175 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maraudertimes Not the Décor

15th March 2014:
Hiya Rose! CR2!

Goodness me, this chapter was just full of awesome! First, I absolutely loved the little revenge that Tonks and Sirius exacted on Remus. It just seems like something a member of the Black family would do! Also, I utterly loved the undergarment bit. Although, I would have liked to read about what Tonks's reaction would have been to Remus in blue lace. :P

The friend date was so cute! Ice cream is definitely a Tonks thing! Lily and Remus? Well I have to say, that's not something I've ever really thought of, but I guess anything is better than Farah (*slightly evil but innocent grin*).

Ooh! Dawlish is a creep! I'm so glad Tonks punched him! Three points to her! :)

The ending was so sweet and so cute and I can't believe Remus had that planned out for weeks! :P He's just such a darling!

The literally ending was so lovely and romantic, and I kind of, sort of loved it. :)

This was a great chapter Rose and I'm so excited to read the rest!
Lo:)

P.S. My CRs will end *exactly* on the last chapter! How cool is that? (sorry, but I like when things work out like that :P)

 Report Review

Review #2, by maraudertimes Underhanded and Overexposed

15th March 2014:
Rose! I have come for the Challenge Reviews! They'll be called CRs, alright? So, CR1.

Oh my goodness, can I just say that I quite literally laughed out loud when I saw toomanycurls? Goodness gracious Rose! I'm quite glad I took a break from reviewing your stories (please don't be mad), since I've forgotten quite a bit of it and it's so much fun to return and h ave things that are utterly new awaiting for me. :D

Okay, to the rest of the chapter, it was so sad that Sirius was put on house arrest, although I understand why. But his reaction was just so heartbreaking. :(

But I guess he did find something else to preoccupy himself with. I'm going to say it's a blessing that Tonks took those magazines because honestly, he really should not be that dedicated to them. *shudder*

Ooh, a Tonks and Remus moment, a Tonks and Remus moment! They are so cute together!

I don't know whether I should be happy about Remus's ability to pull pranks via other people, or slightly concerned, given that it shows a definite marauder side to him, but also seems quite childish in that he's pulling pranks. Nah, I've decided I love it. :)

Ergh, the ending was hilarious, although I hope Remus bridges the canyon soon!

Lo:)

 Report Review

Review #3, by 1917farmgirl Infinitesimal Words

8th March 2014:
All right, so the moment I read that Remus thought accompanying the kids to Kings Cross would be the opportunity he needed to profess his undying love to Tonks, I just had to shake my head. Obviously, Remus doesn't know teenagers very well, does he? Not only is the thought that he could find time to do that insane, but who in their right mind would get all lovey-dovey with 6 adolescents watching? Especially when two of those teens are FRED AND GEORGE? Cause the twins would NEVER think of taking the mickey out of you for something like that. Forever. And eternity.

Okay, at least he had the sense to wait for the return trip.

Remus, Remus, Remus. WHERE did you get those sappy lines? You have a secret stash of Chick Flicks, don't you.

And of course, pouring your heart out on a bus that moves like a space ship in battle is a great plan...

I do give you brownie points, Rose, for Most Original and Funny PDA in a fic so far. :)

Poor Sirius. I didn't like him in the books very well, and the reason is right here in your fic as well. He always came across to me as selfish and moody. But I do understand a bit more WHY he was that way now, being older and looking at things from different sides. Being stuck for AGES in that house would get to anyone, even a saint. I feel for him, much more than I ever used to. And I think it's such a credit to your writing that I can both still dislike him the way I did in the books, but also understand him better, after reading this story.

And we're back to the doubting the relationship thing again. REMUS! Stop that!!! At least Tonks is thinking straight, and stubborn.

The Pen-Friend is still around? Oh dear, LOL.

Valentine's is such a difficult holiday. And I'm not sure I'd let Sirius touch my valentines plans with a 30 foot pole.

Great stuff again. I know things have to work out eventually, given the books, but it sure is kind of agonizing (I mean that in a good way!) trying to get there with two of the world's most stubborn characters.

 Report Review

Review #4, by 1917farmgirl After a Hiatus

8th March 2014:
Okay, first of all, I think the title of this chapter is a particularly good one for this review, don't you think? Just saying...

Secondly, I should never leave stories for so long because now I'm WAY far behind, LOL. Stop writing so dang fast, would you please?

And, thirdly, your first paragraph pretty much just killed me. "Slowed down fast track" "accelerated slow path" which lead to snogging by Friday. So, since I'm dead, I can't really finish this review, can I? If you want long reviews, you really must stop killing off your readers with the opening words. Seriously. Take it as a professional tip.

Okay, so I'm not QUITE dead, and I will go on now, but I'm still laughing, and still blaming you.

The walk paragraph ALSO almost killed me. Stop making me laugh. It hurts my black eye. Oh, and the image of Remus in a corset has forever darkened my mind thanks to you. I think I'm scarred for life...

FINALLY some sense from Remus in agreeing to go to her folks' for Christmas. And again, I really love how you are tying this into the actual events in the books, putting in the details we all know happened, but from another POV.

Oh, and I'm not sure I like the fact wizards can just walk right into your house and then your bedroom. Kinsley, not cool.

And you tattled to Sirius? Double uncool, Kingsley. We need to talk about boundaries.

Okay, the Elton John record for Ted makes me sad, actually, knowing that Tonks is going to lose her father very soon. He's not a main character, so his death is so very often overlooked and overshadowed by the others, but to me it's still just as sad. And poor Andromeda - lost her husband, her daughter, and her son-in-law.

I like that the name Dora came from her dad. And I think I would quite like to see little Dora in bows and ruffles. :)

It is still amusing to me that Tonks and Remus are bonding over knitting. That has to be a unique take! hehehe

Oh, and I'm blushing more than Remus over the gift...LOL.

So um.Kingsley can scatter rose petals, huh. Interesting. And then...well...yeah. Things happened.

So sorry it's taken me so long to get back to these reviews. I will try to make up for it by leaving really good ones.

