Reading Reviews for The Twentieth Of May
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sabya Sachi Chapter Three: Hermione

19th March 2011:
A beautiful heart wrenching short story!!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by FairEyes Chapter Three: Hermione

7th August 2010:
Absolutely amazing. I've been reduced to a puddle of tears. Extremely well written and emoting. It makes me want to give you my condolences, as you captured that pain of loss as only one who has known loss themself. Tragically beautiful!

 Report Review

Review #3, by roxyroxtheworld Chapter Three: Hermione

19th October 2009:
(tears) i sereiously cried reading this chapter. its so sad.

Anyway i love the story. i love the description you use and holy crap this is a sad story. but i loved it anyway!!!

Author's Response: This is one of my favourite's of my own work, so I'm glad you enjoyed it too. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #4, by roxyroxtheworld Chapter Two: Harry

19th October 2009:
Ron is such a good friend.

But i do wonder whats wrong with harry.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #5, by roxyroxtheworld Chapter One: Ron

19th October 2009:
? is hermione dead? This is a sad chapter but i love the description you use.

Anyway i guess i'll just continue reading.

Author's Response: You'll see soon enough. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #6, by nevyn06 Chapter Three: Hermione

27th February 2008:
Oh wow,

Its pretty rare for me to tear up when reading stories like this, but you had the lump in my throat and the tears were on their way. The emotion that you conveyed in this story was incredible... The characterisation was excellent, and i particually loved how even though harry had lost it, there was some resemblance of self. You continue you amaze me... I'm counting the days til you get published.. lol

Nev

Author's Response: Heh, I'm counting the days too. That'll be fun. This piece was so interesting to write. I'm not a Ron writer, but using him here was ... a learning experience, I guess. And it was all about the emotion in this one. I put as much as I could into it, and it was draining, I can tell you that ;)

Calling you Nev gives me the giggles, but I'll push past them to say I'm very glad you enjoyed this and even gladder that you took the time to leave a review. Your opinion means a lot. Thank you.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ford the Prefect Chapter Three: Hermione

1st February 2008:
Oh my God! This story is incredible.

I found The Twentieth Of May to be an amazing, powerful, deeply moving story. I gotta tell you, by the time I finished reading it I had a sizable lump in my throat, and I had to take a few minutes to compose myself. You paint such a vivid picture of Ron; his loneliness, his dedication to Harry, his internal struggle when he thinks about having Harry institutionalized, and of course, his pain and despair, even after so many years, over having lost not only his best friend but his true love. And what a wonderful touch, to have Hermione speak to him, as only she can.

I love stories such as this, that explore emotions and passions and relationships and the like. I hope someday to be able to write such a story. And I can't think of a better example of a goal to shoot for than this one. What a wonderful effort. All I can say is, thank you.

This goes on the favorites list for sure.

~Doug

Author's Response: I like to think that this story highlights the best attribute to my writing and that's the emotions behind it. I like to think that's my strongest quality in my work. I like to think I pulled it off. Reviews like this tell me I don't need to think anymore, because I know. And I really can't thank you enough for that, Doug.

Ron's always been a difficult character for me to grasp, so with this piece I decided to just rip him apart and find the place where his raw emotions are. That made him so much easier and I'm happy with the effort. More than happy, in fact, very proud.

Again, Doug, though I still think the words really don't convey how much I mean them, thank you for the wonderful review.


 Report Review

Review #8, by thedarklordvoldy Chapter Three: Hermione

21st December 2007:
I'm gonna comment, but give me a miniute to stop crying.

Ok.

That was HORRIBLE. wonderfully written but i HATE it. Its so sad, Ron can't cope by himself... *sob* (10/10)

Author's Response: At least it brought about emotion ... that's a big bonus :p I'm er ... glad you thought it was written well? Thank you very much for taking the time to review.

 Report Review

Review #9, by RonandHermioneforever Chapter Three: Hermione

13th December 2007:
Oh my gosh!! I feel like I swallowed a whole watermelon and I am practically sobbing right now. This is by far the saddest story I have ever read.

Author's Response: It pleases me to know that the story managed to bring about an emotional reaction. Thank you so very much for taking the time to let me know.

 Report Review

Review #10, by fredsginigernut Chapter Three: Hermione

12th December 2007:
i no its really depressing but i kinda wish dh had ended like this, i thought they would all be more scarred from the battle and this is just so poignant. really beautiful writing btw.

Author's Response: I too had hoped for an ending more like this. I don't think it's right that they went through an actual war and weren't as damaged, emotionally and physically, as expected.

Anyway, I'm so very pleased you enjoyed it. Thank you for taking the time to review.


 Report Review

Review #11, by MoonNRoses Chapter Three: Hermione

10th December 2007:
I'm blown away. The grief is just so... It never goes away. The day will never be just a day to Ron and Harry. You've captured it very well. Maybe I should say that you are insightful. The writing, as always, is amazing. I think you;ve done very well there also. I really need to stop reading tear jerkers at work!

