Reading Reviews for Grief and Circuses
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #1, by megthechef43 Grief & Circuses

10th March 2012:
momotwins,

I have never thought about what Molly went through after the final battle when she lost a son. I was doing good until they found Remus and Tonks and then I could bearly read because my eyes were so blurry with tears.

I think the most sad part was her memory of the children when they were younger.

Beautiful story.

SHPFFO

Author's Response: I spent a lot of time thinking about it, thus the several stories about it. I really identify with Molly and always have. Thanks so much for the beautiful review! I'm very glad you liked it and that it maybe made you see things differently in the stories.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Debra20 Grief & Circuses

15th July 2011:
Oh wow...I think I only cried like this when I first read his death in Deathly Hallows :(

Your empathy with Molly really shows through this piece. I loved it to bits. You really have the talent of capturing emotions into words. Molly has always been a strong woman, and you proved that once again the moment she told Bill to look for Arthur and together, bring Fred's body. Despite her grief, she took control of the situation, for the briefest of moments, as she always has.

One can only imagine what goes on in the soul of a mother that lost her son. Your story gives an incredible insight on those feelings.

A definite tragic pleasure to read!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Molly is probably always going to be my favorite character. She's my fellow twin-mom. I might empathize with her too strongly, but I can't help it.

I agree, Molly is very strong - moreso than she usually gets credit for in fanfiction. She and Arthur are both very admirable people, I've always thought. Strong and just and willing to do what's right, no matter how hard it is.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by RumbleroarRedvines Grief & Circuses

13th July 2011:
I'm not crying; it's raining on my face...
I was nine years old when DH came out and I was reading the Battle scene on an airplane (along with everyone else) and I got to the point where Fred died. I remember that moment of cold, rigid shock, followed by a fierce anger towards J.K. Rowling... (Really? Hedwig, Dobby, and now FRED? UNFAIR.) I basically hit an emotional wall and let out a loud, tearful wail of "Fred! Not FRED!"
Now looking back on that moment, I think of you and how, with your own little boys, the shock and aftermath must have been 10x worse.
This raw emotion you are able to feel is what makes you such a powerful writer. You're absolutely brilliant. 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This review really made my day. I was very upset about Fred's death, I spent the entirety of the books really identifying with Molly and her twins - I started reading them when I was pregnant with my own twins - and I just can't stand the thought that Fred & George were separated. It's been a few years, and I wrote quite a few stories processing Fred's death, as it were, so I've kind of come to terms with it now, but I still don't like it!

Thank you, thank you, for this wonderful review.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Steph Grief & Circuses

8th June 2011:
Thanks for your response. I just wanted to add that I'd actually love to see a [long] series of one-shots from all the Unsinkable characters, set during the books/DH. I love 'Cherry Blossoms', but I'd especially love to see what Siobhan's doing, whether she's fighting, or hiding, or even still alive. And Cosmo! Did he survive with the Order the first time? Sorry, I'm just not ready to have finished with 'Unsinkable' :( Keep up the amazing work, you have a talent for Weasleys :D

Author's Response: I've been working (on and off) on a few things on Siobhan's activities between where we left her at All Things Life Must Be and the DH era. One of these days I'll get that finished. Cosmo survives :) I haven't planned to write about him, but yeah he lives, and moves to Canada in the late 70s, following his mom and sisters. Thank you very much :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Steph Grief & Circuses

8th June 2011:
I have to admit; I cried. This is spectacularly written, full of raw emotion. Your language is flawless. I love the juxtaposition of the memory and the battle; the parallel of them running away and Fred being torn away from her is tragically poetic.
I was thinking, after I finished 'Unsinkable', that I'd love to see you write a collection of one-shots from Molly's perspective during the books. Thank you so much for writing this, I'd love to see more.

Author's Response: I wrote quite a few one-shots to process Fred's death. I wasn't happy about that in the books, I have to admit - all the other character deaths I felt I could deal with, but I had a hard time with the twins being split up, being a mom of twins myself. I haven't written about the young Weasleys or Fred's death in quite a while now, actually, I might have to try it out again. Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by timstearns2 Grief & Circuses

19th February 2011:
I have a twin brother. I don't know what I'd do if something happened to him.

Author's Response: I have twin sons, and I have a hard time processing it too. It's too much to think about. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by LauraM. Grief & Circuses

18th January 2011:
Ohmygod, this made me cry. It's so beautiful :'(

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #8, by massieblockrox Grief & Circuses

24th November 2010:
Aww, that sad . . . but very well written. I liked how Molly called Ron "Ronnie".

Great job!

Author's Response: Moms always have nicknames ;) Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #9, by LilyPotterWood Grief & Circuses

19th November 2010:
Oh my god, this was so good. I think the death of Fred it the saddest in Harry Potter and I have to admit I cried when I read this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I definitely thought Fred's was the hardest-hitting of the DH deaths. Poor George. I actually wrote another piece on it too, "The Pitch", because Fred's death just really got to me. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by PSiEnjoyAcidPops Grief & Circuses

19th July 2010:
I cried whilst reading this. It was beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #11, by GinnyCullen Grief & Circuses

17th June 2010:
I cried more from this one-shot than I did from Cecilia's death and funeral. Beautiful. You are an amazing writer!