Thanks for the review swap. Was fun!

 Report Review

Review #5, by maraudertimes Uncomfortable Tightness

8th February 2014:
Hiya again!

Ergh, I'm conflicted! This chapter was wonderful, but at the end I think he's talking about Farah and now I don't like this because goodness gracious, will he get over her because Remus deserves so much better. In fact, he deserves Tonks. And even though he thinks she doesn't deserve him, and that she's out of his league, she fancies him and he has to realize that before I go insane over frustration!

Ergh! But anyways, this was a really cute chapter and I really liked seeing what Remus thought about Tonks choices for pleasure reading. Obviously he thinks she's being stupid though, because he can't realize that they should just be a couple already!!!

But I do mean it, when I say this was a good chapter. I loved how Remus tried to analyze Tonks's note that didn't have any underlying meaning. It shows how much he cares about her, even if he won't admit it to himself.

This was a really good chapter Rose! Great job!
Lo:)

Author's Response: Yay for conflicted!!! Farah does pop up from time to time and provides a nice layer of angst for Remus. He does deserve Tonks!! He's on the verge of realizing they're bound to be together. I promise!

I thought you'd like seeing the other side of this scene. Remus is quite happy that Tonks has taken an active interest in him but is just stupid (as you said) about how to handle his feelings.

ahaha, his over analysis may have some conenction with my own tendencies to do that at times.

Thank you so much for another fab review!
-Rose


 Report Review

Review #6, by maraudertimes Whispered Rebuttal

8th February 2014:
Hello! Tis I, back from... wherever I've been!

Okay, so I like Remus's POV, but nothing can compare to Tonks's, I'm sorry but it's true. :) Tonks just has this charm that you wrote so wonderfully and Remus is so filled with self-loathing and I want to slap him because it's clear that Tonks fancies him, and he fancies her back, and why can't they just full on snog and stuff already?!?!?!?!?!??!

Anyways... I really liked the start, where we see the transformation through Remus's eyes. I think that was really cool and slightly heart-breaking, but I loved it nonetheless. Also, the Sirius being jealous was also a little sad, but I felt it right given the situation.

The fact that everyone seemed to have been counting on the two of them actually dating, and adoring the fact that they're now pseudo-dating for appearances, is just too funny. It's crazy how invested the people you surround yourself with will get into your personal life.

And the Sirius barging in thing was hilarious at the start, but I completely understood why Remus wouldn't be so pleased with the situation. They should be too mature for that, although I suppose Sirius is still the boy they locked up all those years ago, so perhaps he isn't. More heartbreak!

Great job Rose! Really liked this chapter!
Lo:)

Author's Response: Please say you've been in outer space! That's what I've been humming for a while.

Remus' POV is much less - quirky and free? than Tonks' boyant account of their relationship. *giggles* you might go mad by the end of this... they'll realize their love sooner or later!

Writing about Remus' transformation was a difficult! Just from a literary perspective, I didn't know how to convey that much pain and misery. Sirius is quite lonely and a bit possessive of Remus (go wolfstar).

I like to think that other people realized they'd be a good pair quite fast. Neither Remus nor Tonks are self-aware enough to note their obvious affection for one another. I like to think of the Order as an over-bearing family that you happen to fight Volemort with. :D

I'm glad you liked my bit of college humor there - I think Sirius is still caught in his early 20's mentality. He didn't get a chance to mature around other people through this 20's and 30's so he's a bit stuck emotionally.

Thank you so much for a wonderful review!! I love getting reviews from you!
-Rose


 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan Always and Forever

26th January 2014:
Aaa! I was so sure they were both dead somehow... the titles made me think so. But omg! I love this so much!!! They're so happy! Wedding! :D This is such a great ending, it's got that happily ever after feel. They really deserved a happily ever after, with all they went through! I was shocked when they died in DH and didn't even get a proper mention really. But this... I know this is a short and gushy review and so probably low quality but all I can say is AWWW!! ♥ ♥

I loved this story so much! Remus/Tonks are such a great couple and you wrote both characters just wonderfully. Thanks for writing this and I'm so glad I got to read it. I'm just sad it's over!

Now I hear there is a Charlie/Savage story floating around your AP, I might just have to read that next.

Amazing story/stories, Rose!! ♥

Author's Response: I wanted people to think they were both dead!! When I started this (pre DH) I thought it would be fun to take them through a difficult romance to set them off on a nice long life of happiness together. Though, after they died and I thought this ending would be a bit ironic - but I like irony.

Oh I was abosolutely livid when their death was glossed over in DH (might have thrown my book across the room). After everything I had put them through I was mad that JK had to off them.

You're only the 2nd person to have finished both stories!! :D I'm so glad you stuck with it through all the ups and downs they had!

!!I think you'll like the Charlie/Savage story!!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing these stories! It's meant so much to me!!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan The 40 Day Dream

26th January 2014:
Well... unfortunate that Dawlish punched Remus so much it made him sick, but good that he vomited ON Dawlish. That's karma for you.

I loved reading the proposal again eee it was so cute. And all the fluff and happiness, which I knew was the calm before the storm but I just loved it! The life they should have had.

The other werewolves chasing Remus, that was intense. I'm glad he managed to escape and that Moody found him and apprehended Smith - thats good at least.

The ending... hvhsjf2dchfjjdjsi I can't

Ok well I really don't want the story to end yet but I HAVE to find out.

Author's Response: I feel bad that after all the crud Dawlish didn't get more done to him than just being thrown up on. It's my main regret in this story.

They should have had a life with romantic dinners and moonlight dancing and agh!! *shakes fist at JKR*

Ooh, I'm glad the chase was intense. Moody coming nd finding him was a relief. I thought after all Moody's involvement *cough* in their relationship, having him so instrumental at the end would be nice.

You'll *love* the ending!!

*still hides in bunker*

Thank you for a wonderful review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderfan The Art of Losing

25th January 2014:
I hear that reviews are also good cures for migraines so here I am with the best medicine ever, apart from fluff, or cowbells.