~Crystal

Author's Response: Insightful would be a much appreciated compliment, but perhaps it would be giving me too much credit ;) Maybe I should stop writing the tearjerkers, but I'm far too sadistic :p Okay, so I'm not, I just am very passionate about exploring raw emotion.

As always, Crystal, from you, the words mean more. Thank you so very much.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Romina Stephanie Chapter Three: Hermione

6th December 2007:
Excruciantingly beautiful and heartwrenching. I really feel like weeping, because of the terrible ache in my chest that weighs my shoulders. The portrayals and the AU-world you created in this were both brilliant and well-written. Ron's emotions in this... You covered it all really well and for being one who doesn't like him (or was it portraying him in fanfiction?!) you've done a great job. I loved the part when you described Hermione being the trio's heart. Sad that he realized it so late. But this makes me think... I suppose in a way that she is. Wow, you cannot know how happy I am that neither of them died in DH, because I honestly don't think I could've taken it. Anyways, enough rambling. Beautiful and an extremely sad piece of work. Very well-written, everything from the plot to every emotion this covered and believable characterization. Well done and keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Wow, what a great review.

It was portraying Ron in fanfiction. Not that I don't really like it, just that I don't often do it, and thus, am not used to his character. I do like him though, mostly.

I am so very proud of this piece. It started as one of those unusual ideas that's just downright depressing, but I'm very pleased with the way it turned out, and I really do have reviews like this to thank for it, especially since I was originally unsure of it. The way you describe my work makes me so happy with it.

I'm of a different mind than you, I would have liked DH better if at least one of the trio had died (best if it had been Harry). Morbid, perhaps, but I just think it would have made the journey so much more emotional, so much deeper. Still, I suppose that's why I enjoy fanfiction so much ... I can kill whomever I want :p

Thank you so very much for this brilliant review. These are the ones that I love the most, when you know that the reviewer has put thought into their words.


 Report Review

Review #13, by skrewt Chapter Three: Hermione

6th December 2007:
What can I say that I haven't said already? I don't think the idea of Harry being the way he is would have appealed to me under normal circumstances but they way you write makes it all so believeable. The bitter-sweet ending was perfect. Everything was perfect. Well done! You should be really proud of this story!

-skrewt

Author's Response: I am really proud of this story. I loved writing Harry like that. It was sad, yeah, but so different that it was interesting. And yeah, I think I've got a thing for the bitter-sweet. I'm glad you think it fit.

Thanks a lot, skrewt.


 Report Review

Review #14, by thetimeturners Chapter Three: Hermione

5th December 2007:
I'm at a loss for words and I'm crying. Her voice drifted over the wind to him again, 'Oh, for crying out loud, Ron, its just a day!' and the smallest of smiles appeared on his lips, battling against the ache in his chest as he tightened his grip on Harry. That was the perfect way to end it. Beautiful and heart wrenching.

Author's Response: As always, magick, your reviews and opinions are greatly appreciated. Desperate Measures will be back on track very soon. Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #15, by byrne108 Chapter Three: Hermione

5th December 2007:
excellent! i told you ron has always been my favorite and this is definitely one of the best written and in character portrayals i've read. and trust me, i've read a lot. you had me in the clutch through most of it, but i knew the end would have something to bring a smile to my face, and there it is. i think think part of may be that i actually say "for crying out loud" all the time, but it is something that hermione would say too. alright, enough of my ramblings. a wonderful job, always reading,
e

Author's Response: Coming from you, byrne, that means a lot, being that you're a big Ron fan. I had hoped I'd got him down, now I'm reassured. Thanks. Yeah, the ending ... I go and write these depressing pieces, but more often than not, I just can't stop myself from adding a touch of hope at the end.

Your ramblings are always welcome. More than that, they are anticipated and appreciated. As always, thank you.


 Report Review

Review #16, by jinx_pickle_jinx Chapter Three: Hermione

5th December 2007:
is this the end of the story?

Author's Response: Yes, it is. Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #17, by skrewt Chapter Two: Harry

21st November 2007:
Oh, God... so he isn't... alright? Thats so sad. So so sad, hence that uncomfortably large lump thats wedged itself just above my adams apple. Again, a beautiful chapter. I can't wait for the next one. How long do you think this story will be? Anyway, great job! (it pains me to use exclimation marks. its sort of not right when your wallowing in depression, yeah?) ;)

Author's Response: No, he's not. Not quite, anyway. I loved writing his part in this, to reduce such an amazing character into that little boy. I know, that sounds sadistic, but you know what I mean, yeah?

Since I was woefully remiss in mentioning this in the first chapter of the story, this will be three chapters long. The next is the last. And I really don't mind the exclamation marks. Perhaps they aren't right when you're upset, but since I can't see your face, they express your enthusiasm for the fic, which means a lot. So thank you very much for the wonderful review.


 Report Review

Review #18, by skrewt Chapter One: Ron

21st November 2007:
Oh, wow, this is so incredible. It's well written, it flows and it makes your heart ache! Fabulous job, Wit! I don't quite know whats going on, although i have an inkling and I hope Harry hasn't, you know... completely lost it? That would be... geez... really really sad. You've done a great job with despcription (though as can't add in "as usual" since this is the first story of yours that I've read). I hope the next chapter is just as good. Kudos to you!

