how everything - story, characters, emotion - worked out. :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by Margop Sharing Fire

10th May 2009:
Wow. Just wow.

I really love the idea of the two of them together. I always thought of McGonagall as a good person through and through, but you put down her doubt so brilliantly, I'm about to change my mind about her :') I actually kind of hoped for her to give in to Voldy, but well, it wouldn't be right, so it's probably for the bet she didn't.

I admire your writing, I really do and I'm definitely planning on reading some of your other stories too. Definitely 10/10!

Author's Response: They do make a compelling pair, and it's fascinating to think what if something actually had happened between them all those years before the series. Give into Voldy? Haha, that would have been interesting to do! It would make a wicked AU story, about how McGonagall went bad to become Voldemort's consort.

Oh dear, hopefully I don't end up doing that. It could go terribly wrong. ;)

Thank you very much for this review! I'm really glad that you enjoyed this story. It's a weird one for me (I still have trouble re-reading it), but I'm glad that readers feel so positive about it. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #12, by essenni Sharing Fire

10th March 2009:
Good story! I decided to start with your one-shot before getting to the longer story. The description and emotional level was great so I guess that I won't regret starting the longer one.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! This story was tough to write with all the emotion in it - I can't even read it again because of whatever power there is in Minerva's experience. I hope you enjoy the longer story as well. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by BarbaraPotty Sharing Fire

12th October 2008:
You know, maybe one of the reasons I'm so enchanted by your stories (yes, I am - and this is only the third one I've read so far) is that they are completely different from mine. And I'm not talking about good and bad, although you could say that too, of course - but as modest as I am, I do have to admit that there probably are people out there who write worse then I do. :D But I'm fascinated by the fact you incredibly descriptive your stories are. I couldn't do a description to save my life. You don't have many fast dialogues, but behind every word your characters say I can feel so much emotion...I admire this skill, and oh, how would I need it in my writing!

Enough talking about me. I loved the idea of this story. I've actually contemplated the idea of Minerva going to school with Voldie, but I would never imagine them being lovers. Maybe it's because I have another as-close-to-love-as-he-can-get object for him in my head...But it's just brilliant. I mean, she was really very good at magic, so he would probably like her...and she wasn't completely devoted, like, say, Bellatrix, so he would definitely respect her more. But as she said at the end, ultimately, there was place only for him at that pedestal.

For some reason, I never connect my fics with my 'real' lecture in any way, but you paradise and Paradise references made me think about that a bit...there are some plot bunnies which could be written based on, say, 'Better to reign in Hell then serve in Heaven'...

To finally say something relevant (I must ramble, because otherwise I would have to end this review with "excellent" and I never leave short reviews like this :D), I honestly loved this story and I'm glad Minerva managed to hold up - and I'm sure Albus was glad, too. :)

Author's Response: Enchanted? o_O Never heard that word used, but it's certainly a beautiful compliment, thank you. But don't downplay your own talents, I'm too much looking forward to reading your stories. ;)

I agree that imagining them together is a bit strange (this story is only one that disturbs me to no end, I have trouble re-reading it), but I couldn't resist trying out the ship, just to see how it could work. Perhaps it was the challenge alone that made Riddle interested in Minerva: Gryffindor, loyal to Dumbledore, unselfishly good.

The Paradise Lost thing is too much fun to play with. :P Riddle is so villainous in the Satanic way, loving words and getting others to do his bidding without much effort. In this story, Minerva is like Milton's Eve - the one who takes too long to convince, the one who won't be swayed by compliments. Arg, this is why is sucks to be an English major - EVERYTHING relates to literature in the end. *sighs*

Thank you so much for reviewing this. It's wonderful that you enjoyed it. ^_^



 Report Review

Review #14, by The Other Dobby Sharing Fire

8th October 2008:
Wow. This story is incredible. All the description and everything really captures the imagination. I could definitely see Tom Riddle acting like this. Just beautiful.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! It's fantastic that you enjoyed reading this. :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by Rain_Melody Sharing Fire

1st June 2008:
That was very interesting. I got a little confused at times, but your style kept me reading. I'd never thought of Minerva at all in that way, and it was refreshing. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm sorry it was confusing for you - it's a really weird story, and I don't blame you for being confused by some of the things that happened (I have trouble re-reading this one for that reason). But it's still wonderful that you liked reading it. :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by antlers Sharing Fire

21st March 2008:
..this is such an interesting pair..
really well written, it shows a mcgonagall whos younger and less wise than she was in the books, which makes it really believeable.