:( I had a bad feeling it would eiher be Whitmore or McMann. So sad :( I think at this point though, anyono who was on the fence before certainly knows which side they're on. Fenrir's display there isnt about wizard prejudices anymore, its just violent.

I hate that Remus had to make a comment like that about Tonks. I mean I know that's obviously not how he feels about her, but he had to say that to avoid suspicions from Greyback. Again, Greyback is the creepiest.

I really enjoy Remus' meetings with Kingsley and how Remus uses them about 50 per cent as wolfsbane/information exchange and 50 per cent a discussion about Tonks. I think this one was good because no one is really right or wrong. Yes it was stupid for Remus to tell people about his relationship, but its good that there are werewolves who care as people and arent allying with Fenrir, they're trustworthy. And of course Tonks wouldnt follow instructions she doesnt like haha

Sad that Remus felt he had to isolate himself from Whitmore. I realy want to make more John Thomas jokes but at this point in the story i guess it'd be inappropriate.

Agh, the part about Bill... its so sad that Remus feels the need to specify that it wasn't him and that it was Greyback.

"This was what losing felt like" -- I really like that line. Not because they're losing obviously, but because his POV really shows just how dark that part of the war was, which wasnt the same in Harry's eyes. Especially as to Remus, Dumbledore probably represents acceptance of his condition.

Eek I cant handle this cliff hanger ending. And the end of the story is rapidly approaching and that makes me sad. I've gotten very attached to this story. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Yes! Reviews really do help with migraines! :D ...I'm not sure cowbells help...

I couldn't have it be Remus. I felt bad offing McMann. :( Fenrir definitely went over the edge with the violence. Just a bit. He's just touting violence for violence sake now.

He hated it too. I mean, it's opposite of how he feels but it's how he's staying alive. Greyback is the mayor of creepsville.

:D It felt a little self-indulgant to give Remus that information source but I couldn't help it. I really like having Kingsley be the man in the middle. It does line up with Dumbledore knowing that Remus is okay in Epitaph. I liked having Kingsley as the protective friend here. Remus did use good judgement with the people he trusted but his world is a little sideways right now.

Bill's attack was especially hard for Remus to watch and experience. :(

ah! I am a bit proud of that line! :D I'm glad you liked it. it really is a low moment for him (quite low considering some of the lows he hit in this story).

I'm sorry for the cliff hanger!! I couldn't cram everything in one chapter. :-/ Wait, you're just not attached to the story? :P :P

Thank you so much for an awesome review! My head is feeling a bit better! I think the thai food helped. :D

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #10, by marauderfan Heart Skipped a Beat

24th January 2014:
Firstly, apologies for this potentially typo-ridden tablet review, I dont have a real keyboard with me while I travel. Ok now for the review.

I'm glad Remus is able to talk to John Thomas (lol) and that he understands. Por guy having his family leave him :( that's so sad.

That part where Remus was being so poetic made me laugh. He was basically just saying that he's too old and poor and dangerous, only it sounded a lot prettier with the nearby torment of the silvery orb in the sky or whatever he said haha

Oh no, they spotted him as a traitor despite his, uh, incredible acting. Unless Whitmore or McMann is a traitor too and those are the ones Fenrir found out? Ahh!

Awesome chapter!,

Author's Response: Happy travelling!! I can't type worth a dark on my tablet/phone/anything but a keyboard. :D

haha, Remus does get good advice from (his) John Thomas. :D I should stop but I just can't. I liked the idea of werewolves having tragic family situations. I mean, if they had loving and supportive families, they wouldn't end up with Fenrir.

Poetic Remus is just the same as normal Remus :P It's supposed to sound prettier when he's reading Spanish poetry. :P ...maybe I was in a sentimental mood when I wrote that part. :D

haha, don't knock Remus' acting abilities. I'll let the drama of who the suspected traitor is sit with you... the next chapter is gruesome (fyi).

Thank you for an awesome review from the road!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #11, by marauderfan More Adventurous

22nd January 2014:
Ooh, Fenrir Grayback is SO creepy. You wrote him very well though. He is just as creepy and repulsive as in the books, but more so, because I don't think Harry ever spent more than 3 seconds in Greyback's presence. Ha, I could see Greyback gaining supporters by behaving like a crooked politician, thats funny.

I'm glad Kingsley caught that word slip there, Remus belongs with the good guys! At the same time I can see how Greyback's arguments are the slightest bit convincing. There is a lot of discrimination, which makes it easy for him to rally others to his cause.

I like the point you made about 'transforming' vs being bitten, it sounds a lot more neutral the first way and I think it makes sense they prefer that.

John Thomas returns haha. At least he seems like a decent person, so does McCann. Theres hope, Remus! Aw, I love that even though Tonks is far away she's still helping Remus with his transformations as he thinks about her.

george visited Remus! That was a little unexpected, I guess he likes Tonks more than I thought he did. Ah well, another person to jointhe 'Remus you are foolish' team.

awesome chapter!

Author's Response: Hello!!

I was going for creepy political person. :D I didn't think the werewolves going there would buy the "let's be evil" sales pitch. Writing Fenrir here made me like him a bit more than I did before. Fundamentally, he does think he's helping out his fellows.

Kingsley is sharp and couldn't miss a slip up like that. I was a bit sad having Remus struggle with his sense of belonging like he did. When I wrote this chapter, it was right after coming up with A Boy Bitten and the Remus chapter of A Moment of Fear (well, they were inspired by me struggling through this chapter). Remus put up with a lot of discrimination even from his friends.

Fenrir does see lycanthropy as a gift... *eyeroll*

John Thomas is a good guy - so is McMann. :D Remus gets to be friends with them which makes his stay there a bit better. I didn't like having a chapter so light on Tonks so I made her presense in Remmus' mind. It's yet another sign that he still loves her deeply.

I don't think George was madly in love with her but he does seem the type to not idly flirt (well, maybe but he means it when it happens). At this point, he's fine with Tonks not wanting a thing with him and has emotionally moved past it but can't stand how Remus is treating her. And yes, he's the 4905th person to jump on the "Remus is a fool" bandwagon.