-skrewt

Author's Response: As I can see, you've already read the next chapter. Therefore you already know ... Harry has indeed completely lost it. More about why will be revealed in chapter three. Thank you so very much, screwt. I especially appreciate it when I can tell a reviewer has put thought into a review, so I look forward to hearing from you again.

Btw, your penname ... I love it.


 Report Review

Review #19, by MoonNRoses Chapter Two: Harry

17th November 2007:
Oh my... it's just so sad. so heartwrenching. I just want to reach through your words and give them each a hug. The both of them, in their own ways, seem so devastated. It's beautiful in its sadness.

Author's Response: The way you describe it overwhelms me with pride for my work. Besides saying that I always appreciate your reviews so much, there are simply no words that can convey my thanks.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Romina Stephanie Chapter Two: Harry

17th November 2007:
I was glad that we got some more background information on Harry, even though his condition was unknown to even the Healers. Ron's emotions and thoughts were all realistic; I really wanted to cry when he thought of taking his life. Indeed, a harsh reality. But still, he's there and I'm glad that he decided to care for Harry. Just... honestly, this makes me ache. Great characterization and writing in all; can't wait for the next chap =)

Author's Response: And there is yet more background information to come. Ron's emotions weren't easy to write as they're so deep, but I did want to focus on reality. He's humans, and humans struggle with emotions like this, he's bound to be seriously depressed. I hate reading something where they simply ... get over it, or something like that.

Anyway, I'm so happy that you've enjoyed this chapter as well, and I hope you like the chapter to come (it will be the final chapter). Thank you so much for reading, and thank you so much for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Romina Stephanie Chapter One: Ron

17th November 2007:
Ron was written beautifully. His emotions were described in a way that made my heart ache as well; when he ached, I ached. I've been meaning to read this for ages, and I'm glad I took the time to do so today. It was spellbounding, really. The scene with Harry was also well-written and it makes me even more sad to hear that he's nothing but a shell anymore. Off to read the next chap; very curious about where this is headed. Well done! =)

Author's Response: Thank you SO much. I'm not a Ron writer, so when readers express that they've enjoyed the way I've written him, it makes me feel very satisfied with my work. Something I appreciate more than I can express.

Emotions are something I try to strongly convey. I do so love the exploration of the human heart in different conditions. I'm so please that you enjoyed that aspect of this.

Thank you very much for taking the time to both read, and review. It means a lot.


 Report Review

Review #22, by byrne108 Chapter Two: Harry

12th November 2007:
excellent chapter. ron is, and always has been, my favorite of all the hp characters and, though i'm expecting some sad stuff, i'm really excited about reading this story. it seems that you've done a complete 180 from your last story and i love the extreme change-up. all shall be revealed in time, i suppose. always reading,
e

Author's Response: Actually, all shall be revealed in the next chapter. I must've forgotten to mention this at the beginning, but this is only 3 chapters long. Probably should've told you that.

Anyway. Ron's never been my favourite character, not even in my top five, which is probably why I don't write him often. But I wanted to challenge myself with this one and go in-depth with him. I'm quite pleased that you're enjoying the characterization.

And yeah, expect some sad stuff. It seems pain is what I do best :p As always, I love hearing from you, byrne. Thank you.


 Report Review

Review #23, by kt_rv Chapter Two: Harry

11th November 2007:
Really amazing story. I was completely absorbed, and quite moved by it. And then furious that there were only two chapters. Keep going, so far so fantastic!!

Author's Response: At the risk of infuriating you further, you should know that there's only another chapter to come. Still, I'm very thankful for your review and quite pleased that you're enjoying the story.

 Report Review

Review #24, by thetimeturners Chapter Two: Harry

11th November 2007:
But that was just wishful thinking, a lonely fool’s fantasy. gry at himself for dwelling on those thoughts, those silly dreams, he forcefully reminded himself of the harsh reality. I'm crying. This chapter, like the last, is just so full of the heart-breaking emotion.

Ron and Harry's loss. For Ron; Hermione, Harry's sanity - in a way, he lost both of his friends. Taking it upon himself to do this day after day ... I can't go on. And for Harry; he's lost in his mind.

I want to read more. Please update soon.

Author's Response: And more is what I shall give ... soon, I think. The next chapter is written, but I'm editing it at the moment. As soon as I have just as I want it, it's yours ;)

That was exactly the kind of emotion I was going for: pure, raw loss. Because really, like you said, Ron did lose both of his friends, Harry being the way he is. And you've summed up Harry's condition perfectly, he is lost in his own mind.

You do know there's only one more chapter to be posted? If not, well ... now you do. It shouldn't be far away.

As always, you have my thanks.


 Report Review

Review #25, by jinx_pickle_jinx Chapter Two: Harry

11th November 2007:
this is sooo sad... and I'm listening to "How to Save a Life" on iTunes now too!! keep updating.. this is reall good!!

xxJINX

Author's Response: What a very fitting song. I'm glad you're enjoying it. Thanks a lot!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>