Author's Response: This is one of my favorites that I've written, so I'm glad you liked it. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by FOREVERHARRY468 Grief & Circuses

29th May 2010:
So beautiful! I'm still crying...my husband is looking at me as if I'm mental. DH was such an amazing book, filled with emotion, and this story fits perfectly. Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I totally agree about DH. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by darthcorde Grief & Circuses

6th May 2010:
This is so incredibly beautiful; I'm in tears as I write. I remember crying the first time I read Deathly Hallows, and I don't think I'll ever get over Fred's death. But I'm so glad you wrote this; Molly's memory interspersed with the grief is so beautifully heartbreaking. In a way, I think you've given me just a bit of closure, and for that I thank you.

Only one bit of advice: You might consider changing the title -- I'm not sure what to, but as it stands, it's so morbid-sounding that I almost laughed out loud upon seeing it, and I don't feel it suits the sentiment of the story. But as to the story itself, again, wonderfully written, and thank you.

Author's Response: I have a hard time with titles (thus the Unsinkable series using so much from songs). This was a play on "Bread & Circuses", which probably only made sense in my head (as so many things do). I probably should retitle it, but I have no idea what I would call it. I will think on it, I promise, and if something springs to mind, drop me a line on the forums.

Thank you so much for the review, it really meant a lot to me. This story was definitely written straight from the heart, so I'm always happy to hear it got to someone. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #14, by theelderwand Grief & Circuses

25th February 2010:
There are no words...

Author's Response: I hope that's a good speechless... Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by pthgrl Grief & Circuses

9th February 2010:
what a tear-jerker. but so real. thanks.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Hermione528 Grief & Circuses

18th October 2009:
I must admit, I'm on the verge of tears. Beautiful, beautiful, story, filled to the brim with angst. My heart aches for Molly-- I don't have children, and I feel a mother's sorrow through your description of her. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very proud of this story, it makes me very happy when it gets positive reviews. Thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by 1917farmgirl Grief & Circuses

7th October 2009:
That was eloquently beautiful and oh so dreadfully sad. Beautiful writing, exquisite emotion and imagery. Thank you for sharing, and now please excuse me while I go try and paste my heart back together again.

Author's Response: Thank you! This is one of my favorites, and one of my earliest HPFFs. I still like it a lot.

 Report Review

Review #18, by redflameeyes Grief & Circuses

30th July 2009:
oh my gosh, that was so sad, i actually had tears in my eyes! fred's death was absolutely the worst in the whole series, i was crying so hard when i read the seventh book. i still can't believe JK killed him! but his was really great :) just sad.

Author's Response: Fred's death was the only one that made me cry in the books. I really hated that the twins were split up, it makes me very upset. Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm glad you thought the story was good.

 Report Review

Review #19, by NotSoSirius Grief & Circuses

14th July 2009:
aw *cries* thats so sad! I loved Fred, and i can honestly say i cried when he died in the book (along with all my other favorite characters T.T)
I'm glad you took the time to explore this scene in the book from Molly's point of view, i mean.. Who else would feel the loss as deep. (besides George)

Author's Response: I definitely cried over Fred's death, too. Thank you so much for the review, I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Kat Grief & Circuses

6th May 2009:
Very sad but lovely story.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #21, by chicken  Grief & Circuses

10th April 2009:
You almost made me cry. It was beautifully written! You really captured Molly's character maybe you could have had some more anger at death-eaters though. Great. Chicken

Author's Response: Thank you! Actually I think the anger would have come later, but I didn't think about it at the time I wrote this. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by MoonNRoses Grief & Circuses

31st January 2009:
Now you have done it... You've made me cry. I don't really know what to leave in this review. It was beautifully written of course, and so so sad. I can feel their grief.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #23, by hsw Grief & Circuses

9th December 2008:
Wow. This story had tears rolling down my face. I had to take a few moments to collect myself before writing this; I'm still sniffling. It is probably only the third fanfic to effect me this way (another being your Quidditch pitch story). Of all the deaths in DH, Fred's was the worst for me, then Dobby's. What made this story so powerful to me was the memory of the circus in between, and it all being told from Molly's POV. I am really impressed with your writing. Oh, this all is just so sad!

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! I am very fond of this fic, so I'm glad you enjoyed it so much. You are too kind! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Laila Grief & Circuses

5th December 2008:
Ufff!
That was just like so sad. To sad for me to handle.
I have already read this three times and I still don't seem to find the words to describe this whole thing.
It was just marvellous. I loved. It was so deep. I loved the way you portrayed the emotions of the Weasleys when they found out about Fred being dead. *sniff* I always tried to figure out what this moment would be like. And you pictured it so perfectly...

And then those small moments when the twins were small. They were just so cute.

-We missed you, Mum.- The two little bodies launched themselves at her. -Can we come home again?-

-You can always come home, my loves.- Molly hugged her little boys tightly.

Really loved it.
Congratulations.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked the story so much. I'm very fond of this one. Thank you for reviewing, I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #25, by ashley411 Grief & Circuses

25th November 2008:
you are the best i love molly and authur there are not enough stories about them thats why i love you yo umuch JKJK
you are a very good writer and i wait for the next story please make it about the weasleys

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I have a novel-length all about Molly and Arthur, if you haven't seen that yet. I'll be writing more about them later, I'm doing NaNoWriMo so don't have time for it until November is over...

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>