Thank you so much for such an awesome review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #12, by marauderfan A Lack of Color

21st January 2014:
Well, this was a sad chapter too. :( Not so much for the aftermath of Sirius' death, but because Remus is so OBVIOUSLY still in love with Tonks.

I love that Molly sent him a Howler with a nice invitation to dinner at the end, that's perfect :D

Ugh. Remus can clearly see that he's made the wrong choice, since he feels awful and he's made Tonks cry, shouldn't that be an indicator? Also the meddling friends telling him to send her cards, etc? Sigh...

Oh no, what is going on with that mysterious man?! Who is he? Ahhh

"You'll always be the love of my life?!?!?!" Awww but seriously how can Remus just say "Cool thanks for the marshmallows!" to that?! (ok. I know that's not what he said, but that's the time when he's supposed to reconsider his whole running-away thing and stay with her!

well, Remus does have a really tough and dangerous Order mission ahead of him. Yes it's probably best to not have a girlfriend around for that but it isn't any good to just leave heartbreak behind him. *headdesk repeatedly*

Remus is frustrating. But this is a great chapter!

Author's Response: I'm going to sound like a jerk, but I get the giggles each time I read this reivew. :P Mainly because I wanted to have them both be heartbroken and both want to be back together but neither moves on it. This was supposed to be the other side to all those chapters in Epitaph where it's impossible to read without wanting to strangle Remus.

Okay, and I'm laughing at the "cool story bro"-ish retelling of their goodbye at Remus' house.

Remus isn't stupid or hard-hearted but he is quite stubborn. At least he shed his denial in this chapter though I think that made it slightly worse.

The mystery man was just a plot device to get Kingsley and Remus together for the awkward covno they had.

It might be a good idea to invest in some PPE before you read the next few chapters - a helmet at least. ^_^

Um, um, next chapter there's less heart break! I think :-/

Thanks for the awesome review. Remus will become less frustrating eventually!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #13, by marauderfan Silver and Cold

20th January 2014:
:( :( :( :(
You did really well at writing Remus' grief in this one, it was very powerful. Especially because Remus practically lived with Sirius for most of the year, staying at his house all the time, and losing someone that important to you just gahhh. I liked the lines about both canines of the Marauders - yeah, James and Sirius were best friends at school but Sirius and Remus had the bond of both being canines, as he said - and with James gone those two really are best friends. The line about "Sirius was everywhere and nowhere" is really powerful too, how he's gone but Remus is dwelling on all his memories. His grief felt very realistic.

It was sad when he broke it off with Tonks after that - I can understand if he needed a little time by himself to grieve, but he's using this as the way out which he's been looking for almost since he started dating her. Aghh and then Farah! I guess it makes a little more sense from his POV (from Tonks' POV I was just like WHAT NO THIS IS FAKE) but I can understand him a little here. A little. I am still furious with him though.

this was really sad and emotional, but a great chapter nonetheless!

Author's Response: *hugs*
*chocolate*
*look, it's sunny*

Writing Remus' grief was hard for me emotionally. I reached into my reserve of emotions that I don't always tap into when I write. Sirius and Remus did have quite a bit in common but their cannine form was perhaps the easiest to touch on. I don't remember the inspiration for everywhere and nowhere. It is true though, sometimes it's impossible to not find someone who has died in everything. :(

I am glad that his side of the breakup then Farah felt a bit more... explained. I mean, he's still being Cleopatra about the whole thing but at least we can see that in his head it all made sense.

Maybe after the next chapter you won't stay mad at him forever. :D Hopefully

thank you so much for all the reviews yesterday!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderfan The First Drop

20th January 2014:
I was so sure that letter was going to be sent to a certain toomanycurls. :P But writing to the Ministry - I wish he had, just leaving out all the details and letting them know how stupid they are.

Dear Ministry of Denial,
You are all idiots.
Sincerely,
Anonymous (and Cleopatra, who would know all about de-Nile so obviously listen to us.)

Honestly, no way to trace that. They should have sent it!

asdhkfjads no no no we're only 12 chapters in and we're coming up on that day already? Now I'm all sad and nothing has even happened yet.

Ooh, intense. I love that Remus threw ice water on Snape and then used Levicorpus on him even though he's supposedly so much more mature than he was as a teenager. Bahaha. But I can't blame him, what with Snape making such low comments about his werewolfness and relationship with Tonks.

Remus is considering marriage!! omg it just killed me that Sirius wants Remus to wait the wedding until his name is cleared ahhh :( I mean, I guess he did, but not how it should have been :(

Ack. Well, I love the idea the the Order was all gathered at Grimmauld Place to just hang out with each other, but that's the worst interruption. Omg I'm nervous to click the next chapter.

Author's Response: alas, Sirius put aside his fascination with toomanycurls for a desire to do something useful. :P Oh, hey, the Ministry sent a reply:

Dear Anonymous and Cleopatra,
We only deny the denial of your denial.
Regards,
MoD

Yeah, they were just being cautious.

HIKML goes at a much faster pace that Epitaph. There's 4 or 5 fewer chapters total.

I definitely blame the moon for how Remus acts with Snape. I mean, that and Snape's low blows. I do like showing Snape's cruel side here.

:D He is considering marriage!! and, I am sorry - I had to be extra mean and put in that Sirius wanted to be at the wedding. :( It broke my heart too!

You can get through the next chapter! *sends chocolate*

Thank you for such an amazing review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #15, by marauderfan We Are Nowhere and It's Now

20th January 2014:
Review tag!

Ah, I wish you'd written out that part where they were singing/guitaring. I know I did already read it in the other fic but I wouldn't have minded that again. I'll just have to imagine it. Now excuse me while I wipe the drool off my desk, not sure how that got there.

Anyway, where was I? Remus and Tonks' date was cute. This time I really do understand Remus feeling so guilty, when his best friend is unable to have any of the things in life that Remus can, and the fact that Remus is always around and probably feels like he shouldn't show how happy he is so as to make Sirius not feel worse. :(

Eek, Death Eater activity! I like the way you incorporated it - it's not like there was a huge battle or anything, just the constant reminder that danger is just outside the door, and the war is all around them even if not out in the open.