Author's Response: Thank you! I agree that it wouldn't seem right to place her with Voldemort too late in her life - at this point, she's still young enough to perhaps take risks like this, not that she really took a risk here, except making in choosing to take a walk with the Dark Lord. :P I'm really pleased that you enjoyed this story. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by theflawintheplan Sharing Fire

9th March 2008:
I liked it it a lot. It was an eye opener to the fact that Voldemort still had a piece of soul left, even if it was corrupted beyond repair. You have a nice writing style that I wish I possessed but, alas, I do not. Anyway, this deserves a 10/10!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you for these kind words. It's great that you liked this story and I'm really really happy that you like my writing style. That means so much. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #18, by Ollie Vander Sharing Fire

26th February 2008:
Umm...wow. That was brilliant. I've never read anything like it before. You are an amazing writer.

Author's Response: *blushes* Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Rebekka Sharing Fire

4th February 2008:
I cried. I did. At the end. In a bus on my way home. It's in my favorites and stays there forever. What a beautiful story. And the language you use, how you're a poet, just like Erin and Missy. You have such a unique skill, such a way to express what is often left unsaid. God, I loved this. Every word of it.

What amazes me is your ability to shift scenes; it flows so perfectly that I... I didn't even notice the transitions. That is a skill I feel envious of. I would like to learn to do that. The best example of this is when Minerva realises that it's not what she wants. You did that perfectly, and I know, because I read with my heart and nothing interfered with the story. I don't know how you do it, but I want to learn it. ^_^

I love the fact that he's almost human with her, in that short moment, he's almost a person, wants to be a person who could love. And yet, he isn't. Nothing but a monster... and she regrets. I love your words, Susan. I love this story. And there's just no critique. You are a 10/10 girl, dear. *Hugs*

Author's Response: Oh dear, I didn't want to make anyone cry with this story! One day, I will write a non-cryable story.... To be compared with Erin and Missy? Wow. I didn't think that was possible, especially for me. *makes note to write like this more often*

I was very worried about that part when Minerva decides she doesn't want any of this. It felt too abrupt to me, so it's good to hear that it worked for you, Johanna. That was definitely a part I was uncomfortable with, and had re-written it already once. So I guess that means it was all luck with getting the scenes to transition properly. :P

Yes! In your last paragraph, you got it. =D Tom almost becomes someone else, he almost takes back some of the soul he lost, but doesn't quite catch it, or understand it. Well, now that I think of it, that is a very heartbreaking part of the story, the realisation that Tom can't turn back, that he has no chance of becoming human.

Thanks so much for taking the time to do this, Johanna. Your reviews mean very much to me and I appreciate that you took the time to read and review this story. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #20, by Magic_Marker Sharing Fire

30th January 2008:
An unconventional pairing, to say the least. Good thing I love unconventional pairings!

I loved how visual the story was. Everything was very sensory, and that emphasized the kind of hold Tom has over Minerva. The imagery you mentioned was striking and appropriate. It is easy to go overboard with the decadence of your own descriptions, though, so be careful.

I loved the line "For what emotion could a man without a soul express?" It completely summed up what Tom has lost in order to become so powerful, and highlighted his personal tragedy: he'll never know what he's missing, or know why he regrets Minerva. Great job! Looking forward to seeing more of this pairing from you.

Author's Response: Unconventional is fun to write. :P If only just to see people's reactions to it, haha. Oh wow! Thank you for that wonderful compliment on the imagery I used. ^_^ The sensory component of this story, especially of senses other than sight, is very significant. The sensory aspect plays with Minerva's mind because one can never be sure if Tom's feeding her these feelings. It was really interesting to do, since usually I just stick with the sense of sight.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing, Magic_Marker! I really appreciate hearing from you. =D


 Report Review

Review #21, by A Licorice Wand Sharing Fire

23rd January 2008:
I read this a few days ago but finally now exams are over have found the time to come back and review it. I have only read one other piece of your work a Minerva/OC one shot and ever since have been meaning to read more and this story reminded me why!

Your characterisation of Minerva surprised me again. It is so perfect and it is a credit to your writing that you can make characters do things we would normally consider completely out of their nature and yet write it in a way that makes it real. The great thing about this story is that it made me question my own view of McGonagall and made me think yes, she could of done this. I suppose you made her more human to me, which was greatly refreshing.