Poor Tonks, feeling snubbed at the Order meeting. I can understand why Remus did it, but at the same time no one is really going to care if they're sitting next to one another at the meeting. I mean, come on - it's not like they're going to be unfocused on the meeting.

BLAHHDSAHF DAWLISH what a creep I hate him and his blatant prejudice for werewolves. So sad that even if Remus did something in self defense it would be looked on as a werewolf being aggressive. :( I agree with Sirius at the end though, if it had been me in that situation Dawlish would be covered in hex marks. Or a fist mark.

Excellent chapter!!

Author's Response: This was my first chapter back after 7 years. i might go back and elaborate on the singing but I was just trying to get into the swing of the story again. :D *hands hankie* that's for the drool...

SEE! Cleo has her reasons! I wanted to make sure people saw he wasn't just a flippant jerk.

The part I didn't put into the death eater part was that they were around because Kreacher was able to give them an approximation of Grimmauld Place.

Remus (while understandable) is a bit stupid still. *huff* It's not like I'd have them snog at the meeting or anything. He's understandable but still insufferable.

You can punch Dawlish if you want!! Remus probably could have gotten away with self-defence but, still, it would have been risky. Dawlish is easy to hate. Um, we haven't seen the last of him and Remus either. *cough* *hides*

Thank you so much for an incredible review!!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #16, by marauderfan Infinitesimal Words

18th January 2014:
Hello :) Sorry for the shortness of this review, I'm about to walk out the door but since I read this I wanted to leave a review before I go!

Aw, as adorable as the Knight Bus scene was in Epitaph, I loved it just as much here! :D :D I love how they're able to make a romantic moment out of a disaster like that. At least it's memorable for sure :p

Sirius really is starting to lose it, what with the constant reminders of how lonely he is, and the addition of Snape teaching Harry Occlumency when Sirius is stuck in Grimmauld Place, and to add icing on the cake the Azkaban breakout gets blamed on him. Not the best of weeks. :(

I felt like my love for her wouldn't die but our courtship was as vulnerable as a lit candle on a stormy night. -- I love this. It's so poetic. I hate that Remus is thinking something like this because he's having second thoughts for like the eighty-second time, but it's beautiful imagery.

Hehe... Remus suspects something with Moody? Pffft, what would make him think that :P

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Hello!!! I'm just excited that you read this chapter!!

Remus and Tonks - romance in the midst of falling luggage. It just seems to suit them that romantic moments will have odd things happen. :D At least it felt right to me so I kept making it happen to them.

:( Sirius is on the verge (or just gone past) losing it. He's a bit manic sometimes then depressed other times. It is especially hard for him with all the stuff going on in the outside.

it's a trade off - beautiful imagry for Cleopatra making an appearance. :-/ not sure it's worth it in the end but I blame JKR.

haha, he's just connecting a few dots, that's all. :P

Thank you for a fantabulous review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #17, by marauderfan After a Hiatus

17th January 2014:
Remus's descriptions really crack me up. Sometimes he's really eloquent, other times I'm just like "what?" For example, this: So I decided to take an accelerated slow path, or a slowed down fast track. -- Wouldn't that be called a normal path? Only he wants to keep telling himself that he's taking it slow. Lol. Also the favourite sweater/new broom comment had me laughing. Oh Remus... what on earth.

Gahh why is Remus still insisting they're not together? I don't think he knows what relationship means. Anyway, I love how Kingsley is so interfering haha - but sweet that he decided to help them out! As for Moody..heh, I love that he sort of intimidated Remus there. Nice that he's still looking out for Tonks. Poor guy.:p

John Thomas returns! hahaha. But I liked the tie into canon of including this part from OotP.

I enjoyed the anecdote of Tonks as a kid, too. And I think she reacted to hearing it again in a very Tonks-like manner, as in not embarrassed at all to hear stories of herself as a toddler running around with her skirt over her head haha.

I really like the way you've written their relationship. The characters are so true to their canon personalities and I love the way you've shown the perspectives on each side of the relationship. It's really interesting to compare, actually! :p I think it would have been fun to read these simultaneously.

Excellent chapter!

Author's Response: Sometimes my brain makes sense and sometimes it just kind of flubs. :P The slowed down fast track might have been one of my flubs. I'll blame Remus though as he was driving when I wrote that. He has to think he's going slow to assuage his relationship guilt.

Remus has neglected to look up the word relationship in the dictionary. -_- Kingsley does insert himself quite a bit in their relationship. I mean, not in Moody-like ways :P but in the older brother-like ways. Moody does keep looking out for Tonks *sigh* it's a bit sad. someone should go hug him.

It's John Thomas!! He returns a few times in this story. ^_^

Between her clumsiness and out-there personailty, I don't think she gets embarassed very easily. :D

:D I'm really glad they're close to their canon depiction!! When I set out to write the stories, I did worry that it'd just be tedious for someone to read both. I'm glad that's not the case! Rumpel read through these simultaneously. It was fun for me to read her reviews throughout but she didn't get to go through the same suspense and aha! moments that you do.

Thank you for another brilliant review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #18, by marauderfan Dirty Chimera Dance

16th January 2014:
Haha, Sirius wanting to write a letter :P I loved the line "I'm not as stupid as Snape looks." Yeah still that's probably not going to distract them :p Their letter writing was so funny, I really enjoyed that scene.

Now it's time for me to write a letter. I'll keep it nice and informal:

Dear Cleo,
You are foolish.
Love,
K.

At least if he doesn't listen to me, he should listen to Dumbledore! I mean seriously, Dumbledore knows everything. Love is the most powerful force in the universe! Or something. I think it's actually electromagnetism, or the strong nuclear force - where does Dumbledore get his information? But anyway, Remus should get the hint now that everyone (Dumbledore, Sirius, Tonks, me, and Thaddeus Hatcher) have all told him to stop being an idiot.

At least he's changing his mind now? again?

Your writing of Remus' thoughts is as always superb, you've done really well getting into his head.

I don't know what's gotten into my head as this review makes no sense.. it's late. Anyway, great chapter!

Author's Response: *sigh* that was my own relentless day dreaming. :D Of course Sirius would want to be my fan, haha.

ooh, I think Cleo has a response:

Dear K.,
I'm just fickle.
Warmly,
Cleo

Dumbledore is the ultimate love guru. Uh, Dumbledore knows there together because he's like the CIA and listens to all the chatter going on but unlike the CIA he's able to do cool things with his information.

He's just reverting back to the smart path he had been on.

I like being in Remus' head. It's a rather fun place to hang out. :D

Your review made perfect sense!! Thank you for a late night review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #19, by marauderfan Counterjinx

16th January 2014:
eee the beginning was so cute. Well, Remus' self-deprecating thoughts not so much, but the rest of it was. I liked their flirty brownie baking. I was so sure it wasn't going to be just brownies, but then Remus' alter ego Cleopatra steps in.

GAHH CLEOPATRA WHY

Aw, Remus and Sirius' argument was just as intense this time, only worse because the narrator was actually there (not just Tonks hearing it from outside.) Sirius is totally right, for once! I feel like it's not so much an argument as it is trying to prove who's worse off, they're both just complaining but they both needed to get it out. Wahh, it's just so sad for both of them. But I feel worse for Sirius, because he really can't do anything about his situation whereas Remus is just being an idiot.

Haha, I loved the closet scene at the end, and I'm glad they made up after their fight. I feel like they probably have been through their fair share of fights and can't stay angry at each other for long. They really are an old married couple!

excellent chapter!

Author's Response: I want more flirty brownie making in my life. *sigh* Cleo keeps stepping all over the perfectly laid out romance in front of them.

CLEO IS BATTLING WITH GUILT AND OTHER RIDICULOUS THINGS.

Out of all the things I like about the HIKML and Epitaph, this argument was one of my favorite bits to write. Sirius did learn how to give good advice while he was in Azkaban. I never thought about it being them comparing who has it worse off. i like that spin! Sirius is easier to sympathize with here.

I thought Sirius would get a kick out of both Remus and Tonks hiding in the same closet that night. :D I don't think they've ever stayed mad for terribly long (except when Remus thought Sirius killed everyone).

Thank you so much for an awesome review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #20, by Lululuna Silver and Cold

15th January 2014:
Nooo.

This chapter just filled my heart with SO MANY FEELS and made me want to die a little inside. :(

You wrote the action scene at the Ministry really well, along with Remus' fears and thoughts during it. I really loved how aware of Tonks he was while fighting, always worrying about her and trying to make sure that she's okay. I'm sure she was thinking the same thing for him as well.

Sirius' death is so heartbreakingly quick. :( It almost seems a little sad at how they lost his body as well. When you say that it wasn't the killing curse which hit him, does that mean he died because he fell through the veil? That actually makes a lot of sense, I had just always assumed it was conveniently there. :P

Sirius was everywhere and nowhere. I loved this line so much, it really held tight to how Remus would be feeling in the wake of losing Sirius when they occupied so much of one another's lives. I liked the reference to that Snape incident as well, and how being in Dumbledore's office could bring back memories like that so easily.

Remus is SO frustrating here. I honestly just want to shake him by the shoulders at how abruptly and unfairly he breaks up with Tonks (again!!!) and how he thinks that doing so means he can do penance for making Sirius miserable or whatever sad, self-deprecating notion he's come up with. And then he has to go and take Farah home, and of course Tonks walks in... :( That was just so awful, I could really feel through the story how hurt she was and how unreasonable and unfair it would feel to her. She's not going to assume that he's able to casually be with Farah because he doesn't love her and isn't as frightened of hurting her, even if that is the truth. It makes me sad that Remus would do that, although I know he's a bloke and was drunk and lonely and sad and all that. Still.

Everything in my life was silver and cold. I liked this line a lot and it was a really great chapter title, very vivid. It was also a nice detail how (I think) silver is dangerous to werewolves in some stories so it's like a second layer of meaning to that image.

There were a lot of fantastic details in this chapter, like Tonks' brown hair (which Harry notices in HBP) matching Remus'. I really loved that, it was such a creative tie-in to canon!

It's really cool how I suppose the story will move towards HBP now! One of these days I'm going to drop by and pester your MTA with questions on how you manage to write over such long periods of time and develop these fantastic characters. :)

Great chapter! :) Thanks for swapping (as usual, haha), I know I'll be back soon! :D

Author's Response: I'm sorry for the feels!! Don't die a little on the inside!!! :(

The action scene was incredible hard to write. I'm extremely glad it's good! Adding in Remus' fear and tracking Tonks throughout the battle felt rather genuine for him.

I remember reading an article after OotP came out saying how the archway was a way they sentenced death to people and in the books Sirius has time to look surprised after the spell hits him. It is especially sad that they didn't get to bury his body.

Remus definitely seemed like he would be tightly connected to Sirius when he died. I pulled from some of my own grief experiences to write Remus' mourning.

This is the part of the story where I kind of worry for my own well-being. I partly blame JKR - if she hadn't given them such a clear not together but in love vibe for HBP, I wouldn't have written this like I did. At least you got the insight to what he was thinking - it's not clear at all from Tonks' POV. :(

I also feel bad for the Farah interlude. :-/ I didn't think just another break up (even one spoken with such finality) would cause Tonks to be zapped of her metamorphmagus skills. I had to break her spirit too. I blame the wolf for his actions though - his wolfish side wanted to forget about love for a night and try losing his thoughts of Tonks.

Silver is (sometimes) listed as lethal to werewolves! That was part of the reason I grabbed that song title as the chapter title. ^_^ It tickles me that you caught the connection.

I do really like this chapter (which I don't love all of them). I'm thrilled you like it too!