Your Riddle was terrifyingly haunting; controlling made all the worst by just how real he was. To watch him undo Minerva was made part of me want to look away as I watched a normally perfectly together character break down. I have never read this pairing and as I consider it they are an interesting ship. Their differences, when written well, could play off each other so perfectly. There are very few writers that would dare to write him let alone do it successfully.

I musn't forget the description contained in this. It made every aspect of this story come alive. It is definitely a strange plot but I felt completely there, and although sometimes I didn't want to be your words compelled me to continue reading. The most impressive thing was the way you felt completely empty as a reader when Minerva realised the extent of Tom's power over her. The imagery brings new life into your words, lines such as 'silk running over bare flesh' and 'liquid was the only way to describe him' are a joy to read.

A good story for me is one that continues in your mind long after you've finished reading because finishing it leaves you feeling strangely empty. If this makes any sense because this story did exactly that. I was lying in bed desperately trying to remember Physics equations for my exam and I simply couldn't shake the scenes and the characters out of my head.

A brilliant one shot. Simply perfect.

Author's Response: This review still makes me blush. Goodness, thank you for writing such a long one! They're hard to respond to, but still wonderful to receive and read. ^_^

Haha, poor Minerva. I torture her with all these stories, yet she manages to get through them all and continue on. I'm glad that she turned out still in character for this story. It's definitely a situation which could cause OOC issues, and it's very pleasing to know that mine didn't turn out that way. As for Riddle being terrifying, that's perfect - exactly how I wanted him to appear like. He's more than the typical comic-book villain; he is very much a terrifying and disturbing person, at least in my mind. In turn, the story itself became disturbing - what you say about it making you feeling empty is what it did to me, and I don't know how or why. It was painful to write, and painful to re-read. I don't know if I could write something like this again, but I'm glad I was able to push myself to finish it. :)

Thank you so very much for this review. It really means a lot to me that you took the time to write it. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #22, by SilverShadow04 Sharing Fire

22nd January 2008:
Whoa now that was good. Not just pretty good but GOOD. I did not take my eyes off the screen I couldn't. The words the mood all had me enraptured and entranced. Another fabulous job my dear you must always appreciate your talent for the mastery of words. And the ability to grow them into a story.

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you! Gosh, I never expected this story to get such a reception has it has. It's wonderful that you've enjoyed it so much, thank you! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #23, by angelinhogwarts Sharing Fire

22nd January 2008:
That, has got to be the best story I've ever read. Wow. It's wow. 10/10 all the way.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! =D It's fantastic that you enjoyed it so well and I appreciate hearing from you. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #24, by VampireKisses Sharing Fire

20th January 2008:
O_O I'm in awe Susan. Seriously. This was...no words cannot describe it -maybe brilliant but to me that is just putting it mildly. This was my first read at Tom/McGonagall and I gotta say you make it look tempting. I loved your descriptions. They were just so powerfully vivid I could feel her emotions and I could picture every intricate scene. This story's style of writing reminded me of Ian McEwan's Atonement. Your characterizations were good and I really liked Tom. I felt that you captured the esscence of this strong character and fleshed him out so that he came to life. The only problem I have with it is that in some parts it got a little slow -but that just may be me as it is a quarter past eleven at night and I look the rough equivalent of a zombie- but that's pretty much it. I love this story!

9.5/10 and it is added to my favourites XD

Author's Response: I definitely agree about the slowness in parts - that was me trying to figure out where to go next with the story. :S But I'm glad that's the only problem with this story. It was probably one of the hardest I've ever written with all the emotion and darkness, and its writing style. I've never read Atonement, but I know the sort of style McEwan uses is what I was trying to work with. I'm glad it came across well, since it isn't always a style that makes sense to read. It's also great that the characterizations turned out right - Tom is exciting to write, though I'm never sure if I'm quite getting him right. :)

Thanks so much for this review, it really means a lot. ^_^ Wow, it's just awesome that you enjoyed the story so much.


 Report Review

Review #25, by weluvjamesandcharlie Sharing Fire

20th January 2008:
That was very interesting. Very well written. The whole idea and plot is very original. Good job.

Author's Response: Thanks! Original, eh? That's amazing, thank you! ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>