Yes! It will officially be in HBP as of the next chapter. :D There's a lot of angst though - a lot of angst. Ooh, I'd love a visit to my MTA. ^_^

Thank you for a wonderful review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #21, by marauderfan Not the Décor

15th January 2014:
Haha, I loved the underwear pranks in the beginning of this. They really are trying to cheer him up, and at this point it's mostly working.

Lol the "friend date" term again *eyeroll* ok, but I loved Remus's side of that date, his inner monologue as he keeps thinking in the middle of what he's saying but then says stupid things anyway, and over-thinks it, haha. You did really well writing a very nervous Remus :p

Aw, haha I like the idea the Remus fancied Lily! I've always thought they would have been a cute couple. Apart from the fact that James would have killed Remus :p

YAY! I loved reading about Tonks punching Dawlish again. :D :D And the rest of the date was cute :)

I bet Sirius totally would have switched the record :P Actually quite surprised he didn't.

Ooh, I liked the last paragraph. Trust Remus to be all philosophical about it.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: ^_^ I got a good laugh out of writing the underwear prank. I wish I had written this into Tonks' story because it would have been hilarious to see Sirius and Tonks raiding Remus' closet and trying on his clothes. The scene exists in my head though. I could be bribed to write it.

I liked the irony of having them both think the friend date was a bit ridiculous. They were both just trying to keep within the other's parameters. Remus' nervousness does kind of get in the way of him coming off smooth.

I guess that's one benefit of this story - you get more Dawlish punching!! Oh... but there are a few Dawlish scenes that weren't in the other one. :-/ it might be a wash.

haha, I think he had just enough emotional maturity to not sabatouge Remus' date.

well, he does have a way with the words and poetic prose. :D

thank you so much for an awesome review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #22, by marauderfan Underhanded and Overexposed

15th January 2014:
The first paragraph of this seemed SO Remus. The canyons and their unknown depths, how profound. I can just see him as a geology professor now. hm, I always did like geology.

Tonks and Kingsley were supposed to catch Sirius, not dine with him at his place and conspire against Voldemort with him. -- for some reason I found that incredibly entertaining. Whoops, too bad Ministry, they're only doing the opposite of their job.

Lol... "visiting Buckbeak". You know, I always thought while I was reading OotP that it was odd Sirius spent so much time alone with Buckbeak, I was like why on earth would he visit Buckbeak all the time, that's strange. But I never really considered it past that (probably because the books' narration by an innocent Harry didn't allow for it). SO THIS! haha, it's great. What a hilarious euphemism

It must have been so horrible for Sirius to be stuck inside the house, I felt so bad for him when Kingsley told him he'd been seen and he just broke down. That paragraph was a really good description of Remus and Sirius' friendship too. Aw, poor Sirius is miserable now... I would volunteer to cheer him up ;)

Ha, I've always seen Remus as the mastermind behind a lot of the Marauders pranks. Because he's quieter he doesn't get suspected/caught, but got involved in just as much mischief as the other three.

*snort* well, Grimmauld Place may be a big house, but not big enough apparently if the occupants are always walking in on each other :p

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHahahahahahahahahahaha *pauses for breath* ahahahahahahahahahaha. Omg, I love that you have put yourself into the story as an author of adult magazines! XD (isn't it fun though to be able to do that as a fanfic author? it's not a coincidence that Sirius's short-term girlfriend at the beginning of my fic is named Kristen.)

I loved their little prank battle! It was really fun. And I loved the cute Remus/Tonks scene at the end despite the blue teeth haha.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: As I recall, you had a thing about rock polishing in TBAH (typing words is hard). I thought it was a euphemism. :D I'd probably like any subject taught by Remus. ;)

Tonks and Kingsley are taking opposite time at work.

yeah, well, when I try to explain things like that, this is the kind of explanation I come up with. My G-rated explanation (for what the books probably meant) is that Sirius needed some alone time and spent it with Buckbeak. My 12 year old side likes what I put in the fic more. hehe

Get in line, lady! Clearly I hoped I could cheer him up (as I put myself in that role). This is a hard story from a Sirius POV. I mean, he's really down and out emotionally.

I'm glad we see eye-to-eye on Remus being a good mastermind of pranks. I see James and Sirius being ballsy enough to do outrageous stuff but Remus would be pulling the strings. :D

well... when you don't expect to find people doing certain things knocking becomes a bit obsolete. *cough*

I have hidden talents! So hidden I haven't done them!! :D I once had myself as a MC in a Sirius/OC fic *hangs head in shame* now *that* was self-indulgant.

the pranks aren't over!! The blue teeth were kind of hysterical to me. It was especially fun to let them have a moment while something so not romantic is going on.

:D I'm thrilled you liked this chapter!! I'm a little addicted to getting your reviews.

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #23, by marauderfan Uncomfortable Tightness

14th January 2014:
Hahahaha this scene was just as funny/awkward from Remus' POV. I can't decide whether more funny or awkward. The clerk probably thought funny, everyone else thought awkward :P But I loved Tonks and Remus' brainstorming/flirting/innuendo session that followed. :D

At least meeting the parents went well, despite Tonks' ultimatum hahaha. Even if afterwards, Cleopatra was once again being ridiculous and trying to be distant from Tonks. ARGH I want to lock them in a closet together.

The end of the chapter is hopeful though... maybe he's going to give her a chance? give love a chance? At least he sees that he's being selfish, but something tells me the no-love-rule is going to continue for at least a little while longer. Bahh.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: I've decided that the scenes are usually funniest when you know both sides. I probably got the most giggles out of this entire story because I had the big picture view and was often self-amused. :P The clerk probably thinks they're both a bit off. I do love their innuendos here. :D Flirting was fun too.

I laugh everytime you call Remus Cleopatra. I told my husband the joke and he wasn't amused. oh well. I get a giggle out of it everytime. :D He's still confused!

Well, he at least had these realizations relatively early in their romance. See how much he had to wrestle with!??! His is an uphill battle.

Thank you for an awesome review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #24, by Lululuna The First Drop

14th January 2014:
Hola! :)

Nooo how have we gotten here already?! There's a part of me which really doesn't want to change to the next chapter but I'm addicted to this story so most likely it can't be helped.

Okay, onto the actual chapter. Remus wants to propose!!! :D And he had some bro time with Bill! And some raunchy time with Tonks! There was so much going on here, I loved it. And Dumbledore shows up at their house in the middle of the night- classic. I wonder, where do you think Dumbledore was sleeping during his time away from Hogwarts? Maybe he went to crash at his brother's? (That would actually be quite convenient for keeping close to Hogwarts, haha). Or perhaps he's one of those ultra beings who just doesn't sleep, like I imagine Voldy to be. :P

Sorry, sidebar there. I really loved all the canon references here, it felt like I was just reading OoP all over again and seeing what was going on at the other end of the fireplace.

It was really interesting to hear how Sirius and Remus reacted to Snape bullying Harry and refusing to help him with Occlumency anymore. I think Remus' violent actions towards Snape were a little excessive but deserved: Snape is so immature and awful here, and really does not come out admirably. I hated how he played on Remus' weak points, like his relationship with Tonks and how being a werewolf creates a divide between them. Ugh.

It's SO sad how Sirius was looking forward to having Harry home for the summer, gah. :( I really wish they had more time together, but I'll save the Sirius-mourning for the moment which I know is coming. And how they were having a little party and having fun when they found out about Harry at the Ministry, it's just so unfair.

I've noticed throughout the piece how Kreacher is sometimes touched on but usually passed over by Remus and Sirius who have more important things to concentrate on, and then here Remus specifically notices that Kreacher is happy about something. It just goes to show how overlooked Kreacher is and how that leads to Sirius' downfall, and I like how you've subtly hinted at that.

Wonderful chapter as always! :D I'm so close to the end now! :(

PS. Did you know that Epitaph is one of the "similar stories" at the bottom of the page? That's so cool, just goes to show how the feature is effective!

Author's Response: It snuck up on me too! I checked where you were at after the last review and I felt bad! This is a hard part of the story. :-/ I'm just going to hang out in my bunker over here while you get through the next few chapters...

It was a blast to write his bro time with Bill. I wrote Epitaph first so I spent a while not sure exactly how he'd do that conversation (as after I set it up in Epitaph I had second thoughts about it seeming like a Remus thing to do).

hehe, the raunchy time felt overdue for them. I mean, I just was in the mood to write it too. *cough* Dumbledore showing up was just icing on the cake. :D

I'm not sure if Dumbledore sleeps. I mean, he never seems to be in bed in the stories. Maybe he uses a time turner to sleep. Ooh, it would have been cool if he kipped at Aberforth's. I like the idea of them having bro time together.

When I set out to write this, I knew I'd want to include all the OotP and HBP references I could. This was a key scene for me to include (even though it didn't really have to do with the romance).

If Sirius (and Remus) have a raging blind spot, it's Harry. If they had heard about Snape being a jerk to someone else he probably wouldn't have gone off like he did. I'm not very nice to Snape in this chapter. :( Snape is a hero but he's not very noble.

I really do feel awful about calling out how little Sirius and Harry get to see of each other and the cruelty of his death. It's a bit like salt in the wound.

Kreacher's absense is partly due to me also forgetting about him. I don't think he would have played a huge role in their lives - at least not until he played them at the end there.

Ooh, be sure to switch to Epitaph by chapter 17! You'll ruin the ending if you read past there in this story. :)

I saw that Epitaph is one of the similar stories. :D It makes me all sorts of happy that they implemented and that it's useful like that.

Thank you for another wonderful review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #25, by marauderfan Whispered Rebuttal

14th January 2014:
Sorry I'm a little late with this review!

I love that you've really explored how it feels to be a werewolf transforming - that's one of the coolest things about this being from Remus' POV.

Remus is so nervous and in denial! Denial, denial, I'm going to call him Cleopatra from now on. Queen of De-Nile.

Ooh, I love the line about her words being like dandelion seeds, that's beautiful! And of course something Remus would say, he's articulate that way. This is one area where the narrator's voice is so defined, and makes the same story a different story (if that makes sense) - near the beginning of Epitaph Tonks was saying something along the lines of "Remus' voice is so sexy and he's a professor and that's sexy too!"

Bahaha Remus and Sirius are like an old married couple :D Aww, poor Sirius though, he's so lonely and jealous. :( Ahaha, again he invades Remus' room :D I loved when they were lying on his bed talking, they do have the best bromance. I also love the idea of Sirius, Arthur, and Molly sitting around gossiping about them. It makes me grin to think of that because all the rest of the time Molly and Sirius interact in OotP they're each annoyed at the other, so it's nice to see them as friends.

I love the way you write Tonks! Aw, that last scene with Remus.. at least Remus/Cleopatra is starting to change his mind and see that she actually does like him and isn't denying that any longer. And possibly thinking that his absurd "too dangerous" thing might be over the top, but I'm sure he'll change his mind again approximately 238938 times throughout this story. Sigh.

anyway, fantastic chapter :D

Author's Response: Oh, I'd wait for a while for one of your reviews. :D

It was kind of fun/sad to write about his transformations. I don't think it's something many people explore in their stories but a first person narrative from Remus just couldn't avoid it.

haha, I Siriusly laughed so hard at your new nickname for Remus. My mom used to make Cleopatra jokes like that.

^_^ Remus is quite flowerly and articulate. That's one of the reason I gave this story such a long title - he's a bit more descriptive and long-winded at times. I know what you mean about the narrative voice making it a different story. haha, yeah, Tonks' is a bit less, um, well worded.

The old married couple that fights a lot - that's pretty much Sirius and Remus. They do have quite the bromance. I figured that if Sirius is comfortable enough to not get weirded out by his friend *doing stuff* in the shower, he'd be okay talking to him in bed. When Harry's not involved, I think Sirius and Molly could get along quite well.

I think your count of his mind changing is about right - might be a little low. :P Remus sees Tonks as quite alluring so it was fun to write her as such (even being a clutz and sometimes a bit batty).

Thank you so much for an awesome review! I really love hearing your thoughts going through this story.

-Rose


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>